{ 49 comments... read them below or add one }

Adnan Arshad Mansoori said:

One of the most concise & interesting show is Aaj Kamran Khan Kay Saath rest of others are as followed Capital Talk, Kal Tak, Live with Talat, Off the Record & Bolta Pakistan. Why Kamran Khan is No.1 because he knows where is the root of cause e.g. Ms. Peterson secret meetings with Zardari thereafter, American Generals’ loitering, which is real caused of entire political disturbance in Pakistan.

rasheed said:

@Adnan Arshad Mansoori,

I also believe Kamran Khan can do better. The only thing he would have to do is to stop taking Lifafas.

freemason said:

Quite interesting to see what people are watching and what they consider to be good presentation. It seems that people are voting for a combination of analytics and bashing. Since “Live with Talat” is good at both it gets the top rating or so it seems. “Off the Record” which is only good at bashing and lacks serious analytics made its way to the second position because of its strong bashing. However, all the programs are now setting into boredom, lethargy and beating the bush. The graph of improvement of the programs has stopped growing. We need to add more diversity and instead of beating the bush we should diversify the issues we address e.g. what is the energy crisis all about, environmental issues (which has the potential for seriously degrading productivity in Pakistan), food security, what is Balochistan thinking, what is interior Sindh thinking, why the disparity between southern and northern Punjab, what is happening in Central Asia, why Iran is playing a negative role against Pakistan since its revolution, which muslim countries were directly involved in terrorism in Pakistan and why (Iran, Syria, Libya, Iraq), what is Russia thinking and doing, state of education in Pakistan both formal and informal, how can technical and vocational education help lift Pakistan’s economy, problems of fishermen and fishery sector in Pakistan, Pakistan’s mineral policy, rise of extremism, fanaticism, role of security establishment and military in India, role or religious education in Pakistan and how can it be better integrated in the larger fabric of the society, the demise of libraries and reading culture in Pakistan, suffocation in transportation sector in Pakistan, improving IT infrastructure, reforming civil governance, improving internal security, integrating northern areas with Pakistan, long term analysis of FATA’s current administrative status on Pakistan etc etc. There are so many issues which any of these programs never touches. Serious analytical approach is missing from all the programs and more focus is on photo oppurtunities and “mirich masalha”. Get good thinkers, philosophers, educationists, engineers, scientists, doctors, writers, historians on your programs to educate the public in the larger context. No program was done by any of these shows on Prof. Ahmad Hassan Dani on his sad departure from us. People are getting fed up of strong insistence of these programs on the same faces, same petty talks, same useless rambling and same old stories. Do something new and do something better and keep moving forward.

codefreaq said:

I know PJ mir himself gave his show 1 vote but who the F*** voted for PTV news ? zardari?

Thanks Rasheed.

DuFFeR ڈفرستان said:

Live with Talat is really the best
    nice host with logical questions and soft spoken
    not like capital talk, Masala News++ :D

Munir Solangi said:

only 1000 respondents(most of them internet users and not common people) cannot decide the popularity of a show.pkpolitics is biased towards Hamid Mir.Fact is that recently pkpolitics conducted a survey of popular columnists and asked ratings from the viewers.10 names were suggested to viewers and name of Hamid Mir was missing.Why?He got awards of best columns even long before Geo.What is the criteria of pkpolitics.Yes there is one problem with Hamid Mir.He does not respond our emails,does not attend phone calls of his fans and looks arrogant but no doubt he is one of the most popular journalists in the country.If his show is number three then why Capital Talk is getting more business than Talat Hussain and Kashif Abbasi?

hajveri said:

@freemason

I agree with most of the things you said…

SomeOne said:

QA with Mir Jafer what the hell is that?

Munir Solangi said:

Will you please explain that why you have removed capital talk of 29th Jan from the main page.According to your survey capital talk is third most popular show but you have showed your biase by removing it from the main page and the other shows of the 29th are still present on main page.Ba fair Ghulam Mustafa sahib.

kafka8 said:

gasp! naseem zehra with 8 votes?? whats wrong with you people.

Ghost Of TK said:

Thanks for all the work compiling the results.

I think the gainers/losers graph is the most telling as to the makeup of the ‘audience’ (and therefore ‘voters’) of PkPolitics.

I would say the visitor makeup is in flux and PKPolitics stands to become PKTrollics if it doesn’t do something about identity enforcement (through one way mechanisms) in a short time frame.)

IP ==> Unique cube shape (seem wordpress plugins) will help identify users even if they change identities.

It is becoming clear that the popular Pakistani politics and discussion sites are coming under increasingly coordinated attacks by people who are into things like “immaculate deceptions etcetera” and therefore having an identity cube would be a deterrent against such activities (or at least raise the stakes for comment spammers … and I don’t mean just the viagara type spam by that…)

admin pkpolitics said:

@Munir Solangi,

It is still on the main page. It was the first program posted on the site yesterday therefore got pushed to the top of the right column as more than 5 programs were added after that.

And secondly, Ghulam Mustafa does not post the programs on the website.

supercreature said:

“And secondly, Ghulam Mustafa does not post the programs on the website.”

You are so funny :)

@Munir Solangi

I think Admin is by large very fair on his website.

Blackhawk12 said:

@munir sulangi

i myself is big fan of hamid mir but i believe that admin of pk politics is by & larg very unbiased and fair, so stop accusing him. He is doing wonderful job so shut up

Jahil said:

Without going into hard raking, we can see the top 4 or 5 shows which precipitated themselves from others. These are the hosts who are, in general, very respected for their integrity to journalism, by viewers.

I don’t believe Kamran Khan was in the listing so that’s why his raking is so low. He is obviously much much better than 400.

I am sure if Dr. Shahid Masood had not experimented with PTV, he would had been up on top. The guys lost a lot of respect.

Finally, another eye-opener for PPP. The top rank anchors are the ones who usually take PPP ministers on.

inam ul haq said:

i like this result but even that i rate Kashif Abbasi on top. even Talat is best but i dont know why i like KASHIF …..WELLDONE PAKPOLITICS

bechari-awam said:

@Ma
    “..No objectivity in it.”

Can you please enlighten us, what exactly you mean by objectivity?

yahyanoori said:

Good one… I believe bolta pakistan would soon stop talking if NJ keeps on siding with zardari…. i generally dont watch this program any more.. now it seems more like beating about the bush.. used to be my most fav program once… but its really rubbish now

iEscape said:

It seems that Hamid Mir (of Capital Talk) has gotten the yeast of Zardari. No wonder Pee Pee Pee soaked mice are upset form the result of this survey. Free suggestion to Ziyalas; send some bait to pkpolitics.com also.

Ma said:

how a survey can be ‘true’ or ‘representative’ when its has taken a sample of less than 0.01% of the total population.

its simple!

admin pkpolitics said:

@Ma,

Can you please tell everyone about the sample size used in Gallup or IRI type surveys?

lofty said:

@ Ma

You are incredibly dumb person Ma. Thats what surveys are about. We are not holding elections they are surveys you thick head!

codefreaq said:

IP address monitoring wont solve the problem of the site becoming PkTrolics, first of all that would be a full time job secondly IP addresses are not a fixed standard to id the visitors. use web 2.0 methods like adding a voting system on comments. try some wordpress plugins like trollr or comment karma.

http://e.leven.com.ar/trollr/

http://www.cyber-knowledge.net/blog/2006/10/15/wordpress-plugin-rate-your-comments-comment-karma/

It shouldnt be too hard adding these to pkpolitics maybe a 1 hour job and will improve the site a lot

Muhammad Usman said:

@ soolangi aka hamid mir

Why cant you take critique? there is always space for improvement.

If talat start doing crap he will be brought to number 10 space simple.

It not geo monoply.

How many article do you write 3-4 months, does yhat qualify as professional writer

ali.abbas said:

Its interesting.

Everyone fighting for one’s own choice of anchors. PK POLITICS rocks.

Muhammad Usman said:

ali abbass

It is not about favourite, it is about objectivity, neutrality and ubbiased approach.

Who soever does that is favourite, names does not matter.

No one will praise nazir hanji, asad ghalib who are bikao maal.

Ideological bais is not an issue, obviously every one has a point of view.

No problem with nusrat javed being liberal , left kikeness, no problem with irfan siddique being conservative , right wing.

Muhammad Usman said:

People like zaid hamid , ahmad qureshi, luckman jasmen whoever sucks, that speaks in there ratings

alif-laam-meem said:

Talat’s latest article
    so true

http://express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100563718&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20090131

is he impartial?

Munir Solangi said:

blackhawk sahib,

do you think that Dr.Shahid Masood is more popular than Bolta Pakistan.In our rural Sindh bolta pakistan is more popular than any other program because Sindhis hate Zardari.

alif-laam-meem said:

“Sindhi’s hate Zardari.”

whats the evidence of this statement.

Fan of Talat sahab said:

so atlast talat sir again proved himself m smellin somthing burning here LOLLLLZz
    anywayz someone tensed on sample size shud knw tht all surveys are held taking 1000 or so sample size.
    I knw coz i myself is a student of statistics.
    Talat Hussain Always THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Jamhooriat said:

Munir Talangi aka Hamid Mir

Remember wat u had said for Dr. Shahid after he left GEO??

http://pkpolitics.com/2008/07/07/hamid-mir-in-nadia-khan-show-2/

Now u r eating ur own sh!t and if u have any shame left , then u shud have left GEO the day Dr. Shahid joined GEO again.

U r just a low level, low IQ hypocrate. In Punjabi wat is said ‘ tumhara phuddoo laga hooa hay’.

and for u morals, values, thics, rules, principals are not important, u only care for ur job……right?

Rasheed & Others: Upon my kind request just take notice with utter attention thereafter analyze, how far Kamran Khan is ahead as compare to others, the most appealing object of KK i.e. he talks only on utmost required topics in limited time period which may turn the table of Pakistan, South Asia or global politics.

As far this blame of Lifafa this hasn’t been proofed as yet to-date, yes you may say he/KK never allows before him that anyone even President Zardari, PM Gillani, FM Shah, Khurshid Shah, Qaira & many others when they start to talk to much & try to go in detail even he/KK may cut the line because as & when KK realizes he’s received at his end the most OBJECTIVE-able point he may say Bahut Bahut Shukria in other words (Tum hoongay Wazir yah Bearucrate majahay Tum nay woh Baat Batladi Jo nahi batalni chaihay thi.)

Believe me this sort of ability I haven’t seen in any anchor at some extent you may say so might have in Kashif Abbasi but some time he over reacts which is seem odd.

Zee em said:

Admin, I have missed lots Siyasi Log. You have not shown many program in January

Democracy said:

Congratulations to both Talat Hussain and Kashif Abbasi and of course to pkpolitics for conducting this survey.

nota said:

@Munir Solangi
    “he is one of the most popular journalists in the country.If his show is number three then why Capital Talk is getting more business than Talat Hussain and Kashif Abbasi?”

I think you did not get “We conducted a survey earlier this month (January 2009) through our visitors. Also, I am sure PTV News is watched by more people and is popular in the general population but that does not mean it will get high ratings here. And I doubt Talat or Kashif will ever get more business than Hamid Mir because — dare I say — they are smarter? They certainly will have to dumb it down a lot to reach that level of popularity but I am glad they haven’t…

“you have showed your biase by removing it from the main page”
    Of course now you know you were not thinking properly and it is you who showed your bias by this claim.

“do you think that Dr.Shahid Masood is more popular than Bolta Pakistan.In our rural Sindh bolta pakistan is more popular than any other program because Sindhis hate Zardari.”
    I really don’t know what you are trying to say here. And how you draw the conclusion “Sindhis hate Zardari” from “In our rural Sindh bolta pakistan is more popular” certainly beats me.

aristotle said:

Not just we (participants or regular visitors of this site) but ppl related to media also take a serious notice of all survey’ results which are hold on this site. As Rauf Kalasra has mentioned and expressed gratefulness to gain fifth position by the public in the Best Urdu columnist survey which was held by a famous website. He wrote that I received this news from a friend who called me for congratulations…

As earlier, Business Recorder (Daily Business Newspaper) advertised that AAJ TV got the best and most popular TV channel position according a survey held on pkpolitics .com… they used this site reference in advertisement.

We should respect and rely on these results (reflection of our opinion) congratulations to the Winners and administrator also…….
    but one thing… since kashif abbasi got 2nd position in this survey .. He is doing nothing in his shows.. why?????????

aristotle said:

Munir Solangi

I feel sorry to hear that ur favorite anchorperson does not receive phone call or never reply e-mails…sent by u and other fans… anyways, one thing I would like to mention here that this is not a criteria to judge a professional on his/her personal looks or behavior…It’s more than related to work and professional integrity which counts definitely in all matters. No matter he/he replies a phone call or e-mail or not… (Btw who do it?)
    I m sure that all voters who participated in this survey, definitely they have cast their vote keeping in view the professionalism of candidates… not personal affair… or looks…
    Moreover, how do you suppose that HM looks arrogant? I don’t think… Believe me that HM does not looks arrogant… he has a pleasant personality.. And listen! Looks does not matter in this profession… Talat Hussain looks more arrogant (hard feature personality) but u see results? Why ppl like him? Just because of his professional integrity and professionalism. Be happy!!!

aristotle said:

Solangi:
    plz tell me about the person (tv journalist/anchorperson) who replies the mails.. I would like to address him.

Muhammad Usman said:

Kashif abbasi has let us down by saying 270aaa is part of constitution.

How stupid of him.

Muhammad Usman said:

soolangi aka hamid mir you can learn interviewing skills from talat hussain.

See todays live with talt interview with shabaz shareef. See how a anchor should be unbiased and same time ask pinching question.

There is no shame in learning. We all learn.

Muhammad Usman said:

Bolta pakistan has been doing pathetic work since few months now.

Nadeem maliks islamabad tonight is much better and balanced program, without any bias .

Kashif because of his tendency to invite TULLI in every third program and justifying 270 aaa IS doing badly.

Muhammad Usman said:

I must say kamran khan show format is good and many topics are covered.

Host has his bias and problems

Jamhooriat said:

@ Muhamamd Usman

Kashif did not justify 270AAA or considered it as part of constitution.

He just raised this important issue to EXPOSE some ones beloved PPP (Londi of establishment) who believe that 270AAA IS part of constitution.

Similialry, another so called progressive party (who recently changed their master from russians to US) also accepted that 270AAA is part of constitution.

anticorruption said:

The most visible decline is in Bolta Pakistan’s popularity, and this is because Nusrat Javed is a PPP chamcha.

Either they should replace Nusrat by someone else or have some surgery on him to remove the jiala disease. Otherwise the show will go down further.

aristotle said:

Jiala dieses is dangerous…Blindness is an integral part of this …we understand that everybody has right to like any party and have an affiliation with party but in profession he/she should be impartial at least seems as impartial /unbiased or fair. As journalist NJ could not over come Party Love which is basic cause of losing viewer ship in ratings….

saad12 said:

It is great to see Live With Talat on top of the list of popular programs. It is testament to the rising popularity of Talat Hussain and also to his impeccable analysis and honest reporting of the true facts backed up by thorough research and investigation.

Please do take the time to visit and join Talat Hussain’s fanpage on Facebook titled as ‘Syed Talat Hussain’ it can also be accessed through this link:-

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/pages/Syed-Talat-Hussain/49947567280?ref=ts

saad12 said:

@ Munir Solangi

Munir sahab I really wonder how you came up with the statement that evryone in rural Sindh hates Zardari!! They would never have voted him in in the first place if that was the case! Have you conducted your own survey in this regard by the way?

Secondly, if Bolta Pakistan is liked more than any other program in rural Sindh for the very same reason mentioned above, then all these anchors like Kashid Abbasi, Talat Hussain and recently even Dr. Shahid Masood have been increasingly critcizing Zardari and the government, so why are they not popular then?
    I think this is a misconception of yours because one of the hosts of Bolta Chalta Phirta Pakistan Nusrat Javed is famously known to be and is self-avowedly Pro-PPP and Zardari!