Please discuss your views on the peace agreement between the NWFP Government and Threek-e-Nifaaz-e-Shariat lead by Sufi Mohammad.
- What do you think would be the short term and long term impacts of this peace agreement?
- What will be the future strategy of the militants?
- What do you think will be the International reaction on this peace agreement?
- Do you think that the schools will re-open in Swat?
- What will the future of tourism industry in Swat?

First of all need to be corrected that it is not an “AGREEMENT”. It is just an “ANNOUNCEMENT”.
First all the stake holders will ensure peace in swat and Sofi muhammad and his team will cooperate with the government to force maulana fazl-ullah (Son in law of sofi muhammad) for peace talk and dis-arm them. The governement will then have an “Agreement” with them ensuring the peaceful environment in swat.
It is very pre-mature to say that what will be the law and how will be the courts structure etc etc.
This is fluff! This agreement can be wiggled out of in a jiffy!
Is there even an example of the laws that they consider “illegal” and against the sharia? the interpretation of it is wide open and they can break it any day! What is the qualification of those who will do ijma/qiyas? what school of thought? etc. etc.
The talibs are not going to lay down their arms or stop this fitna. It is because their motive is NOT nifaz-e shariat, it is something else, controlled by someone else.
I wouldn’t be surprised if we see a violation within the 10 days they themselves gave. At most this will give a wedge to the ANP govt to factionalize the armed groups. How they deal with it is a separate matter.
Our jurnaili geniuses have so far come up with brilliant ideas like Howitzering the FVCK out of civilian houses and that tactic seems to have worked wonders as a recruitment tool for the Talibs. Now only if our brilliant tacticians coudl napalm whole neightbourhoods, throw 5000 lbs bombs on completely innocent people and flood the city of saidu sharif to drown that one talib who wasn’t bothering anyone to begin with… we’ll be AAALL SET!
GOd I wish we could execute at least 5 of these fat fvcks with their fat children. Right in the frickkin head!!
call me “negative”. shrugs shoulders
I guarantee you… this agreement will not last for long.
This is not an agreement but a simple BS. Situation will not get better unless Talban surrender their arms and accept the authority of government. If this vague document can achieve peace then there is no harm. If not then government is still a winner for showing the nation that the purpose of Sawat insurgency is not Shria but something else.
I think it is a good move by government but hopefuly they will keep a close eye on Talban activities during ceasefire.
I agree with Ghost of TK. I am not sure what happened in 1994, but there weren’t 50 TV channels back then, so rest of Pakistan/and the world for that matter didn’t know what happened; but seems like the issue was settled along the same lines with a fluffy agreement which was never implemented. Seems like Pak Army is back to its games.
Its hard to believe all this bloodshed in swat was for few qazi courts. Many such deals are celeberated and broken in past. It merely gives extremists chances to re-group. I am sure people like IK and Qazi will again blame gov and military for breaching the deal as they have done in the past. The best case scenario for our Army and gov is make some inroads in Taliban network and gradually overcome them. But these sort of deals usually gives much need breathing room to insurgents and they come back stronger than before. Idon’t have a reason but I still hope this time result ‘d be different.
Good work done by Government this time is that they have made Mullahs of Swat to agree on implementing Shariah on precondition that first peace is achieved in Swat. All the responsibility of achieving peace in the region has been put on the shoulders of Mullahs who taken hostage the People of Swat in the name of Islam. There is another interesting equation between Sufi Mohd and His Son in law Fazlullah. Sufi is the pioneer of this movement but in his absence Fazlullah hijacked it . Fazlullah apparently has also divorced Sufis daughter and married another woman
In the last VISTIORS VIEWS dispatched some articles which are more appropriately placed here:
Big News: IK Challenged openly in today’s Capital Talk to Musharraff that how dare is Musharraf who is denying OUTRIGHTY the DOUBLE GAME regarding DRONED/MISSILE attacks and having HAWAIAN CIGAR simultaneously at Press Conference today. As if in other words IK is saying:
It is supposed if this OPEN DISCUSSION is held on TV all these Musharaff’s ACTION BAZI/OVER CONFIDENT LOOKING to be vanished.
Thereafter with prediction & reason of failure of the above cited:
Another Big News: AAM openly predict the following countries will never digest the SHARIA LAW DEAL.
1. ISRAEL (behind the curtain shall take EXTREME MEASURES)
2. AMERICA, UK, FRANCE & rest of other RED WHITE & BLUE countries openly will opposed the same.
3. India will create kick up a row regarding the same.
Kindly register the same as duly dated & stamped by AAM.
What is Sharia law? Are those the laws as ordered by ALLAH or the man made laws made by the tribes and the Arab Sheikhs, who instead of getting a life adopted religion as profession? The beauty of Islam is that it does not allow adopting religion as profession. Those Sheikhs and Mollas who does that and lie after the name of our beloved Prophet PBUH, then call that a Sharia law, should get a life instead of bluffing the people.
But surprisingly 180 million sheeps of Pakistan accept them and do not have the guts to stand and challenge these Mollas, just as they do not have the guts to stand against the corrupt Pakistan Army and the Politicians. Instead those sheep are ready to die for the corrupt Pirs, Makdooms, Imams , the corrupt Army and the Politicians, BUT NOT READY TO LAY THEIR LIFE FOR JUSTICE AND PROTECTION OF THEIR OWN “CHILDREN”.
Whenever one challenges these Mollas as to why the so called Islamic countries adopted laws which ALLAH did not allow, their only explanation is that our Prophet PBUH did it. Big question! Could our Prophet PBUH go against the orders of ALLAH?
I fully support this Sharia agreement or announcment.I always wonder why we muslims are afraid of shariat. On one side we always shout that Islam is a religion of peace. But on other side we are afraid of implementing it in our society.
some people always try to spread baseless questions and reservations about shariat. In fact , the system we already is running is full of flaws and every one can use at its own will. specially when you are in power , you can interpret it at your own. I have never seen at a single place where shariat was implemented and people fought that , “this” shariat is wrong and “that” shariat is right ..
This is bitter truth , Islamic shariah is a alarming for the western capitalism. Thats why they donot let any one to implement it any where. either it is in Afghanistan, or Sudan or somalia or Palestine. Wherever people want to have islamic shariah , the western launches compain against it and some of our foolish muslim brothers are also become part of it.
If there is a real shariah in our society , then there will be no extremism , no terrorism . Because Islamic shariah is the name of justice and when any society is without justice , then you can think of only Law of jungle there as in our pakistan. where we can see people after earning illegaly billion of dollars got clearence from NRO. The chief justice got his daughter adimtted to medical college illegaly. Similarly maulana prado, maulan diesel are wonderful examples for us…
agrana75 said: I fully support this Sharia agreement or announcment.I always wonder why we muslims are afraid of shariat…………………………………………………..
UTMOST REQUIRED SUCH SPIRIT—SALUTE YOU.
@agrana75
Nobody is afraid of sharia/’sharia laws’ but my interpretation of sharia is definitely very different than yours. The idea that somehow you can implement your idea of sharia on me just gets under my skin. There is no concept of an ‘Islamic Republic’ in the Quran. I haven’t seen a single Hadith where my beloved Prophet (PBUH) has told me that I need to create an Islamic Republic. Sudan, Palestine, Somalia and Afghanistan are your examples of where ’sharia laws’ were/are to be implemented? I am sorry to see that your idea of an ideal state is somewhere between Sudan (where there are so called ’sharia laws’ apparently) and the non-existent state of Palestine.
I have a simple statement for you: The idea of an Islamic State or Republic is an edifice created and nurtured by mullahs and religious and related beneficial entities that have an economic and political interest in having one (in Pakistan, it’s the related beneficial entity that runs the show!).
The only two states that i know that have complete ’sharia laws’ in them are Saudi Arabia (wholly owned subsidiary of the USA) and Iran (a complete opposite of Saudi Arabia). So if you are really against the western designs, wouldn’t you want ’sharia laws’ that are currently in effect in Iran? I assume that Swat ’sharia laws’ will not be allowing ‘mu’tah’ and concepts of ‘viliyat-e-fiqh’ to show up anywhere in the ’sharia laws’ that will be implemented. I believe you get the point here, both governmental dispensations in Iran and Saudi Arabia are not what the Prophet (PBUH) or God wants. Any laws have to protect the right of the minorities, which are not even protected even in the current Pakistani constitution.
Btw, this agreement is a farce. You will know within 5 years!
bho said:………………………….. The only two states that i know that have complete ’sharia laws’ in them are Saudi Arabia (wholly owned subsidiary of the USA) and Iran (a complete opposite of Saudi Arabia)………………………………………………………….
Whether you believe me or not but the real fact of the matter is many rulers of KSA having been waiting for years for that particular day when Pakistan will say to the WEST OUT-RIGHTLY & POINT-BLANKLY —NO—.
http://www.cnn.com/2009/WORLD/meast/02/16/saudi.female.modernization/index.html
I just wanted to point out that our great friends from the House of Saud are slowly moving along the liberalisation road. Seems like the House of Wahab is losing its grip on the Saudi Govt., or maybe, they saw what happened in the US elections and they are out-right affraid of a bedouin revolt if human rights are not improved upon.
Another point i wanted to make for all the ’sharia laws’ or shariat supporters on this forum: Do you believe that the ’sharia laws’ will allow a woman of Swat (or for that matter anywhere in this universe) to run a commidity trading business? I would assume here that the ’sharia laws’ would not allow this (since i assume that woman wouldn’t be driving a car/bus because of ’sharia laws’.)
That’s the whole problem i have with the ’sharia laws’. How can a God who ordained/determined/destined that to spread Islam throughout this universe, money from a woman who ran a commodity trading business will be used, ordain/order/determine in his Quran that a woman cannot be allowed to run a commodity trading business?
As i mentioned i have not seen a Hadith about an Islamic Republic from my Prophet (PBUH) but i have heard and read (since Class 5 of my school) that the Prophet (PBUH) mentioned at various occasions (i am paraphrasing) that were it not for Khadija’s support, Islam could not have spread.
I find it very hard to believe that people who call themselves muslims today due to Hazrat Khadijas efforts are putting these restrictions on women.
Every mullah who has a 15ft beard in Swat (including Fazllulah or Sufi Muhammad) who calls himself a muslim owes his being muslim to the efforts (and money/gold/silver/support/vast trading business) of none other than Hazrat Khadija. Lest he forget, my Prophet (PBUH) himself was in the employment of Hazrat Khadija!
There is no such thing as Jobless Jihadi. These violent Psychopath mullahs are not going to instructs the brain washed young talibs to enroll themselves into UET Peshawar to get educated. Instead, young talibs will be primed to carry out more “Martyrom operations”.
The irony is that the whole set of Munafiqs are making an agreement. Who has the integrity and legitmacy to make these agreements ? Is it the Army, ANP, Mullahs ? None of them can be trusted. As a nation, we are morally and Intellactually bankrupt and hence I see no hope , at this moment, for an end to this brutal affair.
For Jehadis, it’s simple economics. Money from Big belly Gulf Sheikhs will stop coming as soon as they lay down their weapons. So it’s never going to happen. These sheikhs should focus on their bellies, I am sure entire Bangladesh could be fed for years if they cut down their excessive meals. Why is it that the simple acts of charity will never be a considered an act of “service of islam” ? Is it because Oxygen ( reasoning ) deprived Arab brain does not think of any thing other than violent Jihad a “Service of Islam”. The problem lies in our psyche. We the people of Pakistan have assigned a leadship role to Arabs in the matters of Religion. Arabs are not upto the Job and we just don’t get it.
Talibanistaion is out of control now, there are not only pushton taliban in Swat but Punjabi, Sindhi, blauchi, and kashmiri people are in Taliban militants. Ordinary people of Pakistan are supporting Taliban because they feel Corrupt beaurocracy and politicians are failed to change the system. Especialy ‘democratic party’ PPP let down the Pakistanis even after their decision against Musharaf policies.
WELL THIS AGREEMENT IS GOOD GESTURE FOR THE PEACE IN THE REGION.
WHAT THE QUESTION RISE THAT THE ACTS DONE BY THE TALIBAN DURING LAST 2 YEARS LIKE MURDER OF THE CIVILIAN AND ARMY, SUISIDE BOMING, BOMB BLASTS.
WILL APPEAR IN THESE QAZI COURTS OR THERE WILL BE NO JUSTICE FOR THE GURDIANS OF THE MUSLIMS WHO WERE THE VICTIMS OF THE SITUATION.
I SHOULD BE IMPLEMENTED WITH THE TRUE SPIRIT OF THE ISLAM, MEANS IT SHOULD BE ISLAMIC NOT TALIBAN VERSION OF ISLAM.
BECAUSE THIS WILL GENRATE FURTHER PROBLEMS.
ANOTHER QUESTION IS, WHETHER ALL SECTS WILL ACCEPT THESE QAZI COURTS.
[...] and “maulvism vs. secularism” again. I put in some experts from a blog post at PKPolitics to review this debate. This is fluff! This agreement can be wiggled out of in a [...]
I would start believeing in QAZI courts if they can try and punish those who bombed schools and killed innocent ppl. Can these qazi courts summon Fuzal-ullah and try him for crimes he commited?
This is just a piece of toilet paper. No letter head of the government nor of any organisation. No official stamp.No identity card numbers, and no signature of mediator…if this is how we make a deal than Pakistan ka Khuda Hafiz.
What an agreement between a Medieval Mullah and a Minister for Livestock and Dairy.
I am looking for these guys
Hazrat Maulana Sufi Rehmatullah
Lieutenant General Executive Commander
Chaudhary Syed Khasyal Bhinder Sharif
Mera khayal hai SENATE ka election hai is liyah government Dr Qadeer Khan ko release kernay ki news or phir electricity ka problem round about 70% cover ho gaya hai or ab yah swat agreement lagta hai government apni reputation achi kernay kah chakar mai hai.. Aik or bat Bombay attacks sa shayad government ko pata chal gaya hai kah Tribal areas Pakistan kah liyah abhi jo situation hai bohat important hain. Kal ko agar India sa War ho gayi toh Army ko right hand ki zarorat hai jo Tribal areas kah people hain. agar pakistan or india ki war hoti hai toh Pakistan ko pichay ki bi fikar hain kion kah pichay NATO, or Afghan army bi Pakistan ko achi nazar sa nahi dekh rahi. or hamain yad ho gah Afghan President Karzai nah kaha tha hum Pakistan kah andar ja ker Taliban ko hit karain gah. Jo kuch bi hai Army Operation Tribal areas ka solution nahi hai. Aik or bat long march aa raha hai magar long march wala element itna count nahi kerta kion kah woh two king parties Pml N or PPPP ki fight hai. Lawyers ko Nawaz Sharif sa matlab hai or Nawaz sharif ko Judges sa kion kah us ka case SCP mai hai or Zardari ko NRO sa pain hoti hai. Jo bi hai Pakistan ka Allah malik. Allah Pakistan ko qaim wo dain rakhay. amen. Pakistan ki awam 60 sal sa ULO bantay aayeh ab bi banain gah. Pakistan ko aik achi governense ki zarorat hai.
Insh’Allah it will be fine. May Allah help us not to be hypocrates, aameen.
For all those who read all the speaches of Quaid, but couldn’t read a few about his vision about Quran and Islam, following is one where he advised us to seek guidance from Quran:
“We thank Providence for giving us courage and faith to fight these forces of evil. If we take our inspiration and guidance from the Holy Quran, the final victory, I once again say, will be ours. ”
Speech at a Mammoth Rally at the University
Stadium, Lahore on 30th October. 1947
Moreover, he asked Pakistan state bank to formulate an interest-free economic model. So what do you think isn’t interest-free economic model is a part of Islamic laws?
a cynical attempt by both parties to gain political capital. The taliban know it’s not going to go through, but this has given enourmous boost to the ultra right wing demands of “sharia” (though no one knows what/how/where of it)
cynical attempt by ANP leadership as well because even though it may fall apart, they’re going to now have some dead horse to flog aka, ‘ham nay to good faith men muahida kia tha.. lekin taliban peechay haT gai’ etc. etc.
and the cycle of death keeps going on.
P.S. Zardari is refusing to sign the Nizam-e-Adal … hahahaha!
This is the advantage of controlling BOTH sides, if one side by some freak of nature goes against your instructions, you control the other side to trump everything.
This is ALSO why Zardari is not being made PM. Because the current ‘constitutional’ setup suits the masters, the sock-puppets — and the hand that runs the sock-puppet (our “establishment”) — ie the sock-puppeteers just fine!
Blast in Peshawar:
http://thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=68846
The only thing interesting i find (that’s the pathetic nature of the Pakistani affairs) is this from the report: “The injured were shifted to Lady Reading hospital…”
What an irony, that a hospital made by the wife of the Viceroy of India is still serving the people of Peshawar. 1)Why didn’t the MMA government rename it to, i don’t know, Muhammad Bin Qasim hospital and, 2)Why the f**k didn’t they make a new hospital the size of Lady Reading for the people of Pehawar?
PAKISTANIS DO NOT BELIEV IN LAW….SO WHAT WHETHER ITS SHARIAH LAW OR BRITISH LAW IN PAK….MAIN PROBLEM IS THE IMPLEMENTATION….ALL LAWS RULES AND PRINCIPLES ARE WRITTEN ON PAPER…AND DATS IT..WHO CARES??? THERE IS ONLY JUNGLE LAW…WHICH WE R FOLLOWING….WHATEVER IS GOIN ON IN SWAT …AND IF THERE IS SHARIAH LAW….ACCORDING TO THIS LAW….ALL THOSE WHO KILLED INNOCENT PPL OF SWAT …SHOULD B PUNISHED …IMMEDIATELY…WE DONT KNOW WHO IS MOLANA SUFI …OR MEHSOOD…ETC…SHUD B HANGED …COZ THEY R THE REASON …OF SO MANY KILLED PPL…WOULD THEY LIK TO IMPLEMENT SHARIAH LAW ON THEMSELVES???? I THINK PAK IS ISLAMIC STATE…SO THERE MUST B SHARIAH LAW…WHY OUR SO CALLED SCHOLARS DONT MAKE IT CLEAR TO US,…THAT IT IS NOT SOMETHING OUT OF THIS WORLD…OR ONLY TALIBAN KIND….OF PPL CAN LIV WITH SHARIAH LAW….ITS OUR IGNORANCE THAT WE CANNOT UNDERSTAND QURAN…I THINK THERE SHUD B ONLY ONE LAW IN PAK…N THATS SHARIAH LAW…AND WHY GOVT IS BOWING IN FRONT OF TALIBANS….DONT KNOW…WHO WILL PAY FOR THE DAMAGE IN SWAT???? THESE SO CALLED TALIBANS????
Please,
This region and Baluchistan were the most ignored provinces since the independence. The previous governments have ignored to develop or give laws to the local people so now PEOPLE HAVE TAKEN THE LAW IN THEIR HANDS. Right now things are out of hand, government has no control over these regions. This agreement is as fake as Israel’s truce with hamas so don’t get excited!
I may be off topic but I must write this post as most disappointing latest development.
Nawaz Sharif did not waste much time to return to politics of luxury & benefits, we thought he is now out for politics of sacrifices & principles.
Zardari is not far from wrong when he made fun of NS & sending him tissue papers to wipe his tears in Jail.
Sacrifices need endurance to hardship & very strong will to stick to principles–Will can never be strong when you left an example of luxury & you built a castle in Raewind.
Probably NS knew if he goes to jail he had to spend this summer without AC & without breakfast of Lassi & Paye.
I am afraid rehbos would be jumping all over because this nation is so cursed that we can not make a leader of class,qualities & charisma.
I really don’t know how much this dharna & long march was dependent on N league–The only bright possibility is that people are educated & goes after issues not after some crying babies politicians.
Now all eyes are on Imran Khan–Hopefully he will cash the situation in his favor & favor of people of Pakistan.
I beg all of you to please pledge Imran Khan loudly on this very forum so you could be heard all over media of Pakistan & also in Raewind & President House.
Please do not hold this post & please from now on we must call Imran Khan as “Quaide Pakistan”
Promoting Imran Khan with honor & respect is worst punishment to NS & all the opportunist in this country.
Most peole will be OK with rule of law, speedy justice (all lofty goals), even Sharia law but the way this agreement was brought about is very ominous. It sets a VERY bad precedent
For a long time we heard things like ‘writ of govt’ from the officials. This amounts to ‘giving in’ and extremists know this fully well, wheather our govt acknowledges it or puts out any other lame explanation.
i am worried about the morale boosing effects that this ‘agreement’ will have on taliban .
If Zardari truly meant when he said Taliban wants to take over Pakistan, well then Mr President you have awarded them the first piece yourself.
Moodykhan
@ sophia.
Since our independence in 1947, the problem with the the Pakistani establishment or the ‘rulers has been that no body has had the ‘guts’ to put on trial any former ‘ruler’ or the ‘one’ who ‘ruled’ before him or her, because of the fear that he/she may face the same fate, the next time; hence all laws DO EXIST, but you are very right that there is no implementation of those laws; & PRECISELY FOR THE SAME REASON.
Thus IT DOES NOT MATTER, whether the British or the Shariah laws are practiced. As simple as that !
[...] here a copy of the peace agreement (in [...]
TO those brothers and sisters who are opposing this deal
I ASK THEM WE WANT PEAS IN SWAT
what we swatian got from this war between taliban and army ???? ..nothing we just lost more then we had
WE ASK people who sitting in lahore can easily criticise this … why are you worried to come to swat ….because there is a threat to your life ….. we have the same threat ..
thousands of peolpe been killed during this operation who had nothing to do with the taliban and army WE JUST SUFFERED for no reason…
our swat is jannat and we want peas in it
@swat yosufzai
THEY DON’T BECAUSE THEY DAMN CARE .
Great work.
At last we have found our way to solve problem without bloodshed.
This was the main reason of all the fighting and I hope that Govt. will keep its promise.
I am really happy today but I am afraid that USA will pressure and Govt. will back down.
Dear all, dont think so muche, whether the deal works or not is decided in GHQ not by Fazlullah.
From the look of it, this does not sound an agreement by any standards. It seems more like Sufi Mohammad is feeling guilty for his role in starting this bloody game and now since he is dying he wants to undo some of his dirty work.
So far as ANP is concerned, well they did not have any option left.
1) They sent army to curb militancy, Army did the opposite; out of the 2700 killed in Swat, 100 are militants while 2500 are civilians. There is no point continuing the military operation.
2) Taliban’s representatives like Imran and Qazi were shouting full throttle for dialogue, and the right-wing media was out fully supporting them, so ANP had to do that.
3)ANP is trying to strip Taliban of any legitimacy in their demands. Sharia was one, though everybody knows it is strategic depth and not shariat which is the motive.
I have just read all the comments posted by fellow users , however as a British Swati living in the UK have been very depressed due to the situation. The whole thing has been a game for all- the government and these so called ‘Talibans’ who has killed so many innocent swati people in the last 18 months. The mini- Switzerland of Pakistan has been destroyed.
Does Sharia law force people to leave their homes, businesses and livelihoods? and it is evident that nobody is able to speak and everyone has fear in them. Sufi Mohammad is no saint as he took many swat people to get bombed by the USA in Afghanistan. His 4 ft 8 inch son Fazallullah is a murderer and a rapist. He should be hanged…. go back to your own areas- i believe these people are from DIR so why have you come to ruin our areas.
People like my parents have worked very hard abroad for many years and built a retirement home there so late in life. At this age they should be going on holidays and relaxing for the remainder of their lives. However it is not to be……. i would not invest a penny in Pakistan not now or in the future.. The UK government give us more justice and love than the Government of Pakistan. I urge all Pakistani’s living abroad to forget these corrupt leaders and lying cheating money grabbers who would do anything to kill their own people. We have voted in Mr 110%- what does this tell you about democracy and these so called educated people of Pakistan.
As for the loyal army!!!! i heard very good things about them when i was a child- After BB and Nawaz Sharif two terms and the murdering dictator Musharraf our army has lost their dignity and cannot be trusted….. I wish we still was ruled by the British…… at least they may have helped the poor unlike these greedy selfish junglers.
Hope we may see Imran Khan as a PM one day……. i cant see any wrongdoing by him so far. Just people out there to get him.
a government cant give into uprisings on its land.
there should be unequivocal ceasefire by the taliban before any such agreements are announced.
No Sariah law or any law will work as long as the corrupt Pakistan Army is in charge of the country. First of all that 180 million sheep must wake up and get to the throat of the corrupt Pakistan Army’s Generals. These corrupt and degenerated Pakistan Army’s generals instead of defending their own people are not only killing their own countrymen but allowing others to attack their own people from their own soil. Since that 180 million sheep choose to sleep, the only other hope is a mutiny in the army and all those above the rank of Brigadiers are eliminated. Just like the corrupt politicians with the help of the law enforcement agencies and the justice system, are getting 180 million sheep dance to their tune, there are only a handful of Generals controlling the army of millions. Once we have a sincere army, there will be none to defend these corrupt politicians and their administration
ASSALAMO ALIKUM
sheria measns ”ISLAMIC SOCIO ECOnOMIC JUSTICE SYSTEM” According TO Quran o Sunnah
The Sharia which is demanded from Sufi Muhammad and people of Sawat is the Real Sharia,
and
The Sharia which is demanded from MOLVI FAZLULLAH is not the real one and is against the Sharia ,
if The Real Sharia should be implemented not only n Sawat but also in Pakistan ,than whole country shall be in peace
I am very happy at this occasion.may ALLAH TALA change the FATE of people of sawat .and i would like to advise those peoples who are against this regulation,that
if two types of judicial system can work in Pakistan
1.army courts .
2 Pakistani courts
and if two kinds of living system can work in Pakistan
1.army Cantonments Living areas2 civil
If three kind of different educational system & syllabus can work in Pakistan
1. Urdu medium for lower class
2. English medium for middle class
3. Camridge system for upper class
than why these sharia courts cant work in this country,why you are so anxious bout this regulation.
if in MALAYSIA (which is more advance than Pakistan) two types of system can work ,that in two provinces of MALAYSIA, SHARIA COURTS are working from 30 years regularly.
than why cant in Pakistanwhy media anchors are so confused that two parallel systems havebeen Established
actually we all are Hippocrates,we dont have dare to speak about army ,we dont have dare to speak against military courts.plz plz for GOD SAKE,DOnT OPPOSE THIS POSITIVE STEP.PROMOTE PEACE. MAY ALLAH PROTECT OUR COUNTRY.AAMEEn
SAFDAR ALI
rebhos
ur 100%correct
I hope key aap sub ki tabiat saaf ho gaye ho gi after USA’s latest statement on Swat agreement. hehehe..MAIN ZARDARI HOON. MAIN KOI KAAM AMERICA KEY MUFAD KEY KHILAF NAHI KER SAKTA. MAIN NEY AIK HI BAAT SEEKHI HAI KEY TUMHARI KAMYABI KI RAAH MAIN RAKAWAT TUMHARI BIWI HAI, USSAY RAASTAY SEY HUTTA DO…..MUHAHAHAHAHAHA.
Mechanically people are made afraid of Sharia as words “Mulla” & “Beard” are made curse words.
I will give here one live example–One of our well respected poster shirkuh call me mulla in one of his post when he meant to insult me or to show disrespect to my stand or poke fun at me–He may be much better muslim than myself and many other muslim posters on this forum–The point is very devout muslims are brainwashed to curse & hate their own ground where they suppose to stand.
Similarly literary Giant mbokhari probably again a good muslim spare no respite to these muslim heritage of Prophetic sunnah proudly alienate himself from mulla, beard & jihad to show respect to his disrespected brainwashing.
Sharia laws are not just the laws but spirit behind them–Western societies are developed on the basis of mutual respect & fear–As A will not steal B’s cow because he is afraid C the next neighbor who is more strong then could steal his cow.
Islamic society is solely built on fear of Allah–Without this fear hand cutting or public lashing will have little effect or may have contrary effect which could be handy to western media to show how atrocious Islam is.
I am not familiar with the people behind this sharia movement–if they are sincere then its a great news & this practice may spread all over Pakistan.
@jazoo
People are not afraid of the ’sharia’ if it is in true form. They are afraid by the people who use sharia to justify their brutility and no body is dare to chalange them.
Also, there might be some brain washing factor but it is mostly the ‘kartoot’ of those men ‘with beards and unchi shalwar’ who behave like monsters. The only thing they could extract from sharia is to behead people (who they think are infidels) and cage women. Look around, don’t you see it is fazlu type people who are defaming a beard.
- As Muslims, the best system for us is the Islamic because it is the system where Muslims can best live according to their faith and religion! In any other system chances of conflicts are enormous.
- Shariah, Khialfat etc have been so many times misused by Muslims that people now feel suspicious about them.
- What is being planned in Swat is just one small part of the Islamic rulings and it depends how well those people are aware of Islam and ground realities, who will implement that.
- We should not take opinion of West as orders, we have to take care of our house, and on dictations of USA and Co., we can’t allow bloodshed and anarchy in our land!
- If local people of Swat are happy with this system of Justice then they have right to have it. Things would not however be easy as Taliban and other forces might try to sabotage such efforts. Taliban may bring more demands if their intentions and supporters are not sincere. As long as external negative interruption in Swat does not stop, all peaceful efforts would be hard to sustain.
- Although it is hard to believe, as it seems like a trap, but still let us hope that this step works for the good of people.
Few years ago, i tried to find the connections between “Islam and Democracy”. It was an interesting research work, and very recent and important one. My essay could be read at
http://www.scribd.com/doc/7564226/Islam-and-Democracy
I hope it proves to have some value and helps in understanding an important aspect of current time.
I second Zaheer.
I would like suggest people to watch a series of documentries on Iran, being shown by BBC 1 or 2. I am amazed to see that Iran is much aheadof us. Healthy society and healthy mind. At least they have a good system running. A good transport system, rail network and underground rail system in Tehran. Good Universities etc. In the begining they had problems but now I think things have got matured.
In our case, its just a start and it will take some time to get the system matured, may be 15-20 years. I hope and pray that it should be sucessful otherwise, yesterday’s communists and today’s secular athiest are really worried and trying their best to thawrt it. A single fire of a bullet from any side can spoil every thing.
Zahee said:As Muslims, the best system for us is the Islamic because it is the system………………………………………………..
The same language is spoken by you, me & many more in this beloved country, that as you aforementioned but kindly keep eye on the followings as they are ready to create OBSTACLES.
ISRAEL, AMERICA, INDIA & REST of other remaining WESTERN Countries as their own self created CAPITALIST SYSTEM is found in danger.
Pakistani minorities utmost important is AIHLAY TASHIH & AGHA KHANIs as the graph of their own IMPORTANCE to be reduced if SHARIA is imposed thus the most opposed showing persona is Zardari who himself belongs to Aihlay Tashih.
Last but not the least i.e. less than 2% the Elite Class of Pakistan who Love English Speaking who talk, walk, drink, have meals & even sit on commode use toilet in American Style they will never allow to implement you at Pakistan this Sharia Law Bill.
Therefore, there are various sort of Practical Problems which are ahead, be ready to face the same!
lets hope for best , i hope the people of Swat get some breathing space and civilian Govt takes some control. I also can only wish that a few in real establishment of Pakistan stop their dirty game for their vested interest.
This will be a good break through if Sofi Muhammed could made Fazal Ullah come out of the influence of ” real culprits”?
I do not think anything will change. The Taliban are still operating “checkposts”, and effectively control the whole valley. The “Nizam-e-Adl” is a basically good concept; but what I am afraid of is that it will mean different things to different people. For those of us outside, i may seem just a speedy court system more in tune with the local traditions. But what if somone decides to start operating a barber shop in Matta, and the Taliban deem it a “violation” of Sharia, an destroy it; or worse! What will be the recourse for the provincial government, if the local Sharia court upholds the actions of the “concerned Muslims”! As far as the tourism is concerned, consider it dead and burried for the forseeable future. People of Swat did get some much needed respite from the bloodshed, but what worries me is that we are heading down the same path as the Afghans did ten years ago! Remember all the reports about how peaceful and “just” the Taliban era was in Afghanistan! God save us all from ourselves!
I do not think that there is anyone who is against implementing the Islamic laws in Pakistan. But the question is which Islamic law? The rules of laws as ordered by ALLAH in the holy Koran or the rules of law which the people made for countries like Saudi Arabia and called it Sunna. There are so many contradictions when it comes to the Sunna but there is no second opinion of the laws described in the holy Koran.
The greatest contradiction is that the Mollas adopted religion as their profession whereas in the holy Koran none of the messengers of ALLAH ever wanted anything in return for the good deeds they preached. Let the Mollas go and get a life first.
Since these Mollas made their own laws, at times lying after the name of our Prophet PBUH and calling that Sariah, the people are scared.
Any peace deal is always welcomed by peace lovers.
A vast majority of Pakistani are hailing this deal and expecting from key players to keep concentrate on all such issues which must be resolved by the consent of majority.
People like sufi Muhammad is just the begining, and partially media is responsible for this.
Media is showing such programs and their programs are hosted by such woman which is mis representation of our woman in our society in pakistan. Wearing some foreign cloths, jeans and tight shirts and then people like sufi muhammad starts such movements. this culture is being adopted by our girls more and more only on the behest of media. Media is spreading and speeding up the indecency in our society and showing and convincing such culture which is not Pakistani. But then at the end I am labelled as narrow minded and backward and from stone age.
This is just the tip of the iceberg, such movements will spread to the length and breadth of Pakistan, it is just the matter of time.
Kudos rebhos
You have said it.
I do not have any problem if this agreement is restricted to only Swat, if people there want Sharia law then they can have it.
I have one concern what if Taliban and their associates want the Sharia law to be implemented all over Pakistan.
Thats the only way.
If both parties can maintain the process.
The question is how long can fight against our own peoples. And we sould never forget the western drama. They were heroes against russians.
Seems GHQ is not on-board in this deal. That journalist was the first one.
and how about this ?
http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=163154
This agreement is only to buy time before Taliban terrorists re-group themselves. Imagaine an agreement on a blank piece of paper. What a Joke! Pakistan ka Khuda Hafiz
AClraionCall,
Beg your pardon, but do you really think Taliban needs to re-group ? They are strong and stable so why re-group ? ? ? ?
http://thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=20424
The News story has confirmed, that Musa Khankhel has been killed by Army/ISI.
The only way out is to demolish this whole evil structure of Army otherwise no hope ………..
@UtmanKheli, Either you are an Indian agent or you are nuts.
You hate Pak Army and you hate ISI, these are the two who are going to protect Pakistan and its citizen if your Mama India attacks. Tell us the truth who are you ?.
A good article on “Nizam-e-Adal” and what it can acchieve:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2009/02/090218_swat_nizame_adl_rh.shtml
It is also interesting to note that how certain extremist just take one component out of people’s lives and mend it to their needs. How local traditions of settling disputes are transitioning into a “Nizam-e-Sharia” as defined by certain Mullahs. And “sharia” of these Mullah’s is different from each other, Sufee wouldnt like girls educating but wouldnt bomb their school where fazlullah will do that.
Geo’s journalist Mosa Khail killed by terrorists in Swat. Safma G.S Mumtaz Alam attacked by four long beard terrorists, they smashed his car but he is safe. Mumtaz Alam said he know who they are. What is link between Musa Khail murder and attack on Mumtaz Alam? Dont you feel Mumtaz Alam is trying to say that Mosa Khail was killed by Taliban look at me i am also victim of Taliban brutality and Agreement between NWFP Govt and Sofi Muhammad is a big mistake. Who is behind the Murder of journalist Musa Khail let me show you a blog written by ABC news investigator how CIA work inside their target countries.
ABC News Exclusive: The Secret War Against Iran
A Pakistani tribal militant group responsible for a series of deadly guerrilla raids inside Iran has been secretly encouraged and advised by American officials since 2005, U.S. and Pakistani intelligence sources tell ABC News.
The group, called Jundullah, is made up of members of the Baluchi tribe and operates out of the Baluchistan province in Pakistan, just across the border from Iran.
It has taken responsibility for the deaths and kidnappings of more than a dozen Iranian soldiers and officials.
U.S. officials say the U.S. relationship with Jundullah is arranged so that the U.S. provides no funding to the group, which would require an official presidential order or “finding” as well as congressional oversight.
Tribal sources tell ABC News that money for Jundullah is funneled to its youthful leader, Abd el Malik Regi, through Iranian exiles who have connections with European and Gulf states.
Jundullah has produced its own videos showing Iranian soldiers and border guards it says it has captured and brought back to Pakistan.
The leader, Regi, claims to have personally executed some of the Iranians.
“He used to fight with the Taliban. He’s part drug smuggler, part Taliban, part Sunni activist,” said Alexis Debat, a senior fellow on counterterrorism at the Nixon Center and an ABC News consultant who recently met with Pakistani officials and tribal members.
“Regi is essentially commanding a force of several hundred guerrilla fighters that stage attacks across the border into Iran on Iranian military officers, Iranian intelligence officers, kidnapping them, executing them on camera,” Debat said.
Most recently, Jundullah took credit for an attack in February that killed at least 11 members of the Iranian Revolutionary Guard riding on a bus in the Iranian city of Zahedan.
Last month, Iranian state television broadcast what it said were confessions by those responsible for the bus attack.
They reportedly admitted to being members of Jundullah and said they had been trained for the mission at a secret location in Pakistan.
The Iranian TV broadcast is interspersed with the logo of the CIA, which the broadcast blamed for the plot.
A CIA spokesperson said “the account of alleged CIA action is false” and reiterated that the U.S. provides no funding of the Jundullah group.
Pakistani government sources say the secret campaign against Iran by Jundullah was on the agenda when Vice President Dick Cheney met with Pakistani President Pervez Musharraf in February.
A senior U.S. government official said groups such as Jundullah have been helpful in tracking al Qaeda figures and that it was appropriate for the U.S. to deal with such groups in that context.
Some former CIA officers say the arrangement is reminiscent of how the U.S. government used proxy armies, funded by other countries including Saudi Arabia, to destabilize the government of Nicaragua in the 1980s.
http://blogs.abcnews.com/theblotter/2007/04/abc_news_exclus.html
THE PEOPLE WHO LOSED THEIR RALATIVES IN THIS FAKE HOLY WAR OF SOFI MUHAMMAD WILL BE COMPENSATED IN WHAT WAY.
OR SIRTUATION WILL BE LIKE THIS
MAIN KIS K HATH PAR APNA LAHOO TALASH KARON
For TOURISM to come back- you would need the return of MUSIC and the musicians and THAT is not going to happen.
Girl’s Schools will not re-open.
International reaction will ne negative and they will do everything to sabbotage this deal-( ref: Musa Khan Khel)-
The Militants will continue to push the Sharia again and again into other areas. This has been tehir TROJAN Horse or the camaflouge and you do not chnage a winning strategy in the middle of the game. This has been compounded by the total loss of any legitimacy and credibility of the present regime.
The short term results will be of great hope and expectations but long term there is only one solution- The Americans and their allies must leave and then let the chips fall where they may.
You never negotiate from a weak position. This agreement is no different from the past agreements done in North Waziristan etc. This just gives the extremists time to re-group and advance.
Another thing to ponder, if we go around telling the world that we are secure and we can maintain and protect our nuclear assets, what kind of signal this surrender sends to the rest of the world. We just gave up our territory to a group of thugs. If we can’t even control these worthless Taliban germs, then how are we to protect our nuclear assets in case of an invasion from a foreign country. Why should anyone believe us that we are competent when we obviously are not.
What we need is a sustained effort of a media blitz against the extreme ideology promoted by these loonies, a re-education of the masses about basic concepts of jihad, tolerance, Adal -o- ehsan, etc. We need to teach our idiot brothers and sisters out there that no 70 virgins are waiting for them if they blow themselves up and kill even one innocent person. At the same time, instead of maligning out military and security agencies, we need to use them to infiltrate the mosques, and madrasahs that are operated by the militants and identify the leaders and the next in command and the next in command and the next in commend and finish them off. Instead of coming in to our towns with roaring tanks an blazing guns, we need to use reconnaissance, and sharp shooters to eliminate them one by one. All the same time educating and propagandizing the true intentions of the militants to the masses. Of course a little governance and job creation would also help the local people.
The reason why we remain silent when the extremist talk about our faith with their perverted interpretations si quite simple. It is unchallenged because somehow, deep down, we too believe that perhaps music is haram, that singing is haram, that maybe, women should stay home behind curtains. After all, we all have read or heard about those ahadith, haven’t we. It is the twisted interpretation of these ahadith that is the culprit. Unless we equip ourselves with the correct interpretation and the knowledge and at the same time, garner the courage in ourselves to reject a false and weak hadith that is polluting everything, we stand to loose our country to these anarchists.
@Utmankhel1
Have you ever thought who is making Talibans stronger?
Have you ever thought who is supplying Talibans arms and logistics?
Have you ever thought who is giving Talibans financial support?
Have you ever thought who is providing Talibans moral support?
Have you ever thought who is behind Talibans?
Have you ever thought why our nation is fast becoming pr0-Taliban?
Ask yourself these questions first then you will realise why Talibans are so strong (and getting stronger) and have become such a headache for our society. W need more than a Panedol tablet to get rid of this headache. I bet this weak agrrement will be an another futile exercise to bring peace in entire NWFP and FATA.
Wrong policies of last 30 years have given immense boost to extremism throughout our country especailly NWFP region where so-called champions of Islam have used it for their own vested interests. Our nation as a whole has become hostage to misleading slogans of Islam where decency and tolerance have no place. Suicide murderes are praised and their inhuman acts are justified through absurd arguments using Hadess and Quran. There is a shower of sympathy in our society for people who are burning schools and blowing up mosques even fuenarls. If one does not follow a particular brand of Islam will be declared Kafir by another group. This is the pyche of our nation where people fear to oppose Taliban brand of Islam. Our limited knowledge of Islam is a big drawback for this nation. 90% people have read Quran but never understood it because they read it in Arabic not in Urdu. Unfortunately we are losing a whole generation of our youths in the name of extremism and the writing on the wall is very disturbing for the future of this nation.
May Allah bless Pakistan
@sal
Very well written. I totally agree with you.
AClarion,
Sorrry if i misunderstood you. I have been following Swat’s situation and ANP’s stance on that. I was critical of the first deal that ANP did with Fazlullah in April, because i knew the nature of those militants and my view point was that the deal provided them with legitimacy, which they did not deserve.
I am supporting ANP on this deal for few reasons.
1)ANP had no way out. Army was not willing to eliminate terrorists and were deliberately causing huge civilian casualties. So ANP was failed by army and with each passing day the sufferings of ordinary people were increasing due to that military operation. So ANP was left with only two options;either invite NATO or try something else. Sufi Mohammad is the something else.
2)Sufi Mohammad, so far as i read him, is fully on-board with ANP and is sincerely trying to solve the problem. By sitting opposite to Fazlullah he will definitely weaken his standing in eyes of people.
3) In case the deal fails, ANP will be at the previous position, so no loss.
4) These negotiations will shut the barking mouths of Qazi Imran Khan, who were bent upon misguiding people.
@ swat yosufzai.
I think,probably through oversight you are repeatedly using the word ‘peas’ in place of ‘peace’? (See 2nd line & last line of your comments as above.) You are requested to please correct yourself.
Aclarioncall
totally agree with you ..yes i have seen people in media justify every inhuman act…Hamid Mir is one, Javed Ch is another idiot and there is a group n iSI and ex generals who support talibans..i am sure that sooner or later whole NWFP will be under control of Taliban with the help of some present and ex ISI Mullahs and some media guys who present suicide bombers as heros
fanatic …….
I think it’s already under control of the militants. They can drag anyone out of his home and kill him.
The only thing we need is to aware people of this drama, although, most of them already know it. Anyways, the night is not gonna last for ever. This ISI/Army is doomed sooner or later.
US Rejects Pakistan Deal And Says ‘Deal Acceptble In Afghanistan, NOT In Pakistan
Of course Zardari assures Holbrooke “I really am not serious about the deal anyways that’s why I never sign it!”
I am sure that will go down well in Swat! Certainly the Baboos will be delighted.
Of course it is being reported: Breakthrough in Sufi-Fazlullah talks, ceasefire to extend and Bayghairat Wali pretends to have balls and states “We… can even quit the government, but will abide by the declaration agreed with Maulana Sufi Mohammad”. Right, Mr. Wali!
(Also loved the Dawn editorial bitching about ‘Why, oh why did Holbrooke reject the deal in a TV interview when “the Americans and many others have direct access to the corridors of power in Pakistan.” LOL!)
Wehould be hopeful what so ever is done to establish peace in country
we also should pay to Allah for the peace in whole of the Muslim world
Off course Zardari will not sign the agreement…after all the agreement it is not Quran or hadith.
‘Why, oh why did Holbrooke reject the deal in a TV interview when “the Americans and many others have direct access to the corridors of power in Pakistan.”
You don’t treat equals like that – or even much weaker states. This is how slaves are treated!
Be sure that Kashif baboo will come running and explain “facts”about 9/11. He is “convinced” that it was Taliban who provided “logistical” support to “Al-Qaeda” so that they could carry out 9/11. I don’t know what he means by that. Maybe he knows something most of us don’t know f. ex. about a Taliban satellites and other sophisticated stuff to carry out such complex terrorist acts. Kashif baboo says he has “seen” the evidence…lol. Let’s have the “evidence” on the table….please don’t send links to the video tape, where sound and picture quality is so bad that it could not even convince a child. oooh, no…maybe Kashif baboo has his information from Moshe. He actually said that he had seen the “evidence” against Al-Qaeda. As a good slave he obliged, but off course he also didn’t bother to share the “evidence”.
“US Defence Secretary Robert Gates said on Friday that Washington could accept a political agreement between the Afghan government and the Taliban militants along the lines of a truce in neighbouring Pakistan.
Gates’ comments contrasted with those of Richard Holbrooke, the new US envoy for Afghanistan and Pakistan, who said this week that he was worried that the peace deal was tantamount to surrender by Pakistan.”
Link to full story: http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=20472
Let the Yankees use the Pakistani model as an excuse to make deals in Afghanistan also. I am convinced you will be leaving Afghanistan in a relatively short period of time. I know USA has sent more troops, but I am sure it will only be a temporary “solution”. The Americans have their hands full with the economic crisis deepening. In fact not only their economy, but their partners/brothers in EU are also facing problems all over the place. I wouldn’t be surprised if they leave Afghanistan in 1-2 years.
IMO they will instead rely more heavily on their naval fleet to control the middle east, but that’s not that easy – especially Iran will be more than a handful. And Pakistan…forget it. We will do whatever the Yankees demand us to do. Our GHQ/army are willing mercenary forces to carry out any order for money
“Maulana Sufi Muhammad of the Tanzim Nifaz-e-Shariat-e-Muhammadi (TNSM) accompanied by thousands of his activists on Friday continued to rally through the strife-torn towns and villages of the volatile Swat Valley. He also met his son-in-law, Maulana Fazlullah, to persuade the militants to lay down their arms.
A spokesman for the TNSM, Amir Izzat, said the talks were held in a cordial atmosphere, while his counterpart from the Swat chapter of the outlawed Tehrik-e-Taliban Pakistan (TTP), Muslim Khan, said that they had already empowered Sufi Muhammad to take any decision.
Sources in both the organisations said Maulana Sufi Muhammad and Maulana Fazlullah did not take part in the first round of talks. Izzat said a 10-member team, headed by Sufi, held talks with Fazlullah, who was assisted by his 12 top lieutenants and asked him to lay down arms, as the government had enforced the Nizam-e-Adl Regulation.
Sufi had severed all relations with Fazlullah some two years ago when he defied him and took up arms against the government. Since then, he had not talked to him and it was the first occasion that they talked to each other.”
Link to full story: http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=20475
Let’s see how far these people can get before Zardari/Yankees sabotages the peace move.
Geopolitical changes and happenings are not that simple as we see that 2+2 makes 4. Timings of Swat peace deal etc., stuff is going on and same time forces are gethering by Pak Afghan’s borders.
Why our peace organizer don’t do same things in other sensitive areas, what they have done in swat? What is hindrence?
Sufi unveils nine-point peace plan
News Source... Additional material was found in this news story to assist you [...]...