l Visitors Views & News – Week 3, February 2009 | Pakistan Politics
{ 220 comments... read them below or add one }

• ataraxis6 said:

PML-N: Long March and Dharna will not restore judges.

http://ejang.jang.com.pk/2-17-2009/pic.asp?picname=1011.gif

• Mohammad K. Malik said:

It seems PMLN having second thoughts about long march and dharna.

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/feb2009-daily/17-02-2009/main.htm

• nota said:

Well here is Kh Rafiq:
    PML-N dissatisfied over lawyers’ long march resolve: Rafiq

…He said, “Lawyers did not take PML-N leadership into confidence before going to stage long march on March 12.” He added, we have not decided whether to participate in long march or otherwise….

Ah, so now even the participation in the long march is a question mark :)

Here is Ch. Nisar:
    Lawyers have no plan to restore sacked CJP: Nisar
    …Responding to a question, he said the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) had still not been consulted about the lawyers’ plan of the long march followed by the sit-in…

Sad to say I agree with Sen Jamal Leghari talking in last night’s Kal Tak where he stated that was PML-N being honest, they would have said “Lab-Baik” to the lawyers call instead of giving excuses like “we were not consulted”. He went on to say PML-N was doing so on the orders from their masters, the US, and there too I agree. Holbrook seems to have come and castrated (again?) the PML-N leadership for good…

Was also sad to see Ahsan Iqbal trying (not?) to explain away whyPML-N hasn’t tabled the bill against the 17th ammendment.

As far as I am concerned, PML-N is now fully exposed as being in bed with PPP. (It is funny to see them finding faults with lawyers while at the same time fogetting all the faults in MQM)

Pathetic!!!

• Aneeza said:

@ nota

Totally agree. I guess I do not buy the “good intentions” of PML-N anymore. It is sad and hurtful, to say the least, to see the political leadership, one by one, showing its true colors. On another note, its not bad. At least now we know with proofs their true worth. no second chances for them.

• tharapolitics said:

After meeting with Richard Hallbrook BHOLAY MIAN GEE is tight lipped on judiciary issues and now asked lower party leaders to bark on judiciary movement.

In picture:
    Hallbrook: Mian gee tussi ki drama shoro kitta hoya ayee judga laeee. aee drama bazi band karo tae saiinn zardari te sada sath dyo. pul jao iftikhar ch no…
    Wdday mian gee: tussi preshan na howo gee. asseee wakeelan no aisa defame karna hai ke ooo tehreek tae door di gal wakalat no viii pul jan
    Chootay mian gee: par sadi naukri pakki na hallbrook gee next government laeee..

• tharapolitics said:

Ad used by PML-N and Mian Sahib during 18th Feb election last year indicating why we are struggling for judiciary movement.
    My question is very simple: Did Mian Sb and PML-N consult lawyers before launching this advertisement? Did mian sb get consultation from lawyers to use the name judiciary movement for getting votes?
    Mitha Mitha HUP HUP…Karwa karwa THU THU!!!!
    Mian gee tussi bholay howo gaee par qaum anneee bholi naiii

• Shirkuh said:

“As far as I am concerned, PML-N is now fully exposed as being in bed with PPP. (It is funny to see them finding faults with lawyers while at the same time fogetting all the faults in MQM)”

I see NO difference between the jiyala club and Butt club. They are exactly using the same kind of “logic”, when they try to find SICK excuses for SICK politics of their so called leadership.

How does @rashed, @Malek and @GoTK defend the latest statements on the lawyers movement by PML-N?

• Omar said:

As much as I am disappointed upon the PMLN recent stance, there is a promising aspect as well to it, that makes me hopeful that “slowly and gradually the hypocrites and Munafiqs” are being exposed.
    Now it is upto us, upto public to recognize them and set them aside.

• Malek said:

@Shirkuh
    i dont need to defend the statements of PMLN as i am not the party member just a supporter!
    i still believe so far what PMLN has achieved in practical terms for restoration of j@diciary is far more than any other political party and i am also sure that they will continue their struggle and is the only party which has the abilty to do something sensible to ensure restoration of j@diciary rather than hollow slogans and jazbati biyanaat from the leader of the Fan-boys club

if at any point i see that PMLN is not sincere in restoration of j@diciary than from that day i will cease to be a supporter of PMLN

• Malek said:

one of the links that you posted is from 12 Jan……pretty old…splashing one statement again and again doesnt make it a policy ….if you know IK issued a similar statement around the same date

the second link is from daily times….which is not worth reading anyway

• Malek said:

Governor Punjab wishes to continue the k!ll!ng spree of children in the name of basant….
    http://www.khabrain.com/htmls/pg17.htm

the only person who has the courage to stop the governor is SS…but again he may not do that because he wants to save the punjab govt (@thara you didnt pick this up?)

but what about IK stance on this? is he going to do anything about it…..so far no statement has come out of him on this…and fan-boys club are quite on such murders as well?

• Shirkuh said:

@Malek

“if at any point i see that PMLN is not sincere in restoration of j@diciary than from that day i will cease to be a supporter of PMLN”

Thanks for the tag :-)

Look, Malek. I don’t ask you or anybody else to stop the support for PML-N or any political party you chose to support. What I wish is that you call a spade a spade. Your last statement is much more like a statement I could expect from someone like you (this is a positive statement). After all I think I know you to some extent. I have no problems with you as long as you support core issues, which are vital for the survival of Pakistan. I suppose it is a common cause!

Apart from the core issues there are numerous other issues we might disagree on, but that is altogether another story and not something we would have a serious quarrel about! What I ask for is unity in these testing times on core issues. Pakistan is in a real danger, and we MUST stay focused! In that regard PML-N is an important factor in Pakistan politics and so is PPP. We cannot deny this fact about the mentioned parties. Why does many Pakistanis feel that they must support ANYTHING from the party they voted for? How wonderful it could be if these party supporters could show their disappointment and sometimes anger too, when their favorite party is derailed on important issues.

Don’t you agree?

• Shirkuh said:

@Omar

I second you!

We must stay focused and ensure that the party we support stay on course on at least the core issues for the survival of Pakistan!

• tharapolitics said:

@Malek
    Shirkuh said
    “I see NO difference between the jiyala club and Butt club. They are exactly using the same kind of “logic”, when they try to find SICK excuses for SICK politics of their so called leadership.”
    Malek said

“i still believe so far what PMLN has achieved in practical terms for restoration of j@diciary….”

Shirkuh you rightly prescribed the disease of PML-N of having same logic like Jiyalas.
    when anyone said about restoration of judciary, jiyals respond the same like Malek Sb. “we are doing this and that and this and that blablabla for independent judiciary”. When point comes to movement on restoration of judiciary on the position of 2nd novemeber, “matwaloon aur jiyaloon ke monh main ghugian par jati hai” and many “Chughadri” commentators come to defend the issue which is not defend able.

Note: Could anyone explain “PMLN has achieved in practical terms for restoration of j@diciary” especially “Practical Terms”. ;)

• Aneeza said:

A good article on Swat and its history
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=163004

• fanaticmulla said:

i am really happy that Butt party is also exposed fully ..the day when Chotay Khadam Aala sahib met with Baray Daku Sahib to discuss punjab govt issue , a deal was made, that PML (N) will not participate in dharna and will not raise CJ issue anymore..other hand PPP will not harm punjab Govt. and Doggar court will not disqualify Mian sahiban (most probably SS….NS will be a question)

its the same Saad rafiq who used to cry on TV shows for CJ and in support of lawyers movement and now he is not satisfied ..hypocrites

one can realize that why Javed Hashmi has been sidelined in the party…MMA was B team of Musharraf and PML (N) is a B team of PPP…

it is as simple t understand

• tharapolitics said:

@Malek

Governor Punjab wishes to continue the k!ll!ng spree of children in the name of basant….
    http://www.khabrain.com/htmls/pg17.htm

the only person who has the courage to stop the governor is SS…but again he may not do that because he wants to save the punjab govt (@thara you didnt pick this up?)”

Malek sb, pls remains affirm on this issue, because you soon hear a “good news” about basant from Chotay Mian gee. :)
    Just for attention: JI or any jamati or Shahbab Milli (according to news)spoke against basant but still our “Chughadri” commentator didn’t comment on it and didn’t link it to zionist. lolz ;)

• Malek said:

@shirkuh
    but that wasnt to say that when i stop supporting PMLN I will start supporting IK??
    infact the fan-boys club have p!ssed me so much (and this shows me the inner structure and thinking of the party) that despite being a supporter of IK (on many issues and his clear stance) i dont see it ever being a political force in Pkaistan…may be something else like a social-pressure group

as regards you last point about party supporters showing their disappointment when leaders do flip flops…i agree….but reading and interpreting a small article in unknown paper by a prejudicial person (may it be a piplya jyala or fan-boy club member) and adopting a jazbati style …putting everything upside down… when country is going through a very delicate phase is not what i will agree with

• Shirkuh said:

IMO if you have made a decision alongside other political parties you have to honor the promise you made. PML-N made a promise that none of the parties from APDM (I think) should make contacts with MQM. If this decision should be reversed then I think other parties involved in the decision making should have been consulted to ensure a common stance. What has been achieved now? Maybe nothing, because MQM has been able to make DEALS with two of the most significant and well tested parties in Pakistan. First they made inroads with the help of PPP and now they are making further PROGRESS with the HELP of PML-N. Is this a lightening from a clear sky? Unfortunately NO. This is the traditional kind of politics from two major parties PML-N and PPP i.e. make flip-flop decisions based on power politics. Visions are only for hard times to regain lost control. For that purpose they have people like Javed Hashmi, Aitezaz Ahsen etc. to make a fool of the nation :-(

I say don’t test the people you have already tested several times!

• Shirkuh said:

@Malek

I am not asking you to join PTI. If you don’t have a trust in the leadership of PTI, then there is NO point in joining the party! What I am asking for is to be a part of a pressure group towards the party you support. You can do that in spite of being a supporter. You can make a call, send an email etc. to convey a CLEAR message and tell the high ups that they are wrong!

• Malek said:

@shirkuh

what is the deal between PMLN and MQM?

i think if IK had not lost the valuable opportunity of charging the chief bhatta collector in UK on t@rror!sm charges…then we wont be in this situation……..that was another hollow statement from IK but in return the nation lost a valuable opportunity as IK gave away most of the evidence obtained from Gen Naseer Baber in the hands of MQM goons through his sheer stupidity and love for making big claims and statements to please the ever jazbati fan-boys club

such an incompetent person cannot be trusted to be a nazim let alone an MNA…of course unless that Gen ISI helps out under another miultary dictator!

• Shirkuh said:

@Malek

Instead of cursing those who committed the real crime you are cursing the wrong person. Maybe IK made a fault, but what about PML-N (behind the scene) partners – Pee-Pee-Pee? Why don’t PML-N pressurize their partners to lopen up? Why don’t they let the British authorities investigate the matter? There is NO doubt that PML-N IS having a double game here! At best they are sitting on a high wall watching the developments. Why are they not engaged in solving the murder cases? Isn’t it their duty too?

• Malek said:

@shirkuh
    ‘ You can make a call, send an email etc. to convey a CLEAR message and tell the high ups that they are wrong!’

I agree (although in practice i wont bother and just stop my support – such is the perhaps the attitude of most of PMLN supporters unlike PPP jyalas who like to show their street power)….but that will only be applicable once there is a clear message by PMLN that they do not support restoration….or i feel that they are moving away from their stance of restoration………..otherwise i will be like a jazbati fan-boys club member jumping up and down for no reason other than making a hollow public statement like IK

• Shirkuh said:

@Malek

You tell me why did the royal leadership PML-N meet a MQM goon? What is the purpose?

• Shirkuh said:

@Malek

“I agree (although in practice i wont bother and just stop my support”

Fine and good, but unfortunately the most political parties KNOW for a fact that ultimately the voters will return next time they show “sincerity” through the likes of Javed Hashmi.

• Malek said:

@shirkuh
    ‘Why don’t PML-N pressurize their partners to lopen up?’
    - which partners you are referring to?? Do you mean BB Shaheed’s (as IK refer hers) party?

- ‘Why don’t they let the British authorities investigate the matter?’
    who is stopping UK authorities? but the point is that IK gave away most of the evidence obtained from Gen Naseer Baber in the hands of MQM goons through his sheer stupidity and love for making big claims and statements …..But IK wanted to make big claims then as it was a hot topic at the time….as today he is making big claims about j@d!c!ary as it is a hot topic now

- ‘Why are they not engaged in solving the murder cases? Isn’t it their duty too?’
    NO its not PMLN’s duty? It is the govt in Sindh or Federal govt responsibilty or whoever else made the claims???….
    PMLN is only serving the masses and the people of Punjab who voted for them but this is irking 3 categories 1) Taseer & Co (read Mush Baqiat) 2) Pee Pee Pee 3) those who couldnt even be bothered to stand in elections for the fear of defeat but made excuses that the elections are held under PCO….while they took part in previous elections which were held under full fledged martial law

• Malek said:

@shirkuh

- ‘You tell me why did the royal leadership PML-N meet a MQM goon? What is the purpose?

i really dont know ..its been reported in detail in Nation today …to me meeting between a CM and a Governor is not that big a deal…..perhaps because Punjab Governor doesnt speak to him and he fealt like talking to a ‘Governor’??…..may be he thought Sindh Gov is responsible for less murders than Punjab Gov??……… but the real reason (going through the leadership of IK Party) could be to save the punjab govt!!!!

• Shirkuh said:

“- which partners you are referring to?? Do you mean BB Shaheed’s (as IK refer hers) party?”

Yes, you guessed it quite precisely. PPP is exactly the partners. In real terms they are partners, but PML-N is behaving like some kind of “opposition”, but when it matters most they also find excuses to avoid pressure on their partners PPP. How? F. ex. by staying away from at least the dharna and ultimately maybe also from the Long March. Time will show their true intentions, but the signs are not too good :-(

“who is stopping UK authorities? but the point is that IK gave away most of the evidence obtained from Gen Naseer Baber in the hands of MQM goons through his sheer stupidity and love for making big claims and statements …..But IK wanted to make big claims then as it was a hot topic at the time….”

Yes, PTI makes high claims on such issues. In fact IK admitted that he made a fault. That’s not a secret. He shouldn’t have done that, but apart from that blunder he is committed to what he promised!

“as today he is making big claims about j@d!c!ary as it is a hot topic now”

Yes, he is making BIG claims, but at the same time he is following up on these claims. He has also been airing the same view as PML-N that the political parties should have been consulted, but nevertheless he continues to support a CORE issue for the survival of Pkaistan. NO FLIP-FLOP!

“NO its not PMLN’s duty? It is the govt in Sindh or Federal govt responsibilty or whoever else made the claims???….”

No, you are dead wrong. How conveniently you have answered this question in a negative way. It is a DAMN DUTY of each and every citizen of Pakistan to support this case! And above every citizen it is duty of ALL political parties to support the case against MQM murderers!

“PMLN is only serving the masses and the people of Punjab who voted for them”

Quite limited thinking.

“those who couldnt even be bothered to stand in elections for the fear of defeat but made excuses that the elections are held under PCO….while they took part in previous elections which were held under full fledged martial law”

Lol..Ha..ha.ha….This is pathetic. PTI didn’t participate because they sided with the lawyers. Had the same been done by bnoth PPP and PML-N we would have been Moshe free much earlier and he could have been punished too if PPP had been sincere. In fact PML-N was also a part of it initially before they made yet another flip-flop policiy by reversing their initial decision to boycott the elections ;-)

• Shirkuh said:

My post is awaiting moderation :-(

• Shirkuh said:

@Malek

“perhaps because Punjab Governor doesnt speak to him and he fealt like talking to a ‘Governor’??”

Lol…Is this statement really from the bottom of your heart???

• Malek said:

@shirkuh
    ‘My post is awaiting moderation’
    i sympathise with you my friend….may be its use of too much bad langauage!!! (joke)
    or it could be to save the punjab govt!!

• Malek said:

@shirkuh
    ‘Is this statement really from the bottom of your heart’
    not mine….but may be the achy break heart story of SS!!

• kafka8 said:

pml-q and pml-n…inching closer to union? mushahid withdraws his senate ticket in favor of pml-n…

• rasheed said:

@Malek,

Please ignore these dumb IK fan club guys.

Here are some questions I asked tharra regarding Long March and he ran away:

http://pkpolitics.com/2009/02/08/visitors-views-news-week-2-february-2009/#comment-156022

• fanaticmulla said:

I cant imagine that Ch.Nisar Ali Khan and Baber Awan are so similar in their views , they gave more or less same statement:

“Judges will not restore with long marches and dharnas”

As one is represents the so called opposition party, infact leader of oppositiona nd other is a minister from ruling party.. so as a true democrat i agree with them , when there is a similar opinion across the board (opposition and Govt.) then one should listen to them….

fact is that this elite calss only understand the langauge of guns.. and in swat they have surrendered to talibans and now “Adal and Shariat” will be implemented…

Lawyers are wasting their time and money in Long Marches and Dharnas..just let the system run with Bilal Khan rangeela and doggar in courts, who are protecting criminals..let these courts run and sooner or later this stinky system will become a basis of bloody revolution and then this elite class will realize and will completely understand

(taliban terrorists proved that in swat that pakistani political and military elite only understand the language of force, MQM bhatta khors proved that in Karachi that might is right)

Ali Kurd, Aitzaz and Imran are just wasting their time their peaceful marches are dharnas will not be effective for this shameless political elite…let this stinky system rum for a while and then one day this elite will even not find the way to escape…remember France and to some extent Iran…

Mard e Nadan pay Kalam Nurm O Nazuk Bay Asar

What a shame..surrender to taliban because they have guns and no importance to Lawyers because they are peaceful…this corrupt ruling mafia is setting very bad examples for future…

• Shirkuh said:

@rasheed

Being the “wise” fan of the royal Sharif club, then I suppose you stand by your statement.

“Although I am a NS supporter, unlike a Jiyala, for me it will be bye-bye Nawaz Sharif the day he goes against the Movement for Rule of Law.

I was very upset when I saw NS statement against lawyers, which I believe should have been sorted internally between PMLN and lawyers……”

Link: http://pkpolitics.com/2009/02/08/visitors-views-news-week-2-february-2009/#comment-157847

I suppose you support the the Long March including a dharna. If PML-N fail to deliver on these accounts you will say “bye-bye” to PML-N or do you have a different view?

• Shirkuh said:

@All

Does anyone know the credibility of the news Kafka8 has posted?

http://pkpolitics.com/2009/02/17/visitors-views-news-week-3-february-2009/#comment-159591

Are PML-Q and PML-N merging in to one PML?

• tharapolitics said:

@rasheed
    Here i answered you questions.
    http://pkpolitics.com/2009/02/08/visitors-views-news-week-2-february-2009/#comment-155975

But after it, you again repeat the same questions. Actually I have no “Chughadri” tactics like Matwalas or Jiyalas to defend their Quaids blindly. I am still on the forum, indicating the double game of AALIJAH EZAAT MA’AB BHOLAY MIAN AND CHOTAY MIAN and showing my worries that how our HOLY LEADERS are twisting issue of judiciary movement for their political causes.
    Pervaiz Rasheed sb!!!! ohhh sorry rasheed sb , this ad was used by PML-N and Mian Sahib during 18th Feb election last year indicating why we are struggling for judiciary movement but could you answer my simple questions that did mian sb consult with lawyers before putting this ad to all newspaper?
    But now after getting votes, made their govt in Punjab, got share in power politics, Holy Leaders Shareef Bradran started the campaign that long march or/and dharna is not in favor of movement. What the pathetic way they adopted!!!!!!!!
    Ap ko apnay MIAOOONNN ki siasat mubarak, Qaum ko voukkla ki siasat bahut…

• rasheed said:

@tharray,

Here is my comment again. Lets see if you have any logical answers:

@tharapolitics,

Thanks for coming back. I am very much Pro-Dharna, but it has to be played wisely and with responsibility, otherwise the followers themselves will pull carpet from the feet of leaders in this movement.

Lawyers plan is very simple, though it looks very complex when “anyone” is playing double game, bring half million people on the street of Islamabad , and announce sit-in till restoration of Ifitikhar Ch. I don’t believe zardari has such support to defeat the emotions of half million people. If we don’t hold sit-in on 16th March, then may be that day will be the end day of movement.

Half Million people even reached in the last Long March, which had zero effect on Government.

My question is very simple in respond of your question: Do you think government and zardari can bear half million people on the street of Islamabad , not too many days but only one day?

Well, the same government already had 1/2 Million in front of Parliament House and they did bear. The government is very begarat and it won’t effect them.

Days from 12th March to 16 March are enough to bring zardari on rethinking about judicial crises and restoration chief justice.

How is it different than previous Long March?

To get result from revolutionary movement, you have to sacrifices also and the people who will be participating in long march know better the situation and they will be prepared well for the situation.

Can you give me guarantee that 1/2 million people will sacrifice their families and sit on road for 6 months? What if they leave in 2 weeks before restoration? Who is ready to feed the 1/2 million people in Islamabad and their families back in home?

Please come with logical answers, rather than emotional ones like you previously did.

• Shirkuh said:

@Malek

I don’t have the patience to wait for the moder@tor to clear my post.

“- which partners you are referring to?? Do you mean BB Shaheed’s (as IK refer hers) party?”

Yes, you guessed it quite precisely. PPP is exactly the partners. In real terms they are partners, but PML-N is behaving like some kind of “opposition”, but when it matters most they also find excuses to avoid pressure on their partners PPP. How? F. ex. by staying away from at least the dharna and ultimately maybe also from the Long March. Time will show their true intentions, but the signs are not too good

“who is stopping UK authorities? but the point is that IK gave away most of the evidence obtained from Gen Naseer Baber in the hands of MQM goons through his sheer stupidity and love for making big claims and statements …..But IK wanted to make big claims then as it was a hot topic at the time….”

Yes, PTI makes high claims on such issues. In fact IK admitted that he made a fault. That’s not a secret. He shouldn’t have done that, but apart from that blunder he is committed to what he promised!

“as today he is making big claims about j@d!c!ary as it is a hot topic now”

Yes, he is making BIG claims, but at the same time he is following up on these claims. He has also been airing the same view as PML-N that the political parties should have been consulted, but nevertheless he continues to support a CORE issue for the survival of Pkaistan. NO FLIP-FLOP!

“NO its not PMLN’s duty? It is the govt in Sindh or Federal govt responsibilty or whoever else made the claims???….”

No, you are de@d wrong. How conveniently you have answered this question in a negative way. It is a D@MN DUTY of each and every citizen of Pakistan to support this case! And above every citizen it is duty of ALL political parties to support the case against MQM mvrderers!

“PMLN is only serving the masses and the people of Punjab who voted for them”

Quite limited thinking.

“those who couldnt even be bothered to stand in elections for the fear of defeat but made excuses that the elections are held under PCO….while they took part in previous elections which were held under full fledged martial law”

Lol..Ha..ha.ha….This is p@thetic. PTI didn’t participate because they sided with the lawyers. Had the same been done by bnoth PPP and PML-N we would have been Moshe free much earlier and he could have been punished too if PPP had been sincere. In fact PML-N was also a part of it initially before they made yet another flip-flop policiy by reversing their initial decision to boycott the elections

• Shirkuh said:

@rasheed

“Well, the same government already had 1/2 Million in front of Parliament House and they did bear. The government is very begarat and it won’t effect them.”

The BIG difference is the use of dharna. Last time the air just went out of the balloon without the needed climax. If you have a dharna the focus will be on the movement for a longer period of time and thus the pressure will be higher from internal as well as external exposure!

” an you give me guarantee that 1/2 million people will sacrifice their families and sit on road for 6 months? What if they leave in 2 weeks before restoration? Who is ready to feed the 1/2 million people in Islamabad and their families back in home?”

I don’t think anyone can give GUARANTEES! Can PML-N give a guarantee that their strategy will be successful? What we can do is to stand united and put in the best effort to ensure rule of law! No-one can give 100 % guarantees on any policy!

• Malek said:

@rasheed
    - ‘Please ignore these dumb IK fan club guys.
    i agree..though not all but perhaps most of them are……i wouldnt like to say all of them…eg @shirkuh and few others here are sincere and logical…although shirkuh although jumps on news agaisnt SS/NS but doesnt have the same reaction if its against IK….naturally it is understandable given the party affiliation!

-’Here are some questions I asked tharra regarding Long March and he ran away’
    my friend shere ignorance if i can say on your side…..@thara is not here to answer any questions…. ….but ONLY to ask qsts!!!…….but perhaps more importantly reading and interpreting a small article in any known or unknown paper against NS or SS …putting a twist with a hope that PMLN voters will move towards the fan-boys club membership….(makes me laugh)…..

infact what the fan-boys club is doing is exactly what JI used to do in the past….from every constituency have 2-5% votes and based on those blackmail the like minded parties like PMLN against PPP when the contest used to be pretty tight ….so few of their party MNAs could be elected with the backing of NS voters………..Well this technique is not going to work now as NS/SS will win by huge margins next time round and dont need the 2-5% JI/IK voters!!

• Shirkuh said:

“t may be mentioned here that in the All Parties Conference held in London in 2006 under the chairmanship of Mian Nawaz Sharif, it had been decided through a unanimous resolution that no political party will maintain any contact with MQM.”

Link to full story: http://thenews.jang.com.pk/updates.asp?id=68751

“Shabash” Sharif: “I have asked the governor to convey my best wishes to MQM chief Altaf Hussain.”

Link to full story: http://www.onlinepakistannews.com/pakistan-news-2/1187-123-shahbaz-sharif-gestures-goodwill-for-mqm.html

• rasheed said:

@Shirkuh,

First of all, it is YOU who are Pro-Dharna, which means you should have solid plan what you are going to do.

Are you saying that you will keep 1/2 million people on road for 6 months and just wait for something good to happen?

The least you could have said that Imran Khan has organized to collect funds to feed everyone sitting in Dharna and their families sitting back home.

The previous Long March failed to deliver due to Lack of Planning.

This is a war which has to be done with planning. If you want to sit on the road for 6 months, make sure you have some good plans or resources that will keep you there for 6 months.

• Shirkuh said:

@rasheed

“Are you saying that you will keep 1/2 million people on road for 6 months and just wait for something good to happen?”

I am not asking for ½ million people to sit in dharna. That would be logistical nightmare for the movement. IMO an impossible task. A realistic plan should be made with much less people sitting in dharna on a shift to maintain the pressure on the government and keep the case extra HOT! The numbers should be according to what they can afford and arrange for. I don’t have any personal experience on that front, but my initial guess would be that 10-20.000 people should participate in a dharna. These people should be replaced after a few days.

• Malek said:

@shirkuh
    to keep the case extra HOT …a bit more than a ‘make shift’ dharna is required…that is why PMLN wanted a consultation before announcement as it will be PMLN workers who will make major contribution to this

to keep the case extra HOT at this time rather than announcing dharna …..we should have been discussing and reading in news every day that today x, y and z parties have supported dharna ….implications for PPP govt if dharna lasts 10 days and 30 days or 6 months…..today xxxx person or party has proposed they will arrange for 10,000 beds….next day zzz party or person has assured khana for 20k people etc etc ……all talk shows discussing the daily developments……….SENDING SHIVERS in the Pres and PM house of the consequences…..but announcing dharna in a jazbati way without consultation has dampened the real objectives achievable from dharna…….May be the shivvers were enough for PPP to bow and dharana was never needed and real objectives fulfilled before that??????

how would a make shift dharna of 10-20k people be different from number of bhook hartali camps all across the country on regular basis?

i agree with @raheed its a war that has to be done with planning….not jazbati byanaat for political gains of small flip flop parties trying to gain some prominence due to lawyesr movement and qurbaniaan?

• rasheed said:

@Malek,

I just saw a speech of Shahbaz Sharif in Quetta and he told workers to prepare for Long March.

BTW, there are some interesting things going between Parliamentarians:

- PMLN meeting with senior PPP members, including Gilani and Jehangir Badar and keeping Zardari out of loop.

- Contacts between PMLN & MQM.

- Guns are silent between PMLN and Q, and Mushahid withdraws from Senate in favor of PMLN.

It would be interesting to see PPP splitting into Gilani and Zardari groups and formation of new coalition government under the leadership of Gilani on condition of restoration of Judiciary.

• Shirkuh said:

@Malek

The minus point is that there had been no consultation, but PML-N should not make it a vital issue for participation!

“but announcing dharna in a jazbati way without consultation has dampened the real objectives achievable from dharna”

Dharna decision has been known for long. I don’t believe it is a “jazbati” decision! It is obvious that PML-N is crying foul to avoid a confrontation with Zardari.

• Malek said:

@Shirkuh
    ‘Does anyone know the credibility of the news Kafka8 has posted?
    Are PML-Q and PML-N merging in to one PML?’

- yes this is reported in the news http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=68842

- the merger stories i have heard are that IK is merging with JI ….. Is this true?

• Malek said:

@Rasheed 12:14pm

re your comments above on PMLN moves……this is called sensible politics….(opposite to jazbati club politics to gain political mileage at the back of lawyesr struggle!)

…….it is political tactics like this that will weaken Zaradri….but more importantly achieve the real goal of restoration………….something that jazbati fan-boys club cannot understand! infact they may be sad at restoration of jud!c!ary as they wouldnt then meet their objectives which are causing havoc and poltical mileage points!

i am not sure if Mushahid withdrew in favour of PMLN or just withdrew??

• Malek said:

@rasheed
    ‘I just saw a speech of Shahbaz Sharif in Quetta’

-oh please dont say that because ‘some jazbaaties’ would want a ‘full explanation’ of why did SS go to Quetta and why did he make a speech there and who else did he speak to when he was there and what else was discussed………………

• dictator123 said:

@Malek & Rasheed

Where would your sensible politics be, if tomorrow both Sharifs are declared inelgibile. You would see the same mouths shouting and pledging all sorts of dharnaz.

If Nawaz wants to be pragrmatic like Asif Zardari, then so be it, let him cut his own feet politically.

You guys are trying to defend the indefensible.

• fanaticmulla said:

I remember in last long march baray Mian Sahib was the one who sabotage the whole effort, first sentence in his speech was “Dharnay Ka Faisla Mushawarat say ho ga”….its meaning were just go homes idiots…

It was the poor Aitzaz who became center of criticism from media that “Dharna Kion Nahi Kiya Gaya” while major culprit was NS who did the same thing which zaradri asked him to do
    it is much better that now N is exposed before long march.. just remember that N is playing as MMA and PPP is Q league/musharraf

only faces have changed , drama is the same..

• Malek said:

No support for ‘movement’ to derail democracy

http://www.nation.com.pk/pakistan-news-newspaper-daily-english-online/Regional/Lahore/17-Feb-2009/No-support-for-movement-to-derail-democracy-Khosa

- issues regarding FATA and lawyer’s long march would be on the top of agenda. Sharif ’s disqualification case was not included in the agenda of the meeting…………..[PMLN puts restoration of jud!c1ary even more their leaders political careers]

- members of the general councils, working committee, ticket-holders, office-bearers of all provinces, district presidents, general secretaries, secretaries information and presidents of different party wings will attend the meeting. Members of the provincial assemblies and ministers would also join the meeting, he maintained………….[consultation before taking major decisions]

- He said the sit-in was not an easy task and it could not be materialised just by making claims. “It demands foolproof strategy that included what its span should be, how it should be worked out, what kind of arrangements should be and how human requirements of participants would be met,” he said.

- he clarified that PML-N had never stated that it would not join the lawyers’ sit-in

• tharapolitics said:

To rasheed, Malek and other “Chughadri” commentator from BARAY MIAN GEE’s club
    Leave dharna—-
    Leave long march—-
    Leave lawyers strategy—
    Leave everything what the lawyers are saying….
    Leave Imran Khan because becuase he is not mature politician….
    Leave JI becuase they are partner to “zionist”….
    But
    I have humble request from all BHOLAY MIAN GEE’s fan, what is the strategy of EZAA’AT MA’AAB Shareef Bradaran for judiciary movement?

(Thanks, by the way, considering me Imran’s fan!!!! though you can find my critical points regarding Imran’s leadership and the way to do politics ;) Malik sb “this piece” is not from me or i took it any unreliable source :) )

• tharapolitics said:

Malik SB
    abhi bahut se “bilian” thalay se bahir ani hain PML-N ke. This is just start of PML-N’s dirty game over judciary game. If you find news around dates between April to August, you can see the same words and speeches used by PEEPEEPEE’s leaders for exiting from movement. Now PLM-N has started this stance.
    By the way, Where is apeal of BARAY MIAN GEE in Sheikhupura to all Pakistanies regarding to come out from homes and demonstrate for reinstatement of 2nd novemeber’s judiciary. This speech was delivered in long past. It was just two weeks before. i think you all forget it….Pathetic!!!!!!!!!
    The questions you and rasheed raised are the same which were raised by Jiyalas, around last long march!!!!! Same idiotic reasons…..

• Ghost Of TK said:

One dharna to rule them all, One dharna to find them,
    One dharna to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
    In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.

ORGASMIC DHARNA!!! Chalo Chalo Islamabad Chalo!

• tharapolitics said:

@tk
    “ORGASMIC DHARNA!!!”

sure, Madahan-e-Zille Elahi Shareef Bradaran will come soon with more idiotic terms, words to defame judiciary movement, may be they will show “nanga pan” more than PEEPEEPEElie.
    But you write right word for Shareef Bradran’s dual dirty game on judiciary game. Yes, it is the “last moment” to expose these black sheeps in judiciary movement.

• Ghost Of TK said:

@tharapolitics: maybe you should get off your “Tharra” and head to the library. If you don’t understand what is being said, then it would be better to stay quiet rather than exposing yourself as a fool.

P.S. I’m no NS lover. Read my posts. (keyword here is “READ”)

• Shirkuh said:

Link to full story:

http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=68863

“Pakistan Muslim League (N) Chief Mian Nawaz Sharif said his party would not create problems for the federal government.”

Off course you will not create “problems” for them, but only if they “promise” not to touch you (barhe mian) and SS (chote mian). What a noora kushti :-)

“Sharif said the PML (N) would welcome talks with the government if it takes initiative. He said his party supports lawyers’ movement though it was not consulted over the issue of staging sit-in.”

Good, barhe mian sahib, but will you support the sit-in? or will you only support the Looooong March and then go home to Rai-wind-up?

“As regards the eligibility case hearing in the Supreme Court, Sharif said he did not have any preference whether he would be disqualified or not. He said efforts to dissolve the Punjab Assembly could have far reaching implications.”

What consequences?

• rasheed said:

@Nappy Club,

The President of PMLN Shahbaz Sharif performed a Live Speech in Quetta 2 hours ago and confirmed his participation for Long March.

PMLN never committed for Dharna as PMLN has always been against Dharnas of Jamaat-e-Islami in the past against democratic governments. They cannot repeat the same tactics what they have been speaking against for.

There are several parties in APDM and no party has agreed to Dharna without reservations. Even IK has put reservations against Lawyers.

For the Dharna, the nappy club have ZERO answer on logistics and planning of Dharna and they want to play like ziddi kids that they will do indefinite Dharna and nothing else, and on which they don’t have even basic answers on how the dharna will be managed.

My take is that all political parties should fully support Long March, and fully facilitate the Lawyers. There are 100,000 lawyers in Pakistan and if even 10% of them join the Dharna, it will have good impact, and Government will never able to say that it was a political dharna against another political party.

• Ghost Of TK said:

You know what, when Imran Khan wins more than 1 seat in national assembly, you can talk. Until then, PLEASE spare us your pontifications!!! JTFC!!

• Shirkuh said:

@GoTK

“P.S. I’m no NS lover.”

I don’t think that you a lover at all:-)
    Normally you are able to look through different negative moves of different politicial parties, but I don’t know what happens to you when the word “dharna” is mentioned. Maybe it is because JI has used this tactics then you see “red” (maybe an automatic reaction). I don’t know you can explain that better, but to link dharna with JI would be wrong. As you know I am not a JI lover either. I want them isolated in a remote dessert :-) I am also at loss that you apparently support PML-N contacts with MQM.

I think you are being too unfair, and refusing to think about what can be achieved by numbers and a well planned dharna. A well planned dharna can only be achieved through logistic planning, financial and human ressources. In that regard I feel that PML-N is important, and I still hope they will take part in the dharna since they have human resources and financial capability. Unfortunately both you, Malek and rasheed will follow the line of your leadership instead of thinking about what can achieved by a successful dharna. Please stop the usual IK/PTI bashing and pressurize your leadership or whom you support to follow the right path instead of beating the drums of not being consulted. It is not only PML-N, which has not been consulted. That is true for every other political party, which participates in the lawyers movement! PML-N should not make this a an extra ordinary case and leave the movement in tatters.

I think and HOPE the voters will punish each and every party, which leaves the lawyers movement!

• tharapolitics said:

I am better to be part of thara politics rather to become “Chughadri ” commentator. You can fool anyone but can’t fool the people who know thara politics (ordinary people). anyone can smell your intention behind using word ““ORGASMIC DHARNA!!!””
    I has been “READing” your posts since you were TK and then I believe that you always search “keeray makoray” in imran’s policy, linking every action of ji to zionist, but your mind stuck when something come regarding Baray Mian Sahib and Chotay Mian sahib and then you detrack the discussion. THIS IS THE WAY YOU JUST ADOPTED FROM YESTERDAY TO RESCUE KHADM E AA’ALA CHOTAY MIAN SAHIB.
    you can expose and prove me as fool but more important is you must expose Mian’s double game on judiciary movement , IF YOU CAN!!!!!!!!!!

• Shirkuh said:

@rasheed

“For the Dharna, the nappy club have ZERO answer on logistics and planning of Dharna and they want to play like ziddi kids that they will do indefinite Dharna and nothing else, and on which they don’t have even basic answers on how the dharna will be managed.”

I agree that dharna should be well-planned and it is not something which should be taken lightly. We still have time for planning. Why doesn’t those experts come forward and ensure that “dharna” becomes a success? Why stand on the sidelines and cry foul?

My understanding is that PML-N doesn’t want to become a part of dharna no matter what, because you see it as a political move and thus don’t want to support it under any case i.e. consultation or not- PML-N IS NOT GOING TO PARTICIPATE IN THE DHARNA……..or is it your personal opinion?

• sleepingnation said:

well one thing is sure Imran Khan has a broader vision than so called secular Ghosts, Devils who want bloodshed in the country and now opposing swat accord and are also against Lawyers movement..visitors can themselve decide by reading this blog that who want to damage Pakistan..IK or so called “seculars” who are opposing lawyers long march and instead of wishing that peace prevail in pakistan rather they desire for a continues bloodshed in Swat and Beyond…and they want that Taliban and Pak Fauj keep on killing residents of Swat and beyond and these Ghosts and Devils are opposing a political move for peace agreed by all parties in NWFP assembly and outside assembly as well…

If you are biggest democrat then respect the decision made by all parties of NWFP even ANP which is a secular party has made it very clear that Human Lives are important and ideologies and politics comes later..but Ghosts and Devils want to see bloodshed for their own self satisfacation

please allow my comments to publish

• sleepingnation said:

admin

please allow my comments..it is the matter of human lives in Pakistan and some ghosts wants to see more bloodshed in the country

• Malek said:

@rasheed
    ‘For the Dharna, the nappy club have ZERO answer on logistics and planning’

well perhaps they do have a plan…..and i see that no different to what JI’s plan used to be in the past which you have stated in your comments. This plan includes creating h@voc, @n@rchy, confusion and afra-tafri with the backing of est@blishment…..with Qazi & JI getting old now maybe IK wants to do the job………….after committing yet another blund@r he will perhaps say ’sorry’ to the nation….keeping up his tradition of being sorry after committing bl@nders!

it is strange why dharna’s are arranged by the likes of JI and IK against democratic govt (ok this is one is only semi-democratic)….but they never staged a dharna agaisnt Mush….

• Malek said:

@rasheed
    ‘For the Dharna, the nappy club have ZERO answer on logistics and planning’

now my comments awaits @dman’s mercy while its under ‘modernisation’

• Malek said:

@Shirkuh
    ‘Unfortunately both you, Malek and rasheed will follow the line of your leadership instead of thinking about what can achieved by a successful dharna’

this is your ass-umption!
    instead what if i say I will do what IK does after committing a blunder…..say ‘sorry’ to the nation?

• Malek said:

@Shirkuh
    ‘Unfortunately both you, Malek and rasheed will follow the line of your leadership instead of thinking about what can achieved by a successful dharna’

this is your assumpti@n!
    instead what if i say I will do what IK does after committing a blunder…..say ’sorry’ to the nation?

• Malek said:

@Shirkuh

now my comment on above again await @dman’s mercy while its under ‘modernisation’….may be @thara will say this is to protect the punjab govt too!

• Ghost Of TK said:

@shirkuh: Dude, for the nth time, Nawaz Sharif (or Shehbaz sharif for that matter) is NOT “my leader”. I worship NO holy cows. Period!

I am not a big fan of the ethnic terrorist actions taken by MQM, but I also don’t want to fool myself into thinking that they are the only ones (or are even qualitatively equivalent to the monstrous Taliban). Yet our ultra right wing doesnt’ want to talk to MQM (because JI doesnt want to … YET!) and they want to not merely talk to the talibs, they want the government to pretty much capitulate to these criminals.

It is not “support” for SS that I am in favor of talking, I’m in favor of talking as a general principle, and it should apply to ‘big terrorists’ and ‘small terrorists’ equally (you can designate big vs small yourself ;) )

Just a little perspective is all I’m trying to put things in …

Regarding “Dharna”.

I don’t oppose dharna as an expression of a crowd. But I have a problem with an un-healthy obsession of some quarters over a dharna which will “fix” everything. Just as some people in the lawyer’s movement think that restoring CJ IMC will “fix” everything in the justice system while nothing could be further from the truth (exhibit one: the ‘azad manash’ judges who have been caught red-handed asking for not one but two plots each … so much for restoration of judges fixing the judiciary)

So. IMO. Obsessing over the dharna and its logistics is counter productive. I mean, look at the lawyer’s movement and how it has basically been drowned out amidst a shouting match between the pro-dharna/con-dharna factions.

I hold JI responsible because the “dharna bug” was put in by THEIR faction in the lawyers movement and it was used successfully by the establishment to disillusion and demoralize the lawyer’s movement last year (when some orgasmic success did not provide closure to the movement – after the expections and frenzy was heightened to a fever pitch)

Again, I feel we’re falling in the same trap. I don’t expect much from NS. NS is slave to his class and his position in the ruling elite of this country. Allama Mashraqi he ain’t. So why should I delude myself into thinking that somehow Nawaz Sharif is this messiah “to fix everything”.

The fact is that things will be fixed by constant struggle. No miraculous dharna, no mujazati march, no epic battle will decide the outcome. Therefore we must use all tools avaailble: Long March, Writing Campaigns, Changing Public Opinion here and abroad, Dharna if we have to etc. etc.

But let us not get carried away and start thinking that this one time, this one dharna… or this one time, this one silver bullet of a tactic (dharna/burning onself/bhook hartal etc.) will put us out of our misery.

This kind of yearning for an apocalyptic end to the struggle points to an underlying fatigue. If that is indeed the case then lawyers should be looking at that underlying problem. The judiciary is not goign to be fixed anytime soon. Even if IMC is restored, there is no gurantee that he won’t hedge his bets like he did when he had the chance to declare Moshe ineligible to run for office but he merely set aside the decision (this was his olive branch to Moshe, who proceeded to trample on it shortly).

There was no control room and water trucks and all that sh!t when the Iranians came out on the streets of tehran… Revolutions can’t be managed (well unless they’re fake revolutions like the ‘color revolutions of the ex-soviet (pipeline) states)

So, do a dharna, but no EPIC DHARNA .. Pliisss! This is a long struggle. Let us not put ourselves in a trap where we stand to demoralize and disillusion the movement yet one more time.

And I don’t think ANY political party should do a dharna per se. They should allow their workers to join the march if they want to, but under strict control of the lawyers. If kurd says dharna ho ga, then do a dharna, if not, then don’t. No party should use it for political purposes and this goes for PML-(“n”) , JI and PTI.

• Ghost Of TK said:

@geog47:

Political Pakistan is comprised of all the sell outs and the official Pakistan is the one defending itself.

“Political Pakistan” is in total denial of permitting or participating in the drone attacks on Pakistan. Political Pakistan is totally sold out. It includes Musharraf and his loyal generals and Zardari and his cronies, some of which belong to the same previous military administration, including Rehman Malik.

The “official Pakistan” is mostly comprised of the silent spectators in the military and other agencies who are loyal to Pakistan and try to honestly defend it. Their silence and somewhat inability to manoeuvre at the moment is making them accomplices to the same crimes which political Pakistan is committing against the nation.

Please stop posting PRo Establishment Tripe here.

I can’t believe this site calls itself “dictatorship WATCH” … WTF!!

• Shirkuh said:

A much better post this time from the sensible GoTK I know ;-)

“for the nth time, Nawaz Sharif (or Shehbaz sharif for that matter) is NOT “my leader”.”

That was just a little provocation :-)

“But I have a problem with an un-healthy obsession of some quarters over a dharna which will “fix” everything”

Who says it will “fix” everything? It would be naive to think that dharna would be a wonderfull action, which will solve ALL of our problems. No, my Ghost. It will just be a beginning for a new (and still hard) start to get Pakistan on track! And that too just maybe, because there is no GUARANTEE that the dharna will be so successful that the government comes to senses, but what will be sure is that the government will be even more exposed both in Pakistan and outside Pakistan for behaving like opportunistic power grabbers with NO vision! That is also a kind of an achievement/success!
    BUT at the same time we should let the government know otherwise that dharna is FACT and that it WILL be success. We should not show looser mentality in advance!

“I hold JI responsible because the “dharna bug” was put in by THEIR faction in the lawyers movement and it was used successfully by the establishment to disillusion and demoralize the lawyer’s movement last year”

What is your source?

“The fact is that things will be fixed by constant struggle. No miraculous dharna, no mujazati march, no epic battle will decide the outcome. Therefore we must use all tools avaailble: Long March, Writing Campaigns, Changing Public Opinion here and abroad, Dharna if we have to etc. etc.”

I agree! I don’t either believe that a miracle will happen by one dharna. It is a long battle and we are just in the start phase. Use all legal means and keep the momentum on reasonable level to avoid burn out!

• Ghost Of TK said:

@shirkuh:

Let me put it another way, … let me say something that is going to sound bizzarre:

This is a people’s movement. Not even the lawyers can stop it now. Even if THEY decide to pack up and stop agitating today, this change will continue.

This edifice is coming down. The change is irreversible. Dharna/No Dharna, IMC/No IMC, Nawaz Sharif no NS … None of this matters anymore. The fact is that the people are risen. THAT is the key. That is what everyone is having trouble coming to terms with.

THAT is exactly what a revolutionary kernel of individuals could take advantage of to change things dramatically. Unfortunately, Imran Khan is NOT that revolutionary. Maybe I’m wrong.

• Shirkuh said:

@GoTK

“Unfortunately, Imran Khan is NOT that revolutionary. Maybe I’m wrong.”

Maybe not, but action should NOT depend on whether Imran Khan is revolutionary or not or whether you support Imran Khan or not. The need of the hour is that we MUST rally behind the lawyers and show NO cracks in our defense lines and show ONLY UNITY and give the impression that we are INVINCIBLE. All that we should do knowing very well that matters will not be solved in the first round of 15 round “boxing” match…..and that too just to get on track.

• Shirkuh said:

@Malek

“it is strange why dharna’s are arranged by the likes of JI and IK against democratic govt (ok this is one is only semi-democratic)….”

Why doesn’t PML-N participate if they have something to offer?

“but they never staged a dharna agaisnt Mush….”

Come on, Malek. Then what? Should we look upon what PPP has been doing and try to imitate them? IS PPP our role model?

What is wrong with dharna? I agree that dharna should not be performed every now and then, but in this case it is an extra ordinary situation. We need to get the lawyers on track and ensure that the movement is successful!

It will create a lot of awareness in the public and further weaken PPPP! Do you have any doubts? Is dharna unconstitutional?

• Ghost Of TK said:

@shirkuh: I wrote my last comment before saw your response.

re: JI, it is just conjecture on my part based on what I observed. JI really goes after the confrontational style of street power (only during ‘democratic’ periods for some reasons) and they always think that every thing should culminate in a dharna or some kind of physical clash.

I’m assuming that this clamour of voices calling for dharna are basically coming from the “jihadi” brothers. I have seen jamatia tactics really up close. They are good at pulling stunts like they did during Kurd’s speech when they wouldn’t shut the fvck up until he said something about dharna. Now that rehtorical statement is being used to blackmail him further into the pit. (not the way to conduct oneself)

Regarding the dharna, it shouldn’t become a life and death fight within the movement. That is really counter productive and I can see the fingerpointing happening already. Of all the political entities in Pakistan, NS (despite his allegience to his class) did the most by withdrawing from the power, while most stalwart politicans didn’t. We shouldn’t forget that. In the end he’s a creature of the same cynical political eco-system and maybe he is finally succumbing to the surrounding sea of sh!t …

That however shouldn’t demoralize the movement for Rule of Law. If this dharna isn’t as spectacular, then there will be another. there will be marches. there should be change of tactics… so on and so forth!

I mean, the lawyers, instead of working out a charter of demands, are busy bickering with various political parties on whether or not there should be dharna. Very counterproductive! Let us just get over this dharna bugaboo and show that a large number of people are still in support of judiciary… and they should use the Swat accord as a sign that people are so desperate they are picking up arms to get justice…

dharna is a small tactic. we shouldn’t bog the movement down in this… NS did something to save his skin. What else can one expect from a politician? Should we then now proceed to demoralize ourselves because someone left our side?

No! We fight on.

• Shirkuh said:

@GoTK

“Should we then now proceed to demoralize ourselves because someone left our side?

No! We fight on.”

That is the TRUE spirit! Ultimately we will WIN, Inshallah!

• dictator123 said:

Aitzaz Ahsan served notice from PPP leadership

• dictator123 said:

Well done Shirkuh and tharapolitics.

You are becoming an excellent thorns in the side of Jiyalaz and Matwalaz.

Keep up the good work.

• Malek said:

AA expelled from PPP
    spking to ary now

• Malek said:

-AA said that he hasnt seen the notice as he is in ISL and notice served at home address inLHR

- reinforced his support for restoration of J and will go to quetta tommorrow with CJP IMC

- says restoration of J and IMC was BB’s wish and he will therefore continue with his struggle

- states that after reading the notice will decide if he wants to discuss it with media or make it public…as it is an internal party matter

• dictator123 said:

AA is much better off these pro-establishment parties. Both PPP and PMLN have done tremendous harm to Pakistan.

He should move forward and form a Justice party once CJ Iftikhar is restored. Or he could join IK and bring the revolution this country needs.

• revolution said:

Those who were doubting AA’s intentions should think again. As I have maintained, AA is just a different kind of person than Kurd. His intentions were never wrong.

Actually, i think this may be a blessing disguise for AA

• gditpp said:

This is PPP’s loss.
    Today is a sad day for the leftist, liberal, secular, federalist, democratic and constitutional Pakistan.
    You have played your inning well. Thank You Atezaz Ahsan.

• Ghost Of TK said:

Well, he should have taken leave or resigned. It simply doesn’t make sense to be a member of the CEC of a party which opposes his cause and the leader of a movement in opposition to the party.

Conflict of Interest. Pure and Simple.

Too Bad. So Sad. I’m Glad yer mad!

• Shirkuh said:

Maybe AA was sincere after all, and just made an error while leading the last Long March. I have had harsh comments against AA, and I will be the first one to apologize if he is innocent. It’s strange, but for me it is almost a proof that he is being kicked out of the Peeepeepee. Let’s see how the events unfolds before making any final conclusions.

• Omar said:

I used to be an admirer of Atezan Ahsan and it was really heartening, not to be one. But at the same time I wasn’t the one who jumped into criticizing him until the end of the last year’s long march and even later.
    Same thing here as well, I will wait to see how things turn out in next few weeks. He has only be removed from CEC, not from the party.
    I would love to see some clear response from Atezaz on this issue. I really hope that he clears his position and prove wrong to all his critics. I certainly love to be proven wrong.

• Ghost Of TK said:

AA was nearly crying while talking to the GEO anchors. 40 years of work for a party, down the fvcking drain. Jahangir Badar Pulled the trigger on his friend, but it won’t be long before He himself is stabbed in the back! They used him too.

Another example of Jiyala/Matwala/Pityala apathy culture at its best — Dedicated, upright and honest workers are sidelined while turn-coats, con-men and fools are given rewards. — while the apathetic “workers”, the real force of the party look on like ruminating chattel.

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

FVK YOU JIYALA’S!!!!! FVK YOU ALL TO HELL!!

This is why there needs to be Grass Roots Democracy in People’s Party, PTI, PML-(“n”) and every single other party in the Pakistani Political spectrum.

• revolution said:

I think this is a blunder by PPP. Now AA can go all out against zardari. Zardari has just given a new life to the lawyers movement. Bad Bad move

• Omar said:

No doubt Feb 18, 2008. PPP got government in very trial condition. They literally started from the bottom, but unfortunately kept on digging. And this move would probably prove to be the rock bottom for PZP.

• Malek said:

No doubt that AA was sincere with the movement all along….yet the absue he got…..
    it is for this reason i hate to pass on judgement based on jazbatiat…………as is quite common on this site
    i would have preferred AA in PPP….working inside to bring the change

• behalmust said:

Look at the audacity of this man ! Parvez Musharraf is a shameless SOB . So were all his predecessors Ayub, Yahya and Zia. These were the people who did the greatest harm to Pakistan. Not the Pakistan Army, nor the ISI, nor any of our defense institutions. The services performed their duties as ordered. The fault lay with our system (thanks to Ghulam Muhammad) that allowed these people the opportunities to meddle with the basic structure of the STATE.

Fall of Dhaka was the most glaring example of the failure of “these military geniuses.” Kargil was yet another. These “Napoleons” conquered there own nation and country, with consistent regularity, every decade or so. They failed in every other external adventure they undertook – from Kashmir, East Pakistan to Run of Kach”. No authentic national accountability has taken place, other than Hamood-ur-rehman commission. That too has been shrouded in secrecy.

Now that the “Lawyers and civil society movement” is here and information technology has freed us of the shackles of disinformation. IT HAS BECOME POSSIBLE TO HAVE A NATIONAL DEBATE ON “WHO IS SUPERIOR, THE STATE OR ITS PRIZED INSTITUTIONS?” In short is the state there to provide for the whims of its “NAPOLEONS” or the army and the national defense mechanism exists solely for the service of the state. PRIORITIES BETTER BE SET RIGHT !

This issue must be debated and clearly resolved once for all; if Pakistan is to progress. Once the debate has taken place, there cannot be more than two obvious resolutions. EITHER WE TRY AND PUNISH ALL THE LIVING AND DEAD PRIME OFFENDERS AND THEIR COHORTS (BOTH CIVILIANS AND MILITARY) OR WE HAVE NATIONAL “RECONCILIATION COMMISSION ” HEARINGS ON SOUTH AFRICAN MODEL.

I URGE AND REQUEST THE NATIONAL MEDIA, POLITICAL, CIVIL, LEGAL AND HUMAN RIGHTS BODIES TO TAKE UP THIS MOST IMMEDIATE AND IMPORTANT OF OUR NATIONAL CAUSES.

PLEASE LET NO GEN. JAVED ASHRAF QAZI TELL YOU THAT IT IS UNPATRIOTIC TO FIND FAULTS WITH OUR SYSTEM. THIS DEBATE WILL ENERGIZE OUR NATIONAL DEFENSE AND NOT UNDERMINE IT.

PEOPLE OF A NATION AS A WHOLE FORM NATIONAL DEFENSE AND NOT MERELY ITS ARMY, NAVY AND AIRFORCE. ECONOMY, EDUCATION AND INDUSTRY CARRY MORE WEIGHT THAN JUST THE MILITARY MIGHT.

PAKISTAN ZINDABAD.

Behal Must.

• admin pkpolitics said:

@Everyone,

We had to do an emergency server migration. Please leave a comment here if you are having any technical issues.

• admin pkpolitics said:

@Everyone,

Free video player fixed. Please leave comment if you are having any other issue.

• Ghost Of TK said:

The Price of the Mullah

SINCE use of Islam became central to British machinations, it is important to take a close look at how they went about it. The diaries of NWFP Governor Sir George Cunningham reveal the variety of ways these heretics conspired to employ for their own selfish ends pious Muslim leaders and the devotees of the Prophet of Islam (May peace be upon him).

The diaries are preserved in the India Office Library in London among his personal papers. They are available to anyone for verification or research. I obtained official copies of these on requests.

I am conscious that the diaries mention names whose exposure will cause deep hurt to their present descendants, but I consider it a duty to the nation that it be told of the tactics adopted by the colonial power to prolong its reign. The people should know this lest any other power in future tries again to usurp their right by using the sacred name of Islam.

When one reads the Cunningham diaries one is amazed how very respectable, angelic persons, even some who had been trained in as inspiring and ennobling an institution as Deoband, had allowed themselves to be used for the cause of the British. With Quran in hand and the Prophet’s teaching around their necks they went and sold off their conscience and their faith in return for a few pieces of silver.

Creating communal and religious splits among Indians and using these for their own ends had been standard British practice. In NWFP, however, they were faced with the problem that the Muslims here were in such majority that they had no fear of non-Muslim ascendancy. Besides, the Pushtoons had such confidence in themselves that they could not conceive of ever becoming subservient to anyone. Those who had defied as powerful and ruthless a nation as the British couldn’t be intimidated by any one else.

The British therefore adopted a special tactic here – in the province generally, in the tribal and Afghan areas in particular. It consisted in winning over the mullahs and making them their local support against the Russians. With the 1917 revolution in Russia the Czarist military legacy had acquired an ideological force as well. The later specially needed to be reckoned with. The British settled on Islam as an appropriate counterpoise.

There was a good precedence. When the British had first encountered real danger from Afghanistan in the form of Amir Ammnullah Khan they had successfully used Islam. It was used at that time against Muslims themselves and against the Pushtoon king of an Islamic country. Later, when war clouds began gathering over Europe, they again used Islam politically against threats to their power in India. There seemed no reason why the formula could not be repeated against an ideological conflict with the Russian.

Facts Are Sacred — Khan Abdul Wali Khan

Pakistan was created to fight the russian threat. When the british left, they had already created “stay behind networks” which are controlling this nation to this day.

The rest is BullSh1T fed to the masses.

• shandana said:

Why some people don’t feel the pain of others……………?

• Ali qureshi said:

http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2009/02/13/60minutes/main4800926.shtml

zardari spoke on 60 minutes!

• mibrahim said:

Ghost Of TK@

“The rest is BullSh1T fed to the masses”.
    ————————————————————————————————————–

You mean that M00TA LAA-E-PAKISTAN of my School days was ‘BullSh1T fed to masses’ . OH NO.

BTW it is already few hours since your comments@1;56 AM and no one has yet issued fatwa-e -kufr or has declared you a RAW agent. Surprise.

• Adalat said:

A link to the pictures of the Pakistani airbase used to fly Drones from

This government is pathetic

• Adalat said:

Sorry forgot to include the link

Here it is http://www.dictatorshipwatch.com/2009/02/16/5590.html

• Zahoor Ahmad said:

PPP suspends Aitzaz’s CEC membership
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=20402

• ataraxis6 said:

IK is accepting donations for Long March.

http://www.insaf.pk/LongMarch2009/tabid/222/Default.aspx

Admin, can you please put a huge banner on the main page?

• Ghost Of TK said:

A typical Pakistani Couple, celebrating a typical pakistani holiday:

• Ghost Of TK said:

@miribrahim: I think my detractor’s may be suffering from “fatwa fatigue” :)

I’m not worried though, I’m sure someone will feel compelled to defend the honour of a country they don’t know jack sh!t about.

• Kashif said:

AA is rightly served show cause notice. H e can’t have both ways. Does he think he is like US who can sit on top of Isreal and Palestine? If he is a leading figure in lawyers movement he has to give up PPP CEC membership.

Dharna is very ill conceived move. Million marches are part of democracies but indefinite dharna has no room in civilized world. If after 3 days of dharna IC is not reinstated how IK or lawyers will make sure it will remain peaceful. I heard in few talk shows its not just PMLN even JI is also reluctant on dharna.

PMLN has made some positive moves towards political reconcilliations including an understanding on senate elections with PPP and PMLQ and Shahbaz Sharif’s meeting with MQM governor. I always said in Pakistan all politicians have dealt with military. Political hostilities are productive in election season. Once that is over during governence phase different political groups need to come up with common minimum agenda that they can agree upon. In this respect PMLN’s move might be unpopular but very pragmatic. We are facing serious challenges so we need to come out of this hyper political bickering phase like rest of the democracies do.

• revolution said:

@Malek

“i would have preferred AA in PPP….working inside to bring the change”

PPP is not in a state that it can be changed from within. It can only be changed by an open revolt. With AA being kicked out, he should now let everyone know what goes on inside that shitty head of zardari, and his sister, since the two of them are running the party

• revolution said:

@Malek

“i would have preferred AA in PPP….working inside to bring the change”

PPP is not in a state that it can be changed from within. It can only be changed by an open revolt. With AA being kicked out, he should now let everyone know what goes on inside that dirty hell hole of a head of zardari, and his sister, since the two of them are running the party

• tharapolitics said:

Zardari and Co. took the decision to show AA the way of exit at right time. Now, AA can participate and lead march and movement with other lawyers with dedication. But important is how parties , pro-judiciary movement parties, will react on the eve of long march and on the crucial day of 16th March.

(hopefully my comment will pass grade from moderator)

• Amir Hameed said:

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/updates.asp?id=68993

… Asif Ali Zardari Wednesday said Pakistan needs a marshal plan to fight militancy through socio economic development, education and employment.

What has he or his ministers done to outline an improved policy on education? I guess he does not care about improvement in the educational system since he himself is not well educated.

Now we Pakistanis be prepared for the following big news which are about to hear with full volume through the West Media:

———The railway lines of Uzbikistan have been blown up by the terrorist so called Islamic Militants & more body bags are being dispatched to America as further 30 thousand American troops are about to land at Afghanistan.———

This is an observation cum prediction under the light of recent past history of Allied Forces Existence at Central Asian Countries & on common sense basis as Russia has to PAY BACK of Afghan War with America.

Particularly Israel & America along with Good Luck to other remaining Red White & Blue Countries.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/regional/story/2009/02/090219_kyrghz_vote_us_zs.shtml

• Ghost Of TK said:

Another Aalim-e-Deen mercilessly killed by “Liberal Fascists”

A car full of explosives captured from “liberal fascists” … I guess they were taking it to their NGO.

And here we see the Wana Press Club building, dynamited by … you guessed it “Liberal Fascists”

Young girls finally able to go back to school after “Liberal FAscists” stopped dynamiting their schools.

• shandana said:

All those who call themselves ihle-sunnat, ihle-hadith, barailvi, lashkars, deobandi, wahabis, jaafris……………..are monsters.

• Muhammad Usman said:

@ shandana

100% agreed with you. Saudi and iranian funding is so unfortunate.

Religious fanatics have killed each other like butchers. For Heavens sake.

Please leave religion to a person.

pLEASE give us normal law( simply law). I dont want shariat.

I dont want fatwas from fanatics/ khalifas/ laskars/ thehriks/ jirgas.

I want simple law.

• shandana said:

@Muhammad Usman

Sharia is a NORMAL or more specifically a NATURAL LAW if and only if implemented with the true islamic spirit.

• Muhammad Usman said:

@ shandana

Who will define true islamic spirit.

That is the real problem.

Answer is leave it as a personal matter

• inaam said:

I think people are being a little too wary of the endgame of lawyers movement. As someone mentioned (probably GofTK) that the important thing is that a new awakening in the people has happened. And that is exactly what it takes to shape the destiny of a nation.
    Logistics and other things are important but secondary. Such commotions take a life of their own. Yes, there can be violence. So what? I know that understandably most of the bloggers here associate confrontational politics with JI. Not necessarily true. Agitation has been a hallmark of the left (I am not looking for Che Guevaras but give the left a chance).
    My only worry would be that as they have already marginalized AA to some extent and if this dharna ends up Kurd’s ascendency then there is a chance that this movement alongwith all the pent up energy may fall victim to the forces of the right. The only reason that keeps me away from IK is his rightist leanings.

• zaheer said:

@Muhammad Usman

“Who will define true islamic spirit.”

Muslim Scholars and Muslims will do that! I know it is not easy thing, as there are many internal and external challenges faced by the Muslims but it will come INSHALLAH. When faith and knowledge of Muslims would be strong enough then all current problems would automatically vanish.

“Answer is leave it as a personal matter”

No one is forcing you! You as a person also propagate your version of governance and if someone supports Islamic System, He/she also has right for that! At the end, these are the people who can decide and sustain a system and not an individual or certain group. If People want to have Islamic System then they have right for that!

• Muhammad Usman said:

@ zaheer

From where these scholars will come. Do they exist. Do YOU THINK molvi sufi is one such scholar.

GIVE some example from contemperary muslim world.

Have you seen todays live with talat, how scared a common man was. They dont have free will.

If you want danda or gun shariat to aap ko hi mubarak.

Please leave us a s impure muslims.

Enough justification for barbaRIC shariat

• zaheer said:

- These days our government is saying that we can send a investigation team to India in context of Mumbai attacks. Well, they need to be very careful in selection and irresponsibilities of such team because if WRONG people went to India then they really can create a lot problems for Pakistan. We are already paying for the current statements of MR. R. Malik who accepted the role in Mumbia attacks! He would take us to the hell!

- It is also being claimed, again by Mr. R. Malik, that CIA has played a significant role in sharing of information between India and Pakistan and in context of investigations of Mumbai attacks. Well, CIA and Co. has been almost fully supporting Indian version of stories, they are not neutral, they rather a party. So, if we blindly trusted them then we would be proven criminal for that what we have not done! Pakistan needs to avoid blind and over trust on CIA or any other! It is testing time for the ISI, so let us see how can they handle current difficulties faced by Pakistan!

- Murder of journalist in Swat is a complex and testing issue! Hands behind this murder could be any, even those which we don’t imagine normally. This murder should be investigated with open possibilities of involvement!

• mibrahim said:

tharapolitics@

Whatever you narreted throgh this pictures is really impressive and whoever has even minimal humanity should strongly condemn these kinds of act.

However, get historical facts straight.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwwPbkyZVJo

The force responsible for Laal Masjid was the same one which did a “Jihad” against Bengalis in 1971, .

No one called them ‘liberal’ .Rather they were availing their true right of MAAL-GHANEEMAT

When this evil force raped constitution in 77, it was in the eyes of Maulvi’s first step towards Nizam-e-Mustafa. No one called them ‘liberal.’

Again these Maulvi’ via 17th Amendment gave another lifeline for same evil force rather then calling them ‘liberal’
    ————————————————————-
    All of a sudden, same brutal and evil force became ‘liberal’.

Whoever you are displaying in pictures in your post is the evil force that happened to be strongest ally, and each of their dirty act got supported by Maulvis, not liberals. They were (liberals) rather a target.

• zaheer said:

@Muhammad Usman

“From where these scholars will come. Do they exist. Do YOU THINK molvi sufi is one such scholar.”

They will come from within Muslims of course and there are many such scholars but they problem is that so far they are not in spot light and most of those who are visible to people are not in reality scholars! We think that anyone with beard is a scholar which is not true. It is also a reality that many bad examples also do exist among Muslim scholars. Good and bad do exist everywhere in every group, it is law of nature, currently bad examples are stronger and united so it gives impression as if all are bad but when good ones will get united then things would be different!

“GIVE some example from contemperary muslim world.”

I can give examples but let the Allah Almighty purify and clarify things. When Muslims would get stronger in faith and actions then Allah Almighty would bring forth those who would be pure.

“Have you seen todays live with talat, how scared a common man was. They dont have free will.”

They are not scared of Taliban only, they are sacred of so called liberals , educated and seculars also! I don’t consider Taliban any scholars, only scholars can best interpret and define laws otherwise chaos is the destination.

“If you want danda or gun shariat to aap ko hi mubarak.”

Any system that comes through danda or force and not through education, understanding and acceptance of people, can’t sustain no matter how pure it could be! because at the end these are people who define and protect a system! So Islamic System would only come and sustain when we will understand and prepare ourselves for it! I personally think that such a pure and wonderful system i.e. Islam, should only be given to those people who prove themselves worthy of it and those understand its value/worth! We really need to understand Islam and realities on ground to develop right connections between two, so that we avoid further harm both to Islam and ourselves! Neem hakeem khtra-e-jaan, neem mullah khatra-e-imaan!

“Please leave us a s impure muslims.”
    i don’t have any authority to define anyone pure or impure! A Muslim however should always try to purify his/herself not for the sake of people rather for the sake of Allah Almighty.

“Enough justification for barbaRIC shariat”
    It is true that there have been many bad examples but don’t forget there have been very nice examples too. Shariat is not at all barbaric, it has always been fault of people who misunderstood and misused it!!!

• Ghost Of TK said:

The “usage” of idiot Mullah’s and their blind followers continues!

“”"
    When one reads the Cunningham diaries one is amazed how very
    respectable, angelic persons, even some who had been trained in as
    inspiring and ennobling an institution as Deoband, had allowed
    themselves to be used for the cause of the British. With Quran in hand
    and the Prophet’s teaching around their necks they went and sold off
    their conscience and their faith in return for a few pieces of silver.

Creating communal and religious splits among Indians and using these
    for their own ends had been standard British practice. In NWFP,
    however, they were faced with the problem that the Muslims here were in
    such majority that they had no fear of non-Muslim ascendancy. Besides,
    the Pushtoons had such confidence in themselves that they could not
    conceive of ever becoming subservient to anyone. Those who had defied
    as powerful and ruthless a nation as the British couldn’t be
    intimidated by any one else.

The British therefore adopted a special tactic here – in the province
    generally, in the tribal and Afghan areas in particular. It consisted
    in winning over the mullahs and making them their local support against
    the Russians.
    With the 1917 revolution in Russia the Czarist military
    legacy had acquired an ideological force as well. The later specially
    needed to be reckoned with. The British settled on Islam as an
    appropriate counterpoise.

There was a good precedence. When the British had first encountered
    real danger from Afghanistan in the form of Amir Ammnullah Khan they
    had successfully used Islam
    . It was used at that time against Muslims
    themselves and against the Pushtoon king of an Islamic country
    Later,
    when war clouds began gathering over Europe, they again used Islam
    politically against threats to their power in India. There seemed no
    reason why the formula could not be repeated against an ideological
    conflict with the Russian.

“”"
    Facts are Sacred [pg. 43,44] (Khan Abdul Wali Khan)

• Ghost Of TK said:

THIS is why Jamat-e-”Islami” and Jamiat-ul_”Ulema-e Islam” are two despicable pigs who cannot be made up with a ton of lipstick EACH!!!

These people have been sold for generations! (they’re not the only ones, but THEY ARE ALSO OUR “MUJRIM”)

lest you forget when the “day of the list” arrives.

WHEN the war in Europe was going against the Allies and Hitler’s forces seemed to be advancing on all sides, Britain got worried that Russia might take advantage of the situation to make gains in Asia. To safeguard against that, of all organisations, Jamiat-ul-Ulema passed a resolution in its annual conference declaring that if Russia invaded Afghanistan it would become incumbent on all Muslims to join in a jihad against it.

Later, when the British realised that there was no such danger, the next fatwa came from the governor, Cunningham. He records: “I advised Kuli Khan to moderate his anti- Bolshevik propaganda and to concentrate more on propaganda against Germany and Italy.”

But before we go any further the question is how could an Islamic scholar could or a true Muslim could be inspired with religious fervour in support of the British? The Englishman had been the historical enemy of the Muslims. From the times of Salahuddin Ayyubi right up to the sacking of the Ottoman Empire, the English had been chiefly responsible for the Muslim world’s woes. Leave alone the rest of the Arabian Peninsula, even the holy Ka’aba came under gunfire from the Indian soldiers in the employ of these very British. And they were responsible for wresting the rule over India from the hands of the Muslim Mughals. The treatment they meted out to the last of the Delhi emperors, Bahadur Shah Zaffar, and his children is known to the whole world. Then look the way they dealt with the Pushtoon Muslim of Afghanistan before the eyes of the Pushtoons themselves. From Amir Dost Mohammad Khan and Amir Sheer Ali Khan down to Amir Amanullah Khan – all these Muslims were destroyed not at the hands of Russia or Germany or Italy but by the British themselves.

• Ghost Of TK said:

Cousin of one of the 9/11 hijackers has been arrested as an Israeli Spy!

Bbbbbbbuuuttt… bbbuuuttt…. aren’t we supposed to do jeeeeeeeeeeeeehaaaawwwwwwwwwwdddd ???

JEWS JIHAD! That’s what you’ve been doing. BIAATCH!!!

• Ghost Of TK said:

@mibrahim: Mr. @tharapolitics doesn’t have time to look sh!t up in a dictionary. He’s “keepin it real”… REAL DUMB!

• Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar said:

“Cousin of one of the 9/11 hijackers has been arrested as an Israeli Spy!”

wow… what a story.

• nota said:

@Malek
    “@nota
    one of the links that you posted is from 12 Jan……pretty old…splashing one statement again and again doesnt make it a policy ….if you know IK issued a similar statement around the same date

the second link is from daily times….which is not worth reading anyway

I am really surprised you would just ignore my comment giving such faulty reasons. Not only is Jan 12th is not really “pretty old” as you say but the link I provided was from FEB 12th and I am disappointed that you in your haste to defend the indefensible would twist it like that. As regards the other “Daily Times” link not worth reading anyways, sorry that in my hurry to look u a link I posted the first one I found. But I wasn’t picky about the source because I had heard Ch Nisar very well state what was reported in the Daily Times. If you like I can look it up in another paper and provide you with a link if so so desire and it would express the same thing. Would you believe it then???

BTW, I had also stated “I believe the news of a deal are true (including some senate seats)”. As as we have seen, how conveniently/”democratically” ALL senators were “elected” unopposed, even from Punjab. You might consider it “mufahimat”. I consider it “baygharity” on part of all parties. Picking on PML-N particularly — for they pretend to be the holy ones — they did not bother putting up a candidate against even any of Fazlu’s relatives or those from MQM and PML-Q. I say shame on them!!!

And what do they get in return? Taseer again waving his d!ck at them, again :)

• nota said:

“Founder of “Islamic TV” beheads wife (in Buffalo New York)
    PSCYCHO!!!”

That is not being honest or fair. It was not “Islamic TV” as CNN put it, nor “Muslim TV” as BBC put it. It was “Bridges TV”, a station not run by bearded mullahs as they imply but by the “liberal” kind “aimed at countering stereotypes of Muslims ” and “to portray Muslims in a more positive light”

Before concluding anything regarding this beheaded story of this Pakistani Couple, this is my duty to remind you all in mid 80s the horrible event of BCCI was occurred at US (Miami-Florida) why? Because this Pakistani Bank was standing in TOP 10 Banks of the World moreover by leaps & bounds day to day basis progressing in the entire world & this was too much for Americans, rather at the extent of UNBEARABLE for Local Bankers, in short; thereafter a COCK & BULL story was created by the Group of American Bankers as a result the Owner of the Bank Abidi Sb. including Rizvi Sb. & many others returned to this beloved country. Thereafter whatever published in local newspapers kindly search in Libraries what your American Friends had done with these top ranking Elite Bankers of Pakistan!

On the same line this is humble request to you all declaring them PSYCHO or whatever kindly look into depth of this story, it is requested to you all pls. let us know the status of this ISLAMIC TV Channel whether this was bearable for the HARDLINERs of Local/New Yorkers!?

• nota said:

@shirkuh
    “Maybe AA was sincere after all”

I still don’t think so. I still think he tried to ride two boats going in opposite directions and was foolish enough to think he could pull it off. The only think I am sure about his sincerity is that he is sincere to PPP, even after it has turned into PZP.

• nota said:

@Adnan Arshad Mansoori
    Some how I won’t be surprised if people quote crap like the following as well claiming it as the absolute truth:
    Saudi money behind wife-beheader’s TV operation?

Speaking of crap, here’s two of the latest about Mumbai:
    Mumbai police gets 26/11 attacks evidence from FBI

Mumbai attackers had hit list of 320 world targets
    320 worldwide locations? I bet we are to believe they would travel to all on those rubber boats. Shame on The Guardian!!!

• tharapolitics said:

@Ghost Of TK said:

“@mibrahim: Mr. @tharapolitics doesn’t have time to look sh!t up in a dictionary. He’s “keepin it real”… REAL DUMB!”

This is the decency which I can expect from “liberal fascist”.
    (I know my comments will go under “kaat chant”, but you have right to write “everything” to anyone on this portal and no rule can apply on your “repeated” thoughts. keep it up!!!!)

• tharapolitics said:

I am not on any special agenda so hopefully quoting of this news will get “pass” grade from Moderator. Thanks in advance.
    My Hopes are high that today’s lawyers leadership meeting with MIAN GEE will produce positive outcomes regarding PML-N’s policy and PML-N will take same stance on Judiciary movement and judges restoration which they had at the time of election.

PML-N MPs in a tizzy over sit-in stance
    Friday, February 20, 2009
    By Ansar Abbasi

ISLAMABAD: The realisation that the party’s dithering on the protest sit-in, which will accompany the long march, has started taking its toll on its public standing has started dawning upon the majority of PML-N MNAs.

Background interactions with MPs belonging to the Nawaz League show the members are getting extremely frustrated because of the growing criticism they are facing from voters, supporters and the public at large.

Some of the Leaguers are even staying away from attending private TV talk shows, as they have no tangible argument to offer in support of what is generally perceived as their top leadership’s confused policy and lame excuses.

While the PML-N is expected to consider the “harsh feedback” its lawmakers and leaders are getting from the public, lawyers’ leaders have also realised that they need to talk to all stakeholders, including the PML-N, to effectively pursue the goal of an independent judiciary. But the lawyers’ leadership does realise that the N-League’s support is crucial for the success of their long march and sit-in in Islamabad.

But backbenchers in the PML-N are also conscious of the fact that shying away from the sit-in and pursuing a strategy different from that of the lawyers would badly harm the party’s political standing.

Some of PML-N MPs contacted by The News do fear that the party’s downslide will intensify if it decides to stay away from the sit-in on one pretext or the other. Many of them would not dare to bring home this stark fact to the Sharif brothers, but some may pick up the courage to speak their mind in the next few days, when the party leadership will meet to discuss the issue and take a decision on it.

The PML-N MPs have already started receiving angry messages from their electorate about the party’s wavering on the question of its participation in the sit-in. “I have no argument to give to my callers,” remarked one of them, saying even the party’s supporters living abroad were calling them to seek the reason for this strange hesitation.

One of these legislators said he was not sure if he would get the opportunity to frankly and freely express his views. He has asked some of his journalist friends to convey to the Sharifs the layman’s feeling about the party after its recent reluctance on the issue of the sit-in.

The MPs admit for the first time they feel defensive, as they have no explanation to offer. Meanwhile, a leading member of the lawyers’ movement also confirmed that at a recent meeting, their leaders did admit that for an effective long march and sit-in, it would have been better to take all the stakeholders into confidence.

The source said a team of lawyers’ leadership would soon start meeting different political parties, supporting the cause of an independent judiciary and sharing the demand for restoring the key institution to its Nov 2, 2007 status.

Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) President Ali Ahmad Kurd, Aitzaz Ahsan, Munir A Malik, Justice (retd) Tariq Mehmud, Athar Minallah and Hamid Khan are expected to meet PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif in Raiwind on Friday amid hopes that two sides would come out with cheering faces from the meeting room.

Also on Friday, the lawyers’ leadership is likely to meet Tehrik-e-Insaf Chief Imran Khan and Jamaat-e-Islami Amir Qazi Hussain Ahmad. Later, they will meet Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party head Mehmud Khan Achakzai and BNP chief Akhtar Mengal and some other parties’ heads.

• tharapolitics said:

Meeting between troika, Zardari, Geelani, and Kiani, in President house.
    Can anyone explain why Zardari put his “portrait” with BB Shaheed on wall in thisimage? :)

• tharapolitics said:

PML-N is minority party in Pujab.Soon PPP’s govt in Pujab. Salman Taseer
    DEEWANAY KO DIN MAIN KHAWB. You can dream Mr. Governor, but for people of Punjab, Shahbaz’s government and governance is first priority.

• nota said:

@tharapolitics

I think PML-N leadership is trying to pull an AZ. Soon you might hear one of them utter “Hamaray waday koee Quran aur Hadise to nahin”….

• nota said:

“Can anyone explain why Zardari put his “portrait”…

Well I don’t know about that but that glow surrounding his head in the portrait reminds me of the “halo” stunt Bush tried to Bush pull back in 2003:

• Zahoor Ahmad said:

Nawaz arrives Shujaat residence for offering condolence.

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/updates.asp?id=69120

• nota said:

@tharapolitics
    “PML-N is minority party in Pujab.Soon PPP’s govt in Pujab. Salman Taseer ”

This is the story I linked to above under “Taseer again waving his d!ck at them, again” :)

• nota said:

@tharapolitics
    Regarding that |PML-N MPs in tizzy”, let’s see if they get heard:
    PML-N to decide on Dharna today

• Socrates said:

I’m new on this blog, could you please elaborate what actually you mean by “liberal fascists” ???

• nota said:

@Socrates
    Somehow I think you already know exactly what I mean so I will not take your bait :-P

• Socrates said:

Well, you seemed to be over-apprehensive + over-cautious.
    I still would like you to please elaborate what you actually mean by LIBERAL FASCISTS ?
    If you are not going to explain this term, then pls do name some of the LIBERAL FASCISTS from our belove LAND OF PURES !
    BTW rest assured i’m not offering you any bait.

• nota said:

Well then let me just briefly say I define liberal fascists as those “liberals” who never tire of screaming “human rights” and “women empowerment” and “animal rights” and “gun control” and “democracy” and “rule of law”, etc. but as soon as there is any perception of any of their “freedoms” is threatened. they yell “Nuke ‘em! Nuke ‘em all!!! Rule of law be damned! Democracy be damned! Human rights be damned! Their women and children be damned!”

• Socrates said:

DERA ISMAIL KHAN, Pakistan: Curfew was imposed in the northwestern Pakistani town of Dera Ismail Khan after a suicide bomber killed at least 30 people and wounded several others during a funeral procession on Friday for a Shia Muslim gunned down a day earlier, police and news reports said.

—- http://dawn.net/wps/wcm/connect/Dawn%20Content%20Library/dawn/news/pakistan/nwfp/sectarian-unrest-following-blast-in-dikhan-yn

Yet another act of gallantry from Talibans !
    Talibans clearing crap from LAND OF PURES !
    LONG LIVE PAKISTAN !

• nota said:

^^above comment addressed to @Socrates

@Socrates
    “Yet another act of gallantry from Talibans”

Now why do do assume this act was perpetrated by the Taliban? Are you not assuming a bit too much? Do you have any evidence that Taliban carried out this heinous at? Or are you just being a “liberal fascist”?

• Socrates said:

—-”Or are you just being a “liberal fascist”?” —-
    Now you really took my bait !
    What I understand from your comments is all Anti-Taliban people are actually ‘liberal fascists’ !
    If that’s the case then i’m definetly a proud ‘liberal fascist’ !

—-”Now why do do assume this act was perpetrated by the Taliban? Are you not assuming a bit too much? Do you have any evidence that Taliban carried out this heinous at?”
    —–
    Dear nota, Talibans claimed responsibilty of previous suicide bombings on shias in Dera Ismail Khan, eg. attack on shia procession + attack on hospital’s emergency ward.
    Don’t you think i’m not assuming too much ? Well, dear it’s too early to have evidence, however don’t you know that Talibans are avowed enemies of shias + brelvies of + all others who don’t believe in their ideology of hate and takfir.
    Moreover, could you please tell me when did any ‘liberal fascist’ i.e. anti-taliban person claim responsibility of any suicide bombing ???

• nota said:

Your parliament at work:

Parliamentary inertia
    “In less than a month, the current National Assembly would have completed a year in existence, but, as a Dawn report in Thursday’s issue points out, it has been able to enact only four laws although 75 bills were placed before it.

That it passed the finance bill does not deserve to be taken note of, for the passage of the budget needs a simple majority, and the treasury benches would see to it that it was passed.

Of the three other bills passed by the Assembly, two had come from the Senate and one was a private member’s effort. This means that there was only one bill, that of finance, which the PPP-led coalition moved in the Assembly and had passed to keep the state going. “

Note: Also keep in mind than on average, each MNA costs us Rs. 3 Crore per year and each ministers over Rs. 5 Crore in expenses. I don’t know how much a Senator costs but I am sure it is between those two figures (These figures do not include bribes or monies lost due to their corruption). Multiply those numbers with 534 for MNAs and you get a figure close to Rs 9,000 Crore wasted on these MNAs alone over their 5 year term.

• nota said:

@Socrates
    See i figured you out right away :)

“Moreover, could you please tell me when did any ‘liberal fascist’ i.e. anti-taliban person claim responsibility of any suicide bombing ???”

Of course they don’t do that. “Liberal fascists” like you are the ones who always stay back and yell “Maro! Maro!!” but are too gutless pansies to do it themselves :-P

• Ghost Of TK said:

@nota: welcome back! Glad to see you’re still kicking. (for a second I thought they lost you in Beijing or something ;)

Our new friend “Socrates” doesn’t know that in fact it is the “liberal fascists” of Mianwali who are bringing this onto themselves. Besides, no one is guilty unless proven in a court of law (as long as they are Muqqaddas Talib Faggots. If they are anyone else, their “sirs” should be “Qalam” on the spott!!!)

@socrates: Please remember the following rule of thumb for your own well being:

For Talib Faggots: Full procedure of the court of law and a Human Rights commission established for each. (otherwise liberals are “liberal enough” and therefore “fascists”) The appeals for each case should got to UN, then to International court of justice, then to every supreme court in the world and then presented in the form of a burnt offering on the Mount Sinai. If the lightning “licks” the meat offering, it would mean the Talib is innocent. If the lightening doesn’t, it means the Mount of Sinai is all made of Taaghoot! and it should be dynamited (after all there are many idols hidden within that mass of stone… they only have to be carved!!!!)

For common Pakistani victims of Taliban: Summary Justice in the form of Throat Slitting. (it’s for their own good)

I hope you see how this “legal system” works.

• nota said:

PML-N to take part in lawyer’s sit-in
    LAHORE: The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has finally announced its decision to take part in a proposed sit-in by dissatisfied lawyers in Islamabad on March 16.

‘We have decided to take part in the lawyers sit-in besides their long-march,’ Punjab Law Minister Rana Sanaullah told journalists outsides the provincial assembly here on Wednesday. …

• nota said:

Surprised you had two posts and did not use “BIAATCH!!!”. So go for it to feel complete :)

• Socrates said:

@ nota

It seems you strongly believe in argument –ad hominem–, that’s why you are talking crap instead of arguing logically.
    Anyway, do you really think ‘liberal fascists’ first motivate ‘innocent Talibans’ to behead and blow up poor Pakistanis and then yell ‘Maro! Maro!’ :) ) — This reasoning sounds gr88888 !!
    What you expect persons like me to award Talibans for killing shias +brelvies+personnel of armed forces !
    Do you think we shouldn’t condemn destruction of schools, bridges and hospitals !!
    Re : “but are too gutless pansies to do it themselves ” —- I’m really not interested in going to paradise after blowing up innocent people into pieces. For doing so I first need to do the bay’at on the hands of Ameer-ul-Momineen Baitullah Mehsud or Mullah Fazalullah !!!
    Now tell me do you really support Talibans ???
    I expect some rational arguments instead of crap !

• nota said:

@Socrates
    “Now tell me do you really support Talibans ???”

Oh, what a brilliantly crappy question. But I am afraid I don’t have that much time to waste. I am sure TK will be happy explain it all. He’s the warrior who makes Talib faggots shudder all the way from europe :) I see a love-affair happening between you two…

• Ghost Of TK said:

@nota: re: the TV owner… He was indeed “Psycho” (or Psychotic) and I’m not sure what Muslim/Islamic difference is in this context. The thing is … it is IRONIC. (aside from being terribly sad).

• Socrates said:

@ nota

Well, it’s just the begining and i’ll be more than happy to scr.. your ass off and on.
    As we ‘liberal fascists’ really love to screw Talibans and their lovers like you !!!
    Now, members of this blog can see how hollow and empty headed Talibans and their supporters like you actually are !!!
    BTW I was really expecting lots of crap from you !!!
    As it’s really stinking, I gotta go now.
    See you later.
    Bye and Peace for all !!!

• nota said:

@Socrates
    And you got your filty mouth from your mama’s antics I bet :)

• Ghost Of TK said:

@Nota: thanks for posting that extremely pertinent piece of information. 9000 krores ! OMG! 90 arab! on 534 mna’s …. when the nation spends 6600 crore on madrassah donations, 5000 crores on qurbani animals (one day) ….

However, let me say that IF they used these perks for the people, it would be well worth it.

Please also enlighten us on other ‘misappropriations’ happening in the sultanat-e british-daad-e Pakistan:

for example:

1. The parallell, private jet networks operated by our oh so “mazloom” military brass just so them and their bastard children can travel in peace without having to deal with the bloody civlians who actually pay for all their temper tantrum riddled demands for more cash? (“nahi to morale down ho jai gaa!!”)
    2. The trillions taken by the jurnails, kurnails, brigadiers, airmarshalls, vice airmarshalls, admirals and petty thiefs of our armed forces (who just can’t seem to subde a couple thousand insurgents despite sucking our blood treasury dry.
    3. The high paying jobs given to retired jurnails, kernails, air and sea “leopards” and many other such valiant “civil servants”

Or do you only have access to propaganda against elected representatives (as bad as they are) and have not access to any information re: the REAL corruption ie; the corruption wreaked by “Military Inc.” ????

These politicans are feeding off crumbs! really! the real money is being bilked by the Jurnails! (and we hear NO PEEP from no quarter!) how interesting indeed.

• Ghost Of TK said:

@nota: “and you got your ….”

Go ahead.. say FUCK!!

You know you want to! ;)

• nota said:

“Go ahead.. say FUCK!!
    You know you want to!”

Actually I only wanted to say “filthy” and mistyped. I really have no problem with using fuck and am not shy about it. But like you I don’t use it just for the sake of using it :)

Regarding the corruption of jurnails, you already mentioned “Military, Inc.” In case you did not notice, I was talking about the fucking parliament and not the army. If I was, i certainly would have mentioned it as I have done many times before but of course in your attempt at point scoring you dishonestly overlook that (an example here).

Tell me honestly, do you really think a parliament couldn’t be run for less than 9,000 crore? Sure army costs us a lot more but is it reason enough to overlook even “little” waste from the “crumbs” (BTW 9,000 crore = $1.125 Billion, so I would hardly call it crumbs). Why don’t you tell me how much the army takes? Would 60% be close? Even in that case I would hardly call 40% crumbs.

Again, where did I suggest not to touch they army?

Shame on you!

• nota said:

Binyamin Netanyahu to be Israel’s next Prime Minister
    Israel was today poised for its most right-wing government in decades after Binyamin Netanyahu was asked to be the country’s next Prime Minister.

In a move that will cause huge disappointment in Washington, President Shimon Peres confirmed that he had asked the Likud leader, who finished a close second in the country’s election, to build a coalition.

Giving an acceptance speech which did not mention the stalled Israeli-Palestinian peace process or a two-state solution, Mr Netanyahu instead placed much of his focus on Iran’s enrichment of uranium. …

• nota said:

And just in time for the Netanyahu coronation we have MSM offering:
    Iran ‘has enough uranium for nuclear weapon’
    Iran has “in theory” stockpiled sufficient raw material to build a nuclear weapon, a senior UN official said yesterday. Western analysts have been expecting Iran to reach this symbolic threshold of so-called “break-out capacity” after accumulating enough low-enriched uranium which can then be upgraded to fuel for a small bomb….

• Ghost Of TK said:

Where in the world is “Quaid-e-Azam’s portrait these days?”

Benzir 2
    Jinna 0

Khappayyy!!!!

• dictator123 said:

Nawaz is currently meeting with Lawyer’s leaders!!! Lets hope good news follows but I seriously doubt it.

I can see Nawaz imploring lawyers to either call off dharna or set a time for dharna otherwise Mr Richard Halbrooke is going to be very upset with him.

• Ghost Of TK said:

@nota:

NO… I was pointing out the seeming dishonesty with which you used a old news item to bash the parliament out of nowhere.

9000 is a number that that “blog” just came up with. Obviously there are no official numbers to back it up but that doesn’t seem to bother you much when it serves your propaganda purposes. But when it is the important matter of Taliban, you want bullet-proof … ahem… evidence against those lambs of the heavenly pastures

Also that “link” you provided doesn’t support the current topic (ie your lack of criticsm of Army’s financial excesses) but talks about something totally different. But since most readers are lazy, they won’t bother going to the link to find out that it really is neither argument nor proof regarding the matter at hand. Instant “link credibility”. Just add chutzpah! …;-)

Maybe you should do some research into the matter of army’s blatant abuse of financial resources or at least post a half billion links to non-sequiter articles about Army and it’s financial “wizardry” …

Apparently it is not just me who is being “dishonest” through feigned ignorance. Errors of “omission” are just as bad as that of “comission” (bad pun intended.)

• nota said:

Yes TK. You are always right about everything. I must only talk about things you want me to talk about. I must do research only on topics that you want me to do research on. But I must not provide any links cause they don’t mean anything. Got it!

Instead of bitching about my not doing research about the “army’s blatant abuse of financial resources” why don’t you do it yourself and enlighten us.

Of course it would surprise me if you admitted your dishonesty. That’s not in your nature. “BIAATCH!!!” ;-)

• nota said:

@dictator123
    “Nawaz is currently meeting with Lawyer’s leaders!!! Lets hope good news follows but I seriously doubt it.”

As I posted above, PML-N has already announced they will be a part of the dharna and I am sure all efforts of Nawaz will be more towards “set a time for dharna otherwise Mr Richard Halbrooke is going to be very upset with him” as you stated….

• Ghost Of TK said:

Murder of a brave Journalist! Liberal Fascists strike again! .. (obviously!)

Journalists protesting the brazen and horrific murder of a brave Swati Journalist Musa Khan Khel by …. you guess it … “The Liberal Fascists” ….

P.S. The Liberal Fascist Baboos have also been implicated in the abduction of two young female Yeti’s in the snowy regions of himalya’s! Oh these Liberal FAscists! What length will they go to to satisfy their evil desires?

• Ghost Of TK said:

@nota: “Yes TK. You are always right about everything”

awww! do you feel a sudden hankering to call me a “know all” ??? ;-)

Aaah! Good Times!

P.S. I wonder if some of the “senior” of our “citizens” remember any of the mullah’s whose fathers and grandfathers inflamed the pashtoons Muslims to fight a “Jihad” for the british imperial interest for 10 rupees a month.

I really wonder how much a mullah goes for these days? Any guesses?

• nota said:

@dictator123
    I must add that the only possibility of PML-N sticking with the dharna is if they are convinced they are about to loose Punjab, as Taseer again stated yesterday (see my comment above). I just don’t believe it will be on principle….

• nota said:

“awww! do you feel a sudden hankering to call me a “know all” ???”

Not really. I know you think of yourself as one and you’d love to be called that but honestly I don’t.

Now go ahead blurt something quick. Hurry or you’d loose the reason for your existence. Of course I will be ignoring it so you can feel even better believing “I won” ;-)

(By the way, why are you so obsessed by “beardo faggots”? Did you get a good “filling” in the past?)

• dictator123 said:

You are right and dare I say I knew that as well.

I was just trying to stir up the Butt Club members like TK etc. I am sure they will turn their point of view with 180 degrees and start vomitting drawbacks of Dharna, but they fail to answer how come same dharna and protest will be justified if NS/SS are declared ineligible or they lose Punjab.

Pity on the fan club of flip-flop leadership.

• Ghost Of TK said:

Nawaz Meeting Shujaat!

Treachery! Traitering.. erm.. etcetera!

You heard it here firts… I mean first..

• shandana said:

@GO TK
    P.S. I wonder if some of the “senior” of our “citizens” remember any of the mullah’s whose fathers and grandfathers inflamed the pashtoons Muslims to fight a “Jihad” for the british imperial interest for 10 rupees a month.”"

I have read about Faqir Eppi, a religious leader from Waziristan who was in ‘JIHAD’ against British rule, but I also had a chance to read his application to British ‘Sarkar’ for ‘to get a raise’ in his WAZEEFA’. I think he wanted a raise from Rs. 15 to 20.(I am not sure though)

I also have read some thing like this about Moulana Muhammad Ali Johar.

• nota said:

@Shandana
    Wow! That is certainly news! Do you really have to go that far back though? And why single out beardos? What about all the “Sardars” (most of them in your parliament today) ? Weren’t ALL of the soldiers at the time on the payroll of the British, literally? You really believe today Qazi and Fazlu are not on some kind of payroll? What about out Jurnails? What about the politicians? Do they just bend over when they see Holbrooke or Boucher because they love the likes of Holbrooke and Boucher?

Day before yesterday the main headline of BBC —India has enhanced 34% in her Defence Budget on the other hand the following is being awaited like a MONSTER!—

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/india/story/2009/02/090220_food_problem_sz.shtml

KEEP IT UP INDIA i.e. why I often sing a song!

LONDON DEIKHA, PARIS DEKHA NA DAIKHA AISA BAIKOUFISTAN JO HAI TAIRA HINDUSTAN.

• Ghost Of TK said:

@shandana: Actually, Faqqir of Ippi was one of the very few religious elements who COULD NOT BE BOUGHT by the british (this doesn’t include the “Islamic Scholars” of Jamiat-Ulmae-Sarhad — they were for sale right n left) …

There is some reference to Lord Wavell being really ticked off because he couldn’t buy off a true nationalist hero (who also happened to be a devout muslim leader).

For a few thousand rupees (extorted from the people of the land) the British used the Mullah’s as their “opinion changers” to merely fight an imperial struggle against the russians.

I have quoted some shameful passages from that book.

Mullah’s have destroyed Islam… therefore Mullah Must be Destroyed! … there is NO place for a useless religious class in Islam. Only lazy idiots give this power to these mullas because they don’t want to spend the time themselves readding “all those thick books”.

Scholars YES, Mullahs NO!

• Ghost Of TK said:

@nota: All leg-pulling aside, You’re on to something. It is not merely “The Mullah” but the khan, the feudal, the jurnail and the wadero and beureaucrats who are ALL in thrall of the foreigner.

The onus of honesty and forthrightness on the Mullah the most. Because they use the name islam to gain legitimacy and then stab us right in the face for a few sheckles.

Any nation is defenceless when the most sacred of their values are used to enslave them. The Mullah is a willing (and these days, also unwitting) tool of the foreigner.

Just like a anaphylactic shock kills the body through employing its own immunal defence system, similarly the hijacking and subversion of the most important concept of “Jihad” is being used by the foreigner to first use and then slay the Islamic civilization.

Therefore, the Mullah must pay, eventually and ultimately with his blood, for exposing the nation to this war from within. They have committed the ultimate treason by allowing Jihad to be used against the body of Muslims. To shock and kill the organ through anaphylactic shock (so to speak).

• nota said:

“there is NO place for a useless religious class in Islam.”
    “Scholars YES, Mullahs NO!”

Agree with you there. That class has only one purpose:self-promotion and they do this by complicating issues such that one is left unable to make simple decisions without asking a “maulvi” and getting his “fatwa”. But this is not in Islam alone. Christianity really went a lot further in this (Inquisition, etc. Remember it was the christian religious fanatics who gave us the crusades and “Kill them all and let God sort it out” mindset); Hinduism gave us the curse of the Caste system.

BTW: Let’s say “Real” scholars, for today Mullahs like Fazlu, Qazi, Babar Awan, Zalim Online, Maulana Pejaro all pass as “religious scholars”

• nota said:

“The Mullah is a willing (and these days, also unwitting) tool of the foreigner. ”

Here I would disagree in that we can not single out the Mullah here. That is not fair. Again I say are the jurnails not for sale? How about “the khan, the feudal, and the wadero and beureaucrats”? You might put “the onus of honesty and forthrightness on the Mullah the most” but I don’t. Call me whatever but I put that onus of honesty and forthrightness on EVERYONE (if I had to pick, I would put that onus on the Mullah the least for I am least trusting of them)…

• savage said:

@TK, @nota and others.

I found Taliban so close to the definition of khawarjies at at least to their some sects.. following is from wikipedia.

Azraqī

Main article: Azraqi (religion)

The most extreme were the Azraqīs or Azariqah, founded in Persia in 685 by Nāfiʿ ibn ul-Azraq. These pronounced Takfir on all other Muslims, considering them to be Kuffar (‘unbelievers’) who could be killed with impunity.[5][6] Their distinctive practices included:

* A test of sincerity (إمتحان imtiḥān “examination”) required of each new recruit, in which the neophyte was required to cut the throat of a captive enemy.[citation needed]
    * Religious murder (إستعراض istiʿrāḍ “demonstration”), not only of men, but also of their wives and children (the killing of Muslim non-combatants is disallowed in Islam: Islamic military jurisprudence)

They regarded the territory occupied by other Muslims as part of Dar al-Kufr,[citation needed]the territory of unbelief where it was permitted to attack both people and goods – but also a territory from which one must exile oneself, as Muhammad had exiled himself from Mecca to escape the unbelievers there.[citation needed]“

• dictator123 said:

PMN to participate in Dharna, decided to form a committe to finalise the arrangements.

The true test of this decision will come from now to Long March in terms of stability/instability of Punjab government and ineligibility of Sharif brothers. I am still skeptical about doves like Ishaq Dar and Khawajaz etc, they will push the PMLN to subotage the whole march.

Let see what happens

• shandana said:

“nota said:
    @Shandana
    Wow! That is certainly news! Do you really have to go that far back though? And why single out beardos? What about all the “Sardars” (most of them in your parliament today) ? Weren’t ALL of the soldiers at the time on the payroll of the British, literally? You really believe today Qazi and Fazlu are not on some kind of payroll? What about out Jurnails? What about the politicians? Do they just bend over when they see Holbrooke or Boucher because they love the likes of Holbrooke and Boucher?”

Hold on;

Have I ever mentioned that all these sardars, tiwanas, lagharis, makhdoom, chattas …….( you know all of them) were not on the payroll. I am pretty much clear about the most of ‘em. I don’t see any body credible in the Muslim league (except muhammad ali jinah), I am talking about partition time.

As for as mullas are concerned, I have lost my faith on them when it was MMA govt. You mentioned fazlu, I cant pronounce his name without adding maloon to him. That is gone. I then thought ANP would be better keeping in mind their glorious history, Asfand yar shattered my trust when I reallized that he has connections with USA and Zardari. ‘Nawaz sharif is also gone, I don’t see any body beardo or non-beardo whom I think I should trust, though I have some hopes from IK.

• bechari-awam said:

@Ghost of TK @nota

I really want to know the real names of you two. I guess, we all will be in a great shock (in a positive sense) once we know who you guys really are. I have my suspicions but I will leave it open for all others to comment on ;)

• hassanyaqoob said:

“Imagine a bank using its activities to promote a responsible world”: this is the challenge that Société Générale Investment Bank invited us to join during its Business Game CITIZEN ACT.

To put all the chances on our side and to stand out vis-à-vis the 54 other selected teams; we need you, your ideas, your comments, your reactions. Our objective is clear: the podium!

Visit our wikiblog and take part in our reflexion on the topic: “The Creation of a banking atmosphere in the continent of Africa from zilch”

It is up to us to prove that WE can change the world!

We are looking for your suggestions and recommendations about our project. We will improve our project with your ideas !!

Participate to our CITIZEN ACT on: http://www.WeAreUnited.org.uk

Thanks & Kind Regards

Hassan Yaqoob

On Behalf of
    We Are United
    Web: http://www.weareunited.org.uk
    Imperial College London

Team Members:
    Hassan Yaqoob (MSc International Health Management)
    Kush Nathadwarawala (MSc International Health Management)
    Adnan Zahid (MSc Management)

• behalmust said:

ON AITZAZ’S DISMISSAL FROM PPP CENTRAL BODY

PEOPLE OF GREAT MERIT, LIKE AITZAZ AHSANS, FATIMA BHUTTOS (NOT MERELY BECAUSE OF BEING A BHUTTO) DESRVE TO LEAD THE PPP AND NOT PSUEDO BHUTTOS INHERITING THE THRONE THROUGH SHADY PLAIN PAPER WILLS AND INSIDER DEALS.

LET THERE BE DEMOCRACY IN THE PARTY ! FROM THE GRASS ROOTS UP ! ALL LEADERSHIP MUST BE LEGITIMATELY ELECTED AND NOT IMPOSED THROUGH ILLEGAL AND BASELESS WILLS.

PPP IS A POLITICAL PARTY AND NOT A PERSONAL OR FAMILY BUSINESS OR ESTATE, TO BE OWNED OR INHERITED OR TO BE DISPOSED OFF IN ANY SUCH MANNER !

Behal Must

• Adalat said:

We haven’t seen Off The Record or Kal Tak in the last few days. Have they been banned or are they on vaccation?

• behalmust said:

ALL DISCRETIONARY ALLOTMENTS/ALLOCATIONS OF PUBLIC LAND AND PROPERTY BY THE GOVERNMENTS, THEIR DEPARTMENTS, AGENCIES AND CORPORATIONS MUST BE STOPPED FORTHWITH.

THE “LOOT” OF URBAN AND RURAL LAND MUST STOP !

REAL STAKEHOLDERS AND OWNERS THIS PUBLIC LAND ARE THE POOR PEOPLE OF PAKISTAN AND NOT JUST A FEW HER PRIVILAGED CLASSES !

NEW LAWS MUST BE ENACTED TO MAKE SURE THAT A JUST, TRANSPARENT, SOCIALLY EQUITABLE AND UNIFORM PROCEDURE IS FOLLOWED FOR ANY DISPOSAL OF THE PUBLIC LANDS AND PROPERTIES.

Behal Must

nota said:@Adnan Arshad Mansoori Some how I won’t be surprised if people quote crap like the following …………………………….

Nota: it seems you do’ve treasure of interesting eye opening sites, anyways thanks a lot.

• Shirkuh said:

“China can rescue Pakistan from US clutches: Qazi

Jamaat-e-Islami Ameer Qazi Hussain Ahmad has said that Pakistan is trapped in the tight grip of US where Islamabad is not allowed to independently deal with its internal affairs. ”

Link to full story: http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=20481

NO, primarily we are the ones who MUST SAVE Pakistan and not anybody else. China has time and again proven as being a good friend of Pakistan, and YES, we can have helping hand, but never allow anybody to take decisions on Pakistans behalf! Stop relying on foreigners – no matter who it is! But off course we need good friends and not “friends” like USA. They are using our rulers a toilet paper :-(

• Ghost Of TK said:

@nota: Onus is MORE on those who seek (nay DEMAND) legitimacy and audience in the name of Allah and his Prophet.

Higher standards MUST be applied to those who use these sacred concepts for their petty gains. Either that or stop getting “instant credibility” by involving the name of Allah&Rasool in every single discussion, opinion, political agenda, so on and so forth.

They strike at the weak spot of the Muslim masses which is their love for Allah and Prophet and by appropriation they seek to legitimize themselves and their personal gains.

It is like this:

A rapist who rapes someone met accidentally is in a different category than the rapist who rapes his own child.

Because not only the own child raper breaks the law, he also betrayed the trust placed in him by society and by the child.

The second crime is more heinous. you cannot treat these two criminals “EQUALLY.” (my suggestion would be that the second ie; child rapist should be beheaded TWICE! … )

• sic5770 said:

“It is like this:

A rapist who rapes someone met accidentally is in a different category than the rapist who rapes his own child.”

TK,

Bad example, It is like you are telling that raping someone else child is lesser crime , because someone else child has lesser value than your own child? or committing any crime outside the house has lee value than committing at your own house?

• Ghost Of TK said:

@sic5770: don’t want to start a semantic quibble here, but I should have said

A- rapes an adult stranger
    B- rapes ones own child or someone of minor age in their care

The crime is RAPE
    The degree is different.

It is like Manslaughter vs. 4th degree Murder (is there a 4th degree?)

Both are heinous crimes, but even then the perpetrators CANNOT be treated equally. The differentiating factor is the betrayal of parental and social trust given to the child rapist by the virtue of their social position of authority.

A- is regular corrupt politician
    B- is someone who does Politics in the name of ISLAM

Just like the child is MORE vulnerable to someone who already is supposed to be trusted, the crime of the “bought mullah” is an order of magnitude greataer than the crime of the “bought wadero”.

The whole point of Mullah’s conducting politics and coming into positions of power is that their claims to being ‘better’ by virtue of being men of faith. (and people DO accord them this position in the beginning). Hoever, in the end there is hardly any difference between Zardari, Fazlu, Qazi, Nawaz and Altaf.

Fine by me. Politics is a game of wheeling, dealing and compromise. Don’t sully the name of Islam in the process. Don’t say you’ll do it better because you are a Mullah with a long beard and then end up worse than Zardari.

is all i’m sayin’

• Ghost Of TK said:

and by “crime” I mean the crime of colluding with “the foreigner”

• Ghost Of TK said:

@geog47: “Iranian Shia Left

WTF? thank you for posting more crap from CrappyCrotch.com

• Shirkuh said:

@ tharapolitics

A shameful act, indeed. ANP worker or rather gangsters are no better than the MQM mafia!

• Ghost Of TK said:

@shirkuh: “China can rescue Pakistan from US clutches: Qazi”

I had a feeling Qazi will be a changed man. Better late than never I suppose? If there is any nation that deserves JI’s TC it is China. China has been a steadfast supporter (no doubt due to their own interests) but still.

After Qazi, Zardari is gone to China, COAS is in ummreeka, and Yousef Raza Gillani is left ‘unsupervised’ in Islamabad … should we expect more tantrums now that the cats are away? lol ;)

The taliban in Waziristan have united 3 factions and decided to make decioins by ‘shura’ … seems to me they are also getting ready for a round of talks … which means the Swat “deal” may be permanent after all.

hmmm I must have gotten up on the optimistic side of the bed today :)

• Shirkuh said:

@GoTK

“China has been a steadfast supporter (no doubt due to their own interests) but still.”

The ideal world doesn’t exist, where a country is supposed to help another country for free. There is no doubt that we can benefit from China as well as they can benefit from us. And there is no doubt that China is a natural ally for us rather than Amreeekia, which has a habit of using our elite including our army as toilet paper. There is no doubt either that we may have concerns too (reg. China), but first we must subdue such concerns (we are in no position to ask for too much) and let the relation get even better and by time find reasonable solutions through peaceful means.

• nota said:

Higher education spending cut by 73 per cent
    ISLAMABAD, Feb 21: Funding for the higher education sector has been cut by 73 per cent. Officials have attributed lack of cash and economic slowdown for the huge cut.

The government will now spend only Rs114billion, instead of the previously allocated Rs412 billion for executing 600 projects.

According to Planning Commission figures, the government will now grant only Rs18 billion to the higher education sector from the PSDP, instead of Rs297.3 billion needed for the 293 development projects planned….

• nota said:

^^^
    Remember that no such cuts in defense spending have even been contemplated. Instead the government has made sure to increase it using even “inflation” and growing tensions with India as excuses. The money could easily have been cut from there instead of education but …

Ms. Peterson caught the flight in emergency of America & will attend the briefings along with Pervaiz Kiyani as now America will define to Pakistanis what is real Sharia how will we have to perform our prayers & above all what must be judicial system of Pakistan as IK & Dr. Shahid Masood have eleborated in their programme on Geo Tv just an hour ago.

What a time has come! All the limits have been crossed in short leaderless nation!

• nota said:

NYT: Secret U.S. Unit Trains Commandos in Pakistan
    BARA, Pakistan — More than 70 United States military advisers and technical specialists are secretly working in Pakistan to help its armed forces battle Al Qaeda and the Taliban in the country’s lawless tribal areas, American military officials said.

The Americans are mostly Army Special Forces soldiers who are training Pakistani Army and paramilitary troops, providing them with intelligence and advising on combat tactics, the officials said. They do not conduct combat operations, the officials added.

They make up a secret task force, overseen by the United States Central Command and Special Operations Command. It started last summer, with the support of Pakistan’s government and military, in an effort to root out Qaeda and Taliban operations that threaten American troops in Afghanistan and are increasingly destabilizing Pakistan. It is a much larger and more ambitious effort than either country has acknowledged. …

• ataraxis6 said:

Lust for Prado lands tourism minister in hot soup

http://thenews.com.pk/news.asp?cat_id=2

• ataraxis6 said:

Oops! Posted wrong url in my previous message. Here is the correct link.

http://thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=164087

Painful Appeal to other Participants of this Forum kindly right after reading the following don’t call me a UNBEARABLE CYNICAL PERSON.

These following may accept the gifts in form of American Citizenship, Huge Agricultural Land at any Red White & Blue Country, Shares Scripts of listed at DowJones & at etc.

Those Pakistani gentlemen are Gen. Kiyani, Haqqani & other elite of Pakistan
    Kindly just pay attention what gifts are offered by CIA, FBI or any influential agency of US as quiet possible Ms. Peterson would try to negotiate on the same against continuation of Droned Attacks.

If you are not ready to believe so kindly read out the statement which was just 7 months ago appeared in local newspapers by the ex-spoke person of CIA.

• kafka8 said:

pml-q to support long march…dharna??? can anyone confirm this??

• nota said:

@kafka8
    “pml-q to support long march…dharna??? can anyone confirm this??”

Won’t be surprised. Remember of late, Shehbaz is all huggy kissy with the Chaudhries and yesterday Capt Safdar (in Kal tak) calling PML-Q MPAs “our brothers”. Add to that Ghalat Biyani Durrani yesterday calling for ‘Doctrine of necessity be invoked in Sharifs’ case’ :)
    (But they really won’t be supporting the “long march” but supporting PML-N go get back in the mix. So you have to look forward to Ch. Shujaat, Ch. Pervaiz, Ch. Wajahat, etc. among your PML-N leadership :) )

But you can see the game the Chaudhries are playing: Pervaiz is pretending to be in PPP’s camp and Shujaat ‘leaning’ towards PML-N. So no matter who ‘wins’ Punjab, the Chaudhries get their share of the pie…

Shahbaz, Chaudhrys meeting ends on positive note
    The meeting between Shahbaz and the Chaudhrys continued for over 40 minutes in which they, besides offering ‘Fateha’, also discussed pleasant and bitter memories. Insiders stated the leadership of the PMLs recollected the pleasant events of the past, particularly before October 12, 1999, when they were together. Shahbaz is said to have conveyed between the lines his complaint to the Chaudhrys of leaving them in troubled waters and joining hands with former president Musharraf. The Chaudhrys are said to have explained circumstances, which led them to compromise with changed political scenario. They are also learnt to have discussed the grim political situation of the country. The meeting is learnt to have ended on a positive note that they would maintain contacts in future, paving way for sinking differences and moving towards a possible alliance.

It is the second visit of the PML-N top brass to the residence of the Chaudhrys within the last three days. Earlier, PML-N Quaid Nawaz Sharif had visited their residence immediately after the news of Shujaat’s mother death on Friday.

Moreover, efforts were already on for the last one month for an alliance or unification of both the PMLs through some influential figures. Online adds: PML-Q chief Ch Shujaat Hussain and Pervaiz Elahi have accepted the invitation of Shahbaz Sharif to visit Raiwind.
    PML-N bid to woo Chaudhrys
    LAHORE, Feb 23: The PML-N swung into action on Monday to check a possible cooperation between the PPP and PML-Q leader Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi for a change in the province as Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif visited the Chaudhrys’ residence here to ‘condole’ the death of the Q League president Shujaat Husain’s mother.

The move came when an old buddy in the Awami National Party (ANP) from the NWFP reportedly informed PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif that ‘Punjab is slipping out of their hands as Governor Salmaan Taseer and former chief minister Pervaiz Elahi during a meeting in Gujrat the other day have reached an understanding for forging a new ruling alliance in the province’.

• nota said:

^^^
    Same story from The News:
    PAC takes notice of hike in gas price
    …The committee, which met under its chairman Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan, opposition leader in the Lower House, had taken notice of the exorbitant bills issued by the gas companies to domestic consumers.

Managing Director Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Abdul Rasheed told the meeting that there had been a hundred per cent increase in gas prices since July 1, last year. He said that the government had also issued directives to review the billing.

He informed the meeting that a subsidy of Rs33 billion was being given to industries, while this amount was met through the bills of domestic consumers. Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan regretted that poor consumers were being asked to support other people’s expenses.

The PAC meeting also reviewed the audit reports related to the Pakistan Science Foundation (PSF) for the fiscal year 2005-06. An audit report revealed that 57 per cent of the total allocation to PSF was being spent on administrative functions.

The report further observed that 34 per cent of this expenditure is going to professional staff, whereas 66 per cent is meant for non-professional staff.