{ 56 comments... read them below or add one }

yhdil said:

Our media is yet very immature and insane.

fanaticmulla said:

i totally agree with you Gul Bukhari. actually they have some representatives in media and this list include

Imtiaz Aalam
    Nusrat javed
    Abbas ather

Govt. using these three guys for Martial Law rumors and to divert attention from real issue i.e Restoration of Nov. 2 Judiciary

at the same time there are some elements within N who love to have a ministry and they want a reconciliation at every cost, in media they can give any statement but in reality they want ministry , and when it is Petroleum Ministry …wow…Khawaja Asif love that ministry

freemason said:

Very rightly put by Gul. Media is a big source of confusion currently. It hasn’t been long when we were listening to their criticism of PML(N) that it is a friendly opposition that it has given up its stance to have the government of Punjab and now when the PML(N) after being cheated multiple times has taken a solid stand then the media is constantly nagging them to do “mufahimat”!! What the hell….”mufahimat” for what on what?? Whats the difference between the “mufahimat” being lectured by the media and the give-&-take deals being offered by Zardari. Mufahimat at this stage only means giving up your principles and the stance that you have taken so vociferously. Jinnah once said, “If I am right why should I bend; let the other side bend.” This is precisely what should be projected and taught. On the other hand pseudo intellectuals in the media are trying to tell us, “Mufahimat kar lo warna bhaoo aa jaye ga!!” Shame on them for confusing, discouraging, deceiving us and taking the side of the aggressor here. We should very well stop watching such programs and express our dislike to them and on all forums so that they lose the advertising share they get. That is a legal, democratic way to shut them up for good.

Kasif Akhtar said:

Very will written piece!

codefreaq said:

I am kind of divided on this issue. but maybe the media has overreacted to claims that it was biased overlooking common sense and putting the sharif brothers in an always wrong position

hadi26 said:

Very pertinent points raised in the Article.

1) This is reflective of us as a nation what we, at times, see in the media -> damned if you do, and damned if you don’t.

2) Instead of questioning PML-N and like minded few as to their actions leading to a ‘third force’s intervention’ -> Government needs to be put in the hot seat and made to answer for its politics of pettiness based on personal gain and vendetta of a few individuals.

fanaticmulla said:

actually media need some time to mature itself..there are some PPP guys in media who r creating confusions about Martial Law..then there are some parrots in the media who have somehow “learned by heart” the word Mufahmat , without knowing the meanings of that word..as in above post it is rigghtly stated that “what is the differnce between deals offer by zaradri to sharifs and Mufahmat lecture from media”

i remeber lal masjid issue when all anchors were making it hype “Govt. action nahi lay rahi” and in the end we lost so many life with disasterous results (60 suicide attacks took place after that)…

apart from parrots in media ..i was really surprised to see that Kashif Abbasi who is very famous for his boldness , somehow after nose transplation also joined this Parrot group in media….his questions are

ab bhi Mufhamat ho sakti hay, koi chance hay Mufhamat ka..kahein system hi na lapataya Jaye… Moulana sahib Koshish kar rahein hein….what the hell, kashif please shed this parrot nose and appear with your original nose which was bold and mature

if sharifs would have been accepted zaradri deals same Parrot group would have been started with other phrases

I request media (apart from PPP workers, NJ, abbas ather and Imtiaz Aalam who are doing their Jobs well) that please use your brains..question should be, Muhafmat for what ? basis of Muhafmat? principles are important or Muhafmat …

But at the moment media`s role is not upto the mark..atleast i was not expecting this from Kashif Abbasi and Nasim Zehra to be fallen in Parrot category…

Talat is very balance as always.. Dakdar is confused as always (kaya ho ga, kiun ho ga, kab ho ga, ho ga bhi kay nahi ho ga etc etc but this is his style never mind) but this parrot group ihas surprised me..

shimatoree said:

The points raised by the author in this piece are valid and right on target.
    All the anchors but esp: Talat , Kashif, Nadeem, etc etc are all conducting themselves in an abysmal manner. They appear to be thrusting and pushing their own views and their own interpretation of this developing story . It seems to me that they have a very inflated opinion of themselves as if it is they who will decide and determine where this thing is going to go and how it will turn out . It reminds me of the fortune tellers who predict this or that and are loud and emphatic in insisting that their view alone is on target and if not that is because Nawaz Shareef is not cooperating !

Even the news media of Pakistan has become or was always intellectually dishonest and perhaps even corrupt- just like those that they are covering- the politicians.

bechari-awam said:

Hamid Mir was mentioning in azfar-mani show about a meeting in Islamabad press club where one of the anchors (no mention of his name) who was banned by moshe after nov3 martial law, doing exactly the same thing i.e. grilling PMLN guys for their support for dharna. I am guessing that guy must be kashif abbasi. Please Kashif you have to come clean, what exactly you are looking for here?

bechari-awam said:

On the flip side, a very damning editorial in “the news” about ppp govt. Does anybody know who writes editorials in “the news”

Fascism in action
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=166764

hadi26 said:

I salute the Superintendent of Police Gujranwala Athar Waheed .

SP suspended for defiance

These are the heroes we need to commend and hold in high esteem.

Praising such acts will have a huge impact on the morale of the rest and they will be encouraged to step forward and raise their voices in support of what is just.

Blackhawk12 said:

Talat hussain is very critical about PML(N) actions…dont know why….alwasys remind PMLN about there past action and try to justify some action by present govt. Charter of Democracey was addmition of there past action and a promise to lead the country in new direction by not commiting a past mistakes therefore Change is inevitable and it will come through peace full demonstration not army. Last not least, well writen article

iEscape said:

@Gul, right on the money. Allow me to translate the topic in Punjabi, literally:

[Sahafat DiyaN] Khurli Wich MaingnaN = Dog in the Manger
    “Journalists Peeing in Their Drinks”

shandana said:

@bechari-awam

I guess it’s talat hussain, not kashif. Watch their shows, its talat who is behaving weirdly.

scary said:

Well done Gul, I agree with you completely. Let us all remember, that for the democracy to flurish in our country we need three essential things:

1. Independant judicary
    2. Independant and unbias police force
    3. Independant media

Whilst we have written a lot on the first subject we have not had a debate on the other two. So we can debate the police on another occassion but, lets look at our media.

Since the attempted sacking of our chief justice IAC, our media has shown some real grit and resolve. They have done enough to get B+, but they need to get past that and go for A+. Programs like Capital Talk, Bolta Pakistan, Jawab Diya, Mera Mutabiq, 50 minutes, and their Anchors have not only made an impact in the lives of ordinary Pakistanis but are begining to change their political thoughts in the right direction. IN FACT I CAN SAY THERE IS A SLOW REVOLUTION GOING ON IN PAKISTAN RIGHT NOW.

For example, we would like to see a day when a journalist who exposes the interference in the results of acedemic results of his daughter, is then arrested by honest and impartial police, is then sentenced by an independant judge to serve his time in jail. Even though he may be the CJ appointed by a dictator.

What we should also do now is to expose imposters like Sherry Rehman, Rehman Malik, Salman Taseer and you can go on and on. I have mentioned few in PPP party, but let me hasten to add their are more in MQM, JUI and our MILITARY.

You can actually argue that the only insitution that is actually working in Pakistan is the media. I hope we never reach a stage where they start to accept bribes and conduct favors to anyone.

The media should remind people that our chief justice IAC may have done mistakes in the past but he showed guts in amending those when he stood up to a dictator. That is why he is a hero. That is why we all want him to be reinstated. That is why everyone is supporting him. And may I say that Nawaz Shariff is also showing that his attitude and his aspiration has changed for the better. On the other hand AAZ has gone from bad to worse.

Come on folks, lets give these guys in the media a pat on the back.

Bring this government down at all cost.

mufakkir said:

I think that if we can just think clearly without branding things as “democratic” and “undemocratic” … we might be able to understand much clearly whats going on and what’s needed to settle the situation.

nota said:

@fanaticmulla
    “actually they have some representatives in media and this list include
    Imtiaz Aalam
    Nusrat javed
    Abbas ather”

Let’s not forget to add likes of Taseer’s lapdog Najam Sethi here.

BTW, why does Dunya TV, owned by Lord Nazir who I thought was a PML-N supporter, always running to Sethi as their first choice for analysis?

rebhos said:

Internationally the western media is fully controlled by the jews. Sinclair controls all and one must know that all the past government in Pakistan were nothing but a puppet of the West. With the blessings of the most corrupt army in the world which is the Pakistan Army and particularly their Generals, the West still seems to be in the driver’s seat. If this revolution succeeds, the first thing the leaders of Pakistan should do is to kick out all those Generals in their army who got their training in the West or visited any Western country for any specialized training. Alike the idea of the Long March coming from a friendly country, Pakistan must rely on such friends rather than those who simply use Pakistan for their own benifit only.

morningstar said:

I do not know what happened to Talat Hussain. His twisting questions shows, he is gradually changing his stance. Frankly, I was thinking he would be the last anchor to change his position in this defining moment in the history of Pakistan.

nota said:

@ninetykman
    “Gen. Kiyani ask PM to take charge and resolve the issues”

So, assuming this is true, if Gilani acts now, he will in fact be following someones orders again. But what will be interesting to see will be if he p!sses in his pants with Zardari in the room.

savage said:

So, assuming this is true, if Gilani acts now, he will in fact be following someones orders again. But what will be interesting to see will be if he p!sses in his pants with Zardari in the room.

Want proof, here it is.

http://www.nation.com.pk/pakistan-news-newspaper-daily-english-online/Politics/12-Mar-2009/Kayani-asks-PM-to-play-his-role/1

He further informed the Premier that the international players supporting Pakistan in the war on terror did not want to see instability here and added that at the same time the country’s socio-political situation also did not afford such aggressive designs.

Note the bold text. I thought Pakistan was supporting others in war on terror, never knew it was other way around.

Kruman said:

Media has clean bowled the Zardari league.

anticorruption said:

@nota:

Add to the list of ppro-ppp analysts Beena Sarwar. She’s been writing all kinds of twisted stuff in support of the PPP, and even painted Zardari as a victim of misogynistic prejudices:
    http://www.chowk.com/articles/prejudices-pakistans-new-president-faces-beena-sarwar.htm

bechari-awam said:

“….BTW, why does Dunya TV, owned by Lord Nazir who I thought was a PML-N supporter, always running to Sethi as their first choice for analysis?”

sethi is hired by dunya tv as an analyst and soon he will be conducting his own show. I hope then some one will call him media terrorist too as he used to call other anchors.

RoshanKhiyal said:

Yeah Fauji aur Police waly are also our brothers our neighbors our relatives. They also have our blood they also love Pakistan. It is good time for Pak Fauj to gain its confidence back. Lets hope Kiyani Sahib drag Asif Ali Zardari from President house in street aur us ki Shalwar uttar ker us ko baloein se pakar ker Atock jail mein le gayien. They should let the people know a man who can not keep his promises does not deserve any respect. Mere ankhein yeah manzir dekhney ke liyein betab hein. And Insha Allah we will see that.

nota said:

@anticorruption
    “@nota:
    Add to the list of ppro-ppp analysts Beena Sarwar. She’s been writing all kinds of twisted stuff in support of the PPP, and even painted Zardari as a victim of misogynistic prejudices”

Funny, no? Hard to believe she is the same person who wrote in against mistreatment of Munir Malik and supposedly is an avid fan of Eqbal Ahmed and Noam Chomsky. Go figure!

rasheed said:

@nota,

I believe Dunya TV is owned by Mian Amir Mehmood, the city Nazim of Lahore and the owner of Punjab College of Commerce.

BhuooT said:

I am sure it (media) is going to take good turns once time passes. I agree at present the media jumps on anything which they can create a hype about. All these journalist calling each other “lafafa journalist’ and the ones doing shows on it as well. They all are the same.

It is kind of sad, that everyone…and i mean everyone is ready to misuse whatever opportunity they get to make some money or create a public hysteria. ’seeding’ is really common and media works now to achieve their own agenda.

In the end I won’t blame them but us. It is the people/public who watch them, pay for them and give them the fuel. What we sow is what we reap.

sophia said:

ya i do agree…we can see division in media…lik geo is supporting lawyers…newsone is against lawyers n nawaz sharif…aaj is against lawyers…whay media is becoming party??? i think our media isnt behaving wid maturity….they shud keep thmselves nutral…

nota said:

@rasheed
    Thanks. That makes a bit more sense of things. So the guy who imposed Section 144 for Taseer (owner of DailyTimes and boss of Sethi) owns Dunya TV. No wonder Sethi is on it and is a natural fit. And no wonder when I tried to call the number given me for Dunya TV I got “Thank you for calling Punjab Group of Colleges…” or something :)

(P.S. I got the Lord Nazir part from here. it states “Mian Aamir Mehmood is the head in Pakistan. The network is owned by Lord Nazir Ahmad.”)

pak.nukes said:

Dunya TV is owned by Amir Mehmood, Mayor Lahore. I have no idea about Lord Naszir’s money in it but Sethi and Taseer certainly have got nothing to do with it however I am also surprised at Sethi’s frequent appearance on Dunya.
    Dunya TV’s news section is headed by Absar Alam, a very credible and honest man and Yousuf Baig Mirza, a big time thurki is the MD of the channel. He has served almost all big channels and prior to Dunya he was MD PTV.
    I wonder what role will Sethi play in this set up. I will find out from my own sources and post it here.

jazoo said:

Hiring Sethi as analyst is not a crime–Its necessary to hear other side of story.
    I believe Dunya TV is balanced with positive sway towards Lawyers movements.

Lord Nazir living all his life in England must have learn freedom of speech & balance of expression & its verey much in line to hire Sethi as analyst.

I strongly believe Sethi is none less satan than Taseer but technically a good analyst.

nota said:

@pak.nukes
    The relationship between Taseer/Sethi/Amir Mehmood I was referring to was that currently being Governor Punjab, he is certainly the boss of the Mayor of Lahore, Mr. Amir. And both of them being TV channel owners, they are also colleagues. Taseer is certainly the boss of Sethi as he runs two newspapers for him as editor.

wiqi said:

“The unusually tough action deepened the popular discontent with President Asif Ali Zardari, whose six months as leader of Pakistan have been marked by a worsening insurgency by Al Qaeda and the Taliban, a weak economy and what is widely perceived as rule by an accidental leader.”
    JANE PERLEZ
    NY TIMES

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/12/world/asia/12pstan.html?_r=1&hp

Same words used for Mr. Zardari as Pakistani media used recently for Shaukat Aziz. Time has changed, faces has changed but words stay the same.

rasheed said:

@pak.nukes & nota,

I believe it is a requirement of Establishment (Army Mafia), who have the veto power of issuing the licenses to TV Channels on name of “Security Check”.

They force every channel to add some airtime for promotion of “Army Political Party” and lectures on benefits of unconstitutional activities, without which the TV channel may spoil their viewers ;-)

nota said:

@pak.nukes
    “Dunya TV’s news section is headed by Absar Alam, a very credible and honest man”

Taking orders from Mian Amir certainly does not help Absar Alam credibilty. Neither does having Yousuf Baig Mirza “a big time PROVEN thurki” as the MD of the channel….Won’t you say Mr Absar Alam is thoroughly compromised?

nota said:

^^^
    Should have added: And so much for the credibility of DunyaTV :)

BE COOL said:

truth is always bitter

aamadmi said:

GEO showing police start arresting of protesters. They have arrested Mehomood Abbasi and Naeem Qureshi of Karachi Bar, many lawyers, Prof. Ghafoor and Muhammad Hussain Mehnti of JI , and other protesters. Lawyers start sit-in at front of Karachi High court against police.
    so zardari tola is showing his real face.

nota said:

From the story I linked above about Yousuf Baig Mirza, MD, DunyaTV:
    “…But this all changed in 10 April 2007 when Yousaf Baig Mirza took charge as MD PTV. Baig has a reputation for womanizing. He is a relative of Shahbaz Sharif and was appointed as MD PTV during the government of Nawaz Sharif. When Parvez Musharraf seized power Baig was retained in his post by Anwar Mahmood another longtime secret womanizer….”

Can anyone confirm if Mr. Baig is indeed a relative of SS and was appointed “MD PTV during the government of Nawaz Sharif”?

BE COOL said:

All media personnal are politicied but the people always like to hear and watch against the ruling party. may be due to no confidance over the rulers. the reality is that now media have plateform to prove anything wrong or right.

BE COOL said:

Baig mirza was also MD Ptv during Musheraf era

anticorruption said:

@pak.nukes and @nota:

Dunia TV also gives a considerable amount of time to Kamran Shafi, Mujeeb ur Rehman Shami and Asma Jahangir. What exactly is their connection?

As for Absar Alam’s credibility, aren’t most media houses owned by some politically connected group or other. Chamcha times is owned by Taseer, Dawn’s Haroon family has strong PPP connections (Hussain Haroon was appointed Pakistan’s embassador to the UN by the PPP), Navai Waqt has connections with the Sharifs, ARY has PPP links (and also a vested interest in the NRO), and I believe Aaj TV’s Zuberi family also has some PPP connection. Still, there are plenty of honest journalists working in these outlets. So I wouldn’t condemn Absar Alam just because of who owns Dunia TV, and would judge him on the basis of his own output as a journalist

pak.nukes said:

@ nota
    Yes YBM is NS’s relative through their wives and he was MD PTV when Mushy took over and later sacked him. YBM then joined different TV channels but was desperate to go back to PTV and had been trying for it. Mushy was convinced by Anwar Mehmood that YBM could help him restore his credibility if brought back to PTV. When Mushy went Sherry who never liked YBM wanted to get rid of him and did. As for Absar Alam, when he left Geo to be made director news Dunya TV, he made it clear to Dunya owners that he would not be prompted to do things against his wishes. Absar IS an honest man and does not take orders from anyone, the day he would be forced to do so, he would leave the channel. I know this for sure because I personally know Absar and almost all other big media persons including YBM. Absar is a very decent and honourable man and would never compromise on principles.
    I know Taseer and Sethi connection of course but I don’t understand how Sethi is linked to Dunya… I will surely find out.

nota said:

@anticorruption
    “As for Absar Alam’s credibility, aren’t most media houses owned by some politically connected group or other.”

Bingo! So there is no questions their are limitations placed / extra latitude given to all of them. We certainly cannot discount instructions come up above for certain stories to be killed and certain stories to be highlighted or spun a certain way. CrappyTimes / FoxNews are perfect examples as they do it so blatantly.

“Dunia TV also gives a considerable amount of time to Kamran Shafi, Mujeeb ur Rehman Shami and Asma Jahangir. What exactly is their connection?”

Interesting question indeed! :)

nota said:

@pak.nukes
    “Absar IS an honest man and does not take orders from anyone, the day he would be forced to do so, he would leave the channel. ”

Glad to hear that.

pak.nukes said:

:) :):)

RoshanKhiyal said:

Whats up with this Kamran Khan, he is very sure that change is coming very soon. He is doing a live program and keep saying that PM is going to change things very soon. WTF?

pak.nukes said:

I have a feeling that when GEO goes anti-anything, it is bound to be dooomed. CIA prompted channel indicates change. BTW Just heard that Zardari did not come back to Pakistan instead went to Dubai.. Its on AAJ TV.

Ghost Of TK said:

more like a bull in a china shop ;)

anticorruption said:

@pak.nukes:

I don’t know about Geo, but I recently read somewhere that the Obama administration, and especially Hilary Clinton are less likely to see Nawaz Sharif as negatively as the Bush admin. This is because Clinton developed a certain level of communication with NS.
    Plus if the US tries to strike deals with some Taliban factions, NS could prove more helpful in that.

KMAJ007 said:

Really Nice Aanalysis, Media really dont know what they are asking, If PML-N sit idle they doubt and said that you are friendly opposition, as now they are performing aggressive, they are now saying Democracy is in danger……what they want…..actually to sell the channels and Newspapers….simple is that

Mohammad Ali Minhas said:

YAAAR OUR MEDIA NOT KON KAHTA HAY YAAAR ALTAF BHAI KI EK TAKREER NA DIKHANE PAR PURE KARACHI MEIN CHENNELS BANDH HOJATA HAN AUR SHERRY RAHMAN SE LEKAR HAMID TAK APNA MUN NAI KHOL SAKTA

Mohammad Ali Minhas said:

SORRY IS NOT FREE

Ordinary Citizen said:

I have been watching media closely for quite a while and there have been only a few times I found media to be behaving improperly. Mostly, they have been acting responsibly. Geo got blacked out yesterday for behaving responsibly. I think people have become more or less mature enough to find out what is propaganda and what are the facts.

As for a comment about not showing Altaf Bhai’s Taqreer, I think the biggest service to Altaf Bhai is NOT showing his TAQREER on the media :) ))