by Amber Kafil Khan
Islam is derived from the Arabic root “salama” which means “surrender, submission, obedience, sincerity” and consequently “being in peace”. So in the religious sense Islam means, “being in a state of peace by surrendering to the will of God” and “obedience to His law”.
Today over a billion Muslims of the world are in a perpetual state of listlessness owing to a tirade of Islam-negative images, discourse, diatribe and stereotypes being directed at them. While the roots of Islam bashing and persecution can be traced back to the times of the Prophet (PBUH), the aftermath of 9/11 certainly saw Islamophobia reaching historic heights. Several reasons account for this disturbing imbroglio including the political policies and ambitions of the western governments, historical encounters between Islam and Christianity and agenda-setting of western media machinery; however, one of the most important factor that has lead to the current chaos and confusion is the absolute lack of understanding and scholarly guidance on what “true” Islam is within the Muslim World itself.
Islam (deen, the way of life) is based on Quran (the Revealed Word of Allah) and Sunnah (the ways of the Prophet). However, a cursory glance at the Muslim World will reveal that the Islam followed or in most cases “enforced” exhibits serious dichotomy and disconnect. Some Muslim countries have officially declared a certain form of Islam as their state religion (and they make sure that their form of Islam is enforced and strictly adhered to), while others have taken a relatively neutral stance. Yet others have declared themselves as secular Muslim countries. Many may regard this as vibrancy and plurality in Islam, but the truth is rather bitter and alarming.
For centuries, the Muslim World has been plagued by a serious dearth of intellectual discourse on Islam and its teachings. While Quran exhorts and encourages man to seek knowledge and learn; to discover himself and his Lord through this knowledge and to utilize the offerings of this universe for his blissful existence, progress and multiplication of his progeny, this trait of “pondering” and “questioning” has been consciously stifled by the pseudo-ulemas and retrogressive governments in the Muslim World. This has lead to a consistent decadence and digression of understanding of even the most basic and intrinsic Islamic principles. Similarly a mullah can be found in every mosque at every end of a street but they hardly ever do anything more than delivering war-mongering sermons on Fridays or bickering over frivolous issues like the length of the beard or the way the takbeer should be observed.
Borne out of this intellectual decadence and taking advantage of the void thus created, emerged a radicalized, extremist group, who took upon itself the task of “Islamizing” the Muslim society and representing (rather misrepresenting) the true Islam. This group loosely includes the Taliban, Al-Qaeda operatives, militants, mullahs, maulvis and their ilk whose philosophy today poses the greatest threat to the Muslim World. Their version of Islam has no Islamic authentication, their faith has no god to worship and their humanness has no humanity. They only serve to malign, defame and insult Islam. They brazenly and shamelessly use Islam to fulfill their personal and political ambitions. They are not religiously inspired, they are politically motivated. They employ religious symbolism of paradise and martyrdom to allure young minds to fulfill their destructive agendas.
Jihad is not suicide bombing, blowing up of innocent, unarmed worshippers in a mosque or killing of people who leave homes in the morning in search of livelihood; it is a pious practice of striving in the way of Allah by various means (Jihad al-Nafs, Jihad al-Lisan, Jihad al-Yad, Jihad as-Sayf). Similarly, women in Islam are not meant to be oppressed, mistreated and forced within the confines of their homes without providing for their physical, mental and psychological wellbeing; rather Islam empowers and encourages women to realize their true potential and lead their lives with dignity and self-respect within the parameters laid down in Islam.
So burning down of girls’ schools in Matta or other areas, public whipping of a young girl in Swat without ascertaining her sin, burning and closing down of barber shops and CD outlets have no precedence in Islam. It is due to this extremist and irrational behaviour that images of armed bearded men chanting and sloganeering, flogging and whipping, killing and beheading, burning and rioting are constantly splashed across the western media.
It is imperative to state that it is certainly the duty of Muslims to preach Islam to the non-believers so that truth may be distinguished from the falsehood. After that, whosoever wishes to embrace Islam may do so and whoever wishes to continue upon un-islamic belief may do so. But under no circumstances can people be violently threatened or forced to conform to Islamic faith. Decisive evidence in this regard is the following ayah:
Let there be no compulsion in religion; Truth has been made clear from error. Whoever rejects false worship and believes in Allah has grasped the most trustworthy handhold that never breaks. And Allah hears and knows all things.” (Surah Al Baqarah:256)
The Prophet (PBUH) spread Islam by being a practical example for the followers. He never exhibited violent behaviour even in the face of the most atrocious and barbaric cruelties directed at him and his followers. The state of Madinah was one of the most peaceful and tolerant societies the world has seen and yet these so-called forbearers of Islam “choose” to revive Islamic values not by peaceful means but violent, abhorrent devastation.
Immediate corrective measures need to be taken at individual, intellectual, societal and government levels to redeem the situation. Extremism, radicalization and ultra-conservatism might push the world to the brink of “clash of civilizations” in addition to polarizing the Muslim society. The entire Muslim World needs to step back and go through a phase of introspection, self-analysis and self-realization before it even begins to counter the external threats directed at it. It needs to get in touch with the true meaning of Islam. This can be done at the individual and collective level by ending the monopolization and “ownership” of Islam from the diktats of the faux maulvis, mullahs and the pseudo-scholars. The Muslim governments must end their official endorsements of a certain form of Islam and allow for open discussion, discourse and dialogue aimed at promoting and enhancing better understanding Islam and its philosophy. Every Muslim must strive to gain knowledge, read and understand Quran and Sunnah and endeavor to lead his life according to the true teachings of Islam.
Islam is a religion of peace, tolerance, harmony and co-existence. Therein lays the true spirit and essence of Islam. “Islam,” wrote George Bernard Shaw, “is the best religion and Muslims are the worst followers.” It is about time the followers take heed and prove him wrong.
What a refresher ! ! ! Finally we have an article that talks about true Islam and not the one that Jihadis preach.
Education is the only option and that too, Technical education. We need to produce many many Dr. Abdus Salam and fewer Zardaris, NS and not to mention – taking the risk to insult a great majority on this forum — OBL, MO and BM.
Some good points and some distortions.
When author uses terms invented by the west and and defends she or he is falling in the trap. Classical orientalist traps like why marry 4 women, why woman cover etc etc
No need to use western terms that are aimed to divide muslims so they give label to each other.
We are already united, alhamdulilah, only our corrupt rulers and british raj legacy system are root cause of the decay and decline of muslim ummah’s progress.
Thanks.
@ Asad Ghalib.
I hold the same opinion as you. May ALLAH guide us all towards the right path.
Nice overview. Here is another piece worth reading on the subject of tolerance and the difference bw taliban’s version and that of the Prophet’s.
http://www.jang-group.com/jang/apr2009-daily/07-04-2009/col4.htm
I completely agree with the writer’s assertion that introspection and self-analysis is the need of the hour for the Muslim World.
In the context of Pakistan’s security situation; the contents of the article identify the root-causes of religious radicalisation in our society and are partly true but we can not completely absolve foreign powers of their major part in our current security mess. Though we can not blame our opponents for harming us as that is what they are there for, We MUST and absolutely MUST look inwards and clean up from the inside to prevent elements of our own society being used as pawns to further somebody else’s agenda.
Blackmailing, point scoring in the name of religion has led to creation of these radical forces that can be readily exploited by the country’s enemies for furthering their own agenda.
Rediscovering true Islam, is a oxymoronic term. This whole article is like someone is trying to say that the whole world is stereotypical of Islam and this genius is trying to be apologetic and teaching us the “true Islam”. Islam cannot be false so true need not to be applied. The religion Islam is as stereotyped, as Judaism, Christianity or any other religion. One has to be careful discussing Islam in the language of the west and the neo-con’s. Islam is a religion and there are number of different people of different races, creed and culture are the followers. People of deferent cultures have their own definition and hybrid cultural and religious identity.
We as Muslims generally tend to not stereotype Christens and other religions. Not all the ills are due to a small group of militant and at times criminal Muslims. The West is at its best in lying, making up falls stories about “weapons of non existence” and waging illegal, Immoral and genocidal wars of aggression and colonizing energy resource rich or strategically located areas happen to be in Muslim lands. If the Iraqi’s and Afghans believed in a “Gay Midget” as their “Jesus”, they still be fighting the war of resistance or terrorism against the West. We the Muslims do not label the war crimes of the west as christen fundamentalism, we just call it a mass appetite of greed and mass consumption of resources of the whole plant by a particular group.
IF I have offended any gays or midgets, I apologize, it was just an extreme example…..
Islam is no doubt submision but this submission has one angle of sword which we can not deny.
Iqbal has summarized his understanding of Islam.
Islam key Daman mein bas iske siwa kiya hey
Eik Zarb-e-Yadullahi Eik Sajdah-e-Shabiri
To understand this zarb-e-yadullahi we must learn through history how Ali used his sword and what measures of self check he applied.
Sajdah-e-Shabiri the ultimate submission is further elaborated by Iqbal
Allah Allah Bah-e-Bismillah Pidar
Maniyeh Zibh-e-Azeem Imamat Pisar.
Once again Iqbal put whole Islam in these two servants of Allah, Ali & His son Imam Hussain.
Iqbal has put altogether three traits of Islam, Submission, Sword with checked use and knowledge
Father who is weilder of sword is the best in knowldge that he is called bah of Bismillah of Quran–The point is sword in ignorant hands in not only dangerous but unislamic too.
The son (Hussain) is the ultimate promise of zibh-e-Azeem in Quran, which is ultimate form of Ishq & submission.
@jazoo
let’s hope your comment doesn’t start some Shia/Sunni crap
To my knowledge Iqbalwas sunni
Unless you want to start it
Your concerns are weird
@jazoo
“To my knowledge Iqbalwas sunni”
It wouldn’t matter to “them”
You mean Ali & Hussain were shia or are property of shia
@jazoo
“Unless you want to start it”
Hell No!
If you talk about Islam and you don’t talk about these two great personalities
that means
theres something terriblywron with your Islam
They were not just Muslim
They were Islam
Darood & Salam on them made compulsory in ultimate ritual worship i.e. Salat or Namaz.
@jazoo
Agreed.
(I think you are taking my comment too seriously. What I meant was there are a lot of silly people around who, when they see praise for “Ali and Hussain” automatically misconstrue Shiaism is being promoted/Sunnism is being attacked and blurt out meaningless cr@p. That’s all)
@nota and jazoo
may may i pretty plz im bored can I start it lol – just kidding guys.
I am really getting tired of all these educated muslims blasting mullah’s and stuff. Hey genius why dun u become a scholor and imam. No what we do is, we leave it on poors to get the confined fiqh education and then take over imamat. We put a child in school, if he is too dumb to carrry on, he is moved from school to a workshop in hopes he can learn some labor and can take care of himslef if he fails there too let him put in madrassa and hope that he can become a molvi. ( I am generalizing the point b4 u all start saying this never happens). How many affluent educated ppl bother to teach thier kids to become Islamic scholors? Poverty means that kids of poor get only education through the madrassas. Where whoever is paying will teach the fiqh of thier choice. How many of us read 5 times prayer, recite quran, do sila-e-rehmi. Duun worry abt Islam it will take care of itself by ALLAH’S GRACE, care about ourselves. On this forum, in my country pakistan, how many went and cried and yelled that Islamic sentences are barbaric and inhumane. Do you know better then ALLAH? We r quick 2 point out faults in al-qaeda, talibaan, mullah’s and yet waht do we offer? liberal fascism?
CDS shop being burned are not cuz of music its cuz of masal cds, but its ok if a gal getting intimate is being watched by every tom dick and harry and anyone who oppose must be extremist,
I leave u with 2 things
1 – Aur naseehat karoo hikmat aur narmi se — AL QURAN
2 – emaan ki 3 qisman hotee hain
a) burai hotey dekhey to haath se rook day
b) burai hotey dekhey to oskey khilaaf boley
c)) buraii hotey dekhey to dil main bura mehsoos karey
akhri qisam sab se kamzoor halat hai – haadith
humara yeh haal he ke we protecting burai- btw burai is waht quran calls munkir n fahash.
Meri qaum dun ask 4 ur rights , each one of u stand up and do ur duty, if everyone just does its duty then everyone’s right will be fullfilled.
IMO ignorance should be dealt with logic, not ignored.
At first glance the article seems to be good, but we need to dig a little bit deeper. There is no doubt that the majority of points in the article are good, like we need to stop extremism, better education, good behavior, end the monopoly of the maulvis, get rid of pseudo shcolars, hate speeches from masjids etc.
What I am afraid of is that the article is asking the Muslims to turn the other cheek to the insults/attacks. Doesn’t the author know that they don’t even practice this themselves?
Why should Muslims lay down flat and always show “good behavior”?
Why does the author not go the root causes of the problems? The drone attacks, lack of sincerity from our government, corruption amongst GHQ and politicians (the so called tolerant part of the society).
Why single out the “mob”?
Isn’t it the job of the government to take steps to introduce true Islam? Teach true Islam through Quran & Sunnah and off course inspiration from great inspirations like Allama Iqbal etc.? Did Allama Iqbal ask to lay down flat and ONLY show good behavior or did he ask to act like men in demanding situations? Did he ask us to act like our rulers are laying flat in the dirt and accepting every demand from their masters? Did he ask us to appoint people with a dubious character at important jobs? Éxample: Hussain Haqqani, Rehman Malik and´many more.
To me this article is yet another baboo fabrication under the disguise of wanting “true” Islam
@d@min has done it again
@jazoo
I am not talking about ignoring it!!!!
@afzaalkhan
“may may i pretty plz im bored can I start it lol – just kidding guys….How many affluent educated ppl bother to teach thier kids to become Islamic scholors?”
Are you kidding?
“humara yeh haal he ke we protecting burai”
I think hamara yeh haal he ke we encourage burai. I have gotten enough lectures like “sub chalta hey”, “duniya ka nizam he yahey hay, pagal! Na lar-Ro, haro gay”
Moj hey derya may bayruneh derya kuch nahi……Iqbal.
Please don’t try to dived us, only our enemies want us to get divided and become weak nation. I am also follower of Maula Ali (AS), see after Prophet (sw) death, Hazrat Ali accepted everything, he didn’t disturb the fabric of Islam which Prophet (sw) developed with great difficulties in 23 years of his life.
Now tell me which major religion don’t have etremist? May be very few of you know this, some of the groups are armed and practice in wilderness. The attitutes of some people and medias are such, for instant that a cat climbs over a tree and can’t come down, and these people start screaming that come whole world’s fire department and get this cat down, This only one UNIQUE cat, why rest of the 99% cats those are living peacefully in their homes don’t become the part of their commments? They try to give such an impression that cats are such a troubleful animal, which knows to climb but don’t know how to come down, and that all cats are trouble makers for all, where as this is only one UNIQUE cat. Is this just comment?
@shirkuh
“To me this article is yet another baboo fabrication under the disguise of wanting “true” Islam”
Reading the title I immediately went “oh no, not Ms Gul with her distortions again”. Finding it was someone else, I read a few lines but seeing where it was headed, I saw no point in reading further. I did scan it all and agree: yet another baboo fabrication under the disguise of wanting “true” Islam
But I fail to understand why @d@main is posting so much cr@p from the baboo brigade.
Could it be certain old contacts with baboos?
I was writing what you just posetd.
I agree with you.
There was no point posting this article here. It will only initiate sectarian conflict and attention will drift away from the real issue.
A good and thought-provoking article on a current topic. May I offer my congratulation to Ms. Khan for sharing her thoughts with us. This good article should be published in every English daily as well as translated into Urdu for Urdu dailies.
Hats off for Ms. Khan
@shirkuh
@pak.nukes
To me it really is not an issue AT THIS TIME as to what is “true” Islam and I think it is STUPID to be arguing over it AT THIS TIME when people who are not muslims of any kind are after your @ss.
@ShirKuh,
Just see Ghandi’s nation, Ghandi always gave hindus of india non-voilence lesson, who hindus consider like father, he told them if someone slap you on one cheek give him other one, but see Ghandi’s non-voilent nation did necular blast in 1973 (without Pakistani’ threat ) and in 1998 once again indian did it first, in answer Pakistan did too. So in today’s world, where this cheek giving ceremony works?
@Shirkuh
I think @ACC just proved your point
Please Jazoo ‘ not again’ please come out of this shell of yours, where most issues, even political( ie, filthy politics of ours ) ones, where there is no need of dragging your version of Islam( which only start with Ali RTA and ends with Hussain RTA) . Stop people worshipping, and start following the message which Rasool Allah SWS brought, and stop twisting the facts, as we don’t know what Iqbal has said in his poetry.
As far as above article is concerned, it does not need to be on top of PK Politics, another effort of ‘appeasment’ trying to tell readers that Jihad ‘no no no , Well: there is a surprise for you all do you know how many times did Rasool Allah took part in Jihad in thirteen years of Medina period,including the ones in which Rasool Allah was himself not present : hhmm, over 50 times.
Its a proven fact that US government funds ‘moderate’ Islamic organisations, governments,groups to spread a softer version of Islam, and to do that thousand of world renowned scholars has been ‘ prepared’ whose only job is to distort the meaning of qurani ayah, which tells about jihad and its importance , and they swept away hundred of ahadith which talks about jihad. How they are going to face Allah SWT , a shiver runs through my spine.
Can anybody on this forum please tell me that throughout fourteen hundred years of Islam , did Rasool Allah , any sahaba, any scholar sided with kuffars to fight their fellow muslims , only few munafiqeens who were very few in numbers in the past, but tragedy is that, at this moment of history they are growing at a speed not seen before.Every single ruler on every single muslim country is a munafiq, but the only good which is coming out of all of that,that they are filtering out , seperating from main stream Islam. to finish it of, please read the following.
‘oh you have believed,do not take jews and christians as allies.They are (in fact) allies of one another.And whoever is an ally to them among you. then indeed he is (one) of them.Indeed, Allah guides not the wrongdoing people’. ( al maidah 51)
But because they are some who were weak and had fear that the christians and the jews might bring harm on them they went to them and become their allies. Allah says about them.
‘So you see those in whose hearts is disease( ie hipocrisy) hastening into ( association with) them,saying, ”We are afraid a misfortune may strike us.” But perhaps Allah will bring a conquest or a decision from Him, and they will become, over what they have been concealing within themselve, regretful.”( al Maidah 52)
They runs towards America today because they fear them but when Allah brings His conquest and punishment on America these hypocrates will regret the position they took.(special thanks to Sh Anwar Awlaki).
Exactly, and he didn’t read between the lines that I am NOT a Hindu and nor am I a Christian. I am a Muslim and I DON’T turn the other cheek to the blatant attacks where my fellow INNOCENT Muslims are killed.
@Shirku
Hats off…in fact what a slap…..hypocrisy galore!
watch whole
http://www.democracynow.org/2009/4/6/headlines
@shirku
Puppet PM just said
‘Osama ki Balouchistan main maujoodgi ka ilm hakumat ko nahi’
Mr. PM. hakumat ko nahi lekin hakumat kay najayez baap USA ko zaroor maloom hai.
Ready Steady Go…..Drones are coming to Balouchistan….
Can the baboos tell which part of Pakistan OBL will move to after USA creates a mess in Balochistan? Will he move to Kashmir to give India yet another opportunity? or to Karachi to give MQattaM a chance to declare independency with the American fleet in the ocean. The fleet will off course be of “precautionary” measures to avoid a “slaughtering” of MQattaM.
Why don’t you see the writing on the wall? Or do you see it and refuse to read it? Or are you paid to look the other way?
PLEASE WAKE UP!
Zalim voh hai jo zulm hotey dekhey aur zalim ka haath na rookey.
Tumko kai hogaaya hai ke voh log jo pis rahey hain aur chillatey hain ke ALLAH ki madad kab aaey gee onki madad nahi kartey — Alquran
Mohd Bin Qasim was sent cuz a muslim gal yelled ya hajaj madad – despite being wat omar bin abdulaziz once said ke dunya ke sarey kahbeezon ka gar muqabla ho to humaree taraf se hajaj he kafi hai – he realized the muslim gal’s help appeal and responded. Today we are being asked to kill our own brother and sister cuz they have astrayed instead of trying to bring them back toward righteous path we are asked to kill them, while non-muslims are allowed to do watever they please. Why dun they ask same thing of Israel or India?
@pak.nukes
yesterday ARY’s ticker ‘Mullen said that Alqaeda’s leadership is hiding in Baluchistan’
you are right it seems its going to be Baluchistan next…..but would it be drones or use of hindu jets….???
NO matter what……THEY WILL BE DEFEATED AND INSHALLAH PAKISTANI AWAM WILL SUCCEED……..these fac!sts baboos dont bother me ……just like creepie crawlies they will go back in theeir holes!!
http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=73969
SC dismissed govt’s petition against Maulana Abdul Aziz
The SC bench comprised of Justice Javed Iqbal and Justice Ijaz Chaudhry has dismissed the government’s petition after hearing the case. SC also adjourned the hearing of children’s library case till Thursday and directed government to submit its reply in next hearing.
Maulana Aziz had been granted bail in 25 out of 27 cases, while he was acquitted in one case. He had been behind the bar since his arrest on July 3, 2007.
@malek
Balochistan is full of costly minerals and “ghawadar” port!! is???
@alf_0011
and includes lots of Oil too……..
the wekeness of our leader’s masters!
@altf
‘Just see Ghandi’s nation…..’
Yes see below..the cheek theory…is it still in place or was it a gimmick?
http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=73967
- FIR against Lalu for remarks against Varun Gandhi
- said on Monday that he would have “crushed” Varun Gandhi under a roller
- What I meant to say was that I would have finished Varun politically,”
I think we better sent this article to Talibans with a translation into pushto so that they could also understand that Islam means peace not the bloodbath. Talibans are giving their own way of life not the one that Islam represents. They are the one who are responsible for defaming Islam.
@doublepolitics
You are spot on. This good article should be sent to all talibans; may be it may open their eyes and brain as well. nota, traffic, pak.nukes, Shirkuh and many others like them have decided to keep windows of thier brain locked forever. I feel sorry for these misguided indivuduals. May God bless on them and give them some intelligence.
@ACC
I am glad you have accept that we have brains after albiet locked .Wish we could say the same for you..
@everyone
Plz omit ‘after’ while reading my above post….typing error of a blocked brain.
@ACC
Sorry let me re-type my post for you.
I am glad you accept that we have brains albiet locked .Wish we could say the same for you..
@nota@shirku@all taliban lovers
Does this sound better?
@pak.nukes
lol u go girl
@pak.nukes
Please let ACC have some breathing space. Whatever he puts UP comes DOWN
@pak.nuke,
When these foriegn agents have no answers or explanation (because their whole BS is based on lies, pakistan doushmani) immediately they go to taliban to change the topic (without us talking about their beloved tablibans)hahaha.
@Shirkuh
I feel sorry for you, I really do. You are a misguided indivudual with extremely unhealthy mind. You are responsible for spreading Taliban ideology on this forum. The whole Taliban movement is being run by Jamat Islami in NWFP. Most of Taliban leaders are ex-Jamat members. I can bet you, nota, traffic, pak.nukes and many others on this forum belong to Jamat Islami. Stop distorting Islam.
@ACC
Yaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwn
@Shirku
Are you not sick of this?
Taliban, Mullah, JI, Al-Qaeda etc etc Rock…
I hope I am not forgetting any names…LOLz
Have you guys ever heard “tolerance”
why cant we have these discussions with open minds intead of having pre-conceived ideas…
and scoring childish points
@Najam
Tolerance? is he/she pro-Taliban?
Lolz.
@ACC
will be grateful for some answers in order to understand the points raised by you
- what is Taliban ideology?
- Can you please name a few ex-Jamat members who are now Taliban leaders
- Is there any evidence that The whole Taliban movement is being run by Jamat Islami in NWFP? as i always thought it was Maulana Fazlur Rehman who was supporting religous schools in NWFP and it was for that reason he was banned from entering US/UK and some Middle Eastern countries while Qazi continue to roam around Europe?
Mulla Omar
I am glad you took a hint from nota to find something sectarian in poetry of Iqbal or in the names of Ali & Hussain.
If you learn what Iqbal has really said about Ahlul baith, you will call him Rafizi.
One more for you only
Kiya Poochtey ho madhab-e-Iqbal
Yeh Gunahgar Bootarabi hey.
then you beautifully wrote
“Stop people worshipping, and start following the message which Rasool Allah SWS brought, ”
This is the irony of us muslim today, we have put the words of Rasul(saw) in the Books only, no need to follow similarly Quran is left for mere thawab of recitation.
Most Mutawatir or consistent hadith and most authentic hadith that I am leaving behind Quran & my ahlul baith, stick with them, they are like ark of Noah(a big statement for those who take Rasul seriously)
hadith doesn’t end here, it continues
until they reach me at hauz-e-Kausar on judgment day–so in today’s time one can not say it was applicable upto sometimes after Prophet but now this hadith is not applicable.
Hadith still not end here, it continues, Prophet repeat thrice
Do not forget my ahlul baith
If you insist I will quote this hadith from Sahi Muslim.
This is another miracle of Prophet, as a true Prophet of Allah He has read the pulse of human being and he knew his ahlul baith would be abandoned and a mention of their names in poetry of a sunni poet would be regarded as sectarian.
No one is worthy of worship besides Allah
But these great personlaities are great Ayaat of Allah, they are the light in this dark age when Islam is made a curse word by enemy of Islam, they are the strength of our faith.
Iblees was biggest muwahid, he refuse to prostrate before Adam, still respecting Allah, when turned murdood still swear upon Izat(honor) of Allah that he will misguide people.
We have to see which personalities on Allah’s side or true slaves of Allah & which are not, theres no question of worshipping them.
@jazoo
“I am glad you took a hint from nota…”
Hey, don’t blame me. I just had a hunch …
@ACC
I am not a member of ANY religious party. I don’t support JI and nor do I support Taliban.
Solution could be:
- Get the majority of our Pakistani brothers/sisters on our side.
- NO drone attacks by ANY “friend” of Pakistan.
- Stop the military action in the area!
- Stop the supplies lines to the foreigners.
- The few extremists should be isolated by the use of the local people and maybe a few local PAK forces (with understanding from the locals).
- If necessary execute the extremists since I believe they are working against Islam and Pakistan.
- Massive investment in education ALL over Pakistan!
The basic root is salima and it means to be in salamat, and the derived root is aslama which means to islam (submit, surrender, commit, resign, etc) towards Allah.
Edward Said’s book ‘Orentalism’ is one of the greatest cultural books I have read. The distoration of Islam byt the Europeans started from the beginning, and the legitimising forces for this distoration continued due to differing reasons. I have many friends who are converts to Islam, who come from varying backgrounds and they have done so inspite of all the propoganda. Ironically France had the largest number of converts after 9/11. People wanted to understand.
Another book I would recommend is The wretched of the Earth by Franz Fanon and Black Skin, White Masks. Both seminal books and apt even for today.
We are still fighting ant-imperialist struggles. We are still mentally enslaved. The extremes of Western Liberalism and religious extremism are weighing down the conversation on this forum. Much of the argument posited here is a bubbling couldron of people trying to figure this all out, what direction we should take.
Unless we establish our autonomy first and start making decisions as a nation for ourselves, issues to do with human rights and progression will ever be achieved.
As many black feminist writers have argued, the Black Panther movement was ever women friendly but when you are fighting a struggle for independence, rights are sublimated for the cause.
We need to start think for ourselves.
@faria
“The extremes of Western Liberalism and religious extremism are weighing down the conversation on this forum.”
I really haven’t seen much “religious extremism” on this forum (“perceived” does not make it so). “Extreme of Western Liberalism” plenty.
or may be LIBERAL FASCISM
@ Faria
@ nota
@ Shirkuh
I had thought about commenting in detail on this article-( refuting)- but once again I was reminded of Sheikh Saadi ‘s -
” jawabe jahilaan khamoshee ust ”
So I shall refrain even though I could.
But I would just mention few names and they are-
Ibn e Tammaya
Hassan al Bannaa
and of course Sayyid Qutub
Someone mention here 4 marriages in Islam
This is the most misunderstood subject by the west plus misuse by us muslims.
Islam does not reccomend 4 marriages or encourage them.
Divine Laws are made on ideal conditions as mundane laws, so their application should be on ideal conditions also.
Since the known civilized history ,we know that women out numbered men in all the times.
So for a Just God it was not possible to restrict one woman with one man that will devoid excessive women their biological needs ideally and its against the Justice of Allah.
@shimatoree
syed qutab shaheed — careful now u not only talibaan but also al-qaeda lol
@ razakhan
zamung yo professor oe.
namay wa Raza Ali Khan. Da bannu oe. Eshpag foota salore inche qad wa . Dair gentle sray oe. Oos kho wafat shaway de. Khiyal kawome che ta um aghay pa shantay dere gentle khabaray kay.
Shaid che the num Raza key da khasiat do.
Zama zoi num um Raza do.
Mbarrak sha . Raza Khana.
@ Razakhan
When someone talks about intellectual decadence amongst the Muslims- it makes me think -
that they must not have any MIRRORS in their house !
I quite fail to understand the aim or the purpose behind writing this article.
If the aim was to enlighten- well it cannot as it is dishonest and disingenuous and very superficial . If the aim was to start a discussion on the subject- it has failed in that also since the THINKING TYPES on this web log have refused to swallow the bait and have dismissed it for what it is.
It’s the simplest thing to call them extremists and urself the true moderate followers of Islam.
For you they are a bunch of misguided people motivated by their political ambitions but for them they are a resistance against the Western Imperialism and are motivated by grievances and years of oppression at the hands of exploiters.
You’re only looking at the the whole thing in the post 9/11 scenario. Why are you overlooking the history b/w the two big monolithic religions?
———-
As for the current Taliban movement in Pakistan I advise ISI to sneak a few of these bombers across the border. We all know there’s more to it than meets the eye.
Only the wearer knows where the shoe pinches!
This will help them stop them stop their nefarious acts. Sometimes people learn things the hard way.
@shimatoree
I am a great admirer of the Muslim Brotherhood, their ranks are full of doctors, lawyers, intellectuals, students, mothers, fathers, working class, middle class etc etc. They have tens of thousands of their followers languishing in jails. Women play an active role in the organization and it is evolving to meet the needs of the masses in the 21st century as a new younger generation of leaders is emerging. Pakistan needs a similar movement which starts work on a social and cultural level in Pakistan, simultaneously evolving a Islamic political agenda. This would sideline the Taliban and the brown sahibs.
@faria
“I am a great admirer of the Muslim Brotherhood”
That is one of the things I failed to have a detailed look at. The little bit I came across certainly was admirable. Wish I knew more…
@shimatoree , Faria, nota, Shirkuh, afzaalkhan, altf_0011, Asad Ghalib
It seems like right is having a party today on rediscovering Islam ….
Khoob guzre gee jub mil bathein gey dewane doh
@jazoo
Re: 4 Wives
I thought this was a pretty good answer:
Notice that the Qur’an permits but does not command a man to have four wives. Furthermore, the Qur’an stipulates that a man is responsible for the maintenance of his wife or wives. If a man has more than one wife, he has to provide separate living accommodation for each of his wives.
Multiple marriages are a heavy responsibility on the male. It is not a pleasure trip as some people may assume. Some even imagine all kinds of sexual exploits involving a man and his wives altogether. However, such activity is not permissible in Islam. A man must divide his time equally among his wives. He may, for example, spend one night with each wife on a rotating schedule.
If a man cannot maintain justice in the treatment of his wives, the Qur’an stipulates that he is to have no more than one wife.
[Does this alone not make it almost impssible?]
Polygyny provides a solution to some of life’s problems. When there is a shortage of men, for example after a devastating war, many women will be unable to find husbands. Most women in that situation, given the option, would rather be a co-wife than no wife. If one maintains a strict monogamy in such a situation, moral depravity is bound to result.
It may be useful at this point to see what some non-Muslim writers are now saying on this much misunderstood subject.
John Esposito says:
Esposito then goes on to explain that in a society which allowed men an unlimited number of wives, Islam limited the number of wives to four. Then he continued to say:
Karen Armstrong explains much the same in her book entitled Muhammad: A Western Attempt to Understand Islam. She says:
It is unfortunate that the Western media often gives the wrong impression of what Islam is all about. Karen Armstrong writes:
Some people incorrectly assume that because of this ruling most Muslim men would have four wives. However, as Huston Smith points out, “multiple wives are seldom found in Islam today” (The World’s Religions, p. 252). Ira Zepp, Jr. says that “less than 2% of Muslim marriages are polygamous” (A Muslim Primer, p. 180).
About this being a solution for the problem of surplus women, Ira Zepp, Jr. comments on page 181 of his book:
What I find interesting is that from 004.003 is the “but if ye fear that ye shall not be able to deal justly (with them)” part is almost always ignored and 004.029 is never mentioned (“Ye will not be able to deal equally between (your) wives, however much ye wish (to do so).”) which is I think even more important…
@shimatoree
“I had thought about commenting in detail on this article-( refuting)- but once again I was reminded of Sheikh Saadi ’s – ” jawabe jahilaan khamoshee ust ” ”
That is why I skipped most of it…
Watch whole
http://www.democracynow.org/2009/4/7/headlines
There is plenty of material available. I suggest you look for references either on net or contact islamic publishers. Also there is a lot of interesting stuff regarding how South America is slowly releasing itself from the grips of the IMF and neo liberalist economic policies. Just wait and see what the draconian measures Pak gov are going to have to implement to meet the criteria of the IMF
@ nota
On Muslim Brotherhood-
You just need to read Sayyid Qutub as -(he essentially puts togather the writings of Hassan al Banna and Ibne Tammaya .
Google would provide all what you might need. And I will put up a few links too.
@faria
@shimatoree
Thanks!
(Mostly it’s been an issue of time… )
@faria
“Just wait and see what the draconian measures Pak gov are going to have to implement to meet the criteria of the IMF”
Most have already been implemented but people haven’t realized it yet….
Thanks for well researched article.
I assure you when I wrote what I wrote I have not read this article.
Beauty of this provision in Islam is twofold.
Only A True Creator can take care of such small but big matters.
Christianity, Judahism and all the big religions have a big question mark about the sanctity of their God for restricting one man to one woman then who is the God of excessive women.
@jazoo
“Christianity, Judahism and all the big religions have a big question mark about the sanctity of their God for restricting one man to one woman then who is the God of excessive women.”
Here I feel sorry for Catholic priests/nuns. They are not supposed to have one. The “vow of celibacy” was one stupid, impractical idea…
@afzaalkhan
agreed with you on the point that its time to put a stop to the blame game and either try to take a positive step ourselves or rather keep our mouth shut… just commenting on forums would never change anything… those against the mullahs should go and get religious education themselves and show people the true Islam otherwise they are as useless as some of the mullahs…
I suppose, all the buzz created by these suicide bombings, talibans, lashing videos, web/blogosphere discussions n media etc & the response & attention these things are getting from the media, people & at international level is doing not much harm to Islam in long term. It has just made many people to dig out the facts for themselves. By now, many would have found out what the real picture of islam is, many wud have found out the real shariyat which we are ‘SUPPOSED’ to follow.
These conflicts will help filter out the ‘non-believers’ & quarantine the elements who want to change the real picture of islam & assert their own fabricated islam upon others.
Noam Chomsky Professor at MIT
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=biyK7NgdCDA&feature=playlist&p=7116B29F2574EEE4&index=9
I don’t think answer is satisfactory on 4 wives. Essentially it says don’t do it but if you have to be fair and make sure you can financially manage. My question is why can’t woman have the same option? If a woman can can financially manage it and be fair she should have same option in theory. I was told that woman was not given same option because then we won’t be able to identify the actual father of the kid. It might be the case then but today a woman who can afford multiple spouses can certainly identify father through DNA test. I need a better reasoning.
I am against polygamy. If Islam is giving an option (which I am against) it should give to both. Islam gave certain rights to women 1400 + years ago that look insufficent now. Why woman can not lead a prayer? Why woman’s testimony can’t be equalivent to men? Why God didn’t pick one woman as prophet out of 124000? Thats all beyond me.
@shimatoree. faria and nota
Syed Qutab shaheed and most were influenced by Syed Maududi. I disagree on harsh interpretation of Syed Qutab, while agree a lot with Syed Maududi, alas!, maududi sahib after defining the path, left the way and started taking part in elections and as result we have today’s JI which is so far from the path as described by Maududi sahib himself. The worst was qazi sahib amarat and Munawwar Hassan dun inspire a lot of confidence either. On the other Dr. Israr Ahmed stuck with the path and I believe we should really look into his way. In today’s time, I believe the path for Pakistan’s party who are interested in making Pakistan a true Islamic democratic welfare state lies in the way of returning to original path described by Maududi sahi. I.e 1st we make ourselves better muslims then propagate Islam with dawa and just dun make anyone member till they have passed through a training course (i.e start praying and understanding Quran and Islam) dawa should then be extended to family, freinds neighborhoods. With that strong social work i.e clinics, education and etc. Once u have a core supporter who are loyal to the cause then u can bring change through peaceful and legit way. This way no force is implied on anyone and everyone who becomes members becomes due to thier own will and likeness, this core loyal supporters will also be able to resist temptations. We have to go back to basics and teach the way Quran commands us, i,e with wisdom and humility. Maududi sahib explained that in tafseer and lectures that a givt can’t e.g issue hud to zani when it 1st dun block all the paths that leads to zina, if givt is allowiong porns and making marriage difficult then ofcoz ppl will do zina then how in God’s name we can issue hud. 1st we have to block the temptations then make ppl use to of things and after all this work someone decide to say screw u then hud is the answer.
Justice party of turkey, is a great example so is Islamic brotherhood of Egypt, this nonsense of forced sharia can’t be allowed it only make ppl turn away from Islam, it dun work look at saudi Arabia and Iran where still a sizable population resist.
Dr. Israr has come with great solution of educating masses and implementing sharia. No one person can give us the complete path except Prophet (PBUH) with grace of ALLAH, but the leaders like syed qutab, syed maududi, dr. israr ahmed, jutice party, islamic brotherhood, we can study and takes parts of their teachings that works for us.
BTW its just my understanding am open to all ideas except anything from tahirulqadri, JUI diesel and ilk and altaf kaliya lol
Kashif@
Islam means ‘Submission, Surrender,Obediance and Sincearity’ to the will of Allah SWT, If you try to understand meaning of each of them then you would not ask the questions you asked, unless you are agnostic .
I can give you detailed answers of all of your questions if you are asking them with open mind, not with pre-conceived baboo’s mind, if that is the case please send me your email address.
Well i found this article only one-sided, pointing about the “religious extremism” and the author’s so called solutions to this. Do the “true Islam” allows the kind of liberal fascism in name of entertainment, exploitation of women in term of massive use in the advertisement industry, flux of vulgarity by some of the media channels, corruptions, looting, colorful nights, social, economical injustices, depriving poor from standard education. Do author think that all these matters are being handled according to the true spirit of Islam in the country?
Word peace is used a lot in the article, but peace for whom and from whom? If Muslims are killed daily by the drone attacks, bombarding, ambushing, do Islam tells to remain calm n peaceful and bear all the atrocities without any complaint? Btw true Islam is not enclosed in boundaries, so if someone is doing cruelty on the other side of border, what the “true Islam” of author suggests then? Can u plz write on the above mentioned issues as well ?
I did not read the artical, I dont need to read. If anyone wants to know ISLAM,then sirate tayaba, READ THE BOOKS OF LIFE OF HOLY PROPHET( peace be upon him).
Fuck the taliban, these all are jahil, A MUSLIM CAN NOT KILL A MUSLIM AND INFACT NONO MUSLIM AS WEL EXCEPT IN WAR.
Dears dont argue on these taliban, these all are fighting for money, totaly jahil, jangli peoples. These taliban are black mark for ISLAM.
Read THE HOLY QURAN WITH TRANSLATION AND HADEES AND LIFE OF PROPHET PEACE BE UPON HIM AND HIS SUBHAS IKRAN razi ALLAH anhoo.
We dont need to read TOM, DICK HARRY.
IKRAM
@ Shaz
Thanks for putting my feelings into words…
A good read…..
Islamv. the Westren World
By Frederick Graves, JD
The Muslim people are in love with islam, the God of Islam, and principles of government that islam commands, principles contrary to our own concept of law. We see Islam in their dress,their music,their daily habits, and their poetic architecture. Everything about them centers on and revolves around Islam.It is the religion and faith of Islam they wish to govern them, not popular opinion or changing principles of political manipulation that have corrupted the dream of those who founded our American legal system.
If we were wise we would learn more of their queer culture, seeking the meaning of their religion in order to understand what makes them “act as they do”………..
http://www.jurisdictionary.com/essays/Islam.pdf
POLYANDRY
By Murtaza Mutahari
Another form of polygamy is polyandry, viz. a woman having more than one husband at the same time. According to Will Durant this custom is found among certain tribes of Tibet etc.
Al-Bukhari, in his famous corpus of traditions, as-Sahih, reports Ayesha as having said that among the pre-Islamic Arabs there existed four kinds of conjugal relations. One of them was the proper marriage that is still being practised. In this form a man proposes to a girl through her father and, after the fixation of dower, carries her. There can be no controversy about the father of the children born in such a wedlock. There was another kind of marriage, which was called ‘istibza To procure a better progeny for himself, the husband selected a man and asked his wife to allow him to have access to her for a fixed period. He himself kept aloof till the pregnancy of the woman. It was a marriage within a marriage and was indulged in with a view to improving the breed. According to another custom, a group of men consisting of less than ten people, established a liaison with a particular woman. On becoming pregnant, she called all of them, and, as the custom of the day was, they had to respond to her call. At this time she selected one man as the father of her child out of those who were willing to take that responsibility. The man, after being so chosen, could not decline to accept the fatherhood of the child.
The fourth kind of conjugal relations was known as prostitution. The prostitutes had a flag on the top of their houses. It served as their distinguishing mark. Anybody could have access to these women. If such a woman gave birth to a child, she called all those who had intimacy with her, and with the help of a physiognomist, determined who was the father of the child. The man concerned had to accept the decision of the physiognomist and to own the child.
These were the forms of the conjugal relations which prevailed in pre-Islamic Arabia. The Prophet abolished all of them, except the one which is practised today.
This shows that the custom of polyandry existed among the pre-Islamic Arabs also.
Montesquieu reports that the Arab globe-trotter, Abu Zahir al-Hasan, found this custom in India and China during his visit to these countries in the 9th century and regarded it as a form of debauchery. He also writes: “On the coast of Malabar there lives a tribe called Nair. The male members of this tribe cannot have more than one wife, but the women are allowed to choose several husbands. Probably the reason is that the Nairs belong to a martial race and their profession is fighting and hunting. Just as we discourage the marriage of the soldiers in Europe so that it may not interfere with their profession of fighting, the Malabar tribes have also decided that, as far as possible, the male members of the Nair tribe should be excused from shouldering family responsibilities. As, owing to the tropical climate of the area, it is not possible to ban marriage totally, it has been decided that several men should have only one wife, so that they may not be heavily burdened with family responsibilities and their professional efficiency may not be affected”.
DEFECTS OF POLYANDRY
The main and the basic defect of the system of polyandry is that the paternity of the children practically remains uncertain. In this system, the relations between the child and the father are undetermined and that is the reason why it has not been successful. As sexual communism 1L1~ not been able to take roots anywhere, this system also has not been accepted by any society worthy of the name. As we have said earlier, the family life, the building of a home for the future generation and the definite connection between the past and the future generations are some of the demands of the human instinct. The exceptional cases of the existence of plurality of husbands among certain sections does not prove that the desire of the formation of one’s own family is not an instinct of man. Similarly, perpetual celibacy or complete abstinence from conjugal life, as practised by a number of men and women, is also a sort of deviation. Polyandry is not only inconsistent with man’s monopolistic nature and his paternal love, but it is opposed to the nature of woman also. Psychological investigations have proved that woman wants monogamy more than man.
@Mulla Omar
Ofcourse I am asking this with open mind. If you have answers that can satisfy others including me why don’t you post here. Trust me on ‘women rights in Islam’ I am not the only one who needs clarifications (if there are any). Most likely its the subject where Islam needs to be updated through ‘Ijtehaad’ or anyother medium.
As far as your coment on Baboo’s mind…it shows you can only convince those who are already convinced or who do not want/dare to question
look what t his brave man AZAM SWATI says
Us and nato wants to make pakistan war zones and ……. seee this news
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/2009/04/090407_swati_nato_fz.shtml
a true son of this soil
we should see our own interest never mind ineterest of others,…..
One thing is clear Pakistan will stay forever Inashallah.
although i am not an authority [as many of you] on Islam.
I think Shaddi [nikkah] is actually a consent between two adults. and what you need to 2 witness. once you had that, that’s its you are married.
and once you break that consent that’s called Divorce.
rest of everything is DRAMA.
@ nota, faria and all contributors,
Where it is important to focus on the source of the faith directly, the need for Ijtihaad has been overlooked for a long time. Islam is a combination of individual as well as collective tenets and the latter set of principles and rules for a given day and time relies not only on the source, i.e. Quran and Sunnah, but also on Ijtihaad. I just wish we had an institutionalized platform for understanding of religion in these times of chaos and confusion.
P.S. this may interest you guys,
The file of the Hijacking Case against NS is missing.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/2009/04/090407_nawaz_case_file_fz.shtml
hahahaha, who could have thought, no!
@shah
If you haven’t already I would suggest publications by Tariq Ramadan (he is the grand son of Hassan al Banna). He is a good intellectual and deals with Islam and modernity. While I do not agree with his whole analysis, he is worth the effort.
I think much of the confusion lies with every muslim thinking he or she is a member of the ulema! Shariah is a codified law which was extensively developed during the Abbasid dynasty, where the law was moulded for particular reasons.
Yes ijtihaad is important, and creates dynamism but the basic tenant, moral, social and economic must remain intact (basic social contract).
It would be nice to see the rise of great institutes of learning again, but NEVER a papacy! I know it is confusing at the moment but that is to do with our history since colonialism. Our minds have been warped, our self esteem sapped and we are oscillating between a defensive posture which is either violent or narrow-minded( due to the ugly onslaught against Islam) or one of having an inferiority complex. But insha’allah I do see the pangs of an intellectual islamic revival. Islam is a meritocratic faith where we build on consensus, not a clergy driven faith. That is where the power and beauty of Islam is.
@faria,
I will never favour or want a papacy. The question is how you institutionalize Ijtihaad. There are several pitfalls associated with walking on such a fine line. Creating vibrant institutions of Ijtihaad without creating monopolies is a tall order. However, also significant are the challenges facing the muslims here and elsewhere.
I agree that like any other form of knowledge, we will need learned religious scholars and there lies the risk of perpetuating the rights of a few to interpret for the rest what is right and what is wrong. However, there are certain factors that makes institutionalizing Ijtihaad with due consideration to checking monoply worth the risk. Consider the facts:
1. At present, the local mosque imaams, based on mere graduation of Dars-e-Nizaami are interpreting Islam already. There are severe implications that we see day in and out. First, they are blind to the overall picture of the state of the world and contemporary knowledge and research on the issues he so easily decides on. Second, local realities, including the local political, social and economic conditions heavily influence the interpretations of the tenets of islam made by the local imaams. These lead to distortions that are abundantly clear in today’s Pakistan.
2. The necessity for institutionalized Ijtihaad is also pertinent, rather a need in today’s world for several reasons. First, since most people don’t tend to read and rely on stereotyes instead, a permenent voice of knowledgable and reasoned minds is needed to keep the image of Islam beyond the isolated traversities that are associated with Islam. Second, given the means of communication, it is possible to reach more people not only with the unadulterated decisions but also the debate prior to it.
I suggest the process start with starting a debate on various issues of today’s world among the Aalims and the molvis, such as those running the show in Swat. Munaazras are not a new way of understanding what is the nearest interpretation to the Sources of Islam. We can’t afford to allow the inept, or in some cases, criminal elements that have joined these movements to interpret and implement their wishes in the name of Islam.
what a load of bullcrap!
why isnt there any mention of why there is all this war in the first place? who has come from thousands of miles away and occupied our lands? no mention of how our rulers are supporting that occupier and enemy of Islam. first it was george bush and his puppy Mush who were going to teach us what “true” Islam is, now that they have failed and disappeared, we have these baboos popping out of nowhere telling us what “true” Islam is. does true Islam tell us to lie face down while others attacks us and occupy our lands? i think its a well documented fact and as @nota pointed out above, the kuffar are now trying to prop up Sufism as an alternative to Islam. Inshallah they will fail miserably at this attempt too, which is obvious from the reaction that this article has got from most people, and how most have seen through the deception of the author.
The problem is all religions are man made and completely false. Believing in all this falshood is never going to lead anyone anywhere.
Taliban are reading the same BOOK. -Perhaps they are the only one reading it nowadays-When they get to Surat Tobah. They actually read it as it is written down. And you have to read it too, to understand.
Religions, because they are based on nothing but flimsy stories and unfathomable illogical explanations from primitive minds, are incapable of surviving in the days to come. Out of fear -caused by the superstition- their grip is still strong . Childern are brainwashed by these Cults to develop all these demented theories of angels and Heavens and Iblees. Such a long story of complete lies and made up fictional characters.
Alif Laila key yey Dastaan …. Loogon ko baywaqoof bunaya hoa hay
Get yourself out of this Land of Fiction. It is time to move on.
@ Jutt kharak
You wouldn’t be saying that if you had knowledge of the teachings of Islam…
@Jutt kharak
well we now know u not muslim so dun teach us abt Islam from now on:p
http://www.wichaar.com/news/294/ARTICLE/13517/2009-04-07.html
Religion has to be separated from the state (symbolic connection and mere words are OK, but not serious religious law). The so-called religious law was designed for a relatively primitive medieval state and cannot sustain a semi-modern state.
@omarali50
Well u can keep that in non-muslim society, a Muslim has to live under sharia law. As iqbal put it beautifully
juda hoon deen se siyasat to reh jatee hai changezi
@omarali50
Just worry about your own country, as a matter of fact that is not your own country even, the way you are treated there, we know what is muslim’s condition in india (BS and just lip service so-called secular state)? You have so many extremism problem in india, and 12 states have separatist problem, and indian inteligensia is bussy in Balochistan to destablise Pakistan and create same situation that you have in Kashmir and other separation seeking states, as per Noam Chomsky professor M.I.T says, we criticize others and for the same crime of ours we just ignore. Don’t be hipocrate.
“Rediscovering True Islam”
One must put an article up with the title, “Rediscovering True Humanity” for the rest:
These crime against humanity and illegal wars also create hate and resentment which is beyond religious differences. The western warmongers must stop killing every problem to solve it or imprisoning anyone who disagrees……
A poem from an Iraqi prisoner, detained in Bucca Camp. Bucca camp where Kamel and Omar are still lingering there…caught like verses in barbed wire…Are they really there or somewhere else ? We don’t know…Maybe we will never know.
Maybe one day, they will become ex-detainees too and will compose their “experience” in poetry form…Maybe they will call it “Surviving America”. Maybe this is how poets and madmen are born.
When I see you, I see Paradise approaching…
By Abu Izzuddin.
Stop at the ruins and ask the wrecked corner. . . Are my people aware of what’s happening to me?
Ask the river, does it still remember me? . . . And the people, do they still hold their noses high?
Are they sleeping in comfort and in peace? . . . With an unembarrassed smile upon their lips
Tell them I am a hostage to humiliation. . . . Oh, my poetry, or have they become deaf
My partner, my passion for you is killing me. . . . In the heart there is flame from a blazing fire
How to reach those who have become so dear a quest. . . . And the longing inside me, my friend, is burning
The hand of days has torn me apart leaving. . . .A deep wound and a sick body
My hue has paled, for my eyes always. . . . Cry for my loved ones, first tears, and then blood
And my soul cries out for the help of the wandering spirits. . . . And in the sea of my sorrows, my worries clash
By God, after our parting life has no appeal to me . . . because my life without you is nothing
My chest is tight with breath that seems. . . . As if it were lava between my ribs
I begged patience to come and console me . . . it said “no,” and worry said “yes” to me
Patience, if it comes to me, comes single, but when . . . the worries come to my heart, they arrive as nations
My partner, my mind is lost, is anxious. . . . In it thoughts and suspicions are teeming
I ask the stars about my family and my country . . . and about my little ones I ask the moon: how are they faring
And I said to the wind: In my village there is a man . . . who is of good nature and beautiful face and words
And it said to me: That is Abu Ghassan! I know him . . . in him there is pride, honesty and generosity
Amongst Albu Hamdan he is a man of science and . . . good manners. Most sincere of friends
And in me is grief and pain that hurt me in a way . . . that no pen and paper can describe
Injustice, subjugation and deprivation are crushing me . . . and the wounds of my heart are oozing pus and pain.
When I see you, I see Paradise approaching . . . towards me, and all the wounds of my soul will heal
I ask God to quench my thirst for you by seeing you . . . before I die, that would be the highest bliss.
Poem written June 7, 2007, in Bucca detention center.
Source – here.
:: Article nr. 53221 sent on 07-apr-2009 21:59 ECT
http://www.uruknet.info?p=53221
Link: arabwomanblues.blogspot.com/2009/04/verses-caught- in-barbed-wire.html
:: The views expressed in this article are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of this website.
Islamv. the Westren World
By Frederick Graves, JD
The above article shows you the paranoia created about Islam and distortion by admiration? I do not agree with the outher but we must read it and try to understand his completion or soft propaganda to write it…..
http://www.jurisdictionary.com/essays/Islam.pdf
@Jutt kharak
I agree with every word you said.
Hum ko maloom hai janaat kee haqekut lakin
Dil ke khush rakhne ko Ghalib khayal acha hai
@omarali50
this question of ‘seperation of state and religion’
In christianity it was easy
In Islam it is Impossible unfortunately ‘baby will have to be thrown out with the bath water’
Auragzeb vs. Dara Shikoh
Look at Iran. With the defeat of Mullahs- which is imminent-
Baby will be discarded
OR enlightenment , extraordinary enlightenment where new constitution is charted out to keep the two seperate, highly unlikely
Blind Faith in Sub Continent among very firstly Only Qaid e Azam, Illam Iqbal Maulana Mohammad Ali Johar & very few others had already understood only the way of Prophet Mohammad(PBUH) whatever told us i.e. the only righteous way to adopt for our Social & Political Problems and the same is still awaited to implement the same! What a Bad Luck for this country?
[...] Rediscovering True Islam | pkpolitics.com. [...]
@ Kashif and Jutt: LOL …. since what you are saying is NOT a lie and what Islam says is a lie. To me, you are just doing what a Mullah does. I am impartial to both, I carve my own way. You cannot prove God’s existence in the laboratory, if you could, why would you need a God in the first place then. Anyways, good luck with atheistic tendencies.
The article is poorly written and is rife with logical inconsistencies along with red herring arguments. Pkpolitics deserves not to be disgraced by such brain storming ordeals of pupas.
[...] 19, 2009 Rediscovering True Islam Posted by khudieditor under Uncategorized No Comments Rediscovering True Islam April 7, 2009 . by Amber Kafil KhanLocation: [...]