l An Open Letter to all Journalists | Pakistan Politics
{ 112 comments... read them below or add one }

• Awaam said:

Money given to any journalist by information ministry during last 10 years at least should be published with year-wise details. Details of all plots allotted to any journalist or his her family members should be made public.
    This information can be posted on the official websites so anyone can access. Record of funds allotment and plot allotment by CDA is available with the concerned sections. Just two section officers have to be assigned to preparte lists.
    I think all media organization, press clubs should agree to it.

• nazir naji said:

@pkpolitics …

bhens ch*d .. 2 saal tumhari website ko huay hain .. tumhari auqaat hay 50 saal kee contribution karnay walay say plot ka hisaab maangnay kee?

• msohail83 said:

In Pakistan all incumbent govts try to win journalist’s loyalties by bribing them thru intitutionalized corruption. Since the introduction of independent TV stations most of the journalists have been exposed when they are invited to give their expert opinions on talk shows.

There are trojan horses in media just like any other profession in Pakistan and it’s imperative they all be exposed.

A journalist should be independent minded free of bias, honest and brave to write the truth and constructively criticize govt policies when needed. We do not have any accountibility in our corrupt system therefore we have to rely on these journalists to divulge the details of massive corruptions that occurs behind the scenes. If their own morals suck how will they do their job?

We are blessed with some great personlities like Talat Hussain, Dr. Shahid, Haroon ur Rasheed, Mujeeb ur Rehman Shami, Ansar Abbasi etc. that set high standards and are role models for young people that want to join this profession.

Dr shahid wrote an article today that is relevent to this blog.

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/apr2009-daily/29-04-2009/col4.htm

• Caped Avenger said:

@ nazir naji ! LOL . too good !

• scary said:

Excellent idea. We have to bed in the culture of accountability. Once we have done that we will begin to turn this nation into honest citizens. We should publish the answers to this survey in all newspapers.

A note here for the journalists. You must not think this is a lynching exercise for you. Declare it honestly, swear that if you have done something wrong in the past that you will never do it again and lets move on. A consolation for you. There is no honest man in Pakistan. So you can be the first one.

Whilst we are at this can we also ask all journalists to disclose there resumes. We would like to know about there education and experience. In fact the President, Prime Minister, Federal ministers, Governors, Chief Ministers, Provincial ministers all must disclose there CVs. If I have missed some please add it on.

By the way delete question 8 and 9. They must accompany the President and Prime Minister. Nothing wrong with that

• Gul said:

@ d m i n

Excellent piece of work!

@nazir naji

LOL – can’t stop laughing…excellent again!

• wiqi said:

Our media has really become “you see my back and I’ll do yours” kind of profession. Apart from financial corruption, They are always stuck in professional corruption. All news lines are often censored and shadowed by media persons to protect the corruption. We read “Eham”, ” Hakomati”, “Na maloom” shakhsiat or “Androni zara’A, we’d never been able to get full truth out of media.

• farqis said:

@Scary:

Questions 8 and 9 are very valid questions. If only a select group of journalists gets to go with the President and Prime Minister every time, that’s favoritism especially if the trip is being paid by the Govt. (I don’t know… is it ?)

• ExposeEvil said:

A question should also be asked as to whether you have asked for jobs for your children/siblings/relatives from the officials? As journalists do. Anyone wanting to check should check the status of the son of senior jang editor Mehmood Shaam who got his son earlier into PSO at a very high salary and then got him into KESC as a senior IT professional where KESC is currently giving him extraordinary privileges while starving the people of Karachi of the facilities they pay for. Hamaam mein sab nangay hein!! Lets expose all these pseudo intellectuals as they have formed a mafia to suck the blood out of our beloved country and where merit is violated for the sons and daughters of these leechers and poor hard working people only suffer.

• smhs said:

shame on you nazir naji, what a learned person you claim to be and such a cheap language you used. you need to go to school again, don’t you?

aik baddoo agar hazarat omer (ra) se aik chaader ka hisaab mang sakta hey 2 teri oqaat kia hey.

can some one tell me what extra ordinary service nazir naji has done to his country for which he should be awarded plots.

Montreal, Canada

• nota said:

@ExposeEvil
    “A question should also be asked as to whether you have asked for jobs for your children/siblings/relatives from the officials?”

Very important one indeed but I think it is asked above (No. 7). I did hear Rauf Klasra got a high-paying job for his sis.

• freemason said:

Please also add a question about the taxes filed by the media celebrities individually and those filed by media groups like Geo etc.

• smhs said:

yehi shaikh-e-haram hein jo chora kar baich khhatey hein
    galeem-e-bozar o dalq-e-owais o chaadar-e-zahra

nazir naji like shaikh-e-haram

• Wajahat said:

Just give details of top 100 (based on their experience/positions in leading news organizations) journalists with just two liners:

1- How many time you travelled with President/PM/Ministers on foreign visits in your carrier?

2- How many plots you (or your family members, including wife, children, brothers/sisters) were allotted in Islamabad by the government or have you ever occupiedany government residence/office?

Thats it. No more.

• BABU FROM USA said:

Oh man what to say!!! very sad indeed. But there is still a hope when you see some great journalists.

Plots distribution among apple of eyes, these are branches of our Corrupt Society as we all know Ansar Abbassi, Haroon Rasheed, Maulana Edhi, Miandad, IK, Dr.A.Q. Khan along with many others although they are the representative of Elite of Pakistan but they do have Solid Character which is comprised Principles of Straight True Life (without any single hanky-panky) as told by our beloved Prophet Mohammad(SAW).

An old advise-able song of Pakistani Film Hamrahi Sung by Masood Rana i.e. applicable on the above mentioned:

YAAD KURTA hai ZAMANA UNHI INSANOON KO jou ROOK LAITAY HAIN bahrtay HOAY TOOFANOON KO.

Believe me these corruption matters will be vanished automatically if Nawaz Sharif & Co. along-with some others keep these petty issues side by side e.g. Hijacking Case blah blah & pls. only be focal to public interest matters only e.g. Openly statement issue against the Droned Attacks & unnecessary involvement of American Interference in our Domestic Politics, Load Shedding, Jobs-Employment, Land Reforming matters among Hariis, Missing People, Be Outspoken person on the topic of the living style of Ministers who are not less than Kings in their respective portfolios, otherwise your/NS & Co. popularity graph will be even down than the people of Zardari Camp & thus be afraid in advance!

• adnan.khalil said:

I think it will be a good expamle for other common public interst orginizations as well as it will increase the faith of common people on the media.
    So It should be done.

• atifkun said:

salam to every one specially P K politics.

well done , pls keep trying to take off veil on these mafia’s face.

atleast we should aprieciate them

• Najam Syed said:

is hamam mein sab nange hein :)

• Shaz said:

Why journalists like Rauf Kalasara, Hamid Mir, Harron-ur-Rasheed, Irfan Siddique, Talat Hussian are lip tight silent on the matter of distribution of plots to the journalists?

• kmk said:

There are far too many of them, but unfortunately majority of the readership is quite naive to spot their shortcomings, or mistakes. One should read and interpret ideas, measure their validity against his/her own life experiences with the people and institutions of his/her community. Closely related to the principle of reality is that of proportion, which refers to the twofold process of exaggeration and understatement. These qualities in reading material are like magnifying and reducing mirrors held up to the realities of life. The reader must cop with exaggeration and understatement if he/she wishes to understand the true significance of many ideas. Exaggeration magnifies reality and attracts the reader’s attention to a stated or implied truth. The principle of proportion suggests that you should evaluate the extent of exaggeration in reading materials and balance it with its opposite, understatement. The truth will usually lie somewhere between the two extremes. These propagandists are the worst enemies of our society, and its the responsibility of expert readers to question them, and expose them to public.

• jazoo said:

Geo showing caption
    Security forces has taken “The News” correspondent into custody for leaking the NEWS of Operation.
    He is been asked to disclose the source of his information.

I am sure Army infrastructure has been badly destroyed.
    We got to know how Ansar Abbasi gets all the secret if ISI is not his source.

If I were AnsarAbbasi, I would sacrifice many plots just to get friendly infos from ISI.

• nota said:

@jazoo
    Link to that story posted here

• hariskhan said:

Doesn’t this prove yet again that there’s zero accountability?

There’s zero justice in our country?

There’s zero infrastructure that keeps everyone in check at all times?

Dua goh,
    HarisKhan

• hajveri said:

Journalists in Pakistan are quite about nazir naji because he is their “Paytee Bhai”

• sarfrazmarth said:

I think it will be a good expamle for other common public interst orginizations as well as it will increase the faith of common people on the media, Dear noorani can you publish cell number of Mr. Naji so i can reply his words, i really appriciates your tolerance, as you was so nice to him but he did not feel sham by his words.

• sarfrazmarth said:

Believe me till now Mr naji was very respective for me but as I listen his words and knows about his corpution I think he is most corput person, he really a big fish in the river.

• Mahmud said:

@Democrate hay where are you today to read all this and then give your silly comments,you should not give your openion or feedback after you know about your buddy Naji,ok.

• winter said:

Somehow people have mistakenly started putting Rauf Klasra in the same league as Irfan Siddiqui, Haroon Rasheed and Ansar Abbasi, I highly doubt that. The only contribution he has made was the case of a woman in sindh. Apart from that, he has never done anything significant, much less exposing the corruption of the elite.

Moreover, I was astonished when on a talk show, he openly suggested Zardari to play the singh card. (if someone needs the link, I’mm dig it up for you). I would also like to know whether Rauf Klasra got a plot or not.

The most sincere and professional journalist I would have to say is Ansar Abbasi.

And yes, the hypocritical silence of all these other anchors and media on the Nazir Najir fiasco is astonishing and tells us that in the end, they’re all more or less the same. Or perhaps, they don’t wanna get into messy fights within each other, which can be a reasonable justification.

• Mahmud said:

it is too bad when journlist do not speak up their own community?

• zeshaan said:

can some one tell me what extra ordinary service nazir naji has done to his country ?

Speach writer to nawaz shareef.During that time,

Lahore air port And pia International flights.

5 to 7 lakh pk rupees per person toboard the plain.By naji and sons.

• shimatoree said:

How many sectors of the society can you try to correct ?

Journalists, Generals , Politicians, Police, Contractors, teachers and professors , human rights activists etc etc etc. The entire community is rotten to the core. There is no concept of ETHICS.
    Just look and critically examine the postings on this web site on various topics . You would get the idea.

The very fact that NO ONE has touched the Nazir Naji matter should tell you all you wish to know about the journalists.
    The fact that the same people like Fauzia Wahab, Farzana Raja, Nabil Gabol, Khan of Jhagra, Prof. Hoodbhoy, Dr. F. Saleem, Farzana Bari , Imran Khan, Asad Durrani etc etc keep appearing on the talk shows again to repeat their mantras ad nauseum tells a lot about what and who the journalists represent and how they represent them.

For example- We had a great movement for restoration of Iftikhar Ch. OK now he is restored. He has disappeared from the radar.

So where is the petition against NRO ?

Where is the follow up of the suo moto action for the disappeared ?
    When are those that supported Musharraf on Nov 3 going to be brought to justice ?
    When are the killers of May 2007 in Karachi going to be brought to book ?

CJ has been a bit quite ? Why ?

Is this problem of corruption across the board even fixable ?

I do not think so- not under the present system of laws and injustice and law enforcement . The man in the street feels that and knows that.

And that is the reason for their infatuation with alternate systems of justice .

It makes good copy and good discussion to have such articles published or put on a web site- but it is simple HOT AIR and is total waste of time and web space.

Or as they say in the West- “pissing into a head wind “

• pak.nukes said:

Sadly 99% of our journalists do take favours from ruling parties.
    cash/beti ki shaadi/plots even houses/monthly lifafas/promotions/jobs for their friends and family etc etc.

• swat yosufzai said:

now it is must to brin g the details of all such journalist in to pub lic….
    it means that th ey are playing with the nation’s thinking and future..
    it means we support and praise some journalist for their columns and opinion on any particularissue …b ut whatever they are saying means playing with ourway of thinking….
    its means they change their words wh en they are behind the screen ,,,

• abuhaleema said:

haha @ nazir naji comment

• Adeel said:

Inquilab!!
    Mar do saab kufr kay pujarioon ko.

• Ghazala said:

Well, when we the poor bloggers would get our share from the secret fund of ministry of information? :)

Ghazala Khan
    http://www.pakspectator.com

• azizpk said:

“Every thing is fair in Pak politics” so it’s not a big deal with journalists. Unfortunately, we as a nation have lost our moral and social values in our society that’s why every body is trying to avail such a golden opportunity that help them to collect maximum assets by any means.

NRO is one of the best incentives for the culprits and it also motivates the every powerful personality either in government or lying in the hierarchy of bureaucracy or belongs to pressure groups like media personalities. If we are sincere to our country then we have to vote beyond our personal interests. We have to select such representatives those are very true and honest in their saying and doing.

Vote on the basis of personal interest can never select a fair & honest representative likewise a corrupt MNA or MPA can never boost the national interest so think before casting your precious vote and only general public can bring revolution in the society.

• Javaid Khan said:

Great work Admin Bhai

it is time for journalists also to do some soul searching. they keep questioning politicians, general, judges, people etc and quite rightly so. What ABOUT JOURNALISTS themselve??????

time for to their own EHTESAAB.

Why are not Hamid Mir, mushtaq minhas, Nusrat Javed, tallat Hussain, Shahid Massood talking about Nazir Naji???????
    Answers please… i know most of you visit this website..

• Javaid Khan said:

Nazir Naji

hahahahahahaha . great comment.. lolzzzz

• pak.nukes said:

A D M I N
    When I wrote about a female anchor taking a 28 lacs ki car from a politician with names, you deleted my post now you are asking the same questions.
    Expose them please.

• Shirkuh said:

@pak.nukes

Who was the female anchor?
    Who bribed her?
    How did you find out that she received the car?

@dmin should clarify why he deleted the post!

• shimatoree said:

@ all

The 16 crore awam selected the PPP , PML-N , MQM, ANP etc for their leadership .

It is the same 17 crore awam who live in dirt and filth of their own creation in every nook and corner of the country.
    Just go to any place in any town or village.
    A shopkeeper keeps his own shop clean but right in front of it he dumps all the rubbish and filth. If you ask them about why they do not at least clean the area in front of their shop- the answer is the same- ” it is not their job- it is the govt’s job ”

The same 17 crore awam steal electricty by KUNDA and complain when there is load shedding.

If the Taliban were even 1/2 less corrupt than the GOVT- then they would gain control in 2 days but they are as corrupt and as stupid and as incompetent as Zardari and his cronies !

Just imagine if they had just kept their mouth SHUT after the SWAT deal and allowed the Nizame Adal to work- but NO they had to have diarrhoea of the mouth which they could not keep shut even though it was in their interest.

So corruption of all kinds is rampant at all and every level of the society .

Nazir Naji is just the face of the society.

• jazoo said:

@shimatoree

Its not about keeping the mouth shut.
    They were under impression that with Nizam-e-Adl they would be administrative incharge of Malakand
    They would assign the Chaati pass Qazi and they would implement the punishments and the other signatory would be silent partner or just an spectator while they would be running the show.

They were least interested in Nizam-e-Adl, it was all about Power.

They thought its a break through, once they got hold of Malkand then Buner, then Deer then Pindi then Islamabad then ultimately Karachi and sind as well.

• econfused said:

Everybody has positive words for Ansar Abbasi, and I like the guy for his investigative reporting also, but he definitely disappointed me (and may be few others) by trying to discredit the swat flogging video. He has also written articles proving it was an islamic punishment. He may be very emotional about the whol “Shareea Issue”, but I doubt he is thinking with logical mind.

I have feeling that he got paid to put positive spin on SWAT flogging incidence. Anybody who is reading Jang/News, will agree that he did try to put a positive spin on ths story and he did try to discredit it.

• shimatoree said:

@ Jazoo

The Talibs know very well their own capabilities and the limitations they have.

I think to assume that they wanted to take over is not quite accurate.

But we are getting away from the point I am trying to make and that is-

The level of incompetence and corruption is rampant everywhere . Dishonesty is everywhere. The Talibs are merely one very small part of the whole equation. Each and every person is corrupt to the core and that is my point.

If you came on the TV and spoke the truth about the 17 crore awam- guess where you will be !

The great hopes that everyone had from CJ (who appeared to have immpeccable credentials ) have and are fast evaporating !
    No one had many hopes from Zardari except for the PPP propaganda machine.
    Nawaz Shareef is on the same slippery slope.

Nazir Naji lives and prospers just like the 17 crore Nazir Najis !

• bechari-awam said:

as someone said above, “is hamaam mein sub nangay hain”. Ansar abbasi is better then mostl but even he never comes clean about the wealth and property he owns. The only answer from him is to create more ambiguity e.g. when mani asked him the same question in azfar mani show, his reply was that people can get share from inheritance etc and he never answered in specific terms about the source of his fortune and tried to dodge the question. If he is 100% clean why he always reply in ifs and buts. Someone was regarding mujib-ur-shami as a role model although he too is involved in the pl0t sc@m. Irfan siddiqui is a bagha! bacha of NS. Only Dr. SM tried to clear his name without keeping any ambiguity in his most recent column in jang where he gave details of his income as MD of ptv, which he intend to return soon and about not owning a single property anywhere in the world in his name or anyone from his family’s name.

• Dr.Tahir Siddique said:

I am very sorry to see comments of Mr.Nazir Naji

• Amin said:

Commendable effort. After this is over, please ask the same questions about the relegious leaders. Thank you.

• sok said:

Good one. Keep it up.

@All
    We need to start somewhere. Journalists first, politicians etc later. Good thing with the free media is that people can see all the idiot politicians and their idiotic answers. This changes the whole perception.

Slowly slowly people start to see what these politicians stand for. Any statements that they make will come to bite them later. The most famous being “Mein nay aik muaida kiya tha, aik political statement di thi koi hadess to nahee likh di thi”

At the same time my salute to Dr Shahid Masood for coming up clean.

• SnrCtzn said:

@ shimatoree.
    Agreed that the entire ‘community’ IS REALLY rotten to the core & also agreed that there is no concept of ETHICS, at all, what-so-ever. You seemed to have rightly pointed out the ‘PROBLEM.’ But could you please suggest a ‘SOLUTION’ too?

• ResidentEvil said:

I think a proper research would reveal that, unfortunately, majority of our journalists at some point were either paid, under the table, or through means that wouldn’t seem like a bribe…..or were simply biased/bitter….or were just returning favors! ;)

Journalism like Politics, is not a black and white field. You give and take favors. It’s a bitter reality that we all should keep in mind. It’s a highly competitive field where the bigger the fish the bigger the reward and in order to get that “big fish” you have to be at the right spot….and you get that spot if you “know” people…..or you give them favors. In order to break a big story, I am sure, at times, journalists themselves have to “pay” people….be it money or….favors.

So, it’s just a naive oversimplification when you say that journalists get envelopes.

• pak.nukes said:

@Shirkuh
    If I post it here,it will again be deleted because the ‘family’ of that female anchor is in contact with our brilliant a-dmin.
    Send me your email and I will post you the names.

• Liberal said:

Dear friends

Here is the email address of Nazir Naji nazir.naji@janggroup.com.pk

Please e-mal him and protest against the behaviour he showed to a young journalist who was only asking him a question, but please don’t use any bad language as he did.

• ResidentEvil said:

And I don’t have a problem with Nazir Naji’s comments….I think it’s very straight forward…..Why shouldn’t he be….?

ignore the semantics….focus on the point!

• mansoor chaudhry said:

I feel little satisfied that now we have started talking some common sense issues. Why journalists like Nazir Naji have convinced themselves by their own that they are like sacred cows . How he dared to talk rubbish and abusive tone to his junior colleague. Is that he learned in his 50 years career, shame and shame.
    every body has to answer of their own deeds.

• jazoo said:

@pak.nukes

Pl send me the names if you feel like.

jazoo52000(at)yahoo.com

• bechari-awam said:

@pak.nukes
    “If I post it here,it will again be deleted because the ‘family’ of that female anchor is in contact with our brilliant a-dmin.
    Send me your email and I will post you the names.”

I need to know that too ;) my email is asiddiqi786(at)gmail(dot)com

• pak.nukes said:

Hold on guys.
    I have copied your email addresses and sending the names shortly.
    A-dmin will soon delete everything here since they seem to have a special soft corner for that anchor or her family.

• nota said:

@Shimatoree
    “The level of incompetence and corruption is rampant everywhere . Dishonesty is everywhere. The Talibs are merely one very small part of the whole equation. Each and every person is corrupt to the core and that is my point.”

Let’s agree on that. So what is to be done? Nothing and let chips fall where they may?

• imran25 said:

i think the anchor is asma sherazi

• imran25 said:

if the comments on this site are been deleted without a reason,bc of any bias,it will lose all its significance.

• pak.nukes said:

@imran25
    Where were you man? itnay din kay baad?
    No comments on your conclusion.
    Politician ka naam bhi likho.

• pak.nukes said:

We are playing a guess game…
    Any wild guess from you?

• imran25 said:

i also posted few nice comments and they were deleted without any logic. few media guys here can be abused without any cencor.and critisising others being allowed.

• imran25 said:

@pak.nukes

I was busy in a cousin”s marriage bro.

• nota said:

@pak.nukes
    “Any wild guess from you?”

Clueless…

• BABU FROM USA said:

If someone can tell me What happen to our CJ. Why they are not hanging MUSH for breaking constituition. If we hang Mush as a first step then the rest of the corruption will start fading away one by one. Start the justice from the top.

• jazoo said:

@pak.nukes

Thanks for sending the name.
    I thought it would be Yasmin Manzoor.

Anyhow the incident seem to be personal matter & I think admin is doing a good job for hiding it.

None of us are angels
    Your efforts are appreciated

• muzkhan said:

This is really a shame on all pakistani journalists to have such “noble” men in their community. If An intellectuall having a 50 years experience in journalism, litrature and media can use such a filthy language what do you expect from a comon man??

• nota said:

@Babu
    @Shimatoree
    “What happen to our CJ”

Something I have been wondering myself lately. Not only Mush still occupies the Army House but the PCO judges are sitting form on their seats, including those jiyala judges posted in haste just before restoration. And he hasn’t touched ANY of the cases that got him in trouble. The missing are still missing (in fact the list has been added to), Nov 3 still with us, etc…Dogar couldn’t have done much worst…

I wonder if in fact it was only about his kursi. Or am I being impatient?

• sok said:

@babu from USA

Mate, very good point. Problem is someone has to file charges against him and bring up a case. The present government has no balls to do that.

Can we start a poll on what the people think should happen to Musharraf?.

Now that the Pakistani news media has started publishing about this site, it would be an eye opener for them. May be then the good lawyers like Kurd, Ahsan and the rest can file the case themselves.

• nota said:

Any truth to the following accusations against Ansar Abbasi?

In his letter he said that journalists in Pakistan belongs to privileged class, but in fact 98 % of Pakistani journalists deserves sympathy of people as they are the most depressed class of the society. The journalists in Pakistan are getting the wages of 1996. In most of newspapers they don’t get their salary even after three months, over 400 journalists were terminated without notice across the country from various newspapers and TV Channels. He never raised voice against this, though he remembers to give safe side to media owners.

Ansar Abbasi wrote in his letter that he does not feel good because this plot was given by the government, but he never asked his bosses to move out of the GEO building because this plot was also given to Mir Shakil by the then government. He would not tell the people that previous government gave the status of MODEL VILLAGE to his native town and his brother was given the contract. He would not confess that he resides in a luxury house in the posh sector of ISLAMABAD, neither that someone gifted three hotels to him at Faizabad.

This is not the move of ANSAR ABBASI, but of the media owners to avoid implementation on 7th wage award.

IS there anyone to raise voice against this man?

From
    A MEDIA-PERSON
    (getting Rs. 8 thousand per month)

(link)

• imran25 said:

unfortunately its TRUE.

I use to respect ansar a lot,but no more.

Have you seen his article today in JANG praising ZARDARI. this is his third one in the last two months.

The only reason(ordinary journalists say is bc different journalist organisations are demanding an inquiry about ansar”s wealth ,plots and this model village.

HOW CAN ZARDARI SUDDENLY CHANGED MR ANSAR?

WHERE IS YOUR NRO? FREE JUDICIARY? FARAH DOGAR CASE ETC NOW?

SHAME ON YOU FOR PRAISING ZARDARI

• BABU FROM USA said:

@ nota
    It is just my thinking based on different evnts that are happening.

1. may be CJ is waiting for the right time to strike coz he has till 2013. But I hope he will not wait that long. might he is waiting for next govt. that might be coming soon.

2. Zardari may be replaced/ ppp Govt. / some changes/ mid term election. Reason for mid term coz no one has the majority. US is talking directly against Pakistani govt. lack of governance. No confidence in zardari and his corruption history.

3. Today again obama criticized the Pak Govt.

4. PmlN is not joining the coalition in the center

5. All foriegn dignitaries are meeting with pmlN leadership recently.

6. they think that NS has more popularity among people and can deliver better.

7. NS said good words about Obama.

8. NS coz of his relation with leaders of Islamic movements or his better perception among religiuos groups as well as among the moderates to liberal groups could help US.

9. common people are also getting fed up with this govt. policies and zardari / ppp . Govt. graph is at its lower level and keep on going down.

10. NS is not taking any risks to damage his popularity.

• jazoo said:

I am not sure about electronic media but for sure journalists in print media are paid in pennies.
    We would know about other allegations soon if theres a substance in accusation.

• imran25 said:

@BABU FROM USA

i agree with most of your points
    but NS will lose his popularity once he start following US lines,and also he is out from sindh,balochistan and NWFP. and suddenly being quite( not appearing in a election mode).

• pak.nukes said:

I think the person who has written this should have the moral courage to come in public and say it.
    Had it been true, Maulana fazlu would be the first person to expose Ansar.Fazlu’s sources are very authentic.
    Come on Media Person please have some courage and come in front, we all promise to stand with you on this issue.

• nota said:

@imran25
    “Have you seen his article today in JANG”

I saw that in yesterday’s The News. And it was not just him but Rauf Klasra also kissed @ss big time

• nota said:

@pak.nukes
    “Had it been true, Maulana fazlu would be the first person to expose Ansar.Fazlu’s sources are very authentic.”

Very valid point. And not just Fazlu. Ansar has ruffled far too many feathers and if true, many would have made this info public.

• pak.nukes said:

@imran25
    Listen if Ansar has written something about Zardari it is based on his observations and comparison of his recent past.
    I know Zardari’s actions are always deceptive and soon Ansar will realize that he hasn’t changed but please don’t be so judgemental ust because Ansar thinks he behaves better than before.

shimatoree said: How many sectors of the society can you try to correct ?……………

You pointed very rightly that’s why various time at this forum I’ve incorporated === “Always see only root cause(s) of entire burning issue(s) it is supposed if we cut the branches only of an affected tree than again & again we are bound to look after the same and i.e. totally unnecessary laborious, tiring & sluggish Job. In this regard it is must to mention every nation does have its own peculiar nature and according to our nature only the system of Quran & Sunnah is the most appropriate for this nation.”=== It is subject to How you & me are with Bona Intended People to Implement the Sharia Rules here.

Kindly do not advise me that this is not practically possible otherwise in short I’ll quote only one Certified Hadith i.e. ===”Whatever rules & regulations are told in the Holy Quran & Hadith these are practically possible to implement the same till the end of Global time.”===

shimatoree : Sorry for TYPOGRAPHIC MISTAKES

You pointed OUT very rightly…………………..

It is subject to How you & me are with Bona-fide Intended People…………..

• imran25 said:

@pak.nukes

i agree that its ansars personal observation. but bro this is not investigative journalism
    or a news item ” i met ZARDARI, HE is a changed ,sober person”. this is shit.

is zardari a changed man? cheater,lier ,corrupt thug having salman taseer and rehman malik on his sides.

ansar is not an innocent baby . he has recorded dogar candidly and in the field for years now. COME ON brother.

also READ IRFAN SIDDIQUI praising Zardari in yesterdays column. IRFAN SIDDIQUI was was the PRESS SECRETARY of PRESIDENT RAFIQ TARAR. and prefered to stay there even after MUSH military coup.Until MUSH become president and brought RASHID QUREISHI.

He is beneficiary of MALIK RIAZ of BAHRIA TOWN ,alongwith JAWAID CHAURDARY.

Thats why nobody wrote on the plot issue. BTW TALAT also has plots given by GOVTS. someone please ask him.he will not deny I am sure.

Other seven on the list mentioned in NAJI/ NOORANI talk also includes Jawaid ch other than RAUF KLAURA as well as MOHAMMAD MALIK coming soon guy on GEO.

• nota said:

@imran25
    “Thats why nobody wrote on the plot issue. BTW TALAT also has plots given by GOVTS. someone please ask him.he will not deny I am sure.”

No doubt about it so no need to ask. But that is what everything has become. From our generals to our politicians to our journlists, to our actors, every one has been running after plots for a while….

• BABU FROM USA said:

@nota you know the hope in all this mess is:

Sooner whoever needs to get corrupt should get corrupt and bring more suffering to the people sooner than later and then what ???

The president will say to the poor people If you donot have the bread to eat then EAT THE CAKE.

A REVOLUTION TO GET RID OF THE CORRUPT PEOPLE.

• aristotle said:

Why other journalists r silent on this issue?

• Islam Omvi said:

nazir naji is a product for sale
    every ruler used him and then kicked
    it is not a strange thing that he got extra ordinary plot.
    He has used the language according to his status

• Ahsaan said:

List of plots allotted to any journalist in Islamabad should be made public. Official records should be made public, including details of secret funds given to media men as a bribe by information ministry.

• m.asif said:

journalists are also human beings & Pakistanis when every one is busy in making money & plots why not journalists?

• Desperado said:

Is there anyone who told me about Javed Ch. and Hamid Mir either they have allotted any plots or got favors using their positions.?

• Desperado said:

Why javed Ch. and Hamid Mir have become dumb and deaf? Why they are not respoding on this issue in their respective programs? Before the issue if NN, I thinked that both are genuine persons But now my faith has perished unless both did not clarify about them.

• c hussain said:

Have you guys seen that programme on Geo – Chauraha – conducted by this journalist Nisar.

Just observe the way he dresses and shows off his watch and gold ring and the way he sits and interacts with his guests but most important is that he shows around him people who are poor and doing various menial jobs for him and he is sitting like a big feudal lord

This guy has made lots of money and has huge property and bank balance and he was on the pay roll of Gen Zia and now on the agencies – he was the guy who used to write a lot against Iftikhar Chaudhry and Nawaz Sharif and he once invited Taseer also in his programme.

Once in Geo programme – Aik Din Geo Kay Saath – he was specifically asked how did he get so much money – to which he answered – why should anyone get jealous how I make money.

This guy should be asked where did he get the plots.

The lists of journalists who should be investigated include

1. Nazir Naji
    2. Nisar
    3. Abbass Athar
    4. Najam Sethi

and I would like others to add to this list please.

• c hussain said:

I agree completely with all the blog writers above that Zardari cannot change. Yes he can never ever change – whatever Ansar Abbasi may write – yes the only change that has happened is that he has become more clever but to think that he has changed his intentions for good is totally absurd.

Since the unceremonius dismissal of former prime Minister Zafarullah Jamali by Musharraf Baluchistan has gone from bad to worse. I believe that Nawaz Sharif cases should be finished against him and he should be allowed to enter the Assembly. A national goverment should be formed and problems of terrorism should be dealt boldly. However we should be afraid of saying who is fuelling the terrorism in Pakistan. How can Taliban afford a suicide jacket of 1000 dollars and to train so many kids over a long period of time and brain wash them – certainly outsiders are doing that. When America demands from us to do more to crush Taliban we should also demand from America to reign in India in fuelling insurgency in Pakistan by closing down its tens of counsulates in Afghanistan who are actively involved in bring destablity to Pakistan.

If Zardari had not be been greedy at that the time when Musharraf resigned and we had all suggested that the next President should be from Baluchistan – either Ataullah Mengal or Mahmood Khan Achakzai – things would have been different. But Zardari and Altaf Hussain decided to conspire against Pakistan and they instead decided to make Zardari as president and all those parliamentarians who voted for Zardari have played a big role to bring destability to Pakistan and they are also responsible for the choas which is present today in Pakistan.

Ansar Abbasi disappointed very much by the article he had written about Zardari and in fact he has put his own crediblity in danger because he should realise that people are not fools not to be able to differentiate what is geninuine and what is fake. I would ask Ansar what has been offered that he has written such an article.

• shagufta said:

We are proud of this young cadre of journalists who are doing a very professional job. The plots and other bribes are only given to people who are either powerful such as military or who has a nuisance value such as journalists. No plots have ever being given to top notch Doctors, lawyers, Engineers and scientists. Nazir Naji used a very abusive language which is a disgrace to the whole journalist community. If the media can openly discuss Farah Dogar and justice Bilal cases, why can’t they talk about Nazir Naji. Forget about the plot but using such a foul language by a senior journalist who claim to be an intellectual is mind boggling. I solute Mr.Noorani for such a bold step and for being very calm and compose during his entire conversation. I also admire the Admin for a such a nice web site.
    It is high time that we all strive to expose all black sheep who has brought such a bad name to our beloved country.

• shummee said:

In my humble opinion the last question of the proforma ought to be the very first one like:

Question 1 of 10 – Can you declare your current assets, as well as your assets before starting your career as a journalist? A form used by members of parliaments for this purpose will be helpful.

The response to this question is enough to validate the substance of honesty and dare to face the gravity of the ground reality. Remaining questions are to be given options to be left without any answer. That ‘would’ be the answers actually. Truth or Dare!!! :)

By the way, may I know why the Phone Recordings are removed from the article? I have them though! ;) lol.

• zahidbinmustafa said:

@pak.nukes said:
    “A D M I N
    When I wrote about a female anchor taking a 28 lacs ki car from a politician with names, you deleted my post now you are asking the same questions.
    Expose them please.”

would you send detail of your news with names? email id
    mazhabibabu@gmail.com
    regards

• twin_cities said:

Being optimist I feel this article did shows that media is now approaching to a stage of maturity, objectivity and authenticity. These questions were never raised before and the great big hope now we have is the electronic and print media, including websites like pkpolitics.com. Real issues confronting the nation are being highlighted properly. It was heartening to see Bolta Pakistan duo visiting Baluchistan and brought some excellent episodes, Hasb-e-Haal has highlighted big issues being ignored by the rulers including theft of our waters by India. Now people judge every person whether a politician, columnist, lawyer, judge, civil servant, army general or whoever by their deeds, that is amazing. People like Nazir Naji who are shame not to journalism but to humanity are being exposed also of all their sins they have done in last 50 years.

• shagufta said:

I sent 2 e-mails to Mr.Naji but I got it back. It looks like the Jang group is filtering his messages or may be his in box is full of messages but friends keep on trying because this is the only way we can achieve our goals to bring something good to Pakistan.

• twin_cities said:

@ c hussain

Hassan Nisar is a big black mailer, that’s how he made all money. His mentor is Zia Shahid the pioneer of black mailing journalism in Pakistan. They always write against democratic forces and support dictator. There is a clippings available on youtube, which is being proudly owned by MQM terrorists, hassan nisar praising Musharraf and denouncing democracy. Zia Shahid and Hassan Nisar made big fortunes by siding with Qabza group in Punjab especially in Lahore, Islamabad and Rawalpindi. Zia Shahid once was not paying any thing to his reporters, just telling them bring whatever news and we will publish it and you will get the money from the people you will be representing. That’s how these people work and get paid.

• swat yosufzai said:

change this Topic now
    there are more impotrant news as well lets also talk about them
    It seems you keep one topice here for mre than 2 day …you dont get time to put another one …. dont be ignorant

we want to know who are the real culprits of ~Karachi crisis

Geo Tv has also become a rubish one
    Just look at the head lines every Hour ..there is nothing accept Bolliwood and IPL ,,,it Mean the Headline Are Actually atvertisment for other Geo Network Channel.. AAG and Super….Good Way of business…

• sefasne said:

Folks in our Pakistan we appreciate the person who is the loudest in demeanor, shrillest in speech, most bogus in writings, dirtiest in antics and language, filthiest in character BUT proudest of all that. The rule of thumb is “CHOR UCHHAKKA CHAYDHRY TE LUNDI RUNN PERDHAN”. I still vividly remember the day in 1972, it was after the creation of Bangladesh and beginning of late Mr. Z. A. Bhutto’s regime. I was a “UMAR QAID” qaidi in district jail Gujrat when Mr. Bhutto was to deliver his first major speech at Nishtar Park, Karachi. All the prisoners including me were gathered around the Jail radio to listen to the speech with a hope that the new “MARTIAL LAW ADMINISTRATOR” will grant some remission in prison sentences. It was also planned that he would recognize Bangladesh as a sovereign nation in that speech but some members of the public created such a hoopla that the “FAKHR-E-ASIA” could not continue his speech. When the audience in Nishtar Park would not budge and not get quiet the “GREAT QUAID-E-AWAM” utter those historical words “O BHEN CH–O BETH JAO BETH JAO”. When those words were heard on that radio in Gujrat Jail, all the prisoners went ballistic with emotion and burst into “QUAID-E-AWAM ZINDABAD” and “FAKHR-E-ASIA ZINDABAD”. Every single qaidi was saying “HEY NA JANAY DA PUTTER”. My friends, that is our psyche. Look at the creed of our leaders, journalists, ulema-e-karam and even our relatives. We value those who are more corrupt and give them more respect. Same goes for our journalists.This whole society has become decadent. SUB KE MOUNH KALE HEIN. PAKISTAN EK BEHTI NADDIA HE AUR ISS MEIN SUB HATH DHO RAHE HEIN.
    Only the people like me who either don’t have courage or have no sources to rob this country sit on the sideline and complain. Well God Bless You All.
    Parvez

• shimatoree said:

@Adnan Arshad Mansoori

My purpose in saying what I did was that in Pakistan the only system which does have legitimacy and will work is Sharia-. This does not mean it the selective sharia which the Talibs have used in their area of control from time to time

All these people who rant and rave about the constitution and it being Islamic are disingenuous because with all the Islamic Nazaryati councils- all attempts at making the Constitution Islamic have been blocked by various techniques.

This constitution is a replica of the British Indian Legal code- camaflouged very well and put in place by western educated lawyers who are comfortable with a system of which they are a product of just like the West paid human rights activists and so on.

• ndmalam said:

every one is making money.
    tell me who is not.
    and they abuse when asked why. they are right.
    they are great personalities of the country , let us salute them all and say,
    Well done sir, you have made a lot of money, Make more,
    that is the art of day.

• syed1508 said:

Journalist are not from different planet. They can go deep in corruption as an ordinary Pakistani can do. This all depend on the character of individual and familty backgroun plus education. Majority of our journalish are biased, 50% are corrupt, 25% plays in the hands of Govt agencies and remaining are puppet of rulling party.
    If we see the past history that electronic media played important role to bring Musharraf Govt down in his last 2 years.
    Journalist and anchormen were receiving cash money from two major political parties against the Musharraf and they did their job for which they were paid for.
    During Musharraf;s 8 or 9 years these journalists were supporting the Govt but soon they got an opportunity they showed their real faces.
    Islam emphasizes character building and our leaders, judges, lawyers and media people are lacking this quality and that is the reason the majority of Pakistanis are in deep trouble.
    Majority of our people are so corrupted that they have lost shame and respect and their families are adopting western culture and media are supporting these peeople.

• freemason said:

Just wondering if any of the addressees of the letter responded. Its only the poor bloggers and commentators venting out their frustration?

• bechari-awam said:

A new column by NN. It looks like everyone is playing plot, plot and cashing on the backs of deserving ones

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/may2009-daily/01-05-2009/col2.htm

on a side note, the only thing I like about NN is his prem0nitions. His tone in the column suggests that AZ govt is going to fall soon and he is pretty sure that NS will be coming back so he is trying to swing to their sides as always.

• afisadi said:

Journalists are always above the law. Its true. Take your history and tell me how many journalists are made accountible? How many journalists took news print quota in Zia regime? How many went to Umra? What about govt advertisements? What about Zia Shahid, who made millions with yellow journalism. Many journalists have accounts in foreign countries.
    Most popular newspaper daily Mashriq was sold to PPP MNA brother on only 85 lakhs, as its printing press was worth to 30 lakhs.
    Its the one of the most strongest mafia in Pakistan, even stronger than military. I challenge that our “brave” chief justice can not take Suo motu action them

• wattariq said:

today morning i heared the talk of mr. Nazir Naji and felt ashamed that our so old journalist. From last 30 years i am listening his comments on the politics of my country, listening criticizem by him on our politicians and he himself so cheap person. i think i wasted my time while listening his discussions. Next time when i will see him on a channel i will immediately change the channel.

• ZAB said:

TO all MEDIA, GEO, ARY, INDUS, AAG, & ALL:

Please stop bringing all old journalists like Naji, Shami, etc. Instead bring Professors of Universities from Political Science, Journalism, Business & Economics. Also bring small businessmen, unknown writers/intellectual, and entrepreneurs. They can bring better fresh ideas than people like Shami & Naji who are absolutly disguesting.

ZAB

• State of Pakistan - “Egotism is the anesthetic that dulls the pain of stupidity.” » An Open Letter to all Journalists: Would GEO/Jang Group publish the names? said:

[...] Open Letter to all Journalists: Would GEO/Jang Group publish the names? An Open Letter to all Journalists  (courtesy [...]