l Visitors Views & News – Week 4, May 2009 | Pakistan Politics
{ 211 comments... read them below or add one }

• savage said:

Lets start this thread with khwarjis, after all this killing, chaos and destruction in the country they thought lets become Ghandi’s disciples instead of Darul Ulloom Deoband.

Go Army and kill these Indian dogs.

طالبان: سکیورٹی فورسز پر فائر نہ کرنے کا حکم

تحریکِ طالبان پاکستان کے ترجمان مسلم خان نے کہا ہے کہ مینگورہ شہر میں طالبان کو سکیورٹی فورسز پر فائرنگ نہ کرنے کا حکم دیا ہے۔ ان کا کہنا ہے کہ یہ حکم اس لیے دیا گیا ہے کہ لوگوں اور ان کی املاک کو نقصان نہ پہنچے۔

انہوں نے کہا کہ ’تاہم طالبان مینگورہ شہر میں ہی اپنے اپنے ٹھکانوں پر موجود رہیں گے‘۔

اس کے علاوہ طالبان کا گڑھ سمجھے جانے والے علاقے قمبر میں بھی اسی حکمتِ عملی کو اپنانے کا اعلان کیا گیا ہے۔

نامعلوم مقام سے بی بی سی بات کرتے ہوئے طالبان ترجمان نے دعویٰ کیا کہ چہار باغ کے علاقے میں بارود سے بھری ایک گاڑی پر سوار ایک خود کش بمبار نے ایک چیک پوسٹ پر حملہ کیا ہے۔ تاہم ہلاکتوں کے بارے میں تفصیلات ابھی موصول نہیں ہو سکیں۔

فوج کا کہنا ہے کہ چہار باغ میں اس طرح کا کوئی واقعہ پیش نہیں آیا۔

مبصرین کا خیال ہے کہ طالبان کو مینگورہ شہر میں شکست ہو چکی ہے جسے وہ حکمتِ عملی کہہ کر چھپا رہے ہیں۔

• Ghost Of TK said:

I would really like to see this Na-Muslim Khan and Fuzz-lull and his R&AW and Mossad buddies tried in a court of law along with a supreme court inquiry commission into the causes of the fall of Swat to so called “Talibs”. They should look into why it was allowed to happen? why the DCO of swat pulled all these stunts and gave legitimacy to that traitor Fuzlalulla by praying behind him, trapping SSG commandoes into talib ambush and countless other actions contrary to his duties … That SOB DCO must be arrested and put in jail and tried for treason! along with anyone else military or civil who assisted these animals in destroying the peace of Swat valley.

Is munafiq namuslim khan ki qamaR par 2000 durray lagai jain! SOB! piece of garbage!

• Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar said:

@pak.nukes,

you back from Mardaan yet? give me a buzz if you’re back.

• savage said:

I would love to see this dog killed with na-muslim khan, baitullah mehsood just like LTT’s Parbharkaran.

Pakistani troops retake part of Mingora after battle with Taleban

….
    A senior security source told The Times that Mullah Fazlullah, who is spearheading the Taleban insurgency, had been surrounded in Mingora with some of his top commanders. Some reports suggested that Mullah Fazlullah, who is also known as Mullah Radio because of his pirate FM radio broadcasts, could have been seriously wounded during the fighting.

• Shirkuh said:

Ad hoc solutions can be counter productive. We now have 2.4 million registered IDP’s. Most probably there are even more IDP’s living in relatives/friends houses etc.. When will their miseries end? Has AZ/Kiyani a planning or is it like all other “democratic” decisions?

• razaafzaal said:

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/may2009-daily/25-05-2009/col3.htm

Swat ke baad waziristaan – by Hamid Mir

finally someone educating people lol too late hamid mir

• Muhammad Usman said:

PTI fans

You guys calim to be supporter of Messehah of the nation and want to do wonders .
    But look at your behaviour on this site.

You cant stand any critique.
    You can not tolerate any other opinion.
    some of you are using indecent language.
    if we can say anything aginst president zardari, Nawaz sharif , Asfand yar WHY NOT IK.\
    is he a god/.

Look at your behaviour.

• vampire cLutch said:

PTI is a virtual party. It has a strong presence on web.

IK has a fan base working / spamming in different political and non-political forums…… and i believe most of these PTI webmasters live out of country !! shayad ain time vote denay bhi na puhunch sakein .. ;)

Han ager polling internet per ho gi then they will nail it ;)

IK needs more prominent figures to join his party and focus on broadening the team-strength & value instead of making these fans to spam these web forums and blogs.

• fareed said:

prominant people like, wasi zafar, dr. sher afgan, safdar waraich,JUI,pervez ilahi ,Ijazulhaq, mustafa khar etc?????????

• fareed said:

@Muhammad Usman
    you are very welcome to critise PTI and IK but please with some logic may be we learn something new from your criticism.

• vampire cLutch said:

prominent & honest to be precise

• mbokhari said:

Dropping Like Flies

More media holy cows face the chopping block.

Guzarish ye hai…

• zahidbinmustafa said:

@mbokhari
    “Guzarish ye hai…”
    you missed “Hazooor eee wala… ” :)

I can’t believe that how do they sell their “words” from one person to another like a prostitue!!!!
    Few example:
    Hassan Nisar—Then Mushi now Kali mata
    Aftab Iqbal–then Pervaiz Elahi now zardari
    Nazir Naji…anyone who is in govt
    Asadullah Ghalib—like naji
    Haroon Rashid–then Akram Awan, now Imran
    Irfan Siddique—NS’s spoksperson
    and continueeeeeeeee

• dildar said:

Balochi letter to editor of Peshawar FRONTIER POST

A plea to Baloch people
    Eisa Khan Pishin

I will urge my Baloch brothers not to become fool again as Baloch nationalists are asking for independence from federation. These nationalist leaders are all ‘sardars’ and will not do anything for the people of Balochistan. They are doing it as they realize that their sardari will be finished if they remain with Pakistan which is already weaken due to development process started.

The ‘sardari’ system should had been abolished when Pakistan came into being. The history of these ‘sardars’ tells us that they don’t even believe in equal rights. No ordinary Baloch can sit along with sardars and no one can come to them with shoes on. They are one of the richest people of Balochistan but during the last 60 years history of Pakistan they have not spent a penny from their own pocket for the welfare of the poor Balochis but are just shedding tears of crocodiles in the name the ‘miseries’ of Baloch people.

I will request my Baloch brothers to reject them again as they always did it to win elections ang maintain their hold over the people still livivg in the tents and a majority of them always remains on the move in search of water and food.

My dear poor-streta brothers their tears and utterings against educated people and people well educated in engineering and medical professionals (outsiders) who have put their live in danger by working in Balochistan are really working for the welfare of our Baloch brothers and sisters. For an example, if there were no qualified medical doctors and our Baloch sister falls ills will there be any lady doctor to examine her and prescribe some medicine?

In case of nonavailability of any doctor she will have the only remedy to say good bye to this word even at the most young age.

Our Baloch brothers should try to understand that nowadays there are no diseases of minor nature. In the past old people were used to employ old methods to treat the patients. Now it is a time called modern and fast moving time diseases spread like fire in the jungle or like air.

Another major cause of the diseases are urea used to get more and more crop production.

The next is pestisides sprayed on crops even on pluck-able vegetables and watermelons and other fruit which are considered most beneficicial for the people’s health but they play havoc with it.

My dear brothers and sisters I will once again earnestly appeal to all you that that there are two options before us: First, whether we want to remain in the dark age of centuries ago and continue to suffer from the miseries and diseases and die considering it as our luck; or want to change our luck and provide a bright future to ourselves and our coming generations.

The time is fast moving and it waits for none. Once a scholar has said that time says,”Earlier you have wasted me and now I will destroy you.”

• mbokhari said:

@zahidbinmustafa

LOL

@dildar

A simple, good and basic letter. Trouble is, not a lot of people read the English press in Pakistan, much less in Balochistan province.

Media’s reach is less relevant in small hamlets in interior Balochistan and it is more difficult for them to change perceptions. The perception of an occupying Punjabi army has been too successfully instilled. Bugti’s killing, Dr. Shazia Marri’ rape etc has only fanned the flames.

It is time now for grand gestures. For grand bargains. For better or worse, the Baloch people as a whole have to be listened to. I think even a constitutional protection on demographic balance for a set period of time, say 20 years, needs to be looked at carefully. NFC award needs to be recalibrated. Even if the Sardars are venomous vipers, it is time to honor them. It is time to honor the memory of Bugti, now that he is dead and dead men tell no tales. Balochistan has practically slipped away and any and everything must be done to reverse that slide.

The grains of sand that is time are fast seeping out of our hands.

• savage said:

I saw lots of Haroon Rasheed bashing. ;) But his today columns is worth reading, he suggested that Qazi, JI ameer, IK should be (dropped) in Swat by choppers to see what their desperadoes are in real. I would like to add that one-way ticket should also be given to TTP (Tahreek-e-taliban pkpolitcs).

http://jang.com.pk/jang/may2009-daily/26-05-2009/col3.htm

• savage said:

@mbokhari

Is this Noorani not the same guy who exposed Naji????

• Kashif said:

@savage

Well said.

• waw said:

Well some of you like muslim khan and Fazlullah to be killed soon but i bet they will not. They are the big source of income for us, more than the oil and gas fields of saudi arabia and iran believe me. We are receiving billion of dollars. Peace at this stage will be disastrous. Let us continue with them untill we produce/start another spring of income in Waziristan or elsewhere in pukhtunkhwah. These are our old precious projects since 1980s- although then these were ourbrave mujahids and heros. Pakistan is now a loan/aid based economy. Look at this critical stage- no electriciy-no water-n0 gas- how can we end these projects. Long Live Pakistan.

• Gul said:

@waw

That is the most coldly cynical and bitter view of it all I have come across so far.

But even though history bears out what you say, I think reality has changed in that quite belatedly the Americans have also realised that we took then for a ride as much as they did us. Now, they have promised not to hand over blank cheques. Hopefully, they’ll manage some transparency/ accountability/control of the funds given hence.

Also, the public is onto what has been happening, and should be able to apply some pressure. There will most likely be a public demand for the funds to go through organisations like ngos etc with independent commissions auditing them.

Anyway, whether for the above reasons or not, I still have hope. I guess I’m a hopeless optimist. :-)

• Malek said:

SC declares Sharif brothers qualified to contest elections
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=78676

ISLAMABAD: Supreme Court (SC), after hearing review petitions filed by Sharif brothers against their disqualification, declared Nawaz Sharif and Shahbaz Sharif qualified for contesting elections.

SC five-member bench led by Justice Tassadaq Hussain Jilani and comprising of Justice Nasirul Mulk, Justice Sheikh Hakim, Justice Moosa K Leghari and Justice Ghulam Rabbani was hearing from May 11 the review petitions filed by Nawaz Sharif and Shahbaz Sharif against their disqualification on the conviction in plane hijacking case and default case respectively.

Earlier, Lahore High Court (LHC) in its verdict had declared Nawaz Sharif, a convict in plane hijacking case, disqualified for contesting elections, while a petition was filed in the Election Tribunal against the acceptance of Shahbaz Sharif’s nomination paper and on a divided decision of the Tribunal members, Chief Election Commissioner had allowed Shahbaz Sharif to contest the election, but thereafter, LHC on a petition against the Tribunal decision declared him disqualified for contesting elections in a default case.

Meanwhile, Shahbaz Sharif getting elected from the Bhakkar provincial assembly seat had become Punjab chief minister. Thereon, the federation and Sharif brothers’ proposers had filed petitions in the SC against the decision of the LHC. Following Sharif brothers’ refusal to appear before the PCO judges and SC three-member bench, during hearing of the petitions for nearly eight months, summoned Sharif brothers in the court for four-times, but they didn’t comply. Finally, the court on February 25 acting unilaterally upheld the LHC verdict of Nawaz Sharif and Shahbaz Sharif’s disqualification.

Following the court decision, Shabaz Sharif stepped down from the post of Punjab chief minister and Governor rule was imposed in the province. Later on March 16-restoration of the deposed judges, Sharif brothers filed review petitions in the Supreme Court. The court in its initial hearing on March 31 issuing stay order against the earlier SC three-member bench decision, directed Shahbaz Sharif to continue working as Punjab chief minister.

• Malek said:

@DMIN

i think your title page needs to be updated with the above news item?………….when you wake up!

• Cogito-Ergo-Sum said:

Nawaz, Shahbaz can contest elections: Supreme Court

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/04-sc-nawaz-shahbaz-sharif-qs-05

• econfused said:

Another beauty by Nazir Naji’s fame?

http://jang.com.pk/jang/may2009-daily/26-05-2009/col9.htm

If you read this article, it seems like Haroon Rasheed also in same category as that of Naji

• razaafzaal said:

@gv

thanks dude once again, best of the lot

“Stephen Cohen: Aqil has captured the essence of the Pakistani security establishment’s paranoia, but even paranoids have enemies, and no Pakistani soldier (or intelligence functionary) will soon forget that their country was cut in half by India. Most of them see things through an India-tinted lens, and have always feared that the United States might choose India over Pakistan — a fear confirmed by the US-Indian nuclear deal. Other Pakistanis have a more nuanced view of the world.”

• AClarionCall said:

@Ghost Of TK

Very well said; it is time to bring justice to traitors like this Swat DCO who is also responsible for deaths of some soldiers. I also read on this blog he belongs to Jamat -e- Gher Islami. What a shame! Jamatis are world’s biggest begharat and besharam. We need a full Army clean up operation and kill every single Taliban animal with minimal loss or ideally no loss of civilian lives.

Pakistan Zindabad Taliban murdabad

• savage said:

Haroon Rashid’s reply to James bond Noorani, this guy is noorani is playing some dirty games.

http://jang.com.pk/jang/may2009-daily/27-05-2009/col6.htm

• urazzaq12 said:

wow, what better way to start a day than blowing up yourself on a busy road…
    I mean, what madness is this?

• mbokhari said:

• farah azhar said:

MY LAND BLEEDS TONIGHT!

My land is coloured red today,
    Coloured from the blood of innocent victims,
    Coloured from the ashes of the dead,
    My land bleeds tonight.

My cocoon ruptures today,
    Ruptures to welcome the uninvited,
    Ruptures to expose me naked,
    My cocoon deceives me tonight.

My home is a grave of burnt hopes today,
    Burnt from the deceit of men,
    Burnt from the menace of terrorism,
    My home is charred tonight.

My nation is wailing today,
    Wailing over the perennial suffering,
    Wailing over her inception,
    My nation mourns tonight.

• savage said:

For those F…g morons who were confusing pkpolitics with their comments that Talat is exaggerating the story.

Saudi Arrested in Pakistan Asked Mother’s Blessing to Perform Jihad…And Left Despite Her Refusal

25/05/2009

By Turki Al-Saheil

Riyadh, Asharq Al-Awsat- The mother of Fawzi al-Rashidi, one of the four Saudi nationals arrested by Pakistani authorities whilst disguised as a woman, could not convince her son to turn away from what he described as performing “Jihad for the sake of God” on Afghan soil.

Naif al-Rashidi informed Asharq Al-Awsat that his brother Fawzi, who appeared on television screens last week dressed in traditional brown Pakistani garments had attempting to obtain his mother’s blessing to join the ranks of the fighters along the Pakistani – Afghan border.

Naif told Asharq Al-Awsat “Fawzi would sit next to my mother and insist that she allow him to go and perform Jihad. He was attempting to go with her consent, but her position was clear on this issue, and she said that she would not forgive him if he went there.”

However Fawzi, who gave a false name to the Pakistani authorities after he was arrested in Pakistan’s tribal region along with three other Saudi nationals, did not heed his mother’s repeated calls against travelling to Afghanistan. According to Naif al-Rashidi, his brother Fawzi did not have a history of ideological fanaticism or religious extremism during his youth, and that he dropped out of education after completing Middle School.

Naif explained the circumstances prior to his brother’s disappearance from al-Qassim province in northern Saudi Arabia for Afghanistan. According to Naif al-Rashidi, in the period leading up to his brother deciding to travel to Afghanistan, Fawzi was more religious [than before] and became acquainted with a group of “bearded” religious men who would visit him at the family home.

In only a few days Fawzi al-Rashidi will have been absent from his home for a full year having departed al-Qassim province on 18 June 2008 travelling via Qatar to Afghanistan.

Naif al-Rashidi also tells Asharq Al-Awsat that his family reported his brother’s disappearance to the security authorities. Fawzi al-Rashidi also contacted his family by phone saying that he had arrived in Afghanistan. The family attempted to convince Fawzi to abandon the idea of fighting in Afghanistan but were unsuccessful.

Naif al-Rashidi told Asharq Al-Awsat that his brother Fawzi, who used to work for a private company selling Japanese cars, would publicly repeat that he was going to perform Jihad as people had “guaranteed his entry into Paradise.”

The Saudi Arabian embassy in Pakistan is contacting official authorities in Islamabad in order to identify the four Saudi nationals, and extradite them back to Saudi Arabia. Naif al-Rashidi said that he will contact the Saudi embassy in Pakistan to officially request that they follow up on his brother’s arrest.

• mbokhari said:

Taliban deputy claims responsibility for Pakistan bomb attack

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/may/28/pakistan-bomb-taliban-claim-responsibility
    ———————————————————————

A senior leader of the Taliban in Pakistan today claimed responsibility for the bomb attack in Lahore that killed at least 24 people and wounded hundreds more, saying it was revenge for the army offensive against militants in Swat valley.

Hakimullah Mehsud, a deputy to the Pakistani Taliban chief, Baitullah Mehsud, told the Associated Press that the attack on the offices of the police chief and Pakistan’s main spy agency, the ISI, was connected to the military operation.

“It was in response to the Swat operation where innocent people have been killed,” Mehsud said. The little-known group Taliban Movement in Punjab has also claimed responsibility for the attack.

Breaking News: “We love the people of Pakistan, and because of this love we politely ask the citizens of Lahore, Islamabad, Rawalpindi and Multan to please evacuate their cities because we have marked out government targets there against whom we will carry out attacks as have never happened before,” he warned.

Alert all the residents of Lhr. Multan, Pindi & Isd.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/8071307.stm

• Cogito-Ergo-Sum said:

@savage

Thanks for the news story !

“The Saudi Arabian embassy in Pakistan is contacting official authorities in Islamabad in order to identify the four Saudi nationals, and extradite them back to Saudi Arabia. Naif al-Rashidi said that he will contact the Saudi embassy in Pakistan to officially request that they follow up on his brother’s arrest.” >>>> WTF Pak Govt. must not extradite these beasts to Saudi Arabia and they must be tried and punished in Pakistan !

• Cogito-Ergo-Sum said:

@mbo

According to Hazarat Zaid Bin Hamid aka Topi Conspiracy Theorist

70% terrorists acts were committed by CIA+RAW agents !
    20% terrorists acts were committed by Mossad+RAW agents !
    9.99 % terrorists acts were committed by MI6+RAW agents !

&

Only 0.01 % terrorists acts were committed by our pious Talibans which were in fact re-action of mly operations in Swat and Fata !

• Gul said:

In ref to your post above @mb, Dawn’s report today included remarks by Baitullah’s deputy to the effect that civilians need to evacuate Lahore, Islamabad, Peshawar and Karachi!

So they think it’s funny? Well, my bets are they won’t be laughing the last laugh.

Btw, I’m not sure what’s happened, but I can’t access the full front page article any more. This seems to happen often with anti taliban news items on the Dawn site.

However, an article in the same newspaper by Dr. Tariq Rehman makes some very good points regarding the nature of this war and why it should be supported. An extract:

First, the media should motivate the whole country to contribute materially to the wellbeing of the IDPs. Secondly, the IDPs as well as the common people of Pakistan should be told clearly why we are fighting this war. They are still confused because there are people who call this America’s war or compare it with the army’s military action in Dhaka in 1971.

This is not America’s war. It will go on even if America withdraws. It is not a territorial war or a war of ethnic separatists. It is a war for a way of life, for women’s rights, for academic and media freedom, for democracy, for constitutionalism — in short, for a modern Pakistan instead of an ideological dictatorship. We owe it to our people to make this clear to them because we are asking them to sacrifice hearth and home and even life. If they are doing all this they have the right to know why they are doing it.

Yet another part of winning the battle for hearts and minds is to support the army, paramilitary, police and the Rangers — those of lower ranks including field officers who are getting killed or who are doing their duty under arduous conditions. We condemn the army without distinguishing between the high command and ordinary soldiers and officers up to the field level. Whereas upper-level military policies of the past were flawed — and maybe the use of heavy artillery, tanks and air power is dysfunctional even now — it is imperative that we support and praise those young soldiers and officers who are laying down their lives for us.

• Gul said:

And I agree with everything Dr. Rehman says, except the following:

and maybe the use of heavy artillery, tanks and air power is dysfunctional even now

The army knows what it’s doing. Military officers detailed the reasoning behind the use of heavy artillary and air power recently in one of Kashif Abbasi’s programs when he visited Buner. They also detailed the precautions undertaken to avoid collateral damage.

Moreover, the explanations given were all very plausible and people should stop this idiotic propaganda of armed forces attacking civilians blindly.

• bhola said:

@mbokhari
    @Gul
    How dare you both? Taliban and bomb blast ? you must be out of your mind. Of course this was a fake statement fabricated by some fake national or international agency, Amercians, Jwes, Indians , RAW, BLAH BLAH BLHA BLAH
    like all te previous fake videos. You should rethink about your irresponsible comments and for blaming peace loving , school building, justice seeking Taliban movement. They were purely on Dawat mission in Buner and this God forsaken military and Liberal Fascists broke the peace deal.
    So there is no peace now.

• gv said:

@gul

Agreed ! @shimatoree explained quite clearly in another post (http://pkpolitics.com/2009/05/27/loud-blast-in-lahore/#comment-215378) why the military would be hard pressed to conduct a SUCCESFUL campaign by solely relying on covert operation and precision strikes.

• Cogito-Ergo-Sum said:

Two blasts in Peshawar’s busy marketplace several dead and injured !!!

• Cogito-Ergo-Sum said:

GEO Pakistan
    Loud blast in Peshawar, 6 injured
    Updated at: 1808 PST, Thursday, May 28, 2009
    PESHAWAR: Six persons have been reported injured in a loud blast occurred here on Thursday, sources said.

Police, confirming the happening of the blast, is trying to determine its nature and exact location.

• Shirkuh said:

@Traffic, Msohail83 and Shimatoree

Can you please contact me on this email address:

sat@post.com

• Gul said:

second bomb blast in peshawer today

• AClarionCall said:

@bhola

Good sense of humour

You are right Talibans are God’s Angels; others are trouble maker.
    I was sitting with few people 2 days ago and they were still more concerned about Palestian-Israel conflict and held Israelis responsdible for everything happening in Pakistan. I disagreed and argued in vain. I kept shaing my head on the way back home.

Our people are living in dreamworld and lost ability to see good and evil.

• Shirkuh said:

@nota, shimatoree, pak.nukes, Tauqeer Akbar, Razaafzaal, Traffic, MSohail83, zahidbinmustafa and other people with similar views.

I have experienced a biased approach by the @dm!n of this site for a very long time. In fact from early on when I started as a contributor on Pkpolitics.

Some people with whom the @dm!n has good relations have excessive rights while other contributors are often in moderation (sometimes for hours) for apparently nothing. I don’t know whether it is a policy based on “you scratch my back and I will scratch yours” i.e. you can have excessive rights as long as you support or at least refrain from tarnishing PML-N party/policies.

What is the reason for this dual/dubious policy? Why does @dm!n tilt towards certain parties in regard to administer Pkpolitics. Off course he is entitled to have his own political views, but to reflect personal views when @dm!n!ster!ng Pkpolitics is NOT acceptable. Nor is it advisable to have an advertisement for any political party on Pkpolitics – paid or not paid. My suggestion is that Pkpolitics should be neutral in that regard though Pakistani interest MUST be upheld (no foreign pollutants). Until now I have only noticed an advertisement for PTI-UK. I support PTI (not a fan), but in all fairness an advertisement for that party is not advisable either!

I have repeatedly asked different questions, but in the @dm!n’s eye I do not exist. He doesn’t bother and I will not give in unless I have been convinced by logical arguments. I am not of the type of person who would indulge in the above mentioned “mutual-back-scratching” doctrine (nepotism). I have my views, and if someone wants to change them, then it must be according to the rules i.e. put forward your arguments and I will respond with mine. Lately that has not been the case regarding the Taliban issue. Maybe I am wrong, but my perception is that PML-N is in a transition phase from being in opposition to army operation against the Taliban to be a supporter of the army actions. Why? Look at the contradicting statements from PML-N leaders and look at the excessive meetings/dinners with the root cause of our grave problems i.e. US. Had PML-N been sincere they would have given a clear message to the Americans to stop interfering in PAK matters and subsequently informed the Pakistanis=their vote bank. That would only happen if they had clean intentions, but unfortunately it is all about being in the “right line” to pave the way for power.

Where is Pkpolitics guilty in the above mentioned game? They allow people with dubious characters to post excessively (different frontpage articles and agents=potboilers) which favour the army operation against “animals”, “butchers”, “throat slitters”, “jahils” etc., but to little extent we have seen sane voices (IMO) i.e. people who try to portray the issues with many different facets. These people (alongside @nota, shimatoree, pak.nukes, Tauqeer Akbar, Razaafzaal, Traffic, MSohail83, Zahidbinmustafa and other people with similar views.) have all been named as “Taliban lovers”, “supporters of terrorism” etc. “Thank you” very much for your thought provoking name calling :-( This is NOT the way forward. You people have learned very little from the mistakes our politicians have been making for the past decades i.e. no debate culture, just take decisions and maybe ask for forgiveness afterwards (and that too only if it turns out very ugly).

With the above mentioned background I have decided to make a self imposed “your comments are in moderation” i.e. I will not be participating in protest.

• Shirkuh said:

^^

Ironically I got this message “Your comment is awaiting moderation”

• Muhammad Usman said:

People dying in Peshawar today and in Lahore yesterday were all KAFIRS. These deserve this dredful death. There was no damage and precision by talibs.

Height of hypocracy on talib lovers.

Down with talib lovers. I feel they are mor edangerous than anyone.
    They can twist any thing to justify brutal acts.

Shame

• rajaahmad said:

congragulation to all those were asking miltary action last solution, is any of there family

member r in camps or in lahore blasts, peshawar blasts, if yes than they were right, force

is last resort, its amazing one hand they call zardari bad but on other hand trust his policies.

also about fauj, they make them responsible for 1971, but now these generals are trust

worthy so we all become hypocrats to just prove our point and show others how intelligent

nation we are, welcome to war zone its just start of long term govt policy

• Muhammad Usman said:

No more justifications. no politics.
    Fauj and police need our support.

• Muhammad Usman said:

People supporting talibs agenda want camps in lahore , karachi, peshawar with local displaced people. What a shame?

Rather than condeming these BRAINLESS people are twisting and playing tricks.

• shimatoree said:

@ Shirkuh

shimatoree said:

Pk Politics will have to make a decision- whether it wants a substantive debate or just foul language sloganeering.

• mbokhari said:

An explosion in Lahore yesterday, two today in Peshawar and just another one in D.I.Khan. The Qasai of Waziristan is open for business again. From the wisdom of Faiz:

= Intesaab =

آج کے نام
    اور
    آج کے غم کے نام
    آج کا غم کہ ہے زندگی کے بھرے گلستاں سے خفا
    زرد پتوں کا بن
    زرد پتوں کا بن جو میرا دیس ہے
    درد کی انجمن جو میرا دیس ہے
    کلرکوں کی افسردہ جانوں کے نام
    کرم خوردہ دلوں اور زبانوں کے نام
    پوسٹ مینوں کے نام
    تانگے والوں کے نام
    ریل بانوں کے نام
    کارخانوں کے بھوکے جیالوں کے نام
    بادشاہِ جہاں، والیِ ما سوا، نائب للہ فی الارض،
    دہقاں کے نام
    جس کے ڈھوروں کو ظا لم ہنکا لے گئے
    جس کی بیٹی کو ڈاکو اٹھالے گئے

To this day
    and
    To the pain of this day
    Today’s pain, because,
    today
    This forest of yellow leaves,
    stands separated from the full orchards of life
    My land, this forest of yellow leaves
    My land, this union of pain
    To the sad days of clerks
    To the postmen
    To the taangay walas
    To the railwaymen
    To the emaciated laborers in countless mills
    To the Lord of the Manor, Viceroy of God, the farmer
    Whose cattle were led away from him
    Whose daughter was abducted by the mighty

[THE MOST RELEVANT BITS]

پڑھنے والوں کے نام
    وہ جو اصحاب طبل و علم
    کے دروں پر کتاب اور قلم
    کا تقاضا لیے ہاتھ پھیلائے
    پہنچے، مگر لوٹ کر گھر نہ آئے
    وہ معصوم جو بھولپن میں
    وہاں اپنے ننھے چراغوں میں لو کی لگن
    لے کے پہنچے جہاں
    بٹ رہے تھے، گھٹا ٹوپ، بے انت راتوں کے سائے
    آنے والے دنوں کے سفیروں کے نام
    وہ جو خوشبوئے گل کی طرح
    اپنے پیغام پر خود فدا ہو گئے ہیں

To the students, who
    with their hands outstretched
    with the want of book and pen in them
    went to the halls and chambers
    of Warlords and Chieftains
    went, but never returned

To those innocents, who
    in their innocence
    took with them the warmth and life
    of their small hearts, their humble lives,
    to places where they got instead
    shadows of dark and eternal nights

To the heralds of tomorrow
    who like the scent of roses
    have scattered themselves in crimson mists

• urazzaq12 said:

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/16-Another-nuclear-anniversary-hs-12

What’s wrong with this hoodbuoy…

I seriously believe if we didn’t had nuclear technology, India with the help of CIA and Mossad would have waged a full-scale war against Pakistan. Well they are still trying their best to hurt Pakistan as much as they can, and they have been quite successful, but if we didn’t have nuclear technology the scenario would have been different, and different in this situation doesn’t mean GOOD!

• mbokhari said:

On the Jounralist Plots Scandal

Rauf Klasra tries to clear his name. But doesn’t really succeed.

What he succeeds in doing is casting even more doubt on his role.

• zahidbinmustafa said:

@Shirkuh said:

Ironically I got this message “Your comment is awaiting moderation”

Tragic!!!
    admin kae zakhm chupa kar rakhye khud us admin ki nazron sae
    admin sae kaisa shikwa keejye wo to abhi “nadan” howa

• Muhammad Usman said:

Journalist need to clean the house themselves, before giving u slectures.

Plots have so much attraction that it is difficult for these journalists to refuse.
    You know a bone is needed for a do g.

I can say people like hamid mir, talt , kashif shahid masood , mushtaq manhos, nusrat javed, rauf klasra, ansar ababsi, naji
    should not be given any plot. These guys are earning good salaries.

If govt want to help then they should give it poor journalist.

• Omar said:

A message from Mufti Taqqi Usmani

Even if not true, it wont harm reciting at least once.

• rajaahmad said:

our country is in mess because one general comes that bangalis are ghadars so military action, other comes do jihad so miltary action with their co-orporation, than one more general creates talibans , than one geneal tells us they are trouble makers, so miltary action,, please think who create talibans and they are ‘sonay ki murghian those lays dollors” when ever our hukmaran travels u s these issues comes alive to blackmail them
    and to get money from them At the end conclusion who is behind all these no body
    but our fauji officers and who suffers jawans of fauj and public and list goes on and on

• bhola said:

@mbokhari
    wah ji wah a very nice poem and I must say a a very good translation

• Muhammad Usman said:

Suggestion to Journalist

Please declare your assets as a good will.
    Most of you on electronic media have good salaries. Wht run after plots like doggies.?

Apply transparency to your self.

• Shirkuh said:

@Shimatoree

Did you send an email to me?

• bechari-awam said:

@Sh!rkuh
    I guess you may not read this at all but still this for you ;) I guess the problem with most of you guys is that instead of having a rational discussion, you just group together and start insu!ting others in chorus. As a result, the topic under discussion becomes a v!ctim of mud-sl!nging and point-scoring match between both sides. As an example, whenever that pity guy @dem0crate writes a comment, you along with all members of the g@ng of four (as I call it), start making fun of his writing skills etc. The same goes to many other bloggers who feel being victim!zed by you guys behaving as a group. From my side, I try to keep discussion as much cleaner as possible but sometime have to respond, but still in acceptable words, by making some satir!cal remarks.

• bhola said:

@shirkuh
    I thought you were taking a nap somewhere haven’t seen your posts lately. Agree that forum should maintain neutrality because otherwise there is no point of having a debate.
    But I dont think there should be a problem in calling taliban throat slitters because thats what they are and they heave earned themselves all the titles you mentioned so dont agree on that one.
    I had a question for you but now I dont remember, will ask later.

• Hasanm said:

Journalists have a lot to answer. What legal rights Mr Klasra is talking about? A hand picked list of most influential journalists sitting in Islamabad or other provincial capitals getting plots worth millions of rupees and the field journalists being killed in the war zone!!! This is the level of morality of these self appointed guardians of our national interests.
    The first question is why journalists should be allotted plots when no other non-governmental workers get that? Are they special? Yes, they are, because they (many of them) are best at blackmailing.
    When they ask politicians, bureaucrats, military officers and professional players about their assets and resources why donot they get enough courage and first announce what they have and how that could have been achieved in their known means of income. The ugly fact is that most of the influential journalists are on the paybooks of their respective masters.
    I think through this website we should all campaign urging journalists to declare their assets.
    Kind regards to all.

• shimatoree said:

@ Shirkuh

Yes I did. I can do it again

• fareed said:

A British Judge converts to Islam.
    http://www.viddler.com/explore/Zeemax/videos/121

• mbokhari said:

@Shirkuh

Say it ain’ so…

You say ‘some people’ have excessive posting rights, yet you weasel out of pointing out exactly who has these rights.

You cry about ‘moderation’, yet you fail to notice that your Sham-e-GhareebaN post was held up for moderation while the very next one wasn’t. Surely, the automatic moderation is not triggered by your name, but by some word you used. These words must have been added in the moderation list since some Great Contributors (nota?) used outright vulgarity and ghaleez gaaliaN against female commentators. (which you gleefully supported and abetted by the way. )

The fact is, you and the duaGoh and Adnan Arshad Mansoori etc have no argument, indeed, no capacity for rational debate. When beaten at logic, you come back with gaaliaN. When mocked on using darty darty language, you cry foul and want us to stop using the word “darty darty” :D

You want Nifaz ‘Shariat’ on this website by force. When the establishment of pkpolitics does not agree, you try to gang-up on others and start a cursing Qawali, as @bechari-awam just pointed out. When that tactic fails, you start your CHEEN CHEEN. Your mentality is completely in sync with the JI mentality: Get in power through the backdoor. You want Adm!n to impose a Zia-like martial law so you can be free to spread your darty darty fantasies. Not gonna happen.

And the most ridiculous comment you made was in regards to PMLN. You say the adm!n is pro-PMLN, and then, within the very next sentence, you say he is pro-PTI. Make up your mind, will ya? PMLN has an approval rating of 75% in Pakistan. Perhaps the prevalence of pro-PMLN sentiment in Pakistan is reflected on this site too. Another example: The poll about supporting the military operation had 64% in favor. Even by that yardstick, the majority of posters consider Taliban “throat slitters” and “animals.” You seem to think that the Taliban are not throat slitters, not animals and not butchers. Masha Allah :)

Supporters of every party have been posting on this site since it began. Different people challenge each others’ ideas, question their motives and debate each other. All very nice. If you oppose PMLN, you are free to criticize them. This website has always provided complete freedom of expression to everyone.

But you, and the pkp Taliban want the dissenting voices shut out. You cannot face criticism, questions, logic or argument. You and other great warriors decide to run away. Very brave :) Hijrat farma jaatay haiN aap log. LOL

I think the operative phrase is: Go in BhaR. I want to tell you to go and visit jahanum, go forth and multiply with yourself etc.

BUT

Pleeeeese Shirkuh, I appeal to you to return. Don’t leave us. What will this site become without you. There are millions who wake up everyday and think to themselves, “I wonder what Mahatma Shirkuh said today?” Don’t disappoint them. Come back to the sussral of Pkpolitics from your maikay :D

تم روٹھ کہ مت جانا۔۔۔مجھ سے کیا شکوہ؟؟؟
    تیرا میرا کیا رشتہ، یہ تو نے نھیں جانآ۔۔۔۔۔

• shimatoree said:

@ Shirkuh

In response to your comment above in regards to Pk Politics Admn-

The issue of PML-N that -(you raise )- they are cozying up to the Americans is valid and true . They are not going to be the free and independent leadership that we are hoping for.

On the issue of BIAS by the Admn- I do not know if the Admn has the intention or the time to block or to promote any perticuler group of commentators. If anything- it appears to me that they are too busy with other stuff to screen the filth that a lot of people put on this web site both in terms of content and language.

I think-( in my experience)- they have installed a soft ware program which automatically places IN MODERATION-( BOX)- comments which are more than 2 paragraphs. Whether anyone actually reads the comment I do not know.

Personally -I am just about fed up with the quality and level of discussion on any given topic. It just seems that there are quite a few here who lack the basic decency to stick to the topic or to look at the problem we face to-day with an analytical mindset.
    I think most of those people who are recommending and endless war against what is called Taliban- have never seen a AK 47 or a sniper rifle or a grenade or an RPG or ever have been on the receiving end of an air bombardment by air force planes.

To borrow a term- these guys are recommending Brain Surgery when they are not brain surgeons or for that matter they have never been in an operating room.

To sit in your couch and say that such and such should be hanged or beheaded or their throats slit is real easy to do- but if you are in the field yourself- there is an immediate attitude adjustment that takes place.

I am not very optimistic because the leaders at this time belong to the type of the human species.

In medicine – if your patient has an illness- you treat the cause.

It appears that these guys are only interested in treating the end result.

And that is treatment by QUACKS and it means that the patient will die

• mbokhari said:

@shimatoree

I think most of those people who are recommending and endless war against what is called Taliban- have never seen a AK 47 or a sniper rifle or a grenade or an RPG or ever have been on the receiving end of an air bombardment by air force planes.

Your logic suggests that the conduct of war should be left to the Generals and soldiers. You seem to resent that general non-military public has an opinion on the war. As an ex-military, you must be aware of Georges Clemenceau who said: “War is too serious a matter to leave to soldiers”. In a Republic, or a Democracy, public opinion plays a decisive role in the decision to go to war. It’s the public who raise regiments by their taxes. It’s the country that has the army. NOT the other way around.

As ex-military, you may have a better and closer knowledge about the minutiae of war. But the arms of the Republic are owned not by the Generals but by the people of Pakistan. The consensus in Pakistan today is for war against the Taliban. That may lead to a disastrous civil war but the fact is, today, the people of Pakistan have had enough of ready-made apologies for Taliban atrocities, ranging from Andalusia, Palestine, Afghanistan to Polio teams and Basant.

Whether the current crop of leaders are quacks or neurosurgeons is inconsequential. The public want the war and it is being fought. Could it be fought better? Yes. But that the state of Pakistan must not surrender to the Taliban seems to be the majority opinion.

Your comment about the quality of debate going down is somewhat valid and mostly stems from the Qawal group of pro-Taliban posters who see it as their religious duty to mock, belittle and ridicule dissenting opinion. Personally, I have always appreciated thoughtful comments from you and other posters. Hopefully, you’ll stick around and not be distracted.

• shimatoree said:

@ mbokhari

I am quite a blunt person and in my language I say what I mean and mean what I say.

What Clemenceau said about war and generals sounds good but simply put it is just a political slogan by a politician.

It is true that the tax payers of Pakistan pay for the Army and the defence budget just like it is true that when you go to a Brain Surgeon to have your brain tumour removed- it is you who pay the surgeon. But I am sure your are not suggesting that the patient will tell the Brain Surgeon how to do Brain Surgery !

You said that I am suggesting that the Anti-Taliban war and it’s conduct be left to the soldiers and officers .

NO I am not suggesting that but that in fact is the case because the politicians in Islamabad are too busy stealing money-( I know that for fact).

War is political policy by violent means- but it still requires a POLICY with a plan, and consideration of the economic and political consequences of War. The current quality of political leadership is NOT inconsequential at all- in FACT that is the CRUX of the matter.

You say that in a republic the public opinion decides what the Army does. Perhaps that might be true but does that make it right decision that is made by a mob of ignorant people ?
    For example- the ignorant George W. Bush attacked Afghanistan in response to this same democratic public opinion. You may call it a democratic decision but I would call it a very stupid decision and it certainly was not a wise decision- the destructive consequences of which are visible to-day . And he did not get Osama or Zawahiri.

Democracy and freedom have become the new gods to push forth the utter incompetence of the leaders of Pakistan. You are a thinking person. THINK that you want the Pakora seller be made equal to the Professor of Philosophy. If you do- then I withdraw from this forum.

On 11th September 2001 – Muhammad Ata and his cohorts attacked the HyperPower of this world the USA by crashing airplanes into the world trade center.

Imagine if the Talibs might have one or two guys who might be of that intellectual caliber and who are they facing- Zardari or Nawaz Shareef ! I think you get the idea.

There are the Islamic Qawals are only one part of the abusers- the other part-( secular Qawals) of the opposition to them are no better.

End of story.

• Amir Hameed said:

@shimatoree,
    You seem to complain a lot about the foul language and that is a fair argument because I have used foul language many times in my posts. But there are different forms of foul language; one form is where a person directly uses bad language. Another form is where a person degrades others without directly using bad language and I remember this particular comment from you that fits the latter:
    http://pkpolitics.com/2009/05/12/iri-survey-results-11-may-2009/#comment-208475

• asif65 said:

@ Shirkuh, @shimatoree

I have a guess and I hope there is a way to find it out. As the quality of comments and what mbokhari writes to you two “stick around”, i make the conclusion that this site has been bought by MQM. At the beginning it was PMLN-Pro but with the time it has been haijacked or bought by MQM. The banner PTI UK is just to make it believe that the site is against MQM.

A big detective work for all the forum readers/writer accept MQM Propagabdists!!!

I hope you two and @note and some others experience forum members can contribute to this!!!

And if it is true then everybody should avoid this site because sticking around to this site would make MQM richer and richer!!!

• Amir Hameed said:

Explosion in mosque kills 15 in southeast Iran
    —-
    Updated at: 2320 PST, Thursday, May 28, 2009
    TEHRAN: Iran’s official news agency says an explosion in a mosque has killed 15 people and wounded 50 others in southeast Iran.

Thursday’s report says officials were investigating the cause of the explosion in the Iranian city of Zahedan, some 1,000 miles (1,600 kilometers) southeast of the capital, Tehran.

It quotes an unnamed official as saying part of the mosque was destroyed and rescue teams were transferring the bodies of the dead and injured.

In 2007, a bombing by the militant group Jundallah, or God’s Brigade, said to have links to al-Qaida killed 11 members of Iran’s Revolutionary Guards in Zahedan.

The area near the Pakistani border has also witnessed clashes between Iranian security forces and drug smugglers.
    —-

We will have to wait and see if this is going to turn into something big or just a sporadic incident.

• Amir Hameed said:

@asif65,
    You may want to do some research before going too far with your MQM-theory and by research I mean read past comments of folks that you are labeling as MQM supporters and you will get your answer.

• savage said:

@mbokhari

“Pleeeeese Shirkuh, I appeal to you to return. Don’t leave us. ”

I’m already missing someone who left this site.

• mbokhari said:

@savage

I’m already missing someone who left this site.

http://pkpolitics.com/2009/05/16/visitors-views-news-week-3-may-2009/#comment-212061

well… on a selfish note, as long as pak.nukes hasn’t left the site, I’m cool… but if she’s gone, then we’ve got a serious problem that needs immediate attention…

• bechari-awam said:

“The ‘but’ Syndr0me”

http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=180006

• Kashif said:

Tehrek e Taliban Pkpolitis

Shirkuh, nota, shimatoree, pak.nukes, Tauqeer Akbar, Razaafzaal, Traffic, MSohail83, zahidbinmustafa and other people with similar views.

First of all I appreciate commander Shirukh for compiling the comprehensive list of TT-Pkp leadership.

Your attempt to make “moderation” an issue is very similar to your parent organization TTP/Al-Qaida’s attempt to make “injustice” an issue in Pakistan. Every one here is being moderated through some kind of software as commander shimatoree speculated like injustice that is not limited to Taliban strong holds Swat and FATA. Its a cancer that is spread through out the globe including Pakistan.

You are frustrated by operation rah e rast against your parent organizations despite your entire jihad on this forum. Your gurus Taliban Khan, Qazi and Hamid Gul tried their best to keep Taliban/al-Qaida atrocities out of focus and amazingly they were quite successful despite all suicide attacks, throat sittings, kidnappings and ransom. There dreams were unexpectedly shattered by a small open flogging video. That was the turning point. Until that point you never asked admin why talk shows where Taliban Khan was one of the guests were made free within first few minutes though declared policy was 24 hours lag unless you are a paid member. Why didn’t you question admin’s pro-PTI attitude. Even this moderation is not a month old phenomena. I am victim of it since past 6 months at least.

After Taliban and their gurus are exposed TT-pkp is running out of ideas to defend them on this site. Now commander shimatoree objects on foul language why didn’t he speak up commander nota was spearheading the obscenities?

I request Admin to follow frontier government’s foot steps. As they announced bounties from 5M to 1M on 21 commanders of TT-swat admin should offer something similar for TT-pkp commanders to eradicate this menace.

• savage said:

@mbokhari

Exactly that’s what I meant.

• bhola said:

@shimatoree

Supporters of military operation i.e. majority of Pakistanis are not telling the armed forces as HOW to fight the war, what ammunition to be used or how to destroy a bunker, they are simply supporting the operation. So the comparison of this support to a patient telling a neurosurgeon as HOW to do surgery is invalid.

If we follow the logic that people who haven’t seen AK-47 shouldn’t have a say about military operation, I would say that majority of people who are forcing talks and more talks and even more talks and peace deals etc haven’t seen a Talib in their wildest of dreams, haven’t ever spent any time under Taliban, yet they claim that they know thme inside out. So by that logic they should shut up too.

And finally I am sure the low IQ people like Zardari is are not the only people in our security leadership who are planning strategies against these very intelligent Taliban, To suggest that its somehow a competition betwen zardari and few theoretical intelligent characters in Taliban group is biased at best.

• Malek said:

corrupt!on corrupt!on corrupt!on

Rehman Decoit ready to pay 50 million rupees from national coffers for something that is worth only 50 rupees!
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=78998

although on this occassion i support the ‘corruption’!

• Gul said:

Interesting news from Federal Shariat Court:

The Federal Shariat Court (FSC) has declared whipping for the offence of drinking as un-Islamic and directed the government to amend the law to make the offence bailable.

A full-bench of the FSC comprising Chief Justice Haziqul Khairi, Justice Salahuddin Mirza and Justice Fida Mohammad Khan gave the ruling on Thursday after hearing the arguments that the Holy Quran asks Muslims to stay away from liquor but does not specifically declares it Haram, or prohibited.

The FSC had taken up a Shariat petition of Dr M. Aslam Khaki, who had challenged different provisions of the Prohibition Order (Enforcement of Hudood) Ordinance 1979, in which drinking was provided as Hadd, prescribing 80 lashes as punishment for the offence.

Full article: http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/national/shariat-court-rules-whipping-for-drinking-unislamic-959

• Cogito-Ergo-Sum said:

Karachi: Taliban Dacoit killed in police encounter !

http://express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100635496&Issue=NP_KHI&Date=20090529

• Gul said:

test

• Gul said:

@bechari-awaaam

Thanks for the ‘but’ syndrome article. I tried to paste an extract from it here, but perhaps the comment became too long. I thought the writer had very correctly identified people like IK and parties like JI.

In context to the reference made to them in the article, the following would be quite apt:

• Malek said:

@bechari-awam

i didnt understand the purpose of the article really whether it was to discredit IK and JI (although no way i am a supporter of these 2 ‘un-necessary organistaions’) or to praise the success of military operation!

If its the former then i think it was un-necessary as neither IK nor JI hold any importance in the current political scenarios. If however it is the latter than the writer should have checked with the Interior prisoner, who claimed today that the operation will take another 4/5 weeks to end……..with a caveat ‘nothing can be said regarding its end’

if the operation is so much a success then why ……….’nothing can be said regarding its end’

• gv said:

excellent piece by Ayaz Amir on the hypocricy of mqm

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=180005

• gv said:

from the article above

• gv said:

sorry

i meant

Amazing, is it not, that the first of our Mohajirs, uprooted from their Indian homes by the holocaust of Partition, should now be singing such a tune, so altogether bereft of sympathy, and even common understanding, for the displaced of a new generation? How times change and how sympathies and prejudices take on a new colouring.

• gv said:

@gul, ahameed, dildar

i think you guys will like this one

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=180006

• Gul said:

@gv

Yes, but calling the MQM hypocritical is just not enough. It is as plainly terrorist in nature as are the Taliban.

These scumbags own neither Karachi nor Sindh. The internal refugees are citizens of Pakistan – they do not need visas from MQM or anyone else to enter a particular city or province.

• Gul said:

@gv

Thanks. In fact, my earlier post with the cartoon was actually referring to this very article, and the hypocrisy of the talibaan sisters.

• Gul said:

@gv

In the article you just posted above, there are contradictory claims from both sides:

Khan, a 17-year-old who is quick with a smile and hopes to attend medical school, said about five militants occasionally came to a mosque. There, he said, they preached an ultraconservative brand of Islam and called for overthrowing the government because it was not implementing Islamic law. He said he did not agree with either position. Khan and others insisted the militants were not living in their homes either before or after the attack.

Versus this:

Spokesman Maj. Gen. Athar Abbas said fleeing villagers had told military officials that militants were using Khan’s house and others nearby. He said 80 insurgents were killed in the operation, and that other militants apparently removed their bodies.

As we know, the Taliban start with preaching, and slowly make strongholds where they take over administrative control of town/city and start meting out thier brand of ‘justice’. So I personally do not put much store by what this ‘khan’ is saying. We also know very well what the women of swat now say, and how utterly remorseful they are for having supported Fazlullah once. Many have said they gave their gold jewellery to Fazlullah thinking it was all for “Shariat” and teaching the Quran to their children, and that they little knew what was coming their way by way of the terror the taliban unleashed on them later.

• gv said:

@gul

I think the actual individual claims from both sides probably all have some truth in them. The story as we know is never completely one sided.

The key takeaway for me from this article is that we (as a state) need to focus on the assurance of SUFFICIENT compensation to the aggrieved so there is mimimal resentment towards the government and the military.

• mbokhari said:

• Gul said:

@gv

Totally agree re your take i.e., compensation, proper rehabilitation of those who have suffered. That is an absolute given.

However, key for me is the propaganda against the army operation. This has taken several forms in the past. Now the plight of common people is being used for this purpose, so that behind this shield the Taliban can be allowed to regroup again.

That is something one must remain vigilant about, and challenge the propaganda. Our military needs our support. They are supporting us and our rights and way of life (fundamental rights, constitutionalism, democracy, education etc).

• gv said:

@gul

“Our military needs our support.”

Very true but the public is fickle and looks to its immediate needs first. Our government(s) has a horrific track record in delivering compensation and real relief to affected people in war/disaster zones.

Therefore it is not a given that any such policy will actually be effectively implemented now or ever. A more realistic outcome is mere lip service leading to worsening of the situation in the short to medium term. The media, civil society etc needs to apply pressure on the state actors to actually deliver real results to the residents of swat/fata otherwise the military operation shall have been in vain.

Secondly a proactive approach from the government/military in providing support/assistance/aid in all forms will only serve to enhance the government/military image in the eyes of the common man and help provide single minded support of the army action.

• gv said:

@mb

Taliballls!!!!

oh S##t!

there goes the planet!

• Malek said:

Article by Hamid Mir……story of Rehmani Baksh a resident of Pir Baba area of Buner….his views on ‘Taliban’ involvement in Buner………..and finally the role of prominent political areas of Buner i.e PPP, ANP and JI.

http://jang.com.pk/jang/may2009-daily/28-05-2009/col5.htm

• lota6177 said:

@mbokhari
    maybe there needs to be a poster with the same pictures with the beards shaved. The way things are going all these lowlifes are going to shave there beards and will try to blend in.

• manzarf said:

On Sunday 24 May 2009, Maulana Mufti Taqi Usmani Sahab gave an extremely important message to the people of Pakistan during his bayan at Darul Uloom Karachi (audio~6 min):

http://www.mehboob-e-elahi.com/Download.php?BayanID=1163

• adil said:

@ all liberals FUNDIES

For all those who are fending this operation by stroking the keys of their pcs living in cool weather of europe and usa writing on blogs anathemising taliban demoing patriotism stigmatising everyone including anyone pro taliban who oppose the operation (the way it is being conducted) would u allow someone to bomb ur house to kill some blo0dy criminals who entered ur house having ur families hostages. It is very easy to say kill them eliminate them on the expenses of others who are suffering because of this operation. Cries of a woman flogged was heard all over the world but who will flick the miseries of a woman who left her disabled daughter with water and dried bread at home to save her other three children. Are we blind to see what is bumping. This is the largest displacement on the earth damn it. How many women elderly people are dying in the mountains how many people are there who left their loved ones dead bodies unburied in the mountain. Who is responsible for the wretchedness of these women giving birth to their children like animals. Who is responsible for all this bullshit taking place u me taliban amreeka isi raw cia?
    Was it gul khan from swat who rammed the god-damn plane in the twin tower. Who are these animals called talibans where did they came from. Who is creating them . Where were those sh!ting army and intelligence agencies when these animals were conglomerating . Why did they let them spread like decease why didn’t they stopped them in the beginning. Did they fell from the sky or come out of the crust what these fvcking so called intelligence agencies were doing wat the heck this army was doing whom we are feeding our share of bread for 63 years who has failed us on every hour of need. And we are stupid enough to believe that for the first time ever in the history of our Mens at their Best are going to win this war.

Why is it our ruler woken up only after these beast were 60 miles away from Islamabad or they deliberately let their advances. What was that so called NAR . Haven’t we learned anything form lal masjid operation. Y we are repeating the same mistake on a much larger scale. Is our media esp the electronic one playing a responsible role or creating a hype in the similar way it did in lal masjid saga. No sane person can endorse the brutalities of these animals called taliban but the question is who let these dogs out. In our way of living if a stranger in our locality comes in every body knows him then how come these outsiders barged in without being noticed. What our those so called intelligence agencies were doing. I’m not against this operation but im against the timing and the way it is being conducted it should have started long ago when the first few were emerged why they have let them breed like rabbits. These dogs are the creation of our establishment they have fosteraged them now they have gone mad and biting every one.

Now the question is How these simple and innocent people of swat became so cruel how and why these people became the most barbaric people on the earth what is that which compelled them to go to that extend or someone else is holding them strings. If they are outsider who is responsible for letting them in if they are indigenous (which they are) then the enemy is with in. if say this is a stratagem of cia mosad raw to engage pakistan and deprive it of its nukes (majority of pakistani does believe that) then we are doing the operation in wrong direction. If these mullah azab ulllah bait ullah muslim khan etc are product of their own ideology then by killing them we are only making them martyr we need to kill the idea not the person.

Now it is irrelevant whether we defeat them or not we have already lost the much important war of hearts and mind. We have already sowed the seeds of hatred in the heart and mind of the people who never forgets favours and enemy. Tommrow we ll b seeing more fazullah sufi muhammad muslim khan may be with the different ideology if not the same. So we have already lost the war.

• Gul said:

@lota6177

actually there needs to be a poster with all these characters in burqa :-D
    (you’re probably aware lowlifes have been trying to escape in burqas)

• Jamhooriat said:

Yes, its true that Imran Khan is going to USA n 12 June, but it may have something to do with local PTI organisation activites for fund raising etc.

• junaid said:

lota6177 said:

@mbokhari
    maybe there needs to be a poster with the same pictures with the beards shaved. The way things are going all these lowlifes are going to shave there beards and will try to blend in.

and to amir hameed SOB

they are unlike your kind of clean shaved SOB b@stards who can even change their name to joe or sam. various exp in states.

• bechari-awam said:

@Jamhooriat
    “Yes, its true that Imran Khan is going to USA n 12 June, but it may have something to do with local PTI organisation activites for fund raising etc.”

would he be coming to silicon valley too. If yes then I should gather all my old shoes for that once in a life time event.

• mbokhari said:

President Zardari accused of demanding kickback in Ransom Deal
    —————————————–
    http://www.atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/KE30Df02.html

[Hafiz Gul Bahadur of the North Waziristan's] involvement in the abduction late last year in Bunna, North-West Frontier Province (NWFP), of Canadian journalist Beverly Giesbrecht, who converted to Islam and who is now known as Khadija Abdul Qahhar, exposes the problems of dealing even with “good” Taliban, and the mess they can cause because of their connections with Pakistan.

[...]

“Maulana Fazlur Rahman [the chief of the Jamiat-e-Ulema-e-Islam party, a coalition partner in the federal government] was involved on behalf of the Canadian government. Initially, the militants did not want to release her, saying she was an American proxy. “But after Fazlur’s involvement, they agreed to let her go for a sum of 60 million rupees [US$740,000]. The deal was finalized and the Canadian government had arranged the money. Then [a few weeks ago] another development took place and everything was spoiled,” said Khawaja.

“Everything was being routed through the political agent in North Waziristan [the representative of the federal government]. He demanded that he receive 50% of the payment. According to him, a portion of the money had to go to Governor’s House in Peshawar [capital of NWFP], which would then pass on a share to the President’s Office in Islamabad.

• Amir Hameed said:

@junaid,
    Aaawww, did I step on your bearded tail? tsh..tsh…

• Wahid Doyum said:

Why should $740,000 be given to terrorists? They will only use it to buy more guns and bombs to kill Pakistanis.

• Malek said:

ARY reporting in ticker ……. a woman arrested from bhakkar station on suspicion of involvement in terror!st activities, and that she is spekaing in hindi language

• Malek said:

update on pictures of wanted posted by by mbokhari above

Qari Mushtaq, an employee of Bank of Khyber has complained that the government has mistakenly used his picture for one of the wanted militants having identical name.
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=79030

title=”lucky that the poor banker has not yet been handed dead for a reawrd of 30 lakh!!”

• mbokhari said:

@Malek

I think Chand Nawab must have filed that story :)

• Malek said:

Militants getting Nato@rms from across border
    http://www.nation.com.pk/pakistan-news-newspaper-daily-english-online/Politics/30-May-2009/Militants-getting-Natoarms-from-across-border

- Gen Athar Abbas has maintained that he sees Swat as a political problem, which can only be partially solved by military intervention and he claimed many of the Taliban’s @rms are coming across the border from Afghanistan.

- US government report last month warned that the Pentagon did not have “complete records” for about one-third of the 242,000 we@pons the United States had provided to the Afghan army, or for a further 135,000 we@pons other countries sent………………qsts is did they get lost …..’deliberately’ for specific purposes??

• Malek said:

@mbokhari

or may be filed by the very effecient Interior Prisoner Rehman Bibi?

• dildar said:

Suhail Qalandar

• pirsab101 said:

Plan to occupy Pakistan Nuclear assests is ready.Please wake up, protest and raise your concerns. Do not let it happen:
    ===========================================

The United States plans to build a massive new embassy in Pakistan’s capital, adding another several adjacent properties to the already sprawling compound to expand office space and accommodate 400 to 500 apartments, according to diplomatic insiders.

The site would expand by 18.5 hectares and buildings would be knocked down and reconstructed.

The scale of the project rivals the giant U.S. embassy in Baghdad.
    Please read the full story:

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/world/islamabad-to-get-giant-us-embassy/article1156484/

http://www.dailyindia.com/show/314772.php

• Tauqeer Akbar said:

@Kashif

Re: TTP PKPOlitics

I see my name banded around.

I demand an immediate apology from you.

I will deal with admi n in due course.

I have contributed to this site as a true Pakistani who cares about the country and wants it to progress without it being a pawn in the NEW GREAT GAME. I reject simpleton proposed solutions.

THIS MIGHT SURPRISE SIMPLETONS LIKE YOU but I supported the Army Operation against my better judgement. (Gul,mb, hameed witness)

Unfortunately those with whom I argued in favor of the operation have proven to be right. All their fears are turning out to be correct. I know YOU CAN’T cope with the information overload and if you are a sincere Pakistani you will be reviewing your support for Army Operation. After all we suffered East Pakistan Debacle, how could we not learn from history. The kind of Language I have heard from my Pakhtoon friends alarms me as I am sure it will any well meaning Pakistani.

In the end I think contributers that you listed made this site insightful. But then may be I was wrong again. You are welcome to have a debate with democrate or AClarionCall or for that Tarrarr. My apologies for missing other entertaining characters.

• mbokhari said:

• jazoo said:

Dear Ansar Abbasi Sahib

Your narrow minded religious affiliation is taking toll of your brain.
    Since when tagging the price over miscreants heads is incompetence of intelligence agencies on the contrary this seems the best strategy in present conditions.

This is not necessary Govt should know the exact whereabout of miscreants before starting an operation. They are insurgents and a gorilla is suppose to change his position every moment.
    Its told there were about 5000 attempts on the life of Yasir Arafat but every time he evade because he change his position frequently, we are also told Israelis is the best intelligence Agency in the world.
    When Mossad could not know exact whereabout of Yasir Arafat in a very small area, how Pakistani Agencies could be sure of insurgents whereabout in a large hilly area but you wasted no breath in writing a reprimanding article on so called failure of Agencies.

What bother me most its best startegy so far taken by Govt. and your criticism imo loaded with malice since knowing your religious wahabi background.
    Tagging the price over the heads of these insurgents definitely would curtail there free movement and their ability to command.

If I were the head of this Govt. with this CJ in seat, I would have recomended treason charges on you because when Army Jawans are dying in battlefield you are spreading a propaganda full of malice against Pak Army.
    Your intentions could be nothing but to demoralize Army fighting in the battlefield.

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/may2009-daily/30-05-2009/main2.htm

• Tauqeer Akbar said:

A sad sad Day for concerned Pakistanis

The last message for Pakistan
    Abid Ullah Jan
    http://www.dictatorshipwatch.com/2009/05/21/the-last-message-for-pakistan.html

“War and violence is not a solution to anything at all. War is imposed on Pakistan from outside as is the reaction to that war carefully engineered by the same forces. This combination of war and counter violence is called the ‘war within Pakistan.’ Peace is the only answer to the imposed war and planned balkanization of the country.”

“The Tribal-belt is deliberately being depopulated in a bid to stave off any future resistance in the case of planned Balkanization and denuclearlization of Pakistan. The U.N. says 1.5 million flee in Pakistan as it prepared to launch its well-known internationalising mission. The US has finally declared that if has plans to secure Pakistan’s nuclear weapons if the country to the Taliban. It means that its now necessary for the warlords to make Pakistan, at least, appear to be losing to the Taliban (if in fact that is not the case at all). This makes an end to the bloodshed all the more important.

With this last message, DictatorshipWatch has decided to cease its commentary on the news reports because from now onwards it would be no more than a running commentary on the planned demise of Pakistan and the agony of our loved ones – an agony that could have been avoided if any of our earlier analysis had been taken seriously.”

I WILL CEASE TO COMMENT ON THIS FORUM AS I AM NOW CERTAIN THAT PKPOLITICS has lost it’s purpose.

Best Regrads
    PAKISTAN ZINDABAD

• mbokhari said:

Mingora liberated !!
    ——-
    http://hosted.ap.org/dynamic/stories/A/AS_PAKISTAN?SITE=AP&SECTION=HOME&TEMPLATE=DEFAULT&CTIME=2009-05-30-07-02-14
    ——–

ISLAMABAD (AP) — Pakistani troops have retaken the largest town in the Swat Valley from the Taliban as the army presses its offensive against militants in the country’s northwest, the army spokesman said Saturday.

Government forces had full control of Mingora, though they were still meeting pockets of resistance from fighters on the outskirts of the town, Maj. Gen. Athar Abbas told The Associated Press.

The military launched a major offensive one month ago in the Swat Valley and neighboring areas to oust Taliban militants who were extending their control over the northwestern region, near the border with Afghanistan.

The campaign is strongly backed by Washington and the government’s other Western allies, who see it as a test of the government’s resolve to fight extremism in the Pakistan.

“As far as Mingora city, security forces have taken over,” Abbas said. “There are still pockets of resistance. They are on the periphery of Mingora city.”

Government troops have been advancing steadily into the Swat region, bombarding towns from the air and fighting house-to-house with Taliban gunmen.

The fighting has caused more than 2 million people to flee the region, raising fears of a humanitarian crisis. More than 160,000 people are taking refuge in sweltering refugee camps south of the battle zone, while the rest are staying with relatives or relying on goodwill from local residents.

• mbokhari said:

Ali Gillani, et tu?

• bhola said:

They left their Children , their wives, their Mothers and Fathers, their beloved homes, they left in Khaki uniforms, fathers , husband, and sons. Some of them left , never to come back. Their Mothers will never cook them another meal, their wives will never see them smile again, their children will never get kissed by them ever again. They marched into the darkness of the night and will not see the sunrise again.
    I salute the ones who were brave enough to die like men.
    Regardless of what our army did to this country, those who died fighting are and will remain heros and sons of the soil.

• Jammy said:

@all ….

The Destabilization of Pakistan
    By GARY LEUPP

So far the principle result of the U.S. invasion of Afghanistan following the events of 9-11 has been the destabilization of Pakistan. That breakdown is peaking with the events in what AP calls the “Swat town” of Mingora—actually a city of 375,000 from which all but 20,000 have fled as government forces moved in, strafing it with gunships. We’re talking urban guerrilla warfare, house-to-house fighting, not on the Afghan border but 50 miles away in the Swat Valley. We’re talking about Pakistani troops fighting to reclaim the nearby Malam Jabba ski resort from the Tehreek-e-Taliban, who since last year have been using it as a training center and logistics base. We’re talking about two million people fleeing the fighting in the valley and 160,000 in government refugee camps.
    And of course, “collateral damage”: As was reported in The News in Pakistan May 19:
    Several persons, including women and children, were killed and a number of others sustained injuries when families fleeing the military operation in Swat’s Matta town were shelled while crossing a mountainous path to reach Karo Darra in Dir Upper on Monday, eyewitnesses and official sources said. Eyewitnesses, who escaped the attack or were able to reach Wari town of Dir Upper in injured condition, said they were targeted by gunship helicopters. However, police officials said they might have been hit by a stray shell. Local people said they saw some 12 to 14 bodies on a mountain on the Swat side but could not go near to retrieve them or help the injured for fear of another aerial attack.
    What a nightmare scenario for Pakistan.
    We’re talking about the Pakistani Army sometimes fighting over the last year to retake towns from Taliban forces in the Buner region of the North-West Frontier Province that are closer to the capital of Islamabad than the Afghan border. And while the Talibs apparently lack popular support, even among the Pashtuns (who are 15 % of the Pakistani population—26 million and 42% of the Afghan population—14 million) they have been able to inflict embarrassing defeats on the army.
    Tehreek-i-Taliban leader Baitullah Mahsud, head of the militant forces in South Waziristan, established his credentials when his forces captured 300 Pakistani soldiers and traded them for about 30 imprisoned militants in the fall of 2007. Time and again the several (sometimes rival) “Taliban” forces, which did not exist before the U.S. invasion of Afghanistan created them, have forced the government to negotiate terms. Most recently in February Islamabad agreed to the implementation of the Sharia in the Swat Valley in exchange for peace. The Taliban broke the agreement in April, or so the story goes, and the army claims it’s killed 1,100 militants since.
    But curiously as of Sunday it claimed to have killed only 10 Taliban, while boasting of seizing (according to AP) “a spot nicknamed ‘bloody intersection’ because militants routinely dumped the mutilated bodies of their victims there.” On Monday I read of another four dead militants but the Taliban announced through a spokesman that they would maintain “aides” in place in the city, cease fire, and advise civilians to return. It appears most have retreated to other towns, including Buner and Daggar where fighting goes on now. This they can do under cover of the masses of refugees of course.
    Now think of what has happened here. Whether or not this was Osama bin Laden’s conscious plan, the local, ethnically-based, ideological movement most receptive to his own (i.e., the Taliban, or more precisely, multiple talibans on the Pakistan side of the border) has flourished since the U.S. attack upon Afghanistan in response to the 9-11 attacks. The imperialist response to 9-11 inflamed Pashtunistan. The toppling of the Taliban itself aroused indignation among many Pakistani as well as Afghan Pashtuns. Some militants fleeing east met with the traditional Pasthtunwali welcome, as they would under less stressful circumstances, and beyond that political sympathy.
    The drone missile attacks, the civilian deaths, the contemptuous official denials, the repeated insults to national sovereignty, the connivance of the regime in power, have angered many, perhaps most, Pakistanis. While the Taliban has undergone a quiet resurgence in southern Afghanistan, leading U.S. generals to conclude that a military solution to the war is impossible, bands of religious “students” gathering around tribal leaders and warlords in Pakistan forming the umbrella “Movement of the Taliban” or Tehreek-e-Taliban under Mahsud have been able to generate this kind of chaos.
    The Army had been deployed before against Indian and Chinese forces. But the disproportionately Pashtun force had never confronted or been trained to confront fanatical Pashtun jihadis—particularly when the issue was the implementation of the Sharia. Not surprisingly it performed badly and Islamabad wound up cutting a deal in February to implement Islamic law in the Swat Valley. U.S. Defense Secretary Gates can criticize that judgment in stating, “We want to support [the Pakistanis]. We want to help them in any way we can. But it is important that they recognize the real threats to their country.” And Secretary of State Hillary Clinton can tell Congress, “I think the Pakistani government is basically abdicating to the Taliban and the extremists [by making a peace deal in Swat]. Changing paradigms and mindsets is not easy, but I do believe there is an increasing awareness of not just the Pakistani government but the Pakistani people that this insurgency coming closer and closer to major cities does pose such a threat.”
    It’s easy to lecture about such things, to judge the actions of another government facing a crisis. But isn’t it obvious that what Clinton has since at least April been calling Pakistan’s “existential threat” wouldn’t be closing in on the cities of that country had the U.S. not responded to 9-11 with the knee-jerk bombing of Afghanistan and the toppling of the Taliban? President Pervez Musharraf has recalled that Deputy Secretary of State Richard Armitage told him soon after 9-11 to “prepare to go back to the Stone Age” if he didn’t cooperate with the U.S. in the war on terrorism. The existential threat to Pakistan was the Bush administration!
    The Bush administration pressured Musharraf to deploy the Pakistan Army in border provinces where it had never been deployed and where its very presence was perceived as a provocation. The result was the September 2005 “peace agreement” in which the government agreed to halt military operations along the border and dismantle checkpoints in return for tribal leaders’ commitment to end support for militancy and prevent cross-border incursions into Afghanistan. It was a face-saving defeat for the regime that drew U.S. criticism, as have all subsequent deals with the militants, which have in any case broken down, like the February deal in Swat.
    The 2005 agreement followed the notorious Lal Masjid episode in Islamabad when the security forces stormed an important seminary and hotbed of Islamist activism. The khatib (prayer-leader) had been dismissed for issuing a fatwa stating no Pakistani Army officer could be given an Islamic burial if died fighting the Taliban, and then the mosque had risen up in general rebellion, sparking solidarity attacks on government forces by militants in North Waziristan and the North West Frontier Province (NWFP). The government was forced to back down.
    That’s been the pattern ever sense. Get tough on the “insurgents,” with U.S. prodding, and funding, and threats of funding reduction and direct intervention. Then negotiate with tribal and religious leaders, recognizing locals’ mistrust of outsiders, the Pakistani state, and its international backers which the mullahs may identify as U.S. imperialism and Zionism. And watch both carrot and stick policies fail as Pakistan’s own homegrown Taliban insurgency swells alongside the recrudescent original next door.
    Now, while the Pakistani Army is still struggling to take control of Mingora and the Taliban is regrouping, the insurgents have pulled off a brazen attack on the Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) office compound in Lahore, in eastern Pakistan, on the border with India, killing about 30 and injuring 250. The irony here of course is that the Taliban was nurtured by the ISI in the 1990s and the attackers may well have known the location of ISI offices for that very reason.
    Such terror has Bush’s war on terror visited on Pakistan, with no end in sight. And Obama’s war in “Af-Pak,” reliant on a troop surge, more Predator drone attacks, and maybe some “divide and conquer” tactics, hold out little promise for relief. U.S. officials screw up their faces as if genuinely puzzled about while the Pakistanis aren’t doing more—as if puzzled about why they don’t understand that their existence is at stake. The fact is that they are the ones on the outside looking in, who do not understand that the interests of U.S. imperialism do not cause religious and national and ethnic sensibilities to disappear or make it possible for local leaders, even those on the imperialist payroll, to snap their fingers, crush local resistance and produce social peace. The interests of U.S. imperialism in this case, in the form of regime change in Afghanistan, and the way it was done, have antagonized much of the Pakistani population.
    This is Washington’s unwanted gift to Islamabad, for which Islamabad keeps getting paid and keeps paying.

• mbokhari said:

I WILL CEASE TO COMMENT ON THIS FORUM AS I AM NOW CERTAIN THAT PKPOLITICS has lost it’s purpose.

Dair Ayed Darust Ayed. A firm decision whose time had come. You should have done this a long time ago :)

ہمیشہ دیر کردیتا ھوں
    ہمیشہ دیر کر دیتا ھوں میں ہر کام کرنے میں
    ضروری بات کہنی ھو، کوئی وعدہ نبھانا ھو
    اُسے آواز دینی ھو، اُسے واپس بلانا ھو
    ہمیشہ دیر کردیتا ھوں

منیر نیازی

• bhola said:

what the name of the new forum created/planned by IDPs of pkpolitics ?

• Gul said:

@bhola

My sentiments exactly:

They left their Children , their wives, their Mothers and Fathers, their beloved homes, they left in Khaki uniforms, fathers , husband, and sons. Some of them left , never to come back….I salute the ones who were brave enough to die like men. Regardless of what our army did to this country, those who died fighting are and will remain heros and sons of the soil.

And we have specimens like these whose only purpose seems to be to confuse the people and demoralise the men in khaki. To what end, I don’t know.

• Gul said:

@bhola

It might be called “Muzakiraat”. No pun intended of course.

• sic5770 said:

http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100636428&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20090530

Why Zardari always have to wear Sindhi topi, is he the president of Sindh or representing the whole Pakistan?

How would Sindhi people would have feel if Nawaz Sharif would have wearing dhooti when he was the Prime Minster?

• razaafzaal said:

@mbokhari

Some freedom of speech from liberals lol. Atleast Taliban’s use thier own hands to stifle dissent, liberals always asking someone else to do their dity deeds, in this case the admin, hai hai hypocrisy

bol ke lab azad hain tere
    bol zaban ab tak teri hai
    tera sutaavan jism hai tera
    bol ke jaan aab tak teri hai

Faiz:)

• Gul said:

Rooth na jana, tum say kahoon tau
    me in ankhon me rahoon tau
    ……zara tarannum ke saath

• Muhammad Usman said:

I am wondering when people like saeed will leave this website.

Having said that i really miss people like kAFKA 8, who were crying a lot Gaza, gaza, gaza.
    Complete silence on swat. muslim bhai chara? WTF

• bhola said:

@Gul
    Any thoughts of reconciliation from pkpolitics ( Haqiqi) ?
    PS: I thought you posted a video of the Great Contributor

• mbokhari said:

@bhola

We must ask @Shirkuh bhai to take back his resignation. Shirkuh Bhai, we cannot do it without you. Please take back your resignation (tears.)

I completely support Shirkuh Bhai’s actions. I sympathize with Bhai in his struggle against the Pkpolitics Establishment. The forces of the Establishment want to take popular leadership away from the meeeeddle klaaaass .

I urge all party karkunaan to stay vigilant and keep the peace. As the Convener of Rabita Council, I hereby announce the formal proclamation of Pkpolitics-Haqiqi under the leadership of @nota Bhai and @Shirkuh Bhai.

Mazloomo ka saathi hai….
    Shaair Koooh
    Dua Gooooh

• vampire cLutch said:

LOLZ @ haqiqi muahahah

• vampire cLutch said:

PTI web masters are on it ;) :D asking votes through email ?? mindful

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf will participate in all future elections:

http://insaf.pk/News/tabid/60/ articleType/ArticleView/ articleId/2338/PTI-will- participate-in-all-future- elections-Omar-Sarfaraz- Cheema.aspx
    PTI’s likely candidate will be Ejaz Khan Jazi. He was runner up in last elections securing 12205 votes: http://www2.ecp.gov.pk/vsite/ bye/Search.aspx?constituency= NA&constituencyid=NA-55 as an independent candidate.

Born in Rawalpindi, Ejaz Khan Jaazi is one of the 10 sons of Shamroz Khan. After completing his early education from Mission High School, Trunk Bazaar, Rawalpindi, he went to Gordon College and got Master’s degree in Pakistan Studies from Quaid-i-Azam University, Islamabad.

He was politically affiliated with PML-N, but had a great respect for Imran khan. He feels that Imran Khan, whose love for Pakistan is pure and unconditional, truly believes in ‘justice for all’ motto. During his interview (January 2008) with the team of “Pakistani Leaders online” showed his respect and great admiration for Imran Khan. He finally joined PTI in December 2008.

PTI Middle East members are requested to help PTI and support Ejaz Khan Jazi by:

* Calling the friends and relatives in Rawalpindi and convince them to vote for PTI
    * Send us contacts of your friends and relatives, we will contact them and request them to support us you can send the conacts at nadeem_320@hotmail.com with subject NA-55 PTI
    * send messages to your friends living outside Rawalpindi/Pakistan but have their friends and relatives living in Rawalpindi

Lets unite together and win and set the tone for future elections. This single win can be a start of a much needed change in our country.

Best Regards!
    Muhammad Nadeem Muhammad
    Coordinator PTI Middle East
    Cell #: 00971-50-8148384
    e-mail: middle.east@insaf.pk
    Web: http://www.insaf.pk

NOTE: If you have any objection to the contents of above message, please forward this message to PTI_emails@insaf.pk with your comments.
    If you do not want to receive any future emails from http://www.insaf.pk, please login to the website and change your profile settings for EmailConsent.

• vampire cLutch said:

can someone guide me how to post pictures in messages? please

• dildar said:

vampire cLutch said:

can someone guide me how to post pictures in messages? please

Basically you need an html code but it doesn’t work here for ‘AWAM’ like us, this facility is only for the Blessed ones

• vampire cLutch said:

really?

• vampire cLutch said:

ok..

i will change my question then :D

Can someone guide me how to become a BLESSED ONE at pkp? so then i can post pictures etc

• jazoo said:

@vampire cLutch

Write your English in German for Elite Class only.
    Become expert in making jokes for few to understand(as a joke)
    Exchange pleasantries rather writing a material post.
    Use the dollar sign in curse words

Very Important

Write a lengthy post, make sure do not say anything.

There are many other things but for now focus on these one.

• fareed said:

US Plans Massive Embassy in Pakistan

The US is planning a massive diplomatic presence in Pakistan similar to its current embassy in Iraq. In a recent funding request, the Obama administration asked Congress for $736 million to build a new US embassy as well permanent housing for US officials in Islamabad. The request falls just below the $740 million cost of the US embassy in Baghdad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3HUWgDaViGY

• savage said:

@dildar

“Basically you need an html code but it doesn’t work here for ‘AWAM’ like us, this facility is only for the Blessed ones”

now talibans suckers would scream “Na-insafi!!!!!, unless administration don’t change their policies, talibans killings are totally justified”

• ataraxis6 said:

Facebook Pakistanis unite against terror

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/asia/article6396015.ece

• mbokhari said:

• Gul said:

This is just great news (reading full article recommended):

Full article: http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/provinces/12-swat-main-town-almost-secured–bi-03

Excerpts:

Operation Rahe Rast made a significant progress with the security forces completely securing control of Mingora city, destroying various training centres of terrorists and killing important militant commanders, the military said.

Referring to the relief activities by Army at Mingora, he said a team of 21 doctors with sufficient medicines have reached Mingora for re-establishing civil hospital Mingora.

The people of Mingora have started exposing militants who were trying to pose as citizens.

Gas has been restored upto Mingora City. A sufficient number of mobile generators have been provided to run the water pumping stations. Repair work on the restoration of electricity in Mingora has started. He said that it will take at least two weeks to fully restore it.

The military spokesman said the weapons recovered from militant strongholds included weaponry of American, Russian and Indian origin.

General Athar Abbas said so far 1217 militants have been killed while 79 including foreign nationals have been apprehended. He said 81 security personnel have so far laid down their lives while 250 sustained injuries.

We are unspeakably indebted to the security personnel (and their families) who have laid down their lives for us.

• mbokhari said:

Why JSQM protests
    حسن مجتییٰ 2009-05-30, 10:49
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/urdu/2009/05/post_456.html

سندھ میں کچھ قوم پرست جماعتیں ہر سال مئی یا جون کے مہینوں میں اپنی سرگرمیاں تیز کردیتی ہیں جن میں خاص طور پر ہڑتالیں، تحریکیں اور لانگ مارچ منظم کیے جاتے ہیں۔ لیکن مئی اور جون مہینے کیوں؟

سندھ میں سیاست کی اندرونی دنیا کو قریب سے جاننے والے جانتے ہیں کہ ایسی کئی پارٹیوں کے لیڈروں اور ان کی فیملیوں کے کاروبار اے کلاس سرکاری ٹھیکوں یا کانٹریکٹوں پر مشتمل ہیں اور مئی اور جون سال کے ایسے مہینے ہیں جن میں پاکستان میں نئے سرکاری ٹھیکے یا ٹینڈر جاری کیے جاتے ہیں۔ حکومت چاہے کسی پارٹی کی بھی ہو لیکن ایسی قوم پرست پارٹیوں کے لیڈر نئے ٹھیکے اور ٹینڈر اپنے حق میں کروانے کے لیے ‘جدوجہد تیز ہو’ کہتے میدان میں نکلے ہوئے ہوتے ہیں۔

یہ جو حال ہی میں صوبہ سرحد یا پختون خواہ میں فوج اور طالبان کے ستائے ہوئے اندرونی طور نقل مکانی پر مجبور پختونوں کی سندھ میں آمد کے خلاف پر تشدد تحریک ابھری ہے اس میں زیادہ تر وہی ٹھیکہ پارٹیاں لینڈ و بھتہ مافیا کے ساتھ کسی نہ کسی طرح انتہائی سرگرم دکھائی دیتی ہیں۔ اگر صوبہ سرحد سے انتہائي انسانی مصائب کے شکار پختون سوات سے سندھ میں نہ بھی آتے تب بھی ان ٹھیکہ پارٹیوں کو اگلے ماہ جاری ہونے والے حکومتی ٹھیکوں کے لیے کچھ نہ کچھ کرنا ہی تھا۔:’یہ نہ ہوتا تو کوئی اور غم ہونا تھا۔’

• Gul said:

@Vampire cLutch

The following is obviously nonsense. I don’t think @nota or @shirkuh ever “wrote English in German for Elite Class only” etc. Just guessing by their posts, and the way they attacked alleged ‘elites’, they don’t seem to be elite nor write for the elite – but they’ve been posting images galore. :-)

Write your English in German for Elite Class only.
    Become expert in making jokes for few to understand(as a joke)
    Exchange pleasantries rather writing a material post.
    Use the dollar sign in curse words

Very Important

Write a lengthy post, make sure do not say anything.

There are many other things but for now focus on these one.

• mbokhari said:

@Gul

You are right about the elite, non-elite business. It has nothing to do with that. This is hard for people who have only recently moved to the cities. Villager mentality cannot compute that :D

• mbokhari said:

Chemotherapy for the Cancer of Terrorism.

Bomb blast in a mosque in Zahedan on Friday.

Iran executes the perpetrators on Saturday.

• vampire cLutch said:

@ Gul said:

The following is obviously nonsense.

<< Ok i didnt say that.. it was said by jazoo BUT STILL i am unable to understand why is it that only 2 or 3 of you guys are able to post pictures over here and the rest of us are like lambs ??

Why this classification (if any)? What is the criteria? @mbokhari?

• vampire cLutch said:

I’ve been yelling here for past many weeks for someone to help me out and guide the procedure to post pictures.

O bhai meray ?? What html code/ command / tags do we use to post links to pictures from other websites?

• mbokhari said:

@vampire

I mostly use my secret powers to post Urdu columns/news. (Mostly)

ناحق ہم مجبوروں پر يہ تہمت ہے مختاري کي
    چاہتے ہيں سو آپ کريں ہيں ہم کو عبث بد نام کيا

I suggest you drop this and let’s focus more on debate and dialectic argumentation as a tool to arrive at the slippery truth/reality.

• vampire cLutch said:

Point taken @mbokhari

Anymore suggestions folks?

• savage said:

following video show how local people are supporting army, good to see army recovering it’s due respect.

“Pak Fauj Zindabad, Moshe murdabad”

• vampire cLutch said:

ISPR releases video of attack on relief convoy:

• vampire cLutch said:

Die Talibz Die :D

• Gul said:

@savage and vampire clutch

Great news! talib and talib apologists, aiders and abetors will continue their propaganda, but thank goodness people are begininng to wake up.

HazaroN saal Nargis apni benoori peh roti hai
    BaRi mushkil se hota hai chaman meiN deedawar paida

• Gul said:

These videos are great. It’s always like this. A few bad apples are the cause of bringing bad repute to whole institutions or countries.

Pak Fauj Zindabad!

• mbokhari said:

Nawaz Sharif calls on nation to fight Taliban

http://www.presstv.ir/detail.aspx?id=96419&sectionid=351020401

The PML-N Chief Nawaz Sharif calls on the nation to unite against the Taliban, as Pakistan is fighting a full scale war in the restive Swat valley.

“Pakistan is in a state of war. The military is confronting the militants who want to sabotage the integrity of the country which is unacceptable”, the two time former premier told a delegation of lawmakers in Lahore, a Press TV correspondent reported late on Friday.

He said the military offensive was the last resort for the survival of the embattled country.

He urged the whole nation to unite against terrorism and added that the ‘menace of terrorism was destabilizing the country’s integrity and only unity can eradicate terrorism from the country’, Sharif said.

He also urged all political parties and different organizations to provide assistance to the millions of displaced people of Swat and Malakand who have fled their homes due to the unrest in the region.

Sharif’s statement comes at a time when Pakistan’s military has intensified the offensive against the Taliban.

The military claims to have killed over 1,100 militants in the still ongoing fighting in the Swat valley.

• Muhammad Usman said:

I think we have to think about seriously now about Iran and saudi arabia.
    We want good relationship but these countries should stop their religious fifht on our land.
    Saudi supporting wahabji sect
    Iranis becoming champion of Shia.

Bpth should F u KK off FROM our land.
    If we srart calling your ambassadors you wont have excuses.

Ir an bought things from AQ AND disclosed to world. Libya also a shame.

• mbokhari said:

@Gul

Exactly. And the Taliban declare the Kashmir Jihad ghair-Islami. LOL. Pakistan is stronger than these butchers imagined.

The throat-sitters are running now in burqas leaving their beards behind.

These are Kashmiris in Indian-held Kashmir shouting Jeevay Jeevay Pakistan.

According to Baitullah Mehsud, this is unIslamic, while cutting throats of Pak Army jawans is absolutely halal, ain fard.

This is a news report about the pro-Pakistan protest:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HSy0U0lZfjM&feature=related

• Gul said:

@mbokhari

Three cheers for Nawaz Sharif! Hiphip…hooooray! He’s my man – slowly but surely….if he carries on like this, who knows what this country might achieve!

so, Nawaz Sharif finally woke up from his coma?

• mbokhari said:

@Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar

Thats the way Nawaz Sharif works. He tries to smooth the transition for the public by molding public opinion.

His leadership style is very different and he does not suffer from premature escalation unlike some new kids on the block who suffer from electile dysfunction (and tear up their nomination papers prematurely. :) )

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/2009/03/090320_singhisking_sen.shtml

انہوں نہ اپنا قبلہ درست رکھا۔ صرف ججوں کی بحالی کی بات کی، پیپلز پارٹی کو وفاق میں حکومت بنانے کے لیے مدد دینے میں ججوں کی بحالی کے سوا کوئی شرط نہ رکھی، نواز لیگ وزراء کو کالی پٹی باندھنے کی شرط پر صدر مشرف سے حلف لینے کی بھی اجازت دے دی۔ پھر ججوں کے معاملے پر وفاقی کابینہ سے اپنے وزیر اٹھائے لیکن حکومت کو غیر مستحکم کرنے کی کوئی کوشش نہ کی۔ وکلاء تحریک کی حمایت جاری رکھی لیکن دھرنا دینے پر اس وقت تک آمادہ نہ ہوئے جب تک آصف علی زرداری کی دروغ گوئی لا ریب فی نہ ہو گئی۔

اور پھر جب دھرنے کا وقت آیا تو پنجاب میں ان کی حکومت گر چکی تھی۔ لیکن انہوں نے اپنی حکومت کی بحالی کی بجائے ججوں کی بحالی کو ہی ہدف رکھا۔ وزارت داخلہ کی تمام تر کوششوں اور تمام تر ہتھکنڈوں کے باوجود ہزاروں کا جلوس نکالا جس کے سیاسی جوش اور طاقت کے سامنے صدر آصف علی زرداری کی ضد پانی کی طرح بہہ گئی۔

سب سے اہم یہ کہ ججوں کی بحالی کا اعلان ہوتے ساتھ ہی لانگ مارچ کے خاتمے کا اعلان کیا نہ کہ اپنی سیاسی طاقت کے اس شو کے بل بوتے پر اپنی حکومت کی بحالی کا مطالبہ۔ نتیجتاً وہ مفاہمتی فضا جو صدر زرداری کی مسلسل وعدہ خلافی اور پنجاب حکومت کی برطرفی کے بعد دم توڑ رہی تھی ایک بار پھر بہار دکھلانے لگی۔

کیا آج سے دو سال قبل کوئی سوچ سکتا تھا کہ مہنگے بلوں، رومانوی گانوں اور مرغن کھانوں کا شوقین، قدرت کا یہ لاڈلا سالہا سال تک اپنی ذات کی سیاست کرنے کے بعد پاکستان میں اصولی سیاست کی ضمانت کے طور پر ابھرے گا؟

میاں نواز شریف نے ججوں سے متعلق ایک سوال پر پچھلے سال از راہ مذاق صحافیوں سے کہا تھا کہ زبان کے معاملے میں وہ ’سکھ‘ ہیں۔ موجودہ حالات میں ان کے کڑے سے کڑے ناقدین بھی یہ ماننے پر مجبور ہیں کہ بعد میں جو بھی ہو لیکن فی الوقت چار سو ایک ہی آواز ہے اور وہ یہ کہ سنگھ از کنگ، سنگھ از کنگ، سنگھ از کنگ۔

• vampire cLutch said:

I wish i could see some dead bodies of people like muslim khan, mehsud, fazl ulla etc.

Some big pigs gotta go down .. that is the only way to further reduce our dissatisfaction & depression !!

Muhray to martay hi rehtay hain.. we gotta take the ‘queen’ down this time

• Gul said:

@mbokhari

You’re right. Of course Pakistan is stronger than these butchers imagined. The people are very strong. It has been our utter misfortune to have had terrible leadership for the most part (military and civilian), and that’s what these animals continued to bank on!

Still, being the hopeless optimist that I am, I think Pakistan still has a chance. If our politicians continue to mature like Nawaz Sharif seems to be doing – and make no mistake, people of Pakistan’s own political awakening and increasing maturity has played a not insignificant part in educating Rita (NS) – then we’re on our way dude.

It’s a process I guess.

p.s. you know the old song by Mehdi Hassan posted earlier by someone, “yeh watan tumhara hai, tum ho paasbaan iss kay” was killing. Personally, it takes me on a journey through time, when I was a child and thought nothing of it…you know, yeah a nice song type of thing. Being so comfortable and secure taking my homeland for granted. There was no concept of insecurity, of suddenly losing the country you belong to.

Now, the same song is so poignant. It has a whole different meaning. The country’s existence is threatened like never before. Aur Hum haiN paasban iss kay.

• mbokhari said:

@Gul

Apart from terrible leadership of PPP, the thing that haunts me most is the ethnic card of JSQM and MQM. Whenever Pakistan is in some dire straits, Kali Mata shows her face and stabs Pakistan in the back. At least PMLN is helping the IDPs of Swat in settling in Punjab. After Operation Rahe Rast, we need an operation in Karachi against those who think it is appropriate to put visa counters on Karachi borders.

Even after BB’s death, these JSQM thugs torched trains but it was the normal, hard working, decent Pakistani of interior Sindh who gave shelter and food to the passengers in their humble villages. It was the same after the earthquake. In Pakistan, it’s only the common decent Pakistani who can bridge our ethnic and sectarian differences.

• Amir Hameed said:

Once the army takes the occupied areas back from the Talibans, intelligence agencies will have to play a vital role, unlike what we have seen so far. This war will certainly not end soon and we will most likely see pockets of resistance from these thugs from time to time where they will try to use their intimidating tactics to create chaos and because army can not stay in these areas forever to try and protect people from these butchers and that is why I believe that the intelligence agencies’ role is cruical not only to capture the top leadership of TTP but also to thwart any acts of sabotage against the government and the people of this country.

• Gul said:

@mbokhari

You’re right. Himmat e aurtaanN, madad e khuda (men, pls do not take personally :-D ). After the talib animals, MQM ought to be next. Who in the name of sweet jesus gave them authority to issue visas to karachi?

• Gul said:

@Amir Hameed

Point taken. You’re absolutely right in everything you say. But it also makes me think. Why can’t the army stay there till necessary? It’s almost one million strong. Surely, till the inept corrupt civilian administration can take over, the army can hang out there for a bit. There must not be a vaccum – the army doesn’t have much else to do, does it? Remember, conventional warfare is out (against India for example) since we have the NUKES.

• Gul said:

@Amir Hameed

Also, the people of Sawat/Fata etc. also need to do their own bit. By now we are also aware that these guys had some role in the way things unfolded. In Sawat, common people supported Fazlullah, giving alms in gold jewellery to him, because they thought he would bring goodness to society (it makes me feel sick). Now they’re giving interviews from the camps, ” little did we know what was in store for us!”

I hope lessons learnt will not be in vain.

• Amir Hameed said:

@Gul,

…Why can’t the army stay there till necessary…

I think that the army will stay there for a while until it believes that the danger is either over or minimize to the extent that it not a serious threat to the federation, which is inline with your comment above. I also believe that after the army cleans up the Taliban mess in these areas, they need to tell the US, the West and NATO that they are fully capable of taking care of their own business and therefore, the done attacks need to stop immediately. If this is not done then the respect that the army has recently earned will be in jeapordy as they will be seen as “in ncahoots with their masters” and we should not allow the Talibans to use this excuse to recruit more people.

• Gul said:

@Amir Hameed

Look, I don’t know what the inside story is with regard to the drone attacks. I do believe, thought, that these are taking place with full endorsement of our government. For what reason, I cannot be sure.

I also believe, that our military capability is fully up to scratch with being able to stop the drone attacks. But I don’t think that’s the issue. This issue, I believe, is more to do with letting Americans do the dirty work, while politically disclaiming it all.

Having said all of the above, I have some unorthodox views on the entire subject. That is, drones or no drones, thsi taliban extremism is an existential threat and needs to be dealt with as such. The public also needs to understand this. Whether the drone attacks continue or not, the war on taliban and their sick ideology is our war.

At the end of the day, if you think about it, the drones are, in their bare skelital form, an emotional issue. The Pakistani air force jets inflict just as much damage, if not more. Thus in physical reality, the drones are no different. It’s just that our govt needs this tool, but won’t own up to it in front of the public.

Why? Because they think the public are stupid. So, instead of clarifying issues, let’s’ just pander to the perceived concerns and completely deny we are taking help in FATA in the shape of drone attacks.

The stupid govt thinks it’s a win win! Use the drones to get the extremist leaders, but if anything goes wrong, well, we never did it. It’s amreeeka! Hum neiN bauhaut ehtejaaj kiya.

But you know what, the public isn’t stupid. No, at the end of the day, it’s not.

If the leadership of this country believes that it’s necessary to use drones at this stage, they need to come out, own the damn thing and explain to the public why they think it’s necessary.

The public might just surprise them!

• Gul said:

@ bhola

re your post at 30 May, 2.55 pm:

aqalmand ke liye ishaara kaafi hota hai.. :-D

• jazoo said:

@Gul Baji
    You wrote this

“The following is obviously nonsense. I don’t think @nota or @shirkuh ever “wrote English in German for Elite Class only” etc. Just guessing by their posts, and the way they attacked alleged ‘elites’, they don’t seem to be elite nor write for the elite – but they’ve been posting images galore.”

You attacked two posters in very post you accuse them of attacking others(so called elites).
    I guess attacking is two way business
    your side is mustehsab
    Other side is haram.

I also appreciate in some other post you mention you hate no one.
    Before this generous disclosure I was devising to earn your hate.

• adil said:

Nawaz Sharif calls on nation to fight Taliban

hmmm American lozenges working now

• dildar said:

Dr. Israr Ahmad is supposed to be the one who would write facts.

Not any more……….

پھر اواخر 2001ء میں مولانا صوفی محمد صاحب کو قید کر دیا گیا۔ جہاں وہ آٹھ سال تک نظربند رہے۔ انکی اس طویل غیرحاضری کے دوران تحریک کے بعض نسبتاً جوان اور جوشیلے لوگوں نے مولانا صوفی محمد صاحب کے داماد مولوی فضل اللہ کی سرکردگی میں حکام کی بار بار کی بدعہدیوں سے مایوس ہو کر ’’تنگ آمد بجنگ آمد‘‘ کے مصداق ہتھیار اٹھا لئے اور مسلح بغاوت کا آغاز ہو گیا۔ اس مرحلے پر چار مختلف النوع عناصر بھی اس بغاوت میں شامل ہو گئے یعنی (I)غیرملکی یعنی عرب‘ چیچن اور ازبک وغیرہ‘ یہ لوگ جہاد افغانستان میں حصہ لینے کیلئے افغانستان آئے تھے لیکن جب امریکہ نے تاریخ کی عظیم ترین کولیشن کی مدد سے طالبان کی حکومت کو ختم کر دیا تو وہ پاکستان کے قبائلی علاقوں میں پناہ گزیں ہو گئے اور وہاں شادیاں کر کے گویا اس معاشرے کا جزو بن گئے۔ لیکن انکی ہمیشہ یہ کوشش رہی کہ افغانستان میں جب طالبان نے امریکی قبضے کیخلاف گوریلا جنگ شروع کی تو انکی مدد کی جائے… اور اب انہیں نظر آیا کہ وہی معاملہ مالا کنڈ میں ہو رہا ہے تو وہ اس میں شریک ہو گئے۔ (II)صوبہ سرحد کے بھی وہ مقامی مذہبی اور دینی مزاج کے لوگ جو افغان طالبان کی مدد بھی کرنا چاہتے تھے اور پاکستان میں بھی شریعت کے نفاذ کے خواہاں تھے … چنانچہ صرف یہ ہیں وہ لوگ جنہیں ’’پاکستانی طالبان‘‘ کا نام دیا جا سکتا ہے

• jazoo said:

Gul Baji posted following link with excerpts from “Daily Dawn”

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/national/shariat-court-rules-whipping-for-drinking-unislamic-959

“A full-bench of the FSC comprising Chief Justice Haziqul Khairi, Justice Salahuddin Mirza and Justice Fida Mohammad Khan gave the ruling on Thursday after hearing the arguments that the Holy Quran asks Muslims to stay away from liquor but does not specifically declares it Haram, or prohibited.”

Initially I thought it could not be true but then I followed the link and read the full article.
    I am just surprised what kind of Shariat bench is this.
    I am still doubtful that its the mistake of Dawn Corespondent who is ignorant of meanings of Arabic word “Haram”

Haram = Stay Away
    Haram is derived from Hurmat which has many meanings one of which is Mehroomi means no access,forbidden, restricted or staying away.

[Shakir 5:90] O you who believe! intoxicants and games of chance and (sacrificing to) stones set up and (dividing by) arrows are only an uncleanness, the Shaitan’s work; shun it therefore that you may be successful.

• Amir Hameed said:

@Gul,
    To me, drone attacks is a serious issue because of the sheer number of civilian casualties that they have caused so far. Pakistan needs to device its own strategy to deal with the Taliban menace and if that is based on militray offensive then so be it. IMO, when a Pakistani soldier fires a bullet or a PAF pilot targets an area, he would be much more cautious than a drone pilot who is sitting in some base in the US and has no emotional attachment to the country or its population on the ground.

I can take a gander on the reason why the [incompetent] Pakistani government is not able to do anything to stop these attacks; because they have been told by the US and the West that they would choke Pakistan financially if they are not allowed to carry out their strategy and given the ground reality that Pakistan is virtually financially bankrupt, this threat has every chance to succeed. NS also seems to have taken a back seat on the drones issue and it is highly likely that he has been either given a message that he has no choice or an indication that Zardari is not going to last for too long and that his party would come to power soon. I mean, what happened to Ch. Nisar who was not getting tired of his rhetoric against the US drone attacks? why is he so quiet all the sudden? The same is true with NS; he was speaking against the drone attacks as recently as almost a month ago but why is he mumb now?

• Amir Hameed said:

@mbokhari,
    I think you are giving more credit to NS than he really deserves. The only credit that I would give him is that he was able to capitalize on the momemtum created by the lawyers movement and forced the restoration of judiciary. But, he is not a visionary nor is he that shrewed otherwise he would not have lost his premiership twice. He is lucky to have dedicated people like Javed Hashmi, who inspite of being treated like sh!t by him and SS is still loyal to the party.

• Amir Hameed said:

————————————–
    Mehsud orders carrying out bombings

ISLAMABAD: Tehreek-e-Taliban Pakistan Chief Batiullah Mehsud has ordered militants to carryout bombings in small villages of Swat and FATA and are finding new hideouts in other areas of the country.

In a telephonic conversation with unknown accomplice and letter to different commanders in Lower Dir, Swat and Buner, he said, the bombings in small villages of FATA and Swat would in turn lead to suicide attacks in other areas of the country, Private TV Channel reported.

The telephonic conversation was also heard by military departments, sources said. He said the bombings in small villages of Swat and FATA would promote terror in other areas of the country. He said army has been reached in every nook and corner of the city therefore militants should find new hideouts in other areas of the country.

We can win support of locals by carrying out bombings, he said. He went on to say it is difficult for militants to carryout their activities due to offensive against them. He ordered them to expand their activities in other areas of the country.

————————————–
    The army needs to go after Mehsud now and take care of him as well.

• mbokhari said:

For Pakistan, or for Islam
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/belief/2009/may/27/pakistan-nation-religion

As Pakistan wastes away in its existential crisis, a fundamental question about the nature of the country is coming to the fore: are its citizens Pakistanis who happen to be Muslims, or are they Muslims who happen to be Pakistanis? Which comes first, flag or faith?

[...]

Pakistan’s selfhood must be expanded ad maximum and made so capacious that it accommodates its Punjabis, Sindhis, Pathans and Balochis, and their religions – Sunni, Shia, Hindu, Christian, Parsi, Qadhianis – until it is possible to call them all equally “Pakistani”. That must be the ultimate goal, and step one in the long, winding battle to save Pakistan.

That is a national idea worth striving for – and Pakistan’s intellectuals, its elite and its youth must be at the forefront of the battle. The Crescent has cast a seemingly interminable shadow across the length of Pakistan. Its tragedies and failings are a result of what is happening in God’s name, not Jinnah’s. To save Pakistan, Jinnah’s spirit, his moth-eaten ideals, must be renewed and Pakistanis must ask themselves what Pakistan really means.

• gv said:

@ahameed – completely agree with your comment below on ns.

“@mbokhari,
    I think you are giving more credit to NS than he really deserves. The only credit that I would give him is that he was able to capitalize on the momemtum created by the lawyers movement and forced the restoration of judiciary. But, he is not a visionary nor is he that shrewed otherwise he would not have lost his premiership twice. He is lucky to have dedicated people like Javed Hashmi, who inspite of being treated like sh!t by him and SS is still loyal to the party.”

@mb

good article and extremely valid point. i for one would rather have a universal notion of pakistaniat than just an islamic notion. A pakistan for everyone not just for the muslims.

• mbokhari said:

Abdulqayum Jatoi of Cathouse Brothel fame calls it a day. Intends to immigrate abroad. The most spectacular media appearance by the world famous bozo was here:
    http://pkpolitics.com/2008/12/21/off-the-record-21-december-2008/

• mbokhari said:

@Amir Hameed

re: Nawaz Sharif

Let’s hope for the best. We had similar misgivings about him about doing dharna during the Long March. When the push came to shove, Mian Sahb got in his car and broke the security cordon.

Let’s hope he shows that courage again on the Taliban.

Abdul Qayuum Jatoi, you have been an inspiration for all those who aspire to the highest echelons of zalaalat, khabaasat and ghatyaapan. as an aspiring khabees, I am very motivated by you. I’m a fairly ghatyaa person myself Mashallah but I always find myself shamefaced when I look at your achievements in this field…

so, Mr. Jatoi, sir, please go forth and spread your zalaalat to the rest of the world… the world needs a teacher like you…

• Muhammad Usman said:

@ a n faq fitna/ aassar abbasi

self custodian of state of pakistan today declared nawaz as going in wrong direction by supporting action in swat.

Political parties should et permission from mr abbasi before taking a policy decision.

What a jamatia/ talib muzakarat lover abbasi is?

• Muhammad Usman said:

What a khota ? Qayyum jatieo is ?

MTT . I agree he is an inspiration for zlalat and khabasat

• Gul said:

@Amir Hameed

I think anything that causes unnecessary or excessive collateral damage is a serious issue. So I completely agree with you.

But the point I was trying to make was different. Obviously, I can also only make guesses. My ‘guess’ is that Pak govt is not forced to take the drone attacks – they have ownership of it, they just didn’t want to take political ownership.

Think about these two things:

1. Pakistan have asked to be given drones/drone technology so they can carry out the strikes themselves – this would obviously take care of the political nightmare of having it look like Pakistan’s sovereignty is being violated (now that public opinion for military operation is onside).

2. Pak and American military have carried out coordinated attacks using the drones. Pak govt would request for intelligence from drones surveillance, and then attack using their own jets etc. This much is an established fact – this was going on February this year I think. It is also entirely possible then, that it worked the other way round as well in the past i.e., Pak military passed on intelligence for the drones to confirm/strike.

My assertion is that this is an emotional issue for two reasons: a) the excessive collateral damage and b) it’s seen as a foreign power striking inside Pakistan.

The second (b) doesn’t really stand true because of Pakistan’s own involvement in it. You see, the govt stance has been changing over time: for a long time the public just did not know, when the public came to know, the govt denied any knowledge, then the govt maintained they condemned it, then it became known that there were bases for drones inside Pakistan, now the govt still condemns and claims no ability to stop these. My point is the Pak Govt. has a problem taking political ownership of the whole thing, because that makes it easier to carry out these strikes. I say, come out with it, let the public know why it’s necessary. If the explanation is not satisfactory, public opinion will change things. If with more transparency the verdict is otherwise, then it’ll be different.

Our public can only bring pressure on our own govt, not on the U.S. That’s why it’s important our govt be made to take ownership for something in fact it’s doing willingly. Here I’ll clarify that my sense of it is different to yours: the financial choking threat. I don’t think think that’s the bottom line.

Your assertion that a Pak pilot will be more careful compared to an American makes a lot of sense. But given that the two sides (Pak and US) have had a coordinated approach, it doesn’t appear that Americans are striking just anywhere they please. They get input from Pakistan and Pakistan gets input from them. However, I don’t know if this was true earlier on i.e., in the early days when drone strikes commenced. But it’s true of recent activity.

• mbokhari said:

The myth of a political solution
    Monday, June 01, 2009
    Shahed Sadullah
    http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=180594

The basic fallacy in the premise that there is a “political solution” to this problem is that it glorifies crime and raises it to the level of political action. The Taliban have tried to capture power, even if it be in limited areas, by extra-constitutional means and that is a crime; they have committed thefts, extortions and murders, indulged in wide-scale destruction of public property and raised arms against officials of the state. These are all crimes. Commit any one of them in countries where democratic values are far more advanced than in Pakistan and see just who suggests a “political solution.” Yes, the British government went for a political solution with the IRA, but only when the IRA agreed to give up violence with a verifiable decommissioning process. Secondly, what they were fighting for was not beyond the pale of civilised discussion. With a group that advocates a virtual end to female education, which denies the idea of representative democracy, which does not even have a concept of the rule of law, which kills on the basis of the length of one’s shalwar, what is there to talk about? There can be no discussion on whether or not one should flog women in public, for there is no intermediate position that can provide the space for a compromise solution. It is not as if 30 lashes are too much but 15 is something one could discuss!

Those in the media who have sympathies with these elements have tried to cover it up under the garb of the journalistic necessity of being impartial and giving exposure to both sides. In a media which has had more freedom thrust on it than it can handle, concepts like balance and fairness are often abused and misunderstood. When national survival is at stake, there is no question of balance or giving coverage “to the other side,” for the one and only thing that matters is the survival of the state. Did the BBC interview Hitler and Goebbels during the Second World War to give “a balanced coverage”? Would the Pakistani media be interviewing the head of the Indian army if Pakistan were at war with India?

• mbokhari said:

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=22475
    Taliban eyeing Punjab, says Shahbaz

Monday, June 01, 2009
    LONDON: As the Pakistan Army has intensified its operations against the Taliban in Swat and its adjoining areas, Punjab Chief Minister Mian Shahbaz Sharif has said the aim of the militants is to “penetrate” into the Punjab.

“There is no doubt that one of their aims is to penetrate into the Punjab as well as to stop the opeartion in Swat,” Shahbaz Sharif told The Sunday Times. “We are doing everything we can to stop their activities. Just as it did not come overnight, it will not go overnight,” he added.

Mian Shahbaz Sharif added: “Finally, the whole nation is behind the concept of not allowing the insurgency to cripple our society.” It is pertinent to mention here that the Army has claimed major victory against the militants.

• gv said:

@mb

“It is surprising how those who have opposed the military action have compared it to the military action against the former East Pakistan. The Awami League was a legally constituted political party which contested an election conducted by the state on the basis of a manifesto. That election, by all accounts, was the most free and fair ever held in Pakistan and the Awami League won it hands down. In other words, their activities were entirely legal and constitutional, and therefore obviously to resort to physical force in that situation was wrong. On the other hand, here in Swat and FATA, we have people going around with bandanas to cover their faces, armed heavily, defying the writ of the state and terrorising people at the barrel of a gun, and blowing up innocent people as a form of retaliation. Far from using any constitutional instrument, they have denied the validity of all the fundamentals of the Pakistani Constitution—democracy, the judiciary, Parliament, the lot. To compare the two situations, or even to mention them in the same breath, is to understand neither”

“The basic fallacy in the premise that there is a “political solution” to this problem is that it glorifies crime and raises it to the level of political action. The Taliban have tried to capture power, even if it be in limited areas, by extra-constitutional means and that is a crime; they have committed thefts, extortions and murders, indulged in wide-scale destruction of public property and raised arms against officials of the state. These are all crimes. Commit any one of them in countries where democratic values are far more advanced than in Pakistan and see just who suggests a “political solution.”

• razaafzaal said:

@mbokhari

I know its useless, but I still believe in Pakistan and dialogue so will try once again, Did it ever occur to you the problem is not that opposition sides with Talibaan. The problem is that there is mistrust of leadership. The opposition to operation is not to the operation per se but that its not being done the way should have been done and that it was done on behest of outer forces not with the Pakistan’s interest 1st. Just some points to ponder. Its easy to ridcule oppoistion, its hard to try to understand. May be we wrong, may be ur right only time will tell. Military success is no measure what future held. But is it hard to just concede that opposition should atleast be listened and instead of riducled may be persuaded to change its stance?

Pakistan zindabad is every Pakistanis voice, noone has monoply over patriotism.

• gv said:

@dm-n

could you please ‘moderate’ my comments already?

• razaafzaal said:

@gv

ik tum he nahi tanha “moderation” main ruswa
    is forum par tum jaisey likharee hazaroon hain;)

• gv said:

@raza

lekin mehsoos yeh hota hai jasie ke hum hi akele ek mazlum (aur maskeen) likharee tanhai mein mubtala parhe hein!!!

bye the bye if my comments every come out of moderation – i have a rejoinder to your argument to mb above

• razaafzaal said:

@gv

thats why i stopped writting here, I always enjoyed my debating issues with u and hope to carry on other forum will let u know soon. But bottom line biased moderation killing this very good site/.

• gv said:

@raza

no raza sahib the moderation is not discriminatory – the problem with the moderation is that certain words or styles trigger off the moderator software for example the word a.d.m.i.n will trigger it if spelt normally without spaces etc

we just need a more efficient screening mechanism