l Visitors Views & News – Week 2, June 2009 | Pakistan Politics
{ 173 comments... read them below or add one }

• Amir Hameed said:

The TTP’s funding
    http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/provinces/16-the-ttp-s-funding-hs-01

In order to be successful against the Taliban mafia, it is imperative that their source of income be tracked and disrupted. Otherwise, they will be no ebnd to this war and the collateral damage will be enormous.

• Blackhawk12 said:

Real Stories Real Heroes Dated: May 27, 2009
    Major Abid – A hero to his last breath!

Unfortunately the Pakistan Army has been the butt of Public Criticism during the last few years, but the people forget that the Pakistan Army and its valiant soldiers have always been injecting the fresh blood in the national polity by their inimitable sacrifices, be it the floods or the earthquake or the war against the enemy.

Same spirit of sacrifice and valour is being exhibited in the ongoing struggle against the militants. The heroic story of Major ABID MAJEED bears testimony to this reality. On the fateful morning of May 18, 2009 Major Abid Majeed’s brother Major Khalid was entrusted the task of recurring the area from Shalpalam to Jura whereas Major Abid Majeed’s company was responsible for securing the area from Jura to Nazarabad. Major Khalid’s company successfully secured the area followed by Major Abid Majeed. Thereafter Major Abid Majeed’s company was ordered to more forward. Thirteen vehicles of the company moved to safety however the last vehicle came under heavy and precise firing, near a nullah bend, by the militants. The driver of the vehicle embraced martyrdom there and then. No more movement was possible as the route was blocked. The forward troops tried to move back and rescue the trapped soldiers, however due to accurate and effective firing by the militants the movement was not possible. It was then at 1645 hrs that Major Abid Majeed decided to move back himself. He took two soldiers, the first aid kit and a water bottle and ordered his company to engage the militants. In the rain of bullets he rushed to site, dragged the two bleeding soldiers Sepoy Tariq and Sepoy Nausherwan to a place of safety. He immediately poured water into their mouths and then started bandaging them to stop the flow of blood. In the meantime his shoulder got exposed and shot. Not bettered by it, he kept engaged himself in the task of bandaging. The second bullet hit in his ribs, still did not prevent him from completing his task. Unmoved by the blood gushing out of his wounds he dragged the soldiers to a safer place. In the process he was hit by three bullets and he fell down. While bleeding profusely, he took the wireless to talk to his brother Major Khalid (for the last time), who was 100 meters away.
    “BROTHER I HAVE TO PAY SO MUCH TO SO AND SO, DO NOT FORGET IT. TAKE CARE OF THE MOTHER AND UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES LEAVE THE JOB OF ELIMINATING THE MISCREANTS INCOMPLETE. I WISH I COULD MARCH ON TO MINGORA AND SEE IT CLEAR OF THE MILITANTS”. And then he succumbed to his injuries but he managed to save the lives of two soldier/comrades.
    Sepoy Tariq and Nowsharwan can not control their tears at the mention of Major Abid Majeed’s name. The only words they utter are” Why Major Sahib why not us”.
    http://www.ispr.gov.pk/front/main.asp?o=t-real_story&id=10

• mbokhari said:

The Pakistan report card
    Tebbit’s Taliban test

Tuesday, June 09, 2009
    Fasi Zaka

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=181981

See, most of the hardliners who are asked fundamental questions obfuscate by bringing up other issues. It was a shameful performance of the new amir of the Jamaat-e-Islami Syed Munawar Hasan when asked on television what he thought of the video of the girl being flogged in Swat. Rather than answer the question he went on a rant about the drone attacks and the lack of media interest in it. There were many others who wouldn’t condemn the flogging because they made elaborate theories of how the video was supposedly faked.

While Imran Khan may have written an impressive and eloquent defence of his position in his article “Where I stand”, statistically only five per cent is spent condemning the Taliban, 48 per cent is spent chastising the players in the government for not allowing the peace deal to go through. Smoke and mirrors. Imran Khan’s stance makes little sense especially since he pursues the MQM citing the rule of law and then makes fluid his position to allow the Taliban their Nizam-e-Adl through extrajudicial means, effectively justifying their methods.

The MQM says the right things and then does the shameful by urging restrictions of those tragically made homeless.

• jazoo said:

Somewhere @mbokhari post incomplete quote

Pak ne dosar atmi hamla karne ki silahiyat hasil karli
    and complete quote is

Pehla hamla na karne ki bhi.

• mbokhari said:

Panic in Mamond as militants clash

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/front-page/panic-in-mamond-as-militants-clash-869

Panic gripped the Mamond area of Bajaur after clashes between two groups of militants on Saturday left four combatants dead. People are fearing that the incident might spark more fierce clashes.

Supporters of Maulana Faqir Muhammad, of the outlawed Tehrik-Taliban Pakistan, and Commander Salar Masood of Tehrik-i-Nifaz-i-Shariat-i-Mohammadi are now preparing for a major showdown. The clash took place after the Salar group kidnapped Jarar Hussain of the TTP following a dispute over money.

• gv said:

@ahameed

interesting article with some comments on ttp funding

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/editorial/speaking-the-truth-869

• Malek said:

Operation to start in Waziristan
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/8090706.stm

i thought Operation was urgently required in Karachi where the terror!sts are continuing there ruthless k!ll!ngs?
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=22629

• mbokhari said:

http://express.com.pk/images/logo.jpg

http://express.com.pk/images/NP_LHE/20090609/Sub_Images/1100644215-1.gif

• Malek said:

based on report by @mbokhari above if ‘talibans’ are refusing to support terrorists of Mehsud tribe/TTP……..then army should focus on Operation in Karachi

• lota6177 said:

methods to divert attention from swat operation. Lagaie raho munna bahie.

• Amir Hameed said:

@Malek,
    While I agree with you on the need of an operation in KHI, I still think that the army should finish its operation in the tribal/FATA areas first. The reason I say this is because the war strategy in the tribal areas will be pretty much the same as opposed to KHI where the army will have to go back to the drawing board and strategize as it can not openly go in and start a war because it is just not possible. Also, the army currently has the momentum going for them and they can simply keep building on it to try and finish the job.
    I think that dealing with KHI could be relatively easy as compared to the tribal areas and the solution would be to rein in the puppeteer Altaf, which can be done via backdoor interaction with the UK government. Pakistan can simply tell the US and the UK that if they want our support on this war then Altaf should not be allowed to interfere in the country’s politics because he is trying to destabilize that region for his own personal gains. Once Altaf is put under control, MQM will be in disarray because it is comprised of zombies who do not have the ability to think themselves and are only capable of carrying out orders.

• Malek said:

@Amir Hameed

- army has started but can never be used to/expected to finish up……its not just army’s job to provide stability and lasting peace. i believe the political govt needs to take over their responsibilties at the earliest to find a pemanent and long lasting solution……..

as an example allegedly the worlds biggest army couldnt finish the job in Iraq…same goes with afghanistan where it has been about 10 years but the situation keeps getting worst and worst

- altaf should never be expected to be reined in by UK or US govt. he is their agent after all! but considering the precedent has been set in Swat then similar style operation to avoid any discrimination against ‘terror!sm’

• runaway said:

@Malek

How about Army operation from wherever you are from !! There must be some some ‘evil’ there as well.

It is so easy for you and the like to call for ‘operation’. Do you have any idea what happens in ‘operation’? Ask the people of Swat. Basically you are a r a c i s t , who for some reason has something against the people of Karachi and hides your racism under claim that I am against MQM but not against Karachi.

Please explain to me how you would separate MQM from Karachi. Whenever there is ‘operation’ or unrest in the city, everyone gets affected from a primary school student to sabzi wala to businessman etc etc.

• Malek said:

@runaway
    ‘How about Army operation from wherever you are’

that would be most welcome……i am in London….north….Edgware/MillHill area!!

• runaway said:

@Malek

I did not say… Wherever you ‘are’ I said .. Wherever you are ‘from’. There is a little difference :) Is the operation still welcome?

• Malek said:

like altaf i have also claimed british nationalty and given up pakistani passport……….so yes i am from Mill Hill area!

most welcome infact if we can get rid of the worst terror!st in Pakistani/british history!

• Malek said:

@runaway
    i dont think the target of operation should be where terror!sts are ‘from’ but where the terros!sts ‘are’ hiding and carrying out their terror!sts activities

• pakwatan12 said:

@Malek
    “like altaf i have also claimed british nationalty and given up pakistani passport……….so yes i am from Mill Hill area!”

But we did not see you picture with British Passport. (Just kidding)

• runaway said:

@Malek,

Another ‘kala angrez’.. UK citizen of Pakistani descent worried about Pakistan.

…..then army should focus on Operation in Karachi

i dont think the target of operation should be where terror!sts are ‘from’ but where the terros!sts ‘are’ hiding and carrying out their terror!sts activities

- army has started but can never be used to/expected to finish up……its not just army’s job to provide stability and lasting peace. i believe the political govt needs to take over their responsibilties at the earliest to find a pemanent and long lasting solution……..

Are you debating yourself?

• savage said:

@Malek said:

“that would be most welcome……i am in London….north….Edgware/MillHill area!!”

You and chooran wali sarkar have lots commons. :) you both live in london and ask others to kill karachians.

• Malek said:

Karachi situation is really getting out of control and needs immediate ‘operation’ against terror!sts involved in brutal k!llings of inncent civilians

http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=22633

- it was the responsibility of the federal and Sindh governments to expose hands involved in the recent k!ll!ngs in Karachi

- The deteriorating law and order situation in a city like Karachi, which is the backbone of the country’s economy, is a matter of great concern for all Pakistanis

- those responsible for disrupting peace in Karachi should be given exemplary punishment

even Zazradri’s peon …..the PM of Pakistan says ‘he has taken serious notice of the t@rgeted k!ll!ngs in Karachi and has called a high-level meeting to review the law and order situation.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/8091133.stm

• jazoo said:

@Blackhawk12

My salute to Major Abid (Shaheed)
    Story by Brig Azmat is incomprehensive ….what happened to rest of vehicle 13, were they saved and joined by other fleet.

• jazoo said:

It looks like @Maleck has work out everything from London.
    Now no need to kill coward Taliban anymore because they are ready to defect Mehsud to save their neck.
    A brave enemy is much better than coward enemy because coward will join back ranks with you only to stab you back when recovered besides cowards are sneaky by nature.

As a Karachiette I welcome action against target killing but @Maleck is talking about operation.
    Operation is possible when we know the culprit…in Karachi no culprit but many suspects.
    The first suspect are agencies and their well known puppets Haqiqi.
    The second suspect could be JI to diverge the attention from Swat to get focus on Karachi.
    The third suspect could be ANP to settle score with MQM
    The fourth could be PPP, they have to break the hold of MQM in Karachi otherwise wielded threat by Zardari as headline in Today’s Daily Jang is worthless.
    Zardari indirectly has threatened if Democratic Govt. failed then ANYTHING COULD HAPPEN.
    This threat in caps could mean we will try to break Sindh from Federation and Sindh without Karachi is nothing and its not possible to break Karachi as long as MQM is there.
    The fifth and final and least likely suspect could be MQM because in disturbed Karachi they have everything to lose nothing to gain.

• gv said:

Blast at the PC in peshawar – 5 killed

http://www.geo.tv/

• jazoo said:

Blast in Peshawar looks like suicide attack…two more jihadis sent to Janat by killing people in Masjid of PC.
    Maleck thinks now everything under control we should focus on Karachi.
    Hypocritically when he says operation in Karachi he does not mean Karachi he means MQM.

• Amir Hameed said:

@jazoo,
    The fifth and final and least likely suspect could be MQM because in disturbed Karachi they have everything to lose nothing to gain.

I f I understood it correctly then you believe that MQM is not responsible for any problems in KHI because they have most to loose if KHI is destabilized?

• Amir Hameed said:

@jazoo,
    Just to get more clarification on where you stand; do you believe that Altaf Hussain is not responsible for the chaos that KHI has seen since the inception of MQM? Just curious to know.

• jazoo said:

@Amir Hameed

I am not saying MQM are angels but politically they are in comfort zone in Karachi..They don’t have to do anything to disturb their strength.

Haqiqi were a bunch of criminals founded by Agencies to break hold of MQM in Karachi.

• AClarionCall said:

How many more people will lose their lives because of Talibans and other extremist groups? Our current madarssa system is a breeding ground of terrorism. We MUST reform our defective madarssa system; a complete overhauling is needed and every madarassa should only teach Govt approved syallabus and madarssa teachers should be closely monitored.

• jazoo said:

@Amir Hameed

Altaf Hussain is responsible for many things at the same time he is responsible to bring peace in Karachi.
    Karachi was on fire with sectarian violence he took care of it for good.

• Amir Hameed said:

@jazoo,
    I have lived in KHI for over 20 years and I know exactly what MQM is and specially what Altaf is all about. I was there when the notorious operation by Naseerullah Babar took place where the army discovered torture cells from MQM where they were drilling into their opponents and slaughtering them. So, even the thought of Altaf bringing peace to KHI is simply laughable. This is the guy who has been living lavishly abroad on the money that his party of brain-washed zombies forcefully collects from all over the city and sends to him. People are afraid of the sector incharge mafia and that is why they do not openly speak against it. When I left KHI, those who were diehard MQM activists were slowly and quietly started to show their dissent for this party of thugs. With the thugs like Babar Ghauri incharge of the port ministry, only God know what kind of ammo these people have brought into the city. This is not an ordinary mafia anymore, it has been transformed into a deadly one now. If the ZPP government is sincere in its resolve to tackle with this mafia then it should go after the Don and make sure that he stops spitting venum and inciting people.

re: your comment that “Karachi was on fire with sectarian violence he took care of it for good.”; wasn’t his party responsible for the killing of the entire Sunni Tehrik which was eliminated by a bomb blast some years ago? Wasn’t this party responsible for the killing of Hakim Saeed? and the list goes on..

• bhola said:

Pashtu main kahtay hain
    “Aalm pa sa dey awo Gul Aslam pa sa dey”
    The Gul Aslam below is more interested in JI’s tactics of diverting public attention from the animals and goes on and on about the nuclear program.

“http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/jun2009-daily/09-06-2009/up81.gif”

• dildar said:

@bhola

“Aalm pa sa dey awo Gul Aslam pa sa dey”

Gul aslam na da soor bache………

• jazoo said:

@Amir Hameed

As I said he is no angel but you are way off limit in your charge sheet.
    You have lived here only 20 years, we have been living here a lifetime.
    We never pay Bhatta.
    They used to come for collection for some functions and that usually was annually like Qurbani ki Khal, Eid miladun Nabi etc. etc. but never never for bhutta at least from our house and we are ordinary mohajirs not very resourceful.

I also heard about Khel probably true, I was a kid then but ..so what thats a dark mole on their forehead….they were the victim of system so probably they did not believe in system they decided to perform their own justice which never could be justified.

Your pain for killing of sunni tehrik is more than sunni tehrik itself both of these rivals have joined hands together…what it will take you to forgive them altogether.

• Malek said:

Last 24 hours in Pakistan

- Terror!st Meshud’s dogs kill 11 innocent in Peshawar
    - Terrorist Altaf’s dogs kill 11 innocent in Karachi

both terror!sts and their dogs should be publicly h@nged

• dildar said:

@malik

You are right!

Supporters of these dog(pigs) must be h@nged as well……

• rizwan_pti said:

suppter of operations… should not forget their past… MQM the only mafia party in Pakistan….

and there is no difference who are killing in tribel/swat and peshawar from who are doing in Karachi…

• bhola said:

@Malek
    @dildar
    Altafa ha rame is no better than Animals Taliboos nation should unite behind eliminating this evil as well

• jazoo said:

@Maleck wrote

“Terror!st Meshud’s dogs kill 11 innocent in Peshawar
    Terrorist Altaf’s dogs kill 11 innocent in Karachi”

Hopefully he is not our genius Rehman Malik, who knows everything in advance.

No one knows for sure that Mehsud was involved in Peshawar killings.
    We are told Mehsud is an Indian and American agent and recently his local ground troops known as Taliban refused to obey his orders.
    So its unlikely that an Indian agent without local help can attack deep in Peshawar which is a Pakistani city and faraway from border.
    Maleck is hellbent to protect Taliban on this forum…He is Imran Khan of this Forum.
    Theres no Mehsud dogs these are Talibani dogs which kill 11 innocent Pakistanis in Peshawar.
    Killing in Karachi is very much expected from this resident Taliban to slap on Altaf Bhai…No need to investigate judgment has been issued by Maleck Taliban resident of Pk Politics.

• Amir Hameed said:

@jazoo,
    I am not sure what your ethnic background is but what if I told you that because of my Punjabi background, my house in North Nazimabad had been marked by the MQM people as “non-Mohajirs”. Now you may say that it could have been for statistical reasons but it was not. What if I told you that those kids that I grew up with had stopped conversating with me because of my ethnic background. Such was the level of hatred this party of thigs had created among the KHIites. Did you forget Azeem Ahmed Tariq and how he was killed because he went against the Don? Nowhere in the world I see that a leader of a big party has citizienship from a different country and lives and operated his party from abroad. That is why I called him the puppteer. And this may be a cliche now but what about his rant that the birth of Pakistan was a mistake? What about the way the entire MQM had behaved when IK had levelled allegations against the Don?

• supercreature said:

down Terrorist Taliban’s down, down mafia MQM down ….

• jazoo said:

Amir you are not careful in what you are writing…you have changed your focus.
    First it was MQM now you are attacking Mohajirs.
    If you have read pak politics constitution probably you know that your post comes under moderation to removal from this thread.

My parents migrated from Lucknow India and I have tons of friends and you would be surprised most of them are Punjabis.
    Regardless of our political affiliation we never talk about ethnicity or religion, as a matter of fact we never think on these lines.

• nadirshah113 said:

@jazooo

every pakistani know what bhai really is..nobody in this country is against mohajirs & never will be but yes we will stand against everyone who is working against our country..i pay salam to all those people who sacrificed for this country at time of its creation specially mohajirs..i really do..but we cannot forgive anyone saying birth of pakistan is a mistake..this country has a lot of problems but it does not mean we start disintegrating it, we have to overcome these problems n differences..but how can we do this if we r following someone who dont even accept existence of this country..jazoo what i can say about you? you are fooling yourselve,, nobody else..i think same about all those who follow don bhai..dont fool yourself, if u really care about this country then stand against bhai

• dildar said:

I have a dream……..

I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up against the injustices and hypocrisies of our ruling class. I have a dream that one day Muslims will be called Muslims only and not barelvi or ihl-e-hadith or deobandi or wahabi or sunni or shia, and that they will be able to pray together under one Imam. I have a dream that one day ‘our madrassah’, a hate-generator and terrorist-breeder place; will be transformed into an oasis of free and constructive minds that will not spread hate and terror in the name of Islam. I have a dream that our children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the length of their beard but by the content of their character. I have a dream today……….

I have a dream that one day Pakistan will be transformed into a place where little boys and girls will be able to join hands and walk together to the schools each morning without having the fears of Taliban.

I have a dream today.

I have a dream that one day every valley shall be exalted, every hill and mountain shall be made low, the rough places will be made plain, and the crooked places will be made straight, and the glory of the Allah shall be revealed, and all flesh shall see it together. This is our hope. With the true faith of Islam we will be able to hew out of the mountain of despair a stone of hope. With this faith we will be able to transform the jangling discords of our nation into a beautiful symphony of brotherhood. With this faith we will be able to work together, to pray together, to struggle together, to fight against all the injustice we are facing together, knowing that we will be a great nation of the world one day.

Martin Luther King’s speech has been modified in favour of Pakistan.

• bhola said:

@dildar
    dera la i am impressed

• Malek said:

i have a dream……….

-terror!st Mehsud will be hanged publicly in Swat
    - terror!st Chooran Wali sarkar in London will be hanged publicly in Karachi

i have a dream ……that this will be achieved one day very soon

• Amir Hameed said:

@jazooo,
    How did I change my focus and where did I attack Mohajirs? You had asserted that Altaf had brought peace in KHI and I explained to you how he and his party of thugs have propagated feelings of hatred in KHIties and I gave you a real life example based on experience. The problem is that you are in denial of what MQM has done to KHI and the KHIties. All major leaders of this party have murder cases registered against them; Ishrat-ul-Ibad, Waseem Akhtar, Altaf Hussain and the list goes on.

• Proactive said:

The endgame target: a weak nuclear defanged Pakistan

Wednesday, June 10, 2009
    Shireen M Mazari (The News International, 2 June 2009)

• Proactive said:

An important quote from Dr. Mazari’s column.

As for the military operation, it is becoming ever more evident that this may be open-ended since there is still no overarching political strategy for the post-military scenario. One sees no effort to build the civil capacity for taking over from the military. It appears as if the civil government has simply handed over all responsibility to the military and has gone into a state of mental paralysis instead of ensuring that local governance and security capacity is created within the civil administration.

• Blackhawk12 said:

@ jazoo

It doesn’t say any thing about other 13 vehicals, so we can assume that they left the area safely. i got this story for ISPR site.

• jazoo said:

@nadirshah113

You wrote

“but we cannot forgive anyone saying birth of pakistan is a mistake”

Yes we have forgiven those who were against creation of this country.
    Infact those in denial of creation of Pakistan i.e. downstream of Jamiat Ulma-e-Hind had to play important roll in writing our fate.
    Molana Mufti Mehmud and JI put their contribution in writing our constitution.
    We not only have forgiven them but had them played important roll just because they were representatives of many Pakistanis.
    So pay some respect to Mohajirs…don’t you think their representation counts.

• jazoo said:

@Amir Hameed

I can give you many live examples also but it won’t change your mind.

Those who lives in Karachi permanently knows what peace is all about not few secluded examples.
    Since MQM has joined the mainstream politics they have to replace its corrupt element otherwise they won’t survive.
    Cleansing is part of evolution….without evolution no party can survive.

• bechari-awam said:

@mbokhari
    I apologize for taking a lead here ;)

@jazoo
    just for you

“http://www.ummatpublication.com/2009/06/10/story3.html”

• bechari-awam said:

some how the link didn’t work. Here it’s again

• mbokhari said:

• Ashrafi said:

Luxury hotel Pearl Continental, Pekhawar (Peshawar) Pakistan June 9, 2009

• mbokhari said:

Haroon Rashid pleads with Imran Khan and Munawwar Hassan to see reason. Points to the Awami Lashkar in Lower Dir and Buner contra Taliban as evidence of a wave of public indignation with the Taliban.

Declares anarchy and chaos as fates worse than death for a nation. Only a state can provide security for the people. Anti-state elements and those supporting them are agents of chaos, disintegration and social breakdown.

Haroon Rashid endorses the call to arms raised by ordinary Pakistanis of Lower Dir and asks IK and MH what other “reservations” do they have about the Army Operation and liberating FATA from Taliban?

• bhola said:

I was listening to ANPs Meyan Iftekhar and it was heartening to feel the determination in his part in the fight against these animals. We the people of Pakistana nd especially people of NWFP will win this war inshaAllah.
    There are still doubts about the military and political will to eliminate Taliban once and for all and thats why locals are still reluctant to do what they really want to do. They have seen this before and were left in the middle of a mess after half hearted military operations. This would be a waste of the single most important opportunity if the operation is abandoned without achieving its goals. The public is angry and despite the miseries of IDPs, is backing the operation. The signs so far suggest that this time this maybe a different story but God knows better.
    IK and JI are not jumping up and down anymore , declaring the operation a fight against OWN PEOPLE, though still talking rubbish. Nw they are looking for other excuses to oppose military operation. It may not be easy for them to take a U turn after what they have been saying so far , so they will stick to their unreasonable stance for the sake fo their egos, while people burn in this hell.

• mbokhari said:

• supercreature said:

@All
    I am worried about our fellow forum member Harriskhan, he has not appeared on this forum since the peshawar bomb attack … his extremest views giving me some weird thoughts here

• dildar said:

@supercreature

Don’t worry about him, he is the ‘Tehkedar’ of Pakhtuns but lives in Lahore as per custom.

• Amir Hameed said:

@jazooo,
    I have seen the filth of MQM too closely to fall into the trap of what they stand for, because they stand for nothing. You have mentioned that the example I gave was among a few secluded ones but what you are forgetting is that events like the killing of Hakeem Saeed, mayhem of May 12, 2007, etc. are no secluded examples and they expose MQM to its bones.

Finally, when you use the term Mohajirs, coined by the MQM, you may want to give it some thought to see what it means. A Mohajir is someone who has migrated between places, regardless of his/her ethnicity. My parents migrated from the Indian Punjab to the Pakistani Punjab province, so by definition, I am also a son of mohajirs. But according to the MQM definition, a Mohajir is an immigrant who is urdu speaking.

• Farian said:

@Aamir Hameed

My brother I would like to share my experience with you about MQM because I am a karachi resident although neither I am a spokesperson of that party nor a supporter of its wrongdoing in the name of ethnic injustice.

When you associate ‘Urdu speker’ with MQM, or Karachi, I see that you are not the only one to have this perception…You can be right to say that Urdu speakers are the biggest ethic section in MQM but they are not in majority…MQM attracts and maintain a majority of people from different backgrounds then that of Urdu speakers from Delhi,Lukhnow,Hyderabad Daccan,etc..Dont forget MQM get the vote from Memon, Bohri,Gujrati,Kachi, Bengali, behari, immigrants of south india and rest of subcontinent and they dont have mother tongue Urdu…but as in karachi Urdu is the most widespread & dominent so one can led to think MQM is the party of only Urdu speakers…dont you see Memon/Gujrati speaking or others in MQM(Farooq Sattar for your info is a Memon a native Gujrati speaker) but as we in pakistan are unaware of other regions so we have natural misconceptions.
    So my Grandparents can be muhajir whether they migrated from Afghanistan or Iran or any part of India and it not be redifined by any party…

FYI ..I am a pakistani born in Faisalabad ,living in karachi for more in 20 years and my mother tongue is urdu.

• mbokhari said:

A man holds a box of Pakistan-made “Super Osama Bin Laden, Kulfa Balls” milk and coconut flavour hard candies bought at a bazaar in Kandahar city June 10, 2009.

http://news.yahoo.com/nphotos/slideshow/photo//090610/ids_photos_wl/r3801440113.jpg/

• supercreature said:

@dildar

Really after watching the bombing footage I have a weird feeling either he was driving the toyota or that truck ….

• savage said:

Like we already not have enough groups..

Peshawar PC blast, Abdullah Azaim group accepted the honor.

http://jang.com.pk/jang/jun2009-daily/10-06-2009/up77.gif

• bhola said:

@dildar
    @supercreature
    Haris Khan is probably waiting for his revelations so that he can come and tell us about things which we cant see but he can.

• supercreature said:

@bhola

• mbokhari said:

Nawaz Sharif visited the IDP camp in Swabi on June 5th, 2009.

Pictures:

• savage said:

Free judiciary should wake up, I was so pissed when they let this anti-state guy loose.

http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=20096\10\story_10-6-2009_pg7_43
    Lal Masjid cleric booked for provocative speech

Daily Times Monitor

LAHORE: A case has been registered against Lal Masjid cleric Abdul Aziz for delivering a provocative speech in Taunsa Sharif, a private TV channel reported on Tuesday.

According to the channel, Aziz – along with his family and son of former Lal Masjid deputy cleric Ghazi Abdul Rasheed – visited Hanfia Mirajul Uloom in Tibi Qisrani on June 5 and addressed a huge public gathering at 2pm on an invitation by the madrassa chief. The Lal Masjid cleric blatantly opposed the Swat operation in his speech and appealed for aid for “victims” of the offensive. He talked about the “philosophy of martyrdom” in his speech as the gathering shouted ‘long live Taliban’.

• mbokhari said:

Suicide attack in Peshawar kills 3, injures 13 cops
    http://thenews.jang.com.pk/updates.asp?id=80278
    PESHAWAR: Three people were killed and 13 policemen injured in a suicide attack at Ring Road in Peshawar on Thursday.

The blast also destroyed two police mobile vans, sources said.

The injured are being taken to nearby hospitals as relief activities have gone underway at the site of the blast.

According to details, two persons on a motor-cycle hurled a hand grenade at Ring Road and when police was stationed in the area a suicide bomber came up and blew himself up, killing three people and injuring 13 policemen.

Prime Minister Yusuf Raza Gilani has ordered inquiry into the attack.

Forensic experts are gathering evidence from the wreckage which spread across the site of the incident.

• savage said:

These fucking arabs become sheeps in their our country but are raging jehad on poor Pakistanis.

New groups takes credit for Pakistan blast
    Published: June 11, 2009 at 2:23 PM

A formerly unheard of al-Qaida affiliate claimed responsibility for the deadly attack on the Pearl Continental Hotel in Pakistan, saying more were pending.

A suicide team opened fire on hotel security guards, driving through the gates of the luxury hotel Tuesday and detonating a massive bomb that destroyed part of the building, killing 17 people in a sophisticated operation.

A previously unknown group calling itself the Abdullah Azzam Shaheed Brigade has claimed responsibility for the attack, saying it was in response to U.S.-inspired attacks by Pakistani military forces on Taliban insurgents in the restive Swat Valley, Pakistani daily The News reports.

Amir Muawiya, a spokesman for the group, phoned media organizations Wednesday claiming responsibility for the attack and promising more were on the way, notably at the BBC offices in Islamabad.

The News says Muawiya is a Taliban commander linked to insurgents operating in the semiautonomous tribal regions along the border with Afghanistan.

The spokesman said his group was now the premier militant organization in the region following a decision by central Taliban and al-Qaida councils, stressing only the Abdullah Azzam Shaheed Brigade would make claims on future attacks.

The organization takes its name from Abdullah Azzam, a Sunni theologian who mentored Osama bin Laden during the 1980s jihad against the Soviet invasion in Afghanistan.

• savage said:

Even a caveman have more political vision than JI/PTI. No wonder some PKpoliticians hated Ms. Minallah so much that they started every comment cursing her. ;)

Pakistan public opinion turning against Taliban

By PAUL ALEXANDER
    The Associated Press
    Thursday, June 11, 2009 4:27 PM

ISLAMABAD — The footage was chilling – a woman crying out in pain, held face-down on the ground, as a man with a long beard flogged her in front of a crowd.

It could be the video that changed Pakistan.

That two-minute clip, purportedly shot in the Swat Valley where the Taliban held sway until a recent military offensive, has come to represent the militants and their extreme form of Islam. The footage is increasingly seen here as a turning point – perhaps even more persuasive than all the bombings, beheadings and other violence, most recently Tuesday’s suicide attack on a luxury hotel.

The circumstances of the beating are murky, no one is sure where exactly it happened, and the woman’s identity remains unclear more than two months after the whipping was shown repeatedly on TV.

No matter. She remains irrevocably linked with the Taliban, an instant icon the government has used to ask Pakistanis if this is what they want for their country.

The answer from many seems to be no.

There are no scientific polls, but in informal interviews by The Associated Press with more than three dozen Pakistanis across the country Wednesday and Thursday, not a single person expressed sympathy or allegiance toward the Taliban. The most common answer was the militants should be hunted down and killed.

Many people told the AP they used to support the Taliban but no longer do so. The finding is supported by those of Pakistani analysts and commentators, who say they detect a similar shift in public opinion recently against the Taliban.

Certainly, the militants retain some support, particularly in the lawless tribal regions bordering Afghanistan that the Taliban and al-Qaida have used as sanctuary. The extremists would likely retreat to these areas if they continue to suffer defeats elsewhere.

But the change in public mood is empowering the army in its offensive against the militants – a campaign supported by the Obama administration, which believes security in Pakistan is vital to defeating the Taliban in neighboring Afghanistan.

Now the army says it has the Taliban on the run, helped by tips from residents in villages under fire. It’s quite a change from several months ago, when the Taliban was on the march within 60 miles of the capital, Islamabad, and there was talk of the entire country falling to the militants.

“Like all of us, I was welcoming the Taliban in the beginning,”
    said Abdul Jabbar Khan, a 52-year-old shopkeeper. Khan now lives with eight family members in a relief camp in Mardan, along the northwest border with Afghanistan. They said they were forced from their home by fighting in Mingora, Swat’s biggest town.

“When Maulana Fazlullah started giving sermons on the radio, he was talking about good things – heaven and Islamic teachings,” Khan said, referring to the Taliban leader in Swat.

“Now we have the result,” he continued. “It is very miserable, painful for all of us. We had a good life there. We had a good home and everything. Now we are begging for even daily meals. These people are responsible. They betrayed us and played with our religious emotions.”

Nadeem Ahmad Awan, a 31-year-old bookseller in the southwestern city of Quetta, said the army should “kill each and every Taliban.”

“No Taliban should go unharmed,” agreed Asma Arshad, 23, a college student in the central city of Multan. “The killing of Taliban is good for Islam and it is good for Pakistan.”

A majority of Pakistanis have always opposed Islamic extremists. Previous army offensives against the militants, however, have resulted in public backlashes as many people concluded the only way to end the bloodshed and destruction was for the weak central government to strike a deal with the extremists.

That may be changing.

“The mood has changed toward the Taliban even among those who had empathy with them,” said Mahmood Shah, a retired military officer. “Now I don’t think they can talk openly in favor of the Taliban. They will be stoned or something.”

Attacks like Tuesday’s bombing of the Pearl Continental hotel in Peshawar that killed at least nine people, including two U.N. workers, also have hardened people’s resolve.

“I get the sense that setting off bombs on any civilian target in the North West Frontier Province – particularly in a place like Peshawar, which might otherwise be a hotbed of support for the insurgency – is fairly obviously a counterproductive strategy,” Shah said.

The militants’ efforts to expand their sway beyond Swat also appear to have been a miscalculation. Under a February peace deal signed with the government, they imposed sharia, or Islamic law – the whipping in the video appeared to be punishment for an offense – and have been accused of murders, rapes and pillaging.

Sufi Muhammad, an influential Taliban cleric, further stirred outrage with a speech in which he denounced democracy and elections – an unpopular pronouncement in a country that recently has emerged from a decade of military rule.

When the Taliban advanced from Swat into the neighboring Buner district in April, the deal collapsed and the government sent the army to oust the militants from the region.

The rising public sentiment against the militants has played into the government’s efforts to build support for offensives against the Taliban that started, with strong encouragement from Washington and other allies, in Swat and may yet head for tougher targets in the tribal areas of North and South Waziristan.

Sheik Maqsood, a 47-year-old social worker in Multan, said he used to like and respect the Taliban, but that over the years their atrocities in the tribal regions have changed his mind.

“These Taliban are unpopular to such an extent that not a single person is willing to utter even one word in their favor,” Maqsood said.

The sea change in sentiment appears to have started with the video, said Mehdi Hasan, a journalism professor and political commentator.

The two-minute video, widely aired on local television in early April, shows the woman face down on the ground with two men holding her arms and feet. Her all-enveloping burqa has been hitched up to expose a pair of pink trousers.

A third man in a black turban with a long beard whips her backside more than a dozen times, causing her to scream repeatedly and shout “Stop it, stop it! It is painful!” A crowd of men watches silently in the background.

“After the flogging of the girl in Swat, the people of the country’s mood changed,” Hasan said. “Before that, the public attitude was apologetic and defensive because of the word Islam.”

The Taliban’s other actions had an impact, too.

“The militants were blasting saloons, destroying girls’ schools. They were stopping women from coming out of their homes or going to the doctor,” Hasan said. “People became fed up with this. They are reclaiming Islam. … For the first time in Pakistan, they are taking a strong stand against the Taliban and the extremists.”

Zahid Omar, 37, a local trader in the eastern city of Lahore, said people had been forced to see the Taliban’s “ugly faces.”

Zafar Hilaly, a former Pakistani ambassador, wrote in the influential daily The News that the Taliban’s actions already have cost them any chance of destabilizing the government.

“They helped the public make up its mind,” he wrote. “They helped the army do what it should have done much earlier, which was to fight. They encouraged parliament to acquire some spunk. Pakistan’s victory in the present war against the Taliban is preordained for no other reason than the nation is finally united against the enemy.”

The government has shown more savvy than in previous offensives against militants that left civilians dead. They appear to have been careful to avoid collateral damage as much as possible this time, though it’s impossible to know for sure because the military has severely restricted access to the combat zones.

In addition, there has been a nearly monthlong pause in U.S. drone-fired missile strikes against militant targets near the Afghan border. Such strikes are unpopular in Pakistan, though U.S. officials say the lull was not timed to allow the government to build good will.

The Pakistani army – whose reputation took a beating under former military leader Pervez Musharraf – says it’s succeeding in Swat partly because it has more public support. Many residents are now more helpful in tipping off security forces to Taliban presence, military officials say.

The military also quickly dispatched helicopter gunships to the Upper Dir region in support of a citizens’ militia that sprang up after the bombing last week of a mosque that was blamed on the Taliban. Some similar efforts have foundered for lack of government support.

Still, critics say the Pakistani army does not have the will or ability to vanquish the militants, given its close links to extremist groups.

While the peace deal with the Taliban was widely criticized at the time as a capitulation, President Asif Ali Zardari says he signed off on it because he knew the militants would violate it and show their true colors.

The flogging and other Taliban actions seemed to resonate with Pakistanis because Swat is much more a part of the Pakistan they’re familiar with than the tribal areas. People who live in Punjab have vacationed in Swat and gone there to honeymoon. The tribal areas, on the other hand, are like another planet.

The surge in support for the offensive still could end if the government fails to address the more than 2 million people displaced by the fighting or to hold Swat once it’s cleared. Bringing law and order to that stretch of the northwest is critical to preventing the Taliban’s re-emergence.

Residents in the troubled Bajur tribal region cursed the Taliban in interviews with the AP – but also complained the government did nothing for them after a successful military operation last year against the Taliban.

When the militants were in power, “we were facing threats from the Taliban but at least we could still live in our homes,” said Dost Mohammed, one of thousands who fled their town of Mamund during the fighting – only to return to find their homes and crops destroyed.

Mohammed still favors army action against the Taliban. But he said that the government should help those who pay a heavy price for the war on terror

• Amir Hameed said:

@mbokkari,
    What surprises me is that with all the suicide attacks that have happend so far, the government has not been able to come up with a strategy to counter it. All we see is condemnation here and there from some political figures after the fact and that’s about it. What the government should do is to come up with a comprehensive strategy to tell people how un-Islamic these act are. There should be an aggressive media campaign where the government should use respected religious figures, like the Imam-e-Kaba, to openly condemn the acts of suicide attacks.

• Wahid Doyum said:

Why do all attacks in Lahore make front page, but no peep from admin about attacks in Pekhawar? Why call this website PKPolitics and not LHPolitics?

• Amir Hameed said:

US wants India to trim Jalalabad mission
    http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/world/14-us-pushes-pakistan-over-mumbai-attacks-zj-06

————————-
    United News of India quoted unnamed sources as saying that the US had asked India to ‘close or prune down’ its consulate in Jalalabad in Afghanistan following allegations by Pakistan that it was ‘creating trouble’ in the border areas of NWFP and Balochistan.

UNI said Pakistan had alleged that the Indian consulates in Jalalabad and Kandahar were ‘fomenting trouble’ in NWFP and Balochistan bordering Afghanistan by providing financial and material support to fugitives in the two border provinces.

‘Pakistan, however, has not supported its allegations with evidence,’ UNI said. The sources said besides asking India to resume talks with Pakistan, the US was also trying to convey to Indian authorities its views on closing or pruning the Indian Consulate in Jalalabad.
    ————————-

Contrary to the Indian newspaper’s claim, I believe that Pakistan has provided evidence to the US on India’s involvement in the insurgency in Baluchistan otherwise US would have never asked India to trim down its consulates in AFG.

• mbokhari said:

Musharraf revealed nuke locations to US

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/newsnight/markurban/2009/06/pakistans_loose_nukes.html

A few years ago, I was told about extraordinary US contingency plans to recover Pakistan’s nuclear weapons, in the event of a collapse of law and order or an extremist coup in that country.

My informant gave me considerable detail. A super-secret agreement had been put in place early this decade following confrontations between India and Pakistan, two nuclear armed nations, over the disputed Kashmir region.

In order to stabilise an otherwise potentially highly volatile situation, Pakistan would tell the US where its nuclear weapons were. India had been promised, that in the event of some Pakistani national cataclysm, the Americans would move in to remove the nuclear weapons.

The “loose nukes” nightmare would thus be avoided, and India would not be tempted into a first strike on Pakistan’s atomic arsenal.

• mbokhari said:

Al Qaeda cockroaches scurrying away from Pakistan :D

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/06/12/world/12terror.html?partner=rss&emc=rss

American officials say they are seeing the first evidence that dozens of fighters with Al Qaeda, and a small handful of the terrorist group’s leaders, are moving to Somalia and Yemen from their principal haven in Pakistan’s tribal areas. In communications that are being watched carefully at the Pentagon, the White House and the Central Intelligence Agency, the terrorist groups in all three locations are now communicating more frequently, and apparently trying to coordinate their actions, the officials said.

• mbokhari said:

@Amir Hameed

There is no silver bullet in security planning that could beat a spontaneously exploding jihadi. The mindset that supports suicide bombings by winks and nudges needs to be exposed and changed. The infrastructure of murder in FATA and Swat need to be destroyed by the force of arms.

Dawn editorial from today talks about how security can be improved.

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/metropolitan/16-failure-to-protect-hs-04

Saudi Arabia has made some headway in rehabilitating the militants. But we must remember that they have a few things going for them that are missing here: a solid and repressive state structure, no media, oil wealth and monopoly on religious instruction (all imams are government appointees and all Friday khutbas everywhere are issued from a central office)

Asia Times Online compares Saudi successes and why they cannot be replicated in Pakistan:

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/Middle_East/KE16Ak01.html

• Malek said:

Zardari addressing the nation now………………..at midnight Pak time!

• Malek said:

he seems to be having great difficulty in reading the written script………….

going on about bb shaheed qurbanian …….for now………..may come to the point alter (if any)

• Ghost Of TK said:

Iran’s ‘Democracy’ explained:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/middle_east/8051750.stm#president

P.S. I’m fine with it. Note No wahabi cultist “Khadim-ul-Amreekiyeen, Yahoodeen”

• Amir Hameed said:

@mbokhari,
    I do agree with you that there is no silver bullet for this situation but if you think about it, these Mullahs used the FM radio-like means very effectively to contaminate people’s minds and to indoctrinate them with their sick idiology. Even though it may be too late to inocculate those who have already gone to the other side, but I believe that the same method can be used as a weapon against them to prevent the newbies from getting converted and that was my point.

• dildar said:

I feel extremely sorry for this kid,

http://express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100646987&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20090613

Who on earth are these monsters who convert these children into human bombs….

I wish the most painful death ever any living thing can have for them……..

• Proactive said:

Back to the peace process

By Shamshad Ahmad | Published: June 13, 2009 (The Nation)

• Proactive said:

What is the problem with the active link I posted in the previous message?

http://www.nation.com.pk/pakistan-news-newspaper-daily-english-online/Opinions/Columns/13-Jun-2009/Back-to-the-peace-process/1

• mbokhari said:

Taliban claim responsibility for Lahore, Nowshera, PC attacks
    http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/front-page/taliban-claim-responsibility-for-lahore%2C-nowshera%2C-pc-attacks-369
    Saturday, 13 Jun, 2009 | 07:09 AM PST

WANA, June 12: The Tehrik-i-Taliban Pakistan has claimed responsibility for Friday’s suicide attacks in Lahore and Nowshera and the bombing of Pearl Continental hotel in Peshawar on Thursday.

“We claim responsibility for these attacks,” a man identifying himself as Saeed Hafiz and claiming to be deputy of Hakeemullah Mehsud based in Orakzai tribal region told Dawn on telephone.

He said the TTP would soon release the video of the PC attack.

He said the suicide attacks on the Lahore seminary and Nowshera mosque were to avenge Thursday’s bombing in Hangu and military operations in Swat, Bannu and South Waziristan.

• mbokhari said:

ایران میں جھرلو پھر گیا

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090613/ap_on_re_mi_ea/ml_iran_election

“It is our duty to defend people’s votes. There is no turning back,” Mousavi said, alleging widespread irregularities.

There were worries of protests by Mousavi supporters if he is declared the loser, though there was no sign of gatherings Saturday morning. About a dozen supporters sitting on chairs outside one of his campaign offices in central Tehran said they were waiting to hear from their candidate before deciding what action, if any, to take.

Bringing any showdown into the streets would certainly face a swift backlash from security forces. The political chief of the powerful Revolutionary Guard cautioned Wednesday it would crush any “revolution” against the Islamic regime by Mousavi’s “green movement.”

And it was unclear how many Iranians were even aware of the claims of fraud, amid widespread communications disruptions that began in the later hours of voting Friday — suggesting an information clampdown. State television and radio only broadcast the Interior Ministry’s vote count.

Nationwide, the text messaging system remained down Saturday and pro-Mousavi Web sites were blocked or difficult to access. Text messaging is frequently used by many Iranians — especially young Mousavi supporters — to spread election news.

Mousavi’s paper, Kalemeh Sabz, or the Green Word, and other reformist dailies were ordered to change their headlines originally declaring Mousavi the victor, according to editors at the papers, who spoke on condition of anonymity because of the sensitivity of the issue. The papers had blank spots where articles were removed.

• bhola said:

whats wrong with Jang website, there is a warning about a virus when you try to open the page

• Believer said:

I don’t think that India is involved in suicide bombings.

I am so angry with this suggestion because it looks like that we are so incompetent that we cannot prove it, let alone stop Indian agents.

Indian agencies had some evidence when they blamed Pakistan, where is our intelligence??? We should stop ISI’s budget if they cannot give some proof.

India is not our friend and wants to cause trouble in Pakistan but does not have the courage to do that (especially suicide bombings).

• Believer said:

Pehawar Pearl Continental and John Simpson

Few years ago, I read a book by BBC world correspondent John Simpson. He has been presenting ‘Simpson’s World’ since 1966 and has stayed in almost every country in the world (he is covering Iran elections now).

John Simpson says that Peshawar PC hotel is the best in the world, especially in term of service. Coming this from someone who has stayed virtually in every country made me feel proud (‘A Mad World, My Master’ by John Simpson).

I felt so sad after PC blast. Who can I blame? Zia’s dead soul? or Musharraf (the lecturer)’s still alive body??

• pakwatan12 said:

http://jang.com.pk/jang/jun2009-daily/14-06-2009/index.html

Ms Clinton; this is Iran, not Pakistan and Afghanistan, where you install puppets(Zardari & Karzai).

• fareed said:

What a bhikari budget…………………… 722 billion lost will be taken from the loans to make it 1000 billion rupees lost and they don’t even think that loan is loan. Relief for people who can affoard mobiles, cars etc and no relief for the poor.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/2009/06/090613_federal_budget_09_zs.shtml

• Ghost Of TK said:

spoke too soon! :(

• fareed said:

I wasn’t in touch over the last one week. Any idea why Kashif Abbasi is out of the seen these days????????

• bhola said:

Kill all the Taiban ‘good ‘ and bad and the ugly

• ataraxis6 said:

Wasat-ullah Khan explains how Pakistani’s are hellbent on dispensing justice based on self invented version of Islam, leaving nothing up to God.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/2009/06/090614_baat_say_baat_rr.shtml

• Hasanm said:

Pakistan has a future only if we have
    1- Universal education for all (elementary education, not just higher education)
    2-Ruthless justice system (criminal and social including abolishing quota system, keeping local jobs for local people and national jobs strictly on merit, no more ” rural/ urban” nonsense)
    3- Tolerance (absolute intolerance to intolerance)
    4- Provincial autonomy as envisaged in 1973 constitution
    5- Perhaps Presidential system

The big question is who can do that?
    Can PPP (Zardari), PMLs, JI, JUI, MQM, ANP, or regional nationalist parties do it?
    Are they capable of that? Is our ruling elite willing to give some due respect (not asking for equality) to common man? Will our religious leaders ever preach tolerance, equality and peace?
    If Yes, then donot worry we will come out strong from the current crisis.
    If No, then its only a matter of time!!!! “Tumhari daastan bhi na hogi daastanon mein”

• nautilus said:

Pakistan has a new record! One suicide attack every 1.5 days! Congratulations, fellow Pakistani’s, our country is a joke internationally. Everyone keeps on killing each other and then they blame the west for their stupidity. I say this because I can see so many taliban-lovers posting on this website. the world thinks Pakistani’s are barbarians and uncivilized people. Pakistan is a joke internationally, second only to North Korea.

• Muhammad Usman said:

On a lighter note

Pakistan has world best bowling record in twenty twenty cricket

• nautilus said:

@above
    yaar, let our team win the whole thing first, then we’ll talk about records later lol.

• Muhammad Usman said:

@ above

Umar gul has 3 best performances in top 10. Enough to feel proud.

Why all the time be pessimist and demanding.

Bhai sahab aab to choty choty khusian he hain. lol

• Muhammad Usman said:

We should rise above parties and predijuice.

Say right thing irrespective of my personal like or dislike

• fareed said:

@Shirkuh , @nota where are you guys. missing your posts.

• mbokhari said:

@fareed :

@Shirkuh , @nota where are you guys. missing your posts.

• savage said:

Too much of Islam and Jihad, Taliban Khan/ JI where are you guys, missing your thoughts about following mind blowing news.

http://jang.com.pk/jang/jun2009-daily/15-06-2009/up22.gif

• mbokhari said:

Haroon Rasheed takes Imran Khan to task. Challenges Imran Khan to ponder Syed Ali Gillani’s stance in support of the military operation.

Kudos to Haroon Rasheed for calling the spade a spade.

• bhola said:

@mbkhari
    *sigh*
    People think there if you want to get rid of Taliban you have to be a Liberal Fascist. Haroon Rasheed is spot on, majority of Pakistanis dont even know what a liberal fascist is and still want to get rid of the Taliban. Our future is not associated with the extremists on both ends of the spectrum.

• lota6177 said:

pakistan first or islam first?
    http://www.chowk.com/articles/shadow-of-the-crescent-rakesh-mani.htm

• pakwatan12 said:

Usually army is run by gov, but in Pakistan gov is run by army, and in army there is no “NO”.

IK dilemma is that , at this time he is confronted with army not our gov.

• lota6177 said:

not much has change in the last 2000 years. Alexander the great considered people east of persia as barbarians. Look how these people were living 2000 years ago and now. Sadly not much has changed. 30 parts program, enjoy if you like history.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E9o07JqxM6M

• Ghost Of TK said:

Here is a twitter feed to follow the post election happenings in Iran right now.

Latest is that Mousavi is planning to attend the protest sit-in on the Imam Khomeinie shrine.

http://twitter.com/iranelection09

• Ghost Of TK said:

@mbokhari: I’m glad Haroon-ur-Rasheed is now openly showing the mirror to Imran Khan and his unthinking supporters.

Imran Khan’s ludicrous and unthinking support of Jamat Islami/Yahoodi Arabian agenda has gone on for FAR TOO LONG!

• Ghost Of TK said:

The culture of craven sycophancy has destroyed Imran Khan and any hope of PTI being the force for chagne in this country.

alas!

• Kashif said:

Israel’s PM Netanyahu said today they can agree on seperate Paliestine state if :

a) Arabs recognize Israel as Jewish state
    b) Palistine militants disarm

The arab leaders response ” he has ruined all the chances of peace by asking Arabs to recognize Israel” WTF… what precisely do they want from Israel from their “position of strength” ….

• mbokhari said:

@Ghost Of TK

The culture of craven sycophancy has destroyed Imran Khan and any hope of PTI being the force for chagne in this country.

alas!

Alas, shmas!

This is my commentary of the match:

Imran Khan’s quick glovework ensured that all Taliban supporters stand exposed. After 13 long overs from 1996 onwards, PTI has whittled the target down from 170 million 5000 to only 170 million runs more. Team captain Imran Khan’s final over was during the Long March but Nawaz Sharif clubbed the fourth ball for a straight six and a single off the next ball sealed PTI’s fate.

The PTI side has been kicked out of the Pakistan tournament and will only play county matches for the Taliban side.

Much of the credit needs to go to Imran Khan, who came to the crease after Asghar Khan had ballooned a pull to short fine leg. With Qazi, another chala how kartoos, rotating the strike, the runs don’t come in a torrent.

The cause was really helped by some poor fielding on the rope from Munawwar Hassan and a general air of listlessness. Haroon Rashid, the columnist-turned-single PTI supporter, managed to rein in the jokes, but by halfway, Pakistan Takhreeb-e-Insaf’s mujra on the ground left the spectators rolling with laughter in the pavillion.

The hapless PTI team was not even sure who it was playing against now. The wickets had been replaced by bowling pins and the rowdy crowd was having a field day with trying to hit the wickets/pins by rotten eggs and tomatoes.

By then, the Imran Khan method was obvious, with nearly half the deliveries dropped short and directed at the body. And when Imran Khan miscued a hook of Baitullah Mehsud minutes later, the tactics were further vindicated because it was a hand grenade.

The wheels really came off the wagon when the PTI side were split in two camps on the issue of whether this was cricket or Kabaddi. The 11 man team was split 5 to 5 with the team captain, the Great Khan, as the swing vote.

Final decision? Kabaddi!

• mbokhari said:

• bho said:

@mbokhari

“Final decision? Kabaddi!”

Classic!!!

• zia m said:

@mbokhari,
    Picture is worth a thousand words.

• bhola said:

@picture of a dead man
    Can you see there is bottle on te ground, probably a Pediatric Suspension for his sick child who will never see his father again, who went to Bazar to get her some medicines.
    Killed by a uncircumcised moder Pho ker , son of Bi tch , who was probably born of a swine not a human being.
    The LANGOOR faced womanizer turned reformist of the society IK and the munafaqeen from JI should go and talk to his family that their bread earner was killed because Ambrikaaaaa is in Afghanistan and by his death Americans are frightened.
    Excuse my language but I am very very angry at these Son os Swi nes who support the Nut fae Hramas who kill my people. I wish to live to see te day when ther stinking bodies are littered in the streets, their uncircumcised bits stuffed in their mouths, their mothers ad sisters crying alone over their stinking bodies

• bechari-awam said:

@@d-min
    Why have you removed the featured article by @Ahmed Salahuddin. I was expecting some answers from him but you gave him an easy exit so that he can avoid the questions altogether. This is really d!sgusting :(

• Ghost Of TK said:

The Iranian regime is panicking!

• Ghost Of TK said:

Things are getting Ugly in Iran! The Mullah’s are losing it! 12 have been shot dead at the Pro Mousavi Rally.

Tehrani’s are using Twitter to communicate. Twitter postponed a scheduled update because of the situation in Iran.

Twitter Tags to follow:

· #IranElection
    · Tehran
    . #IranElection
    · #iremember
    · RT From Iran
    · Twitter Reschedules
    · Iranians

We have our own fish to fry, but the Pro Democracy / Progressive folks in Iran could use some Moral support right now!

• Amir Hameed said:

@Kashif,
    Re: your post above, this is what Netanyahu has stated:

In his first speech accepting the concept of a two-state solution for the Middle East conflict, Netanyahu set rigid conditions for moving forward. Among them: unequivocal Palestinian recognition of Israel as the Jewish national state with Jerusalem as its capital, and full demilitarization for a Palestinian state — no army, no rockets or missiles, no control of airspace.

http://www.cnn.com/2009/WORLD/meast/06/14/israel.netanyahu/index.html

So, a Palestine state can never have an army of their own. These terms are another way of saying, we do not care just like we have never cared. At the same time, Israel is not willing to put a stop on its expansion on the illegally occupied territories.

• Amir Hameed said:

@TK,
    I agree with you. The hardliners need to be defeated in Iran.

• Ghost Of TK said:

The number of people at the Tehran rally is really something to see!

Follow this Flickr stream for Iran photos:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/mousavi1388

• pakwatan12 said:

http://www.khabrain.com/aaj-akhbar.aspx?pg=14

Does he mean? “Kise kise ko deya jai ga”?

• jazoo said:

Ha Ha Ghost found some liberal brotherhood with Amreeki sponsored mischief in Iran.
    Under new Mideast Roadmap Iran is not acceptable as Global power of the region.
    With the speedy technological achievement Iran was the natural target to face the Amreeki wrath.

This is the height of mischief Musavi announced victory even before the counting begins and with %age of victory.

Ghost is a fair minded poster but as we say in Pakistan friendship is more important than what you think, perhaps he is lining up with so called liberals to pay back their friendship as we saw nota and shirkuh and many other work as a brigade on opposite side.

Unfortunately these liberal have work out everything in detail of this and that
    LIFE.

• sarwarkiani said:

Brother Ahmed Noorani, the one who exposed NAJI. Please BHI SAB expose these MNAs, MPAs, who are alloting QUOTAS to themselves for OIL and then sell to NATO FORCES and grabing Millions of RUPEES in one day.

• Proactive said:

Anti-terrorism force
    Dawn Editorial
    Tuesday, 16 Jun, 2009 | 07:55 AM PST |

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/16-anti-terrorism+force-hs-03

In stating that the ‘police are not trained to counter terror attacks’ and referring to the need for a new security force dedicated to fighting terrorism, PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif has made a valid point. The methods pursued by the extremists at work in Pakistan resemble a form of urban warfare where it is not easy to tell a terrorist from a civilian. All a militant has to do to pass for a non-combatant is to temporarily abandon his weapon. This allows terrorists to melt at will into the civilian population, making the countering of possible attacks doubly difficult.

While the military operation has certainly achieved some success, it is also certain that the army cannot maintain an indefinite presence in the affected areas — particularly with the military action being expanded to Fata. Once active military presence is withdrawn and displaced populations start returning, the task of ensuring law and order will, under the current circumstances, fall primarily to the police. But the police force in the conflict areas is already demoralised and suffers from issues endemic to the country’s civilian security apparatus such as the lack of training, funding and operational resources.

There is, therefore, a need to constitute a new security force trained specifically to counter terrorism. In this regard, it is encouraging that the government has announced the intention of setting up such a force in Swat. Such a force would be of use wherever there is evidence of militant or terrorist cells. To achieve long-term success, however, the intelligence-gathering network feeding the anti-terrorism force will prove of pivotal importance.

The ability to tell a terrorist from a non-combatant will depend on local knowledge and require an ear-to-the-ground approach. The conduits of information available to the police must therefore be utilised to the fullest, for the police already have a wide network of informants and local knowledge. And while the anti-terrorism force must work in conjunction with the police, the two bodies must also remain distinct from each other to avoid issues of jurisdictional and operational overlap. Moreover, the police force must urgently be bolstered with resources and trained staff.

• Ghost Of TK said:

@jazoo: I don’t understand your generalized ad-hominem attacks. Did you not see the picture or hear the protestors in youtube videos?

Do you have anything to offer instead of just vague conspiracy theories? If you think Americans are capable of mobilizing 2 million people in Tehran, Mashhad, Qom, then you got another think coming.

This is the kind of thinking which is getting the baseej goons to now starting to shoot people. The shah couldn’t stop them, and neither can these self professed “guardians”. They are only guardians of their own power.

The people are protesting in large numbers. Something is happening there, and we need to be aware. Instead of sounding like an Iranian govt stooge! try to look at it from Pakistan’s point of view. It is comical to see mullah’s reverting back to their old tactics of personal attacks and intimidation as soon their preconcieved notions are attackd.

Talib bad.
    But Mullah in Tehran good!

hmmm… I see where _THIS_ is going.

P.S. You really need to read up on what “liberal” actually means. Plus, before accusing people of something, try to understand if your wild accusations will actually fit. Words lose meaning and you lose credibility when you start calling anyone opposing your point of view as “X”.

• Proactive said:

http://www.dailymashriq.com.pk/editoral/edit%206%2012.html

The first editorial is an analysis of the current operation. Some important remarks were: the Army should try to plug the escape routes of the miscreants from Malakand division and directly target the top leadership. Any escalation of this conflict in the southern districts could jeopardize the support currently mustered for the Malakand operation. If this is done correctly, there might not be a need for a large scale operation in Waziristan–and the residents would not suffer the same problems as the Malakand and Bajaur refugees.

• Malek said:

Singh told Zardari after shaking his hand “I am happy to meet you but my mandate is to announce that the territory of Pakistan must not be used for terrorism”

shame zardari….u dont listen to your nation……… but Sardar Ji is ‘telling’ you how to run your presidency!

• Amir Hameed said:

@jazoo,
    All I have to say in response to your note above is that the media is calling this the second largest gathering since the Iranian revolution in 1979. That should tell you something. The youth of that country wants change for a better future.

• Ghost Of TK said:

• jazoo said:

@Ghost

What you call 2 million reformist themselves claim 1 mil and CNN and BBC coverage shows caption of 100000 and in another caption of BBC tens of thousands.
    Your Bala-ghat(exaggeration) is way out of realty.
    then you wrote

“Do you have anything to offer instead of just vague conspiracy theories”

Lets try to understand whats conspiracy for the time being forget about “vague” and “theory”

In Urdu we call “Saazish” in English we learn “Conspiracy”
    Saazish or conspiracy means some plotting and planning done undercover or underground with some collaborators.

This mobilization of 100000 is not work of a day.
    First time we learn about covert budget against Iran was passed in 1996 under Newt Gingritch that was 20 mil. since then many higher value budgets are passed known publicly for covert action against Iran.
    I am talking here about proper financial sanctions against Iran for covert activities…The undisclosed CIA budget against Iran is not known yet.

If only Ghost could tell me whats “Covert Activity” I would be ready to talk about “Theory” and what he call “Vague”

I will also appreciate if Ghost could tell us whats the demand of those reformists.
    Election Results for sure is not because they declare victory well before counting begins, they were also able to tell the percentage of votes Mussavi gets around 65%.
    Here could be some possible demands.

Why women are allowed to work shoulder to shoulder with men in Islamic Iran, why they are not put in caves like Taliban which gives some good room to these so called liberal to thrash Islam.
    Another demand could be why women are allowed to work as cab driver which could be late night shift, why they are not banned to drive vehicle as in Saudi Jahilia.
    Another could be why women judges are allowed in Islamic Iran.

I can carry on with big list on women issues and many other but I will wait until Ghost guide me in right direction and tell me how difficult it would be for him to bash mulla anymore in such Islamic Iran and there will be no fun unless you can write a lengthy post on “Beardos”

I still believe Ghost is an upright person with fair minded judgment and he is no phony he reflect his true feelings with sincerity.
    So the question is who is most offended by this moderate picture of Islam when rest of the world is hellbent to prove Islam is all about Taliban and for stone age only…..Money spend and efforts are made to give horrible picture of Isalm…Islamic Iran is coming in way of such agenda.

Pl also tell me how possibly you think covert money being spent and where.

• jazoo said:

So 2 mil are Aljazeera figures

Ghost would again call it “Vague Conspiracy Theory” when I will ask him
    Why Al-Qaida did not take easy Target Americans and kuffar Europeans in UAE
    why they chose Pakistan where they can kill more fellow muslims if really their motive was to teach American a lesson.

• jazoo said:

This is what I got from BBC website which says hundreds of thousands which is still nowhere near 2 mil of Aljazeera

“Monday’s protest involved hundreds of thousands of people and was one of the largest since the Iranian revolution 30 years ago. ”

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/middle_east/8102224.stm

• mbokhari said:

• jazoo said:

Perhaps this is another reason Reformists don’t like Islamic Iran

Islamic Science Makes a Comeback

For many, Iran conjures up images of angry ayatollahs and scientist bent on acquiring nuclear weapons. But physics professor and author Jim Khalili sees another side to Iran, one where Islamic teachings and science have propelled the country to the forefront of stem cell research. Islamic science – often seen at odds with Islam despite the religion’s history of medieval innovation – is making a come-back.

By Jim Al-Khalili

Many areas of scientific research in the West seem these days to be mine fields of ethical and moral dilemmas. When such research is carried out in countries regarded as enemies of the West, such as Iran, the alarm bells not surprisingly ring even more loudly. But while the U.S., Israel and others agonize over what to do about Iran’s fast-developing nuclear program, another area of research altogether seems to be quite unexpectedly flourishing there.

On a recent visit to Iran with a BBC film crew while making a television documentary series, I was allowed unrestricted access to a thoroughly modern research laboratory. The Royan Institute in Tehran is a place that is carrying out, by any sensible measure, world-class work in genetics, infertility treatment, stem cell research and animal cloning, all in an atmosphere of openness that was quite dramatically at odds with my expectations.

What struck me most was the way the state authorities overseeing the research – for it is certainly closely watched – seem to have dealt with the ethical minefields of parts of the work, in stark contrast to the vociferous opposition to it from some quarters in the West.

While at the Royan, I spoke with one of the imams who sits on their ethics committee. He explained that every research project proposed must be justified to and vetted by his committee to ensure that it does not conflict with Islamic teaching. Thus, while issues such as abortion are still restricted in Iran (it is allowed only when the mother’s life is in danger), research on human embryos is encouraged.

I was certainly taken aback when he quite rightly pointed out that the only thing produced in embryonic stem cell research is a clump of cells, which is far from what could be defined as a human fetus.

The fundamental question here, as it is in the rest of the world, is: What defines life? Many, but by no means all, Christians believe that human life begins at the moment of fertilization — a notion not shared in Islam or Judaism. The Christian argument is based on the idea that the fertilized egg contains everything that is needed to replicate and grow and that this is sufficient. But is the “potential” of becoming a human being really enough?

This is more than just a metaphysical issue. From a purely scientific perspective, an embryo just a few days old is no more than a bundle of homogeneous cells in the same membrane that do not function in a coordinated way to regulate and preserve a single life. So while each individual cell is “alive”, it only becomes part of a human organism when there is substantial cell differentiation and coordination, which occurs around two weeks after fertilization. Therefore a more sensible definition of the beginning of life is that it takes place gradually during the fetus’s development, long after the embryonic stem cells stage where there is only a “potential” for life.

According to Islamic teaching, I discovered, the fetus becomes a full human being only when it is “ensouled”. This takes place anywhere between 40 and 120 days after conception, depending on various interpretations of the Qur’an. So the research at Royan is not seen as playing God, since it takes place long before the soul has entered the body of the unborn fetus.

There is much that the West finds unpalatable about life under Islamic rule in Iran. But when it comes to the controversial subject of genetics, Iranian scientists don’t let religious doctrine hold them back.

Jim Al-Khalili is a professor of physics, author and broadcaster in the UK where he teaches and carries out his research in theoretical nuclear physics. He is currently working on a new series for the BBC called Science and Islam and is writing a book on medieval Arabic science.

http://newsweek.washingtonpost.com/postglobal/islamsadvance/2008/09/islamic_science_makes_a_comeba.html

• jazoo said:

UK MPs: West media biased against Iran

British MPs have condemned the country’s media coverage of Iran’s developments as ‘below the standards of objectivity and impartiality.’

A cross-party group of British MP’s has recently decided to assess whether the media in Britain are objective in their reports on Iran or whether the British public are being softened up for a military action against Tehran.

In the meeting entitled “A Raw Deal or Fair Comment? Iran and the Western Media”, organized by the Westminister Committee on Iran, cases of media bias were presented including recent examples by journalists Con Coughlin (the Daily Telegraph) and Simon Tisdall (the Guardian) as well as reports by the BBC.

The meeting unanimously concluded that there were grounds for serious concern about media objectivity and it was decided that further actions should be taken.

Now, the lawmakers are planning to communicate with media regulators from the Independent Press Complaints Committee and the BBC’s complaints department as well as Secretary of State for Culture James Purnell in a bid to address the issue.

http://www.presstv.ir/detail.aspx?id=25933&sectionid=351020101

• jazoo said:

The Impact of the Islamic Revolution

The Islamic Revolution in Iran surprised a lot of people. In September 1978, just four months before the Shah fled Iran, US president Jimmy Carter described his regime as an island of stability in a sea of turbulence . Dr Kalim had visited Iran in early 1978 and knew a number of active Iranian students in London. But he too saw little sign of a revolutionary movement with the potential to establish Islamic rule.

He later said that he realised that something very special was happening in Iran when he first saw Imam Khomeini on television. He realised immediately that this was no sham revolutionary educated in London, Harvard or the Sorbonne; this was a leader of Islam whose roots lay in the political traditions of Islam itself.

At the same time, he was shocked by the negative reaction to the revolution among many of the Muslims he knew on the Saudi ‘conference circuit’. These were men who had talked a good fight during the 1970s but then tried to ignore the Islamic Revolution in Iran for fear of losing their Saudi patronage.

Dr Kalim, by contrast, threw himself into both studying and serving the new Islamic state. He recognised that this was possibly the breakthrough in Islamic history that he had expected to come decades in the future. But he also realised, as he said later, that the breakthrough could prove transitory, and he was determined to capture as much of its light as possible in case it did not last.

At the same time, he was aware that academic study of the new phenomenon was not sufficient; as a Muslim, it was his duty to help the embryonic Islamic state to survive the massive pressures being put on it by its enemies.

As a result, Dr Kalim visited Iran several times to see and understand the Revolution. The Muslim Institute also arranged a lecture course in London by Hamid Algar, translator of Imam Khomeini’s writings into English. Dr Kalim and other Institute members also toured Britain, the US and other countries, addressing meetings to explain the true significance of events in Iran to excited but often uninformed Muslim audiences.

Dr Kalim’s developing understanding of the Islamic Revolution can be traced through his writings of this period. These include The State of the Muslim World Today (1979) and The Islamic Revolution: Achievements, Obstacles and Goals (1980).

At the same time, Dr Kalim’s insight into the broader historical situation was helping Iranians to understand the true depth of their own revolution. His insight into the nature of the revolution and the problems it faced can be gauged by his reaction to Imam Khomeini’s appointment of Abol Hasan Bani-Sadr as president. Dr Kalim’s comment: “The Imam will have to dismiss this man!”

Dr Kalim was to remain a close friend and supporter of the Islamic State of Iran for the rest of his life. He regarded this as the only possible relationship any Muslim could have with a genuine Islamic state. The relationship was often rocky; many Iranians did not like his regular criticisms of government policy, or his understanding of the Revolution as Islamic and relevant to all Muslims. Many Iranians would have preferred the revolution to have been purely Irani and Shi’a. But there were also many Iranians who held Dr Kalim in great esteem and affection, as was witnessed by the reaction to news of his death.

Dr Kalim always maintained that the limitations of Iranian functionaries and bureaucrats could be overcome provided the leadership remained committed to the global Islamic movement. He never met Imam Khomeini, but developed a personal relationship with Imam Sayyid Ali Khamanei, based on the Imam’s admiration for Dr Kalim’s last major paper, Processes of error, deviation, correction and convergence in Muslim political thought (1989). Dr Kalim considered this relationship the greatest possible honour in the last years of his life.

http://www.islamicthought.org/ks-bio-p2.html

• zia m said:

All theocratic forms of government are for retarded people.

• jazoo said:

Ghost probably won’t like if I compare advanced and very liberal Pakistan with conservative mulla stricken Islamic Iran.
    We can not think of having women cab drivers in liberal Pakistan…soon she would be label with prostitute and randi and all kind of names.
    Ghost perhaps under impression we are not living in caves but Irani mulla is.

• bhola said:

wah ji wah
    that Kari Lugar bill got through, paisay hi paisay
    dollars!!!!!!!!!!! $$$$$$$$$
    wah wah, will the Gov give we the common Pakistanis some cash. I mean development and economy revival and the rest of it is ok but nothing like cash. And if they do give us some cash how much will each Pakistani get?

• savage said:

New York ki roshan aur rangeen galion mein Imran says “Army operation should not stop till it’s logical end”?

http://www.insaf.pk/News/tabid/60/articleType/ArticleView/articleId/2385/Swat-operation-should-be-concluded-soon-Imran-Khan.aspx

• savage said:

I hate this Ahemd Quraishi as much as anyone here could, due to his Moshe support, but read this.

A AhmedQuraishi.com Report

Tuesday, 16 June 2009.

http://WWW.AHMEDQURAISHI.COM

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan—The Pakistani military through its own channels has shared evidence with the U.S. military about Indian support for terrorism in Pakistan’s tribal belt and Swat.

The evidence was embarrassing for the Americans because they have been defending Indian presence in Afghanistan and have also been defending the opening up of Indian consulates in areas close to the Pakistani border.

More embarrassing for the Americans is that besides some Indian weapons and the proof on the presence of Indian-origin special forces personnel and assets, a large amount of standard issue U.S. military weapons have been confiscated by the Pakistanis from dead terrorists. Washington is explaining this by saying these weapons were sold on the black market by the U.S.-trained new Afghan army. But the quality of the weapons – including anti-aircraft guns and launchers – and their quantity eliminates the possibility that smuggling is the only explanation.

The Pakistani government is reluctant to make the evidence public, possibly because it does not want a confrontation with the Indians and the Americans. But the Pakistani military has made its strategic red lines clear.

This is one explanation for why U.S. Undersecretary of State William Burns raised for the first time in New Delhi last week the need to “trim” the Indian consulates working in Afghanistan, among other things.

A number of the Indian army standard issue Vickers-Berthier (VB) light machine gun, manufactured in India, have been found by the Pakistani military in the hands of the terrorists in Swat. This LMG has a 30-round box magazine and a bipod stand, and is sometimes mistaken for the Bren. Apart from India, it was only sold to a few Baltic and South American states. The picture here has been procured by BRASSTACKS from its own sources in Swat.

In addition to weapons and local assets, a large number of trained special operations personnel working for intelligence agencies are believed to be moving along with the local recruits of the Pakistani Taliban. These foreign operators pose as ‘Islamic fighters’. These foreigners are in addition to foreign fighters that have existed in the area before 2001. The mysterious new foreigners are believed to have introduced in Pakistan actions such as group throat slittings, mass executions, brutal murders, and kidnapping, molesting and raping of women of the poor villagers in the tribal belt in the name of religion. Pakistani soldiers have been consistently discovering uncircumcised dead terrorist fighters in the area over the past three years, something unusual for a militia fighting in the name of Islam. Pictures were posted on this forum of the latest discovery of such fighters. Click here to see the pictures.

The bulk of the heavy weapons, communications equipment and huge stacks of cash owned by the so-called Pakistani Taliban are all supplied by unknown sources in Afghanistan. The size of this entire enterprise precludes the possibility that this is the work of unorganized elements. Supporting evidence suggests that there is more than one intelligence agency in Afghanistan involved in this operation.

It is unthinkable that the Indians would risk sending Indian-made weapons to terrorists. It is believed that these weapons were sent in small numbers to a select group of operatives who slipped from Afghanistan to Pakistan’s tribal belt. The most probable thinking might have been that the agents operating these weapons will not fight on the front lines and will not be captured. Obviously the foreign backers of the so-called Pakistani Taliban did not anticipate that the Pakistani military might at some go for an all-out war against these terrorists by draining the swamp, which means emptying up Swat from its civilian population in order to have a free hand against the terrorists.

• bhola said:

@savage
    I am scratching my head, and thinking that what a logical end to a military operation could be?
    Getting rid of taliban might be a good guess? So suddenly IK wants to get rid of OUR OWN PEOPLE.

• bechari-awam said:

@savage @bhola
    does this extreme turnover happened before or after he met state department officials or may be he found out that people are not giving him donations anymore due to his talibanistic views.

Read the following article by another l1beral fasc1st belonging to a farang! and enemy institution Quaid-i-Azam U, coincidently the same place whose one of the former department’s head (shireen mazari) is now mentoring him over foreign and taliban relations.

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=20096\17\story_17-6-2009_pg3_2

• Mirza Ghalib said:

A TINY THOUGHT FOR WEST READERS

There appears to be some mental resistance growing — as west prolapse becomes clear even in west mindrape media — among some west readers here to the inevitable fate of the whole of west.

Though you’re physically west, with west genes, you don’t need to be that! you too can stand upright and become a human.
    You’ve had the front row seat to the west crimes for 8 yrs now. you should experience no wish to be tied to the sickness.

If you do, understand it’s a pure illusion, your nationalistic feelings and beliefs in west “culture”. it’s just a symptom of the west mindrape and mental poison spewing from west textbooks, films, colour boxes, and politicians’ gobs.

Your physical whereabouts have nothing to do and neither does your birth. you too can be part of Freeworld, if you want it.
    You have a mind and a heart. use it!
    If you find, like any human does, west crimes reprehensible, spurn the disease like the Freeworld. spurn even your sick families and cretinous mates, if you see them prattling the 911 lies and glued to the BBCNN sewage.
    You need not be a west war tool. west flags aren’t your flags!

The Union Jack doesn’t stand for you, your freedom, peace. it stands for perpetual world rape. it’s a double cross. it stands for billions to rich bling bling elite and debt to you and your children and their children.

The old glory doesn’t stand for you, if you’re USAn. each star means genocide and land theft. it means billions in “bonuses” and taser to you.

Understand that none of you living in the west are on their “bailout” list. you’re all on their menu, like the rest of the world.

Don’t succumb to the nationalistic pain. it’s just a symptom of the disease!

Besides, it’s beyond understanding why anyone hang on to the west parasitic identity for free. at least the west war junta can be respected like whores but for free?

If you disagree, fine, great, let’s talk. try answering the ongoing challenge of producing one single thing done/produced by west that’s laudable and was beneficial for the humankind.

If you can’t answer the challenge, it’s high time you realise that the belief you somehow harbour about your west links is purely imaginary, like the versions of west history, like west news, like west econ, like everything west.

When you realise this and shed your west mental manacles, you’ll stand free and liberated. and you too will raise a glass to the splendid west prolapsing.

West is the disease, but you don’t have to be.

Your choice!

• justice said:

@Mirza Ghalib

We all know and have admitted that west adopted all the good teachings of islam like social justice,education,welfare,security and freedom to follow any religion

On the other hand we are left with these burning issues related to islam

the length of the beard and the pajams,

the hijab face vs shuttlecock vs just head

or sectarianism like which ONE is going to heaven out of 72 or more groups among muslims.Each ONE to be the right ONE and rest going to burn in hell fire.

While we are spending time to debate the real issues;west took off with pearls of our religion.
    BTW same thing happened when tartars attacked Baghdad

• Proactive said:

Daily Azadi Swat editorial

http://www.dailyazadiswat.com/news/details.php?news_id=17051&sessionid=9c6a3179a55f39c9769ec87340925c58

Mingora residents unable to return to the city.

• mbokhari said:

COIN for dummies
    Wednesday, June 17, 2009
    Lt-Gen (r) Asad Durrani
    http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=183348

“Whose war is this?” is a pointless debate. Those who have a war to fight do not fight over its “ownership”. I suggest we settle this matter after the war. If we win, it was ours. Otherwise, we will dump it on someone else.

Moaning and groaning over the root-causes of the insurgency again would be in vain. Root-causes are embedded in history that cannot be rolled back. Those who created the mujahideen rolled back a superpower, which became history. Their successors, the Taliban, are in the process of doing the same to its opposite number. We have to take care of their sidekick, the “Pakistani Taliban”.

Now that we have decided to fight this war, we should not make any excuses. That ‘our army is not trained for an unconventional war’, is a pretty lame one. All armies are trained in conventional warfare and then adapt to the task at hand. No one trains for COIN and then awaits an insurgency.

• bhola said:

@fareed
    In this article IK is quoted to say ‘ Agar Obama ko haqeqat say aagah kar dia gia tu mujhay AITEMAAD hai….”

Hi hi, Obama par aitemaad hai , hain ji khan saheb?

Butoon say tujh ko umeedain Khuda say no meedi
    mujhay bata tu sahi ore Kafri kia hai

• fareed said:

@bhola
    Fatwe lagana choro aur Allah ko yaad kia karo

• bhola said:

yay fatwa nahi tha aik Shair tha kissi barray aadmi ka
    chor ki darrhi main tinka

• mbokhari said:

• bechari-awam said:

@fareed
    Has Tayebba Zia again changed her party. Just a year ago, she was saying almost the same thing about NS. My guess is by next year, she will be praising Mulla Laanatul!ah the same way if he manage to stay alive by then. This is called a classic downward journey ;)

• bhola said:

@bechari-awam

Wo jahan bhi gaiee ‘LOTI’ to meray pass i
    bas yehi baat hai achi meri ‘ Cheemai’ ki

• mbokhari said:

@fareed
    Waiting for Imran Khan? Waiting for Godot? Waiting for Allah?

Was I sleeping, while the others suffered?
    Am I sleeping now? Tomorrow, when I wake, or think I do, what shall I say of today?
    That with Sarfaraz Naeemi my friend [and thousands like him], at this place, until the fall of night, I waited for Allah?
    That Baitullah passed, with his suicide bomber, and that he spoke to us? Probably. But in all that what truth will there be?

Dr.Naeemi will know nothing. He’ll tell me about the blows he received and I’ll give him a carrot. Astride of a grave and a difficult birth. Down in the hole, lingeringly, the grave digger puts on the forceps.

We have time to grow old.

The air is full of our cries.

• fareed said:

I also used to like NS and my family always voted for NS but it does not mean you can’t praise someone like Great Imran Khan.
    Haroon Rashid also used to write in support of NS and more in support of IK but he has different point of view it does not mean he is also in PTI or against it.

As Alama Iqbal wrote:

” Dhoondane waloon ko dunya bhi nai dete hain
    Gar ho koi kabil to shan-e-kai dete hain”

• bhola said:

Washington ( special correspondent )
    After visiting PTI web page and going through Hooshruba facts disclosed by IK, president Obama had an emergency meeting with the great man. Mr President was shocked to know that he wasnt told facts about Swat/FATA and Afghanistan and thanked the great Khan for bringing him into the right light of ground realities. He expressed his doubts if Bush was aware of the facts either and told IK that he should have come Fwd long time ago. In this way the bloodshed could have been prevented.
    According to reports Obama called his aides in and had a clear word with them ( Khari khari sunaaeen) for keeping him in dark for so long. Based on the facts given by IK, the withdrawal of US army from Afghanistan is expected any time tonight. Also President extended goodwill towards Mulla LanatUllah and the rest of them and apologized for the past mistakes. He acknowledged that if they were allowed to pursue theie agenda Pakistan would have been in a much better state now. If IK’s recommendation of a two month delay in military operation was listened to, things would be much better, either a maricle would have happened or suddenly the Prinda would start singing songs of aman and aatshi.
    In the end President congratulated a few PTI supporters ( and himself) for discovering a ‘ Nai Dunya’ in the form of IK.

• rafay79 said:

@bhola

You forgot to mention one thing. Apparently Obama broke down after realising what was going on. He locked himself in a dark room and bawled through the night :p

In the end, he had to be looked at by a team of shrinks to calm him down.

• mbokhari said:

@bhola

Stop being so funny :)

Syed Bokonon (r.a.) says in the Books of Bokonon:

I wanted all things
    To seem to make some sense,
    So we could all be happy, yes,
    Instead of tense.
    And I made up lies
    So that they all fit nice,
    And I made this sad world
    A par-a-dise.

Imran Khan certainly makes sense and as a result, we are all happy, instead of tense. Let’s ignore the realities of this sad world and proceed to Imran’s world, a fool’s paradise.