{ 33 comments... read them below or add one }

Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar said:

hai Allah, mein qurbaan jaawaan ays tasweer tay aur ays tanziyah muskarahat tay… that’s what they call a killer smirk…

Hinzi, drop me a line if you ever come to TO…. I’d love to buy you a coffee…

Democracy said:

yup the smirk says I got away with helping destroy Pakistan for a dictator and his pet dog Shaukat Aziz and I’m gonna do it again! And you cant do nothin’ about it. It is in many ways showing Pakistanis the finger!

junaid sheikh said:

I must say that Hina Rabbani Khar was not the best person to present the budget as she has been a part of the corrupt PML (Q) government.

PPP should avoid giving important offices to such people who have a know history of lota-ism.

Orat hi marvaati hai, kaheen PPP waalon ki government ko bhi yeh marva na day.

ibex999 said:

Wasn’t this ‘loomri’ right hand of short cut Aziz? Now sold her soul to thug AAZ.
    A shameless Loti!

zafar arain said:

I wanna chop heads of all First Women in Pakistan. plz Join me:)

J.A.G. said:

It was a disgrace for Hina Khar, a while ago she was with PML/Q and was licking Musharaf’s boots and now she is blaming him for every thing. No moral at all.
    The budget is a joke, more thrashing for public, no significant funding for unemployment, inflation, education and health services but a lot more money for President House and prime minister.
    The money Zardari and his gang are wasting on non-stop foreign tours could have provided thousands of Pakistani’ families food and medical.
    How can our leaders sleep, are they not ashamed of themselves?
    I expect Pakistan Parliament to reject this budget.

fareed said:

@junaid sheikh
    I think only zaradri is enough for PPP

bumpy_ride said:

@ everyone,

Please read the following with an open mind and with the spirit and intention of an honest debate.

Given the situation in Pakistan and the level of the ruling elite’s (in)sensitivity towards the needs and grievances of the people, it is not hard to foresee the kind of future we are heading towards. Unfortunately, the scope of options available to Pakistan are increasingly limited and worst of all, directing towards a calamity.

1. The ethnic cleavages are increasingly becoming virulent, especially in NWFP, Balochistan and Karachi.

2. Sectarian and religious extremism is bound to rise with acts such as the one in Lahore.

3. International and regional geo-strategic dynamics are geared to facilitate these already thriving fragmentations.

4. The ruling elite can at best be termed clueless, divided and incoherent in articulating an alternate vision that can not only tackle the existing problems but countering the ideological and geostrategic onslaught of interests and ideas.

5. The nation on its own is largely confused as to who is on whose side and where do they stand or should stand.

Based on these observations, it is safe to say that the situation is bound to get worse. The current status-quo is not going to last long as there is too much insecurity and volatility in the factors that generate stability. I fear for the integrity of the nation and the state of Pakistan.

fareed said:

1. Education budget is very disappointing. how can we progress without quality education and madrassa reforms.
    2. Instead of 1000 a month there should be some 25k-75k for a family to start small business (A poor family can buy a buffallo in villages) to support their families.
    3. There was no need of mobiles,cars relief because poor people who can’t affoard two times bread have nothing to do with this. these facilities are for middle class or rich.
    4.There should be small loans for farmers to have more tractors and tubewells where we don’t have any canals.
    5. More money should be invested in police to recruit new young educated people to change the corrupt police system.
    One thing I don’t understand that why every govt. is bringing the budget with billions of lost. To fulfill this deficit they are taking loans like these loans will be written off.

SnrCtzn said:

I feel sorry for this woman, who as worked under many ‘mentors’ as also stated by some visitors here. Why sorry? Because I ‘dunno’ who will next make use of her knowledge?

What does the has Sharia to say about the rule of women in a Muslim state? IS it not better that we refresh our knowledge on this subject before we stretch the topic any further?

Shah30 said:

Funniest of all is the level of increase in the Presidential and Priminister House expenses. These feudal Lords will never change be it Zardari, Nawaz or anyone else.

If it be Army then the expenses of Army House will be exuberant.

I agree with one of the commentator above regarding the possibility of disintegration of the country as a whole.

The people sitting at top have their bank accounts well maintained in the US and European countries, at the end what they have to do? Just a drop at the airport and statements from luxuary flats in UK and else where regarding re statement of democracy in the country.

I personally believe what has happened to one of our former Prime Minister was happened for the best and there should be more in line to get the same treatment.

During her two tenures as Prime Minsiter, I don’t think any good has happened for the betterment of poor people of Pakistan.

For the last 62 years we are doing defence of this homeland and yet losing land, water to the neighbor. What kind of a defence is that? and what is going to happen after another 38 years? same story of defence of homeland will be repeated.

It is a defence for some but a fortune for others who are making hell lot of a money out of this defence strategy.

I personally believe that Income Support Programme is a bizzare corruption scheme to provide benefit to the party goons. Was it auditable? who is getting money and how this money is changing his life? do we have any facts or statistics about it?

I dont think anything will change in this country, it is under a curse from Al Mighty….

makhtar said:

She is hot….

naughtypakistani said:

Beauty with a brain??? urdu accent is cute. Dont ask about the contents, all responsibility lies on Shaukat Tareen.

mbokhari said:

*Sigh*

I knew a woman, lovely in her bones,
    When small birds sighed, she would sigh back at them;
    Ah, when she moved, she moved more ways than one:
    The shapes a bright container can contain!
    Of her choice virtues only gods should speak,
    Or English poets who grew up on Greek
    (I’d have them sing in chorus, cheek to cheek.)

—- Roethke

Shah30 said:

She is the niece of Ghulam Mustafa Khar.

Strange to note that Uncle is still in the bad books but the niece acquired the hot spot.

Malek said:

The budget is classed as ‘lack luster’………………..even in the lack luster state it is subject to $4 BILLION loan from IMF!
    http://www.khabrain.com/breaking_detail_news.aspx?img=BreakingNews/4detail.gif

also the ‘unelected’ Tarin advises ‘his’ awaam to travel by public transport, like people do in US…………..very good suggestion indeed but ………errrrrrr the only thing he is forgetting is firstly there is a public transport system in US and secondly but more importantly that he forgot to provide anything for public transport in the budget!!
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=22752

nadiabukhari said:

Hina Rabbani Khar http://www.thesaturdaypost.com/rv_37_hinakhar.html (Urdu: حنا ربانی کھر ) (born 1977) is a Pakistani member of parliament, affiliated with the PPP. She served as the State Minister for Economic Affairs and Statistics (without any real world experience or academic qualification) as National Assembly member of PML-Q in (2003-2007) & as an MNA and adviser to Prime Minister for PPP (2008 – Present). Q was heavily defeated in 2008 Elections due to economic mismanagement and shortage of food, water and energy. Q refused the ticket for re-election in 08 to Hina Khar. PPP resuced Hina Khar by offering her the ticket in 08.

Hina Rabbani Khar is rich and famous privileged daughter of feudal politician Ghulam Noor Rabbani Khar who was ineligible for elections because he did not have a university degree http://www.verveonline.com/26/people/tehmina/tehmina.shtml) and niece of infamous playboy ( http://www.jazbah.org/bookmfl.php) chief minister of Punjab Ghulam Mustafa Khar, who abandoned Bhutto and was exiled from Pakistan for a decade in 77 in a deal with General Zia, to avoid jail time. The Khar political lure comes from the family’s land holdings: their sprawling estate includes fisheries, mango orchards and sugarcane fields manned by thousands of poor workers of Punjab.www.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/feb/18/pakistan

Khar received a B.Sc. from Lahore University of Management Sciences in 1999 and went on to earn a M.Sc. in hospitality trade and tourism from the University of Massachusetts in 2001. In 2008, she was named to the World Economic Forum’s list of young global leaders.In 2008, Hina was elected as a member of National Assembly with a ticket from PPP from the constituency of Muzaffargarh, Punjab. She is adviser to Prime Minister of Pakistan on Economic and Financial affairs.

She owns an upscale ritzy restaurant Polo Lounge with expensive european menuwww.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_18-1-2004_pg… in Lahore. She Says: This is a place for people with discerning taste who can appreciate good quality food and (upscale) environment.Her dream is to become Prime Minister of Pakistan one day and possibly join PML(n) in next government. She regards Musharraf and Zardari as visionary leaders. http://www.pakistanileaders.com.pk/profilesdetail.php?id=257

And talking of failures, it was most interesting to see Hina Rabbani Khar vent her ire at the miserable performance of the previous Shaukat Aziz government. It is amazing how some of our politicians change their views and loyalties effortlessly in tune with changing times. It was not that long ago that the same Hina Rabbani Khar could be heard praising Shaukat Aziz and his economic genius to no end. Of course at the time, she was sitting on the PML-Q occupied treasury benches. Being a wily Khar after all, she smelled the change in the air and joined the PPP a few weeks prior to the general elections and she is, once again, looking pretty and sitting pretty as always on the treasury benches. On a second thought maybe her politics is constant: that of occupying a treasury bench. Period!
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/print1.asp?id=118520

She says she loves diamonds, pearls, rubies, designer purses, expensive shades and fast expensive cars. She admits she knows nothing about real economics or finance but loves to give interviews about Pakistan Economy and pretend to be expert. When asked what she likes about her job, after a long pause she replied, frequent free first class trips outside Pakistan, staying in luxury hotels, shopping and receiving expensive gifts.

Our feudal and their kins have always saluted the power and the rule, and their this flexibility has made them the masters of our wretched destinies.
    http://www.pakspectator.com/hina-rabbani-khar-changes-skin/

hariskhan said:

Assalam-o-Alaikum ALL,

I believe, protests need to be organized on mass scale to oppose this budget. I believe, another long march to the capital is in order.

These can be organized by political parties. These SHOULD be organized by political parties.

We must protest untill we make the govt. bow down to the needs of the people of Pakistan.

We must protest untill we make the govt. of Pakistan bow down for serving people of Pakistan.

WE!! … must!! protest.

Unless we protest, things won’t change for the better. Why?

Because the ministers in govt. think, no one is protesting against their crimes, so everyone accepts what they have put forward to all of us, i.e., all 170+ million of us inside and outside Pakistan.

We must!! tell them, they are wrong. They can’t dig a deep hole for us, ditch us in it and laugh on us like we were an invalid nation.

We!! must show them, we are not those kind of people who will stay quiet on “zulm-o-jabr” on mass scale, because someone powerful or rich said it. Because he is the elected one.

We!! must show them, we are not those kind of people who will give up because someone powerful or rich said it. Because he is the elected one.

Dua go,
    HarisKhan

faraz2626 said:

Where is the budget of RANGELLA SHAH in country and foreign countries vulgrity, ayusian, rangralian etc.

We need huge budget for foreign tours of zardari dacoo, he should be a foreign minister instead president, he likes to stay outside the country even our country is burning. A person will be a mad totally mad whose house is burning and he is enjoying with his ministers in USA and other countries.

SHAME ON U ZARDARI AND CO

Mulla Nafs e Zakkiya said:

What a “trick” the govt played on the public.

To avoid a pure techinical debate on the merits of this bogus budget which is nothing but cut and paste from previous reports, they made a “child” politician present it so that 98 percent of the awam and media will start discussing the “presenter” rather then the “presented”=budget…

Even geo helped awam distract from the moronic speech giving talents of this “child” and not the reality of the impact or resolutions in the bogus budget…

Remember that! There is no short term or long term solution to our issues! 60 years of data proves that we as a nation have really serious issues and the current form of government is nothing but a “kaam challao” type opportunity..and not really a serious effort to improve ourselves as a nation.

But who cares…..right ?

justice said:

@Harris khan
    we are exactly those type of people
    we did not stand up when bin qasim attacked us in the name of religon.claimiig to have received a letter (I am sure it was email otherwise the letter could not get there.)
    or mehmood ghaznvi Decoit attacked to rob the wealth of our land
    or babar the pimp of his sister was looking for a land

Yes sir we are exactly the people to be manipulated and ruled over

iamsowise said:

Basic need for any country’s econmic/industries is Electricity but in last 60 years Pakistan’s ‘ Great Leaders’ were always busy on foreign tours and the result of these foriegn tours today we are exporting two things Chiken to saudi Arabia and Mangos to Europe.

swat yosufzai said:

Cary Loger bill is passed and now Pak Govt will be able to get some thing to upgrade their Bank Accounts…
    Geo tv looks like getting something out of it as the General Public has nothing to with this bill but for Geo News this is top of the Headlines…
    Shame on geo News

tahir001 said:

What a corrupt face criminal btch.

This woman’s face perfectly reflects all those who have been running this country for the last 62 years and why it is in a state of affairs that the Pakistan faces today. I wish there was a Taliban like force of the Pakistani masses who could drag those of her ilk and eradicate them, the only way people of this unfortunate country could see their lot improving and in a better condition.

Dr. Manmohan Singh was the finance minster of India. He is considered the architect of India’s rise to becoming one of the world’s largest and fastest growing economies. India’s foreign reserves are more than double that of Pakistan’s GDP today
    He wears a simple Kurta Pajama with a blue wasket. On his trips abroad he wears so called Nehru Tunic Jacket and pants. The rest of his team is no different. The neighboring Pakistan is bankrupt. It’s PM and president changes a brand new suit and tie every day and the rest of their cronies follow. The contrast is incredible.

hariskhan said:

Assalam-o-Alaikum ALL,

I was watching Islamabad Tonight – 16 June, 2009, at 35:53 in the show, when I saw a ticker saying;

“Punjab ke liye 4 kharab 89 arab bla bla ka budget pesh kia gaya” (in urdu).

If Punjab’s budget alone is above Rs. 4 trillion (I’m taking 4 kharab as 4 trillion), why do we think we the people of Punjab or Pakistan are poor?

Rs. 4 trillion, would be around $500 billion, since $1 = Rs. 81.xx is the exchange rate today.

If Punjab has this much of a budget, then the federal budget would be much much bigger.

The problem in Pakistan is not money…

The problem in Pakistan is the people!

Loag kharab hain. Loag bure hain. Loago’n ko masla hai. Baqi sab cheezain apni jaga par theek hain (in urdu).

It is VERY clear now.

HarisKhan

junaid said:

hate this wadairan on the picture.
    too pity our country is still dominated by these evil wadaira thakur regime. the budget is as usual disappointing. where did the bheek go that zardari bhikari has been collecting..

iamsowise said:

@ SnrCtzn said
    I feel sorry for this woman, who as worked under many ‘mentors’ as also stated by some visitors here. Why sorry? Because I ‘dunno’ who will next make use of her knowledge?

She is not the only one their are many ‘ high qualified’ Khur’s are in our elite class waiting for next dictator.

mbokhari said:

@hariskhan (jalaibi wala)

If Punjab’s budget alone is above Rs. 4 trillion (I’m taking 4 kharab as 4 trillion), why do we think we the people of Punjab or Pakistan are poor?

Rs. 4 trillion, would be around $500 billion, since $1 = Rs. 81.xx is the exchange rate today.

If Punjab has this much of a budget, then the federal budget would be much much bigger.

You should stick to selling jalaibies. Logic, common sense or mathematics is obviously not your forte. LOL :D
    http://geo.tv/6-16-2009/44291.htm

489 billion Pakistan rupees = 6.025947 billion U.S. dollars

Also, my dear non-mathematical duaGoh monkey, 4 trillion Pakistani Rs. are
    Rs. 4000000000000, which are equivalent to 49.29200 billion U.S. dollars

So, the provincial Punjab budget was USD 6 billion and not USD 500 billion…LOL…You must be legally retarded or really uninformed (yet insistent on bloviating) if you are ignorant of the fact that the GDP of all Pakistan is around USD 143 billion a year .. :D

The problem in Pakistan is not money…

The problem in Pakistan is the people!

Loag kharab hain. Loag bure hain. Loago’n ko masla hai. Baqi sab cheezain apni jaga par theek hain (in urdu).

It is VERY clear now.

HarisKhan

The problem in Pakistan is not faith or Iman…

The problem in Pakistan is the education!…Tleem!!! di!!! kami!!!!

Also, شیراع is getting very expensive. It must! be clarified! that it is not sheera but sheeraaa!, with an arbitrary ex!clam!ation mark! and! an! extra! ع, i.e., ! Get it? [!]. Jalibais! don’t! sell! so! good! anymore! and! @Kharishkhan! is! unhappy! with! the! current! crop! of! customers!

The! customers! are! wrong! They! are! bad! They! must! be! changed! New! Chinese! customers! should! be! imported! that! would! buy! the! stale! jalaibis! being! sold! by! Talibhangees! like! @kharishkhan!. :D

It is VERY clear now!

dafa Ho!
    KharishKhan!

!
    !!
    !!!
    !!!!
    !!!!!

mansoor chaudhry said:

no comments all shit.

hariskhan said:

@mbokhari: Is that your ego going out of control, at the chance of wanting to bash someone?

We DO!! have educated people in good places. That is not helping us, is it?

Education is NOT the only factor. It IS the people

Dua go,
    HarisKhan

hariskhan said:

@mbokhari: I agree, education is one BIG factor, that covers most of it. I hope education is the only factor.

Justice is another. These two fundamental things define a society. These are the only two that matter.

Having said that, I’m not convinced its the only one. The problem we have other than education and justice is of honesty.

The trait honesty does NOT depend on education. You can see the rest of the world as an example of that, where most of the people aren’t educated, but they are prosperous

Dua go,
    HarisKhan

dreamfariy said:

salam hru madam badget
    i hope you r fine or shine
    what a nice i thing pk govt big short
    add a insult of injury
    a nod is enough at the wise
    b/c paradise lies at the feet of the mother
    proud lies fall
    flowing the beting line

dua go
    don

• India to Borrow and Spend More in 2010-2011 - Page 3 - Pakistan Defence Forum said:

[...] and well. This is taken straight from the budget speech given on the floor of the parliament: Text of Budget Speech 2009/10 Pakistan Politics "Madam Speaker! 6. While stabilisation of the economy was necessary it was achieved at a [...]