Share and discuss latest Pakistani Political News and Views here. Feel free to include links to interesting videos, columns, and articles from mass media channels, newspapers or blogs. Always pretext a link with some explanation about the content of a link.
Free video has been archived. Sign up as a Contributor to watch this video.
How to post a picture
Just replace the link to the picture in the double quotes “”.

can anyone tell me y i cant post pic and links ? it just disappear
Corruption jumps 400%
http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/jun2009-daily/17-06-2009/up78.gif
Wait and see. Wonder if Mulana Hasan Jan Shaheed will be labelled as liberal fascist as well.
Pakistan burst into semis
From a team written off for an early exit, to one of the semi-finalists, Pakistan has succeeded in exceeding expectations.
runaway said: Corruption jumps 400%
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zJWe4d27I2o
Buss Ussi Jagah Hogi Mulaqat Yani =NA=
Phir Choroun Ka Mall Sub Chor Khaien Gaay.
@Blackhawk12
Great news! I hope we win World cup this time.
Long Live our cricket team
Younis wants to win T20 World title for
Pakistan skipper Younus Khan says his team want to win the World Twenty20 as a tribute to former coach Bob Woolmer.
“He was an inspiring person, a father figure for me and the team. We all still miss him and if we win the World Cup I will dedicate that final game to him,” Younis told reporters ahead of their tomorrow’s semifinal against South Africa.
Pray for team guyz. South africa has habit of losing semis so hopefully we will get through to finel
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/cricket/8104338.stm
‘Cricket attacker’ held in Lahore
Police in Pakistan have arrested one of seven men suspected of being behind the attack on Sri Lanka’s cricket team in Lahore in March, officials say.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/8105588.stm
Khalid Sheikh claims to have lied under CIA torture
WASHINGTON: Khalid Sheikh Mohammad, an accused top al Qaeda operative and self-confessed mastermind of the September 11 attacks, claimed to have lied under torture by the CIA, according to government transcripts released on Monday.
http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/world/12-khalid-sheikh-claims-to-have-lied-under-cia-torture–bi-04
This video for Ghost
Another article by a l1beral fasc1st who used to be the darling of PTI/JI duo just a while ago and is a regular visitor/commentator at this forum. He actually mentioned the web-poll conducted by pkp0litics.com in his article. I hope @dm1n will make this a featured article for proper discussion.
Source: Daily Times, June 18, 2009 (Zi0nist/Ind1an/USA agent newspaper
)
http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=20096\18\story_18-6-2009_pg3_5
—————————
view: Preparing for a funeral —Samad Khurram
“….If Imran Khan is not the B team of the Tal1ban, then he will have to rise to the occasion, retract statements where he claimed Tal1ban atroc1ties are all government pr0paganda and c0ndemn these barbar1ans properly. The issue has been raised for months now and the party’s unfl1nching attitude, at the cost of l0sing popular support, suggests it is preparing for its funeral.”
Can you please publish Samad Khurram’s article in “the daily times” as a featured article so that we can have discussion over it.
CIA’s Iranian plans
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GRwUZ-u6KFo
What if Twitter is leading us all astray in Iran?
Here are a few of the things that we’ve “learned” the last few days about the Iranian elections and their aftermath:
— 3 million people protested Monday in Tehran
— the losing candidate, Mir Hossein Mousavi, was put under house arrest
— the president of the election monitoring committee declared the election invalid on Saturday
These are just a handful of data points that have been shooting around the Internet, via Twitter or the opposition-friendly blogs. And all have been instrumental in building a public opinion case against the Iranian government for undercounting the support for Mousavi.
The problem is, none of them appear any longer to be true. The crowd was in the hundreds of thousands, most newspapers reported. Mousavi’s own wife said he wasn’t under house arrest Sunday, and Monday he appeared in person at the protest. And if the president of the election monitoring commission has gone over to the opposition, no serious reporter has reported it.
Also courtesy of the blogosphere, we have two sets of “real” vote counts “leaked” from the Interior Ministry; one set had Ahmedinejad getting 28 percent, and another gave him 13 percent. These are just a few examples I was able to come up with quickly.
Andrew Sullivan, who has been leading the charge in the U.S. to try to get us all to wear green and support the opposition, says that “[t]his event has been Twitter’s finest hour.” One of his commenters tells him: “You are gathering information from a myriad of sources and putting it out there for a cohesive message. CNN, NY Times, et al are merely running an article about ‘thousands’ of protesters. Its a canned message from just a few stale sources.”
But instead, it looks like the Internet is the medium for a lot of unfounded rumors by a lot of (understandably) passionate people in Iran. This is a chaotic situation, and rumors flourish in that environment. I’ve been there: I remember spending a morning in Iraq, during the war, trying to track down confirmation that Tariq Aziz was killed in a hail of bullets trying to run a roadblock while attempting to flee into Kurdistan. Everyone was convinced it had happened. Later in the day he gave a press conference to demonstrate that he was still alive. In Serbia in 2001, as word began to spread that Slobodan Milosevic was going to be arrested soon, a crowd gathered in his backyard, and rumors spread several times that Milosevic had killed himself, or that it was the CIA who was going to make the arrest.
But in the pre-Twitter age, those sorts of rumors petered out quickly if they weren’t true. If they were true, then journalists found out about them and reported them as fact. Now, the latter is still happening, which is why the journalists in Tehran now are writing pieces with considerably more nuance than what you see on blogs. But the former isn’t true any more – rumors can have a longer lifespan on a network of sympathetic blogs, Facebook postings and Twitter feeds.
At this point, we don’t know if there was election fraud or not. The AP has a story describing the current state of play on the fraud allegations (the speed of the announcement is now the main point of debate), and although the evidence for fraud is all in the beginning of the story and the evidence against is at the end, it’s a pretty balanced look that probably isn’t going to convince anyone to change their mind. So no need to rehash the arguments here.
None of this is to excuse the behavior of the government after the election results came out. Or to diminish the bravery and courage of the people who are out in the streets in Tehran getting beaten. But what if it’s based on a lie? A Twitter-fueled, mass delusion of a lie? That the one third of people who voted for Mousavi convinced themselves, via a social media echo chamber that selectively picked rumors and amplified them until they appeared true, that they in fact represented two thirds of the country? And then tried to bring down the government based on that delusion? Maybe it’s not the case this time. But doesn’t this entire episode seem to show how such a thing could happen? And then what?
http://trueslant.com/joshuakucera/2009/06/15/what-if-we-are-all-wrong-about-iran/
Mother of all corruptions is the fact that Jurnails of Pakistan Army are not in this graph.
http://www.transparency.org.pk/documents/NCPS%202009/NCPS%202009%20%20Report.pdf
@jazoo: noone is denying CIA and Mossad’s efforts to destabilize Iran, but you can’t sweep people’s genuine wishes for democracy and a progressive Iran under the same CIA carpet.
That is just plain dis-ingenuous.
People of Iran have stood up for change, they’re not asking for revolution, they’re asking for change and their civil rights. Mousavi is as much of an ‘establishment’ candidate as any, but this election tells you that there are severe contradictions in how Iran is being run and the wishes of the Iranian people. And look at the people who are now standing with him.
The system of Valayat-e-Faqeeh is broken. If it wasn’t, then he would have acted as an arbiter, but he became party. Instead of being “chief justice” he became plaintiff. And 2 days later, he was forced to eat his words and go back to the guardian council.
This is just the beginning of the change. And if the Mullahcracy stands in the way of the change, THEN AND ONLY THEN will the plans of CIA/Mossad become reality. What are those plans? Civil War and Khana Jangi.
Iranian regime wants to avert a catastraphe like that by demanding total obedience while the fact is that it has lost legitimacy in the country (at least in the Urban areas if Ahmedi-nayad’s accusations are to be even heeded)
Keep in mind, those crowing about this being a “tehran only phenomenon” forget that Khomenie was also a “tehran & Qom” phenomenon. Tehran has always played a major role in Iranian civil life and the Mullah’s will overlook it at their own peril.
Are the neo-cons jumping on the “green revolution” sure. Does that make the genuine struggle of the Iranian People null and void?
HELL NO!
A little perspective, and a little self-honesty please my friend.
@Ghost Of TK
re: jazoo
Take his copy pasta with some marinara sauce
http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=2231653698&topic=95274
Jamat Islami denies implications of Links with Tehreek Taliban Punjab and the Liberty Attack coordinator
Now the rant:
I’ve been saying this before and now the information is leaking out. Jamat Islami has been, and IS working as the logistical wing of the Jihadi Organizations. JI is still engaged in terrorist activities in Bangladesh and other nations under the guise of “supporting Jihad”.
Oddly enough, their Maloon Jihad only ends up giving a Pretext for War to the Opressor nations and never brings us any victories. Fact is that these Munafiqeen, on the one hand send other Muslim’s kids to cooked up phony “jihads” being fought at the behest of CIA/Mossad or RAW , but funnily enough, they take care to send their own fat, plump cuddly wuddly children to study in American/European institutions.
They stay criminally silent over talib banning of common women of Pakistan working, while their own daughters and wives assume leading positions in their political parties.
They malign America and the west in every exhaled breath, but they send their own sons to study there.
I’m looking at you Qazi Hussain Ahmed.
And last but not the least, they tell others to give their lives for “their” jeehawds, but their own wives and children are kept safe. Not only that, they are not above the shame and disgrace of trying to run away from the battlefield clad in a burqa.
And it’s not a one off thing either. Running away wearing burqa’s has become a … ahem… well established retreat tactic with these brave souls.
All this goes on, and the Jamat “Islami” sits there, ghungniyan in mouth, piping up only when their beloved uzbeks and chechens are being hunted down … This is the culture of deception, munafiqat and craven political USE of Islam for worldly ends which, in my opinion, makes it totally possible for JI’s operatives to provide any and all support to people who THEY don’t think are “all that bad for Pakistan”
Namelly, the talibs, the Al-Qaeda, the-Al-Mossaida! … (basically whoever shows up with a beard and a funny accent ready to kill muslims by beheading MUST BE a REAL MUSLIM … because THATS all WE (the illiterate talib sisters) know about Muslims and Islam)
Time for Jamat “Islami” to come clean.
Are they with Pakistan?
OR are they with Talib and Al-Qaeda proxies whose only net effect is to weaken and destroy Islam. … (whatever their claims)
Situation in Iran:
The Guardian Feed (updated automatically).
The Flickr Feed. (aka Pictures )
more pictures from tehranlive.org
The Twitter Feed
#IranElection
#PersianKiwi (An Iranian reporting from Tehran.)
#Mousavi1388 (Another Mousavi supporter)
@mbokhari: yeah, I saw that floating around on reddit and digg yesterday. the spinmeisters are also trying to poison the twitter feeds but it is interesting to watch this unfold in realtime.
Personally, I think this is the Iranian’s
white whaleLong March!The protest is something to watch. It is very sophisticated and peaceful. The last protest was people marching completely silently. (incidentally this has been an idea of mine for long march too.. but I don’t think it is possible in the Pakistani context … but it is eerie to watch.)
some of the slogans:
1. Where is My Vote?
2. I wrote “mousavi”, they read “Ahmadi-nayad”
3. kufr ka nizam chal sakta hai, zulm ka nahin (in persian of course)
Every night, at the same time, people are getting on top of their houses and belting out Azaan’s and Allah-o-Akbar …
And some videos of street protests in Iran
basiji goons running down little old ladies down the street on their motorcycles!
Courtesy: AP (sueddeutsche.de).
@Jazoo,
Re: the picture of a massive gathering that @TK has posted above, do you believe that this [gathering] was funded and backed by the CIA and Mossad? If you are watching the news then you would probably know by now that the US “experts on Iran” believe that Mousavi’s policies on the neuclear development, Lebanon/Hisballah and other stuff will not be any different from the current policies and they do not expect a shift there. This is where I think @TK has hit the nail on the head that …And if the Mullahcracy stands in the way of the change, THEN AND ONLY THEN will the plans of CIA/Mossad become reality. What are those plans? Civil War and Khana Jangi….
@Ghost with his genuine true feelings has spoken the truth.
So this is not all about Election rigging…its all about authority of Valayat-e-faqih.
Unfortunately so far neither Mussavi nor Rafsanjani talking against powers of Valayat-e-faqih…Theres only one quarter hollering about this issue west and western media and some our fellow Pakistanis extra qualified.
And “people have stood up” is another common phrase used by west and our over qualified residents.
Iran is a very politically active state so are Iranians.
Many Rioting of tens of thousands happened when Khomeini was still alive but we never say people have stood up for change…whats so different now…perhaps extensive media coverage or extra 20000 rioters and will of the devil to see the end of Islamic Iran.
If Ghost really is sincere I expect him to quote his concerns about authority and power of Valayat-e-faqih and how this extra power effects life of common Iranis.
BTW this hundreds of thousands opposition crowd shows the tolerance of Irani regime.
Ghost wrote
“Instead of being “chief justice” he became plaintiff. And 2 days later, he was forced to eat his words and go back to the guardian council.”
I believe anyone who can write lengthy post can also write some sensible and logical comments…I am waiting to see if Ghost can make some sense out of his apparently senseless comments.
Pl elaborate what were the words he used which made him plaintiff and then he has to eat them back.
According to Irani legal system winner was announced and when losing party adopt the legal course and challenge the outcome, matter was referred to Guardian Council…I hardly see any eating or chewing of words.
http://express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100650519&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20090618
Can someone comment on this news that in Supreme Court the Sindh Government has actually opposed acquittal of Mian Nawaz Sharif as said by Prosecutor General of Sindh government – isnt this an open invitation to open war with PMLN and why is Zardari and his goons upto. The Supreme Court has reserved its judgement in this case but I believe Zardari made a very big mistake in opposing the quashment of sentence by a one bench kangroo Sindh High Court which passed its judgement under the shadow of Gen Peja Musharraf.
foreigners captured in Bajaur…..by ‘political administration’
http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=80853
@c hussain
Aur bhee gham haen PML-N aur Nawaz Sharif k siwa. I am sure NS is not having difficulty in going thru his daily life. He must be still eating his famous nashtas and driving around in bullet proof cars. Why are we fixated on only political cases?
Why don’t we worry about thousand of cases which are at a standstill in our justice system. What about cases which affect the masses? What has CJ done for the people of Pakistan after restoration?
I would rather want CJ to look into this case rather than worry about NS.
Plea to CJ
“@BA, Can you post a link to this article – Admin”
http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=20096\18\story_18-6-2009_pg3_5
PAKISTAN knocked down South Africa to cruise to the final of T20 world cup. Congrats to all.
Conguratulation everybody
A Good news for Pakistanis after so long. Hopefully they will bring home the cup. Inshallah.
Yaa we are in final-We done it again-
You can take cricket away from Pakistan. You can abandon tours and keep the cricket-mad country in isolation. But you still cannot take away the sublime skills of the cricketers. With the country in turmoil, Pakistanis have played very little international or franchise-based club cricket over the last eight months. It was bound to affect some of their players ahead of an important tournament like the World Twenty20. (timesofindia)
T20 WC: Pakistan ‘choke’ South Africa
Congrats on getting into the final ppl!!!!
YESSSSSSSS! Congratulations everyone! Great news for Pakistanis around the world!
Mubarak to all.
Congratulations to all. Just a bit more effort to $hut up all those indians, kiwis and other rac1st g0ras for good
I wish there was some way to setup a showing of the final to the IDPs in SWAT. Broadcast it in the camps..or somewhere close to the camps…
i hope some ngo/private corporation takes up the cause because our government is clearly incapable of getting something as small/simple as that together.
especially, considering more than 60% are under the age of 15. Seeing how he’s performed today, if Afridi cracks another wonderful knock, im sure it’ll have some positive rippling effect!
Yea!!!!!!!!!!! Congrats to pakistan…on to the final!
yahooooooooooooo!!!!
We Won!!!!
Finally some good news, congratulations to all, but job is half done yet.
What non-sense this bitch is saying!!!!!
http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=80840
Fozia says does not need over-powerful PM
ISLAMABAD: Secretary Information for Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Mrs. Fouzia Wahab said there should be balance of powers between President and the Prime Minister.
She said the country does not need an over-powerful premier, adding an all-powerful Prime Minister could save country from a dictator taking over it.
@savage
“..Fozia says does not need over-powerful PM..”
she is only saying what her boss wants. He is just trying to keep his powers and want to create doubts so that 17 amendment stays. But being a d@mn f00l he will again mess up things just like he did for judges restoration and in the end will eat 100 piyaz aur phir 100 jotay bhee khaey ga
Fozia Wahab is one of these flattering courtiers of the President. Others are Rehman Malik- Saman Taseer- and so on. These are those who keep him alive with ‘sab thek aur bohat achha’. For them he is the wisest President of the planet earth although he mess up things.
Prime Minister Gilani on the other hand is pappo of the millennium. He is happy with his useless powers- nice guy- let amendments stay- no noise pollution.
This man SRK always try unnecessary try to become SMART when he issues statement to make happy both MUSLIMs & HINDUs, According to Islamic teaching ultimately you are bound to clear your position & have to stand on such place where you think this is the Righteous Way:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/entertainment/2009/06/090619_shahrukh_maulvi_np.shtml
Once I was switching over a channel during the same the Interviewer asked him do you Believe in Almighty Allah – This Smart Alec totally unnecessary replied Yes I do in addition with I am a strong believer of BHAGWAN RISHI something like that do not remember correctly.
And in recent past he issued some Fatwa Type of Statements regarding what should Be line of the Muslims regarding Terrorism.
Bhaut Achay Bhei Bhaut Achay – Aab Yeh Waqt Agia Hai Kunjar aur Kunjarian Islam ko Define Kurien Gaay.
@mbokhari:
The criminal silence of JUI and (JI to a great extent) is a clear indication that — after having failed at garnering any political support — they made a vicious and murderous grab for political power through their open and secret support for the talib murderous dogs!
The “talib phenomenon” is nothing more than a fanatical wahabi/takfiri power grab along the lines of the “Saud’s power grab in Arabia” (with the help of guess who?) only to deliver a subdued and repressed Pakistan into the hands of zionists!
A lot of people say majority Pakistanis are “peaceful barelvi’s” … and from this they claim: Oh this could never happen here!”
Wrong!
The criminally insane and violent takfiri wahabi’s are in fact COUNTING ON IT.. ie the majority being docile and compliant! So they can walk all over them and create a fake “khilafat” along the lines of Saudi Arabia … which would basically mean a state in the slavery of the same masters that the Aal-e-Saud serve: The Americans (aka the proxies of Yew Knew Whew!)
If you look at the history of Jamat Islami and JUI (JUH) one would notice that they have always engaged in anti-Pakistan and ultimately anti-Islam activities.
Every single line of action followed by these groups of ambitious thugs has always led Pakistan (and ultimately the state Islam) into a greater depth of defeat and destruction. They have always been the instruments of foreigner’s power play here and will always be.
They shamelessly and criminally stay silent at the murder of Pakistani Ulema by uzbeks and chechen monsterous murderers, but they are quick to shed crocodile tears every time their beloved throat slitters are taken to task.
Like slippery eels they slip out of the hands of those who ask them to condemn the heinous acts of murder and mayhem by talibs.. by accusing the govt of not doing more. All this digusting and unforgivable behaviour… in the name of Islam of course!
When the emotions were running high during the first Long March, Jamatia mouthpieces on this site proclaimed that Jamat had washed its hands of its sins. But even then my gut told me and I still believe:
If Jamat Islami is following a course of action. You run away as fast as possible in the opposite direction. Because whatever they do ultimately hurts Pakistan and embarrasses Islam.
These fake Mullahs and Fake “Ulema” Must be tried in the court of public opinion and exposed for what they really are. Ambitious men who want power for personal gain but hide behind a guise of false piety and the sacred name of Islam. No better really than the thieves and murderers like Zardari and Altaf that we know so well.
These are just murderers hiding behind Islam. that’s all.
Talib Defecators Accuse Mehsud of being a CIA/Mossad agent. (Imran Khan still unwilling to pull his head out of his A*SE!)
http://www.presstv.ir/detail/98499.htm?sectionid=351020401
@jazoo: obviously you’re on a mission to defend the mullahcracy … that is fine, that is your perogrative …
One thing though, reality and facts on the ground speak volumes against the fig leaf that you’re trying to put on this naked emperor’s wrinkly sac!
Glad you mentioned the “tolerance” of the regime. Maybe that is why they are running around shooting un-armed protestors and arresting Imam Khomeni’s close aides from the revolution off of their hospital beds. This really tells me it is a regime very confident of it’s position with the people.
Here is a footage of Basiji Goons killing a protester on camera. (all orchestrated by CIA and Mossad to give the poor Basiji’s a bad name of course)
@GoTK
Your exegesis on the JI and JUIF is most excellent and thorough. The coming war between the sects is going to be cathartic in that it will mightily confuse the donkeys with “Islami zehen”. If the JI and other Deobandis don’t mend their ways quickly, their trigger happy young bucks are going to bring down a rain of blood and tears on the Barailvis the likes of which only the Shia have experienced.
I see an opening for the much-maligned progressive Islam of Ghamdi and Dr. Naeemi among the middle classes, and I would go so far as to say even secularism. The intra-sect violence is going to expose the Deobandi game plan for what it is: a naked power grab. In my personal relationship with the Almighty, insofar as it is dictated by conventional religion, I find the no-nonsense approach to religion of the Wahhabis quite agreeable. The political repercussions of the Wahabi creed as state ideology, however, do seem to serve only the neo-colonial agenda in balkanizing large Muslim states (Ottoman Turkey and now Pakistan?).
But isn’t this your du jour Taliban-are-American-agents theory? If it is, what do you mean by “defecators”. Very cute
I regularly follow A.N.Paracha at Dawn and two of his recent posts are completely in sync with what you say about JI and their plans. On the off chance that you missed them, here is the link:
Read: “Of our own making” and “Maududi’s children”
http://nadeemfparacha.wordpress.com/
The Deobandis aim to alter the religious DNA of Pakistan by radically changing the standards of religiosity from personal piety to violence. The thrill of violence is pornographic and vicarious and through it the docile donkeys of Chak JhamraN and Rajanpur, Punjab are going to be baptised into being macho he-men of the Jihad ready to ride into the sun. An amateurish look at Pakistani anthropology should explain this transformation of the conventional Muslim (peasant/farmer, Heer Ranjha, Chanab, Pir, Sufi, Urs) to a new Homo Jihadicus (jobless rebel without a pause, legends of miraculous happenings during jihad in Kashmir, rootless and mobile, follower of gun toting Mullahs, attends Ijtimas and training camps.)
This Homo Jihadicus is still a very very tiny minority but has immense nuisance value to the state. The state must be protected from the Deobandi Jihadi purveyors of holy mysteries who plan to tear it apart. Who can say, we may yet turn the tide.
But hey, what do I know? Being an eternal Kantian, I accept it as the worst of all possible worlds
Now hollow fires burn out to black,
And lights are guttering low:
Square your shoulders, lift your pack,
And leave your friends and go.
Oh never fear, man, nought’s to dread,
Look not to left nor right:
In all the endless road you tread
There’s nothing but the night.
–A. E. Housman
@Ghost wrote
“One thing though, reality and facts on the ground speak volumes against the fig leaf that you’re trying to put on this naked emperor’s wrinkly sac!”
What do you think the candidate who got more than 12 mil votes can not bring thousands of supporters on street.
You have not decided yet election were rigged or not though I appreciate you indirectly have accepted what you call my “Vague Conspiracy Theory”.
I don’t know what you think of an ominous crowd surrounding Basij office with clear intentions of torching the building with its inhabitants.
@mbokhari
I have no idea what you are upto besides your extra curricular overbearing comedy.
Your promotion of sectarian stuff on this forum need serious intervention of admin.
30 kidz are shackled in a Mal Gardhi traveling from Lahore to Karachi.
One kid jumped when it slows down at Sama Sata.
What amazes me this news is flashing all over the channels.
Its like forewarning the abductors before they are caught.
As a matter of fact this news should not be made public unless the whole ring is trapped.
@Ghost Of TK
Very well described
JI has been the world’s biggest Munafiq and supporters of terrorism in this country. They enjoyed dollars and arms during Afghan Fasad; never condemned America. I have been writing this for long time that if intelligence or even any newspaper or TV investigates the dirty role of JI in the last 2o years; they will find several close links between terrorists and Mansoora. JI was B team of Gen Zia’s illegal regime and benefited greatly. Their student wing Jamiat introduced arms in educational institutions and ran a reign of terror in colleges and universities. Still today Jamiat acts as a mafia in Punjab University. My Karachi friends have told me MQM has reduced their goonda gardi and badmashi in Karachi University otherwise they were number 1 goonda and badmash in Karachi university. JI is also behind PTI and affecting policy making in PTI (like support for Taliban animals) and poor IK does not understand this how badly JI is damaging his party.
After successive failures to grab power in Pakistan, religious Right, JI and other like-minded groups have now resorted to Taliban animals. JI sees they can grab power or maintain their power only through badmashi and terrorism and possibly opening a new dangerous and dividing front of Deobandi Islam Vs Brailvi Islam. One can expect anything from Jamat Islami as in my view they are more dangerous than Talibans; because talibans are uneducated extremist while Jamatis are educated extremist.
I request all Blog users to refrain from discussing Deobandi and Brailvi issue here on this forum as it will divide us further and deepen the rift between them. We all are Muslims and that is enough. Religion is a private matter and we should respect and tolerate each other’s religious beliefs.
Another Liberal Fascist criticizes Taliboos. I wonder why people associate Deoband with Mula Fazlu , he clearly doesnt have a right to represent a big school of thought.
hmm..now i miss the days when we were divided into Shia /Sunni ( Zia era ) …or even better Ahmadi/Muslim (ZAB era)
I am not a proponent of any kind of divisive debate but it seems things were so much better in past
Here is what Deoband says about Talibs.
http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/jun2009-daily/19-06-2009/up34.gif
I am here to register my protest against daily Express and the writer of this abusive article.Don’t know whether it’s the right forum or not but surely i am extremely annoyed by this racial diatribe against pashtuns. That’s what we should expect in Pakistan ?
http://express. com.pk/epaper/ PoPupwindow. aspx?newsID= 1100648666&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20090615
http://express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100648666&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20090615
Looks like Khamenei the dictator of Iran is about to start severe crackdown in Iran.Time to remain silent is over.We should show our support of peaceful Irani masses in their struggle against the tyrant.
@Utmankhel
The author of the article seems to be impressed by Churchill,calls him SIR.How soon the idiot forgot the role Churchill played in freedom movement of subcontinent.
jin pay takia tha wohi pattay hawa dainay lagay
http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100651944&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20090620
@bechari-awam
Iss garme ke mosam mein kahein se bhi hawa aai naimut hai
People in Iran are protesting by shouting Allah-o-Akbar from the rooftops. I am amazed at the ingenuity of the Iranian people in terms of registering their protest. Khamenie has thrown down the gauntlet.
Sea of green shall overtake him.
US admits Afghan airstrike led to k!ll!ngs of many civilians including children
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/8110476.stm
The report’s conclusions are couched in caveats, but by releasing it late on a Friday afternoon the Pentagon has underlined its embarrassment at what may be the worst case of civilian deaths since coalition forces entered the country in 2001.
As well as acknowledging that there was a failure to follow strict military guidelines, the report recommends unspecified steps to be taken to refine that guidance and urges a greater engagement in the public relations battle.
It states that the coalition should be “first with the truth”.
Yet the report also calls into question whether the true number of civilian deaths, in this incident, will ever be known.
It sticks with the US military’s initial estimate of 26, but describes a report by the Afghan Independent Human Rights Commission, which speaks of at least 86 civilian casualties, as “balanced” and “thorough”.
Deoband ulema term all Taliban actions un-Islamic
http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/12-deoband-ulema-term-all-taliban-actions-un-islamic–bi
@mbokhari & @clarioncall: don’t get me wrong. I am closer to the spartan part of the wahabbi interpretation myself, but I think the issue is the politician mullah’s who have been used by Saudi regime and now are acting as fifth columnists of Saudi (therefore Amriki) interests in Pakistan.
We need to abolish this bs “Mullah Class” There is NO concept of these priests in Islam and Islam is revolutionary in that way. These people only prey on people’s laziness and unwillingness to learn about Islam and Study and live Islam themselves.
UPDATE ON IRAN:
Meanwhile, the shit is hitting the fan in Tehran. There is an explosion reported in Khomeini’s tomb and reports of Basiji goons shooting at un-armed protestors. (BBC Farsi video here.)
You can follow these tags: #iranelection and users: @madyar & @persiankiwi to keep up. they’re reporting live from the demonstrations.
If this was happening in India, we’d all be discussing it. I’m a little dismayed there is no traction for this issue amongst the PkPolitics readers. I haven’t watched any of the shows to see if anyone even mentioned this even in passing in any of the political shows in the so called newly freed Pakistani electronic media.
@Ghost Of TK
“Heavy clashes on azadi street, chants of death to khameni! ”
I hope they are refering to Iranian Supreme Leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei. Why this Ghandi ji outrightly supported President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad is beyond me. What is his constitutional role is he like President of country?
Iran is paying very high economic price for its anti west rehotric for a while now. As Obama said both Ahmadinejad and Mousavi are fairly conservative and almost has same views about west. Ahmadinejad has a very appealing personal life style and story. The only reason Iranians turned against him is bad economy. Muslims do not have rich history of peaceful transitions. I am not very hopeful about how Iran will come out of this crisis. Neverthesless slogans against supreme leader is good omen…
Folks have mentioned it in passing but not as a major issue for discussion. You are right, we should be more engaged in discussing this issue considering how the youth in Pakistan and Iran are the game changers.
The withdrawal Rs65 billion subsidy on electricity announced in the federal budget is likely increase the power tariff by 17 per cent from July 1.
http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=81041
@Kashif,
What is his constitutional role is he like President of country?
That is a good question. I am also not clear on how the “supreme leader” is elected and what his credentials should be for qualification. And above all, if he is not elected by the people then why is he suprior than the elected president? I would think that it would be okay if his role is to take care of the religious activities but it does not make much sense in the political context. May be someone on this forum can throw a light on it because I am not in a mood to do a google research on this subject.
We are seeing the ugly side of theocratic regime.It is nothing but cruel dictaorship.There is a lesson to be learnt from this for the Khilafa movement.
Our salvation is in separation of religion and state.
The future lies in science and technology.People want to go back to stone age are enemies of Islam and Pakistan.
Khamenei is a low level mullah it is wrong to call him Ayatullah.He is ignorant nitwit trying to fool the great Persian nation.He thinks he has a direct line to God.
Dictatorship whether enforced by Mullahs or the Generals is a dying breed. No self respecting nation deserves it. We have been fighting it consistently In this day and age it is sad to see a proud people like Iranians subjugated to the most humiliating and destructive form of Government thrust upon them.i,e one State run Television spreading Government propaganda,all newspapers and media censored, Guardian Council approves the selection of the Candidates , no women candidateds allowed . -Mousavi actually is as much of a part of the regime as Ahmedinejad-.
Eventually they will all all have to go. It is against the nature of the man to be enslaved by lies and deceptions and cruel dictatorships.
in 1979 their revolution agianst an equally cruel Dictator was stolen from them, this has happened often in human history.
Our media is so immune to what is happening in Iran. Jang has the most pathetic website of all.Flimsy,ill-informed,non-analytical,whatever the ‘Nama nigaar’ in ‘Bhukker Mundi ‘can come up with, Urdu Journalism is a shameful fact of our lives.
Every Pakistani is interested in the events in Iran as history unfolds. A Theocracy formed and now on the wane.
I don’t want to spam the news and views section any more but I have posted more links to vids from today’s protests on my blog. Also you can follow http://twitter.com/madyar
Unarmed women are being shot in the chest and dying on camera. One young woman was killed in the arms of her father and brother. This is horrendous! I don’t give a sh!t about Iran and it’s ‘democratic’ system! Mullah’s making power grabs is all I see. All around me.
I’m sick and goddamned tired of these mo.fu. VULTURES gnawing at the dead body of Islamic Ummah. I want to rid us of these Hyena’s! Scum of this earth! Worse than the … & …
If Muslims and Islams are to survive, WE MUST ELIMINATE the “professional Mullah” class once and for all. They are the main cause of our destructions since the firse Mongol invasion.
Power hungry, ambitious, corrupt and greedy Mullah’s must be eliminated with extreme prejudice as soon as people attain power. This class must be abolished for all time to come from the pages of Islamic civilization!
W A R N I N G !!!
She is dying on camera. If you can’t take it. Don’t follow the link. These Baseej bustards! The talibs and the Jamatia goons. They’re all the same. Greedy. Corrupt. Violent and use Islam for personal gains.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bbdEf0QRsLM
‘Class struggle and Obama’s speech in Cairo’
A very interesting article by John Ryman.
http://www.jeddojuhd.com/Mag_2009/june/18_24_june/08.html
@Ghost of TK
Yar we have not solved our problems and you want discussion on Iranian problems. lolz:)
@Ghost of TK
Thank you for the updates on Iranian situation.They need our moral support.Thirty years of Thugocracy must end in our neighbouring country.The mullas should stop killing their own people.
@Najam Syed: I agree, we got tons of problems, but Iran’s situation directly affects Pakistan and it’s politics. Iranian Mullahcracy gave rise to the Shia Sunni tensions after they hijacked People’s Revolution.
It is incumbent upon us to help the Iranian democratic forces in their hour of need!
Mousavi and his supporters are asking for help on organizing a national strike plan! Most Pakistani Digital Activists, sadly, are busy jerking themselves to a blissful state over the 20-20 victory.
@All:
Yes we need some good news. But we also need to keep things in perspective. A free and democratic Iran is in our interest and in our democracy’s interest.
The time to help them is now. These moments can be lost because of in-action. just like tiananmen incident was forgotten … We should at least give moral support and give some ideas if we are capable.
I am dismayed at the callousness of those who can’t stop themselves from crowing about the violation of “human rights of Aafiya Siddiqui” but who are deaf mutes when it comes to the death of Young Neda who was shot in the heart by a basiji murderer!
For what it’s worth, If anyone wants to help out the Iranian Democracy activists, use the following twitter users:
Mir Hussain Mousavi’s facebook page :
http://www.facebook.com/mousavi?v=feed&story_fbid=107481508472
Any lawyer movement guys/girls reading this? Try and help out if you can with ideas etc.
Obama is a secret Pakistani….
“Oh ,keema…daal… You name it I can cook it.And so I have a great affinity for Pakistani culture and the great Urdu poets”
Says Obama in an interview with Dawn.
Sorry could not import the link.
although i dont attach much importance to this ex PM of Pakistan Mr Mumble Hussain….but he has a point here re India
http://www.khabrain.com/breaking_detail_news.aspx?img=BreakingNews/6detail.gif
@mbokhari
So Maulana “Azabullah” wanted his family safe and sound while used others as human shield.
anything backed by current Saudi regime is suspicious. If they are jumping up and down with joy in their media , which has a strict state control, over situation in Iran, then there is something fishy.
Rightly and wittingly called the ‘ twitter revolution’ by the author is not all that about ‘power of the people’ in Iran. If there is a place in the world where people power is required , its Saudi itself and wonder how would they welcome their own green, black, white , orange revolution and will Obama tell Sauids as well that the world is watching.
http://atimes.com/atimes/Middle_East/KF23Ak02.html
Is it just me or is the jang website not working?
Commander who spoke against baitullah is been killed. Another mysterious news!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
http://jang.com.pk/jang/jun2009-daily/23-06-2009/update.htm#15
Qari Zainuddin Mehsud shot dead in DI Khan
Updated at: 0919 PST, Tuesday, June 23, 2009
DERA ISMAIL KHAN: A gunman shot dead Qari Zainuddin, a rival commander of Baitullah Mehsud in Dera Ismail Khan on Tuesday morning.
A close aide of Qari Zainuddin while confirming the killing of Qari Zainuddin claimed that he was shot dead by Gulbadeen Mehsud who was managed to flee from the scene. Gulbadeen is a resident of Makeen area. Another associate of Qari Zainuddin sustained injuries in the incident.
Qari Zainuddin had recently given statements to the media opposing Mehsud.
This is what is called TERRORISM of TALIBAN. First Maulana SARFRAZ NAEEMI and now Qari Zainuddin are mercilessly killed because they simply expressed their views. Still some stupids are justifying the cause of killer Taliban on this forum.
Ya Allah, mussalmano ki aqal per parday kion par gaye hein !
This is the way Taliban animals operate; anyone who opposes them gets killed. Sarfaraz Naeemi death is an example of their dirty tactics. Only an all-out Army action can clean up Taliban mess from our society. It is good to see our Govt/Army is extending their operation to another Taliban animal Baithullah Mahsud who is responsible for killing of thousands of innocent Pakistanis.
Soon we will see supporters of JI/PTI on this blog will start jumping up and down against this Army action against Mahsud. I have always believed that JI members have close connections with Taliban animals especially in Punjab. Recent wave of terrorism in Punjab is not possible without the help of local links and this link is provided by militant elements of JI throughout Punjab.
@bebus
no, it is incorrect to term as “simply expressed their views”, qari zainuddin was a key guide for pak army against baitullah -qari zain knew all baitullah’s hideouts, his commanders, his bunkers and all routes to/from the area… qari zain was one of the key people for pak army but they couldn’t protect him…
@bebus
Why are you equating a Great like Dr Sahib with Qari Zain. After all Qari Zain was/is one of a Taliban. Yes he gave a pro-Army statement but that does not make him innocent. After Pak Army had eliminated Baitullah, he would have been the leader of mehsuds and same cycle would have started again.
You must not be sober when thoughts of Qari & Doctor sahib (shaheed) got mixed up!!!!
lolz:)
@Najam Syed
I never intended to equate Zainuddin with Dr Sarfraz Naeemi.
I simply wanted to point out that killer Taliban will kill anyone who just oppose their policy of Terrorism.
@Janu German
Are you also a key guide of Pak Army that you are able to tell the inside story? I am sure and majority of Pakistani people know it, that Taliban supporters, on this forum, are paid servants of Taliban to spread disinformation about Pakistan. But they can never succeed. They are on the run. They will die “kuttay ki mout”.
JI/PTI and all Talibans supporters, wakeup and stand behind Pakistan and it’s army before it’s too late.
Al Qaeda says it would use Pakistan’s nukes
DUBAI: If it were in a position to do so, Al Qaeda would use Pakistan’s nuclear weapons in its fight against the United States, a top leader of the group said in remarks aired on Sunday.
‘God willing, the nuclear weapons will not fall into the hands of the Americans and the mujahideen would take them and use them against the Americans,’ Mustafa Abu al Yazid, the leader of Al Qaeda in Afghanistan, said in an interview with Al Jazeera television.
Abu al Yazid was responding to a question about fears that US would seize control over Pakistan’s nuclear weapons in case Islamists came close to doing so.
‘We expect that the Pakistan Army would be defeated (in Swat) … and that would be its end everywhere, God willing.’—AFP
Another drone kills 65 Pakistanis in wazirastan.
Will it help to fight against dehshatgards?
Why the beg**rat libos sleeping on the killing of 65 people.
http://jang.com.pk/jang/jun2009-daily/23-06-2009/index.html
An eyes opener by Dr. Sheeri Mazari.
http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=184546
Pakistanis cannot be allowed to savour joy and success peacefully. Just when the nation was tumultuously enjoying the magical victory of our cricket team, the hard reality of our hostile environment post-9/11 clouded over us once again. For anyone who thought the US was not targeting our nuclear assets, the screaming headlines from the Afghan-based Al Qaeda leadership’s interview to Al Jazeera brought the issue to the forefront once again with claims that Al Qaeda would use our nuclear assets against the US if they could. The absurdity of the statement notwithstanding, it can be explained only if seen as part of the campaign to legitimise a US/NATO takeover of our nuclear assets since our security prevents the US from taking them out physically.
We have also seen US weapons mysteriously land in the hands of militants in Pakistan – now we have the Al Qaeda leadership freely having access to the foreign media in Afghanistan. What is the US up to with Al Qaeda? Post-9/11 the world has had a memory lapse over the US-Al Qaeda connections – especially when Sudan offered Bin Laden to the US – but the latter allowed the Al Qaeda leader to move to Afghanistan!
While our military has become embroiled in a “war” that cannot be won by conventional military means, the US continues to play dangerous games with Pakistan – and at multiple levels. The drone attacks continue under Obama since the first one he ordered three days after his inauguration as US president – which killed 15 Pakistanis. In fact just as the present government has gone the extra mile in ceding ground to the US in Pakistan, the Obama administration has expanded the drone policy and according to Jeremy Scahill in the first 99 days of 2009 more than 150 Pakistanis have been killed in these attacks.
His estimate is that since 2006 and up to April 2009 drones have killed 687 Pakistanis – apart from the identifiable militants. That comes to about 38 civilian deaths a month just from these drone attacks.
Nor is this all. The New York Times gave an interesting account of US military operations within Pakistan including US Special Forces commando raids in FATA across the international Pakistan-Afghanistan border. Even more of a wakeup call of US intent should be the $.9 billion of the first year ‘largesse’ under the Kerry-Lugar Bill that has been earmarked for the construction of the new US embassy in Islamabad – a huge fortress right behind the presidency and the prime minister’s secretariat. If Iraq is anything to go by we may soon have US private security companies like the notorious Blackwater plus hundreds of other contractors. While US human intelligence will not gain in quality we will have a meddling US presence across our state institutions and civil society which will be damaging in the long term to our national well-being.
We are already hearing of the CIA chief visiting us followed by Obama’s special representative general James Jones. Both these officials will also be visiting India and the general thrust seems to be to push Pakistan into accepting an Indian military presence in Afghanistan. Interestingly General Jones also has strong ties to US business including Boeing and Chevron. Meanwhile there is no let down on focusing on our nuclear assets, which is why Prime Minister Gilani was compelled to finally, after a year of silent tolerance, demand that the US stop using a discriminatory approach towards Pakistan’s nuclear programme, including the search for civilian nuclear power.
But there is discrimination and the new line of attack that has been opened is the Al Qaeda statement – following the numerous US official and media statements expressing “fear” of US nukes falling into militant hands! Surely just as the discovery of US/Israeli arms on militants in Pakistan raised serious questions as to the role/linkages of outside forces to militant outfits within Pakistan, so the new development is hardly without its linkage to an overall plan against our nuclear assets. Once again, the fact is that unless the Pakistan military is weakened from within, the assets cannot be accessed at all. Hence the need of the US to get the military bogged down in a conventional battle against unconventional foes in Swat and FATA – without any overarching political strategy visible from the government.
Ironically, while plots against our nuclear assets continue, it is developments in other countries that reveal the lack of strong security measures at nuclear installations in these places. On 22nd June, anti-nuclear activists managed to break through security at the German Unterweser nuclear power plant and actually scaled the dome of the plant. More disturbing has been the story, now surprisingly blocked out, about the Indian nuclear scientist Lokanathan Mahalingam, who disappeared or was abducted, and was later found dead from the Kali river. Mahalingam had also disappeared ten years earlier while he was working at another sensitive Indian nuclear location – the Kalpakkam nuclear complex.
India’s nuclear and missile security has revealed many shortcomings and in 2006 Dr Tiwari involved in space research was also shot dead.
There have been stories of an underground network of Hindu extremists and Indian scientists involved in technology transfers to and from India and Israel. Indian scientists were also discovered at Iran’s Bushehr plant. So it is strange as to why the US and the IAEA continue to keep silent over India’s possible private proliferation rings as well as the weak safety of its nuclear and missile installations and sites? Equally puzzling is official Pakistani silence on these issues.
It is similar to the questionable manner in which our official institutions declare that there are Indians/US links to militant outfits in Pakistan, but then fail to give details or to take up these issues with the countries concerned. What is the Pakistani state playing at or fearful of? Is it not time the nation was told about the sources of funding and weapons for the militants in specific terms to give credibility to these allegations? Or will all the “militants” be “killed” before we can learn crucial facts about US double dealing and Indian destabilisation of Pakistan. That is why arrest and trial of the militant leadership in anti-terror courts, rather than their killing, is essential for our nation and state’s long term security.
As for India, while Pakistan is also under pressure to resume the bilateral dialogue, our seeming haste seems to have sent the wrong signals to India. That is why we saw the sheer bad behaviour on the part of India’s Manmohan Singh towards President Zardari in Russia. Too bad the latter was unable to respond in kind. But we can still send the correct message to the Indians by refusing to have a bilateral meeting on the sidelines of the NAM conference in Egypt.
Dialogue is certainly desirable but only when the intent of the two sides is honest in terms of conflict resolution. So far the Indian intent is clearly not focused on this aspect. So perhaps it would be good to wait till India realises the need to move towards conflict resolution with Pakistan in a holistic fashion. It may take pleasure in our leadership’s refusal to bring up the K word but without any movement on Kashmir, the dialogue will eventually run aground as always. For Pakistan it is also essential to know its maximalist and minimalist positions in clear terms – both, of necessity, being premised on giving Kashmiris their right to self-determination.
Things are moving fast, and there is a crucial need for the Pakistani state to step back and look at the larger picture so that inclusive policies can be formulated to deal with the threat of extremism, militancy on a long term basis by denying them space in our society; and to protect our nation and its nuclear assets from US designs.
Finally, it is sad to see that while the Pakistani state has seemingly abandoned the Kashmiris in Occupied Kashmir, these brave people continue to rally round Pakistan in a most instinctive way. So it was with the T20 World Cup where the Kashmiris in Occupied Kashmir joined the Pakistani nation in celebrating the Pakistani victory. Did anyone else in our neighbourhood do the same?
http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=184546
@ fareed
your tears are for those-(liberals) beyond tears!
India has most number of domestic terror groups
in the world: By times of india
MUMBAI: The CPI (Maoist) swells the list of indigenous terror groups operating on our soil to 27, making India home to the largest number of
domestic terrorist organisations in the world. On Monday, the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) named the CPI (Maoist) as 34th terrorist organisation under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act; seven of these are transnational terror groups.
CPI (Maoist) joined ranks with Ulfa and SIMI and lesser known entities such as Hynniewtrep National Liberation Council of Meghalaya, Kanglei Yaol Kanba Lup of Manipur and Akhil Bharat Nepali Ekta Samaj, which though virtually unheard of are considered deadly enough by the government to be designated as terrorist organisations.
Of the seven transnational terror groups, only two —al-Qaida and LTTE — are truly global names. The other five are Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT), Harkatul Mujahideen, Al Badr, Jamat-ul-Mujahid and Hizbul Mujahideen (HM) which are all Pakistan based terror outfits fighting Indian security forces in Kashmir.
“I am not surprised that we have so many local terror groups,” said Prakash Singh, former director-general of Border Security Force (BSF). “Since Independence we have seen the rise of a new terrorist movement in every decade, whether it be the Naxals, militants in Punjab, terrorists in the North East or in J&K. It is failure of governance that has led to this situation,” Singh said.
Going by number of organisations that other countries currently designate as terrorist, they too feel threatened by a number of groups. But none of them have as many home grown extremist groups as India does. The list runs into more than 40 in both US and Canada but includes only international names such as Hezbollah, Hamas, FARC, Ejercito de Liberacion Nacional, Kurdistan Workers Party (PKK) etc — none of which operate directly on their soil.
Amongst developed countries, only UK has a significant number of terror groups breeding close to home in form of nine Irish militias such as the Ulster Freedom Fighters and the Irish Republican Army.
“India is a large country with such great diversity and so many grievances. This complexity leads to growth of radicals who survive on extremist ideology and terror. Developed countries have not had to deal with problems like ours that breed extremism,” said intelligence affairs expert B Raman.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/India-has-most-number-of-domestic-terror-groups/articleshow/4694618.cms