Shaheen Sehbai reported in The News that At least 11 big and small, known and unknown, lobbying companies have been hired by Pakistan and state-owned Pakistani organisations in the US, paying them hundreds of thousands of dollars every month, some of them having mysterious names and almost dubious credentials.
Although lobbying is a legal profession in Washington, the way it is conducted has earned it the nickname of “officially certified corruption” and what the Pakistan government, Pakistan Embassy and Pakistani organisations are doing may come close to this unofficial definition, analysts say.
The information about these lobbying firms is public record and is available on official websites of US government agencies and organisations. But somehow Pakistani clients of these lobbying firms have tried to camouflage their widely spread activities under different names and different categories so that at one time not more than two or three companies could be officially acknowledged as government lobbyists.
Read Shaheen Sehbai’s complete article here
A confidential document showing the lobbying expenses being paid by Pakistani Government for lobbying of both Pakistan and Zardari’s government on tax payers expense.
Here is an interesting article from The Hill giving details on one of the lobbying firm working for Zardari’s interest.
Longlived the king, King Zardari I
but the artcile is one sided……….it fails to highlight the gains Mr Zaradri achieved for Pakistan in international arena by hiring such lobbyests along with his relentless efforts of touring all the world capitals in a short while …………….see link below…………..Pakistan would have never achieved such a milestone and recognition at Internal stage
http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=81666
according to the report Pakistan is No 10 in world ranking now………..and if Zardari is allowed to complete his tenure Pakistan will be No 1 in the same ranking no doubt
Khappay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pakistani was nu.2 when zardari was husband of benazir and now 10 within a year he will try to take Pakistan to no.1 in corruption. But I think after this operation there will be an operation clean up as Shah Mehmood Qureshi and some PPP sindh and Q league sindh people are saying that this zardari regime is going in next 3months.
Any NRO is still in courts and in any where in the you can’t have different law for the rich and poor, since CJ is restored zardari knows his days are numbered.
Khappay!!!!!!!!!
Hi Guys type what ever you want against Zardari, before AClarioncall and democrate will come here to start defending him…. they are rightful contender for ppp leadership after balawal BHUTTO zardari … waysay agar balawal bhutto ban sakta hay to ya loog kayoon nahe …
Pakistani was no.2 when zardari was husband of benazir and now 10 within a year he will try to take Pakistan to no.1 in corruption. But I think after this operation there will be an operation clean up as Shah Mehmood Qureshi and some PPP sindh and Q league sindh people are saying that this zardari regime is going in next 3months.
Any NRO is still in courts and in any where in the you can’t have different law for the rich and poor, since CJ is restored zardari knows his days are numbered.
Khappay!!!!!!!!!
An American lobbying for U.S. and his conscious in Pakistan – Free of charge
Watch this video (The Improbable American) in its entirety posted on the New York Times video library on an American volunteer rescue worker who is still in Kashmir and continues to serve humanity.
http://video.nytimes.com/video/playlist/world/asia-pacific/1194811622211/index.html%20-%201194839900426#
DACOO IS DACOO AND CHOOR IS CHOOR, YOU CANT MAKE HIMLEADER, THE PEOPLES WHO HAD SPENT THIS HUGE AMOUNT for this jahil,dacoo, choor, they should be hanged ASAP, and iI am sure mastermind is khusra higani.
shame in zardari and chalies choors
The biggest curse of Pakistan of Allah is to make Zardari as president of pakistan who is not only corrupt but also morally corrupt and crook person. Except for Fazal Elahi Chaudhri – the post of president of Pakistan has always been held by man who has touched the lowest of their morality and their incompetence and have damaged Pakistan the most
They are
1. Zardari – who was a certified corrupt leader even before election and has brought disgrace to Pakistan due to his actions – and shame on Pakistan
2. Zia – another mistake of Bhutto when he ignored merit and made him COAS – an American agent who was responsible for killing of thousands of innoncent Palestenian people in Jordan when he led the brigade to crush the rebellion –
3. Ghulam Ishaq Khan – conspired with Zia as Secretary Defence to overthrow Bhutto but Benazir made him President of Pakistan – for lust of power due to pressure from Zardari
4. Ayub – destroyed political landscape of Pakistan and laid the foundation of future split of Pakistan
5. Iskander Mirza – conspired to bring Martial Law and Ayub Khan to politics
6. Yayha Khan = split Pakistan up
7. Tarar – he was a supreme court judge who conspired with Nawaz Sharif to remove Chief Justice of Supreme Court by paying in money to judges in Quetta registery of Supreme Court to give decision against Sajad Ali Shah
8. Farooq Leghari – who removed BB for his own personal reasons and brought in NS.
9. Musharraf – who brought Americans to Afghanistan and help them stablize their and put Pakistan in a mess in which it is today. His first folly was to start Kargil war without previous preparation. He criticised Nawaz Sharif for inviting Vajapyee to Lahore and try to talk peace with him but in 2007 when he came to Pakistan in January Musharraf signed a deal with him and decided to close the chapter of Kashmir once for all.
So guys as a nation we can how blessed we are with the presidents.
On other hand we have removed all the prime ministers in humiliation except Shaukat Aziz who according to media reports was on Musharraf hit lit but survived because of March 2007 debacle of Chief Justice removal.
You can yourself see
and what about the other millions being sent to this mr 100 percent ’s account. anyone has any clue about this?
@c hussain
Strange…..in your list you did not comment on ZA Bhutto – who was the worst of all…….the biggest curse (azaab) of Allah on Pakistan in Bhutto Family, and Zardari is also a part of Bhutto family.
I am surprised that why Zardari has to spend millions on lobbying, when He can win election so easily.
I bet you all, let there be election tomorrow, apart from few seats in Karachi, Zardari can win in entire P-A-K-I-S-T-A-N easily, including SWAT and Waziristan………why and how !!!!!because we are a stupid, jahil and a donkey nation.
Iinstead we want Farzana Raja, Fauzia Wahab, Sherry Rehman, Bilawal Zardari.
All head of states hire these lobbying agencies in Washington. There is nothing illegal about that. It is infact necessary to hire lobbying agencies. Dont misguid people. However, if there are some irregularities around this issue then this needs to be looked in. Otherwise, nothing wrong with lobbying agencies.
sick qoam kai sick logo galian dainey sai tum theek nahi ho gai tum logon ko doctor ko daikhney ki zaroorut hai.
Congratulation! Due to tireless efforts of Zardari and team, Pakistan remains among top 10 failed states.
http://thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=23005
Waisay you gotta hand it to the Goras they knew that Zardari is a corrupt man so they conned him into lobbying part and he spending half his loot in stablizing these lobbyists as they can say that he should get more money. lol
This is called Keeping the distributed money circulating in own hands. Its their money and half of it is going back to them and other half is being spent to buy the Army top brass, the Mullahs and the beaurucracy for letting the West own the rights of all the potential mineral zones of Pakistan. And we the fools of the world will worship the West till all of Pakistan will be divided and we would be like Palestinians
Think over it people
This forum reprents a large number of people from rich and well to do people. most of you belong to right wing agendas, thus you are suporters of Nwaz league, Imran Khan, Jamat i Islami and likewise. There is nothing wrong with it but problem is you are non democretic deep in thinking who don’t have any room for others, you can’t tolerate others. I also could feel there people who belong to that foolish believe that Pakistan was made for islam, I could see Chauvinist feeling and approach whether it is Punjabi Chauvinist or Karachi wala Chauvinist who always hated Sindis, Pashtoons , Baluch , Siriakis and poor punjabis.
If Benazir was living and had been a prime minister , you would have same volger compaign against her as you did in Zia’s time and after under the able guidence of Jamati type propeganda and even more able guidence of right wing people in agencie who want to turn pakistan to a haven for talibinazation.
I do not suport Zardari and critical of his government but only to a limit that NO Military Wala or Jihadi could ever take advantage. I also believe millions and millions of Poor Pakistanis living in inhuman conditions who don’t have access to these forums have different ideas, totally diferrent from what ever we discuss here after eating great food and from cool airconditioned rooms.
I would like to point out internationaly since Musharaf’s double face was exposed back in 2006 onwards, Pakistan has been facing the most difficult time. No one in the world trust any thing about Pakistan.
Zaradri Did three thinks or steps i as Pakistani like,
1. Formed large consenses Govts , Federal and Provinces, gave every body there due share. ( He could have made an agreement with Mushraf and would have formed Govt in all provinces)
2. Able to engage with all theworld power houses so to get some kind of trust back, Mumbai aatacks and aftermath is big example, that was atime we survived.
3. Pakistan Army under Musharaf has reached to there worst prectically and on morality point of view, today if they were able to stand and fight against Talibans it is just becaue of PPP and ANP who have did their best to talk and resolve issue through political means. Talibans got badly exposed with their anti Pakistan agendas.
Zardari might not be your choice or mine but he didn’t come to power riding Tank. I respect democretic right of government of PPP, Muslim League MQM , ANP and other as long as they are voted in. I hate and have no repect and room for Dictators and their beneficiaries.
@dara,i fully endorse ur piont of view.
I don’t know why this is a problem. I don’t like Zardari either but that doesn’t mean I want him out. Please consider the following points:
1- Zardari became president with overwhelming support from “elected respresentatives”. The same elected representatives to whom votes were given by the common masses. If he was that bad, why did these elected representatives chose him? They all knew him but still they made him the President. So please accept that. Bad judgment, poor choice but at least there is a system.
2- As somebody mentioned above, even if it were Benazir or for that matter Nawaz Sharif, people would make similar stories. Worry about petty things. I remember NS time. People were despondent at that time too. Unfortunately we have remained immature as a nation and get fed-up with leaders/rulers rather fast.
3- Paying the lobbyist is nothing new. Look at what they have achieved for Pakistan. The money for 5-10 years, the deletion of anti-Pakistan parts of this bill which got approved etc. Remember we are incapable of doing such things. We are a conglomerate of inept and incapable people especially at the highest places. If we hired help for our country’s cause, whats wrong with it. We have somebody speaking on our behalf, promoting our image, lobbying for us – why not pay more and get more help.
I would encourage everyone on this forum to sit back, relax, take a deep breath and think about what you have done for your neighborhood, for your city, for your school, for your people…. We can’t even pick our own “kora” to put in a dumster…. we need to change our mentality. We just can’t live in status quo.
@ c hussain.
Only a non-Pakistani who is not true to the soil, will ever dare to disagree with every opinion that you have expressed above.
Plz allow me to relate an anecdote of the 60’s period as follows:-
1. In 1961 while I was studying in college, I had a chance meeting with a Palestinian Medical Student who was then studying in Pakistan for his medical degree in Khyber Medical College Peshawar.
2.Probably to highlight Pakistan’s role/contribution towards cause of Palestinians, I ONLY mentioned Zia-ul-Haq’s service to (Late) King Hussein of Jordan as one of his military advisers , (while then a serving Brig of Pak Army.)
3. My mere mention was enough for him to raise his voice against our erstwhile ‘Mard-i-Momin Zia-ul-Haq, by calling him by various filthy names/expletives, including that of being ‘a killer of Palestinians, including that of their innocent women & children.
4. It was only after he toppled Z.A.Bhutto to come himself into power, did I remember, those profane & obscene expressions of anger/curses swearings & what-not, reserved by that Palestinian student for our (Bad-Bakht ) ‘Mard-i-Momin or ‘Mard-i-(Na)-Haq, Z ia-ul-Haq !
Question: How do you THEN expect our Foreign Office to speak for the ‘Palestinian Cause’ in the past as well as at present,
when they had ALL ALONG ‘a killer’ of innocent women & children, as our Army Chief/CMLA & a head of state?
Double tongue & double speak?
PKAdmin bahi, truth is that bhutto called bangaalies son of pigs when they were part of pakistan, that comment was never been held any where …. we lost the part of our mother land due to that …. we were so tolerant that time right?
Now? you can not listen to the fact about Zardari … there is always a tit for tat … people remember the deeds … deeds of PPP…. do remember that …
guys , do not talk about evil in bad words … $dmin bahi naraz hoo jaatay hain .. he removes my comments all the time …
Thank you Admin Bro for putting this story on Pkpolitics Forum.
We should all demand to Chief Justice of Pakistan Honorable Mr Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhary to take a Souo moto Notice of this corruption by Zardari and Eighty thieves. This is day light robbery to a poor nation, where majority people are living below poverty line.
We demand Sir Imran Khan to raise this issue in Pakistan and make people aware of this. While Nawaz Sharif is busy making deals with americans and trying to appease MQM in London to improve his chances of getting power, our only hope is Imran Khan
Zardari is President by default! Every one knows how much assets he has, it’s a shame that on our money he’s promoting him self in USA. Our so called leader ship does not have any worth, they only concern with money and power, and to be more wealthy they can go to any extend.
Good Show, i wonder if any of our so called leader reading these comments? They should feel the hatred, that is developing amongst all Pakistanis against present corrupt president
@dara, your points are absolutely valid. its been almost 2 years o this website but i have not seen tolerance among my countrymen. Giving bad names to someone never brings change. Try to change your thoughts. I am not a supporter of zardari but he is my, in fact our president . and indeed he came to power through national consensus .
Those ctitising the lobbying firms appointed …..please also think the “benefit” the country is having from their appointment……… bottom line is they have been given the virtually impossible task of proving that the ‘President is credible and honest ‘ !!!!
zerdari became president with consences.america,west,pak army and representatives of pakistan could not find more suitable man than zerdari.if zerdari is thief what else are.they are worst than him.
@ democrate!
No one is worst then Zardari is, he has set examples of corruption. I dont see any one at the moment whos serious and intrested in pakistan. They all are the same, hungry for power and moneyand for that they can do any thing!
Look at Balochistan! Look at Swat! Now they have all eyes set on Punjab!
Shame on Zardari and his tolas
Those who advocate zardari here, listen clearly … you think zardari is fighting for pakistan in swat? no he is putting the Army to fight there so that the $$$ keep coming in the pocket … they clear evidence is the millions of $$ he has got for IDPs are never been spend any where yet … and ofcouse never will be …
During Benzir time zardari was better because he was only 10% back then, but now he has become 100%, our beloved thug and criminal co-chairman by accident zhardhari
Democracy is name of freedom to criticize wrong actions of Govt in order to help them improve and appreciate Govt on good actions to encourage.but hate compaign and wrong propaganda are actually creation of those chauvanists who doent want to see flourishing democracy in our land.
Lobbying is a norm in US and there are big number of lobbying firms helping India, Israel and other countries.This Article is one sided propaganda and this forum is more focused on one sided hate compaign against PPP,so I dont feel any surprise.
If you hear ayaz amir with Dr SM,he said “We can criticizes govts but if we really believe in democracy then we cant be part of any scheme to dislodge this Govt undemocratically…Dictators enjoy power for decades and putting country into total chaos but when Democratic Govt hardly passes six month,a full fledged hate and abuse attacks start on leadership and Govt….In US,Bush was unpopular but no body demands Pentagon to come forward and rescue”
I think, sick minded chauvinists and ultra right orthodox always try to destabilize democratic Govts with using nefarious tactics.
The positive side of hiring lobby firms s that: at least some ” poor” people have got jobs…:)
Khappay Khappay Khappay… Pakistan Khappay…
Sadr e Mumlikat nay farmaya…
Yay Maira aap sai waida hai… kay paksitan ko dunya ka sab say bara… number aik bhikari banaengay…
کھپپے کھپپے کھپپے پاکستان کھپپے
صدر مملکت نے فرمایا
یہ میرا آپ سے وعدہ ھے کہ پاکستان کو دنیا کا سب سے بڑا اور ایک نمبر بھکاری بنائیں گے
@sagaciouscorpion,
(Report FSJ USA):Pakistan is surviving economically on the aid of IMF,world bank and International donors . The decades of anarchy,economic melt down and dictatorial rule have plunged country at the brink of disaster.In this transition time till stability,Pakistan needs economic assistance to avert economic melt down and Not many Muslim countries have helped in this regards but again US and other friendly countries are helping to avert our economic crisis.President AZ is also asking for Trade and business with EU and EU has promised to increase our quote for Textile and Fishing business etc.Stability comes with some time…and President is begging because Pakistan needs it for survival….one should appreciate it ..Govt can make mistakes but its not healthy trend to make useless objections on every thing.Grow up please!!
Land of conspiracies
“Jacob Bronsther, a Fulbright scholar at New York University, has attributed conspiracy syndrome a consequence of “cognitive dissonance – the mental disturbance caused by the collision of contradictory ideas, stemming from the Muslim world’s lack of prosperity and power.” There may be some truth in this observation as it is difficult for a Muslim to reconcile to the painful reality that he is weak and the rest of the world has progressed rapidly and gone past him.
It is not that Pakistan alone is awash with conspiracies. Other nations too have their own stories to tell but these are not that overwhelming to cloud reality and not as self-destructive. The danger is that by subscribing to conspiracy theories we undermine our ability to examine a problem or formulate a policy on a rational basis. This is equally true for issues related to security, economics, politics or relations with foreign countries. For instance, we blame the IMF and World Bank for our economic ills and some perceive it as a part of a larger conspiracy. This line of thinking frees us as individuals, groups or nations from accepting responsibility for the failure, which is very dangerous. What we need most is to face internal and external problems squarely, accept the reality of growing insurgency and other challenges and formulate policies and take decisions on the basis of facts and not live in fantasy.”
http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=185513
If done right, lobbying is an important tool in getting your voice heard in Washington.
Following in AIPAC’s (Israel lobby) footsteps the India lobby is getting results in Washington and is having a profound impact on US policy with important consequences for the future of Asia.
I am not a fan of Zardari but Pakistan does need a strong lobby in Washington to conter the Indian lobby.
media is the biggest hypocrat in your society. They portrayed these people as the biggest champion of democracy though they knew the whole truth. They never follow-up a story.In Western democracy which is not the best solution but we have seen so many examples that if New york’s governer did something wrong then he resigned from his office. We have a very short term memory and we dont want to come forward and play an active role in politics rather we are helpless infornt of police, army, politician, journalist, businessmen and Mullah. They have all linked together and once they have some conflict then they start a compaign till they get their share in this loot mar sale. See how much these journalists are making as comapare to a Professer or even an engineer.
Dear Admin,
Can you please put the head line news of MPs fighting in Punjab Assembly PMLQ vs PMLN and they fought and exchanged all sorts of words against each other and its head line news or you ppl find fault in PPP but you cant high light and discuss such issue against your PMLN and PMLQ.Please give coverage to this issue for discussion so that balance should be established otherwise this forum remains only factory for hate and abuse against PPP.
@Dara,
You are correct. But problem is that this forum is so totally against PPP that you might as well ‘Bhens ke agey been bajau’ (play flute to a buffalo).
Since 1977 these rightwingers have held ABSOLUTE POWER most of the time in both federation and provinces for about 26 years versus PPP’s 3 diluted rules of 6 years and yet every problem is blamed on PPP. These bloggers are so hateful that they don’t see that their favorite party (PMLN) itself is far more conciliatory toward PPP then them.
But please keep playing the flute–may be one day someone’s ears be receptive to rationality.
Saeed Afzal,
Why don’t you take sleeping pills that will keep you sleeping for next four years and when you wake may be ppl. would have elected some party other than PPP. I know it is a nightmare for you to see AZ as president despite of false propaganda by establishment and the right wing parties.
Fareed,
You keep on dreaming that CJ will take any action. I have a news for you CJ WILL NEVER TAKE ACTION AGAINST PPP GOVT. SO START CURSING CJ NOW.
JanuGermanKhan,
I recommend you also do the same thing that I have suggested to Saeed Afzal.
Supercreature,
Did Bhutto said in front of you whatever you claim he said to Bengalis?
All other PPP haters,
Why did you, your establishment, PML(N), JI, JUI, JUP, PTI, Tehreek Istiqlal, Irfan Siddique, Nizami brothers of Nawaiwaqt, Urdu Digest etc etc. failed to prove any case in courts against AZ. Shame on all of you.
I don’t think critisim of Zardari should be considered as dislike for PPP.Aitzaz Ahsan the man I admire more than any other politician has disagreed with Zardari on more than one occasion.
@ sagciouscorpian.
Your Suggestion,(as above, on 29/6/9 at 5.39 pm.)
To ‘type in Roman (English) alphabet, then get an output in Urdu font; then Copy & Paste.’
Very good suggestion from you, I must say, especially for our member/brother/columnist & lawyer, Mr Adnan Arshad Mansoori, who commonly writes in English, but cannot do justice to the sentences that he writes, coz’ English is NOT OUR MOTHER-TONGUE; (neither mine nor his.)
I have been pointing it out to Mr. Mansoori, since long in the past as well, & I again here wish to SUGGEST to him to PLEASE pay heed to your above-given suggestion.
@ Other members also.
I wish to suggest to other members of this column (to pay heed to your suggestion) who also who also desire to express their opinions in Urdu but find difficulty in writing in ‘Queen’s English.’
article in The News today re BB’s birth-day celebrations……….apparently President did not attend but the PM did!
http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=185676
some interesting notes from the article which makes one wonder about many things within PPP
- “The prime minister was informed well in advance about the plan, but he ignored the advice given to him even at the eleventh hour and reached the place in the evening where his leader was killed in mysterious circumstances in broad daylight one and a half years ago/” …..but the President/Husband did take the ’security advice’ and DID NOT attend???
- “senior workers of the PPP complained to him about his long absence from the memorial venue/” ……………but they have also been complaining the same about the President/Husband however he was nowhere to be found other than in President House bunker!
- “but all the security and intelligence agencies had forewarned the prime minister that some anti-state elements had planned to get him in the same fashion as they had taken the life of his leader Bhutto at the same place. The agencies gave him the number of would be killers/” ……who was feeding this info to PM? could it be the Head of Interior Ministry????
- “Prime Minister Gilani, who reached the venue amid tight security, opted to travel in the car belonged to the cavalcade of Interior Minister Rehman Malik/” …….hmmmmmm so Rehman Malik’s cavalcade is the safest??? PPP supporters wish that BB was as smart as Gilani ………..if she had travelled in the same car as Rehman Malik, she may be with us today!!!
IS PRESIDENT/HUSBAND AT ODDS WITH THE PM?????
@Meengla and Tahir mahmood,
Well said and as these ultra rightists and chauvinists believe that success of PPP is their utter failure and thats why this pain creates hate in their hearts and they start distorting facts with all kind of substanceless personal attacks.Though I believe criticism for positive change is healthy thing for democracy yet criticism for the sake of criticism is actually state of sick mindness which most of PPP haters are preaching here.
Guys no need to worry …is this not what been expected…
One of the good points is that he believes in Democracy…. Pak qoom per uska ihsan …
as He said In US last time ….He believes in Democracy ,,, and Sign a transit trade Agreement with KHarzai ……is it Democracy …yes it … His democracy means ,,, he himself is parliament and he himself is Constitution ,,, means he can take a decision any time in any one’s interest ……shit PPP
Pak embassy in US clarifies lobbying report
Monday, June 29, 2009
News Desk
WASHINGTON: The Pakistan Embassy in Washington on Sunday clarified a report on lobbying firms hired by Pakistan and other Pakistani organisations. It said: “Neither has Pakistan hired 11 lobbying firms and nor are the dollars flowing out on account of lobbying for Pakistan. Currently, Pakistan has hired only two firms — Locke Lord Strategies-LP and Cassidy & Associates.
“Itís unfortunate that the write-up listed names of 11 companies and gave an impression as if all these companies have been hired by the current government. The list also contains names of the firms which were hired in the past and their contracts have been terminated years ago.
“Contrary to the information provided in the write-up, the fact of the matter is that when the new government came into power all contracts of the lobbying firms hired by the last government were terminated. In May 2008, Locke lord Strategies was hired at monthly payment of $ 75,000 ($900,000 annually). Cassidy and Associates has been hired only last month at the rate of $ 58,000 ($ 696,000 annually). These are the only two lobbying firms working for Pakistan through its embassy in Washington DC.
“The annual total of $ 1.6 million will be spent to further Pakistanís interests in the US Congress and the administration. Both Locke Lord and Cassidy are lobbying firms not PR companies. They do not project the person of the prime minister or the president. These companies help Pakistan in complex legislation process in the Congress and provide ingress to the US Administration. The democratic government, after coming into power, terminated the contracts of the lobbying firms and PR companies which were working for the last government on hefty payments.
“By all fairness, the money being spent now is much less than what the government of Pakistan used to pay the lobbying firms hired previously. Cassidy and Associates was hired at the rate of $ 1.2 million annually by the previous government. Now the same firm has been hired at the rate of $696,000 annually. It may be mentioned that these lobbying firms are very useful in promoting Pakistanís interests due to their contacts in the US administration and the Congress. All foreign governments and international companies hire lobbyists to protect their interests in Washington DC.
“The government of Pakistan believes in transparency and the embassy has always welcome media queries for sharing information. We would continue to welcome queries from media persons, giving them verifiable facts so that they could provide authentic information to the readers.”
Shaheen Sehbai adds: The embassy has sidetracked the main issues highlighted in the report. Basically, the embassy is trying to deny the data posted at the US government official websites about lobbyists and firms hired by Pakistani organisations, including the embassy of Pakistan. The clarification generally says it has hired and terminated companies but gives no specifics while the US data used in my report had all the names and details. Which is that data is wrong should be explained by the embassy and if it is wrongly posted on the US government websites, the embassy should take up the matter with the US authorities.
More importantly it has been stated very clearly in the report that the Embassy of Pakistan has three firms hired as lobbyists. The embassy has admitted it has two but the third, Moses Boyd, which company has registered itself as a foreign agent of the Pakistan Embassy, has not been included. This company, interestingly, has also registered as the official lobbyist of the Russian government. So if Moses Boyd is working for Pakistan and Russia, how are the conflicts of interest in pursuing policies and agenda of both these clients are being resolved. The embassy has to explain this.
According to the embassy officials, after the Geo TV aired the programme on lobbying and The News story was published on the internet edition, the Embassy of Pakistan was opened on Saturday and all files were removed to an unknown destination on the orders of the Embassy high-ups. The News story was based on US government information and we stand by our story. If there are any wrong facts, the embassy should take it up with the US government and Pakistani authorities should get all the details from the Foreign Office and the embassy through the Public Accounts Committee and other parliamentary oversight bodies.
this zardari dacoit is the worst thing happen to pakistan ever, when the ppl are suffering immensly without water, electricity and atta this dacoo is visiting places just to fulfill his nefarious designs, sick.
Pakistan khapy( over 90 member cabnet when nation is fighting war)
Pkistan khapy(Pakistan in top 10 falier states)
Pkistan khapy(No sign of govt anywhere in the countery)
Pkistan khapy(Punjab and Baluchistan water shifted 2 Sindh)
Pkistan khapy(Govt. jobs are being sold)
Pkistan khapy(11 US lobbing firms 2 make Zardari white from black)
Pkistan khapy(Mr. 10 % tutn in to Mr. 100%)
The Zardari will take all nation in to hell……………………Democracy zindabad
Khapy…..
Khapy……
Khapy……
Ourr Khapy…..???????????????????
Khapaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay………… Khapaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay… Khapaaaaaaaaay Pakistan ..
Pakistan Pakistan Khapaeey Pakistan…..
@Dara @Democrate
If someone is elected through proper way, it does not give him the right to start doing corruption, breaking promises, NRO, letting America do drone attacks, wasting tax payers money on trips abroad, defending India, protecting Musharraf, betraying the people who vote his party………………………….
The truth is people vote PPP to change Musharraf policies but they are continuting his policies and defending him. its because they believe they came into power because of Musharraf and America.
If you can not see Zardari being criticized then why do you read all the comments and torture yourself.
Rauf Klasra reports that Shaukat Aziz took millions of dollars worth of gifts including diamonds, golds and other gifts for nominal amount while he was the Prime Minister. ye to sab kay sab chor hain. But he was the class of his own
Asim Sttar,
Actually ppl. have given right to AZ to take all those actions that you have mentioned. Can you please mention any corruption act since he has been ELECTED as president? or you are JUST illogically saying that.
Asim Sattar,
Why don’t you run against AZ in next election. maybe ppl. vote for you instead of a CORRUPT person.
@Asim Sattar,
Criticism for the sake of criticism is not good for society,it only makes u infuriated.
Your allegations:
1.Corruhption
Not a single case ever proved in the court of law and again AZ suffered decades of prisons for nothing. Both PMLN and Mighty military dictators tried their best to get them convicted in cases but all failed.Remember Jusitice Qayoom who convicted AZ and BB shaheed but then came on record the of audio tape that proves that proved that a conspiracy was there by LHR Court Judge and PMLN leaedership against PPP leadership.Inspite of all allegation..NOT A SINGLE CASE PROVED!!
2.Trip abroad: Kerry loger bill+Friends of Pakistan association+EU business partnership plan+China +agriculture pact+proposal for France -Pak Nuclear deal.This all shows the success of all these trips.Dont get blind in hate,see the facts.
3.Protecting MUSH:: Better to say PPP kicked MUSH out of presidency and tellme bro,SS is CM of Punjab and why not PMLN take action or register FIR against MUSH…who has stopped them???When they are so vocal against MUSH,its good,go ahead,do some actions against MUSH.they will not because they only use slogans but it was PPP who KICKED MUSH OUT!!!
4. NRO: The might establishement who always put PPP out of power,signed NRO and This was again victory for PPP because those who abused PPP …accepted that all was wrong.NRO is slap on the face of Dictatorship.Moreover,Courts are open and why dont PMLN etc go against it.Why dont courts take any action if NRO is wrong.But I am of view that NRO should not be a blank chit for bureacrates and Military ppl and Supreme court stop them.
5.DRONE ATTACKS: MUSH gave every thing to US and played dual game with US at the same time,Drone attacks were there;US is super power,u cant fight them or stop them.But again they are hitting those ppl who are ALQIDA and Taliban ppl,if u ultra-orthdox,then you will feel sorry for ur brothers.But again question is how to convince US against Drone attacks..to make democracy more powerful,with more command over Military and agencies.Since Defence related issues are in control of Military then no govt can do any thing abt it.Remember Kargil (Mush by passed NS).
Zaradri is innocent…..thanks to NRO ……….evidence below
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/7064052.stm
-One of the most advanced is in Switzerland, where in 2003 Geneva magistrate Daniel Devaud convicted Ms Bhutto of money-laundering.
In his judgment, he found she and her close associates received around $15m in kickbacks from Pakistani government contracts with SGS and Cotecna, two Swiss companies.
Mr Devaud sentenced Ms Bhutto and her husband Asif Zardari to 180 days in prison, ordering them to return $11.9m to the government of Pakistan.
“I certainly don’t have any doubts about the judgments I handed down [which] came after an investigation lasting several years, involving thousands of documents,” he has told the BBC.
some more???…loads more!!!
http://en.wordpress.com/tag/asif-ali-zardari-corruption-case-videos-by-kamran-khan/
@Malek,
SWISS CASE:
Answer:Let’s discuss the Swiss case,Lets make the facts straight… it may come as news to many that the detailed work on the SGS-Cotecna award was done during the Nawaz Sharif Government preceding BB’s second tenure as PM. The essence of the matter was to check the per-shipment fraud and irregularities, which hit the vested interests of many in the bureaucracy as well as in business and industry.
It is the same case in which the judges of the High Court announced conviction of the accused. However when appeal was filed in the Supreme Court, the defence produced recorded tape in which a highly placed government functionary was dictating the verdict as well as the sentences to the judges. The Supreme Court not only set aside the judgement and ordered re-trial but admonished the judges in the severest of terms writing that ” the trial has been conducted in such a way that bias is seen floating over this case”.
The concerned judges of the High Court had to resign. Taxpayers have a right to ask the Generals governing Pakistan as to why billions have been spent so far to recover the allegedly stolen 15 million dollars when the government could not summon either the courage or the evidence, or may be both, to pursue the same case for re-trial in the country as ordered by the Supreme Court.
These billions have been spent on the innumerable journeys to Switzerland, UK and the USA by the Chairman NAB and his cronies, to lodge them in five-star hotels, to dish out lavishly on their TA/DA etc in addition to recruitment of hordes of attorneys especially for witch-hunting in this case whose salaries run in six figures for each of these super duper lawyers.
Another perception created by people in Islamabad is as if the Government of Switzerland has on its own discovered the case and registered it and it has gone for trial. Both are lies white as snow and dark as the intentions behind them. The Swiss are investigating the matter through a Magistrate whereas the investigation itself was triggered by false allegations made by Islamabad in a letter of request to Switzerland.
On the last working day in his office, Mr Daniel Devaud wrote adverse findings against the defendants. When an appeal was lodged against these findings, the same was quashed.
One significant point to note is that when the government suspended the functioning of SGS-Cotecna, the firm claimed damages, as there was nothing wrong or dubious in the contract. The government not only paid the entire amount of damages, it re-employed SGS-Cotecna because of their good services.
So, while the firm still works for the government, the same government runs to Switzerland crying as to why the contract was awarded to this firm by PPP government. In case you are getting confused, remember that it is a military government answerable to no one least of all to the parliament or the people. The publicity filth that BB took out $150,000/- allegedly from her company Bomer Finance in Switzerland to purchase a necklace worth $195,000/- from David Morris, a leading jeweller of London, gets cleared when one comes to know that BB neither holds an account in Switzerland nor owns a company in that country.
Final Remark: Dont give ear to propaganda and hate compaign against PPP leadership.Bring the facts but its no use to distort facts to malign PPP.
Peace!!
I do not like Zardari. But here is the truth about Shaheen Sehbia.
Mr Sehbia wanted to be Pakistan Ambassadar in US but Zardari refused and offered this job to Hussain Haqqani. From that day Shaheen Sehbia becomes enemy numner one of Zardari.Couple of months back Sehbai published a story and tried his best to prove that Zardari is involved in BB assissination.
Sehbia is one of the member of blackmailers like Ansar Abbasi, Irfan Siddique, Kamran Khan, etc.
I request to all the bloggers that as educated people please open your eyes about blackmailer journalists. Its a mafia who wants to control this country.
Aftab Ahmad
Lansing MI
I always ask one question in PK Politics from all bloggers.
Please replace Zardari, and a name who could control this country? But never get a response back.
Please be clear about yellow journalism. W
here is the evidence of struggle and fight by Shaheen Sehbai when military dictator took over….and his affection and loyalty to Bhuttos
http://antisystemic.org/satribune/www.satribune.com/index-2.html
and salute to Sehbai now for standing up to the civilain dictator Zardari
[...] Read more [...]
[...] [...]
Lobbying… Pakistan always got bad press Internationally…
The diplomats never did their job, just enjoyed postings and perks…
What a shame really. All Pakistan has gotten so far is bad press world wide. It is always in the news for all the wrong reasons. Except for a little while in the mid sixties, Pakistan has been shown in negative light whether it is drugs, terrorism or nuclear affair, our research was projected as some clandestine affair. I used to think Pakistan never lobbied. But now it seems it has spent a fotune on lobbying. But it seems it has put the money for the wrong reasons and at wrong places or in officals pockets.
Whether it is Europe, America or Middle East Pakistan is reported negatively. Do the Pakistan officials not know what they want and what to expect of PR companies lobbying or what they themselves ought to be doing? I was most surprised to note even the so called Press Attaches who have all the perks in the world just do not know what to do. One such character was Charag A. posted in Jeddah as a Press Attache who had said he had no work. While The Indian Consulate in the same city had 7 press attaches and all were too busy.
The result – positive reporting was done for India with excellent damage control and negative reporting was done for Pakistan with no idea of damage control or country promotion. When people at helm are as what they are, what else can you expect? Now they are spending State Funds that is people’s money on projecting a positive image of The President Asif Ali Zardari not Pakistan.
The dimplomats posted all over the world just do not do the job they are supposed to do. They just enjoy their perks. One must most certainly consider the reports published in The News and reported in Geo on the lobbying scam.
Link: http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=22972
http://thinker-thinkingoutofthebox.blogspot.com/
And we blame others for our ills. All conspiracy theories propounders must think and set their own house in order.
Millions being spent on Zardari’s lobbying and him and now Zardari and his gang are milking the country in billions, what are we going to do, I guess nothing as usual.
News Source... Additional material was found in this news story to assist you [...]...
Good Lord, we were zapped again. Thank you Rabia Zia. You are simply marvellous.