170 Million Pakistanis are paying the price for luxuries of a small percentage of elite. Just take the example of electricity crisis that has resulted in load shedding of 18-20 hours in many areas of Pakistan. Our industry and more specifically small scale industry has suffered a lot due to this load shedding adding more to the ever declining exports. And less exports and more imports (more imports of electricity generators and oil) has helped to increase this difference even greater.
More and more unemployment resulting in poverty and proportionally deterioration of law and order situation are other by products of this crisis. This vicious circle is never gong to end until and unless our Elite is ready for sacrifices and share the burden of sufferings of 170 million people, majority of them are not getting basic necessities of Food, water and shelter even.
One simple and practical solution of this electricity crisis is to get rid of Air Conditioners for at least 2 seasons. Only a minority of Pakistanis is enjoying these air conditioners but still consuming bulk of electricity (5000 MW out of total 12500 MW is consumed by Air Conditioners) to deprive masses of electricity (and resulting water, job in many cases).
It has been now officially confirmed by officials of Organizations related to Electricity distribution that No Air Conditioning will result in No Load Shedding. MD PEPCO Tahir Basharat Cheema talking in Column Kaar of 3rd July 2009 clearly mentioned that these Air Conditioners are real cause of this massive load shedding these days.
We can save electricity this way and give relief to common poor people of Pakistan as well as restore supply to small scale industries so poor people can have the jobs secure and at the same time it will help to increase the exports.
Places where Air conditioning is technically required or in hospitals, we can declare exceptions from these restrictions.
At the same time, Government should give a special package for Air Conditioners manufacturing industry to waive off any duties or taxes to encourage them for competing in export market. This way, not only their expected grievances due to restrictions of air conditioners use can be addressed, but also we can capture export markets resulting in increase of Foreign Reserves.
We will not die without Air Conditioners, but some poor people and their children are surely dying due to lack of water from this crisis, due to unemployment generated from this crisis and our industry and economy is dying due to this crisis.
Please be Pakistani and Sacrifice your LUXURIES to meet basic necessities of fellow countrymen and help revive Pakistani industry and exports.
It is time to Act – Enough of Talks and Slogans!
I agree.
I think that a massive campaign should be launched on media with regards to use of Air Conditioners. ACs should be banned, and laws should be passed. Violaters should be punished,,, BUT,,,, people must be assured that there will be no load shedding. If this happen, I am sure people will respond well to this initiative.
But first and foremost, the leaders of this country will have to show implementation of this in their personal lives….I bet most of them and their families will spend there vacations in London.
The irony of this article is that you are advertising portable air Air Conditioners along side the article to suggest the people of Pakistan, living in hell on earth, not to use air conditioners. The inability of the governing elites to provide basic human needs such as utilities does not mean for a stupid and short term solution. All Pakistanis should be put in a position to afford air conditioning in the temperatures above 100 degrees in summer time. Next smart solution for the oil prices would be to ride donkeys and mules and sell all the cars to Africans? I have been avoiding giving my comments on this forum, because the intellectual level of conversation has gone to point of childish levels. You people running this website are only concerned about your power of censorship in the name of your so called constitution? Free speech should be free speech to the point of open discussion with some mild harsh words. You should control your regular paid agents who attack every single opinion in one slant. Number of regular writers are professional paid or employed propagandists. Grow up and start writing about the complete failure of this PPPP and start a forum for the impeachment of the current lying, failed, criminal government who has failed to provide security, utilities, self respect, any direction , short term or long term planning for the future of the country. People of Pakistan should not wait one more day for this inincompetent and Criminally insane President to stay in power. NRO should be re open in the courts and this “non government” must be taken out by the help of to the justice system. Pakistan needs new elections and free elections without the Western influence.
For mine, two things have to happen for me to think about it:
1. I have to be sure that all available means have been exhausted and there is no way we can cover the electricity shortfall – However, we still apparently have unutilised power with the IPPs. If we only pay them that is.
2. Lets have the President House, PM house, CM Houses and Governer Houses have a go at it. If the RULING elite leads by example, Im sure the masses will be inclined towards it.
So the thing is, why should i sacrifice my comfort for the Government’s inability to take care of it?
There is no question that ACs have played their part. The Chinese ACs with stickers of local companies such as Super Asia etc. have meant that ACs have become a lot more affordable. Their sales have skyrocketed and if you look around, now you even find them in small cornershops. Even if you roam around a less affluent part of the city, you will see a number of houses with split AC fan units on the outside. Therefore, its not as if its just the elites now who use the ACs.
We talk about hospitals being exempt but just to share a personal experience, my brother had a problem with his sweat glands and did not sweat. His skin used to turn red in high temperature and he felt very very uncomfortable. The only remedy was to keep him in an airconditioned room 24/7. So the question is, how do you account for people who need lower temperatures but are not hospitalised?
Lastly, if ACs were the cause of grief, its not as if we didnt have powercuts during the winter…..
@Concernaed American
This is the issue of Load management. This solution is not in a scenario when u have enough electricity available. I think you are unable to feel pain of poor masses of Pakistan who are living in miserable conditions.
Also we are hoping that this shortage is temporary and we will get out of this soon. People like you might afford bread even if it is 1000 $, but this is not the case for majority of Pakistanis.
@rafay79
If you listen to the programme of columnkaar, same question of yours regarding loadsheddhing in winter was raised and the answer was “in winter our hydral power station are producing only 500 MW out of total capacity of 6500 MW “
@Jamhooriat
My point exactly brother! This is not exactly the first time we have had the winter season in pakistan with reduced waterflows. The question is, did we have it 3-4 years ago? Is it our fault that the Government did not bother to think ahead? Or pay the IPPs for the electricity for that matter?
Are we not sacrificing enough already by paying my taxes and watching them to go to waste? Paying excessive sums of money for fuel and other basic needs? Watching the ruling elite who dont give a damn about the country and the people and who have no shame in using the taxpayers money for personal use? Their places are even expempt from powercuts for crying out loud!!!!!!!!!
The questions is why should i do it when i know that people in my Government are shameless B******s who can budget Rs1.5bn for PM’s overseas trips but cant be bothered to increase the budget for basics such as health and education? If they are ready to cut down on their lavish lifestyles, we will be more than happy to cut down on ours.
Array bhai itni qurbaanyian to bakray nahee daitay jitnee yay qom daitee hai. Kam az kam jo din kay 6 ghaintay bijlee aatee hai us main to sakoon karnay do!
one thing that needs to be made clear that in time of musherraf the instability were not that spread as we see today in Pak (though all the militancy and instability in the country is beacuase of him)
and there were more Industries operating than today why there was not that much load shedding
Today Malakand Division Is not Provided Electricity as 80 % of Locals are migrated to Rest Of Pak… 90 % of the Industries and Factories in NWFP are shut down…
Still We see the shortage in Electricity ,,,,,
One thing cannot be denied that in 2007 and before we had load shedding but only for 2 or 3 hours a day despite of the fact that there were more Industries funtional and more and more invester wer comming to the country ….
what happened today tha t most of the industries are not funtional becasue of Army operation in NWFP ,whcih should save power but still load shedding ….. is this a drama..?
It means that we had more Power Production in 2007 than today..as the need was very much in the previous govt time than today…
Note ; I personaly think that Musharraf is the Key man who created the militancy and played with future of this nation for the sake of dollers he brought this war inside Pak
But for the Problem of Load shedding , we cannot blame his govt as it was not that worse as today
@ConcernedAmericanPak
agree with you……
i dont know what happened with @dmin’s ‘constitution’ ………..that he started a few months ago and has now been archived?
although i agree with concluding paras of the article
‘Please be Pakistani and Sacrifice your LUXURIES to meet basic necessities of fellow countrymen and help revive Pakistani industry and exports.
It is time to Act – Enough of Talks and Slogans!’
it’s become so fashionable to blame the elite….
its not just the elite that has air conditioners – a substantial number in the middle class own air conditioners too.
while i may agree that wasteful use of electricity must be avoided – but it’s ridiculous to expect that people switch off their air conditioners in totality.
The system of rich and an not so rich has been intact during and after the advent of Islam. It is a part of the laws of nature. Asking everyone to shutdown their AC is neither practical nor in line with the modern economic system. An easy way would be to generously increase the rate of electricity beyond an average middle class household use. It will be good for the people and better for the economy. Certainly, I will not be JEALOUS if my bill is Rs.700 while my rich brother pays 17000 a month for electricity but we both enjoy a reasonable flow of POWER. Would you?
Very Good Excellent. Mujay aik bat ki samaj nahi aayi agar summer season mein air conditioners ki waja sa load shedding hoti hai toh winter season mein kon sa air condition chalta hai. Yah sab is Nation kah sath drama ho raha hai. Winter season mein bi load shedding hoti hai or isi tarah jaisay ab ho rahi hai.
Instead of straight away throwing air conditioners out of the window, two things should be done:
1- Social culture of power saving should be forcibly implemented.
2- More ways should be in place for power generation.
you think the current state of the country is bad, just wait for a decade or 2 when this 170 MILLION!! people keep reproducing exponentially, you will remember these as the good old days with whats coming next.
GDP growth needs to be double the amount of population growth to sustain the population, pakistan is drowning in debt with every passing minute. Either beg the government to implement one child policy or get visa of some other country to take your family out before this bomb explodes.
I totally agree with Ashrafi.
We need to increase the price of electricity to the point where middle and lower middle class people will think twice before turn on the AC as well increase the price of an AC to 10 times.
I am not against the middle class or lower middle class, but when I was in Pakistan, I never used to turn the AC on everyday but now people in the villages have AC and use them on routine basis.
Very stupid article and very stupid MD PEPCO Tahir Basharat Cheema.
Why cut the usage of Electricity why not make cheap Electricity by largest coal reserves in Thur.
Why not make the electricity by wastage of Sugar cans in sugar mills.
Why not organize the garbage and trash collection for the use to generate energy…this way we can get the clean environment also and clean neighborhood.
On top of everything cut the corruption not electricity.
This MD Tahir Cheema a typical inept Pakistani sitting at top post with no vision and no wisdom but then this is the basic qualification we require in Pakistan for a top post.
@Jamhooriat, the word Jamhooriat and PPPP are synonymous in all the talk shows in Pakistan. It makes me sick to my stomach and Americans are using Democracy as the Vaseline before rapping any Muslim or third world country. PPPP is the most confusing organization run by the royals, criminals and the super rich in the name of the poor. You are not talking about the failure of the current inapt, incompetent group of morons running the government and are keep talking about what you heard on a TV show, that is you bible. PPPP has no solution for the problem. One of the solutions is Kala Bag Dam, which is an ethnic issue spear headed by the PPPP criminals. Let me give you a web site which is a under development technology, could solve the load issues in Pakistan.
“About Beacon Power ”
Beacon Power Corporation designs, develops and is taking steps to commercialize advanced products and services to support stable, reliable and efficient electricity grid operation. The Company’s primary business strategy is to commercialize its patented flywheel energy storage technology to perform frequency regulation services on the grid. Beacon’s Smart Energy Matrix, which is now in production, is a non-polluting, megawatt-level, utility-grade flywheel-based solution to provide sustainable frequency regulation services. Beacon is a publicly traded company with its research, development and manufacturing facility in the U.S. For more information, visit http://www.beaconpower.com.
I agree with @Ghazala’s options and will reproduce them with some changes:
1- Alternative ways (nuclear, solar, windmill) should be in place for power generation.
2- Social pressure to create culture of power saving.
3- Two tier rate of power charges (eg 1st xxx units charged to customers at a standard/reduced rate to cover the needs of a ‘normal’ house covering from lower to lower middle class and then a very very high tariff above xxxx units for the unsocial and inconsiderate excessive power users and upper middle and the ‘very superior maharaja’ class households………..may be 3 tiers or more can be considered)
But above all where it is govt responsibilty to do more it is our responsibity as a nation to ensure reduction in wastage and usage of energy in a sensible manner.
I think people are not getting it.
When you say cut the usage of Electricity…you send a wrong message.
MD Tahir fell short of saying there were no load shedding in stone age because there were no ACs.
A progressive country with progressing industry encourage the usage of electricity….a low tariff is applied on high usage.
Pessimistic approach takes the country to stone age…we need industrial activism…small industries should be encouraged…Consumers should be using solar batteries with reverse meters i.e. selling the solar electricity to KESC and other major suppliers….This trend will open another industry the manufacturing of solar batteries.
We have 10 times more sun than California why not make a use of it.
@Ghazala , @ Malek
I think you are completely missing the point. Discussion here is not about the solutions for electricity generation in long term, rather how to handle this Emergency situation when we dont have enough electricity.
whatever way of electricity generation you suggest WILL TAKE TIME assuming other issues of technology (for Nuclear) or resources (Gas for IPPs) and provincial conflicts (for hydral) or resolved. At least 3 years for most of such projects of a reasonable scale. But question what to do till that time?? and here we need to cut the luxuries.
Its really an extra ordinary figure (if it is true) to have 5000 MW for airconditioning when total is around 12000 MW.
Jazoo
Completely agreee with u
What ever u said About Mr;Cheema is true and i Think the same rule of Applied to Ghaddari For a top Level position u dont need qualification or wisdom only ,… u that he pays to lobyy firm in us for his pesonel support rather the country..
As i said we had more strong Economy and more industries funtional in time of Musharraf than today In Mush time there was only 2 r 3 hours maximum load shedding,,,
today when we have half of the industries shut down because of financial problem across the globe and instability in the country still unable to face the problem ..
it means we were producing more power in Mush time than today …
to me There is no difference Between Ghaddari and Musherraf
air conditionrs are not the issue….and these are not only used by elites but also by middle class family as well…this article is biased…if i m a hard worker and all day working in hot summer and when come back i sleep in air conditionar.. that my right to do that…its the govt. responsibility to work of generation of more electricity not my duty to turn off AC…but who ever use AC, i think should use for minimal hours to save electricity on their on moral voice…
this article is waste of time
I also think the main theme of this discussion is ‘childish’ as somebody above has referred-to; again, as one Mr. Ali Q/others have rightly commented that even a middle class person can afford it an A.C.
The whole issue is ONLY & ONLY of ‘BAD GOVERNANCE’ about which we have never heard it happening in the poorest of nations or even in badly-governed ‘fiefdoms.’
As far as I remember, it all started during Zia-ul-Haq’s regime, i.e; to DIVERT the nation’s attention from contentious issues; like he repeatedly made sure that the whole word is invited to play cricket here, so that people’s attention is diverted from the day-to-day problems which were then afflicting the country, just as now. Thus the term ‘cricket diplomacy’ was also coined during his period.
One important part of the solution is to build better houses that require less air conditioning. Back in the old days before air conditioners came, people used to take greater care to build properly insulated and ventilated houses so that they could be comfortable even in peak summer. But in recent years, with this air conditioner rush, people are no longer careful in how they build their houses.
The other problem is the trend for excessive air conditioning. Sometimes you go to an office or shop and its so cold that it almost makes you shiver. I am also aware of people who crank the air conditioner up so much at night that they need a comforter!
Surely we can avoid excessive air conditioning. And we all used to live without so much air conditioning about 10-12 years back, so there is no reason why we have to insist on behaving like spoiled brats!
@swat yosufzai
You dare
“As i said we had more strong Economy and more industries funtional in time of Musharraf than today In Mush time there was only 2 r 3 hours maximum load shedding,,,”
During Musharaf era we were getting oil from KSA under a 4 years deal which govt could provide to consumers at Rs.19/- per liter petrol at break even.
Govt made billions of Rupees by providing fuel at Rs.56/- per liter.
Economy growth and financial well being of a country is not measured by GDP its measured by provision of basic necessities like electricity, clean water and clean environment.
In Mush era record Pakistanis die by drinking unclean water and worst pollution.
Corruption was always there in Pakistan but Musharaf had organized the corruption from top to down…He contributed his part skillfully in breaking of Pakistan
Musharaf accomplished alot what was started by Zia-ul-Haq and probably Zardari will finish this relay race.
One simple solution to this crises, rather to ALL crises is the eradication of corruption—and that too at all levels—–a line man comes and offers to reduce your Electricity bill and he will play with the meter( or by any other means) pay hime some money to save a lot of money–this is where the problem lies–if you can save only 1% of line losses–you can avoid load shedding–some one should look into the deep rooted corruption but the first stone can be thrown by the one who has not sinned–A FOOL PROOF ACCOUNTABILITY SYSTEM is the solution and I am absolutely sure this system is going to be in place very soon–Inshallah–as Pakistan is here to saty and the corrupt mafia / elite etc is bound to go—its not very long since we see this happening–One honest, strict, just, upright leader will change the destiny of this nation–one more Quaid is needed–not the one who removes the Quaid’s photo from the wall–
what a load of BS, the very first line of the article says all about this retarded idea. Pakistanis are paying the price of mismanagement , corruption and bad governance and air conditioning is not the cause of it.
How about another article about confiscating all the privately owned cars and motorcycles so that Petrol prices could be controlled ?
Instead of focusing on the cause of load shedding now we are suggesting that people shouldn’t use air conditioning,
Absurd article claiming that air conditioners are used by small elite. I think this guy should come on ground to see the reality. I think it would be better to go in stone age and get rid of the electricity altogether.
Instead of criticizing the Government failure in delivering the much needed electricity and improving the system of collecting the bills from the elites. This guy is suggesting that the usage shall be eliminated altogether. Industrialist are the main culprits in Pakistan who consumed major chunk of electricity and in return pay less or no bills. The corrupt mafia in electricity companies provides favor to the elites by providing concessional connections and so forth.
It is better to highlight those issues instead of burdening already over burdened people of the country by writing meaningless articles and suggesting people to go back to the stone age.
Last decade in Pakistan was an era of consumerism. It was the middle class who were active buying new gadgets including AC’s using attractive installment packages. In result of that the use of electricity increased exponentially, whereas the production remained the same. It was a total failure of the decision making authorities. AC’s may just be an excuse, line losses to be minimised which are about 30%. People need to be educated about insulation techniques for the houses to conserve energy.
What the hell
what type of article is this? how can you deprive me from luxuries whom i am paying it from my pocket.If god gave me resources and facilities its me and my family right o live according to our preferences.Can you ask Mr zardari and Gillani to abandoned PM and presidency and due their work in NA chamber.
Please you use your brain before writing these kind of suggestions!
This is my hard earned money its my right how i want to spend it! what luxuries i need in my life! you can’t put the burden of mismanagement of Government on people shoulders.
As i was expecting UAE Foreign minister traveled to pakistan and met president Zardari
yesterday.No i seriously doubt after this meeting any one would see action against KESC.
UAE yesterday announced more AID to pakistan. Abraj capital who owns KESC is UAE based company!
Same thing happened during Musharraf era whn MQM was blaming Siemens for power shortage due to poor distribution German foreign minister traveled and all criticizem against Siemens ended with AID to pakistan.
And what is the cause of Loadshedding in Winter then?
Zardari should set the precedence by donating his air conditioners to his best buddy Dr. Asim’s zia-ud-din hospital. The one who has suggessted this surely doesn’t live in Pakistan. Talking aout giving up “luxuries” is easier said than done especially when you are living in Europe’s temprature. Extreme heat in Europe is between 25 to 30 degrees and Pakistan goes upto 50 degrees.
stupid discusion:
1: ruling elite wont sacrifice
by teh way i am not from ruling elite 
look at KESC, bought back by an off shore company of big wig of PPPP when the actual buyer was not allowed to sell in his TOR of sales and then KESC was given 18 billion to Government as bale out package and this new owner has not invested a single paisa in KESC rather took more money out of KESC and created another liability by giving future electic units to be produced by KESC as collateral to banks and these loans are gurantteed by Govt of Pakistan. So, when this big wig runs away all he wll leave is liabilities and the story goes on for all public sector instituions.
2: why should i give up my hard earned luxuries
3: let me educate you guys and glas, its not air conditioners its bad mangement as our generating capacity is still more than required. its a classic case of bad governance and corrupt practices. why thay want new power plants? to get new kick backs. yaar PPPP is trained in getting kickbacks from IPPs so they are just exercising thei expertise
Want to sacrifice? FIGHT, YOU DRAWING ROOM POLITICIANS AND THINK TANKS, USELESS BUNCH
Please allow me to express my views on Electicity Problem in Pakistan, as follows:
The question of “WHY OUR NUCLEAR CAPABILITY WERE NOT USED, FOR MORE THAN A DECADE, FOR GENERATING ELECTRICITY” remains unchecked and unanswered.
Before doing Atomic explosions, Pakistani governments have emphatically been stating that its nuclear programme is for peaceful purposes like generation of electricity etc.
Atomic bomb was made but no other peaceful use of nuclear capability was planned or implemented for the peaceful / welfare of people of Pakistan. WHY?
Who were / are responsible for this act of criminal Negligence?
Why such criminals are not brought to light and action against them is taken?
What the present government is doing to take advantage of nuclear capability to produce electricity?
I am surprised that why famous investigative reporters never worked on this issue. Why people of Pakistan do not ask these questions? Why main political parties are silent on this issue? Why elected representatives of National assembly and Senate never talked about it.
This is really a serious issue and needs to be given importance on priority before economy of Pakistan fatally collapses.
So far all 34 comments above have been posted by Zardari lovers. Strange enough no one has insisted on the construction of Kala Bagh Dam Project.
How can you produce electricity without Electric Generator and to drive the Generator you need turbine and turbine is driven with water force. This water force will be provided by Kala Bagh Dam.
The only reason Zardari is not insisting on Kala Bagh Dam because He will lose the support of ANP. Everybody can see the water colleted the Dam is used for production of Electricity and as well as irrigation purposes.
Zardari is going so strong now that if the election is held tomorrow, PPP can win ALL seats in 4 provinces (except few MQM seats in Karachi).
Only JI and TI has got the solution for every thing.
[...] No Air Conditioner 170 Million Pakistanis are paying the price for luxuries of a small percentage of elite. Just take the example of electricity crisis that has resulted in load shedding of 18-20 hours in many areas of Pakistan. … Air Conditioning News [...]
Dear All……..
Ridiculous absolutely “Jangli” on part of MD PEPCO. I want to ask from him that the Whole of Gulf is enjoying the Luxury of Air Conditioners but still they are not facing the menace of shortage of Electricity.They didnt ever face loadshedding at all.Infact the management of PEPCO & WAPDA is useless and they dont have any idea of how to prevent the problem of Loadshedding, yet they come up with these kind of funny and ridiculous ideas which has nothing to do with actual problem.
Another question rises here, People does not use Air Conditioners in winter then how come we still face the threat of Load shedding in that period.
Come on PEPCO & The ministry of Load shedding, Just grow up………
LONG LIVE PAKISTAN……..
@ All
When Islimic system will be implemented all the problems will be resolved !
الله اپنی رحمتیں نازل کریں گے اور ایرکوندتیونیر کی ضرورت کسسی کو نہیں ہو گے
یہ دیس جگمگائیگا
نور ے لا الہ سے
@mulla umar
When Islamic system will be implemented the problem of electricity, at least, will be solved. Taliban will blow up all the electricity generation resources. Because use of electricity, according to them is un-islamic.
Na hoga bans na bajay gi bansri.
I think there is no harm to reduce the usage of AC but first step has to be taken by wapda ,pepco and the Government. It doesn’t make any sense People use hand fans and save electricity and President, PM, CMs, Ministers and their relatives enjoy the comfort of central air conditioning ridicules absolute baloney.
To cope this dilemma first govt should switch off their ACs and then ask people for the same.
@bebus
I know you are a liberal fascist, why you always criticise Taliban Mujahadeen ?
@mulla umar
I am not a fascist as you and Taliban are. I criticize them because:
1. Taliban are funded by Israeli and India.
2. Taliban are illiterates.
3. Taliban are against education to the youth of Pakistan.
4. Taliban are throat slitters of human beings.
5. Taliban are smugglers.
6. Taliban are drug traders.
7. Taliban are against human rights, especially against women rights.
8. Taliban are kidnappers for ransom.
9. Taliban are suicide bombers, thus killers of innocent people.
10. Taliban are dirty people.
11. Taliban are intolerant people.
12. Taliban are people with very limited vision.
13. Taliban believe in terrorism.
14. Taliban had been agents of USA during so called Afghan jehad.
15. Taliban had been killers of thousands of Afghanis during so called Afghan Jehad.
16. Taliban are killers of thousands of innocent Pakistanis.
17. Taliban are now agents of Pakistan enemy countries.
18. Taliban are not credible people.
19. Taliban are liars.
20. Taliban are bent upon to destroy Pakistan.
21. Taliban are most hated people in this world.
Etc. etc.
Can you deny any one of the above points? If you deny a single of the above points, you will fall in category 19 above.
Its absolutely right that air conditioners consume hefty killowats and avoiding them can subside the present power shortage issue considerably. But attributing this problem to our elite and saying only that small percentage of class is using a/c’s and hence rest are suffering is not right at all. Today a/c has become a necessity and i know of a lot of lower middle class families that are having a/c’s in their homes. But the power shortage that we are facing today is reflective of the lack of planning and governance on the part of our top brass. Now what happened in Mangla, is shear negligence of our professionals / engineers, who tried to put more loads than recommended on the grid resulting in the burning of the underground cables. And on top of that, always there exists a safety / back up mechanism, that too failed and did not work.Why that was not in tact, needs to be investigated and responsible punished / tyerminated.
Nice Article but this tree has no fruit it is not appealing dear pakistani fellows in Quran Allah use a word AFALA TAAQAYLOON meaning you don’t use you intellect.
Now think as a whole, we don’t grow tree, if some one put efforts towards his neighbor will destroy 1. so there are no tree 2. we need water reservoir but political mafia and there supporter against such projects, then we complain water shortage blaming others for our shortcomings, 3. we let blood sucker mafia of pakistan leaches to suck our blood, whenever we have power outage we burn Tyre on the road to increase more problem for others
Dear fellow stop complaining or bad mouthing about problem, we are the one who to blame, tell me honestly how many of us are unbiased ? some people are proud of there political affiliations some are proud of their race or ethnic back ground and so on, we never be in peace until we correct ourselves.
It is selfishness that some are using AC but, why blaming them why not change the root cause of this problems. So far I do not see a single political person who can solve our problems or who is unbiased.
I may wrong cause, but Allah know the best only thing we can do to think and act, please forgive me if I am wrong
there are some spelling and gramer mistakes during typing please forgive me for that too
@ All
PUBLIC NOTICE
The person who is calling himself Mullah Omer is lying about his true identity.
His real name is MULLAH AMAR BIN HASHAM,who is also commonly called (ABU JAHAL).
We cannot accept anyone with his faith(taliban) as either Islamic or human.Their exact definition is “ZINDIQ”—anyone who is not muslim but call himeself muslim.
I totally disagree wid most of u..why should we get rid of ACs, this is ridiculous..im not responsible for these power shortages, the WAPDA, PEPCO & PPPP govt is..why did u guys selected these thugs,incompetent,paranoid as your caretakers..im taxpayer n i want govt to provide me with basic needs and power is one of the very basic..im paying tax on my income, my utility bills and anything u name..so the more i use the more i pay tax, which inturn makes govt more rich..
why are u people debating on this in first palce..i mean you should debate who is paying bills n who is not?..what is making WAPDA lose billions evry year?..cuz if everybody was paying bills (specially the industries) then there wudnt b any unpaid bills left for IPPs..there is 70% line loses in many areas(means 70% theft), we shud ask cheema saab what has his organization done in eliminating these loses..
this cheema is liar like most of the PPPP ministers..take OGDCL annual journal of 1999 n u will find that 16500MW of power was generated that year..how it decreased to 12000mw now..simply cuz of his inability.. and now he is suggesting us not to use AC while even his servent quarter will be using that on our tax money..
Freinds the only solution to our problem is eliminating corruption and not banning AC or raising cost of electricity..CORRUPTION is the only problem..dont u see a WAPDA officer living a lavish life in posh areas of cities which even multinationals managers cant afford although they wud be getting 10 or 20 times more.
People have to get out and take away all air conditioners from the homes of ministers, politicians, officials, and also from those of media who support this “looter incompetent elite”. That’s the only way. These people will NEVER solve problem. People who have voted them in have to come out and kick them out of their luxurious homes and offices. Otherwise they will take this great country into poverty like Sub Sahara Africa.
ZAB
@bebus
1. Taliban are funded by Israeli and India.
>>>Damn wrong Taliban were in fact trained and financially supported by Pakistan and other muslim countries like Saudi Arabia and UAE !
2. Taliban are illiterates.
>>> No, Taliban literally means “student” and Talibans are very well-versed in inslamic jurispuridence and other teachings !
3. Taliban are against education to the youth of Pakistan.
>>> No, Talibans are only against western/secular education which misguides the youths !
4. Taliban are throat slitters of human beings.
>>> No, Talibans only slit throats of murtids/mushriks/Kufaar !!
5. Taliban are smugglers.
>>> No, Talibans believe in trading concept as per islamic teachings !
6. Taliban are drug traders.
>>> Wrong, Taliban during their rule cleansed the Afghanistan of drugs !
7. Taliban are against human rights, especially against women rights.
>>> Talibans only believe in human rights as ordained in islamic teachings, women’s right place is their home and their job is to produce more and more Mujahadeen !
8. Taliban are kidnappers for ransom.
>>> Taliban don’t kidnap they keep persons in their protective custody and teach true islam. Haven’t you heard about Yvonne Ridley ?
9. Taliban are suicide bombers, thus killers of innocent people.
>>> Wron, Talibans are fiday’yeen and they only kills enemies of Allah !
10. Taliban are dirty people.
>>> Wrong, they are very clean people and take bath every morning !
11. Taliban are intolerant people.
>>> Not at all they are very tolerant towards other Mujahadeen !
12. Taliban are people with very limited vision.
>>> Wrong, majority of Talibans don’t wear glassses !
13. Taliban believe in terrorism.
>>> No, they believe in Jihad !
14. Taliban had been agents of USA during so called Afghan jehad.
>>> Wrong USA never supported Talibans !
15. Taliban had been killers of thousands of Afghanis during so called Afghan Jehad.
>>> Taliban only killed enemies of Allah and Islam !
16. Taliban are killers of thousands of innocent Pakistanis.
>>> Taliban only killed enemies of Allah and Islam !
17. Taliban are now agents of Pakistan enemy countries.
>>> Talibans have always been supported by Pakistan Army and ISI, they how can they be called agents of enemies of Pakistan ?
18. Taliban are not credible people.
>>> No, they are the most credible people on entire earth !
19. Taliban are liars.
>>> No, they always speakth the truth !
20. Taliban are bent upon to destroy Pakistan.
>>>Wrong, they only want to make an Islamic State to Pakistan !
21. Taliban are most hated people in this world.
>>> No, only enemies of Allah and Islam hate Talibans.
True muslims like deobandies and wahabies have always and still support Taliban !!!
OPEN CHALLENGE !!!
@Justice + All Taliban and Imran Khan Haters
I will stop supporting Talibans and Imran Khan if you
1- Show me anything commented by me i.e. against true teachings of Ulema-e-Haq of Deoband !
2- Show me any fatwa issued by a renowned deobandi Aalim which terms Taliban as Zindiq !
Eliminating the air conditioners wont solve a thing. ..
One has to eliminate the power theft..
See, any one who is actually paying the bills will be very keen on reducing its usage. There is a big middle class which cannot misuse the electricity for fear of inflated bills. But if you go to the villages where we have the KUNDI system setup with the collaboration of the WAPDA line men… the power thieves are ruthless in their usage of the electricity. They cook with inefficient ovens (2000 watts) which might be left on for an extended period.. Unlike an air conditioner which may be expensive, these oven can be bought quite cheap.
Power theft is very common in FATA, Balochistan and rural areas of Sindh as well as Punjab.
There is a similar debate on the topic “Is Loadshedding really that bad in Pakistan” (http://reallythatbad.com/?p=4346)
@ fabhatti.
In our country of ‘Khudadad-i-Pakistan’ it is not only the low-income guys
who are prone to electricity ‘power thefts’ to which-ever province they belong, but it is also very ‘fashionable’ on the part of the higher income strata to give a ’slip’ to the local Electric Co; & to save a ‘little’ more money, by paying less.
All readers may have read of one such recent ‘power-theft, by that despicable ‘Mush’on his ‘farm’ or a ‘palace’ at Chak Shahzad Islamabad.
This also reminds me of year 1978/79,when along with others, I carried-out a survey of ‘Kunda’ connections in Karachi cantonement, on the orders of the then Station Commander.
Not surprisingly, many ‘well-to-do’ & ‘respected’ people of the ‘high-society’ were found to have resorted to ‘Kunda’connections; one for example, included a then serving (Army) Brigadier who had given an electric ‘Kunda ‘connection’ to a mosque in his next-door neighbourhood, & then with the connivance of the ‘Imam’ of that mosque, an industralist had also managed to futher pull that same electric wire to his own house in the same vicinity. Not a bad effort. Eh?
@ fabhatti.
In our country of ‘Khudadad-i-Pakistan’ it is not only the low-income guys
who are prone to electricity ‘power thefts’ to which-ever province they belong, but it is also very ‘fashionable’ on the part of the higher income strata to give a ’slip’ to the local Electric Co; & to save a ‘little’ more money, by paying less.
All readers may have read of one such recent ‘power-theft, by that despicable ‘Mush’on his ‘farm’ or a ‘palace’ at Chak Shahzad Islamabad.
This also reminds me of year 1978/79,when along with others, I carried-out a survey of ‘Kunda’ connections in Karachi cantonement, on the orders of the then Station Commander.
Not surprisingly, many ‘well-to-do’ & ‘respected’ people of the ‘high-society’ were found to have resorted to ‘Connections; one for example, included a then serving (Army) Brigadier who had given an electric ‘Kunda ‘connection’ to a mosque in his next-door neighborhood, & then with the connivance of the ‘Imam’ of that mosque, an industralist had also managed to further pull that same electric wire to his own house in the same vicinity. Not a bad effort. Eh?
The Kalabagh Dam was a project launched in PPP first govt. and until 1977 had completed all prints and even roads to Daudkhel and Kalabagh and some quarters were also built on site. Then came Saeed Afzal and Asim Sattar’s pir Mardi-i-Momin Mard-i-Haq who made Ge. Fazal Raziq (Brother of gen. Fazal-i-Haq) chairman of Wapda. Fazal-i-Raziq was a corrupt general like his brother and other cronies of Zia. Since upper management of Wapda knew about the heavy compensation awarded for lands in Mangla and Tarbela projects, these Wapda higher ups invested heavily in the land that was in the catchment area of Kalabagh Dam. After multiple reiterations of dam design, the dam location moved a little away from its original proposed site where these guys had invested heavily. These ppl. including Shahnawaz Khan, Ghulam Ishaq Khan, Fazl-Raziq etc. then asked Wapda to build the dam on the originally proposed site (where they had bought the land real cheap and now wanted compensation) or they will never allow Wapda to build this dam. Upon refusal from Wapda, these guys who were predominantly from NWFP raised the slogan that Nawshera will be ruined by raised water level if the Dam is built. Wali Khan had said that he will bomb the dam. Zia ul Haq allowed politicizing of the dam issue and never tried to resolve the issue.
The opposition to built the dam was then propagated in Sindh that once Kalabagh Dam is built Punjab will build canals for its northwestern area and will steel Sindh’s water. The ppl. of Sindh which already have mistrust for Punjab further opposed the dam. Then MQM joined the opposition also. the result is that neither Zia in 11 years and Pervaiz Mush in his 10 years did not let this dam to be built. The civil govts. of PPP and PML(N) were so weak that they never even took it serious to build the dam.
Everybody knows that electricity when produced by Dam has no operational cost since water head is providing the potential energy to be converted to electricity. It is very cheap to have hydel energy as compared to thermal coal or diesel power. If we do not build Kalabagh Dam, Pakistan will be in energy crisis. Convincing ppl of Karachi in summer is relatively easier to be agreeing for Kalabagh Dam.
The other culprit in this case is who nobody knows or cares is Pakaistn Atomic Energy Commission who was supposed to provide 1500MW from Chashma in 1985. Nobody asks PAEC for that.
Adding KESC to Wapda in 1986 was another blunder done in Zia’s time. KESC ppl. never wanted to be a part of Wapda. KESC never added any power to National Grid and on contraary started consuming all Wapds’s Power. In Mush’s time KESC in the name of privatization was sold to Siemens and commissions were made in this deal by people who everybody knows. KESC was sold at a fractional cost to a company which has no experience in running a utility company. Per design, Siemens never invested anything in producing power. Now Babar Ghauri says it was a mistake to sell KESC. It was not a mistake it was an act done in mal-intentions.
There is no solution for energy crisis unless we build Kalabagh Dam or build some nuclear power plants.
Chief Sahib zindabad!
SC suspends carbon surcharge
http://thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=23154
I am shocked to see this as an idea being floated around here! Really!!
How does stopping the use of AC help “in any way” our growing energy needs. You force people to stop using ACs…and if they even do, how does that help in the long term?
How about putting up ‘realistic’ ideas like build more dams or power plants. Or increase the capacity and age of the existing dams!
And ACs are not a luxury in Pakistan anymore. Temperatures normally float around 45 C in Lahore. I remember I even used to sweat under a fan in that much heat.
Stopping the use of ACs is a retarded idea. Creating more energy sources is the right step for more energy.
I agree with Mr. Dar here. It is a totally absurd idea. It is like stop driving to save fuel or stop cooking on natural gas to save it. Government should take more concrete steps to make sure there will be no more electricity shortage. We have received billions of dollars in international aid and a big portion of it should have been diverted towards projects like dams, power generation etc.
There is nothing wrong trying to save electricity for the short term BUT the truth remains that this shortfall is not due to air conditioners, but incompetence.
I have seen portable air conditioners in the UK that cost £99 (roughly 13,000 ruppees). Theses are enough to cool a medium sized room and only consume electricity equal to a 100 Watt bulb.
A solar fan (made in China) is available for £19 (roughly 2,500 ruppees). It must be far cheaper to improt from China to Pakistan and save a lot money in terms of electricity bills.
Why can’t we become sensible and stop blaming others. If we stop using air coniditioners, it may well serve the purpose for a couple of seasons but who will take the blame in future (our past record shows that we become worse day by day so short fall would be higher in future). What will we stop then; breathing?
Mullah Umar
You claim that talibans have only killed murtids and kafirs.How many Hindus,sikhs they have killed? They have killed Afganis,Pakistanis mostly.If you go by their definition of kafir,then only 10/12 persons would be eligible to be called muslims.Why you need a fatwa fromulema against talibs?Every person having some humanity detests Taliban.
Ask Your Dear Mr. Zardari & Thousands of Ministers, Governors, Chief Ministers etc to Live Without an Air-conditioner for a Few Hours….Will They Die Without it? Will Mr. president Die if He Wont Sleep on a Multi Million Dollar Bed? Will He Die If He Reduces The Luxuries of President House, Prime Minister House etc? Will Mr. President Die if He Travels in a 1400 CC car? Are the Ministers Going To Die If they are Not Given Free Electricity, Water, Cell Phones, Car Fuels of Thousands of Litre and Several Lakhs of Salary and Allowances?
If they will Die without these Luxuries Then They Better Die First and I will Definitely Switch off My Room’s Fan & Light.
They have increased the electricity rates to 400 times since they have sworn into the Govt. yet They want us to stop using electricity yet Pay The Bills of Thousands so They can Afford to Live like Mughal Kings.
@Admin I am not able to play any videos on my BlackBerry Storm 9530. I get the following error when. […]
iam member of pkpolitics and i have nokia n82 i want to see pkpolitics on my mobile. the web site is. […]
I can't play the video on my iPhone it gives me the error that ' Safari cannot download this file' p. […]