The Petroleum Development Levy Ordinance 2009 by Zardari has been challenged in the Supreme Court on constitutional basis.
The News Reports that a constitutional petition, challenging the Petroleum Development Levy Ordinance, 2009, promulgated by President Asif Ali Zardari the other day, was filed in the Supreme Court on Friday.
Muhammad Ikram Chaudhry, senior lawyer of the Supreme Court, filed the petition under the Article 184(3) of the Constitution, making the Federation of Pakistan through the secretary of Law and Justice, the secretary of the Ministry of Petroleum, and the Oil and Gas Regulatory Authority (Ogra) through its chairman, as respondents.
It prayed to the court to declare that the impugned Ordinance XV of 2009 and the notification issued by Ogra on July 9, 2009, were without lawful authority and ultra vires of the Constitution and law.
It was contended that the ordinance itself was a mockery of the promises made by the present regime and the respondents, who not only claimed to make life easier for the people, but also assured them many times of making such policies and bringing such changes in the working mechanism of the Constitution, which would help and make their lives better and secure, but these remained of no consequence.
The petitioner stated that the Petroleum Products Development Levy Ordinance XV of 2009, amending the 1961 ordinance by replacing carbon tax with development levy on petroleum products, was an effort by the respondents to violate the Articles 2-A, 4, 5 8, 9, 25, 37, 38, 77 and 89 of the Constitution and to negate the fundamental rights duly recognised and guaranteed by the Constitution.
According to typical jiyala mind,
Anyone who criticize the Govt is a BHUTTO DUSHMAN, ZARDARI HATER, or TALIBAN
PML-N to resist ordinance in parliament
http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=23203
if today, some people are challenging taxes imposed by PPP government , then remember that this independence of judiciary , democracy and facilitation of basic human rights is being Provided by PPP and its co chair person and President of Pakistan Mr. Zardari to nation ;PPP lost its 2 prime ministers to achieve these democratic rights of masses ; even president Zardari has been offered threats by Taliban and Alqaeda but he is man of soil ; He will not bow down ; He is son in law of martyrs family ; Let court proceedings follow ; President Zardari to follow constitution and verdict of court because he is champion of democracy
@zameerk
Very well written; PPP bashers simply hate PPP for hate sake. Some people are never happy and they will criticise no what the Govt does for the people. Current Govt is doing its best to resolve inherited problems of previous Govt. We must praise and back our Govt for tackling Taliban issue in a better way by waging an all-out war against terrorists. Now opportunists are trying to score cheap political points on this carbon tax issue. Taxes are imposed to raise revenue to run a Govt. No doubt our taxation system is not perfect and lots of rich people avoid paying right amount of tax. It is responsibility of politicians to reform tax system to make it fair. Majority of people do not understand ABC of taxation and opportunist politicians exploit people’s ignorance, I bet not even 2% population in Pakistan understand meaning of term “tax payer’s money”.
@ Zameerk
I think a big amount has been allocated for development expenditure, and the history suggests that much of the amount remain unutilised every year. what’s the point of not cutting the development expenditure and provide a much relief to the people of country. Regarding Champion of democracy, please please please it was only Bhutto’s not Zardararis, we have heard a lot of stories of Zardaris from Bambino cinmea till the horses “murabba”.
Dont label him as one of the Bhutto, its a disgrace for the people party and people of Pakistan. Zardari provided democratic right? Please!. The people of Pakistan are the only one who have taken there rights back. Selective bribe to the party workers through income support scheme and plundering of development expenditure through MNA’s may help in securing or keeping the vote Bank. Nafisa Shah daughter of Qaim Ali Shah joined PIA after 9 years for one day, took her cheque of settlement and resigned again. Is that what you call independence and welfare of people.
Snake will always remain snake no matter how much milk you feed him.
Are you Faisal Raza Abidi by any chance?
This government has to prove it is people’s friendly not only Jiyalaas friendly. Don’t need lip service, government has to prove practically, in the whole world only those governments are awami those make the lives of it’s people easy not difficult or miserable (like we have in Pakistan). Cut government expenses drastically and if our politicians should feel little about Pakistan, and feel in heart that Pakistan is their country too, like poors of the nation feel for Pakistan. Then certain politicians will bring Pak wealth back into Pakistan, and our monetary problem can be solved just in one week. But again it depends, what our politicians feel about Pakistan in their hearts?? Big questio.
@zameerk & @AClarionCall
Independence of judiciary was not “provided” by Mr Zardari, it was snatched form his very teeth!!!!
Regarding Bhutto – Zardari relationship, perhaps you may wish to comment upon the appointment of Mr Shoaib Suddle as IG Police Sindh (when he had 3 months left in retirement) and then DG IB when he retired!!! Incidentally Shoaib Suddle was the man incharge of the operation when Murtaza Bhutto was coldbloodedly murdered!!!
What will you do if you are in Zardari’s place?
And more over President has no constitutional power to impose tax!!!!
@ Zameerk i agree with you but with following amendments
today, even common people are challenging the gunda taxes imposed by PPP government , remember that this independant judiciary not a DOGara Raj anymore and they will not let it happen, democracy and facilitation of basic human rights is being always talked about by PPP but never practised and it has a co-chair person because the chairman is doing rang ralian in UK on State money and President of Pakistan for personal financial purposes is the Husband of the woman he arranged to be k!lled; PPP lost its 2 prime ministers in the lust of money and to deprive the masses of its democratic rights; even ghunda Zardari has been offered threats by Taliban, those who were created by his ex-wife Mrs Zaradri, but he is defintely a man of soil and will be buried under it very soon; He will not bow down to teh wishes of the people of Pakistan but lay flat on the floor if a very junior official of US govt asks him to do so; He is son in law of wadera family ; Let court proceedings follow he will then be hanged for m@rder of his brother in law; Zardari is a low life and has never followed the constitution and been a hinderance to court verdicts because of demensia and other mental illnesses: he is champion of making money currently well above $5 billion
I had already predicted on such particular day as & when SC passed the decree in this regard — but this time how in rushing manner PPP Jiyalas have done this Un-wanted Job – these PPP Officials are not ready to understand how badly their own reputation is being damaged – If this style of Governance would remain continued – I may predict further within next 5/6 months their Offices will be burnt out by the common man along with American & UK Embassies.
It is subject to their non-serious style of governance/ruling in coming months the entire situation will be cleared.
Haath Kangan ko Arsi Kiya – Parhay Likhay ko Farsi Kiya.
@Malek
Shame on you for accusing someone of dishonsety and even murder of which you do not have any evidence. Just answer this question: How do you know AZ killed his wife? How do you know AZ has plundered $5 billion dollars? Are you his accountant or banker? It is immoral to accuse someone of such serious allegations without even any evidence. You should be ashmed of yourself. Discuss policies of politicians with reason and logic and avoid using indecent language and personal abuses. CJ should also do his own job not politics by meddling in Govt affairs.
@zameerk & @AClarionCall
Awaam nay Zardari or 80 chooroon say Independence of judiciary “Danda” day kar lee the …
2 jayalas getting mad… cheers
@Adnan Arshad Mansoori
You like other extremists like bloodbath and burning of Govt offices even foreign ebmassies too. Calm down man. These are signs of Mansoora training; you guys always enjoy Army dictators and extract as much as benefits as you can (who can forget Zia era when JI was overfed by Army)
@JanuJerman Khan
Extremists like you and Adnan Arshad Mansoori want to take this country backward; while PPP wants to take country forward through progressive policies free of religios extremism. You have been writing for too long on this blog and your inept comments are classical example of backward thinking. Reason your comments with convincing arguments not just empty baseless rhetorics.
if today, some people are challenging taxes imposed by PPP government , then remember that this independence of judiciary , democracy and facilitation of basic human rights is being Provided by PPP and its co chair person and President of Pakistan Mr. Zardari to nation ;PPP lost its 2 prime ministers to achieve these democratic rights of masses ; even president Zardari has been offered threats by Taliban and Alqaeda but he is man of soil ; He will not bow down ; He is son in law of martyrs family ; Let court proceedings follow ; President Zardari to follow constitution and verdict of court because he is champion of democracy .
There is an idiom in English:
“Follow the money train”
To get to the culprit and to catch the thief.
Jiyla and Logic together
The greatest hurdle in restoration of judiciary was PPPP and how shameless they are to take the credit of the same.
AClarionCall yah Budd-fal:
These are not mine own observations or inside hidden wishes – I wish you watched the programme of ARY day before yesterday therein the Editor in Chief of Daily – The NEWS – categorically said the same what I mentioed here-at above.
Moreover why don’t you go far away what happened at Long March which type of Nara-Bazi in that particular Long March.
Therefore from Academic P.o.V. this is a popular Saying:
Lack of knowledge No Excuse.
The same reason Americans are so much afraid of such Marches & at Advocates/Wukalla’s procession when Ms. W.Ann Peterson & the staff of American Embassy has got frightened.
And You are directly blaming to me for nothing!!! — Why???
@ Zameerk
Long Live Zardari Bhutto, Bilawal Bhutto and NRO
Rising inflation spells trouble for Pakistan
It’s been a long time since we have had a story about Pakistan on here. Here is a report on current economic factors in the country, and how it effects people in poverty. – Kale
Unprecedented inflation in Pakistan has hit common people very hard with petrol having risen by 46 per cent in the last three months, food items by 30-50 per cent and rice by more than 100 per cent. While the government has launched schemes to help the poor, many people have committed suicide in despair.
http://povertynewsblog.blogspot.com/2008/07/rising-inflation-spells-trouble-for.html
The inflation rate in Pakistan has increased by 19 per cent since the new coalition government led by the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) took over power in March this year – which is a record rise in prices of daily use items. The inflation is due to the high prices of petroleum and gold and deteriorating economic conditions in the country.
http://povertynewsblog.blogspot.com/2008/07/rising-inflation-spells-trouble-for.html
@zameerk
Just responding to your first post, you probably forgot one thing. It was the vision and courage of President Asif Ali Zardari who happily reinstated the judiciary on the night of 16th march at about 02:00 at night, right ?. Well done, BRAVO ….
Zardari’s trip with large entourage
The sources said President Zardari had flown to Saudi Arabia in his special plane along with 15 people including his personal staff and some friends. No federal minister and senior bureaucrat were accompanying him in this flight.
The other chartered flight was carrying 175 people mostly President’s friends and close aides. Some ministers and government official were also travelling in this plane they including Deputy Speaker National Assembly Faisal Karim Kundi, Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Adviser to the Prime Minister on Finance Sahukat Tareen, Minister for Labour and Manpower Khursheed Shah, Law Minister Farooq H Naek, Prime Minister’s Adviser on Interior Rehman Malik and Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Dr Babar Awan.
It is for the first time, the state run PTV was not directed to cover the departure of the President to avoid criticism of the media on taking 200 people with him just for seeking financial help.
http://www.defence.pk/forums/national-political-issues/15972-gilani-justifies-zardaris-trip-large-entourage.html
While I agree that the government should cut it’s personal expenditures so as to set an example for the people of the country…
Im not appalled or bothered by a pakistani president’s (no matter who it is) foreign trip with 200 individuals…
All of the world’s leaders are like that – they all see eye to eye on this ‘lifestyle’ .. no world leader will judge zardari for travelling with such a large entourage because they themselves do the same on a regular basis…(except maybe africa’s leaders – and alhamdulillah we’re far better functioning state than most african states)
It’s ridiculous how much negative impact Zardari’s foreign trips is said to have on Pakistan’s economy.
We have much larger fundamental issues to tackle with respect to our economy.
Zardari after spending almost 11 years in jail has become a Charas addict as well he is no more a sane person. The way he was drooling by just shaking hands with Sarah Palin and his previous as well as current deeds, this person is not serious in running Pakistan on a correct path.
Sooner or later this person will flee to Dubai and later you will hear that the person has gone for a second marriage, burrying the future of his party. Some one among his advisors is his very serious enemy
@mian.ssg
According to you “The greatest hurdle in restoration of judiciary was PPPP and how shameless they are to take the credit of the same.”
You are totally wrong; PPP have always been great supporter of democracy. PPP have been the biggest loser whenever Army took power; we lost ZA Bhutto, greatest leader and founder of modern Pakistan (minus East Pakistan). Zia mafia killed him in a cold blooded murder style. He was trying to unite poor and raise awareness among underprivileged people of Pakistan which offended privileged class and their Army mates. They conspired to remove Bhutto so they could continue exploitation of poor masses. Had Bhutto was alive today, this country would have made impressive progress like Dubai and Singapore.
Zardari is a great leader not only of Pakistan but of the world. He is best leader anyone can get. I salute Zardari and Bilawal lovers
@c hussain
I will take your above comment obviously with a few pinches of salt.
Ali Q: We set our own standards.
Don’t expect us in Pakistan to follow or match their ways of doing things
Dua go,
HarisKhan
@AClarionCall
You missed me altogether.
I am talking about the current restoration of judges and we have not lost our memories and views of PPPP regarding this issue. It is very fresh, if you have forgotten then please turn to archive of Pkpolitics and get them.
You are talking about PPP and the past of it with supplementation of your fantasy about ZAB, starting with ifs and had he been ……… etc but I am talking about PPPP with fourth “P” in it. And chairman of PPPP was the greatest hurdle for restoration of judiciary which is being presented as if he granted it, no it was not granted but snatched from his teeth which is also rightly pointed out by some members earlier.
My larger point was if the presidency goes to S.Arabia to ask for aid with a plane full of people, the Saudi leadership doesnt exactly look negatively at it.
Just like the common man understands and sympathizes with his own.
So does the elite.
@ Admin.
Even before the beginning of the main opening narrative of this featured article (in black print) there is to be seen a sentence printed by you, in red ink & duly underlined, as follows : Vandalism by Pak Army Officers.
Could the members of this forum may please be informed as to what that means? The dictionary meaning of the word ‘vandalism’ is ‘ willful wanton & malicious destruction of property of others.’ It also means : ‘ hooliganism & malicious mischief.’ By the word ‘wanton’ the dictionary means : ‘Occurring without motivation or a provocation.’
Is it inadvertently printed by your staff, a ‘misprint’ or what? If it is a part a another (yet unprinted) featured article then such an article may also be please printed here, as through out this article on ‘Petroleum Development Levy Ordanance 2009, there is no mention at all in this article, of any ‘vandalism’ by Pak Army Officers?
Is it a ‘news item’ & if it is so, then it seems to appear a VERY SERIOUS charge against ‘Pak Army Officers’ & if at all if turns out to be true! Again, if at all ‘true’ then any military-man or an officer of Pakistan’s military, whether of any rank, i.; starting from a 2nd Lieutenant & ending with the top most General-Officer, all are thus amenable to serious disciplinary action, IF SUCH ‘NEWS’ IS PROVED AS TRUE.
Even if such a ‘news item’ turns out to be untrue, or a ‘misprint’ still your ‘admin’ owes it the the Pakistan military that you print an immediate ‘clarification’ otherwise your concerned staff would be itself liable to a severe disciplinary action by the Pakistan Govt.
(I have not even seen any mention of such a ‘news item’ in red ink, by any other member of this forum, so far.)
Could you please clarify?
@ ALL members.
Or could any member of this forum please comment?
@ admin.
FOR GOD’S SAKE, get over with the sentence ‘Your comment is awaiting moderation’ which REMAINS ON THE SCREEN FOR HOURS AT END, & printed on your ‘command’ & seen at the beginning of any comments which & whenever I forward to you, especially when I print the word ‘admin.’
I again ask you’ as to what ‘immoderate’ comments have been forwarded in my comments addressed to above, at 06.o6 am?
Time & again I have requested NOT TO DO SO, but you INSIST & PERSIST in continuing to do so. And I SIMPLY cannot understand, WHY?
@ Any member.
Could anybody please comment on this predicament/plight of mine in which our ‘GREAT ADMIN’ has placed me in?
whatever it was “loola langra” NRO, foriegn interests election was held and public voted these politicians because they had promised facilities (bread,clothes,home and other things) to the nation, on that basis of they were elected (public can’t know what is in their heart hidden?), not that they are supernatural people who sh*t gold for the nation. Same people today are critising them, because they didn’t do a single thing, but on contarary put the piles of new problems and difficulties on general public, and blaming everything on previous government, Oh bhabha why public elected you for? “tum kis meraz ki dawa ho”? Just to waist national wealth on “alalay talalay may”? And forward the expensive bills to public to pay, which they never used. And you don’t have money for giving the relief to common public?? Every member of parliment who voted in favour of this people’s enemy budget are given 1 & 1/2 crore each. Are they leader? Public didn’t know about these politician’s “bad niyati” prior to election? The time when politicians are failed to provide the public basic need, they are no more presenting the public will. when they don’t represent the public they are no more public’s leaders. Here on this site some jiyalaas will tell you every thing is ok public “Khus haal hay”. My friend it is only you are “khus haal” not general public. Due to lack of facilities and no food people are committing suicides, how big criminals are these so-called leaders, who don’t give a damn to it’s common people in practical. They are no leaders at the heart of the common public. After Jinnah we didn’t get any leader, bad luck nation.
I dont have much knowledge about law and i am not at all a fan of PPP but i still believe that policy making and legislative is parliament job. Judiciary can suspend any tax on grounds of legality but not on poverty issue. Parliament members are the one who are supposed to address such issues for which they got vote. Secondly, why PML(N) is going against this tax when they themselves voted for this budget in assembly. They should have debated it in assembly(proper forum) if they were so concerned.
@AClarionCall
I am shocked to know PPP restored the Iftikhar Ch.
Can you tell us how ? in brief , instead of writing long irrelavant stories.
Please also tell us about the Long March which resulted in Iftikhar Ch restoration.
@iamsowise
Well i ask u to compare prices with other countries n u will see how much inflation rates raised in Pakistan. Inflation is out of control. Look to Asia if you want to see runaway inflation now. In China and India, inflation looks like it’s headed for double digits. Even inflation stalwarts such as Singapore are feeling the pressure.
And in Vietnam, the inflation genie is clearly out of the bottle, with prices climbing at an annual rate of 25% in April. I ask u to speak locally and think globally. Thnx
@zameerk
Please also tell us in such difficult situation how many ministers those countries have, how many mercedes they have , how many luxuries they have? Do they just pass on every thing to the people or contribute themselves too ?
Please also tell us the contribution of our so called leaders.
Shame on defending such a selfish/corrupt Govt.
Ali Q: You missed the point
Dua go,
HarisKhan
Good job by PML
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/2009/07/090712_mpa_credit_card_ra.shtml
@ Humaira Sadaf!
I agree u..Good job by chamions of democracy,justice and human rights…The latest un disputed PMLN update:
1.one MPA found involved in rape case.
2.One MPA by passed laws in airport and fought with CAA in airport.
3.ABusing and hitting opposition members during assembly session.
4.So called sis of CM SS found in Credit card scheme.
If it would have been related to PPP,you can hear here on this platform.. ALL DICTIONARY OF BASHING AND ALL SORT OF ABUSES on PPP AND President AZ.If some one has any moral courage,they SHOULD also criticised UNDISPUTED Evidences against PMLN otherwise it would be obvious that most of ppl here are only for BASHING ppp due to HATE but NOT on rules and TRUTH.
Dear Admin,
Please This MPA story for discussion.
Thnx
@Asim Sattar,
Question is, are these countries, whose politicians having mercedes cars, in such a lawlessness and monetary mess like us? Don’t they are also called corroupt leaders in transparency intertional and other internation surveys? Who have no money to give relief to their people on basic necessities, but have enough money to give these corropt politicians (parliment members) 1 & 1/2 crore bribe to pass anti-public budget? Are these so-called ours leaders really Pakistanis??? Or enemies? When they go to foriegn trip they spend public’s (wealth) foriegn exchange like water, live in luxuries hotels, expensive shouffer driven limousine cars, dine and drink in most expensive restuarants in the town, with zero results for our people, the money they get in foriegn loans goes to these corroupt people’s foriegn accounts, it is better we don’t get any loan, because it is not used on our public, but when time comes to pay back these loans only poor people of Pakistan pay (in form of indirect taxes, such as petrol surchages (why on diesel? Used in buses and trucks used for poor people, why don’t they increase petrol surchages by 1000% and decrease in diesel by same fold?), higher charges of foodstuff, bus fares, high medical cost, etc., unbearable for common public) for the money they put in foriegn banks for themselves. Their monies go unspent, I pray one day foriegn countries freeze their public looted funds.
@Zamerk (jiyalaa)
IMF published recently the growth rate for both 2009 and 2010. Dispite globally economical stressful situation China’s growth rate for 2009/2010 = +7.5/+8.5, India =+5.4/+6.5 “Pakistan ka toh -10 may bi maqam nahi hey” Please see the following:
http://news.yahoo.com/s/usnews/20090710/ts_usnews/11placeswithaworseeconomythanours
@Zahid
answer lies in your own comments i.e.
Judiciary can suspend any tax on grounds of legality but not on poverty issue.
legally and logically “carbon tax” is related to environment and is only legal when people have choice of fuel with less emissions like we have in European countries. You can’t plug the deficit gap of your budget by it.
So this was the legal base for suspension of it. I hope you got it as the answer was already present in your comment.
If I ask a society to give me money and I will clean their atmosphere from harmful emissions. So my base for collection lies in reduction of emissions and people give because of that, but once I have the money in my hand I spend it for some other purpose. In very light and simple terms it is deception and theft by fraud which can’t be proved legal at all.
I have another common example:
I ask my father to give me money so that I can pay school fee, then I spend that money on a party. You can well imagine how my father will react over it.
@Humaira Sadaf
Its getting tiring now.
1. PML-N MPA/MNA gets caught in the act.
2. Media makes buzz
3. Shabaz Sharif creates a committee.
4. Media moves to something else
5. MNA/MPA conitniues on with his/her life
@Mir Munsif
Please ask your Party to do some training sessions for the PML-N newbies on how to do corruption without getting caught.
@umra trips
Just wonder how these people can stand in front on Allah SWT knowing well in their hearts that they are using the money of poor Pakistanis to perform this VIP umrah..
@ Asim Sattar
An optimist will tell you the glass is half-full; the pessimist, half-empty. A hungry man is an angry man. Those who are lifting the world upward and onward are those who encourage more than criticize. Mr Asim I only defend my country n dats all. Shame on u for being angry…..!!!!!!!!
This credit card fraud MPA is so bold and expert in broad daylight robbery. She should be immediately sacked from PML-N.
Is it a fight between PPPP supporters and PML-N? Who ever is corrupt is harmful for pakistan does not matter to which party he/she belongs to. He/She should be tried justfully and should be made an example for others.
PML-N is taking action against corrupt people among them like the member from Pindi, but PPPP is rewarding people for their deeds of corruption. This is a difference among them.
Human beings can do sins but this is where law comes into play and punishes sinful persons and rewards good ones.
In PPPP it is a different story people like Aitizaz, Naheed and Raza resign or struck out because they stand against corruption and wrong policies.
Sorry if this Sounds Rude But The Irony is That 98% of Sindhis in Our Country are By Default Born With PPP just Because it is Owned by a Sindhi Family Called Bhutto Family and Now Being Continued by The China Copy of Bhutto Family Mr. Asif Ali Bhutto Zardari……. Zardari Even added another Father to his Son’s Name just To Win Power in The name of Bhutto Family. Since Childhood I ve personally been the Fan of Z.A Bhutto Himself, and Perhaps I shall Remain So but Zardari is a Killer of Bhutto Family and He Ruined the Image and Repute of this Family.
The Jiyalaism of PPP Specially in Sindh is nothing But “Jahalat” in Rest of Country & “Qaum Parasti” in Sindh
Pakistanis will always remain 180 Million Sheep Favoring their language and Qaums and Not Realizing The Right or Wrong.
Who Says Zardari Made the Judiciary Independent? Why didn’t he Do it Right After Sitting into The Presidency? He Did it When a 900 Feet bamboo was Charged Up His @*** From lawyers and Long March then He did it in One Night, still most reluctantly. If He Wouldn’t have Reinstated CJ that Night He Wouldn’t have Been a President Anymore, The Huge Crowd of Millions Would Have Dragged him outta His Blind Presidency and His Expensive Rentd Suits,,,, Shall We Thank Him For That?
Why The Hell He is Holding up 17th Amendment Till This Day? To Dissolve His Own Assembly or To Dismiss his Own PM Like The “SOB Leghari” Did with Mohtarma Benazir’s Govt?
Before Becoming President Zardari Said in a TV program That The very First Day PPP President is Going to Hold The Office, The President Will Give a Gift of Surrendering 17th Amendment to people of Pakistan, How Many Fake Agreements he made about CJs Restoration with Nawaz & people of Pakistan? He is A Huge Liar, A Big Time Cheat and an Insult to the Presidency of Pakistan.