l Will Aitzaz Or Won’t? | Pakistan Politics
{ 30 comments... read them below or add one }

• romano said:

Although not a PPP fan at all, but totally disagree. Theories after theories with no understanding of realities, will ultimately prove to be the biggest lost for this nation. The society I believe has been divided right now between idealism and pragmatism. Idealism, where one seeks the ultimate perfect system, which in reality God says has never existed and can never exist till the day man is resurected. Pragmatism, a conjucture used in different contexts, is mainly the understanding of the world and setting your foot accordingly.

Aitezaz is no leader at all. Just a couple of good days, and suddenly people start to draw conclusions. The PPP, which has been always cited in much the same manner as we see today, has always run out of this fuss. Right when Bhutto was hanged, when BB took the party over, when PPP lost the 97 elections, when she was not allowed back, and even today; on all the occasions the slogan was the same, the PPP has died for ever. It never happened, and I believe it never can.

The partyhas always provided a new face and thus faced criticism for that. Its the same story today. After severl years 4m now, the people who will blog in after me and abuse me, will actually acknowledge what the party is doing today. I have been a big opponent of the party since long, but I have always been wrong.

Zardari though not popular at all, rather notorious, has unfortunately done well. The impact cant be seen today. Contrary to what I expected he took a clear stand on the Taliban, a stand I believe no one could have taken.

Having said that, I must agree the party is struggling and trying to find ground, but by no means is Aitezaz ever a leader in PPP. Rather having fought in political scuffles with the PPP jiyalas, who later became friends, they all hate him. It is strange party, but destiny has favoured them time and over again. So let us not draw conclusions early on.

Please feel free to ridicule, abuse and whatever. You know its the reality, whatever I have said.

• socratese said:

this is very theoretical analysis, looks good on paper but not reality or what is actually happening in Pakistani Politics. so many hypothetical scenario and many iffs and buttss in this writeup.

• atruepakistani said:

@romano.Good analysis. We must see PPP in different way.We can say there are two PPPs.one of the elite class who see the party to get power and the other is the party of the poor.who see party as revolutionary party(wheather it is or not).party of ZA bhutto is still alive in the hearts and minds of working class ppl.This is the real power of PPP.People remember Bhutto as Hero and heros never dies. Regading Aitzaz Ahsen,,he can win the trust of the ppl if he start talking in favour of the poors and party workers. People of Pakistan see PPP to solve their roblems..others who hate PPP they are mostly biased.Indeed in this situation PPP showed a good charecter of understanding.Taliban Issuse,,economy,friends of pakistan,,Benazir income support,,and many other issues was tackled with great potential.We hope with all their short comings they will do good fpr pakistan

• BechariAwam said:

In short, kuch ziada hi aflatooni jhar di he uncle ne

• doctor said:

Is Aitzaz Ahsan writing by name of Amir Ghauri now. I will not waste time going into a lengthy discussion about this article when it can be summed up in two words WISHFUL THINKING. PPP is and will remain the biggest party of Pakistan. Next thing we will know Amir Ghauri will get appointed as high court judge, after all he has written in favour of AA and CJ has 100s of vacant seats to give away.

• democrate said:

@romano,u did better analysis than biased aamir ghauri.pakistan is heading towards two party system,ppp and muslim league N.some people has devolped so much hate for ppp,they can accept brocken pakistan but they will never accept ppp in power.the ppp hatters are really danger to pakistan bc ppp will keep winning elections and these people will keep removing ppp illegally ,in the process keep damging pakistan.

• jimmykhan said:

I only have one thing to add …. Mr Ghauri has stressed hard on people like Aitzaaz & Nawaz … A famous saying ” If Aunty had balls she would have been an uncle” —– I rest my case ….. Pakistan Zindabad

• mbokhari said:

This analysis is very cogently put and I find myself utterly in agreement with Amir’s diagnosis and prognosis.

Punjab under Sharifs now represent the opposition to Pakistan Army’s political ambitions while Sindh is standing shoulder to shoulder with the ancien regime – be it Zardari’s PPP or Altaf Hussain’s MQM

This is one of the most profound tectonic shifts in Pakistani politics. PMLN is destined to play populist politics because it has the demographic destiny on its side. Urban Punjab has grown in population and wealth, acquired education, middle-class aspirations and a degree of industrialization during the Musharraf era, and wants a fair shake. Young Turks like Khwaja Saad Rafiq represent the Punjabi street and are spoiling for a fight with the establishment and the PPP. No chance for PPP, JI or PTI in Punjab.

@Pejamistri
    The PPP has become part of the establishment, the ancien régime, and is on its way to final oblivion. I wonder if your understanding of Euclidean geometry has improved in the space of a year :)

Urban Sindh is MQM country and shall remain so. An intriguing question arises when rural Sindh is considered. What will happen here in a post-PPP world? Will rural Sindh go for the only other viable alternative, the PMLN? I think not. It is more likely that the rural Sindh vote will go to the nationalists. The anti-IDP riots and fatalities are worrying portents of this realignment in rural Sindh.

What does 2013 look like? PPP wiped out in Punjab and restricted to areas around Larkana and Garhi Khudabaksh. PMLN ruling the roost in Punjab, and making sizable gains in Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan.

This leaves PTI, JI and JUIF in the toilet. Where they so rightly belong :)

• Kashif said:

Atizan Ahsan is a great leader. I will be very happy if he can lead the PPP. I have only one reservation. Can he win his seat from Lahore w/o Nawaz Sharif’s support? Like IK he is all over in national and international media but when it comes to electability they both rely on Nawaz Sharif.

• sagaciouscorpion said:

Army phobia…

The writer is trying to spin eveything around army and seems to paint army as the power thirsty institution…

and he is forgetting that the army rule gets birth from the mistakes of incapable and idiotic political leadership… or at the least… stupid decisions…

• meengla said:

Indeed, Pakistani political landscape is gravitating toward a distinct two-party system in the form of a center-left PPP and a center-right PMLN; and I think it is good for Pakistan. Like in India Pakistan will have minor ‘regional’ or ‘ethnic’ players who will play some part in evolving national consensus on issues. That’s all good for Pakistan provided another 111-Brigade march is not taken.
    Anyone wishing for PPP’s extermination is going to do great disservice to Pakistan. Indeed, the party has lost a towering figure when Benazir Bhutto died but it has still managed to done okay by merely surviving considering the global financial meltown and Pakistan’s dire security situation. And I won’t be surprised at all by a ‘hung parliament’ in 2013 in a way where PPP manages a close second electoral position. NS is indeed most popular today but 2013 is still a few years away and ultimately ‘all politics is local’. Never forget how unpopular NS had became by 12 October 1999. Popularity rises and falls in Pakistan pretty quickly.
    Cheers to a Two Party System. Live and let live.
    Happy Independence Day!
    PS. Interesting analysis @Ramano

• democrate said:

i can bet ppp will rule pakistan next 15 years.the reason is simple,west and america has found the right combination for pakistan,as long as they r in afghnistan they will stick to this combination.they cannt take risk right wing party rule pakistan.

• ataraxis6 said:

In the past year and a half, PML-N has proven to be a B-team of PPP in the parliament. Their role in the parliament has been more disappointing than the PPP.

• offstage said:

….@aamoghauri
    My dear , why you are so upset with all this system.with blessings of your dear Journail saab, they will florish.Do not try to give a hope of Aitzaz ahsan.He is misssss fit in your system of corruption.But I can assure you all,you and other your type of people,always fit with any,i mean as few days earlier,everything was perfect for you because PMLQ “waday choudhry saab ” was a regular finacer,you are still getting money from Mian Aamir Mehmood Nazim lahore..Dunia TV fame,now he gave you a Lifafa for your asian journal……
    tu fit hay ganjay…………bottle kay Jinnn……..

• tahir mahmood said:

romano,

You had good analysis of PPP. It is a wishful thinking of establishment to have PPP leadership shifted from Sindh to Punjab. It has not yet got successful in that. The problem with Jiyala group is that they always look Garhi Khuda Baksh for their leadership. PPP Punjab leadership has so many times back stabbed PPP that non one I mean no one from PPP Punjab leadership is trustworthy in the eyes of Jiyalas. Leghari back stabbed PPP, Gillani is ready to back stab PPP any time. Jehangir Badar had taken bribe from NS earlier elections for distributing PPP tickets to un-electable candidates. AA has relationship with NS which is good thing but makes AA untrustworthy for Jiyala Group. I would rather have Bilawal come earlier and take charge from AZ. AZ has done few stupid steps but he is doing much better than he was expected to do specially when dealing with Taliban. the thing that makes AZ a pragmatic leader is that he is not trapped in ego which had sometimes hurt BB. His agility is what is actually helping him survive in current situation. NS is popular in Pakistan but most of its popularity is exaggerated by columnists. ppl still have not forgotten NS role in Zia ul Haq’s time. NS is though successful is bringing all anti-Bhutto Punjabi element at one platform.

• sadozai said:

I this we should not be so optimistic in case of PML N. Military leadership is no more worried about Sharif because he does get dictation from US as do our military leadership, so both r working for the same MASTER in different ways.
    Aitzaz is more competent than any of PPP leaders. BUT the important thing is Whether he is enough competent to lead without dictation from MASTER or NOT.

• bhola said:

what a wishful thinking of Nawaz , PLM N fan, a try to portray him as one and the only and the lonely leader of Pakistan, with apparently ‘ healing powers’ for the national wounds. The man who doesnt have a clear agenda on important issues like Taliban, is he for or against Taliban and Swat operation?,the man who is strangely quiet after restoration of Shahbaz as PM, the man who is famously over fed and has a low IQ , famously called Bhola by his own late father is apparently is the magical leader Pak needs right now :)

• zenith said:

The writer is quite right that the army establishment sadly never wants a genuine leader because they very well know that whoever is genuinely elected will challenge their status -quo. I think the writer is also a bit afraid seeing PPP getting off the national stage which will be a severe blow to Pakistan. May be the army is waiting for PPP to collapse and to fill the vaccum they might have another monkey for this show. Nawaz shareef will not compromise with the military and they don’t trust him either, but the big question is who will fill the vaccum? Thats what writer is pointing at.

• SS said:

@ Romano

I am surprised when you said ” Zardari has done well”. For a moment I thought “democrate” just changed his name but then you backed it up with “firm stand on taliban issue”. I dont think you could come up with any other argument to back “done well”. This website is loaded with programs, all talking about nothing but failures of Zardari and defamation of PPP mainly bcz of Zardari’s decision. I am sorry but one must be absolutely demented to even think that “zardari has done well”.

As far as the taliban issue is concerned, I do not think it was the brain child of Zardari in anyway. His stupidity had been very well demonstrated in the Punjab Governor rule debacle. Most certainly the credit goes to Gen. Kiyani for creating a national concensus and getting a go-ahead nod from the very staunch opposers of operations (other than JI and co.) The credit for success of the swat operation also goes to Gen. Kiyani and not to Zardari. Every single person in Pakistan believes he is the scum of Pakistan and there is no second opinion about it. However, most people (including me) would want to see him either finish his tenure or be replaced in a legal and constitutional manner.

and @ democrate, replacing Zardari does not mean derailing democracy. Infact, in a democratic system with a powerful president (unlike parliamentary democracy) requires the president to be elected directly by the people and not by its own party members. Like Gilani rightly said, the democracy in Pakistan is neither parliamentary nor presidential but a hodge podge.

• nshah said:

Well there is no comparison between aitzaz and zardari &co(F naek, shaukat tareen, dr asim etc)..Aitzaz is one of the few left real PPP leader..i will prefer him over zardari & co thousand times..as far as future of PPP is concerened i think it will be rural sindh party in next election..if zardari & bilawal zardari still co chair then it may not even win in larkhana where this time PPP murtaza bhutto group have more chances of winning..

• supercreature said:

laarkana party ….. ppp

• supercreature said:

@SS
    “I am surprised when you said ” Zardari has done well”. For a moment I thought “democrate” just changed his name ”
    :D
    How can you think that one jiyala will talk differently than other??? galli main kuttay boltay hain sab bhoonktay hee lagtay hain ….

• democrate said:

we judge ppp not with education but who sacrificed more.there r thousands of people in ppp who sacrificed mor than aaitzaz aahsan.

• supercreature said:

what about Murtaza bhutto… the son of ZA bhutto murdered by Zardari …. who’s enquiry was even denied in PPP government …. when her sister was PM … Before his killing he openly accused Zardari for threatening him … he knew he will be killed by criminal Zardari

sactifices my foot …. dhanda hay dhanda …iqtadar ki khatir bahan bahi ko bhe marwa daytii hay.. khawand biwi ko

• democrate said:

@suppercreature,u r a sick man how a sister can think such a thing.hate has made ur brain rotten piece of sh@@t.

• aly said:

i think Aitzaz is not a leader he is what we call ‘populist’.

• aly said:

in 2002 elections he only won his seat from Humayun Akhter by 4000 Votes. i am not sure with the support of PPP will be able to win his own home seat from a PML N candidate [in Lahore]

• SAEED said:

I partially agree with the writer. It is correct that Army will not like to see a powerful leader which can challenge it’s authority. It is very unfortunate that our Army (means Generals) is the sole responsible for the present day Pakistan. had there been a political continuity, the politics could have got matured to day. Some writers are praising the Army’s role in NWFP, that they have crushed the insurgency. They are sadly mistaken, let the things get settled, they ( the miscreants ) will come again . The indiscriminate killing and scores of dead bodies found every day in sawat will not bring fruit for us. If things get continued then, my country men should get ready for another East Pakistan debacle. Please remember, the states man ship can not be left in the hands of Generals, they only speak the language of POWER. The political issues can only be solved on the table by the politicians.

• anna said:

The Political Situation in Pakistan calling Awaam to be STAND Behind Political System even if its INEFFICIENT but we Must be there behind them & never Let Army to Kickout Awaam representative & be there for another 11 years … as Munoo Bhahi , a great Writer
    has said ” Pakistani Fuj Dushman say 17 din say ziyadah JANG nahi lar sakti mager apnay awaam per 11 saal say KUM hakumat nahi ker sakti….” …

• Muhammad Tanvir said:

Dear Friends,

I agree with the writer, one thing we must understand that Pakistan is not a country of yester years by any mean now. PPP government is able to swim against the tides only because of a very friendly opposition. I strongly wish that current democratic system should sustain. Suppose if, media would have been free like it is these days. Most of the corrupt and unable leaders would have been already filtered out.

If we would have only PTV by now, Ameer Ul Momineen Hazrat Musharaf would have been our life time president in uniform. My point of view is, things have changed a lot and are still changing. I am not concerned, who is the president or PM of Pakistan and what party he belongs to. But who works for people of Pakistan.

Muhammad Tanvir
    Malaysia