Terrorists not doing terrorism for the sake of terrorism.they have their agenda.They want to implement their ideology on the world.They choose Afghanistan and Pakistan for first stage.Even US come to afghannistan or not,,,,,sooner or later they have plan to overcome in both countries.They were making orgnisations inside pakistan and giving training to young generation.The same they were doing in saudi Arabia and Egypt.they have their own vision of islam and they want to implement it.Many criminal groups also joined them for their own interest.RAW ,,MOSAD ,KHAAD has thier own interest in this region,They inject their agents in Taliban.It has becom a complicated situation .Before 9/11 there were 46 bomb blast in pakistan in one year 2000.who was doing this?so in my opinion pakistan may be in worse position today if it had not co-oprate with US and international comunity.we have to fight this war against terrorism if we want a peacefull pakistan and region.
@admin..u can write like this..
If Pakistan did not help US in afghanistan, would it still be a victom of terroism?
Changed. Thanks for the suggestion.
Original text for reference: Poll: Would Pakistan have still been a victim of terrorism had it did not help U.S. war in Afghanistan?
AlQaeda and their Taliban terrorists are behind all suicide attacks in Pakistan. We should learn lesson from Iraq where people of Iraq stood against AlQaeda to defeat them. We MUST do the same to get rid of AlQaeda and Talinans.
Making Sense of Pakistan (Columbia/Hurst) (Hardcover)
by
Farzana Shaikh (Author)
“Product Description” by Amazon
Once a model of Muslim enlightenment, Pakistan is now facing a lethal Islamist threat. Many believe this is due to Pakistan’s partnership with the United States, while others see it as the consequence of an authoritarian rule that has marginalized liberal opinion while creating inroads for the religious right.
Farzana Shaikh argues that though external influences and domestic politics have unquestionably shaped Pakistan, an uncertainty about the meaning of Pakistan and the significance of “being Pakistani” lies at the heart of the state’s social and political decline. Making Sense of Pakistan shows how these concerns have contributed to the spread of Islam in the public sphere. They have also widened the gap between personal piety and public morality, compromising the country’s economic foundations and social stability. This uncertainty has also affected Pakistan’s foreign policy, which compensates for the country’s poor sense of national identity. Even more ominous, national insecurities have given rise to a dangerous symbiosis between Pakistan’s armed forces and Muslim extremists, rival contenders in the struggle to redefine the meaning of Pakistan. Drawing on extensive research into the origins and evolution of the country, Shaikh follows the forces of culture and ideology that pressured Indo-Muslims in the years leading up to Partition and continue to resonate throughout the country.
Today’s Dunya Today with Dr. Pirzada is a must watch programme to understand this question deeply. Hamid Mir and Zafar Hilaly made excellent contributions.
It is not just US presence but US pressure on Pakistan to attack its own people that has led to this situation.
I believe we can survive very easily without US aid and their help. However, for that we need a true patriotic political party like PTI that work only for the interest of Pakistan.
We dont need people like PPP who have all their wealth outside the country.
Why do we have such a short memory? Throughout 80s we suffered through bomb blasts and then later in 90s we saw worst form of secterian violence………….If that was not terrorism then we need to redefine it….
I believe terrorist activities in Pakistan are being conducted to large extents (99%) by these external forces to push Pakistan against it’s own people for number of reasons and one is to use our army as cheap rented force to tackle Afghan Mujahideen.
People of Pakistan resisted to the idea of attacking their own brothers but public opinion was “Corrected” by the use of this coward tactic. I think these attacks are the reason not the result of Pakistan’s involvement in this so called war.
It is quite obvious and those who are ignorant should read the history, that terrorism started in pakistan after when we launched operation in 2004 in tribal areas . It got worse, when our so called brave security forces raided Lal Masjid unnecessarilyand killed innocent students.
What is quite obvious is the audacious ignorance of those who dont live in any part of Pakhtoonkhwa, dont know the history of Pakhtoonkhwa (NWFP), dont even understand at all how we Pakhtoon were made to suffer and dont bother feel ashemed of Zia’s unconditional support to US to help them gain strategic gains in the region by using Pakistan as proxy war base. In return we got so called mujahedeen who refused to leave Pakistan and set up their own Shariat state called Islamic Imarat of Waziristan in Pakhtoon land. Long story short when General Orakzai had Naik Mohammed agreed to a peace plan these foreign terrorists in the disguise of our guests refused to leave. As a result US got the opportunity again to hit on Pakistani interests and push a 3rd rated Pak Military officer to lauch a half-hearted attack on them.
There were 3 bulls red,black and white. And all three were best friends. There was a pack of wolves who wanted to eat all these bulls but could not do so coz all the 3 bulls fight togather the invaders. The wolf leader HIRED a fox to help them in separating the 3 bulls. The fox went to red and black bull and told them that the white bull is not the same color and does not look alike as both of you. So you two should not bother to defend the white bull against the wolves coz wolves are only against the white bull. So when the wolves attack the white bull the other two just watched and thought that their problem is solved.
After few days the wolves became hungry and HIRED the same fox. The fox went to red bull and told him that you are superior to the black bull and black is not the color of your race. So the wolves attack the black bull and finished him.
After few days the wolves became hungry and attacked the red bull. When the wolves approached the red bull they said it is now your time to die. The red bull replied with sarrow, “I DIED THE SAME DAY WHEN YOU HAD KILLED THE WHITE BULL.”
“It is quite obvious and those who are ignorant should read the history, that terrorism started in pakistan after when we launched operation in 2004 in tribal areas . It got worse, when our so called brave security forces raided Lal Masjid unnecessarilyand killed innocent students.”
These aren’t causes. This is a timeline detailing events.
Well done, Pakistan army ! What any army in the entire world can dream of doing it, our brave army has achieved it just in a matter of days (MashaAllah). Each day, our army is killing at least 60 or 70 terrorists. That’s just outstanding. Compare any army in the entire world with Pakistan army. You will always find Pakistani armed forces at the top. Moreover, I would also like to pay tribute to all those innocent families whose loved ones have been martyred in all these suicide bomb blasts. Pakistan zindabad
COME WHAT MAY Pakistan would still be A VICTIM of (United States) terrorism.
When our great ‘leaders; like the ex-Dictator Musharaf present/offer our country’s ‘backside’ for a free ‘F$$K’ to the Yankees, then that is exactly going to happen.
And especially when that guy himself has ‘runaway’ to ‘greener pastures’ of LONDON-ISTAN for a ’sojourn’ with an intention NEVER TO COME BACK.
That traitor also knows for sure that people of this country will ‘tear him to pieces’ with their ‘BARE HANDS, once they find him in their midst !
People of Pakistan should please WAIT & SEE, what will happen to that guy if he ever decides to return here.
this is dumbest question you could have come up with. The answer is flat-out “NO”.
Since the Nato and Americans are in the Afghanistan they have brought Pakistan’s mortal enemy there and they are still there looking for a ghost called “Binhasbeen” to justify this occupation.
This occupation has the hands of Indian and their “new” brothers in crime against the Muslims, Israelis hands all over it.
There are tens of thousands of Indian military, military contractors, their intelligence who are funding and training the terrorist to destabilize Pakistan and balance the Kashmir freedom movement with their own separatist goons in Baluchistan and keep the Pakistanis busy fighting each other.
I cant believe that you people are such simpletons or incompetent to see the big picture.
Its not as black and white as you put it in a simplistic double negative question.
The question should have been that “If USA and Nato leave Afghanistan and UN or the American’s force the Indians to take their more than ten consulates out of Afghanistan and their agents disguised as reconstruction crews and military disguised as protecting those and training the local people, have the Tajik’s to go back to Tajikistan, the Israeli agents go back to New York, the Iranian agents to go back to Iran and the Russian agents to go back to Russia and the Baluchistan libration army goons to go to hell and stop funding the local warlords with money ,weapons and stop buying and help traffic their drugs, stop supporting a failed puppet governments in Pakistan and Afghanistan, stop buying the Pakistani mercenary military elites and having them create terror in their own country, stop drone attacks, stop insulting the sensibility of the religious types and so on and so forth…..than would that create the conducive environment for peace in Pakistan”?
Now read my question and contemplate that what is the likelihood of all this?
Pakistan would not have been a victim of terrorism if we would not have joined this war, but you can not discount the factors that would have been drawn us into it somehow but this is a hypothesis. But the truth is that we have to deal with the terrorism once and for all now that we are part of this so called “War on Terror”.
@ Eyrie.
In the military terminology there is a word called ‘mobilization’ which means ‘an act of marshaling & organizing’ the troops; or for that matter ‘assembling & putting into readiness, ‘ TROOPS FOR WAR.’
If memory serves us right, way back during the ‘65 & ‘71 wars, ( which took place between India & Pakistan,) our Defense Forces not only announced but actually carried-out a full ‘mobilization’ of the troops.
A series of actions were thus taken on a ‘war footing’ while the troops were moved out from peace locations to ‘battle stations.’
But so far no such actions seem to have been taken by either the present govt (or by the past 08 years by the govt of Mush,) probably because all actions taken so far under ‘War OF Terror’ seemed to have taken place, in the ‘aid of civil power’ which was a legacy left by our stalwart’ called Musharaf, to be followed & emulated by PPP’s heart-throb ‘ZORDARI’.
if america leaves afghanistan,it will hearten fundamentalist forces.definitely these forces will try to take afghanistan as well as pakistan.situation can be much worst than its now.
you are think same as i am think. you are 200% right. pakistan is victum of na pak army of uneducated extremists. ok then finish this na pak army of terrorists. if america also help why not good for pakistan.
But integrety of Pakistan is in real danger not because of US/Isral/India/West/China/Combodia/Uganda or from the whole world but from the brutalTaliban-Alqeda nexus & their stupid supporters.
I am not surprized to see the majority on this forum thinks that by not doing any thing against these violant murderers we will be safe from their terrorism afterwards…
Pakistani majority indirectly or directly supporting cause of Taliban-Alqeaeda proves that we Pakistani nation are real Jack Ass or Gadhay as Habib Jalib said …we just dont get it…we are still confused on who makes terrorism & why we should take any action against international terrorists..
I would like to ask one simple question to the people who say Pakistan would be the victim of anyway whether it cooperate with west or not.
Suppose a person with curious mind, do some research and learns and finally came to know that yeah Islam is the truth and the only way to survive in this world and the world hereafter is to follow it. So he starts telling that to his family and friends and try to help them in the daily affairs and save them from fire of hell (in which he strongly believes as mentioned in the Glorious Quran). But he doesn’t get much of success in convincing them. So he turns to the source as he knows it, the Iswa-Husna (the Biography of our Holy Prophet pbuh). He sees that Holy Prophet faced the same problem when He pbuh tried to convince the people of Makkah about the Truth. He comes to know that Holy Prophet pbuh strived for 10 years and in that long period only around 100 people embraced Islam. He pbuh migrated to Maddinah, where more people were willing to accept the Truth and sacrifice their live for it. So He pbuh went to Maddinah with His companions and then returned to Makkah with the force of 10,000 people.
So the person who is seeking guidance in the Iswa-Husna of Holy Prophet pbuh learns that he is far more friendlier conditions as compared to the Holy Prophet pbuh. He is in the state where majority of the people accept that Allah is the one Who should be the Ruler of their personal and social matters. Only problem is that these believes are just faded a little, they are only needed to be told that your Lord has told you to say five obligatory prayers, to pay Zakat, treat your women respectfully, forbid you to take interest, bribe, not to listen to the music, not to drink, not to commit adultery, save yourself and the ones your love from the blazing Hell Fire. Learning Quran and Sunnah of the Holy Prophet pbuh he finds that he only ought to convince some people and then try to find some way to give whole society that kind of environment in which the people who have forgotten their Creator and the purpose of their creation are reminded and come back to the way of Islam. So he organizes those people who agree to implement the commandments of their lord and strives to create a community obedient to their Lord and example for other people of the world.
I just want to know what is wrong in that. I agree that they have agenda and they have plane to overcome whole of our country. But I really would love some answers. There are some organizations which are promoting terrorism. But everyone agrees that killing innocent people is in no way allowed even in the war. Those miscreants involved in such activities should be handled by force.
The Islamist organisation, Hizb-ut Tahrir has been banned in Bangladesh Just because they are working for the rule of Islam in their land. It is the first time that an Islamist group which has not been implicated in any terrorist acts been outlawed. And only thing which hurts is that the people who banned are the same who 60 years ago sacrificed their lives because they wanted to be ruled by the law of their Lord instead of manmade laws of British or Indian parliaments. Now their minds or so poisoned that they even resent the fact that anyone of them is working for the same cause they once sacrificed for.
So dear brothers and sisters wake up, please try to learn Islam. Only that way we can defeat the threats faced by our beloved country. Do oppose Taliban and Al Qaida, who are killing so many innocents in the name of Islam and actually defaming Islam. But please don’t oppose the nice Islamic mindset associated to them, like they wanna implement the Shariah, they wanna disallow any music and drinking, they illegalize interest, they want our society which is fearful in disobeying the laws of our Creator and encouraging in adhering to the Best of all the examples (Iswa-Husna of Holy Prophet pbuh). Please do oppose the terrorism ripping apart our Muslim nation, but don’t be the part of agenda where west and our beloved democratic leaders are trying all these things to associate with terrorism and slowly changing our minds with the help of media against fundamentals of Islam. Remember we will not be terrorized by any peaceful organization propagating Islam.
Pakistan has a real threat not from Al Qaida or Talibans but from US. US is supporting some of their criminal elements. The war on terror actually was not against terrorists but 1 of its objective is to disintegrate Pakistan.
It’s now time for us to realize our true enemy, and beware it is not alqaida or taliban, it is US and its intelligence agencies.
Mind 1 thing “behind every Bomblast in Pakistan their is a secret Shadow of CIA, MOSAD and RAW”
IF we want real peace in the region WE MUST PUT THEM OUT OF HERE
Pakistan would have to face this cruelty, come what may, reason being, geo-politically and strategically we are living in such an important place that majority of us probably does not understands.
We could have avoided this all non sense, provided we had a proper system of governance in place. We have negated ( as a nation) certain basics and we could not do well at social & ethical fronts, so now lets face the music.
This is an Open Challenge at the extent of — ready to Bet — even Today Pakistan Announce Disengagement of this so called Imposed Heavily =War Against Terror= America will not waste any single minute to continue further the same war.
If I had been in place of Pervaiz Kiyani or Shuja Pasha I would offer a 4/5 years ago directly to Russian President “Putin Administration” against how much they would pay/transmit in Pakistan Treasury if we/Pakistani Suppose to PAY OFF their Revenge of Afghan War from America. Believe Me Just to Block the Supply Line. As I have been shouting for years even on this forum.
As our Beloved Prophet Muhammad Ss used the Tactic to stopped the Trade Route of Quraish which was leading to Syria & succeed.
This is also a Legal Advise to my Patriotic Armed Personnel/High Profile Officials as the same advised was posted 6/7 years ago at the forum of South Asia Tribune of Shaheen Sehbai by me.
Pakistan is a corridor of powers. We could have avoided all this non sense by good governance and following the principles of islam, but unfortunately on our part we just misbehaved. And as for as the foriegn powers are concerned they want this region permanently destabilized because this way this corridor is easy to use ( easy to negotiate, to buy loyalities if people are poor), otherwise this region can charge a lot, manuplate things.
So in my view this is both foriegn powers and us are responsible for this.
I think Alqaida is only an imagination, or at least affiliation towards a certain ideolgy certainly not an organised group.
When Zia supported Jihad in Afghanistan ( he might have been wrong, which i very much doubt) they cleaned everything after the russians left. Pakistan was peaceful and it remained for at least more than a decade. Even after 9/11, for 3-4 years it remained peaceful, It only started when musharaf knowingly sent army to these areas to kill innocent people who were not against pakistan at all, and this happened first time in the history of pakistan.
Pakistan was always stable does not matter what happens in afghanistan.
So i think support of afghanistan during russian invasion has nothing to do with today.
This stance has only been used by ANP and PPP( and later on by MQM ) fisttime for political purpose. Because firstly they were against Zia ( i personally dont support zia but one has to be truthful)
and secondly to defend Musharaf who did deals with it.
an inherently evil force existed pre 9/11. The events of 9/11 were merely a catalyst – and there is no guarantee our children or our children’s children wouldn’t be victims of terrorism.
Pakistan, with some measure of success, had domesticated a wild animal. (It can be argued that it was the best Pakistan could do given our resources). While it gave Pakistanis their peace of mind, it was always going to be a temporary solution.
so, my belief is, when someone suggests that our support of america is what brought this hell upon us..they are really just enlightening us on a timeline (and not a cause-effect relationship).
To further clarify:
It’s like stating “I started my economics degree when I was 19.” While that is true that I was 19, but being 19 is not the reason I studied economics at university.
maulajatt said:@adnan arshad If I had been in place of Pervaiz Kiyani or Shuja Pasha===================================
you can never become Pervaiz Kiyani or Shuja Pasha. you will not be recruit as peon in army. stop see dreams. kia mun, kia masoor ki daal
Huldi Lagay aur Phitkary par Rung ghaib! — ok.
======xxxxxx=====
No Not Ok – How can you say with assurance? — Its quiet possible may be right now I have been sitting at any Intelligence Agency or even from residence I have been deputed by any xyz agency & might be directly posting to you this mail directly from that particular Agency or on behalf of them as you do not know my Geography or even by putting some efforts you may get some success but you do not know what is my current association – past or present!!!????
Therefore, how can you be so Affirmative? – As you do not know even ABC of the aforementioned – Oh Jatiaaaaaaaaaaaaaa Oyeeeaaaaeeeeeeeeeee.
@ maulajatt
I think what A.A.Mansoori is trying to point to us, is that we really do not know who all are the senders/originators of comments on this website.
He maybe right in saying that such a person could himself be a ’secret agent’ of ANY SPY AGENCY. So the question is, that are we aware of them when they pose as simple commentators?
@ A.A.Mansoori. Am I right, please?
Off course we are at this point because of USA and infact USA wants us to be like what we are today. so USA is achieving her goals. but we are loosing and we are loosing everything. because my dear pakistani brothers n sisters we have nothing but Pakistan.
but we would not have been at this point if we ourselves wanted not to be.
Unfortunately we (by “WE” i mean our characterless leaders in particular and
the people of Pakistan in generel) are allowing USA to come and conquer us.
HUM KOEE NATION HAIN?????
HUM KESI “ZINDA KAUM” HAIN
this is my question
PLEASE THINK!
KIA HUM KOE KAUM HAIN BHI???
KOE NATION APNI MAA KO BAICH DETI HY?
KIA HUM NY AISA NAHI KIA?
PAKISTAN HAMARI MAA HY NA?
KIA HUM NY IS KA SAUDA NAHI KIA?
KIS KIS KA NAAM LOON?
KIA AAJ PAKISTAN K AKSER LOG NAHI JANTY
HAMARI “MADR E WATAN” KA KIA HASHER KER DIA GYA
MERA EEMAN HAY KEY AIK DIN HUM JEET JAYEN GY
LAIKAN JO KUCH BHI HUM NE KIA AUR KER RAHY HAIN
KIA PAKISTAN YEH DESERVE KERTA THA,
PAKSITAN KA TO MATLAB HI PAK LOGON KI ZAMEEN HY
PHIR YEH KIA HUA??
why to get angry with USA or India or blah blah blah
we did all damage by our own hands.
pakistan would have been victim of terrorism because of it’s location on world’s map.
pakistan is surounded by india, afgahnistan and iran if, you search bit more about history of these three neighbours you will come to know that none of them actually wants peace in pakistan. india always been our enemy and we fought war thrice with em. pak afghan border is the most open border on this planet. you will see the sign “every one is invited” on pak afghan border. because of same tradition, culture and religion people in tribal areas support afghanistan more than pakistan thats why they always emphasis on america is in afghanistan, pakistan is fighting against us and bla bla. now common sense does’nt support these arguments what we gotta do with american presence in afghanistan. pakistan has his own history, culture and citizen of pakistan would love to be under democracy rather than anything else.if, pak army is fighting against extremist in pakistan that does’nt mean extremist have a right to blow one of us to balance the equation.
iran is supporting balouch tribes(guardian) in balouchistan.
if extremist are hiding in tribal areas pak army got no choice they got to eliminate them to secure our country.
it’s our own problem which we created 30 years ago now is the time to solve it for good or let them destroy our country just because our belief differs.
One of the most difficult things in science, economics, politics and even human relations is to understand causality. What action caused another? Did the cold weather lead to a person catching cold, or is it that people crowd around each other more, and are therefore more likely to pass on viruses to each other in the cold? It took science many hundreds of years to break this myth. That cold does not lead to catching a cold. Yet how many of us keep insisting and believing it?
The 67% of respondents who believe with all their hearts that its just the US actions in Afghanistan that lead to terrorism in Pakistan are perhaps too young to remember General Zia, and his systematic policy of Islamization, the importation of Wahabi culture into Pakistan, the invitation to the whole Arab world to send their “fighters” to Pakistan to fight the soviets. That’s where the character and nature of the tolerant Islam practiced by Pakistanis started to change. I remember living in Islamabad as a teenager at that time, and looking in amazement at Large land cruisers filled with Mujahideen zipping around town, with gun toting guards – something that was unusual for the time. Fast forward 25 years and those who cry for Lal masjid martyrs never ask the question: What were hundreds of guns, rocket launchers, grenades and militants doing in a house of worship? Is that the Islam we want? This is the fruit of the Zia era which is ripening now in every corner of Pakistan: guns, heroin, narco dollars, and extremist ideology – kill Shias, kill sufis, kill Qadianis, kill Christians.
Now, I know what many will say: America made us do it. America was fighting the soviets and created these monsters. True. But who was America’s willing partner? And when America left, who had the genius idea of using these jihadis against India in Kashmir? Who created the Taliban? It was our very own ISI, with the intention of ruling Afghans, in order to have strategic depth against India. So those who keep blaming Amreeka conveniently forget their own role. Regarding India, can I ask a gentle question (by the way I am a Pakistani with deep love for my country, with family members who are in the military and one cousin who as a lieutenant became paralyzed in the line of duty): Why is it that when we had these jihadis fighting in Kashmir, killing innocent Indians, we were all quite happy, but now that these people have turned their guns against us, we start crying India, India, the Indians are doing it! Weren’t we doing it just a short while ago? Neither was it right when we were doing it, nor is it right when it is being done against us.
By the way, on the last point, I’m sure certain elements in India take pleasure in the difficulties Pakistan is facing (remember just months ago, some Pakistanis were quite delighted when a tragedy like the Mumbai attack occurred), but by and large what we are facing is a home grown insurgency by extremist militants who were previously encouraged and supported by the Pakistani state but now feel betrayed and abandoned that we are not turning into an Islamic Emirate of Pakistan, and are not continuing to support them in Afghanistan and India (it is very much in our strategic interest to have peaceful relations on both our borders). But how can Jihadis who have grown up on their hatred for India accept this common sense course correction by Pakistan? No, they have said, if you don’t do things the way we like, impose Islam malakand style, and turn Pakistan into a stone age Afghanistan, we will take revenge on all Pakistanis. Do you think if the US leaves tomorrow, these wonderful Uzbeks and others will go back to farming tobacco or tending to goats? No, they are fired up by an extremist ideology which takes no hostages, and does not stop until stopped by force. After all, we made several peace deals in FATA and Swat. What happened? It boggles any sane person’s mind that many of us think that all of these Uzbeks and others are Indian agents. We invited them in. We trained them. We set up Madrassas for Afghan refugees’ children who have now grown up and turned into the Taliban. How quickly we forget.
Trace any attack happening in any part of the world, and you can source it back to Fata. So if we are fighting there, we are fighting for our own country, to take it back from invaders who wear an Islamic beard but do horrible things in Islam’s name. The reason I emphasize our responsibility is that unless we own up to it, we can never correct ourselves. Just blaming other countries and evil conspiracies against poor little Pakistan simply makes us seems like cry babies, and more importantly, dooms us to repeating the same mistakes. For example, after clearing Swat of militants, the government and the people of Pakistan should have made a massive effort to build schools, bring mobile judiciary branches to Mingora, hire thousands of locals as police, and provide business loans and start up funds and cash compensation to victims so that the people of Swat would feel happy and supported by the State. Instead, the poor citizens have been dumped back in their shelled out towns, without jobs, with their crops destroyed and schools burnt down. Do you think there’s a chance that the militants will return and that some people will start siding with them? We never learn, we never try to be proactive, instead we just react to the latest crisis and try to survive another day. Is that the fault of foreign evil forces? Is Amreeka telling us, “no, don’t go into Swat and improve the lives of people. Obama does not allow it” of course not. Its us, we have become a callous, uncaring society, with each one of us, just looking after themselves, only worried about today. The immediate problem in Swat is solved (for the moment), so let’s move on to the next show.
A brilliant writer wrote, its time to stop mopping and instead turn the tap off.
Final paragraph: (whew). I know the responses I will get: I will be called an Israeli agent, indian agent, psuedo liberal, etc etc. Please ask yourself the following questions before you start your tirades:
1. Pakistan’s terribly low literacy rate, when other countries in the region like Srilanka are near 90%. Is this also an Israeli sazish?
2. The electricity in the 10th most populous country in the world is not “on” for more than half the day, leading to the collapse of basic industries. Indian sazish or lack of planning and accountability at the top (Musharraf, Zardari, Nawaz, Benazir, all. You have to anticipate 15 years ahead and put up electricity plants so this problem is several decades old and is only manifesting itself now).
3. Judicial system completely dysfunctional: No justice, people hanged on false witnesses. Blind women in jail who have been raped but have been accused of Zana (how is the poor girl, supposed to bring 4 witnesses who will prove she is innocent?). Amreeki Sazish perhaps? Maybe the handiwork of Kerry-Lugar?
4. Number of patents issued to Pakistanis, number of articles published in international scientific journals, number of PhD students, number of global level multinational firms of Pakistani origin, close to zero, whereas number of bride burnings, mothers dying during child birth, gun violence and large scale corruption cases, close to world records. This also must be a global conspiracy against Pakistan, right?
5. Beggars on every street corner, hungry, naked, poor. Child labourers in every mechanic’s shop. Who is behind that? I hope you’re getting my point.
Mere humwatno, jago, ankhen kholo aur khudi ko buland karo jaise Iqbal ne kaha tha, or Sir syed ne koshish ki thi. This is the economic age, the internet age. Having a million soldiers and hundreds of Generals means nothing if you do not have education, civic sense and justice. Throughout history, those who have improved themselves and educated themselves, and looked ahead have climbed mountains and emerged as great nations (think of Japan after being bombed with nuclear weapons – it could have blamed the US for the rest of its life and remained poor and destitute, but chose to educate itself and overcome the odds).
Those nations that choose to just sit in their drawing rooms and point fingers and complain about their sovereignty (which by the way disappears when your entire economy is dependent on WB, IMF, USA and “friends of Pakistan” – after all, how much sovereignty does the beggar have who is knocking on your car window with a child on her shoulder?), those nations just vanish, like the Mughal kingdom, which declined from the four corners of India, to central India, then to Delhi, and then ultimately to the Red fort, where bahadur Shah Zafar lived on handouts.
May Allah have mercy on Pakistan, and give us the strength and vision to educate ourselves, invest in our people, love those who are from different sects and religions, and take responsibility for our own improvement – otherwise, the Lahore Fort will not be able to fit us all.
If you join PML-N then you wont get punishment for Zana in Pakistan. There mna rapist will win in next election together with Nawaz(who did nothing against him). And mr. Ifthekar Chaudry is not doing anything against him, he is too busy saving Nawaz from his old crime cases.
Unbelievable. Most of you have no memory before 2001 it seems when we suffered from jihadi terrorism almost daily as well. Also, who do you think was doing killing of fellow Muslims in Afghanistan and even Kashmir during the same time but jihadis.
I still remember when the jihadi groups used to openly come for donations and everyone used to give to these crazy psychopaths. They still do it, but under disguise of charities now.
The precise reason the terrorists are attacking Pakistanis is to weaken their resolve to fight them. The question is, will the attacks be successful in weakening that resolve. I certainly hope it isn’t, because the world needs their help against this global menace.
i dnt really understand this question to be honest
there are 2 questions and they might got different answers
Terrorists not doing terrorism for the sake of terrorism.they have their agenda.They want to implement their ideology on the world.They choose Afghanistan and Pakistan for first stage.Even US come to afghannistan or not,,,,,sooner or later they have plan to overcome in both countries.They were making orgnisations inside pakistan and giving training to young generation.The same they were doing in saudi Arabia and Egypt.they have their own vision of islam and they want to implement it.Many criminal groups also joined them for their own interest.RAW ,,MOSAD ,KHAAD has thier own interest in this region,They inject their agents in Taliban.It has becom a complicated situation .Before 9/11 there were 46 bomb blast in pakistan in one year 2000.who was doing this?so in my opinion pakistan may be in worse position today if it had not co-oprate with US and international comunity.we have to fight this war against terrorism if we want a peacefull pakistan and region.
@admin..u can write like this..
If Pakistan did not help US in afghanistan, would it still be a victom of terroism?
To make this poll fair …. Add a fourth option: “Eventually”
or…”Yes, eventually…”
AlQaeda and their Taliban terrorists are behind all suicide attacks in Pakistan. We should learn lesson from Iraq where people of Iraq stood against AlQaeda to defeat them. We MUST do the same to get rid of AlQaeda and Talinans.
sometime they ask question in survey like…..
“Aap Pakistan main Islami Nizam chatey ho”
ofcourse 99 % people will say yes….
Here is a book on the subject
Making Sense of Pakistan (Columbia/Hurst) (Hardcover)
by
Farzana Shaikh (Author)
“Product Description” by Amazon
Once a model of Muslim enlightenment, Pakistan is now facing a lethal Islamist threat. Many believe this is due to Pakistan’s partnership with the United States, while others see it as the consequence of an authoritarian rule that has marginalized liberal opinion while creating inroads for the religious right.
Farzana Shaikh argues that though external influences and domestic politics have unquestionably shaped Pakistan, an uncertainty about the meaning of Pakistan and the significance of “being Pakistani” lies at the heart of the state’s social and political decline. Making Sense of Pakistan shows how these concerns have contributed to the spread of Islam in the public sphere. They have also widened the gap between personal piety and public morality, compromising the country’s economic foundations and social stability. This uncertainty has also affected Pakistan’s foreign policy, which compensates for the country’s poor sense of national identity. Even more ominous, national insecurities have given rise to a dangerous symbiosis between Pakistan’s armed forces and Muslim extremists, rival contenders in the struggle to redefine the meaning of Pakistan. Drawing on extensive research into the origins and evolution of the country, Shaikh follows the forces of culture and ideology that pressured Indo-Muslims in the years leading up to Partition and continue to resonate throughout the country.
Today’s Dunya Today with Dr. Pirzada is a must watch programme to understand this question deeply. Hamid Mir and Zafar Hilaly made excellent contributions.
It is not just US presence but US pressure on Pakistan to attack its own people that has led to this situation.
Again, do watch today’s Dunya Today.
http://pkpolitics.com/2009/10/29/dunya-today-29-october-2009/
I believe we can survive very easily without US aid and their help. However, for that we need a true patriotic political party like PTI that work only for the interest of Pakistan.
We dont need people like PPP who have all their wealth outside the country.
i agree with sweet truth.people of pakistan should stand up against these taliban.america is just a excuse to do terrorism.
Why do we have such a short memory? Throughout 80s we suffered through bomb blasts and then later in 90s we saw worst form of secterian violence………….If that was not terrorism then we need to redefine it….
I believe terrorist activities in Pakistan are being conducted to large extents (99%) by these external forces to push Pakistan against it’s own people for number of reasons and one is to use our army as cheap rented force to tackle Afghan Mujahideen.
People of Pakistan resisted to the idea of attacking their own brothers but public opinion was “Corrected” by the use of this coward tactic. I think these attacks are the reason not the result of Pakistan’s involvement in this so called war.
Dear Admin,
my suggestion as follows:
If Pakistan did not help U.S. in Afghanistan during 1979 , would it still be a victim of terrorism in 2009?
Kind Regards
Tahir
well i think yes now but that would be a total different kind of circumstance.
@ADMIN
thanx
usman mazhar
pti member
What year are you talking about? If you are talking about 1980 t0 1988, then no. If you are talking about 2001, then yes.
It is quite obvious and those who are ignorant should read the history, that terrorism started in pakistan after when we launched operation in 2004 in tribal areas . It got worse, when our so called brave security forces raided Lal Masjid unnecessarilyand killed innocent students.
What is quite obvious is the audacious ignorance of those who dont live in any part of Pakhtoonkhwa, dont know the history of Pakhtoonkhwa (NWFP), dont even understand at all how we Pakhtoon were made to suffer and dont bother feel ashemed of Zia’s unconditional support to US to help them gain strategic gains in the region by using Pakistan as proxy war base. In return we got so called mujahedeen who refused to leave Pakistan and set up their own Shariat state called Islamic Imarat of Waziristan in Pakhtoon land. Long story short when General Orakzai had Naik Mohammed agreed to a peace plan these foreign terrorists in the disguise of our guests refused to leave. As a result US got the opportunity again to hit on Pakistani interests and push a 3rd rated Pak Military officer to lauch a half-hearted attack on them.
Pakhtoonkhwa Zindabad
Pakistan Payyandabad
Tahir Mukhtar
There were 3 bulls red,black and white. And all three were best friends. There was a pack of wolves who wanted to eat all these bulls but could not do so coz all the 3 bulls fight togather the invaders. The wolf leader HIRED a fox to help them in separating the 3 bulls. The fox went to red and black bull and told them that the white bull is not the same color and does not look alike as both of you. So you two should not bother to defend the white bull against the wolves coz wolves are only against the white bull. So when the wolves attack the white bull the other two just watched and thought that their problem is solved.
After few days the wolves became hungry and HIRED the same fox. The fox went to red bull and told him that you are superior to the black bull and black is not the color of your race. So the wolves attack the black bull and finished him.
After few days the wolves became hungry and attacked the red bull. When the wolves approached the red bull they said it is now your time to die. The red bull replied with sarrow, “I DIED THE SAME DAY WHEN YOU HAD KILLED THE WHITE BULL.”
@agrana75
“It is quite obvious and those who are ignorant should read the history, that terrorism started in pakistan after when we launched operation in 2004 in tribal areas . It got worse, when our so called brave security forces raided Lal Masjid unnecessarilyand killed innocent students.”
These aren’t causes. This is a timeline detailing events.
@ Ali Q
and what are the causes. plz share.
@tmukhtar said:
“”"Dear Admin,
my suggestion as follows:
If Pakistan did not help U.S. in Afghanistan during 1979 , would it still be a victim of terrorism in 2009?”"
I agree with your suggestion !
————————————————————–
Yes, if we are talking about 2001 !
No, if we are talking about 1979 !
if america leaves afghanistan,with in two months taliban will capture kabal and there will bi civil war among differient factions.
Well done, Pakistan army ! What any army in the entire world can dream of doing it, our brave army has achieved it just in a matter of days (MashaAllah). Each day, our army is killing at least 60 or 70 terrorists. That’s just outstanding. Compare any army in the entire world with Pakistan army. You will always find Pakistani armed forces at the top. Moreover, I would also like to pay tribute to all those innocent families whose loved ones have been martyred in all these suicide bomb blasts. Pakistan zindabad
COME WHAT MAY Pakistan would still be A VICTIM of (United States) terrorism.
When our great ‘leaders; like the ex-Dictator Musharaf present/offer our country’s ‘backside’ for a free ‘F$$K’ to the Yankees, then that is exactly going to happen.
And especially when that guy himself has ‘runaway’ to ‘greener pastures’ of LONDON-ISTAN for a ’sojourn’ with an intention NEVER TO COME BACK.
That traitor also knows for sure that people of this country will ‘tear him to pieces’ with their ‘BARE HANDS, once they find him in their midst !
People of Pakistan should please WAIT & SEE, what will happen to that guy if he ever decides to return here.
this is dumbest question you could have come up with. The answer is flat-out “NO”.
Since the Nato and Americans are in the Afghanistan they have brought Pakistan’s mortal enemy there and they are still there looking for a ghost called “Binhasbeen” to justify this occupation.
This occupation has the hands of Indian and their “new” brothers in crime against the Muslims, Israelis hands all over it.
There are tens of thousands of Indian military, military contractors, their intelligence who are funding and training the terrorist to destabilize Pakistan and balance the Kashmir freedom movement with their own separatist goons in Baluchistan and keep the Pakistanis busy fighting each other.
I cant believe that you people are such simpletons or incompetent to see the big picture.
Its not as black and white as you put it in a simplistic double negative question.
The question should have been that “If USA and Nato leave Afghanistan and UN or the American’s force the Indians to take their more than ten consulates out of Afghanistan and their agents disguised as reconstruction crews and military disguised as protecting those and training the local people, have the Tajik’s to go back to Tajikistan, the Israeli agents go back to New York, the Iranian agents to go back to Iran and the Russian agents to go back to Russia and the Baluchistan libration army goons to go to hell and stop funding the local warlords with money ,weapons and stop buying and help traffic their drugs, stop supporting a failed puppet governments in Pakistan and Afghanistan, stop buying the Pakistani mercenary military elites and having them create terror in their own country, stop drone attacks, stop insulting the sensibility of the religious types and so on and so forth…..than would that create the conducive environment for peace in Pakistan”?
Now read my question and contemplate that what is the likelihood of all this?
Pakistan would not have been a victim of terrorism if we would not have joined this war, but you can not discount the factors that would have been drawn us into it somehow but this is a hypothesis. But the truth is that we have to deal with the terrorism once and for all now that we are part of this so called “War on Terror”.
@ Eyrie.
In the military terminology there is a word called ‘mobilization’ which means ‘an act of marshaling & organizing’ the troops; or for that matter ‘assembling & putting into readiness, ‘ TROOPS FOR WAR.’
If memory serves us right, way back during the ‘65 & ‘71 wars, ( which took place between India & Pakistan,) our Defense Forces not only announced but actually carried-out a full ‘mobilization’ of the troops.
A series of actions were thus taken on a ‘war footing’ while the troops were moved out from peace locations to ‘battle stations.’
But so far no such actions seem to have been taken by either the present govt (or by the past 08 years by the govt of Mush,) probably because all actions taken so far under ‘War OF Terror’ seemed to have taken place, in the ‘aid of civil power’ which was a legacy left by our stalwart’ called Musharaf, to be followed & emulated by PPP’s heart-throb ‘ZORDARI’.
@hasankhan said:
” If america leaves afghanistan,with in two months taliban will capture kabal and there will bi civil war among differient factions”
Then at least , they will not fight against pakistan..:)
If the poll is about first Afghan war, then the answer is definite YES
Had he stayed away from USA, CIA, and Mujahideen..we would be so much better shape.
if america leaves afghanistan,it will hearten fundamentalist forces.definitely these forces will try to take afghanistan as well as pakistan.situation can be much worst than its now.
@hasan khan
you are think same as i am think. you are 200% right. pakistan is victum of na pak army of uneducated extremists. ok then finish this na pak army of terrorists. if america also help why not good for pakistan.
Allah Pakistan ki Hifazat Karay Ameen!!
But integrety of Pakistan is in real danger not because of US/Isral/India/West/China/Combodia/Uganda or from the whole world but from the brutalTaliban-Alqeda nexus & their stupid supporters.
I am not surprized to see the majority on this forum thinks that by not doing any thing against these violant murderers we will be safe from their terrorism afterwards…
Pakistani majority indirectly or directly supporting cause of Taliban-Alqeaeda proves that we Pakistani nation are real Jack Ass or Gadhay as Habib Jalib said …we just dont get it…we are still confused on who makes terrorism & why we should take any action against international terrorists..
I would like to ask one simple question to the people who say Pakistan would be the victim of anyway whether it cooperate with west or not.
Suppose a person with curious mind, do some research and learns and finally came to know that yeah Islam is the truth and the only way to survive in this world and the world hereafter is to follow it. So he starts telling that to his family and friends and try to help them in the daily affairs and save them from fire of hell (in which he strongly believes as mentioned in the Glorious Quran). But he doesn’t get much of success in convincing them. So he turns to the source as he knows it, the Iswa-Husna (the Biography of our Holy Prophet pbuh). He sees that Holy Prophet faced the same problem when He pbuh tried to convince the people of Makkah about the Truth. He comes to know that Holy Prophet pbuh strived for 10 years and in that long period only around 100 people embraced Islam. He pbuh migrated to Maddinah, where more people were willing to accept the Truth and sacrifice their live for it. So He pbuh went to Maddinah with His companions and then returned to Makkah with the force of 10,000 people.
So the person who is seeking guidance in the Iswa-Husna of Holy Prophet pbuh learns that he is far more friendlier conditions as compared to the Holy Prophet pbuh. He is in the state where majority of the people accept that Allah is the one Who should be the Ruler of their personal and social matters. Only problem is that these believes are just faded a little, they are only needed to be told that your Lord has told you to say five obligatory prayers, to pay Zakat, treat your women respectfully, forbid you to take interest, bribe, not to listen to the music, not to drink, not to commit adultery, save yourself and the ones your love from the blazing Hell Fire. Learning Quran and Sunnah of the Holy Prophet pbuh he finds that he only ought to convince some people and then try to find some way to give whole society that kind of environment in which the people who have forgotten their Creator and the purpose of their creation are reminded and come back to the way of Islam. So he organizes those people who agree to implement the commandments of their lord and strives to create a community obedient to their Lord and example for other people of the world.
I just want to know what is wrong in that. I agree that they have agenda and they have plane to overcome whole of our country. But I really would love some answers. There are some organizations which are promoting terrorism. But everyone agrees that killing innocent people is in no way allowed even in the war. Those miscreants involved in such activities should be handled by force.
The Islamist organisation, Hizb-ut Tahrir has been banned in Bangladesh Just because they are working for the rule of Islam in their land. It is the first time that an Islamist group which has not been implicated in any terrorist acts been outlawed. And only thing which hurts is that the people who banned are the same who 60 years ago sacrificed their lives because they wanted to be ruled by the law of their Lord instead of manmade laws of British or Indian parliaments. Now their minds or so poisoned that they even resent the fact that anyone of them is working for the same cause they once sacrificed for.
So dear brothers and sisters wake up, please try to learn Islam. Only that way we can defeat the threats faced by our beloved country. Do oppose Taliban and Al Qaida, who are killing so many innocents in the name of Islam and actually defaming Islam. But please don’t oppose the nice Islamic mindset associated to them, like they wanna implement the Shariah, they wanna disallow any music and drinking, they illegalize interest, they want our society which is fearful in disobeying the laws of our Creator and encouraging in adhering to the Best of all the examples (Iswa-Husna of Holy Prophet pbuh). Please do oppose the terrorism ripping apart our Muslim nation, but don’t be the part of agenda where west and our beloved democratic leaders are trying all these things to associate with terrorism and slowly changing our minds with the help of media against fundamentals of Islam. Remember we will not be terrorized by any peaceful organization propagating Islam.
Pakistan has a real threat not from Al Qaida or Talibans but from US. US is supporting some of their criminal elements. The war on terror actually was not against terrorists but 1 of its objective is to disintegrate Pakistan.
It’s now time for us to realize our true enemy, and beware it is not alqaida or taliban, it is US and its intelligence agencies.
Mind 1 thing “behind every Bomblast in Pakistan their is a secret Shadow of CIA, MOSAD and RAW”
IF we want real peace in the region WE MUST PUT THEM OUT OF HERE
Pakistan would have to face this cruelty, come what may, reason being, geo-politically and strategically we are living in such an important place that majority of us probably does not understands.
We could have avoided this all non sense, provided we had a proper system of governance in place. We have negated ( as a nation) certain basics and we could not do well at social & ethical fronts, so now lets face the music.
Mir Sadiq and Mir Jafar( Our Politicians, generals , bureaucrats ,Talibans ) are more dangerous than our enemy (USA).
This is an Open Challenge at the extent of — ready to Bet — even Today Pakistan Announce Disengagement of this so called Imposed Heavily =War Against Terror= America will not waste any single minute to continue further the same war.
If I had been in place of Pervaiz Kiyani or Shuja Pasha I would offer a 4/5 years ago directly to Russian President “Putin Administration” against how much they would pay/transmit in Pakistan Treasury if we/Pakistani Suppose to PAY OFF their Revenge of Afghan War from America. Believe Me Just to Block the Supply Line. As I have been shouting for years even on this forum.
As our Beloved Prophet Muhammad Ss used the Tactic to stopped the Trade Route of Quraish which was leading to Syria & succeed.
This is also a Legal Advise to my Patriotic Armed Personnel/High Profile Officials as the same advised was posted 6/7 years ago at the forum of South Asia Tribune of Shaheen Sehbai by me.
Huldi Lagay Na Phitkary Rung Bhee Chookha!
Pakistan is a corridor of powers. We could have avoided all this non sense by good governance and following the principles of islam, but unfortunately on our part we just misbehaved. And as for as the foriegn powers are concerned they want this region permanently destabilized because this way this corridor is easy to use ( easy to negotiate, to buy loyalities if people are poor), otherwise this region can charge a lot, manuplate things.
So in my view this is both foriegn powers and us are responsible for this.
I think Alqaida is only an imagination, or at least affiliation towards a certain ideolgy certainly not an organised group.
When Zia supported Jihad in Afghanistan ( he might have been wrong, which i very much doubt) they cleaned everything after the russians left. Pakistan was peaceful and it remained for at least more than a decade. Even after 9/11, for 3-4 years it remained peaceful, It only started when musharaf knowingly sent army to these areas to kill innocent people who were not against pakistan at all, and this happened first time in the history of pakistan.
Pakistan was always stable does not matter what happens in afghanistan.
So i think support of afghanistan during russian invasion has nothing to do with today.
This stance has only been used by ANP and PPP( and later on by MQM ) fisttime for political purpose. Because firstly they were against Zia ( i personally dont support zia but one has to be truthful)
and secondly to defend Musharaf who did deals with it.
@adnan arshad
If I had been in place of Pervaiz Kiyani or Shuja Pasha
===================================
you can never become Pervaiz Kiyani or Shuja Pasha. you will not be recruit as peon in army. stop see dreams.
kia mun, kia masoor ki daal
Huldi Lagay aur Phitkary par Rung ghaib!
ok
@all those who answered “no”
an inherently evil force existed pre 9/11. The events of 9/11 were merely a catalyst – and there is no guarantee our children or our children’s children wouldn’t be victims of terrorism.
Pakistan, with some measure of success, had domesticated a wild animal. (It can be argued that it was the best Pakistan could do given our resources). While it gave Pakistanis their peace of mind, it was always going to be a temporary solution.
so, my belief is, when someone suggests that our support of america is what brought this hell upon us..they are really just enlightening us on a timeline (and not a cause-effect relationship).
To further clarify:
It’s like stating “I started my economics degree when I was 19.” While that is true that I was 19, but being 19 is not the reason I studied economics at university.
maulajatt said:@adnan arshad If I had been in place of Pervaiz Kiyani or Shuja Pasha===================================
you can never become Pervaiz Kiyani or Shuja Pasha. you will not be recruit as peon in army. stop see dreams. kia mun, kia masoor ki daal
Huldi Lagay aur Phitkary par Rung ghaib! — ok.
======xxxxxx=====
No Not Ok – How can you say with assurance? — Its quiet possible may be right now I have been sitting at any Intelligence Agency or even from residence I have been deputed by any xyz agency & might be directly posting to you this mail directly from that particular Agency or on behalf of them as you do not know my Geography or even by putting some efforts you may get some success but you do not know what is my current association – past or present!!!????
Therefore, how can you be so Affirmative? – As you do not know even ABC of the aforementioned – Oh Jatiaaaaaaaaaaaaaa Oyeeeaaaaeeeeeeeeeee.
@ maulajatt
I think what A.A.Mansoori is trying to point to us, is that we really do not know who all are the senders/originators of comments on this website.
He maybe right in saying that such a person could himself be a ’secret agent’ of ANY SPY AGENCY. So the question is, that are we aware of them when they pose as simple commentators?
@ A.A.Mansoori. Am I right, please?
sabazbagh – Oh Yesssss — Intelligent & Smart Boy.
Off course we are at this point because of USA and infact USA wants us to be like what we are today. so USA is achieving her goals. but we are loosing and we are loosing everything. because my dear pakistani brothers n sisters we have nothing but Pakistan.
but we would not have been at this point if we ourselves wanted not to be.
Unfortunately we (by “WE” i mean our characterless leaders in particular and
the people of Pakistan in generel) are allowing USA to come and conquer us.
HUM KOEE NATION HAIN?????
HUM KESI “ZINDA KAUM” HAIN
this is my question
PLEASE THINK!
KIA HUM KOE KAUM HAIN BHI???
KOE NATION APNI MAA KO BAICH DETI HY?
KIA HUM NY AISA NAHI KIA?
PAKISTAN HAMARI MAA HY NA?
KIA HUM NY IS KA SAUDA NAHI KIA?
KIS KIS KA NAAM LOON?
KIA AAJ PAKISTAN K AKSER LOG NAHI JANTY
HAMARI “MADR E WATAN” KA KIA HASHER KER DIA GYA
MERA EEMAN HAY KEY AIK DIN HUM JEET JAYEN GY
LAIKAN JO KUCH BHI HUM NE KIA AUR KER RAHY HAIN
KIA PAKISTAN YEH DESERVE KERTA THA,
PAKSITAN KA TO MATLAB HI PAK LOGON KI ZAMEEN HY
PHIR YEH KIA HUA??
why to get angry with USA or India or blah blah blah
we did all damage by our own hands.
pakistan would have been victim of terrorism because of it’s location on world’s map.
pakistan is surounded by india, afgahnistan and iran if, you search bit more about history of these three neighbours you will come to know that none of them actually wants peace in pakistan. india always been our enemy and we fought war thrice with em. pak afghan border is the most open border on this planet. you will see the sign “every one is invited” on pak afghan border. because of same tradition, culture and religion people in tribal areas support afghanistan more than pakistan thats why they always emphasis on america is in afghanistan, pakistan is fighting against us and bla bla. now common sense does’nt support these arguments what we gotta do with american presence in afghanistan. pakistan has his own history, culture and citizen of pakistan would love to be under democracy rather than anything else.if, pak army is fighting against extremist in pakistan that does’nt mean extremist have a right to blow one of us to balance the equation.
iran is supporting balouch tribes(guardian) in balouchistan.
if extremist are hiding in tribal areas pak army got no choice they got to eliminate them to secure our country.
it’s our own problem which we created 30 years ago now is the time to solve it for good or let them destroy our country just because our belief differs.
My dear fellow Pakistanis,
One of the most difficult things in science, economics, politics and even human relations is to understand causality. What action caused another? Did the cold weather lead to a person catching cold, or is it that people crowd around each other more, and are therefore more likely to pass on viruses to each other in the cold? It took science many hundreds of years to break this myth. That cold does not lead to catching a cold. Yet how many of us keep insisting and believing it?
The 67% of respondents who believe with all their hearts that its just the US actions in Afghanistan that lead to terrorism in Pakistan are perhaps too young to remember General Zia, and his systematic policy of Islamization, the importation of Wahabi culture into Pakistan, the invitation to the whole Arab world to send their “fighters” to Pakistan to fight the soviets. That’s where the character and nature of the tolerant Islam practiced by Pakistanis started to change. I remember living in Islamabad as a teenager at that time, and looking in amazement at Large land cruisers filled with Mujahideen zipping around town, with gun toting guards – something that was unusual for the time. Fast forward 25 years and those who cry for Lal masjid martyrs never ask the question: What were hundreds of guns, rocket launchers, grenades and militants doing in a house of worship? Is that the Islam we want? This is the fruit of the Zia era which is ripening now in every corner of Pakistan: guns, heroin, narco dollars, and extremist ideology – kill Shias, kill sufis, kill Qadianis, kill Christians.
Now, I know what many will say: America made us do it. America was fighting the soviets and created these monsters. True. But who was America’s willing partner? And when America left, who had the genius idea of using these jihadis against India in Kashmir? Who created the Taliban? It was our very own ISI, with the intention of ruling Afghans, in order to have strategic depth against India. So those who keep blaming Amreeka conveniently forget their own role. Regarding India, can I ask a gentle question (by the way I am a Pakistani with deep love for my country, with family members who are in the military and one cousin who as a lieutenant became paralyzed in the line of duty): Why is it that when we had these jihadis fighting in Kashmir, killing innocent Indians, we were all quite happy, but now that these people have turned their guns against us, we start crying India, India, the Indians are doing it! Weren’t we doing it just a short while ago? Neither was it right when we were doing it, nor is it right when it is being done against us.
By the way, on the last point, I’m sure certain elements in India take pleasure in the difficulties Pakistan is facing (remember just months ago, some Pakistanis were quite delighted when a tragedy like the Mumbai attack occurred), but by and large what we are facing is a home grown insurgency by extremist militants who were previously encouraged and supported by the Pakistani state but now feel betrayed and abandoned that we are not turning into an Islamic Emirate of Pakistan, and are not continuing to support them in Afghanistan and India (it is very much in our strategic interest to have peaceful relations on both our borders). But how can Jihadis who have grown up on their hatred for India accept this common sense course correction by Pakistan? No, they have said, if you don’t do things the way we like, impose Islam malakand style, and turn Pakistan into a stone age Afghanistan, we will take revenge on all Pakistanis. Do you think if the US leaves tomorrow, these wonderful Uzbeks and others will go back to farming tobacco or tending to goats? No, they are fired up by an extremist ideology which takes no hostages, and does not stop until stopped by force. After all, we made several peace deals in FATA and Swat. What happened? It boggles any sane person’s mind that many of us think that all of these Uzbeks and others are Indian agents. We invited them in. We trained them. We set up Madrassas for Afghan refugees’ children who have now grown up and turned into the Taliban. How quickly we forget.
Trace any attack happening in any part of the world, and you can source it back to Fata. So if we are fighting there, we are fighting for our own country, to take it back from invaders who wear an Islamic beard but do horrible things in Islam’s name. The reason I emphasize our responsibility is that unless we own up to it, we can never correct ourselves. Just blaming other countries and evil conspiracies against poor little Pakistan simply makes us seems like cry babies, and more importantly, dooms us to repeating the same mistakes. For example, after clearing Swat of militants, the government and the people of Pakistan should have made a massive effort to build schools, bring mobile judiciary branches to Mingora, hire thousands of locals as police, and provide business loans and start up funds and cash compensation to victims so that the people of Swat would feel happy and supported by the State. Instead, the poor citizens have been dumped back in their shelled out towns, without jobs, with their crops destroyed and schools burnt down. Do you think there’s a chance that the militants will return and that some people will start siding with them? We never learn, we never try to be proactive, instead we just react to the latest crisis and try to survive another day. Is that the fault of foreign evil forces? Is Amreeka telling us, “no, don’t go into Swat and improve the lives of people. Obama does not allow it” of course not. Its us, we have become a callous, uncaring society, with each one of us, just looking after themselves, only worried about today. The immediate problem in Swat is solved (for the moment), so let’s move on to the next show.
A brilliant writer wrote, its time to stop mopping and instead turn the tap off.
Final paragraph: (whew). I know the responses I will get: I will be called an Israeli agent, indian agent, psuedo liberal, etc etc. Please ask yourself the following questions before you start your tirades:
1. Pakistan’s terribly low literacy rate, when other countries in the region like Srilanka are near 90%. Is this also an Israeli sazish?
2. The electricity in the 10th most populous country in the world is not “on” for more than half the day, leading to the collapse of basic industries. Indian sazish or lack of planning and accountability at the top (Musharraf, Zardari, Nawaz, Benazir, all. You have to anticipate 15 years ahead and put up electricity plants so this problem is several decades old and is only manifesting itself now).
3. Judicial system completely dysfunctional: No justice, people hanged on false witnesses. Blind women in jail who have been raped but have been accused of Zana (how is the poor girl, supposed to bring 4 witnesses who will prove she is innocent?). Amreeki Sazish perhaps? Maybe the handiwork of Kerry-Lugar?
4. Number of patents issued to Pakistanis, number of articles published in international scientific journals, number of PhD students, number of global level multinational firms of Pakistani origin, close to zero, whereas number of bride burnings, mothers dying during child birth, gun violence and large scale corruption cases, close to world records. This also must be a global conspiracy against Pakistan, right?
5. Beggars on every street corner, hungry, naked, poor. Child labourers in every mechanic’s shop. Who is behind that? I hope you’re getting my point.
Mere humwatno, jago, ankhen kholo aur khudi ko buland karo jaise Iqbal ne kaha tha, or Sir syed ne koshish ki thi. This is the economic age, the internet age. Having a million soldiers and hundreds of Generals means nothing if you do not have education, civic sense and justice. Throughout history, those who have improved themselves and educated themselves, and looked ahead have climbed mountains and emerged as great nations (think of Japan after being bombed with nuclear weapons – it could have blamed the US for the rest of its life and remained poor and destitute, but chose to educate itself and overcome the odds).
Those nations that choose to just sit in their drawing rooms and point fingers and complain about their sovereignty (which by the way disappears when your entire economy is dependent on WB, IMF, USA and “friends of Pakistan” – after all, how much sovereignty does the beggar have who is knocking on your car window with a child on her shoulder?), those nations just vanish, like the Mughal kingdom, which declined from the four corners of India, to central India, then to Delhi, and then ultimately to the Red fort, where bahadur Shah Zafar lived on handouts.
May Allah have mercy on Pakistan, and give us the strength and vision to educate ourselves, invest in our people, love those who are from different sects and religions, and take responsibility for our own improvement – otherwise, the Lahore Fort will not be able to fit us all.
If you join PML-N then you wont get punishment for Zana in Pakistan. There mna rapist will win in next election together with Nawaz(who did nothing against him). And mr. Ifthekar Chaudry is not doing anything against him, he is too busy saving Nawaz from his old crime cases.
Unbelievable. Most of you have no memory before 2001 it seems when we suffered from jihadi terrorism almost daily as well. Also, who do you think was doing killing of fellow Muslims in Afghanistan and even Kashmir during the same time but jihadis.
I still remember when the jihadi groups used to openly come for donations and everyone used to give to these crazy psychopaths. They still do it, but under disguise of charities now.
The precise reason the terrorists are attacking Pakistanis is to weaken their resolve to fight them. The question is, will the attacks be successful in weakening that resolve. I certainly hope it isn’t, because the world needs their help against this global menace.
@Admin I am not able to play any videos on my BlackBerry Storm 9530. I get the following error when. […]