Kashif Abbasi brings a very interesting episode of Off The Record with Dr. Shahid Masood, Nusrat Javed, Ahsan Iqbal (PMLN), Fauzia Wahab (PPP) and Nadeem Afzal Chan (PPP) on issue of PPP vs Media.
WELDONE DR. SHAHID we all love u and respect u, this idiot minister was trying to be a funny, he should think what is he, to attack on u, shame on u ppp jiyalay.
Why nusrat in this show, he is zaradri’s chumcha, talking rubbish.
آج انصارابا سی نے نذیر نا جی کی بند کر دی .انصار ابا سی تھجھے سلام ..نذیر ناجی ایک شرابی انسان ہے .اس کا آج منہ کالا ہوا .بارا مزہ آیا ..حامد میر کے پروگرام میں ………..
One sided. If you expect me to believe that “owners” & media houses do not have their own agenda then ………………….Ever heard of Rupert Murdock & Fox TV & Times of London – now he even owns the Wall Street Journal – that he does not have his own ideology that he’s promoting – you can not sell this. Shahid Masood does not have an ideology that he pushes ? grow up. He brings Imran Khan like a kid in a pram to the programs and spoon feeds him questions – this is called building up a politician. Nusrat’s points are all very valid but let’s not pretend that the media does not have an agenda which would be nonsense. Compare the Urdu press to Dawn & Daily Times (especially Friday Times) – and you’ll begin to understand there are 2 competing world views. Nusrat talks about the contempt of the politicians towards the “take ke journalists” – he could have added – the Generals have the same view plus they have the advantage they can shrink wrap their press briefings with the flag.
All this is not country specific – these are the rules of the game.
I humbly disagree with Nusrat saying perception of DO TAKEY KE SAHAFY and contempt for common man.
This is not limited to any class. this a feeling and can happen to any one,. stop pretending that we as a nation have a problem. got some money/ fame you loose your minds.
what to say of jornalists. Visting any public area always thretening a public service or common man that iw ill write agianst you in paper.
stop staying in the sand like ostrich.
the big name in jorunalism have they ever stand in any qeue for utility or other bills.
no sir put your house in order as well.
Nadeem afzal chan nay pehlay apnay aap ko nanga kia, phir Zardari ko nanga kia, phir Dr. SM ko nanga karnay ki koshish ki. Agar nadeem Afzal Insan hota ( i dont think so ) jo banda Zardari ko justify karay wo insan ( mujay to shak hi hay janab )
YE BHI ACHHA PROGRAM HAI BUT AAJ CAPITAL TLAK BOHOT AALA THA. NAJI SHARABI KUTTI KO KAFI SHARMINDGI HUI. LEKEN US KO TO SHARAM AATI HI NAHEEN. ANSAR ABBASI ZINDA BAD
Give Nazir Naji PPP ticket from anywhere in Sind, and he can win eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeasily, so what is this fuss all about. Nazir Naji is a big supporter of Bhutto family. Zardari is not worried at all about NRO, because ANP and Maulvi Diesel Tanker is fully backing Zardari. And it appears that MQM for the last 2 days is striking a deal with Zardari and will in return get a very heavy bhutta. Please remember that PML-N and PML-Q put forward their own Presidential Candidates and MQM supported Zardari.
In fact Zardari is worried about Imran Khan’s and JI’s Long March. Although the record of Gen Musharraf is not impressive at all but if Gen Kiyani is prepared to overthrow Zardari then this should be welcomed. An Army backed Govt is 100 times better then Bhutto family rule. Bhutto family is the root cause of all problems. Pakistan’s Number 1 problem is Zardari. There is no other problem in Pakistan
Bhutto family is even bigger threat than Taliban.
Iqbal Chand has a point, why media does not bring up some bureaucrats’ corruption etc. Everthing looks good in modeartion and i am not saying media is exceeding its limits but probably a day will come when some media moghuls will start framing opinions. People who do not read are much susceptible to these sound bites and are prone to form an opinion which might negate reality on the ground. This is exactly how the media has framed opinion in favor of Israel in US. As far as Dr. Shahid is concerned, I would really like to know what prompted him to take up a position in PTV and cozy up with the ruling elite…I believe that really jeopardized his integrity. I also think he is very close to “establishment” and normally comes up with information (and I am not debating the accuracy of the information) which no one else is privy to, unless Dr. Shahid breaks it.
Also, everyone is liable to err, being frail human beings… and that does not exclude media. Media is open to critisize and should be open to take criticism. Its a two way street… I like Talat Hussain because of his intellect and Kashif Abbasi because of his daring nature… however this Nusrat Javed speaks as if he is the the most bright sage and rest of the people are either very naive or plainly stupid and he always sounds if is the greatest intellectual of all time…
A US army major has opened fire on fellow soldiers at the Fort Hood military base in Texas, killing 12 people and injuring 31, officials say.
Base commander Lt Gen Bob Cone said that the gunman had not been killed, as earlier stated, but was in custody.
Two other suspects were questioned, but the army now says only one gunman was involved in the incident.
Lt Gen Cone said the motive for the shooting was not known. One of the dead was a policeman, others were soldiers.
President Barack Obama described it as “a horrific outburst of violence”.
Speaking at a press conference in Washington, he said: “It is difficult enough when we lose these brave men and women abroad, but it is horrifying that they should come under fire at an army base on US soil.”
He extended his condolences to the families of the victims, adding: “We will make sure that we get answers to every single question about this horrible incident.”
‘Racial harassment’
Eleven victims were initially reported dead, but one of the injured died, bringing the death toll to 12.
The gunman has been named as Major Nidal Malik Hasan. He is now said to be wounded after being shot a number of times, but in a stable condition in custody.
“His death is not imminent,” said Lt Gen Cone.
Maj Hasan, aged 39, was a military psychiatrist and was reportedly due to be sent on a mission to Iraq.
His cousin said Maj Hasan – a US-born Muslim – had been resisting such a deployment.
“He hired a military attorney to try to have the issue resolved, pay back the government, to get out of the military. He was at the end of trying everything,” Nader Hasan told Fox News.
He also said that Nidal Malik Hasan had been battling racial harassment because of his “Middle Eastern ethnicity”.
Prior to Fort Hood, Maj Hasan served as a psychiatrist at the Walter Reed Army Medical Center in Washington, which treats wounded troops from combat zones.
Witness’ account
The shooting had begun at about 1330 (1930 GMT) on Thursday at a personnel and medical centre at Fort Hood, where soldiers who are preparing to deploy go for last-minute medical check-ups, Lt Gen Cone said.
He said the gunman had two weapons, one semi-automatic, which “might explain the rate of fire”.
Asked whether the shootings were a terrorist act, Lt Gen Cone said: “I couldn’t rule that out but I’m telling you that right now, the evidence does not suggest that.”
Two more suspects were apprehended in an adjacent facility, he said, but eyewitness accounts suggesting there might have been more than one gunman were later discounted.
A serviceman stationed at Fort Hood who asked to remain anonymous told the BBC: “I heard the emergency announcement over the speakers outside and saw people rushing to get indoors.”
Local congressman John Carter, speaking to NBC News, said gunfire had erupted half an hour before a graduation ceremony was due to begin.
‘Like a city’
Fort Hood, near the town of Killeen, is the largest US base in the world.
Home to about 40,000 US troops, the base lies between Austin and Waco, about 60 miles (100 km) from each city.
The BBC’s Adam Brookes in Washington says units at Fort Hood are among those deployed in Iraq and Afghanistan, and some will have returned from there.
The base has a centre that deals with combat stress, our correspondent adds.
Hilary Shine, of the Killeen Fire Department told the BBC’s News Channel Fort Hood was like a small city.
“It has schools, a hospital, a convenience store even. And it has a large daytime population – including civilians working on the base – with as many as 80,000 in this area during the daytime.”
If still any body wants to believe in Dr. Shahid Masood, then he just wants to listen all those ferry tales, he made by his own.
Its not the Nadeem Afzal who knows about Dr. Shahid Masood, there are so many journalist who know that Dr. Shahid Masood was always praising Asif Ali Zardari (TC) all the time on his face and finally got MD PTV job designation and accept out of way, very heavy salary of 700000 Rs. and even his salary was discussed in Senate. This is also true, he was use to live in Marriat hotel on public money. Since he has annoying personality so he was trying to kick out Shahid Mehmood Nadeem from PTV. Shaid Mehmood Nadeem is very creative and competent person. Shery Rehman took stand on this issue, but Dr. SM was doing lot of TC of Asif Zardari to take his favor. He is lying dam hard when he says that he resigned from post of Advisor to PM. He was given that post temporarily and PM said that we are trying to adjust you somewhere. Finally when he observed that he would not be able to get some good position, then he grab the rest of money and find a space back on Geo. Now he talks about Islam and future of Pakistan.
When he joined PTV on invitation of Asif Ali Zardari, then where was NRO and all the corruption of Zardari. How anybody with some brain in head can believe that Dr. Shahid came to know about the corruption of Asif Zardari very recently and during all the time he spend in London PPP secretariat, he was not aware of this reality. Now he asks, what are the moral grounds of PPP government. Actually he wants to ask, what are the moral grounds of PPP government without me in Cabinet or on any Diplomat position.
We should very strongly condemn these hypo crate so called journalist. At least we should have some justifications to appreciate anybody. I agree everybody that Nazir Naji always support every government, so we should condemn him. But if we have to think logically, then we have to condemn Dr. SM also.
Daktur SM has no leg to stand on. He is in no way the same calibre as Nusrat Javed, Talat or Kashif—-wishful thinking on his part to place himself in the same league. As Janjuaraja said, he is a hypocrite and should be taken as that.
PML(N) should be ashamed of itself for not defending the media the way the caused raucous about NRO. They are all the same and they would do the same. One cannot wish that these politicians would rise above their own self interest and start serving the people. We are in dire need of genuine leadership and a new party to emerge which could represent people to the core.
I remained a part of Pakistan print media, though not for very long, but still can say from my experience that our media is no exception from other society and majority of these people have no moral grounds and standing. Most of these people including Nusrat Javed and Dr. Shahid Masood shows the same nature which they criticize on air.
Interestingly Nusrat Javed was very harsh and emphasized that our political class always shows hatred towards media and general public ridiculing their lower status. I personally have the same experience by the hands of Mr. Nusrat Javed, when he used to live in Sector G-8 long ago. He always let his dog go scot free, when few people living in the vicinity, including me, tried to convince him that his dog is a threat to general public walking on the sidewalks, he was very annoyed and since he was very well connected to ppp govt., especially Zardari he threatened everyone and never paid any heed to the neighbors. Now same Nusrat is criticizing the leaders for showing no respect to others.
BADALTA HAI RANG ASMAAN KAISAY KAISAY.
WELDONE DR. SHAHID we all love u and respect u, this idiot minister was trying to be a funny, he should think what is he, to attack on u, shame on u ppp jiyalay.
Why nusrat in this show, he is zaradri’s chumcha, talking rubbish.
آج انصارابا سی نے نذیر نا جی کی بند کر دی .انصار ابا سی تھجھے سلام ..نذیر ناجی ایک شرابی انسان ہے .اس کا آج منہ کالا ہوا .بارا مزہ آیا ..حامد میر کے پروگرام میں ………..
oh my GOD nusrat j b hell wowwwwwwwwwwww….seems to be nic show
nusrat javed was extremely harsh commedy and sarcastic, hahhaha
One sided. If you expect me to believe that “owners” & media houses do not have their own agenda then ………………….Ever heard of Rupert Murdock & Fox TV & Times of London – now he even owns the Wall Street Journal – that he does not have his own ideology that he’s promoting – you can not sell this. Shahid Masood does not have an ideology that he pushes ? grow up. He brings Imran Khan like a kid in a pram to the programs and spoon feeds him questions – this is called building up a politician. Nusrat’s points are all very valid but let’s not pretend that the media does not have an agenda which would be nonsense. Compare the Urdu press to Dawn & Daily Times (especially Friday Times) – and you’ll begin to understand there are 2 competing world views. Nusrat talks about the contempt of the politicians towards the “take ke journalists” – he could have added – the Generals have the same view plus they have the advantage they can shrink wrap their press briefings with the flag.
All this is not country specific – these are the rules of the game.
Too many guests in one program.
I humbly disagree with Nusrat saying perception of DO TAKEY KE SAHAFY and contempt for common man.
This is not limited to any class. this a feeling and can happen to any one,. stop pretending that we as a nation have a problem. got some money/ fame you loose your minds.
what to say of jornalists. Visting any public area always thretening a public service or common man that iw ill write agianst you in paper.
stop staying in the sand like ostrich.
the big name in jorunalism have they ever stand in any qeue for utility or other bills.
no sir put your house in order as well.
nadeem afzal nai daactar ko nanga ker dia.insan ho tou sherm sai mar jai
Nadeem afzal chan nay pehlay apnay aap ko nanga kia, phir Zardari ko nanga kia, phir Dr. SM ko nanga karnay ki koshish ki. Agar nadeem Afzal Insan hota ( i dont think so ) jo banda Zardari ko justify karay wo insan ( mujay to shak hi hay janab )
YE BHI ACHHA PROGRAM HAI BUT AAJ CAPITAL TLAK BOHOT AALA THA. NAJI SHARABI KUTTI KO KAFI SHARMINDGI HUI. LEKEN US KO TO SHARAM AATI HI NAHEEN. ANSAR ABBASI ZINDA BAD
Give Nazir Naji PPP ticket from anywhere in Sind, and he can win eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeasily, so what is this fuss all about. Nazir Naji is a big supporter of Bhutto family. Zardari is not worried at all about NRO, because ANP and Maulvi Diesel Tanker is fully backing Zardari. And it appears that MQM for the last 2 days is striking a deal with Zardari and will in return get a very heavy bhutta. Please remember that PML-N and PML-Q put forward their own Presidential Candidates and MQM supported Zardari.
In fact Zardari is worried about Imran Khan’s and JI’s Long March. Although the record of Gen Musharraf is not impressive at all but if Gen Kiyani is prepared to overthrow Zardari then this should be welcomed. An Army backed Govt is 100 times better then Bhutto family rule. Bhutto family is the root cause of all problems. Pakistan’s Number 1 problem is Zardari. There is no other problem in Pakistan
Bhutto family is even bigger threat than Taliban.
Iqbal Chand has a point, why media does not bring up some bureaucrats’ corruption etc. Everthing looks good in modeartion and i am not saying media is exceeding its limits but probably a day will come when some media moghuls will start framing opinions. People who do not read are much susceptible to these sound bites and are prone to form an opinion which might negate reality on the ground. This is exactly how the media has framed opinion in favor of Israel in US. As far as Dr. Shahid is concerned, I would really like to know what prompted him to take up a position in PTV and cozy up with the ruling elite…I believe that really jeopardized his integrity. I also think he is very close to “establishment” and normally comes up with information (and I am not debating the accuracy of the information) which no one else is privy to, unless Dr. Shahid breaks it.
Also, everyone is liable to err, being frail human beings… and that does not exclude media. Media is open to critisize and should be open to take criticism. Its a two way street… I like Talat Hussain because of his intellect and Kashif Abbasi because of his daring nature… however this Nusrat Javed speaks as if he is the the most bright sage and rest of the people are either very naive or plainly stupid and he always sounds if is the greatest intellectual of all time…
Deadly shootings at US army base
A US army major has opened fire on fellow soldiers at the Fort Hood military base in Texas, killing 12 people and injuring 31, officials say.
Base commander Lt Gen Bob Cone said that the gunman had not been killed, as earlier stated, but was in custody.
Two other suspects were questioned, but the army now says only one gunman was involved in the incident.
Lt Gen Cone said the motive for the shooting was not known. One of the dead was a policeman, others were soldiers.
President Barack Obama described it as “a horrific outburst of violence”.
Speaking at a press conference in Washington, he said: “It is difficult enough when we lose these brave men and women abroad, but it is horrifying that they should come under fire at an army base on US soil.”
He extended his condolences to the families of the victims, adding: “We will make sure that we get answers to every single question about this horrible incident.”
‘Racial harassment’
Eleven victims were initially reported dead, but one of the injured died, bringing the death toll to 12.
The gunman has been named as Major Nidal Malik Hasan. He is now said to be wounded after being shot a number of times, but in a stable condition in custody.
“His death is not imminent,” said Lt Gen Cone.
Maj Hasan, aged 39, was a military psychiatrist and was reportedly due to be sent on a mission to Iraq.
His cousin said Maj Hasan – a US-born Muslim – had been resisting such a deployment.
“He hired a military attorney to try to have the issue resolved, pay back the government, to get out of the military. He was at the end of trying everything,” Nader Hasan told Fox News.
He also said that Nidal Malik Hasan had been battling racial harassment because of his “Middle Eastern ethnicity”.
Prior to Fort Hood, Maj Hasan served as a psychiatrist at the Walter Reed Army Medical Center in Washington, which treats wounded troops from combat zones.
Witness’ account
The shooting had begun at about 1330 (1930 GMT) on Thursday at a personnel and medical centre at Fort Hood, where soldiers who are preparing to deploy go for last-minute medical check-ups, Lt Gen Cone said.
He said the gunman had two weapons, one semi-automatic, which “might explain the rate of fire”.
Asked whether the shootings were a terrorist act, Lt Gen Cone said: “I couldn’t rule that out but I’m telling you that right now, the evidence does not suggest that.”
Two more suspects were apprehended in an adjacent facility, he said, but eyewitness accounts suggesting there might have been more than one gunman were later discounted.
A serviceman stationed at Fort Hood who asked to remain anonymous told the BBC: “I heard the emergency announcement over the speakers outside and saw people rushing to get indoors.”
Local congressman John Carter, speaking to NBC News, said gunfire had erupted half an hour before a graduation ceremony was due to begin.
‘Like a city’
Fort Hood, near the town of Killeen, is the largest US base in the world.
Home to about 40,000 US troops, the base lies between Austin and Waco, about 60 miles (100 km) from each city.
The BBC’s Adam Brookes in Washington says units at Fort Hood are among those deployed in Iraq and Afghanistan, and some will have returned from there.
The base has a centre that deals with combat stress, our correspondent adds.
Hilary Shine, of the Killeen Fire Department told the BBC’s News Channel Fort Hood was like a small city.
“It has schools, a hospital, a convenience store even. And it has a large daytime population – including civilians working on the base – with as many as 80,000 in this area during the daytime.”
nusrat is killer today..
If still any body wants to believe in Dr. Shahid Masood, then he just wants to listen all those ferry tales, he made by his own.
Its not the Nadeem Afzal who knows about Dr. Shahid Masood, there are so many journalist who know that Dr. Shahid Masood was always praising Asif Ali Zardari (TC) all the time on his face and finally got MD PTV job designation and accept out of way, very heavy salary of 700000 Rs. and even his salary was discussed in Senate. This is also true, he was use to live in Marriat hotel on public money. Since he has annoying personality so he was trying to kick out Shahid Mehmood Nadeem from PTV. Shaid Mehmood Nadeem is very creative and competent person. Shery Rehman took stand on this issue, but Dr. SM was doing lot of TC of Asif Zardari to take his favor. He is lying dam hard when he says that he resigned from post of Advisor to PM. He was given that post temporarily and PM said that we are trying to adjust you somewhere. Finally when he observed that he would not be able to get some good position, then he grab the rest of money and find a space back on Geo. Now he talks about Islam and future of Pakistan.
When he joined PTV on invitation of Asif Ali Zardari, then where was NRO and all the corruption of Zardari. How anybody with some brain in head can believe that Dr. Shahid came to know about the corruption of Asif Zardari very recently and during all the time he spend in London PPP secretariat, he was not aware of this reality. Now he asks, what are the moral grounds of PPP government. Actually he wants to ask, what are the moral grounds of PPP government without me in Cabinet or on any Diplomat position.
We should very strongly condemn these hypo crate so called journalist. At least we should have some justifications to appreciate anybody. I agree everybody that Nazir Naji always support every government, so we should condemn him. But if we have to think logically, then we have to condemn Dr. SM also.
Daktur SM has no leg to stand on. He is in no way the same calibre as Nusrat Javed, Talat or Kashif—-wishful thinking on his part to place himself in the same league. As Janjuaraja said, he is a hypocrite and should be taken as that.
PML(N) should be ashamed of itself for not defending the media the way the caused raucous about NRO. They are all the same and they would do the same. One cannot wish that these politicians would rise above their own self interest and start serving the people. We are in dire need of genuine leadership and a new party to emerge which could represent people to the core.
I remained a part of Pakistan print media, though not for very long, but still can say from my experience that our media is no exception from other society and majority of these people have no moral grounds and standing. Most of these people including Nusrat Javed and Dr. Shahid Masood shows the same nature which they criticize on air.
Interestingly Nusrat Javed was very harsh and emphasized that our political class always shows hatred towards media and general public ridiculing their lower status. I personally have the same experience by the hands of Mr. Nusrat Javed, when he used to live in Sector G-8 long ago. He always let his dog go scot free, when few people living in the vicinity, including me, tried to convince him that his dog is a threat to general public walking on the sidewalks, he was very annoyed and since he was very well connected to ppp govt., especially Zardari he threatened everyone and never paid any heed to the neighbors. Now same Nusrat is criticizing the leaders for showing no respect to others.
BADALTA HAI RANG ASMAAN KAISAY KAISAY.
News Source... Additional material was found in this news story to assist you [...]...
Good Lord, we were zapped again. Thank you Rabia Zia. You are simply marvellous.