{ 60 comments... read them below or add one }

niazmand said:

Good programme. There is perhaps no understanding of the gravity of the problem of Balochistan in Islamabad. Akhtar mengal and Garzin Marri were asking for addressing their problems and giving confidence to peopl eof Balochistan, but you do not find a single step taken in last two years on the subject.
    Even more shameful is the style. If at all a package is being prepared for Balochsitan first of all all Baloch leaders like Mehmood Achakzai, Akhtar mengal and others should be taken on board.
    There should be a general amnesty for all Balochi nationalists to end this continuous fire fighting and political parties should play their role.
    Indians and Americans are using the angry and unemployed youth to their advantage. This issue should be addressed urgently.

tariqhussain said:

Even if India is involved in Balochistan, there should be a way out for us. Using force excessively may not give us a solution. We have seen failures of such a remedy, without proper political process, in east Pakistan.

Draw some lessons from the history and do something to save this country.

pakistanimunda said:

People of Baluchistan… Give Pakistan one last chance. Our leaders are corrupt but the common people are not and we are getting closer to the struggle against people who brought us to this lowest point in the history. Inshallah, there will be a day when we all will be proud of our country.

noorjan said:

I am not agreed with Kashmala Tqariq suggestion to divide Punjab into many small provinces.The problem is not size but justice.Is justice being done with Punjabis ? I do not think so,Punjab just never complaint.Another problem with nationalist leaders is that they consider Punjabi to every Urdu speaking person.We just keep talking about problems but we never sit down and try to understand each other to resolve the problems.

Awaam said:

One problem with Baloch nationalist leaders has always been lack of focus to get the real issues addressed rather they tend to start a blame game where it becomes difficult to understand.

Like it was a criminal act to kill baloch sardars, like Mr. Bugti, it is also criminal act to kill Hazaras or other settlers in Balochistan.

Instead of dividing ouselves into Punjabi and Balochis, which only serves the purpose of Indians, it would be better if say Pakistani people face this problem.

I think Akhtar Mengal was more rationale in his approach and Garzin, elder son of Nawab Khair Bakhsh Marri, was miss-directed.

Who is eating away resources of Balochistan if we look how Balochistan’s elected assembly is working where every member is a minister, enjoying perks of millions of rupee, looting the entire Balochistan budget, who are these MPs, they are definitely not Punjabis.

So, focus on issues, which are definitely there, but avoid giving it ethnic colour.

Awaam said:

There is one very serious problem with our political parties, they do not do any serious business. Take this issue of Balochistan where you do not have any divide on the basis of Balochistan, but even then you do not see a single road map or any vision of any leader available to people of Pakistan that how they want to address this issue.

Nawaz Sharif would be better placed if he shows some elderly leadership role and takes lead in contacting all the baloch Sardars and nationalist parties, invites a formal meeting and even goes a step further and invites th egovernment to be a part of the political process.

Balochis are part of Pakistan feel their pain and suggest remedies. How should we deal with our youth if there is any issue with them? Take them on baord and solution would be definitely there.

JJ Khan said:

India is a pretext for Army to not only justify its atrocities but also motivate its jawans and officers who murder and rape people thinking that they are killing indians.

Anywhere army needs to take action, they have to connect the situation with india and then use that energy to do what elites need to be done.

Army generals keep on fooling their junior officers and jawans with this false propaganda.

Bawa said:

@ JJ Khan

مجھے آپکے کومنٹس پڑھکر حیرت ہو رہی ہے. سمجھ نہیں آرہا کہ آپ پاکستانی ہیں یا انڈین؟ اسمیں کوئی شک نہیں کہ پاکستان کے دوسرے شعبوں کی طرح آرمی میں بھی چند کالی بھیڑیں ہونگی اور ہیں لیکن پوری آرمی کو یوں بدنام کرنا محب وطن لوگوں کا شیوہ نہیں. یہ ہماری فوج ہی ہے جس کی وجہ سے ہم آزادی کی زندگی گزار رہے ہیں اور بحیثیت پاکستانی قوم دنیا میں پہچانے جاتے ہیں. یہ آرمی ہی ھے جو دن رات جاگ کر ہماری سرحدوں کی حفاظت کرتی ھے. سیاہ چین کی پہاڑی چوٹیوں پر زندگی گزارنے والے کس کے لیے قربانیاں دے رہے ہیں؟ کبھی ان فوجی جوانوں سے ملیے گا جو کارگل میں ڈیوٹی دیتے ہوئے اپنے جسمانی اعضا سے محروم ہو کر گھر واپس لوٹتے ہیں. تب جا کر آپکو احساس ہوگا کہ ہماری فوج ہمارے لیے کیا کرتی ھے. فوج جاگتی ھے تو ہم سکوں سے سوتے ہیں

JJ Khan said:

Good effort by PPP govt to divert attention of people from military operations in NWFP to Baloch solution.

We will see this drama for some time until a new pandora’s box is ready to open.

Just a temporary time buying tactic to keep PML-N in the loop and people attention away from big issues exposed by Seymour Hersh.

I hope Baloch leaders will understand this and expose this tactic.

JJ Khan said:

@Bawa,

Keep reading and looking for appropriate label to apply. I will not be surprised to see some other rhetorical labels applied on my analysis.

:mrgreen:

Bawa said:

@ JJ Khan

I do not apply any label but just request you to keep in view the sacrifice of those who gave their lives to save our future.

JJ Khan said:

Remember the subject is Balochistan Package, try to see things in correct perspective so that we do not end up teaching ABC to each other :)

Bawa said:

@ JJ Khan

OK, If the subject is Balochistan and you blamed army saying “Army motivate its jawans and officers who murder and rape people thinking that they are killing indians.”

Do you have any proof that army’s jawans and officers rape people in Balochistan?

JJ Khan said:

Hello Bawa,

Let us keep focus on the subject and present analysis/views on the subject. Arguing by taking something out of context and making it subject will take us away from the real thing.

http://pkpolitics.com/2009/11/12/islamabad-tonight-12-november-2009/#comment-269260

Thx

Wajahat said:

Balochistan problem clearly shows our leadership failures. We tend to control things by use of force, which cannot produce results all the time and at all the places. This gives opportunity to our enemies to exploit the situation.

First we have to deny this opportunity.

secondly, Baloch Sardars, political elite and generals share this responsibility. All three extremely corrupt. Sardars always want money and more power in their areas, private armies, weapons, political leaders want more money and more share in the looted wealth and generals want to befool both and get higher share.

Only people are suffering every where, be it Balochistan, sindh, NWFP or Punjab.

Do you find Garhi Khuda Bakhsh, Sindhri, Nawabshah, Jamali area or those areas where present or former PMs/CMs belong. No the answer is a big NO. they do not want that to happen.

Keep the nation poor and uneducated and send their own sons and daughters to british universities.

Even the lot of Baloch Sardars we are talking about have their families abroad, families of politicians and generals are also living in foreign capitals, enjoying a royal life on the basis of looted money of the nation.

Wajahat said:

@JJ Khan and Bawa

Only take sides with Pakistani people and raise your voice for them. They really need it. They don’t have electricity to light their bulbs, no atta, no sugar and no gas to cook it, or if available no money to buy it.

Is it what we really deserve?

People of pakistan ZINDABAD, Pakistan PAINDABAD.

Kickout all corrupt politicians, generals, sardars and agents of the west.

JJ Khan said:

Wajahat,

You think I we are raising voice for Irani people??

Our house is on fire, let us put it out first and then sort out electricity, food, etc etc

Bawa said:

@ JJ Khan
    Our house is on fire, let us put it out first and then sort out electricity, food, etc etc

I agree with you that our house is on fire but we should not discourage and dishonour the fire fighters by writing ” army’s jawans and officers rape people in Balochistan”.

altf_0011 said:

Remove these chor sardars (feudal lords) from the middle and give fruits directly to the public of Balochistan. If Liaqat Ali, would have eliminated (like Nehru did in india) feudal lords from Pakistan, we wouldn’t had such problems in Pakistan. Feual Lords played the acts of triatorship “ghadaar” at the time of British impire, and later they kept continue in Pakistan. They miss-use rurul population of Pakistan, these feudal lords (crooks) have private jails in which they keep unlawfully women and children for indefinate period. They pick up any girl from their workers “haari’s” home for their friends come from city or abroad and release them early morning, these poor villiagers are so scared of these vultures they don’t say anything from their mouth and keep bearing “zulm”. “Jitna bara leader utna bara haraami”.

propolitics said:

Army had a problem with Bengalis and they have a problem with Balochs. They always take them as the traiters

Bawa said:

@ propolitics
    Army had a problem with Bengalis and they have a problem with Balochs. They always take them as the traiters

I do not disagree with you but this is the time to stand at the back of our forces(not on Balochistan Issue) while it is doing operation against Taliban. If we do not, we will have to see taliban ruling over the country, hanging dead bodies of non-deobandi muslims and non-muslim Pakistanis and locks on schools, colleges and universities.

Would any Pakistani like to see those days?

propolitics said:

Then why are they writing scripts to remove Zardari, why don’t they think that they need to stablise Paksitan

propolitics said:

BTW where is your Buddy Murtaza Ali, he reads a lot?

Bawa said:

@ propolitics
    Bawa, Then why are they writing scripts to remove Zardari, why don’t they think that they need to stablise Paksitan

Who wants to remove Zardari? Zardari came in power through constitution and if he goes, he will go the way given in constitution. Nobody will support any uncontitutional act.

Bawa said:

@ propolitics
    Bawa, BTW where is your Buddy Murtaza Ali, he reads a lot?

My friends list shows that he (Mujtaba Ali) that he was active four hours ago. I tried to find you in members list but you are not there. Can you help me to find your name there.
    Thanks.

Bawa said:

@ propolitics

Are you in Pakistan?

Inam ul haq said:

How are you buddy i have been looking for you ages ? Is every thing ok ?

Bawa said:

@ Inam ul haq
    Bawa, How are you buddy i have been looking for you ages ? Is every thing ok ?

Alhamdulilah everything is OK. Did you find any good news? I was here till 3 AM.

Inam ul haq said:

leave every thing just tell me where are we going for dinner ?

Bawa said:

@ maxpk

استاد محترم! عمران کا منہ چھوٹا کریں اور پوری تصویر فریم میں فٹ کریں. شکریہ

Bawa said:

@ Inam ul haq

Wait for two hours, buddy. Its 10′ O Clock In Pakistan.

Inam ul haq said:

Ok until that let me get ready ;)

Bawa said:

@ Inam ul haq

There will be a Breaking News after half an hour that Aitzaz Ahsan took oath as the Governor of Punjab. Be ready and open you Geo TV.

Inam ul haq said:

OK OK i give you more time .Kaya yad karo gay

Bawa said:

@ Inam ul haq

Just sit in front of your TV and wait for “Breaking News”.

Bawa said:

@ Inam ul haq

Please do not waste time. You must be the first to listen this BREAKING NEWS.

Inam ul haq said:

@BAWA
    My friend dont worry i am moving satellite News channel so don’t worry just keep eye on you pocket because this time I will make a big order .

Bawa said:

@ Inam ul haq

Keep the eyes on TV, not on my pocket.

Inam ul haq said:

this time i am focus on Cricket match .I am praying for my teem .but after that my friend you know …………….

Bawa said:

@ Inam ul haq

انام بھائی! کوئی بریکنگ نیوز آئی تو مجھے بھی بتا دینا اور ہاں ٹی وی کے آگے سے ہرگز نا اٹھنا

Inam ul haq said:

My friend what do you want to do after stick me in front of TV , you do it don’t worry i don’t tell any one .and listen breaking which you want to listen never come on any channel only may be your own channel .So don’t worry man …..keep praying for Pakistan teem .(abhi tou bari maar par rahi hai 30/1 and only 4.3overs)

Inam ul haq said:

New Zealand require another 51 runs with 7 wickets and 30 balls remaining

Inam ul haq said:

New Zealand require another 38 runs with 7 wickets and 18 balls remaining

altf_0011 said:

Don’t forget Bangalis of Bangladesh killed (shot) their own leader (father of the nation) Mujibur-Rehman, because he was sign a deal with india to hand over the total rights of Bangladeshi jute (patsen) export to india. These are leaders or traitors??All they care, is about their pockets

altf_0011 said:

Some people instead debating (because they have no points to discuss) they just (if someone differs from their view points) just label them, such as talban supporter or fauj supporter, all these BS of these people are becuase they can’t face the truth. Yes I am supporter of Balochi people minus their leaders (like mujib type), the fruit should be reached to the common men (for your information all common people of Pakistan are suffering not just in Balochis, they should stand up for rights, alongwith people of whole Pakistan). Don’t distort or change my sayings, these sardars are not angels, these feudal lords are being raping women and girls of the villiages (under their control) for the last 64 years. Don’t distort my conversation. I have seen above mentioned “zulm’ on villagers in Sindh. “Her aik ko insaan ka bacha banana hoga, Baloch leaders,faujis aur politicians ko”. By the way I am not a punjabi, We are very old resident of Karachi (more than 300 years old), only faithfull to Pakistan.

Worst situation is in indian Kashmir, for the last 64 years could anyone take indian Kashmir from Indian?? Could Irish separated London dairy from Britian? Ofcourse not, I support that common Balochis should be benefitted, I condemn the government machinery which didn’t become helpful to no common Pakistani. They have to be changed.

munna said:

You guys may not like my comments but the major problem in Pakistan is people. Our nation is impotent. They voted for corruption and inreturn they can not get good governance.

Madari or sharif is not going to address the issue and problems which Pakistani nation is facing. They are only in Pakistan to suck as much blood as they can. For Balochistan no one is worried about the common people,Sindhi and pujabi feudal are working with Baloch feudal to accommodate each other. There is no point to discuss about it at the point.

Solution, easy to say hard to achive, Pakistan is no longer governable by current elite as we all know Nature don’t do mercy, course of history is not going to be different there are appearly two ways forward they respactable option is choose the blood path of revolution or keep the status quo and live a life in anarchy sadly our nation seems to choosing the later option.

Better to die on our feet than to live on our knees

Allah Akbar

danishwar said:

To
    J J KHAN

India is a pretext for Army to not only justify its atrocities but also motivate its jawans and officers who murder and rape people thinking that they are killing Indians.
    Army generals keep on fooling their junior officers and jawans with this false propaganda.

Your comments are so insulting and untrue. Yes military has made some mistakes but who did not in Pakistan ? I agreed with you military generals have no right to rule this country but see current political government do you see any change of policy from the predecessor military rule obviously no, so if democratic powers are better than military rule which they should be why this government do not have any independant policy why they are following a general,s and dictators policy? because does not matter it is military government or political they all serve America.

sianibili said:

Yes Balochistan is neglected for last sixty two years but so does the whole country.Baloch Sardars like Kashmals Tariq said do not fight for the rights of Baloch people but for royalties. Killing of Sardar Bugati was a blunder but he was not fighting for the rights of Balochistan but his dispute over royalty from the government. Another thing which i like to mention is that Baloch Sardars always are main hurdle to start any development programme they want money given in their hands and let them decide where to spend and how. Obviously to plunder most of the money.Another problem is this they always create problem for the projects of national interest in Balochistan and not only oppose them for no reason but they practically start arm movement to stop any sensitive project for the security of Pakistan. There was not even a single Sardar in earth quake hit area last year to help Balochi people.So when Sardars are not giving Baloch people their rights themselves how can they blame government or especially Punjab.

khochal said:

PPP promised during election campaign to keep Balochistan problem its priority if they are elected but two years in the government and yet they are discussing Balochitan package. They have not talk to any Baloch leader about this package so we wait and see this package will resolve the problem or worsen it.I would also like to say that why military operation is still going on under the umbrella of a democratic government it should be stopped and problem should be resolved by talks and having consensus on disputed issues and common sense.

supurpakistani said:

Musharaf and other military rulers are responsible for the chaos in Balochistan and in the whole of country. All the dictators before Musharaf are dead but this man is alive he should be tried in the court of law and given deserving punishment to set the example that military generals are tangible.

Bawa said:

کیا پرویز مشرف نے ڈاکٹر قدیر خان کو امریکہ کے حوالے کرنے کی تیاریاں مکمل کر لی تھیں؟ کیا ڈاکٹر قدیر خان کو امریکا لے جانے کے لیے سی ون تھرٹی تیار کھڑا تھا؟ کیا واقعی ظفراللہ جمالی نےبحیثیت وزیر اعظم، ڈاکٹر قدیر خان کو امریکا کے حوالے کرنے کے احکامات پر دستخط کرنے سے انکار کر دیا تھا؟

سی ون تھرٹی تیار کھرا تھا ———- جبار مرزا

http://jang.com.pk/jang/nov2009-daily/14-11-2009/col9.htm

tayyaba said:

We just keep listening about one problem after another but we never see any effort to resolve them.The worst thing is this we know where the problem is and what is the solution but we love to live with them rather than getting rid of them. No matter how bad Sardar Buggati was how some body can justify his killing.When we blame Sardar,s we forget that we are responsible to bring them this far and still not learning any lesson.In the time when all the enemies of Pakistan are doing their best simultaneously to harm Pakistan we should be doing our best to resolve as many internal problems as we can and very very swiftly .

JJ Khan said:

danishwar,

There is a reason why I chose those words and statement.

Indians in balochistan, send army there
    Indians in swat, send army there
    Indians in waziristan, send army there
    Indians in karachi, send army there
    Indians in etc etc

Why they have to hide behind same pretext for every military operation?

Bawa said:

@ JJ Khan

Cool down buddy, you are suffering from military phobia. This is the time to stand at the back of our armed forces.

JJ Khan said:

You sound like a Zardari supporter, is that right?

mehman said:

Fort Hood shooting suspect sent money to Pakistan, Texas congressman says

Friday, November 13, 2009

By DAVE MICHAELS and LEE HANCOCK / The Dallas Morning News

An Austin congressman said Thursday that he has confirmed that Fort Hood massacre suspect Nidal Malik Hasan wired money to Pakistan, which Muslim extremist groups use as a base to raise funds and carry out terrorist attacks.

Rep. Michael McCaul’s statement followed a Dallas Morning News report that authorities were looking into whether such wire transfers had occurred. It also came as Army officials announced charges of premeditated murder against Hasan, who could face the death penalty.

“I have confirmed through independent sources that there were communications and wire transfers made to Pakistan,” McCaul said in a prepared statement provided by his spokesman. “This Pakistan connection just raises more red flags about this case and demonstrates why it’s important for Congress to exercise its oversight authority.”

The spokesman, Mike Rosen, said McCaul wouldn’t name his sources. The congressman’s statement didn’t address who Hasan’s contacts in Pakistan were, when he communicated with them or how much money he sent.

McCaul is the top Republican on the House Homeland Security Committee’s intelligence subcommittee. He typically is briefed on classified material but had yet to be formally briefed on the Fort Hood killings.

He “has been actively seeking information from as many credible sources as possible,” Rosen said. “It has been more difficult than usual to obtain information from our intelligence community.”

Asked about McCaul’s comments, an FBI spokesman in Washington said he couldn’t comment on any aspect of the investigation.

Evan Kohlmann, a terrorism expert who has consulted with the FBI and the Defense Department, noted that Hasan is a U.S. citizen of Palestinian descent, with no known family ties to Pakistan. Kohlmann said that leaves only two reasons for the psychiatrist to wire money to the South Asian country: to support charity or to support jihad.

Westerners who want to give to a legitimate Pakistani charity typically would do so by putting money in a U.S. or British bank account, he added.

“It raises huge alarm bells,” Kohlmann said of Hasan’s reported wire transfers.

Pakistan borders Afghanistan, the country to which Hasan was supposed to deploy soon. Pakistan is battling a radical Islamic insurgency and is widely believed to be the hiding place of Osama bin Laden.

mehman said:

@ JJ Khan
    You sound like a Zardari supporter, is that right?

As far as I know Bawa is not a Zardari supporter. He says Zardari is criminal minded person.

http://pkpolitics.com/2009/11/09/meray-mutabiq-9-november-2009/#comment-268899

machoman said:

TERRORISM has hit us like anything and has disrupted life for all and sundry. Unfortunately, the attacks are becoming a daily occurrence killing and injuring countless Pakistanis. But the government’s response to providing sustenance to their dependents is a big question mark. So far hundreds of innocent lives have been lost and thousands have been wounded. The death toll of the attacks just from the past five days stands at 60. Every time some attack occurs, there is much talk about beefing up the security and all that. The pity is we seem to be ignoring the victims. There should be little doubt they were patriotic Pakistanis dying in the line of duty. But hardly any attention is attached to them or to the trauma of the injured and the bereaved families. Their misery cannot be described in words. On the one hand, there are those who have been gravely wounded, losing their limbs, and are dependent on their families for support. On the other, scores of families have been pushed to the edge because their breadwinners are no more in this world. It bears pointing out that most victims of the bomb blasts were supporting entire families.

• ISLAMABAD TONIGHT said:

[...] Islamabad Tonight – 12 November 2009 58 Comments [...]

• ندیم ملک said:

[...] Islamabad Tonight – 12 November 2009 58 Comments [...]