Sheikh Rashid and that MQM guy clearly indicated time for Dama Dam Must Kalander soon after eid. Lets see if people like Rehman Malik have any shame to leave or they are forced out.
Mr. Gilani of Gallup made a very strong statement that Zardari has no Sindh Card like BB was used to exploit. He is not liked by Sindhi because he faile dto investigate murderes of BB. According to Gallup figures his popular rating is just 12 percent, which is perhaps so low that even an ordinary MNA would get better ratings.
MQM has almost left PPP in favour of establishment and Zardari was shouting yesterday in desperation and zulfiqar Mirza statement was a follow up. But PPP has lost MQM support and Sindh government, like sheikh said, is going to swing shortly.
U said “He is not liked by Sindhi because he faile dto investigate murderes of BB.”
may be its true in ur wishful dreams but even if its true then whts alternate in Sindh..NS never tried to mobilize or organise party in Sindh,never paid a visit to Sindh for strengthening party base,IK came for one day trips limited to Khi,JI is non existance and only alternative is Sindhi nationalist forces.If ur wishful thinking would come true then I am sure,it would result in more aggressive and volatile forces of Sindh-Nationalist forces.If u ppl want a new Baluchistan in making in Sindh,then keep shouting against democratic forces like PPP.I add more here,that PPP may not be a party of pious ppl,but it links whole nation,why on earth ppl want to weaken this link.Such parties are hard to create which enjoys support from whole country.Think before u put rhetoric..similarly Democratic forces like PPP should also improve their weakness through better governance.
Bro,I think u dont have information about number of seats in Sindh Assembly,PPP doesnt need any party in coalition for making Govt,they have won majority seats to make govt.MQM is there in the name of reconciliation and better coordination.Whether MQM leaves Sindh assembly or not,it wont effect govt.
His Olive branch yesterday for N-league is 1 year to late, he still has a chance to change his ways but my personal feeling is that a crook like Zardari will always remain a crook.
There may be many governance and other issues with PPP led govt,They also NEED to fix them,but demonization and hate propaganda against only and only AZ and PPP leadership is also not a very positive trend.Furthermore,any Elected Govt ( of any party) have right to complete tenure.No illegal or unconstitutional move will bring any good to our state.No one should support it.PPP and PMLN should work out some better strategy for the good of federation and future of Pakistan.
Like this Gallup suvey that only 12.5 percent like Zardari, I think people in Sindh would also have similar feelings.
But he should not be thrown out to welcome a new dictator.
Get rid of his 40 chores and keep a check on his powers. Let the system continue.
I think it this stage politicians and military need to join hands to save the nation, face situation on western borders after new Americans policy in Afghanistan is announced.
But must remove tainted people who benefitted from NRO and people like Raja Pervez Ashraf and Babar Awan, proven corrupt.
This will clean up the system and new faces will emerge.
You know these politicians. So, do not go by those numbers. They change sides very quickly, but I pray system works, without disruption.
people in power should try to focus on reducing sufferings of the common man, engage PML and other political parties, on security issues enagage establishment and slowly maintain a distance from Americans. Then it should work.
But slogans of Sindhu Pakistan………….don’t give out such messages, we are already divided.
I want this mafia to complete they tenure just so they do not become political martyrs again, we don’t want the military to takeover no matter how bad the governance is, we the Pakistani people will vote them out after 3 years but i will continue with the criticism of they bad policies.
Beauty of the political system should be to take positive criticism and purge corrupt elements. When public shows anger on certain policies, try to accommodate their perspective, That keeps army at bay.
But if yu try to bulldoze everything and become arrogant, refus eto reduce corruption and allow your friends to loot, then you open the doors for one jeep and two trucks, which would not take long to enter.
This would be a real disaster, but responsibility to avert this situation lies on Zardari, Gillani, Nawaz Sharif and other policitians.
Give this poor nation few days to live with peace, ensure supply of atta, sugar and rice, end blackouts and let them live with peace of mind just for few days. Musharraf ruined Pakistan and this present regime is following his footsteps at a 100 times faster pace.
How would justify people like Rehman Malik and Hussain Haqqani or Babar Awan..Raja Pervez Ashraf, asim hussain, salman faruqi, sharmila faruqi, riaz lal ji…etc etc………..
I agree wht u said “This would be a real disaster, but responsibility to avert this situation lies on Zardari, Gillani, Nawaz Sharif and other policitians.”
But on second post,I would say,any party is a like big organisation and there may be good n bad ppl,now our Courts have Liberty to work and Incase any one from any side does some thing wrong,then Justice will prevail.Thus Judiciary keeps eyes on all such ppl (politician,bureaucracy,Military and Media ppl. Having said that no body should have right to be judge and start giving decisions against Democracy and be part of a propaganda to dislodge current Govt.
sh rasheed is rung baz.every day he changes his views.i m from rawalpindi .he cant win election from rawalpindi.peoples of rawalpindi always voted sh because of nawaz sharif.this is his dream to win .if he competes he will definetely lose his bail.
U said “slogans of Sindhu Pakistan………….don’t give out such messages, we are already divided.”
Dear Bro,Let me add here that Sindhu (River Indus) is source of our living,it touches most part of Pakistan and It was rebuttal to those media and propagandist those wanted to malign AZ and they mix it with SIndhi Topi.SIndhis are also an equal partners of this State and No one has right to attack their symbol of Cultural prestige.Sindhi topi and Ajrak are biggest cultural symbols,any attack on such icons,will send bad signal to Sindhis.Sindhis respect every culture,they vote for federation and PPP never gave a slogan like “JAAGH Sindhi JAAGH,teedi pagh nu lagh ghaya daagh”.The simple point is: we ppl of this federation must respect the cultural sensitivities of each other,and even honour this diversity of cultural icons.But derogatory remarks by Dr SM and Salah Zafar sent a bad signal to Sindh.Its not question of PPP only but whole Sindh.Mind the Gap before hitting AZ or PPP and Sindhi Culture.Dont mix them please.
To sum up: Unity is strength and we send a strong signal to those who hurt the feelings of ppl by attacking any cultural glory.Hope u understand what I mean.
Government’s interest and public interest doesn’t match at all. Public wants to reduce government’s vazir fauj-e-zafer, government doesn’t, public wants “mulzim” should kept aside, government doesn’t, public wants that corrupt people’s money should be brought back into Pakistan, whereas government doesn’t want that, public wants that government to address recent indian propoganda on high level (including involve the ambassadors) so international media cover those addresses, government doesn’t do this, public wants their roti, kapra aur makkan issues should be settled, whereas government is not interested, but government’s officials are bussy to loot even benazir income support program’s money, note, this program only supports few poor people, compare to whole Pakistan. After musharraf, people had hope that, now system will change in democracy, but it is the same 63 years old decaying system, which kept and keeping people of Pakistan slaves of every coming government.
But, we must keep him for the greater good of Pakistan as our figurehead president with all powers given back to the parliament and the prime minister. In other words restore 1973 constitution in letter and spirit.
There may be many governance and other issues with PPP led govt,They also NEED to fix them,but demonization and hate propaganda against only and only AZ and PPP leadership is also not a very positive trend.Furthermore,any Elected Govt ( of any party) have right to complete tenure.No illegal or unconstitutional move will bring any good to our state.No one should support it.PPP and PMLN should work out some better strategy for the good of federation and future of Pakistan.
Yes a democratically elected government should complete 5 years. But my question is what for? yes the current government is democratically elected but after the election they have forgotten democratic values.It is just another form of dictator ship.All the decisions are made by Zardari only. If PPP is democratic force why it is taking so long to abolish 17th amendment and 58-2B. Political parties in Pakistan are not aware of basics of democracy The Democracy in their opinion is to vote for them and send them to assemblies and thats all after that they put aside all the democratic principles,and the only principle they remember is looting and lying .
U said “He is not liked by Sindhi because he faile dto investigate murderes of BB.”
.If ur wishful thinking would come true then I am sure,it would result in more aggressive and volatile forces of Sindh-Nationalist forces.If u ppl want a new Baluchistan in making in Sindh,then keep shouting against democratic forces like PPP.
People of Sindh are patriotic and they love Pakistan.Stop making wrong assumptions. I do not belong to any political party but let me tell you that PML(N) has good vote bank in interior of Sndh.JI in Karachi and do not forget PML(F). Yes they are not popular like PPP but remember PPP of ZA Bhutto and BN Bhutto not the PPP of Zardari.
To,
mir munsif said:
Man with 12% rating is ruling our country.After Musharaf we were expecting better choice but see what we got ? we got even worst man who is a crook . You are supporting a man who is president and unable to investigate his own wife,s murder? If he can not find out people responsible for BNazir Bhutto assassination how in the world he can do any good to Pakistan.Like Skeikh Rashid said it is not that he became unpopular after he was elected president but he was never a popular figure even before he got elected as president.
U said “slogans of Sindhu Pakistan………….don’t give out such messages, we are already divided.”
Dear Bro,Let me add here that Sindhu (River Indus) is source of our living,it touches most part of Pakistan and It was rebuttal to those media and propagandist those wanted to malign AZ and they mix it with SIndhi Topi.SIndhis are also an equal partners of this State and No one has right to attack their symbol of Cultural prestige.Sindhi topi and Ajrak are biggest cultural symbols,any attack on such icons,will send bad signal to Sindhis.Sindhis respect every culture,they vote for federation and PPP never gave a slogan like “JAAGH Sindhi JAAGH,teedi pagh nu lagh ghaya daagh”.
You are right no body should attack on other,s culture because Sindhi,Punjabi,Baloch and Pathan they are all Pakistani cultures our own cultures. But question is no body attacked Sindhi culture you say it is attacked. The only thing is this that president is a symbol of federation he should represent whole country not politically motivated outfit to give message that if you criticize my evil deeds i will exploit Sindhism.
PPP and MQM are on war. I do not know how long their leader ship will be able to keep quite their workers.It seems like it is a done deal now. PPP is blaming media to propagate against them what will they say about spat with MQM who is responsible for this. Media criticize PPP because they are unable to deliver not for any other reason. I will like to ask PPP it is almost two years in government what you have deliver so far. Can you tell just one thing you have done to make life easier for common people.
But, we must keep him for the greater good of Pakistan as our figurehead president with all powers given back to the parliament and the prime minister. In other words restore 1973 constitution in letter and spirit.
You are right but do you think that cunning Zardari will do that i do not think so .It takes just one hour to take al;l the amendments back and it is almost two years now and committee to make changes is taking so long i do not know why.
It is a continuation of Musharaf government so fawning,coaxing and obsequious to every wish of Americans.
Pakistan has now for long become a country where there is no sense of proportion left. There are heart-wrenching stories of misery and absolute desperation. The women who died in Karachi last Ramazan in a bid to get free bags of flour reflect one aspect of that desperation. As do the daily reminders of the high level of absolute poverty, which is now breaking the myth that everyone in Pakistan at least gets enough to eat. Further, the photographs and stories of children and old people struggling to get food in the camps set up for refugees displaced by the military operations are a reminder of the level of desperation marking the lives of ordinary Pakistanis.
Yet, it is in the same country where the majority are living in misery that one also so frequently reads about such high levels of exploitation of state resources by the civilian, military and bureaucratic elite that it makes one wonder if the elite have a conscience at all.
Recently, the PPP top leadership has been under media scrutiny for some of these big deals and concessions. President Zardari has been under the spotlight for allegedly benefiting by $4 million in a submarines deal with the French. However, he is not alone. In the same deal, the military supposedly got a kickback of over $49.5 million. Before the public could swallow this, the details of the individuals who would have benefited under the NRO are proving the extent of the exploitation of state resources and power by the civilian bureaucracy and the political elite.
Read this article in THENEWS you might change your mind. I believe you care about Zardari more than Pakistan.
The Invisible President has at last made an appearance. He has not actually decided to appear amongst us common people but instead addressed a crowd of supporters in Karachi via a video-link from the Presidency in Islamabad. The crowd seemed muted and their responses to his lacklustre speech were as lacklustre as the words they were hearing. This was no rousing call-to-arms, no grand vision, merely a recycling of a well-worn set of phrases and platitudes and the complaints that tend to characterise President Zardari’s public pronouncements. He may be a man of razor-sharp wit and conversational perspicacity in private, but he’s something of a carthorse when it comes to public speaking.
The presidential playing of the Sindh card is not going down well. The head of any state needs to demonstrate the ability to rise above the politics of polarity and to hold the people together. Dividing them along provincial lines at this juncture will do nobody good at all. Neither will the barely-veiled attacks on the media and individuals within it; the media genie is well and truly out of the bottle and you can’t deal with the TV channels as you can with the tied labourers on your estates, Mr President. Sadly Mr President your arms-length performance has done nothing to enhance an image that has taken a battering in the last week and the eternal smile comes ever closer to being an eternal rictus.
The PPP’s state law minister has declined to explain his statement that “if the NRO cases are opened the judges may go home”.
“It is up to the good sense and understanding of any body to extract the meanings of what I said about the judges the other day,” he said on Thursday. “I have said what I hade to say. Now its up to you and other people to interpret its meaning,” Muhammad Afzal Sindhu said while talking to The News.
The minister is apparently acting on the Presidency’s strategy to attack the media, the judiciary and the civil society to save some people who are in serious trouble after NRO lists were issued on the orders of the prime minister.
Sindhu was repeatedly asked that whether he was threatening the judiciary or his statement was misunderstood. However, he stuck to his one-line answer to every question that it was up to the people to interpret its meanings. Usually a cool Sindhu seemed to be extremely angry on Thursday.
Above news can give every body better idea of the mind set of Zardari and his blind followers.
DUBAI: When I had reported from Abu Dhabi on Nov 7 that the talks between a high level MQM delegation led by Anwar Bhai and Governor Ishratul Ebad and Rehman Malik and Zulfikar Mirza of the PPP were deadlocked on MQM’s demand for President Asif Ali Zardari’s resignation to save democracy, many PPP eyebrows were raised and the campaign to target me and the Geo TV was seriously launched.
On Wednesday and Thursday when the Sindh interior minister almost declared full war on the MQM, revealing that all the closed criminal cases of the MQM were done fraudulently, the reality has now come to the surface. This is the final showdown the PPP is trying to start so that if President Zardari is disqualified, the Sindh Card, as it is generally known, could be played effectively.
Samsam Bukhari read this article and correct yourself that their is no quarrel between the top leader ship of PPP and MQM. Blaming media and other institutions is not going to do any good to PPP motives. As a matter of fact it is a huge mistake to loose the support of media and judiciary and put your self in deep waters. Instead of blaming media why wont PPP try to prove media wrong by good governance and honesty. I think i am fooling myself PPP do not know what is that mean.
AT a time when the nation is confronting problems of basic survival and living under the shadow of the threat of terrorism, seeing the head of state cloistered in safety, unwilling to face the people directly, was hardly a comforting image. President Zardari was addressing from the Presidency the PPP loyalists long distance in Sindh on Wednesday.
However, if the image was negative, the message was far worse. There was no mention of the struggle being waged against terrorism, the crises being dealt with and the challenges being confronted. No mention was made of the soldiers dying in FATA, the actions against militancy or the promise of removing the constitutional anomalies imposed by dictators. All talk of reconciliation and compromise were also thrown by the wayside. There was nothing statesmanlike at all; in fact there was nothing rational either. He derided the Quaid’s Pakistan and lashed out at everyone in the hysterical manner of another party leader living in exile.
The irony is that the President’s problems are all self-created. He has failed to deliver on all fronts and on all commitments. So much so that there now exists a huge trust deficit between him and almost everyone else. The main opposition leadership is now reluctant to even meet him because of the run around Mian Nawaz Sharif has been given by him on issues like the Charter of Democracy and the constitutional amendments. The goodwill and leeway Zardari had when he became president was almost unprecedented but he has lost it rapidly. Unable to improve the lot of the people; unwilling to move substantively on political issues; and totally tied in to a suspicious US agenda; the Presidency shows no leadership, only intrigue.
U said “he should represent whole country not politically motivated outfit to give message “.
PPP always talked about Federation and never gave a slogan like “Jagh punjabi Jagh,lagh na javi tedi pag no daagh”..Famous Election compaign Slogan.Inspite of PPP’s talking about federation and democracy,what they are getting irrational and imoral demonization and Hate compaign victimization.President is definitely a symbol of federation but in this Federation,There is one partner called a Sindh and if a President wears Sindhi outfit,why it boils ur blood,English suits and boats are welcome,but if ever a Sindhi topi is used,it is Sindhism. Shame!!Sindh is Not colony bro,its equal stake holders.But if you think,Sindh is colonized or conquered state or Sindhis are jews or Hindu lobbies and SIndhi topi is against Islam,then you are TRUE,President has done blunder by wearing such a cap.
Dear Sir,SIndhis belonging to any party or thought system WONT accept any derogatory language against cultural prestige and symbols.The language used by Dr SM and Saleh Zafar and their many supporters against Sindhi topi and culture are actually hurting the sentiments of Sindhis at large.
Mind the GAP,one can criticize PPP or AZ but No one has right to use derogatory language Sindhi Culture and Sindhi topi,and it will Not be tolerated by any Sindhi.
To,
mir munsif said:
Read my full comments do not try to manipulate and give wrong meanings. Just in case you could not see my full comments read the following.
You are right no body should attack on other,s culture because Sindhi,Punjabi,Baloch and Pathan they are all Pakistani cultures our own cultures. But question is no body attacked Sindhi culture you say it is attacked. The only thing is this that president is a symbol of federation he should represent whole country not politically motivated outfit to give message that if you criticize my evil deeds i will exploit Sindhism.
Sheikh Rashid and that MQM guy clearly indicated time for Dama Dam Must Kalander soon after eid. Lets see if people like Rehman Malik have any shame to leave or they are forced out.
Mr. Gilani of Gallup made a very strong statement that Zardari has no Sindh Card like BB was used to exploit. He is not liked by Sindhi because he faile dto investigate murderes of BB. According to Gallup figures his popular rating is just 12 percent, which is perhaps so low that even an ordinary MNA would get better ratings.
MQM has almost left PPP in favour of establishment and Zardari was shouting yesterday in desperation and zulfiqar Mirza statement was a follow up. But PPP has lost MQM support and Sindh government, like sheikh said, is going to swing shortly.
@Awaam
@adilhussain
Bro,I think u dont have information about number of seats in Sindh Assembly,PPP doesnt need any party in coalition for making Govt,they have won majority seats to make govt.MQM is there in the name of reconciliation and better coordination.Whether MQM leaves Sindh assembly or not,it wont effect govt.
* correction: Sindh assembly= Sindh Govt.
His Olive branch yesterday for N-league is 1 year to late, he still has a chance to change his ways but my personal feeling is that a crook like Zardari will always remain a crook.
@aftab
Like this Gallup suvey that only 12.5 percent like Zardari, I think people in Sindh would also have similar feelings.
But he should not be thrown out to welcome a new dictator.
Get rid of his 40 chores and keep a check on his powers. Let the system continue.
I think it this stage politicians and military need to join hands to save the nation, face situation on western borders after new Americans policy in Afghanistan is announced.
But must remove tainted people who benefitted from NRO and people like Raja Pervez Ashraf and Babar Awan, proven corrupt.
This will clean up the system and new faces will emerge.
@Mir Munsif
You know these politicians. So, do not go by those numbers. They change sides very quickly, but I pray system works, without disruption.
people in power should try to focus on reducing sufferings of the common man, engage PML and other political parties, on security issues enagage establishment and slowly maintain a distance from Americans. Then it should work.
But slogans of Sindhu Pakistan………….don’t give out such messages, we are already divided.
@mir munsif
I want this mafia to complete they tenure just so they do not become political martyrs again, we don’t want the military to takeover no matter how bad the governance is, we the Pakistani people will vote them out after 3 years but i will continue with the criticism of they bad policies.
Beauty of the political system should be to take positive criticism and purge corrupt elements. When public shows anger on certain policies, try to accommodate their perspective, That keeps army at bay.
But if yu try to bulldoze everything and become arrogant, refus eto reduce corruption and allow your friends to loot, then you open the doors for one jeep and two trucks, which would not take long to enter.
This would be a real disaster, but responsibility to avert this situation lies on Zardari, Gillani, Nawaz Sharif and other policitians.
Give this poor nation few days to live with peace, ensure supply of atta, sugar and rice, end blackouts and let them live with peace of mind just for few days. Musharraf ruined Pakistan and this present regime is following his footsteps at a 100 times faster pace.
Save Pakistan.
How would justify people like Rehman Malik and Hussain Haqqani or Babar Awan..Raja Pervez Ashraf, asim hussain, salman faruqi, sharmila faruqi, riaz lal ji…etc etc………..
Crooks.
@Wajahat,aftab,Niazmand,
I welcome ur comments,infact healthy criticisms are really the symbol of Alert and active society.
@Wajahat
I agree wht u said “This would be a real disaster, but responsibility to avert this situation lies on Zardari, Gillani, Nawaz Sharif and other policitians.”
But on second post,I would say,any party is a like big organisation and there may be good n bad ppl,now our Courts have Liberty to work and Incase any one from any side does some thing wrong,then Justice will prevail.Thus Judiciary keeps eyes on all such ppl (politician,bureaucracy,Military and Media ppl. Having said that no body should have right to be judge and start giving decisions against Democracy and be part of a propaganda to dislodge current Govt.
sh rasheed is rung baz.every day he changes his views.i m from rawalpindi .he cant win election from rawalpindi.peoples of rawalpindi always voted sh because of nawaz sharif.this is his dream to win .if he competes he will definetely lose his bail.
@Niazmand
Dear Bro,Let me add here that Sindhu (River Indus) is source of our living,it touches most part of Pakistan and It was rebuttal to those media and propagandist those wanted to malign AZ and they mix it with SIndhi Topi.SIndhis are also an equal partners of this State and No one has right to attack their symbol of Cultural prestige.Sindhi topi and Ajrak are biggest cultural symbols,any attack on such icons,will send bad signal to Sindhis.Sindhis respect every culture,they vote for federation and PPP never gave a slogan like “JAAGH Sindhi JAAGH,teedi pagh nu lagh ghaya daagh”.The simple point is: we ppl of this federation must respect the cultural sensitivities of each other,and even honour this diversity of cultural icons.But derogatory remarks by Dr SM and Salah Zafar sent a bad signal to Sindh.Its not question of PPP only but whole Sindh.Mind the Gap before hitting AZ or PPP and Sindhi Culture.Dont mix them please.
To sum up: Unity is strength and we send a strong signal to those who hurt the feelings of ppl by attacking any cultural glory.Hope u understand what I mean.
Government’s interest and public interest doesn’t match at all. Public wants to reduce government’s vazir fauj-e-zafer, government doesn’t, public wants “mulzim” should kept aside, government doesn’t, public wants that corrupt people’s money should be brought back into Pakistan, whereas government doesn’t want that, public wants that government to address recent indian propoganda on high level (including involve the ambassadors) so international media cover those addresses, government doesn’t do this, public wants their roti, kapra aur makkan issues should be settled, whereas government is not interested, but government’s officials are bussy to loot even benazir income support program’s money, note, this program only supports few poor people, compare to whole Pakistan. After musharraf, people had hope that, now system will change in democracy, but it is the same 63 years old decaying system, which kept and keeping people of Pakistan slaves of every coming government.
Zardari is evil.
To,
mir munsif said:To,
@aftab
Yes a democratically elected government should complete 5 years. But my question is what for? yes the current government is democratically elected but after the election they have forgotten democratic values.It is just another form of dictator ship.All the decisions are made by Zardari only. If PPP is democratic force why it is taking so long to abolish 17th amendment and 58-2B. Political parties in Pakistan are not aware of basics of democracy The Democracy in their opinion is to vote for them and send them to assemblies and thats all after that they put aside all the democratic principles,and the only principle they remember is looting and lying .
mir munsif said:
@Awaam
.If ur wishful thinking would come true then I am sure,it would result in more aggressive and volatile forces of Sindh-Nationalist forces.If u ppl want a new Baluchistan in making in Sindh,then keep shouting against democratic forces like PPP.
People of Sindh are patriotic and they love Pakistan.Stop making wrong assumptions. I do not belong to any political party but let me tell you that PML(N) has good vote bank in interior of Sndh.JI in Karachi and do not forget PML(F). Yes they are not popular like PPP but remember PPP of ZA Bhutto and BN Bhutto not the PPP of Zardari.
To,
mir munsif said:
Man with 12% rating is ruling our country.After Musharaf we were expecting better choice but see what we got ? we got even worst man who is a crook . You are supporting a man who is president and unable to investigate his own wife,s murder? If he can not find out people responsible for BNazir Bhutto assassination how in the world he can do any good to Pakistan.Like Skeikh Rashid said it is not that he became unpopular after he was elected president but he was never a popular figure even before he got elected as president.
mir munsif said:
@Niazmand
Dear Bro,Let me add here that Sindhu (River Indus) is source of our living,it touches most part of Pakistan and It was rebuttal to those media and propagandist those wanted to malign AZ and they mix it with SIndhi Topi.SIndhis are also an equal partners of this State and No one has right to attack their symbol of Cultural prestige.Sindhi topi and Ajrak are biggest cultural symbols,any attack on such icons,will send bad signal to Sindhis.Sindhis respect every culture,they vote for federation and PPP never gave a slogan like “JAAGH Sindhi JAAGH,teedi pagh nu lagh ghaya daagh”.
PPP and MQM are on war. I do not know how long their leader ship will be able to keep quite their workers.It seems like it is a done deal now. PPP is blaming media to propagate against them what will they say about spat with MQM who is responsible for this. Media criticize PPP because they are unable to deliver not for any other reason. I will like to ask PPP it is almost two years in government what you have deliver so far. Can you tell just one thing you have done to make life easier for common people.
To,
molvirpg said:
Zardari is evil.
You are right but do you think that cunning Zardari will do that i do not think so .It takes just one hour to take al;l the amendments back and it is almost two years now and committee to make changes is taking so long i do not know why.
It is a continuation of Musharaf government so fawning,coaxing and obsequious to every wish of Americans.
To,
mir munsif
No limits to corruption?
Dissenting note
Friday, November 27, 2009
Dr Masooda Bano
Pakistan has now for long become a country where there is no sense of proportion left. There are heart-wrenching stories of misery and absolute desperation. The women who died in Karachi last Ramazan in a bid to get free bags of flour reflect one aspect of that desperation. As do the daily reminders of the high level of absolute poverty, which is now breaking the myth that everyone in Pakistan at least gets enough to eat. Further, the photographs and stories of children and old people struggling to get food in the camps set up for refugees displaced by the military operations are a reminder of the level of desperation marking the lives of ordinary Pakistanis.
Yet, it is in the same country where the majority are living in misery that one also so frequently reads about such high levels of exploitation of state resources by the civilian, military and bureaucratic elite that it makes one wonder if the elite have a conscience at all.
Recently, the PPP top leadership has been under media scrutiny for some of these big deals and concessions. President Zardari has been under the spotlight for allegedly benefiting by $4 million in a submarines deal with the French. However, he is not alone. In the same deal, the military supposedly got a kickback of over $49.5 million. Before the public could swallow this, the details of the individuals who would have benefited under the NRO are proving the extent of the exploitation of state resources and power by the civilian bureaucracy and the political elite.
Read this article in THENEWS you might change your mind. I believe you care about Zardari more than Pakistan.
The Invisible President has at last made an appearance. He has not actually decided to appear amongst us common people but instead addressed a crowd of supporters in Karachi via a video-link from the Presidency in Islamabad. The crowd seemed muted and their responses to his lacklustre speech were as lacklustre as the words they were hearing. This was no rousing call-to-arms, no grand vision, merely a recycling of a well-worn set of phrases and platitudes and the complaints that tend to characterise President Zardari’s public pronouncements. He may be a man of razor-sharp wit and conversational perspicacity in private, but he’s something of a carthorse when it comes to public speaking.
The presidential playing of the Sindh card is not going down well. The head of any state needs to demonstrate the ability to rise above the politics of polarity and to hold the people together. Dividing them along provincial lines at this juncture will do nobody good at all. Neither will the barely-veiled attacks on the media and individuals within it; the media genie is well and truly out of the bottle and you can’t deal with the TV channels as you can with the tied labourers on your estates, Mr President. Sadly Mr President your arms-length performance has done nothing to enhance an image that has taken a battering in the last week and the eternal smile comes ever closer to being an eternal rictus.
The PPP’s state law minister has declined to explain his statement that “if the NRO cases are opened the judges may go home”.
“It is up to the good sense and understanding of any body to extract the meanings of what I said about the judges the other day,” he said on Thursday. “I have said what I hade to say. Now its up to you and other people to interpret its meaning,” Muhammad Afzal Sindhu said while talking to The News.
The minister is apparently acting on the Presidency’s strategy to attack the media, the judiciary and the civil society to save some people who are in serious trouble after NRO lists were issued on the orders of the prime minister.
Sindhu was repeatedly asked that whether he was threatening the judiciary or his statement was misunderstood. However, he stuck to his one-line answer to every question that it was up to the people to interpret its meanings. Usually a cool Sindhu seemed to be extremely angry on Thursday.
Above news can give every body better idea of the mind set of Zardari and his blind followers.
The desperation of PPP to shoot the messenger
Rejoinder
Friday, November 27, 2009
By Dr Shahid Masood
DUBAI: When I had reported from Abu Dhabi on Nov 7 that the talks between a high level MQM delegation led by Anwar Bhai and Governor Ishratul Ebad and Rehman Malik and Zulfikar Mirza of the PPP were deadlocked on MQM’s demand for President Asif Ali Zardari’s resignation to save democracy, many PPP eyebrows were raised and the campaign to target me and the Geo TV was seriously launched.
On Wednesday and Thursday when the Sindh interior minister almost declared full war on the MQM, revealing that all the closed criminal cases of the MQM were done fraudulently, the reality has now come to the surface. This is the final showdown the PPP is trying to start so that if President Zardari is disqualified, the Sindh Card, as it is generally known, could be played effectively.
Samsam Bukhari read this article and correct yourself that their is no quarrel between the top leader ship of PPP and MQM. Blaming media and other institutions is not going to do any good to PPP motives. As a matter of fact it is a huge mistake to loose the support of media and judiciary and put your self in deep waters. Instead of blaming media why wont PPP try to prove media wrong by good governance and honesty. I think i am fooling myself PPP do not know what is that mean.
AT a time when the nation is confronting problems of basic survival and living under the shadow of the threat of terrorism, seeing the head of state cloistered in safety, unwilling to face the people directly, was hardly a comforting image. President Zardari was addressing from the Presidency the PPP loyalists long distance in Sindh on Wednesday.
However, if the image was negative, the message was far worse. There was no mention of the struggle being waged against terrorism, the crises being dealt with and the challenges being confronted. No mention was made of the soldiers dying in FATA, the actions against militancy or the promise of removing the constitutional anomalies imposed by dictators. All talk of reconciliation and compromise were also thrown by the wayside. There was nothing statesmanlike at all; in fact there was nothing rational either. He derided the Quaid’s Pakistan and lashed out at everyone in the hysterical manner of another party leader living in exile.
The irony is that the President’s problems are all self-created. He has failed to deliver on all fronts and on all commitments. So much so that there now exists a huge trust deficit between him and almost everyone else. The main opposition leadership is now reluctant to even meet him because of the run around Mian Nawaz Sharif has been given by him on issues like the Charter of Democracy and the constitutional amendments. The goodwill and leeway Zardari had when he became president was almost unprecedented but he has lost it rapidly. Unable to improve the lot of the people; unwilling to move substantively on political issues; and totally tied in to a suspicious US agenda; the Presidency shows no leadership, only intrigue.
@sianibili
U said “he should represent whole country not politically motivated outfit to give message “.
PPP always talked about Federation and never gave a slogan like “Jagh punjabi Jagh,lagh na javi tedi pag no daagh”..Famous Election compaign Slogan.Inspite of PPP’s talking about federation and democracy,what they are getting irrational and imoral demonization and Hate compaign victimization.President is definitely a symbol of federation but in this Federation,There is one partner called a Sindh and if a President wears Sindhi outfit,why it boils ur blood,English suits and boats are welcome,but if ever a Sindhi topi is used,it is Sindhism. Shame!!Sindh is Not colony bro,its equal stake holders.But if you think,Sindh is colonized or conquered state or Sindhis are jews or Hindu lobbies and SIndhi topi is against Islam,then you are TRUE,President has done blunder by wearing such a cap.
Dear Sir,SIndhis belonging to any party or thought system WONT accept any derogatory language against cultural prestige and symbols.The language used by Dr SM and Saleh Zafar and their many supporters against Sindhi topi and culture are actually hurting the sentiments of Sindhis at large.
Mind the GAP,one can criticize PPP or AZ but No one has right to use derogatory language Sindhi Culture and Sindhi topi,and it will Not be tolerated by any Sindhi.
They are only trying to connect the dots unsuccessfully.
A=B
B=C
Therefore A must = C
Democracy is when the indigent and not the men of property, are the rulers.
Mr Nadim Malik will be able to interpret the above, regarding Pakistani Politicians.
To,
mir munsif said:
Read my full comments do not try to manipulate and give wrong meanings. Just in case you could not see my full comments read the following.
@sianibili
Loop back to my previous comments to ur recent comments;thanks
[...] Islamabad Tonight – 26 November 2009 37 Comments [...]
[...] Islamabad Tonight – 26 November 2009 38 Comments [...]
News Source... Additional material was found in this news story to assist you [...]...
Good Lord, we were zapped again. Thank you Rabia Zia. You are simply marvellous.