It is indeed sad to watch Mushahid Hussain Syed (PML-Q) who was with the past administration to preach – essentially the man is “point scoring” – he and Hamid Mir are putting the pressure on Senator Dr. Babar Awan (PPPP) and the man is on the defensive.
I essentially am questioning his format & indeed the format of most of the talk shows in the country where they make it sound like they are balanced and allowing all sides to air their views – which is a sham. Of course you can not say this about the most popular show on this site after all the guy calls the show Mare Mutabiq.
I am arguing that if Hamid Mir had sat down Tariq Fatimi (Ex- Ambassador) in an interview or gathered a group of foreign policy experts – the viewer would have gained a lot from the show.
Obama’s speach of December 1 is a significant event for Pakistan & the citizens ought to expect much more from TV shows than what was on offer here – indeed Hamid Mir looses interest in foreign policy / US policy & shifts to non performance – which may be an important issue but NOT TODAY – in that sense he misses lessons from Journalism School 101 – topicality/freshness of news is of primary importance.
Hamid Mir’s assumption that his anti government stance does not show through is an insult to the inteligence of the viewer – who would be forced to sit there in front of the TV listening to him.
Hamid Mir’s steering the show to the kind of end on this show was a shame. Viewers deserve better.
americans want to quit from afghanistan
and having back channel negotiations with taliban
but our stupids are saying no negotiations and stay there
and keep killing muslims
for these liberal fascists and ba-ghairats http://jang.com.pk/jang/dec2009-daily/02-12-2009/col8.htm
I don’t think the yanks give a toss about what our foreign minster. I wonder what our military and civilian leadership are going to do now that the money making machine will be over in the next 18 months.
I differ you on BOLTA PAKISTAN as one of the balanced show in the present era. but format of this program is no doudt excelant.
as you mention Nusrat is letist and Minhas is rightest instead of balacing the program their opinions are so mixed up it become something like “KHICHRI”
yes you are right people are willing to watch program like Maray Mutabiq and thats why people like Shahid Masood are promoted by our news channels which is very rediculus because Shahid Masood type journalist have no genuine opinion based on “facts and figure” but rather focus their opinion on “allegations”, “accusation” and “assemption”.
but I do like Talat Husain because he has opinion based on facts and are based on ground reality and also supported by credible references.
In my opinion Nusrat is one of the most “thera huya” journalist amongst the crop under discussion – I feel he is a lot smarter than he gets credit for – the man has depth & consistency & the balls to take a stand no matter how contrary it might be to current opinion a ready example would be the group discussions on Nov 30 on Talat’s program where he said he holds the PM responsible etc and he questioned if Zardari was more powerful than earlier Presidents.
I call it – “Lebenswelt” – which implies lived life experiences – something he shares with Najam Sethi – who I understand is quite unpopular with members of this site but as I said he’s lived a full life & been through quite a lot & you get insights into the news through his glasses.
I too like the format of the show.
You know who else – I like – Riz Khan on Al Jazeera – he does his home work & does a great job interviewing his guests & what I love about him – he does not have a swollen head – this helps him put his guests at ease – if you search YouTube for Riz Khan + Asha Bhonsle – you’ll get to watch a treat of a show.
Attn: Dr Babar Awan
==============
If you are reading these lines, than my message is please don’t worry about this stupid Awam. Just keep holding on tight to Zardari. Make bloody sure that you don’t annoy Zardari, because Zardari carries Bhutto Tag. Zardari is our last ‘nishani’ of BB Shaheeeeeeeeeeeeeed NRO Waali. And Babar Awan you can win seat on PPP ticket from anywhere in Sindh. Even if you take bribe of Rs 50 crore, whether you are fasting or not – this stupid Awam will dance with you so long as you are standing next to Zardari. Just look three days ago, when you were making speech in Peshawar (after Eid day) you were garlanded with roses and a huge crowd, yes it was huge crowd cheering and chanting with you. Keep on looting Babar Awan, only we are stupid, jahil and juglee that we keep electing PPP over and over again with the fake slogan of Roti, Kapra aur Makaan.
And to All readers I would say just watch on 27 Dec, on the Death Anniversary of Benazir, over 3 million people will turn up and this Babar Awan will be holding the final duaa. Zardari, Babar Awan, Rehman Malik carry on looting. Nothing abosulutley nothing is going to happen.
I agree with you that no one in the world should or does give a dman about this new group of incompetent and sold-out, third rate PPPP grave worshipers, who won an election with the help of the “Graves” and the pictures of their dead ledgers and their over hyped legacies.
As for as Obam’s 18 months plan, you must realize that he 18 months meant that they will start withdrawing the 35,000 serge not all of the military. Obama himself is no more than a sock puppet and he will change his strategy as given orders to.
Please read a great article by Paul Craig,
The Obama Puppet — The world’s least powerful man
Obama also found out that he cannot change anything else either, if he ever intended to do so. The military/security lobby has war and a domestic police state on its agenda, and a mere American president can’t do anything about it.
President Obama can order the Guantanamo torture chamber closed and kidnapping and rendition and torture to be halted, but no one carries out the order.
Essentially, Obama is irrelevant.
President Obama can promise that he is going to bring the troops home, and the military lobby says, “No, you are going to send them to Afghanistan, and in the meantime start a war in Pakistan and maneuver Iran into a position that will provide an excuse for a war there, too. Wars are too profitable for us to let you stop them.” And the mere president has to say, “Yes, Sir!”
A good read for Hamid Mir, he mentioned about the Swiss decision in this program.
Bigotry Wins in Switzerland
By voting to ban the construction of minarets, Switzerland apes the most extreme intolerance in the Muslim world
By Juan Cole
The International Declaration of Human Rights was crafted with the participation of Pakistan, a Muslim country; the global contemporary rights regime is imperfectly adhered to by all countries — it is a claim on the world’s behavior, something we must all strive for. If the Swiss stepped back from it, they stepped back in absolute terms. It doesn’t help us get to global human rights to say that is o.k. because others are also failing to live up to the Declaration…..
Some Simple Questions After Obama’s Afghanistan War Speech
By David Sirota
Huffington Post
December 02, 2009 Just a few quick questions to ponder after President Obama’s speech announcing a massive escalation in Afghanistan – the very first being shouldn’t we be able to honestly answer these queries before mindlessly cheering on a deployment of more troops to a Central Asian war zone?
Here they are in no particular order:
- What percentage of those kids in the West Point audience will die because of this decision?
- Would you be OK sending yourself or a loved one over to face combat and potentially death for the mission Obama articulated in Afghanistan? If not, how could you support sending other people?
- Why do so many pundits and pro-Obama activists continue to focus on how “hard” and “difficult” and “trying” this decision is for President Obama, rather than on how “hard” and “difficult” and “trying” this will be for the soldiers who are killed? Doesn’t Obama get to make this decision, and then go home to the comfortable confines of a butlered White House, while thousands of Americans will be sent 7,000 miles from home to face their potential deaths? Isn’t the latter “harder” than the former?
- Where’s the antiwar movement and the marches and the organizing and the protesting? Where’s all those well-funded groups that protested George W. Bush’s war policy? Or was all that really just about hating George Bush and embracing blind Partisan War Syndrome?
- In the days and weeks after this speech, will the White House’s cynical new spin get ever more desperate and become, hey – at least an Afghanistan escalation holds out the possibility of making sure military combat casualties start outpacing military suicides?
- Simple budget question: Should we now believe that escalating the Afghanistan War at the same annual cost of universal health care will save more than 45,000 Americans a year (ie. the number of Americans who die every year for lack of health insurance)?
- Did CNN really turn a move to send thousands of Americans to potentially die in Central Asia into an over-stylized, hyper-marketed television show called “Decision Afghanistan?” Is the media really that soulless, or did my eyes betray me? Because it’s really hard for me to believe that even in this cynical age, a television network tried to make a cheap reality-TV show out of life-and-death decision that could affect tens of thousands of people.
- Which is worse – a stupid person like George W. Bush starting a dumb occupation, or a smart person like Barack Obama following the lead of that stupid person, but actually escalating that occupation?
- The “we’re going to escalate war to end war” refrain throughout the speech – have we heard that before somewhere? It sounds sorta like “we’ll burn down the Vietnam villages to save them.” Just curious if that’s what we’re talking about here – because, ya know, that worked out really well.
- Are we really expected to believe that massively escalating a war is the way to end a war? I mean, really? Like, is the public really looked at like we’re that stupid? And a follow-up question: Are we really that stupid?
- If Obama’s Afghan War strategy about escalating a war to end a war was a self-help strategy for, say, alcoholics, wouldn’t it prescribe drinking more whiskey to stop drinking – and wouldn’t we all laugh at that?
- How many pundits will insist that bowing down to the Military-Industrial complex and escalating this missionless war somehow shows “resolve” and “strength” and “toughness” and “leadership” and not embarrassing weakness?
- Would the Obamaphiles now telling us to “give President Obama a chance” with this decision and/or defending Obama’s escalation – would these same people be saying we should “give President McCain a chance” and/or defending President McCain’s escalation if he was the one in office making this decision?
@mansoor chaudhry ,dear you heard Fatmi Tariq calling Babar Awan Dr sahib,it does not look nice to call him so called Dr phd online degree,you have to search for that phd school where that will be,you have other Dr also called Ashiq Awan,it would not that long when people will call Zardari Dr of corruption,i mean phd in fraud and corruption?
You absolutely right, i was watching Charlie Rose yesterday and one of his guest pointed out that they will keep a residual force possibly for decades which for us is a bummer because we will be in a long period of destabilisation.
Poor Hameed gul , was thinking USA running from Afganistan and what a wonderful argument of Pak establishment that allied forces should not destory Al Qaida and Taliban in Afganistan because they will come to Pakistan.
It is indeed sad to watch Mushahid Hussain Syed (PML-Q) who was with the past administration to preach – essentially the man is “point scoring” – he and Hamid Mir are putting the pressure on Senator Dr. Babar Awan (PPPP) and the man is on the defensive.
I essentially am questioning his format & indeed the format of most of the talk shows in the country where they make it sound like they are balanced and allowing all sides to air their views – which is a sham. Of course you can not say this about the most popular show on this site after all the guy calls the show Mare Mutabiq.
I am arguing that if Hamid Mir had sat down Tariq Fatimi (Ex- Ambassador) in an interview or gathered a group of foreign policy experts – the viewer would have gained a lot from the show.
Obama’s speach of December 1 is a significant event for Pakistan & the citizens ought to expect much more from TV shows than what was on offer here – indeed Hamid Mir looses interest in foreign policy / US policy & shifts to non performance – which may be an important issue but NOT TODAY – in that sense he misses lessons from Journalism School 101 – topicality/freshness of news is of primary importance.
Hamid Mir’s assumption that his anti government stance does not show through is an insult to the inteligence of the viewer – who would be forced to sit there in front of the TV listening to him.
Hamid Mir’s steering the show to the kind of end on this show was a shame. Viewers deserve better.
americans want to quit from afghanistan
and having back channel negotiations with taliban
but our stupids are saying no negotiations and stay there
and keep killing muslims
for these liberal fascists and ba-ghairats
http://jang.com.pk/jang/dec2009-daily/02-12-2009/col8.htm
I don’t think the yanks give a toss about what our foreign minster. I wonder what our military and civilian leadership are going to do now that the money making machine will be over in the next 18 months.
I regard BOLTA PAKISTAN as one of the balanced shows in the present era.
Nusrat is leftist and Minhas as rightest balances the program itself.
The only thing common in them is stability of DEMOCRACY in Pakistan and prevent any effort of de-stabilization by ESTABLISHMENT.
I think people are willing to see more programs like MERAY MUTABIQ full of SANSANI KHAIZEE…………………WHICH ALWAYS STARTS WITH :
Kya honay wala hai?
Yeh system kaisay chaly ga?
Yeh system kaisay jaaey ga?
Kya Army direct aayee gi ya…….?
Triaka kya hai?
to me its nothing but BULL SHIT!…despite I see ZARDARI as one of the worst politician you can find on the planet earth.
@aqibmunir
I differ you on BOLTA PAKISTAN as one of the balanced show in the present era. but format of this program is no doudt excelant.
as you mention Nusrat is letist and Minhas is rightest instead of balacing the program their opinions are so mixed up it become something like “KHICHRI”
yes you are right people are willing to watch program like Maray Mutabiq and thats why people like Shahid Masood are promoted by our news channels which is very rediculus because Shahid Masood type journalist have no genuine opinion based on “facts and figure” but rather focus their opinion on “allegations”, “accusation” and “assemption”.
but I do like Talat Husain because he has opinion based on facts and are based on ground reality and also supported by credible references.
@aqibmunir & gazi87
In my opinion Nusrat is one of the most “thera huya” journalist amongst the crop under discussion – I feel he is a lot smarter than he gets credit for – the man has depth & consistency & the balls to take a stand no matter how contrary it might be to current opinion a ready example would be the group discussions on Nov 30 on Talat’s program where he said he holds the PM responsible etc and he questioned if Zardari was more powerful than earlier Presidents.
I call it – “Lebenswelt” – which implies lived life experiences – something he shares with Najam Sethi – who I understand is quite unpopular with members of this site but as I said he’s lived a full life & been through quite a lot & you get insights into the news through his glasses.
I too like the format of the show.
You know who else – I like – Riz Khan on Al Jazeera – he does his home work & does a great job interviewing his guests & what I love about him – he does not have a swollen head – this helps him put his guests at ease – if you search YouTube for Riz Khan + Asha Bhonsle – you’ll get to watch a treat of a show.
Attn: Dr Babar Awan
==============
If you are reading these lines, than my message is please don’t worry about this stupid Awam. Just keep holding on tight to Zardari. Make bloody sure that you don’t annoy Zardari, because Zardari carries Bhutto Tag. Zardari is our last ‘nishani’ of BB Shaheeeeeeeeeeeeeed NRO Waali. And Babar Awan you can win seat on PPP ticket from anywhere in Sindh. Even if you take bribe of Rs 50 crore, whether you are fasting or not – this stupid Awam will dance with you so long as you are standing next to Zardari. Just look three days ago, when you were making speech in Peshawar (after Eid day) you were garlanded with roses and a huge crowd, yes it was huge crowd cheering and chanting with you. Keep on looting Babar Awan, only we are stupid, jahil and juglee that we keep electing PPP over and over again with the fake slogan of Roti, Kapra aur Makaan.
And to All readers I would say just watch on 27 Dec, on the Death Anniversary of Benazir, over 3 million people will turn up and this Babar Awan will be holding the final duaa. Zardari, Babar Awan, Rehman Malik carry on looting. Nothing abosulutley nothing is going to happen.
@aftab
I agree with you that no one in the world should or does give a dman about this new group of incompetent and sold-out, third rate PPPP grave worshipers, who won an election with the help of the “Graves” and the pictures of their dead ledgers and their over hyped legacies.
As for as Obam’s 18 months plan, you must realize that he 18 months meant that they will start withdrawing the 35,000 serge not all of the military. Obama himself is no more than a sock puppet and he will change his strategy as given orders to.
Please read a great article by Paul Craig,
The Obama Puppet — The world’s least powerful man
Obama also found out that he cannot change anything else either, if he ever intended to do so. The military/security lobby has war and a domestic police state on its agenda, and a mere American president can’t do anything about it.
President Obama can order the Guantanamo torture chamber closed and kidnapping and rendition and torture to be halted, but no one carries out the order.
Essentially, Obama is irrelevant.
President Obama can promise that he is going to bring the troops home, and the military lobby says, “No, you are going to send them to Afghanistan, and in the meantime start a war in Pakistan and maneuver Iran into a position that will provide an excuse for a war there, too. Wars are too profitable for us to let you stop them.” And the mere president has to say, “Yes, Sir!”
http://www.opednews.com/articles/The-Obama-Puppet–The-wo-by-Paul-Craig-Roberts-091201-447.html
2 D
Dr.? Babar Awan (PPPP)
Shame on you, you are a living example of decaying humanity. Even the dung beetles have more integrity then you.
Fake Phd, ifeel pitty on u
A good read for Hamid Mir, he mentioned about the Swiss decision in this program.
Bigotry Wins in Switzerland
By voting to ban the construction of minarets, Switzerland apes the most extreme intolerance in the Muslim world
By Juan Cole
The International Declaration of Human Rights was crafted with the participation of Pakistan, a Muslim country; the global contemporary rights regime is imperfectly adhered to by all countries — it is a claim on the world’s behavior, something we must all strive for. If the Swiss stepped back from it, they stepped back in absolute terms. It doesn’t help us get to global human rights to say that is o.k. because others are also failing to live up to the Declaration…..
http://salon.com/news/opinion/feature/2009/11/30/swiss/index.html
Another good read for Hamid….
Some Simple Questions After Obama’s Afghanistan War Speech
By David Sirota
Huffington Post
December 02, 2009 Just a few quick questions to ponder after President Obama’s speech announcing a massive escalation in Afghanistan – the very first being shouldn’t we be able to honestly answer these queries before mindlessly cheering on a deployment of more troops to a Central Asian war zone?
Here they are in no particular order:
- What percentage of those kids in the West Point audience will die because of this decision?
- Would you be OK sending yourself or a loved one over to face combat and potentially death for the mission Obama articulated in Afghanistan? If not, how could you support sending other people?
- Why do so many pundits and pro-Obama activists continue to focus on how “hard” and “difficult” and “trying” this decision is for President Obama, rather than on how “hard” and “difficult” and “trying” this will be for the soldiers who are killed? Doesn’t Obama get to make this decision, and then go home to the comfortable confines of a butlered White House, while thousands of Americans will be sent 7,000 miles from home to face their potential deaths? Isn’t the latter “harder” than the former?
- Where’s the antiwar movement and the marches and the organizing and the protesting? Where’s all those well-funded groups that protested George W. Bush’s war policy? Or was all that really just about hating George Bush and embracing blind Partisan War Syndrome?
- In the days and weeks after this speech, will the White House’s cynical new spin get ever more desperate and become, hey – at least an Afghanistan escalation holds out the possibility of making sure military combat casualties start outpacing military suicides?
- Simple budget question: Should we now believe that escalating the Afghanistan War at the same annual cost of universal health care will save more than 45,000 Americans a year (ie. the number of Americans who die every year for lack of health insurance)?
- Did CNN really turn a move to send thousands of Americans to potentially die in Central Asia into an over-stylized, hyper-marketed television show called “Decision Afghanistan?” Is the media really that soulless, or did my eyes betray me? Because it’s really hard for me to believe that even in this cynical age, a television network tried to make a cheap reality-TV show out of life-and-death decision that could affect tens of thousands of people.
- Which is worse – a stupid person like George W. Bush starting a dumb occupation, or a smart person like Barack Obama following the lead of that stupid person, but actually escalating that occupation?
- The “we’re going to escalate war to end war” refrain throughout the speech – have we heard that before somewhere? It sounds sorta like “we’ll burn down the Vietnam villages to save them.” Just curious if that’s what we’re talking about here – because, ya know, that worked out really well.
- Are we really expected to believe that massively escalating a war is the way to end a war? I mean, really? Like, is the public really looked at like we’re that stupid? And a follow-up question: Are we really that stupid?
- If Obama’s Afghan War strategy about escalating a war to end a war was a self-help strategy for, say, alcoholics, wouldn’t it prescribe drinking more whiskey to stop drinking – and wouldn’t we all laugh at that?
- How many pundits will insist that bowing down to the Military-Industrial complex and escalating this missionless war somehow shows “resolve” and “strength” and “toughness” and “leadership” and not embarrassing weakness?
- Would the Obamaphiles now telling us to “give President Obama a chance” with this decision and/or defending Obama’s escalation – would these same people be saying we should “give President McCain a chance” and/or defending President McCain’s escalation if he was the one in office making this decision?
David Sirota – Columnist, Creators Syndicate
Mushaid Hussain Syed Rocks !
Dr. is also good, by the way can please tell me that how his PHD is fake he is PHD or MBBS or Dungger Doctor !
@mansoor chaudhry ,dear you heard Fatmi Tariq calling Babar Awan Dr sahib,it does not look nice to call him so called Dr phd online degree,you have to search for that phd school where that will be,you have other Dr also called Ashiq Awan,it would not that long when people will call Zardari Dr of corruption,i mean phd in fraud and corruption?
PPP waley Experte ho gey hay Jhoot Bolney MA.LIKE in the past PML(Q).Mushaid Hussain u are a Jhoota Banda.
@ConcernedAmericanPak
You absolutely right, i was watching Charlie Rose yesterday and one of his guest pointed out that they will keep a residual force possibly for decades which for us is a bummer because we will be in a long period of destabilisation.
Thnx for link to the article.
Poor Hameed gul , was thinking USA running from Afganistan and what a wonderful argument of Pak establishment that allied forces should not destory Al Qaida and Taliban in Afganistan because they will come to Pakistan.
Pakistan k top sianray banday maray mutabiq, Mayree Ghuzarish hai Jab yeh bool rahay hon tu sirf suna karain,
1. Sirtaj Aziz
2. Mirza Aslim Baig
3. Mushaid hussain
4. Dr. Qadir
5. Hameed Gull
6. Haroon ur Rashid
7. Babaer Awan (Dunger Dr.)
8. Qasi Hussain
9. Maulana Fazal ur Rehman
10.Nawaz Sharif
11. Talat Hussain
Jab yeh bool rahay hon tu enjoy kia karain,
Chabul Banday
1.Sh. Rashid
2. Asif Zardari
3. Ch. Shujat
4. Shah Mahmood Qureshi
5. Altaf Hussain
6. Pher Altaf Hussain
7.Pher Altaf Hussain
8. Javed Chaudry
9. Nusrat Javed
10. Hamid Mir
11. Meera
Jab yeh bool raha hon tu ap mute ker dia karain aur sirf dekhaan,
Shor Machanay Walay
1. Hamid Mir
2. Qamero(Kaira)
3. Sh. Rashid
4. Altaf Hussain
5. Farooq Sattar
6. Imran Khan
7. Kasmala Tariq
@ ezadyarkhan
9. Maulana Fazal ur Rehman
?????
are u serious?