l Capital Talk – 9 December 2009 | Pakistan Politics
{ 49 comments... read them below or add one }

• rtuemolwi said:

It was really refreshing to see this show today and people like Shazad roy and Ali zafar are our future, specially Shazad roy seems like a person with better intellect then others and it is always a treat to see Mr Shazad roy on capital talk …congratulations Mr Hmid mir

• hakimtai said:

My chidren were glued to the tv today and I was shocked to see that they were watching capital talk these pop stars have some karima and can really lead the youth

• khakanma said:

The only singer with balls is Ali azmat or maybe Shehzad roy, rest of them are just bloody hypocrites and follows the tide and cant take any stand

• boomthedoom said:

I have seen the new york times story and I am glad that Hmid mir did a show on it because the west is just trying to defame our last hope, our singer who represents our youth. Shehzad roy is our imran kham but with more time in hand and following in the youth

• irfanq said:

I am sure all the girls must be kissing their tv because of roy and zafar ….it was funny when shehzad talked about the dangi fever LoL

• gazala said:

All the musicians are just talking, the only person who is creating a shift on the ground is Shazad roy through his intiative of education. We need people like him in politics.

• Proactive said:

Now, I am no fan of him or his bands, but I have to admit that Ali Azmat absolutely rocked in this episode of Capital Talk! Todd Shea’s analysis was very simple and forthright.

• sidnauman said:

Laga reh Hmid Mir Lga reh …..this song by shezad roy really represents every thing religion, culture ,youth, foreign influence on Pakistan the bullshit system ROY is creative genius I think he can never beat this song again …. WOW nytimes what happened to freedom of speech

• kubusali said:

I was reading this in new youk times blog that after making this song on guantanamobay
    Jail shehzad roy must be on a no flying list …ha ha ha he is kicking some beep beep beep, glad that shehzad mentiond H clinton s speech

• rashidabid0987 said:

I am glad when shazad roy said that I make songs on issues not on events( usa and taliban) …I hope these politicians understand what these young kids are saying …what a shame

• ramzanasim said:

U S A GOV says that our borders are still unguarded and insurgency of weapons and Afghans is an admitted state issue. Six runs by Shazad roy, when he said that USA cant control mexicans coming IN USA illegallyhow can they expect us to stop unsurgency 100%

• dubaibabu said:

nytimes making sweeping statements implying majority of new generation supports Taliban without providing any evidence to back up the claim is very strange Abrar ul haq is big drama and a sweet talker but people like ZAFAR, ALI AZMAT AND ROY seems genuine

• Lunatikx said:

i didnt like the name of the program today beacuse Criticizing US influence and cleansing operations inside Pakistan is something no one is going to kill them for. Infact it will earn some popularity for them in some corners.Shehzad roy and ali azmat should have talked more to clarify their point …who is this tod guy

• ahsanbhai said:

Why Hamid mir was making faces when ali azmat was talking to him. I think he should call ALI AZMAT again on his show and talk to him and give him a fair chance to speak. Shehzad roy is very vocal about things in his music and speech why Ali zafar was bit scared and afraid of giving his opnion

• Mirza Ghalib said:

Look what else is going on in the world.

http://www.4shared.com/file/168090800/351dc07a/_.htmlw

• jahanshah said:

Its all social injustice and only Mr shehzad used the word mashi ziyadti but the sad thing is that Hmid didn’t say anything after that …miriza sahab what is this site about

• kamalho said:

i agree with you its all social injustice. Not a single american singer has made any song on taliban why nytimes wants shehzad roy and ali azmat to make a song …WHY

• rashiimran said:

it was such a refreshing feeling to see our youth with so much passion

• naenny said:

If Pakistan was not fighting militancy, India would have had all the right to continue flaring its nostrils, but Pakistan is fighting and India needs to acknowledge that and like shehzad roy and ali azmat said that we should openly tell the world what is going on and stop talking Cliché like abrar ul haq

• haal said:

shehzad roy is a very nice singer and i am a fan of his work and music…good go shehzad roy

• biwi said:

qismat apnay haath main by shehzad roy and klashafok by ali azmat are the albums which can really move the youth and is moving them in the right direction

• hakimtai said:

I am reading all the comments and I respect all the views but one thing I would like to share over here is when my young kids were watching the show they were saying that if these people can talk against usa then why our gov is so scared of usa

• sidnauman said:

shehzad roy talked about real issues and one issue is that if you cant do anything more. But atleast save your fellow citizens if possible from the Monsters. Teach your children something other than Islam and religion. Let them see the world of Science and logic

• gazala said:

Are you mad sidnauman, shehzad roy never said anything against the religion or to follow science he very well talke about the education and health issue briefly

• sidnauman said:

Gazala I think your English is week, get some English lessons. I never shaid that shehzad roy made any songs or said anything against religion

• gazala said:

I think you have complexes and you are a typical Pakistan and will not talk about issues but non issues I am a fan of shehzad roy not because he sings because what he is doing for this country through his organization zindagitrust

• sidnauman said:

You misunderstood me but anyway you are right it’s a non issue and I meant weak not week .if you see the bolg on nytimes the people of usa has really sad some bad things about our singers

• sidnauman said:

Gazala its not about religion its just they are 2 scared of taliban. Cant you see the topic of the program

• kamalho said:

WHAT? Why you people like to push our singer to do something which is of no use the real issue is poverty like what shehzad said not talibanisation

• gazala said:

If the Taliban topples the Pakistani government and institutes strict Sharia law, they won’t be making music anymore soo they will be vocal agaisnt them but will not leave the real issue

• rtuemolwi said:

you have history, and muddied history plus rabid distortion of facts about neighbors used to indoctrinate Pak citizens for 6 decades,we dont want Conspires but solutions

• hakimtai said:

as i said before my children were glued to tv and they were not talking about conspities but was talking about shehzad roy s song laga reh. So please stop talking about this lets think positive and push these singers so they can change the mind set of our youth

• sitaraakhri said:

Good show. Everyone had something positive to say–Shehzad Roy, Ali Zafar, Todd Shea and Abrar BUT NOT STUPID ALI AZMAT. He is such a moron. I just couldn’t believe how he was so self-assuredly saying that India, Israel and America are behind this—this is his brainwashing by his chacha Zaid Hamid who he keeps sticking to.

I would like to ask Ali Azmat: what happened to the Pushtun musician Kemal Mehsud when he did sing songs againt the Taliban—he got so many death threats that he had to leave the area. Go to Swat and Waziristan and go ask the people who they think is behind this. It is easy for Ali Azmat to float these conspiracy theories sitting in his shorts in front of his laptop. What a complete hypocrite!

I don’t give two hoots for the New York Times—I don’t know why even Pakistanis are so concerned what the stupid American media is saying about us—but I do care when people from Swat and Waziristan—people from my country are being harrassed by these monsters who are from within us!!! As much as it hurts to say this, it is the truth and until we accept the truth we won’t be able to correct it.

• Mahmud said:

Sahzad Roy is a young man but with great thoughts,keep up good work my dear?

• Munir Solangi said:

Hamid Mir is a trend setter.He started inviting Shehzad Roy and Ibrarul Haq two years ago in his highly politicized talk show and now these guys are perfectly speaking on political issues.Now Talat Hussain is also inviting Shehzad Roy and i hope Kashif Abbasi,Javed Chaudhry and others will also follow Hamid Mir.

We need to develop good and well educated citizens like Ibrarul Haq and Roy.I missed Jawad Ahmad in this show.I suggest that Hamid Mir should also invite Rahim Shah and Abida Perveen in his show.

I request Hamid Mir to give his opinion in these kind of shows.He wrote an excellent column today in Jang.

http://jang.com.pk/jang/dec2009-daily/10-12-2009/col6.htm

• UmeR said:

@ ftandan

oh! so there is Internet facility under rocks as well, anyway, don’t roam around here, as someone might step on you. So stay safe, and crawl back under the rock you came out from.

• irfanq said:

Mr ftandan how can blame islam its all poverty

• gazala said:

somebody would mad to blame islam it is poverty i agree with you blaming islam is just not the solution

• ramzanasim said:

agar chay but hai jamat ki astino main mujhay hai hukmain azan lailaha ilal lah …..this is what your problem is ftandan

• Proactive said:

I think that there should be a special episode of Capital Talk regarding all of the cause and effects of this form of violence and try to get an overall perspective about it–with a more diverse mix of people and try to analyze all the macro and micro aspects of it (crime, poor governance, foreign interference, poverty, etc). There also needs to be a consensus by all media organizations on how to responsibly approach this issue without hurting our national security. In this way we might manage to reach some kind of a consensus based opinion. Then again, its a waste of time debating these issues if the entire status quo continues to persist.

One-sided perspectives will not solve any problems nor suggest possible solutions to deal with the issue of all kinds of criminal violence and destruction.

• sbcheema said:

aslam o alikum .. thank you hamid sahib .aik nice prograame present kerney ka . aap seb looghoon kee kosheshien aik din zroor rang laa ien ghee IN SHA ALLAH .

ftandan

It was muslim’s who created bogus dossier and invaded Iraq and then under the watch of the invaders a million + people died.

• naughtypakistani said:

Tailbones don’t spare even clerics who said something against them how can you expect a singer to openly criticize them. Every body wants to live, whereas it is safe to critisize RAW, mossad, CIA, and all other alphabets that reflect your (Zaid Hamid style) patriotism.

• aajkapakistan said:

Todd Shea : We really appreciate your kindness towards Pakistan. Ali Azmat: Very well said. We are very proud of you. Ali Zafar is very clever as he did not say anything against India because he won’t be asked to perform over there. Abrar and Shahzad: well said.

• fazhar said:

Well Done Hamid! Our pop singer are oslso doing good. It is not necessary to concentrate at everything america & americans say because they are not our standards, even responsible for all the rediculous situation in Pakistan…………..

• erumz said:

I feel pity for youngsters like Ali Zafar who even in these crucial times are so self obsessed and scared….he wasn’t even uttering a word out of his mouth…i think he doesn’t know the fact that he is nothing without Pakistan.I will request Hamid Mir to please invite some other more vocal person rather than people like Ali Zafar.
    Hats off to Ali Azmat and Shahzad Roy for at least being able to honestly put forward what they think and who is responsible for all this mess.

• erumz said:

@ Ahsanbhai: He was making faces in between Ali Azmat’s comments because Ali Azmat was being really honest and vocal which is rare because people tend to give more diplomatic answers on camera but Ali Azmat was setting the records straight.

• Shock said:

@erumz

This post is not just towards you, it is for all the Ali Azmat supporters. He is not criticizing drones, but was talking of the conspiracy theories that are all over the internet. If an American singer, who has a much wider appeal and more fans across the world sings a song criticizing Pak Army’s indirect support to the Taliban, how would he feel then? We all know that is not true, it is a conspiracy just as what Ali Azmat’s thought is.

Watch Ali Azmat in marina morning, where he was openly supporting dictatorship. If he is your hero then I feel sorry for you having such role models. It is easy to gain popularity in Pakistan by just making few songs against America, which is what these singers strive for. There are tons of other issues as Shehzad pointed out can be used in a song.