The Supreme Court has struck down a previous verdict of the Lahore High Court on postponement of elections in NA-55 Rawalpindi. The case was then sent to the Election Commission of Pakistan to pick it up from the stage where it was left.
A three-member Supreme Court bench headed by Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhary observed that the election commission was an independent body not subservient to any federal or provincial government. The executive should assist the commission in discharging its duty, the court said.
This decision was for NA-55 only. Earlier the provincial government went to the Lahore High Court for postponement of elections on ground of poor law and order situation and threats to the candidates’ lives.
However, in their explanation in front of the court on Wednesday, the Punjab government informed the court that the Supreme Court’s verdict will be implemented.
Ex-prime minister, the head of PML-N, Nawaz Sharif and Sheik Rashid of AML are the potential contestants of this NA-55 constituency.
no matter what, lack of gas, water, sugar, security, no matter what!
I DO NOT want to see Sheikh Rasheed getting elected in this area…..I want to only see him as a analyst on TV……..
Let someone else come forward from this halqa ……….I will be disappointed if the awam made mistake of bringing Shaikh Rasheed again into this seat…..
He stood by with the dictator and is only good for analysis and political prophecies……..
He is the Sheikh Nostradamu of Pakistan……and let him “run” ……….:)
@Mulla Nafs e Zakkiya
I agree with you. He always poses to be the voice of poor, but somehow jumps into the hands of Dictators and anybody in government, for the sake of a seat. He is somebody like MQM who always join the hands of government in the “supreme” national interest of the country.
@Masood Ahmad
@Mulla Nafs e Zakkiya
Why condemning Sheikh, banazir also went to bed with Mushi,
Zia-ul-haq housing minister is today’s PM.
Zia catagorize NS as his son.
Zulfi used to call Ayub, dad.
Is hamam mein sab nagee hai, that is the beauty of democracy.
Democracy is not a holly way of governess, its a western value which suppose to be messy, as its in Pakistan.
I ‘d like to see big names like Nawaz Sharif, Atizaz Ahsen, Imran Khan etc on ballot paper from Lahore and Pindi. We know Sheikh Rashid (55) and Hafiz Sulleman Butt (NA 123) will be on ballot paper.
I am up for Sheikh Rashid
Shaikh is happy that he get justice from SC. We are happy too, SC gives a verdict which against Sarif’s will and it’s good sign , but shaikh will not be able to win the electin.
I agree that to see Shaikh Rasheed back in parliament would be a disgrace but I think if he is indeed elected in a fair manner its the decision of the masses and should be accepted and respected.
Despite my personal dislike of Imran Khan, I’d like to see him contest. He has been using his cricket goodwill to get invited on all the talk shows. But has developed a habit of running away from elections, he contested from only two seats in Gilgit elections and hasn’t contested any by-elections. Seems hes too afraid to face the public.
good decision by supreme court, I hope shahikh Rasheed will elect NA 55
Its is impossible the poeple will pinid will elect Sh. sb………out of question……..
anyhow decesion is good………
Its is impossible that poeple of pinid will elect Sh. sb………out of question……..
anyhow decesion is good………
i just wonder lahore high court is indipendent or supreme court.
Takht e Lahore is still successful to delay 123.
You will be surprised to see Na 55 results. Sheikh Rasheed is now leading and he deserves.
People who wants to elect Sheikh Rashid really have a very very short memory. You guys should eat almonds everyday.
well well.. if people have not realized yet who is wrong who is right.. and they going to elect Sheikho again.. then they really deserve the sheikho… let it be
For the first time I have realised that supreme court is really independent now. I was utterly disappointed at the decision of Lahore high court which was given at the behest of PMLN.
As for the election results are concerned, unless PMLN can bring some heavy weight, Sheikh Rashid is the automatic choice.
Let the people be judge……Collective wisdom can never be wrong
Let the people be judge……Collective wisdom can never be wrong….People of pindi are wise enough to decide there own fate
Nawaz, Imran, JI support Taliban: Altaf
LAHORE: Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) chief Altaf Hussain has said that Pakistan Muslim league-Nawaz (PML-N) chief Nawaz Sharif, Tehreek-e-Insaaf Chairman Imran Khan and the Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), led by Syed Munawar Hasan, are indirectly supporting the Taliban, a private TV channel reported on Wednesday. According to the channel, the MQM chief urged religious scholars to boycott the sympathisers of the Taliban. Altaf said he would return to the country at the earliest for the sake of peace and stability in Pakistan. Reacting to the statement, PML-N Secretary Information Ahsan Iqbal said the MQM leader wanted to malign the second largest parliamentary party and its leader Nawaz Sharif. daily times monitor.
Source:Daily times
@mir munsif
To support Taliban’s wrong doings is wrong but to hate/blame them blindly is not the right way either! Some people are trying to hide their crimes/games using the name of Taliban or?
Please, for whatever our sins, do not give Sheikh Rashid another chance. He will run straight into Zardari’s bed. The nut has slept with every past leader, dictator or politicians. He has nothing to offer to our nation except cheap talk.
And also, I fail to see what good can he do on TV either.
In our new awareness era, carved out by our splendid Judiciary and Media we should set a high bar from our electorates and demand actual targeted achievements, be that they are local.
Good decision though
Public View regarding Sheikh Rashid
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uHRGvGgvfPI
@mir munsif
Read the below column. It explains all “Achievements” and “Crimes” of great Asif Zardari.
http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/dec2009-daily/30-12-2009/col2.htm
I live in the same constituency. In the past elections, people have always elected him on the name of Nawaz Sharif. I hope if Shakeel Awan who is a die heart worker of NS is given the ticket then I can bet that once again Sheeda Talle will have to face a humilating defeat.
This is the decision of an Independent Court, it does not mean LHC is not independent but it was their own view point and was heard by single bench. S.C being an appellant authority decided against it. Any how a big lose for Punjab Government, who pleaded through their Advocate General that the elections were postponed due to law and order and sugar crises (I cannot understand the second argument).
I think Sheikh Rashid is leading but there will be a close contest between :
Sheikh Rashid, AML
(has gross root support which turned against him in the last elections)
Ijaz Khan Jazi, PTI
( Runner up in the previous bye elections and if got 8/10 thousand party votes can do a big upset, he is running his campaign quite well)
Shakeel Awan, PML-N
Ex-Union Nazim and nephew of Babar Awan (I think PPP is also supporting PML-N). PML-N facing difficulty to find a suitable candidate and once it was suggested to get Hanif Abbassi resinged from NA-56 to contest NA-55 but it was rejected because it could be a back fire.
Jamat-e-Islami
Winner of bye election 2002. And still has a potential vote bank but may not be in a winning position but if they ally with any of the above candidate surely they make a big difference
@ munna.
Time & again Western type of ‘Democracy’ has been been DISCARDED by world’s Muslims as a ‘panacea’ or as a (Hypothetical) remedy of ‘ANY’ or of ‘ALL’ the ills of our Eastern System of Values.
Could somebody elaborate as to ‘WHO’ in 1947 introduced this type of system for the millions of ‘unsuspecting’ people of this part of the sub-continent called Pakistan?
I am sure the founder of our country, i.e; Mohd Ali Jinnah NEVER DESIRED so; except that it was THRUST upon us by the British, who left behind a legacy of ‘DIVIDE & RULE’ for us to ‘quarrel on petty points’ which they termed as ‘Democracy.’
I don’t care if Sheikh Rasheed wins, there are over 300 “Khussi” already sitting in the National
Assembly, his addition won’t make a difference.
sheikh rasheed per 62(f) laga dein to pml-n ka rastaa saaf
@Justice4all
“I don’t care if Sheikh Rasheed wins, there are over 300 “Khussi” already sitting in the National
Assembly, his addition won’t make a difference.”
Here is something to make you even more elated:
PML-N candidate is Babar Awan’s nephew
So what’s the difference between PPP/PML-N?
Anyways, the issue is not whether Sheikh Rasheed wins or not. The issue is that LHC sold out to PML-N. It was a shameful decision and SC has finally corrected it.
@ All.
If memory serves me right, Sh.Rashid is said to have started his ‘political’ career during Zia-ul-Haq era, as a SPY, AGENT PROVOCATEUR , INFORMER, or whatever being then known to be on the regular PAY-ROLL of the higher-ups of I.S.I?
If he can be then (in that period of time,) ‘bought’ for a few ‘dimes’ then what stops him for being bought & re-bought every time a new govt ‘marches-in’ with it’s military boots-on?
Very informative post, wbuttar. Thank you!
A good decision by the supreme court and now let the awam be judge in NA-55 . But the political atmosphere is not in favor of sheikh and he will not be able to win the election. The Peoples of pindi are wise enough to decide in the shadow of his past performance. Sheikh Rashid was one time my best friend but in crises period PML(N) he jumped to the dictator side. Now he is only good for political analysis and making joke/poses for the sake of poor community.
The issue is not whether Shiekh Rashid would get elected or not but which dumbhead advised PMLN to get this election postponed – they are the most popular party and they took such a retrogressive step of actually asking for postponement of election – and now they are in the same situation as Zardari who first blocked the return of the judges but had to reinstate them. Same here happened. Shabaz Sharif and NS should next time be very careful to follow the advice of such advisors who advised them not to go for the election. The most prominent thing was that even Attorney General of Pakistan Mansoor also spoke in favour of election – I remember Gilani had given this statement few months back that he had asked for postponement of election due to security issues – now his own Attorney General is actually supporting Sheikh Rashid. PMLN should learn from these incidents and should shun these technqiues of getting courts manipulate for them.
Whoever wins doesnt matter – the result would be that Pakistan would be the winner.
I remember that in 1980s the whole parliament of Iran was blown up and their prime minister also died in that but still the elections were held. Even when there was Iran Iraq war – elections were held.
PMLN should have never ever gone for postponement of this election – it was a very big blunder. Recently bye election was held in Quetta so why cannot it be held in Lahore and Rawalpindi.
Mian Sahib get rid of Babar Awans and Rehman Maliks of your team. Otherwise like Zardari you would also become irrelevant.
This site is biased towards supporters of general musharraf…always blocks commenst in favour of him even though in decent language.. while pl using bad language are simple allowed to post…
about this decision… i was wondering in judicial system when LHC decision was totally opposite to supreme cuorts one wihtout nay extra information provided.. who will ask LHC why they took this decision in teh first place?? who will check the biasness of LHC which was soo apparent… judges shud also be held accountable and contraversial decisions when overruled by supreme court shud be sent to judicial counsel to review the integrity of the LHC judge who clearly favoured PML(N)… while they were rallying in open air for gilgit baltistan
Please put the footage on front
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KwYQ7ymxuNQ
MQM exposed
shaikh used to win this seat by sayin he wud put it at the feet of Nawaz Sharif, he’ll never win again pindi belongs to n league
we should give credit to the n league for havin this seat vacated, it was won by a pml n worker haji parvez n the party made him resign after he was found guilty of misconduct, ppp should follow the precedent.
as far a PTI is concerned, they going back on one more promise, it was part of khan policy not to take ppl from pml n ppp n q league into his party coz these parties are ‘corrupt’ the pti candidate from NA 123 is from q league n NA 55 is from n league
mayb he should get fazlullah to run for the election
The Supreme Court decision reflects upon the electoral rights, elections are the right of the people of constituency as their representative should be a part of the parliament; it is the important that we are vigilant so that by-elections are conducted smoothly. We cannot postpone elections due to the threat of terrorism as they grow stronger of our fear! So LIFE MUST GO ON….
I am actually afraid from the respect of Judiciary , because whatever they are doing no one is listening them , and i agree with ammarisb
Sheikh Rasheed!
Shame on you . You are the one who once were licking balls of musharraf and talking against restoration of the same judiciary which today gives u jusitce…Shame shame shame on u….
People will never forget your role in Mushrah regime.. If you are elected again, then i will say only this..
” The people of this country really deserve to be ruled by Zardari and mushrraf type corrupt people. They really deserve to be batoned by police in queues for purchasing sugar, flour etc. I feel satisfation when I hear that our “poor ” awam is beaten by police in front of utilities stores”
GOOD DICISION ….
NOW MQM MUST NOMINATE CANDIDATE FOR NA 55 AGAINT PML-N OR ANY ONE ELSE
THIS IS A GOOD CHANCE TO ENTER IN PUNJAB
@ sheeraz
We don’t want they Azaab on us, them being restricted to Karachi is enough.
Shaikh Rasheed Victorious
my deep hearten Wish
why r my comments not posted admin.. explain…. if my voice is not shown here means this site is only for jahil ppl like u….
^ Keep dreaming.
Is this a good decision, had it been given just after the LHC, totaly hijacked by PML N, verdict it would be good.
now every one knows that the restriction to contest the election for 10 year imposed to Nawaz Talib in the agreement with Mush and Saudi govt. has now expired on 31 December.
@arain,u raised a good piont.when PMLN wants to delay the elections it did through LHC.now PMLN wants to held the election it used supreme court.
What PML N men are doing, Who one else than people of Pindi knew. That is now Pakistan Mafia Leage N$ group so sheikh is much better. He is only a politician. What difference in Men of Zia and Men of Mush.
NA-55: Party position in 2008 election.
———————
http://www2.ecp.gov.pk/vsite/ElectionResult/Search.aspx?constituency=NA&constituencyid=NA-55
——————–
The issue is not whether Shiekh Rashid would get elected or not but wh0 advised PMLN to get this election postponed – they are the most popular party and they took such a retrogressive step of actually asking for postponement of election – and now they are in the same situation as Zardari who first blocked the return of the judges but had to reinstate them. Same here happened. Shabaz Sharif and NS should next time be very careful to follow the advice of such advisors who advised them not to go for the election. The most prominent thing was that even Attorney General of Pakistan Mansoor also spoke in favour of election – I remember Gilani had given this statement few months back that he had asked for postponement of election due to security issues – now his own Attorney General is actually supporting Sheikh Rashid. PMLN should learn from these incidents and should shun these technqiues of getting courts manipulate for them.
Whoever wins doesnt matter – the result would be that Pakistan would be the winner.
I remember that in 1980s the whole parliament of Iran was blown up and their prime minister also died in that but still the elections were held. Even when there was Iran Iraq war – elections were held.
PMLN should have never ever gone for postponement of this election – it was a very big blunder. Recently bye election was held in Quetta so why cannot it be held in Lahore and Rawalpindi.
The issue is not whether Sh Rashid wins or not – and even Sh Rashid knows it – that was not his point – but he wanted to win this court case and gain high moral ground against PML N which he has. I dont know who advosed Pb govt to ask for postponement of election because not only it gave wrong message regarding the party but also it would have given the oppotunity to any future goverment who didnt want any election to postpone elections on basis of security issues. In 1980 the Iranian parliament had been blown up and the whole Majlis was killed but still the elections were held. There was Iran Iraq war going on but still elections were held. Hence we should make a point to hold elections no matter happens – PML N should avoid such future mistakes if its to maintain its crediblity.
Adm n why is my com m e nt awa it ing fo r mod er at io n
There will be a close contest between Sheikh Rasheed and PML candidate. Sheikh has again regained his lost grounds bcz last time he was at the ticket of PML (Q) now he sense that this time the people of his constituency will elect him. But the other important candidate is Ijaz Khan Jazi on the ticket of Tehreek-i-Insaf, Jazi was attached with PML (N) until the By Election of last years when party give prioorty to Haji Pervaiz Khan over him so after that he contested as an Independent candidate and bagged almost eight thousand votes. So it will be very close contest which is about to begin in NA-55 so WATCH OUT FOR IT.
@ c hussain.
Have you too,(unknowingly,) touched the raw nerve of the guys who run this out-fit called a ‘website’?
Take my word for it, that these guys do not even have the courtesy of replying to you, by ‘YES’ or ‘NO’?
@mansoorkhan
you can read wbuttar’s comments ….
and i would suggest that you better read the verdict of LHC in detail and you will come to know why they made that decision … in start they also showed that they gonna do the same as SC did but the facts and base provided by the Punjab Government was so strong that they had to made the decision … and decisions have to made on merit and that decision was on merit and also … according to the situation created at that time … please read the LHC statement if you didnt
Yes holding people in disturbance for six months is according to merit.
Sharif’s merrit.
by the way
i am missing those idiots who were saying that justice is just for GT road … and justice is just for a few ….
justice delayed is justice denied however 123 is still pending. just a face saving.
@ Anwer Kamal
this is a biased opinion …. of yours… still the decision is against the sharifs ….. its about the facts and law …. in LHC facts were in their favor … after six months those facts were not valid …. even the most concerned person is saying that the courts are independent and unbiased but some ______________ are still barking against the judiciary and justice ….
Sheikh Rasheed is not my most favorite but he will be a lot better choice for the assembly then majority of MNA’s we have now. Above all Sheikh Rasheed was never involved in corruption and he can stand up to Nawaz Sharif and Gillani.
If we blame Sheikh Rashid for helping a General then we must blame JUI, ANP, MQM, Sharif brothers and PML/N, PML/Q, Jamat Islami, most of the S/C Judges and lot more who helped Zia-ul-Haq or Musharaf to stay in power.
I will certainly vote for Sheikh Rasheed.
@Bamboo
Correction brother– Ijaz Khan Jazi got more than 12000 votes while PML-N also supported by PPP bagged 25000 so this difference can be eliminated in presence of other players as well. And even Ijaz Khan can be a winner.
Any how a close contest between three guys i.e. Sh. Rasheed, Ijaz Khan Jazi and Shakeel Awan.
@wbuttar just want to make some correection pmln asked hanif abbasi to contest from na 55 but he refused it.
PTI has registered 5000 new members from the areas of NA-55 in last five days. What this mean is crystel clear.
President Zardari has signed the bill giving provinces decision power over the fate of Local Bodies Elections. Recently Prime Minister Gilani has said that according to Charter of Demoracy it was decided that from now the elections of Local Bodies would be held on party basis. PMLN and Shabaz Sharif should now take the initiative to dissolve local bodies and hold elections in Punjab on party basis and prove their popularity because if they delay these elections like those of N55 and Lahore consitituency its going to hurt them more in future as the more they are going to delay the more they are going to become vulnerable.
In UK local bodies elections are held every year in May on party basis and it actually gauges where the party is going. Local bodies should be held on party basis because it would help develop the grassroots of the party also and would give opportunity to the party members at lower level to also participate in the election process and serve in these bodies benefiting the party in the long run.
Local bodies whenever held on non party basis has led to the election of those people who have lot of money or in the end they inevitably join the party – so what is the use of holding them on non-party basis. They only tend to produce lotas and opportunists so party basis local bodies elections are the best for the country.
mujtaba ali
Let me just say this – even if Pakistan is at war with India – elections should still be held – the only excuse should be if there is Qiyamat – other than that postponement of any election is not acceptable.
The reason is very simple. Punjab Goverment did a huge disservice to themselves. Because if this precedent of security was allowed to set in even by Supreme Court – then for the goverment it would be very easy to postpone any election saying that there is threat to the security of the country and today its one constituency but tomorrow then it would be the whole country. What if PPP in three years time when General Elections are due say that they are postponing the elections for security reasons or if tomorrow another general comes marching in and postpones any elections for years to come – and courts second that – where would you go.
So there should be ONLY ONE REASON OF POSTPONEMENT OF ANY ELECTION and that should be QIYAMAT. Simple as that.
You know in Australia it is by the law that every citizen HAS TO VOTE and not voting in general election is a congnizable offence. There is no such thing as that only a percentage of eligible voters have voted and other sit at home and waste their vote. Yes there is a column in the vote in Australia which is NONE OF THE ABOVE – meaning that citizen is allowed to tick that column if he doesnt favour any candidate. I believe that is real democracy.
I think in Pakistan it should also be made compulsory for every citizen to vote in general election.
ECP set Feb 24 for by-polls on NA-55
RAWALPINDI: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has announced to hold by-elections for the National Assembly’s constituency NA-55 on February 24.
According to the ECP, appeals against approval or rejection of the nomination papers can be submitted by January 25.
It said that decisions on appeals would be announced by January 29 while nomination papers can be withdrawn by February 1.
http://www.geo.tv/1-5-2010/56295.htm
A goat in dress of a lion has come out.
admin
Change the title as election for NA123 also in the same verdict.
SC verdict on NA-55 also applicable to NA-123: CJP
ISLAMABAD: The Supreme Court of Pakistan has said that the verdict given in NA-55 case will also be applicable on the vacant seat of NA-123.
http://www.geo.tv/1-6-2010/56371.htm
It may be a good news for PML N but the time has gone away.
Spending money on media could not help them.
GEO Pakistan PPP to support PML-N candidates for NA-55, 123 Updated at: 2053 PST, Thursday, January 07, 2010
ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) has decided in principle to support N-league candidates for by-polls on NA-55 and NA-123.
The announcement in this regard will be made soon.
Source close to PPP said that according to an agreement made between PPP, PML-N in case of by-polls, both parties would support the candidate of a party, which had earlier won general selections.
Both parties are in contact in connection with by-polls on NA-55, 123. However, a final decision will be made by President Asif Ali Zardari next week.
It has been learnt that four candidates of the PPP Amir Fida Paracha, Khalid Nawaz, Mian Khurram Rasool and Fauzia Habib for these seats.
PPP Secretary General told Geo that the meeting of election board would be called in this regard.
And See what Nisar is saying.
Thursday, January 07, 2010
RAWALPINDI: Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly and senior leader of the Pakistan Muslim League-N Ch Nisar Ali Khan said on Wednesday the party had changed its policy and in future, only committed workers would be given party tickets to contest elections.
He made these remarks while addressing a workers’ convention held to launch the election campaign of Shakeel Awan, a party candidate for NA-55 constituency of Rawalpindi.Ch Nisar said his party would not tolerate corruption and illegal activities in the country as well as in the party.
He expressed the confidence that people will support the PML candidate during the by-elections. He said that the Sharif brothers had deep love and affection for Rawalpindi and they took keen interest in its development.
And Sheikh Rasheed said today
Ch. Nisar !
My name is Sheikh Rasheed and I don’t meet anyone secretly.
Tum Char Bar Taweez lenay gaiay magar mil na saka
SHEIKH RASHID HAS CHANCES TO WIN THIS TIME. NA 55
Well I hate to say this but Sheikh Rashid do have a chance to win this seat. Not because he has become popular but because people are fed up of voting again and again in last 2 years in this area, First Javed Hashmi then Pervaiz khan and now Shakeel awan. There is no doubt that PMLN is THE most popular party in this area and if people do come out of their houses, there is no way sheikh can win here but I m afraid that this might not happen. Sheikh is very good in forcing his own people to polling boths so he might have better turn out for him.
This is going to be very interesting now.
Have any one of you saw a Dunya Tv program about this costituency today, PML N candidate avoided that in spite of request that they are ready to send a OBC van to participate as where he is. Tehreek e Insaf’s Jazi however spoke a few words. Why I am interested ?
I hope this election will bring many stories out.
See a Daily times news.
Punjab govt will rig NA-55 by-polls: Rashid
ISLAMABAD: Awami Muslim League (AML) President Sheikh Rashid Ahmed on Thursday alleged that the Punjab government will rig polls in NA-55 constituency, and warned that he will request the Election Commission to hold the polls under the army’s supervision instead of Punjab police, if the situation demanded.
Addressing a press conference at the National Press Club, Rashid denied that he had had dinner with President Asif Ali Zardari, and accused the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leadership of holding midnight meetings with the military top brass for future conciliation. “Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif and opposition leader Nisar Ali Khan held four one-on-one meetings with military generals to strike political deals,” he alleged. Rashid said that Punjab police had been after him during the election campaign, and had been monitoring his activities. The Punjab government was pressurising police officials to motivate public support for the PML-N for the by-polls scheduled for February 24, he added.
Rashid accused Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani for postponing the by-polls on the Punjab CM’s insistence. The AML president claimed that he had the support of 75 percent of voters from NA-55, and did not need the overt or covert support of any party. The Punjab government and PML-N would be defeated because its inabilities had been exposed in the past two years, he added. staff report
I hope PTI and JI make an alliance and I assure you no body can stand against them if they filed a joint candidate i.e. Ijaz Jazi. I am not a big supporter of JI politics but elections need alliances and unfortunately it does not happen in NA-55. Sheikh Rashid is leading and one should not underestimate PTI candidate.
Punjab Government surely will play their role and Circuit House has been docorated for the cause and I am an eye witness of the state rigging of PML-N. But who know if people decide the get out of their homes every thing can be changed.
Long live PTI
I know this constituency vey well as well as Mr sheikh Rashid. PMLN does not need to do any rigging to win this seat at all. If people come out to vote then Sheikh Rashid would be nowhere in the contest. Shakil of PMLN is not 1st tier of pmln leaders. He is somewhere 3rd or 4th tier leader but still he has much better chances than Sheikh. Let me assure you that anybody on pmln ticket can win this seat very easily( but if people come out to vote). Sheikh needs to create this drama to gain sympathies.he has done that all his life. He want Army to monitor this election because he has always been a favourite of GHQ and wants support from them to do the RIgging in his favour. PTI is becoming popular in this area and Ijaz Jazi is a better candidate because of his affiliations in pmln workers but still I dont see him to be a winning candidate. Sheikh Rashid will have to use massive negative means to win this seat.
Do keep in mind that it is the same Sheikh Rashid who was personally going to each and every voters and sending them individual sms in 2008 election but still lost by more than 50,000 votes.
It’s a blessing in disguise that elections at NA55 were delayed…..If elections were held on time most probably sheikh Rashid would not have run for the seat, knowing his exact chances………. But after all this drama, he is again under the illusion of fake popularity……Let him contest and see his worth……I think this is from Allah! Sheikh Rashid has more humiliation for him in days to come…….Lal Mosque’s redness wouldn’t leave him so soon…….
As far as PTI is concerened…Ijaz Khan Jazi is arguably the strongest candidate they can find throughout Pakistan…….Even if the party has little support amongst masses …Jazzi will win… but honestly …i doubt:)
SC orders holding of polls in NA-123
The chief of PML-N chief Mian Nawaz Sharif had submitted the request for contesting election from this constituency.
http://www.geo.tv/1-11-2010/56693.htm
In my personal opoinon sheikh rasheed shud win bec i knw malik shakeel awan personally. He was nazim of our area and i swear no one is happy with him here bec he didnt visit our area even once after wining election. Secondly i think if shakeel awan cant govern small part of rwp in good mean than how cud he run whole city good.
I dont want shakeel awan to win this election bec he has no leadership qualities, just he can do politics in gordon college and Government technical school DAV college Road infact he is street leader not national.
I feel sorry for PML N that whom they represnting against sheikh rasheed bec i remember shakeel was the person who was PN of sheikh rasheed.
PML-Q backs Rashid in by-polls
http://www.aaj.tv/news/National/156856_detail.html
Today I being a part of PTI sensing a win in NA 55. And 24th Feb will tell the people what PTI stand for.
Welcome PTI
For all those who thinks Sheikh Rasheed will win, I’m sorry but I cant see that, It might be my faulty analytic sence, but the Vote in Pindi is either PML-N or PPP, no other Vote, small proportion also supports Jamaat, but overall its PPP and PML-N Vote.
When Sheikh Rasheed used to fight election with PML-N ticket, he took votes in range of, 67000, 73000, or 77000…and PPP’s candidates took, 40000, 42000 and 39000.
But when two constituencies are made, Sheikh Rasheed took, 42000 votes from NA-55, and 33000 from NA-56. Second was PPP, with 30000 in NA55, and 16000 in NA56.
PML-N at that stage, with the betrayal tactics of Sheikh Rasheed, got 28000 from NA55, and 11000 from NA56.
The votes of Q-League were, within range of 3-4000.
In 2008, when election were held, it was clear that, SR is against PML-N, and people were sure shot that who is standing where.
but also in 2003 by election, from NA56, Sheikh Rashid Shafique, SR nephew got, 13000 votes, backed by all Govt. Machinery and PM. The other candidate of MMA was Hanif Abbasi, who got support from PML-N and PPP , baged 34000 votes, more than sheikh Rasheed got in General election.
Now, in 2008, from NA55, Javed Hashmi got 76000 votes, and PPP got 41000 votes. Sheikh Rasheed bagged only 14000 votes.
From NA56, Hanif Abbasi got 79000 votes, and PPP got 29000 votes and the Sheikh Rasheed got 9000 votes.
In these elections, first off all the turnout will be low, also much of Sheikh’s Vote will be bagged by PTI’s Ejaz Khan Jazi. who has good roots in constituency.
The Predictions are, Malik Shakeel Awan of PML-N, who considered a good worker among all Muslim League ranks will bag, round about 33-34000 votes, If PPP will boycott.
If They wont, he’ll get 25-26000 votes. because the PPP votes will be cut down but, PML-N will then put more accelerator in voter pulling.
Sheikh Rasheed has stronger than before position, but not strong enough, he can bag round about 5-6000 votes.
But one thing is amazingly true, that PTI’s Ejaz Khan Jazi would emerge as strong candidate, and he’ll bag round about 10-11000 votes.
If PPP will come into action, they can have third position, with 6-7000 votes.
The Results will favour PML-N, but i think to my mind, the second Power will be PTI not PPP or AML (Sheikh Rasheed).
@kamaj007
good effort to summarize the situation in NA-55. I want to add one thing that if the potential voters of PTI come out to vote in the elections, Mr. Jazi Khan even has a chance to win this election. He has got 10,000/12,000 personal vote bank. Youth of NA-55 can play a big role to make this upset. I agree that winning candidate will get 30,000/35,000 votes and in the split PML-N is the loser because JI is not favoring PML-N this time even standing opposite so their potential vote bank is divided. Sheikh Rashid may not be on the winning side but it will be a close contest any way.
If PML-N will not do a massive rigging, the outcomes could be otherwise.
PMLN VOTE LL BE DIVIDED IN =PTI=JI=PMLN
SR,WILL GET PERSONAL VOTES+PMLN-Q+PPPP+NAWAZ KHOKHAR VOTES+
THIS WILL BE A TOUGH ELECTIONS.50%–50%
Sheikh Rashid has an edge in NA-55
RAWALPINDI: As the candidates of various political parties are flexing their muscles for the by-election in NA-55 scheduled to be held on February 24, the PML-N is facing tough time from rival candidate Sheikh Rashid who has succeeded in winning overt and covert support of PML-Q and the PPP.
http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/national/16-sheikh-rashid-has-an-edge-in-na55-hs-03
Where are the other comments on this site? Zapped them, did you? Because Jews were mentioned? Just l. […]