l PPP To Back Shiekh Rasheed on NA-55? | Pakistan Politics
{ 30 comments... read them below or add one }

• agrana75 said:

I wish PPP supporters should back Sheikh Rasheed in NA 55 and world would like to listen then what Sheikh Rasheed had been using words for PPP voters so called “muhtarma shaheed”..

• Revolution said:

یہ ووہی شیخ رشید ہے جو سر عام بلاول کو فیصل صالح حیات کا بیٹا کہا کرتا تھا اور بڑی گندی زبان استعمال کرتا تھا بی بی کے لئے حالانکہ بطور مسلمان ہمیں عورت کی عزت کرنی چاہیے چاہے وہ جیسی بھی ہو. اب دیکھنا یہ ہےکہ پی پی کے نظریاتی لوگ کس طرح شیخ رشید کو ووٹ یا سپورٹ کرتے ہیں. نظریاتی لوگ جو کہ ڈاکٹر اسرار شاہ جیسے ہیں انکو تو زرداری صاھب پہلے ہی سائیڈ لائیں لگا چکے ہیں

• david said:

SHIEKH RSHID IS THE MAN,
    IF SHEIKH RASHID WINS THE ELECTION ,THEN PPPP AND PMLQ WILL HAVE RELIEF ,
    THAT PMLN ISNOT THAT POPULAR,IN PUNJAB, NAWAZ IS ZIDDI AND DNT KNOW HOW TO PLAY POLITICS.

• wbuttar said:

PTI will win Inshallah. No Zardar, No Nawaz, No Rashid etc etc. And your will see the results on 24th Feb, the condition is there is no massive rigging by the government sponsored agencies.

• motts said:

I think Imran Khan should contest the election from NA55 and PML N should support him. Sheikh Rashid will perhaps only get his own vote (if its valid).
    Sheikh Rashid is no more than a UC Nazim councilor mentality, he’s only good for talk shows.

• mujtaba-ali said:

@Revolution
    kaun sa musalman
    @wbuttar
    kahan se pa ji?
    @motts
    second ur idea .. very nice … but Khan sahib ki zid aur PMLN ka over confidence aisa honay nahi de ga …

• Bilal said:

khan ki zid hai, shahbaz sharif is on record sayin that he wud support khan if he contested na 55 but khan instead anounced to contest na 123 n withdrew a day ltr, khan is busy criticisin democratic forces but he wont confront traitors like sheeda, ns ofered khan suport on 35 seats bak in 97 n again adjustment in 2007 election but khan is stil on his honeymoon wit ji maulvis

• afisadi said:

Dear ALL
    Please read the whole story and understand the ground realities. NA 55, PPP is supporting Nawaz’s league, but Ch Nasir, Ehsan, Kh Asif and others are using cheap language against President and others. That is the reason, Kaira said that PPP voters can vote for S Rasheed.
    Here “The News” as usual twisted Kaira’s statement.
    aftab

• KMAJ007 said:

For all those who thinks Sheikh Rasheed will win, I’m sorry but I cant see that, It might be my faulty analytic sence, but the Vote in Pindi is either PML-N or PPP, no other Vote, small proportion also supports Jamaat, but overall its PPP and PML-N Vote.

When Sheikh Rasheed used to fight election with PML-N ticket, he took votes in range of, 67000, 73000, or 77000…and PPP’s candidates took, 40000, 42000 and 39000.

But when two constituencies are made, Sheikh Rasheed took, 42000 votes from NA-55, and 33000 from NA-56. Second was PPP, with 30000 in NA55, and 16000 in NA56.

PML-N at that stage, with the betrayal tactics of Sheikh Rasheed, got 28000 from NA55, and 11000 from NA56.

The votes of Q-League were, within range of 3-4000.

In 2008, when election were held, it was clear that, SR is against PML-N, and people were sure shot that who is standing where.
    but also in 2003 by election, from NA56, Sheikh Rashid Shafique, SR nephew got, 13000 votes, backed by all Govt. Machinery and PM. The other candidate of MMA was Hanif Abbasi, who got support from PML-N and PPP , baged 34000 votes, more than sheikh Rasheed got in General election.

Now, in 2008, from NA55, Javed Hashmi got 76000 votes, and PPP got 41000 votes. Sheikh Rasheed bagged only 14000 votes.
    From NA56, Hanif Abbasi got 79000 votes, and PPP got 29000 votes and the Sheikh Rasheed got 9000 votes.

In these elections, first off all the turnout will be low, also much of Sheikh’s Vote will be bagged by PTI’s Ejaz Khan Jazi. who has good roots in constituency.

The Predictions are, Malik Shakeel Awan, who considered a good worker among all Muslim League ranks will bag, round about 33-34000 votes, If PPP will boycott.

If They wont, he’ll get 25-26000 votes. because the PPP votes will be cut down but, PML-N will then put more accelerator in voter pulling.

Sheikh Rasheed has stronger than before position, but not strong enough, he can bag round about 5-6000 votes.
    But one thing is amazingly true, that PTI’s Ejaz Khan Jazi would emerge as strong candidate, and he’ll bag round about 10-11000 votes.

If PPP will come into action, they can have third position, with 6-7000 votes.

The Results will favour PML-N, but i think to my mind, the second Power will be PTI not PPP or AML (Sheikh Rasheed).

• motts said:

KMAJ007 useful analysis. Proves my point PML N and PTI should work together. God knows when Sharifs and Imran Khan will get some “Aqal”. They can jointly rule the country and perhaps bring a bit better governance for the country(if not best).

• Bilal said:

good point motts, sharifs hav always been willing its always khans ego wich harms him in the political arena
    Good analysis by kmaaj

• david said:

PMLN .VOTE LL BE , DIVIDED IN PMLN.PTI-AND JI.
    SR ..WILL GET PPPP.PMLQ .PLUS PERSONAL VOTES,..50%-50% ELECTION

• skunk said:

I think the PPP voters would either abstain or vote for PMLN, the candidate it a close relative of Babar Awan, so with the whole baradari system in place, it is unlikely that they would bother to vote for Shaikh Rasheed.

PMLN. PTI and JI are being selfish, they should have put in a joint candidate, without doing so they have answered Shaikh Sahabs prayers. It is entirely possible that the Shaikh has alot of votes polled against him and still wins because these parties were selfish.

• mujtaba-ali said:

@ skunk
    if the advice given to some person in PMLN .. it may be precious for them … and i think for country as well …. i like ur words …

• deevav said:

Interesting comments. But since I belong to the area where elections are being held let me tell you some facts that you may not be knowing.
    Pindi people are very sensitive about cheating. They are loyal people. It is a stronghold of Nawaz Sharif. There is great probability that Nawaz Sharif’s candidate would win this election no matter who alligns with sheeda tulli.

If PML N loses this election, this would be first dent in their fort of Punjab. So they are taking this election very seriously. Pindi public loves Nawaz Sharif. With Zardari and Sheeda combining with the filthh of moulvi diesel and ANP,( which hardly have any vote bank in the area) people of Pindi would be even more determined to defeat them all togather.
    Insha Allah remember my words. PML N will win the elections Allah Willing and all chor and his companions will be defeated.

• Chaudhary said:

Thanks ,,,, deevav !

Appriciate Ur comments ! its true

• mujtaba-ali said:

but what i suspect is that …. what will happen after elections .. in case of PMLN wins … there will be a huge cry of bogus votes … etc …

• A said:

sheikh raseed should win….he can act as a good opposition in the parliament….

• wbuttar said:

Dawn News

Sheikh Rashid has an edge in NA-55 By Inamullah Khattak

Friday, 15 Jan, 2010 The PML-N is facing tough time from Sheikh Rashid who has succeeded in winning overt and covert support of PML-Q and the PPP. — Photo by APP Pakistan
    Mix of politics and crime Mix of politics and crime RAWALPINDI: As the candidates of various political parties are flexing their muscles for the by-election in NA-55 scheduled to be held on February 24, the PML-N is facing tough time from rival candidate Sheikh Rashid who has succeeded in winning overt and covert support of PML-Q and the PPP.

The NA-55 that consists of 29 union councils and has more than 270,000 registered voters is the biggest and populous constituency in Rawalpindi district and has been generally dubbed as ‘PML-N fort’.

Unlike general election in which women and men come to polling stations in droves, voting in by-polls is men dominated while the turnout is also low. However, the PML-N would strive hard to bring women voters to the polling stations in order to re-gain the constituency.

After the PML-N, that had secured over 70,000 votes in the 2008 general election, the PPP emerged as the second largest party in NA-55 as its candidate Amir Fida Paracha had obtained 39,700 votes in the general election.

The PML-N candidate Javed Hashmi had the support of Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) and Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaaf (PTI). So far no leader of PML-N has contacted the PPP for its support in the by-election.

“We wish that Sheikh Rashid wins the election in the larger interest of the residents of NA-55. We expect no support from PML-N in present and future then why should we vote for PML-N candidate,” a local PPP leader told Dawn on condition of anonymity.

The local chapter of PML-N including opposition leader in National Assembly MNA Ch Nisar Ali Khan has been provoking the PPP to field its candidate for the election in an attempt to prevent PPP voters from going to vote for Sheikh Rashid.

The JI candidate Dr Kamal and PTI’s Ijaz Khan Jazi and other independent candidates have been seriously campaigning for votes thus the number of voters for PML-N is rapidly decreasing.

Tags: National assembly,shiekh rashid,ppp,pml-n,pml-q,NA-55

• Bilal said:

just wat we expect frm ppp leaders, but a ppp worker or voter wil never vote fr sheeda, a worker who lost bibi in the very city n had the crime scene washd, those whove heard him call bibi ‘taxi’ those whove heard him call bilawal the son of faisal saleh hayat n his whole political career has revolved around anti-bhuttoism, there r other things i cant even say wich he said bout the deceased woman

• Bilal said:

sheedas talli will be done away with the day nawaz shareef holds a jalsa in pindi

• atruepakistani said:

PPP is not supporting sheeda talli,,,,,,,only ch nisar ali khan wants ppp and pml-N clash,,,so any General can come again for 10 years and Ch-Nisar will enjoy with dictator and 9 year later he again becomes democrate……..jouerney starts again in the same circle for ch.Nisar,,,,,,,this is his past.He enjoyed with zia and musharaf,,now wants to dance with Kiyani.

• skunk said:

@ Bilal and others, it is becoming evident that you want PPP to support sheeda talli so you can then bash the PPP for doing so. So far there has been no indication of support for the PPP, I reiterate the fact that the N-League candidate is a relative of Babar Awan and thus any covert support by PPP is being given to him.

Ask Imran Khan and Munawwar Hasan to withdraw their candidates, people of Pindi should be thankful to PPP for not putting up a candidate so their voters actually have a chance to keep Sheikh Rasheed out but it is evident that Leaguers are blinded by their hatred of Bhuttos and the PPP.

• champion11 said:

@atruepakistani 100% agreed with you.

• wbuttar said:

@Skunk

What a stupid argument. Can I ask Nawaz Sharif to withdraw his candidate in favor of PTI or JI candidate. Brother be political and behave in a political manner. No one including Nawaz Sharif has the right to rule us. Every individual has his legitimate right to fight election and support anybody they want. And last but not the least you will see the strength of PTI in this election and in Mansehra as well.

• Bilal said:

@shunk
    I was only commenting on the dawn news article posted above wich quoted a ppp leader in pindi sayin that they wud support sheikh rashid. Its not ch nisar who wants a clash, its the politically immature ppl who want a clash who keep labeling n league friendly opposition, n league opposed the govt on all key issues but is stil termed friendly opposition coz it has refused to demand an end to the democraticaly elected govt. Its the immaturity of the awaam wich includes myself who dont realise that a clash at this moment is not in the interest of the country and fail to apreciate an oposition who has decided to respect the mandate of the elected govt fr the first time

• Bilal said:

as far as shakeel awan being a cousin of babar awan is concerned, we cant draw a conclusion from that. A person who is well aware of pakistani politics will knw that such relations are irrelevant wen it comes to political parties contesting against each other, speaker punjab assembly rana iqbal n oposition leader ch zaheer are closely related, Manzur wattus son in law is in n league, ch tajamul who was step brother of ch zahur elahi n his closest aide, his children are in n league , i can give u several more examples, these are only the prominent ones. Plus babars biraadri is in kahuta n not NA 55. There was even a case of 2 brothers contesting elections in lahore on the tickets of 2 diff parties. I agree that biraadri politics is prevalent in pakistan but thats predominantly in rural constituencies n not big cities like pindi (plz correct me on this point if im wrong, coz it works that way in most of the big cities but im not that sure about pindi)

• drgulkhan said:

How can Pml (n) give ticket to a person who dropped out of law college cuz it was too much for him.

• bft1 said:

he truly represent the ‘awam’ majority of whom have never even seen a law college

• saqibrauf said:

Sheikh Rasheed ne 25 saal parliment main ja kar kia kia??? pindi ke schools main quality of education bohat kharab hae. wahan se parh kar ham clerk hi ban sakte hain, agar sifarish se nokeri mil jae. Lal masjid or Dr Afia ka mujrim hone k sath sath Sh Rasheed ka aik bara jurm ye hae k wo pakistan main insaf ka nizam nahi chahta. Sheikh ne aakhri waqat tak Ch Iftikhar ki bahali main rukawat dali. Main us ka long march ke doran dia gia bian nahi bhool sakta jab us ne kaha tha k long march panjab or sindh k darmian darar dal raha hae or pata nahi kia kia bakwas ki thi. Agar sheikh ko awam ka zara bhi khial hota to wo Ch ifikhar ki bahali main age age hota. Sh Rasheed pindi walon ko pagal na samjhe. Ham Sheikh ko aisee shikast dain gae k wo siasat chor dae gaa.

Dr. Kamal Zinda bad

Dr. Kamal hi jetae gaa InshaAllah