l Hasb-e-Haal – 29 January 2010 | Pakistan Politics
{ 19 comments... read them below or add one }

• hamayunj said:

A very special episode,, a good 1…. must watch…

• wwwwww said:

nice program
    azizi is best………

• wwwwww said:

Aftab is doing a very good job
    this is very infromative programm and funny as well
    Najia baig’s smile is very beautiful and cute
    my tribute to Hasb-e-Haal and specially to Sohail Ahmed (AZIZI)
    Aftab you must go Chakwal………….

• Rohi said:

Today’s show is excellent! Azizi is hilarious! I am not sure about Aftab Iqbal’s account of Mohammad bin Qasim and Tariq bin Ziyad, though. I do not think it is wise to negate historically established facts because of only one book; nonetheless it was a good effort.

• mian.ssg said:

Aftab Iqbal announces the end of program in such a way that:
    “Shukar hay kah program ka waqt khatam ho gya warna main orr kya kya papar bailta kah time pora ho ja iay”

• mian.ssg said:

Dialogue with history is just an effort to get more attention and comments for his program. I agree with Rohi that he just narrates about either one book or sometimes criticizes history without any reference. Is he a historian or what, for this matter he should invite some expert at least.

• Rao Imran Haider Saim said:

Sohail Ahmed is a very good commedian. He has hot his own style to critisize. Aftab Iqab doing his job very good. Najo is a cute girl. This Program is better than Ham sub Umeed se hain.

• altf_0011 said:

Good show.

India may toh bay intihaahi kaala jaado kerney waley mojood hein, agaar woh Pakistan per jaado kerdien to Zardaari kahaan kalaa bakera qurban kerai gaa? Yaad gar-e-Pakistan ya Quaid-e-Azam ki mezaar per.

• Aleem Jan said:

Aftab Iqbal, they say “neem hakeem, khatra-e-jaan – neem mulla, khatra-e-Eemaan”
    what do you say about neem taareekh daan.

• Khan said:

@ Aleem Jan

“neem taareekh daan, khatra -e-Jehan”

Anj Anj

• abdulrazzaqbabar said:

@Aleem jan aftab is right..

• 3dhi said:

On April 29 711, the armies of Tariq landed at Gibraltar (the name Gibraltar is derived from the Arabic name Jabal al Tariq, which means mountain of (the) Tariq, or the more obvious Gibr Tariq, meaning rock of Tariq).

The 17th century Muslim historian Al-Maqqari or Al-Maggari wrote that upon landing, Tariq burned his ships and then made a speech, well-known in the Muslim world, to his soldiers.

“Oh my warriors, whither would you flee? Behind you is the sea, before you, the enemy. You have left now only the hope of your courage and your constancy. Remember that in this country you are more unfortunate than the orphan seated at the table of the avaricious master. Your enemy is before you, protected by an innumerable army; he has men in abundance, but vou, as your only aid, have your own swords, and, as your only chance for life, such chance as you can snatch from the hands of your enemy. If the absolute want to which you are reduced is prolonged ever so little, if you delay to seize immediate success, your good fortune will vanish, and your enemies, whom your very presence has filled with fear, will take courage. Put far from you the disgrace from which you flee in dreams, and attack this monarch who has left his strongly fortified city to meet you. Here is a splendid opportunity to defeat him, if you will consent to expose yourselves freelv to death. Do not believe that I desire to incite you to face dangers which I shall refuse to share with you. In the attack I myself will be in the fore, where the chance of life is always least.

“Remember that if you suffer a few moments in patience, you will afterward enjoy supreme delight. Do not imagine that your fate can be separated from mine, and rest assured that if you fall, I shall perish with you, or avenge you. You have heard that in this country there are a large number of ravishingly beautiful Greek maidens, their graceful forms are draped in sumptuous gowns on which gleam pearls, coral, and purest gold, and they live in the palaces of royal kings. The Commander of True Believers, Alwalid, son of Abdalmelik, has chosen you for this attack from among all his Arab warriors; and he promises that you shall become his comrades and shall hold the rank of kings in this country. Such is his confidence in your intrepidity. The one fruit which he desires to obtain from your bravery is that the word of God shall be exalted in this country, and that the true religion shall be established here. The spoils will belong to yourselves.

“Remember that I place myself in the front of this glorious charge which I exhort you to make. At the moment when the two armies meet hand to hand, you will see me, never doubt it, seeking out this Roderick, tyrant of his people, challenging him to combat, if God is willing. If I perish after this, I will have had at least the satisfaction of delivering you, and you will easily find among you an experienced hero, to whom you can confidently give the task of directing you. But should I fall before I reach to Roderick, redouble your ardor, force yourselves to the attack and achieve the conquest of this country, in depriving him of life. With him dead, his soldiers will no longer defy you.”

Source:

From: Charles F. Horne, ed., The Sacred Books and Early Literature of the East, (New York: Parke, Austin, & Lipscomb, 1917), Vol. VI: Medieval Arabia, pp. 241-242.

Scanned by Jerome S. Arkenberg, Cal. State Fullerton. The text has been modernized by Prof. Arkenberg.

• passion said:

vedio is not working well

we cant watch

• IluvPak said:

Azizi speaks alot of “TRUTH” about others,he also makes fun of alot of people….how come he forget to mention about the 30 lacs worth gift which was given to him by the Prime Minister aka his Murshad Pak in the form of a wrist watch…had he been so honest he would have not accepted that gift cum rishwat…i know our politicians are corrupt but i guess its rightly said about us Pakistanis kay shareef woh hai jis ko mauqa nahi mila….Azizi you are not in the position to make fun of others just because they are corrupt because you yourself are a big moron.
    and for those of you who don’t believe you can go and read jang’s editorial section,i don’t remember the date of that particular column but it is published last week.

• rajab said:

VIDEO IS NOT WORKING
    PLZ CHECK
    WE ARE MISSING SO MUCH

Video fixed – Admin

• dilbarjani73 said:

These both bíg parties are just enjoying and making money with their private business and correption insluding Zardari Rehman malik Babar awan and Jahingeer bader also nawaz sharif through his suger and steel mills. They came here and act as a they hate eachother in these talk shows honestly said they are same when they are not behind the camera and meet eachother with very warmly, here they present only a show. They are great actors.
    They can save the Pakistani film industry if they start acting me 100 % shower who agree with me ? Am i right ? pls mail me my email is ehsan78605@hotmail.de

Imran is our problem solver. We can only see to him. He will hunt all these stupid and currept bastereds.

• mansab said:

I usually see this program and ends up happy! But this program is classic example of yellow journalism and blackmailing. Building mafia with money and media mafia (getting money from building mafia) defaming Supreme Court decision.

I don’t know much about Rana Sana, but 6 merla 3 floor building of Rana Sana is never been compared with (rightful-earning of Mian Amer (owner of Dunya News) in Pervez Elahi black era through District Nazimship of Lahore) wealth of Rana Sana.

Aftab Iqbal should not become “chaprasi” of Mian Amer (A corrupt and blakmailer). He should maintain his status of good journalist.

Actually building mafia deshape Lahore, So Rana Sana and Shahbaz should carry on to save this city. Pakistani people knows about the blackmailers……

• 3dhi said:

Ive listen to talk talk twice and the purpose was not to refute your research over this issue!! I just wanted to share that Abul Abbas Ahmad ibn Mohammed al-Maqqari, or Al-Makkari is a Muslim historian and he is said to be the narrator of this incident.

Also the incident was mentioned in 6th century Hijra by historians like Abdul Malik bin Al Khardobos in the history of Al-Andlus and Abu Abdullah and Sharif Idreesi have mentioned it as well.

Moreover, Abu Abdullah Muhammad bin Abi Muhammad Abdullah bin Mun’im al Humayri in his book “Sifat al Jazirat al Andalus”, Baab al Khadra, Vol 1, Page 27

and

Muhammad bin Abdul Mun’im al-Humayri in his book “Raud al Ma’taar fi Khabaril Aqtar” Vol 1, Page 223 have stated that Hadrat Tariq Bin Ziyad burned his Ships and then made a speech…

Then, I was listening to Zaid Hamid over the topic of Hadrat Tariq Bin Ziyad where he repeats the same narration for burning of the Ships at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqkjCQyiS40

So saying that there is “no mention” in Muslim books of this intentional or accidental burning of the ships and the claim appears only in European sources wouldn’t be a justice.

But, there may be number of reasons why Tariq ibn Ziyad wouldn’t have done such a thing.

* Not all of the ships were Muslim owned (Count Julian of Ceuta owned ships which sailed with Muslims in exchange for lands in Andalusia).
    * The consequences of burning the ships would have been praised or punished by the Caliph, but no sources mention that the Caliph either praised or punished Tariq for this. (But I read it somewhere that the caliph imprisoned him after they won)
    * In Islam it is forbidden to destroy public property.
    * If it had been his strategy to create desperation in his troops, Tariq could simply have sent the ships away, letting them return home.
    * Musa ibn Nusair sent reinforcements to Tariq, something he couldn’t have done if the ships had been burned).

Ive talked to Islamic History and Seerah teacher of Taybah University in Madina Munawwarah. He also had heard or read the same but for reference, he was also not sure about it! It means that the narration came in Arabia through some sources. And if we accept that it was a figment of the imagination of later-day historians then why there isn’t any refutation to it?

To me, It is still a subject of debate whether the burning of the ships took place or not and putting any final decision will not be the justice to history specially where a narration is highly accepted by Masses!!

• pkurducols said:

The historic flaws pointed here worth to investigate. As in this episode aftab talked about Muhammad bin Qasim age. Over all this show is going to be more informative day by day.