l Live with Talat – 1 February 2010 | Pakistan Politics
{ 24 comments... read them below or add one }

• jatt jee said:

I always never liked Britain and the people living there. I’m glad i live in USA and have a much better life compared to people living in England. I had a chance to spend sometime and England and never liked the people attitude toward immigrants. USA is totally different in general if compared to england. USA is unique western countries compared to European nations. USA was founded on the basis of freedom, religious toleration and unique democracy.

• Imtiaz said:

Its pleasing to watch new theme in this episode. Talat is innovative and very creative. But I hope people are not discouraged by watching students talking their problems.
    Talat sounded like as if coming to Europe or America for education is wrong. People who live in this part of the world know that success rate is overwhelmingly high. Problems over here in these countries are far less than the problems our people face in middle eastern countries.
    So please encourage our youths, rich or poor to try their luck in these countries. This is their time to accept challenges of life. There are problems, no doubt but let our students have exposure and learn to survive in unfavorable circumstances. Unfortunately our education system does not condition our students to the new global needs. This is one way for them to become strong and be an asset for our country..
    People living out side the country do not abandon Pakistan. Their political and monetary contributions are very significant and have positive impact on our country.

• Sarosh said:

@Jatt Jee said:

… and that is the very secret behind US forces being present in scores of countries and having killed millions of people, and still trying to prove their religious “toleration” by spending more and more time in Muslim countries.

High crime rates and poor appreciation and lack of respect for the people from lower economic classes in US are just perpetual demostrations of their freedom; their “unique democracy” makes sure that only a through various power instruments in place.

Visiting US after living in Europe (particularly continental Europe) gives quite a backward view of the former on all grounds; technological, moral as well as humanitarian. We know quite well, however, the worldview from inside the .

It is Pakistan’s national character, however, that we have to build and maintain, rendering this debate a digression.

Kind Regards!

Sarosh

• Sarosh said:

@Jatt Jee said:
    ” … USA was founded on the basis of freedom, religious toleration and unique democracy.”

… and that is the very secret behind US forces being present in scores of countries and having killed millions of people, and still trying to prove their religious “toleration” by spending more and more time in Muslim countries.

High crime rates and poor appreciation and lack of respect for the people from lower economic classes in US are just perpetual demostrations of their freedom; their “unique democracy” makes sure that only a certain class ever rules the US through various power instruments in place.

Visiting US after living in Europe (particularly continental Europe) gives quite a backward view of the former on all grounds; technological, moral as well as humanitarian. We know quite well, however, the worldview from inside the pompous, haughty, showy and ignorant US.

It is Pakistan’s national character, however, that we have to build and maintain, rendering this debate a digression.

Kind Regards!

Sarosh

• jatt jee said:

@ Sarosh said:

Well… there are always problem within countries… USA cannot by utopia and no other country can be utopia.

“US forces being present in scores of countries and having killed millions of people…” this is just wrong accusing someone without any proof. US image was really weakened when Bush took office because of his background Rural backward conservative Texan. If i was a citizen of some country in Europe or Asia i would say USA is ignorant country because we dominate them all.

” certain class ever rules the US” this could have been proven right but after Obama winning the presidency this has changed in the mentality of Americans.

• jamoora said:

Simply Talat is Great Nationalist n innovative.

• Quwat Khan Sunny said:

I have an experience of studying in USA and Canada. I had a plan to go to London. Thanks God, I went to USA and then Canada. Once you enter into Canada or USA, you would hardly see discrimination unless and until you do Ongiya Bongiya. Yes, the politics is a different story. Also, we should consider this thing. When students from our countries apply, they show fake bank statements without realizing the oncoming financial problems. 75% of students from Pakistan in Britain showed that their Uncle would support them. Now the reality is, no uncle would pay a nephew more than Rs. 100000 if he is very generous. Why should we expect that a foreign country should help us. These students by law have to show that they have all the money to cover up their full expenses.

So for the dream to live abroad is concerned it is not a dream in fact. If security of Jan, Mal, Awlad, Izat o Aburoo is guranteed in home country, no body would go out of country.

The third thing, I would say. If you think London discriminates Pakistanies, give a try in Dubai, a brother Muslim country. You would say, no man London is better than dubai.

Complain about, cyclist with spying mic and camera is baseless. Our security would of course not spy Guras, Our security personnel would spy on only their own citizens mostly innocent. So this Gura is doing his job.

Anyways, Good program.

• supercreature said:

jatt jee said:
    “US forces being present in scores of countries and having killed millions of people…” this is just wrong accusing someone without any proof.

What the hellll……. what proof do you need man … are you out of your mind ?

• QAISER KK said:

GOOD TOPIC TALAT I HOPE PAKISTANI STUDIENTS SEE THIS PROGRAM AND MAKE HIS DISICON CAREFULLY
    GOOD LUCK

• tamalik said:

It is difficult for me to understand why do our students keep on taking admission in colleges. I have not seen a single British student doing Post graduate course i.e. MBA,Msc from a college. Why should they ? when there are over 100 state universities in UK.Colleges even if they are A rated or B rates are fraud.Education Consultants back in Pakistan get huge commission from these colleges and they keep on refering innocent Pakistani students to these colleges and making there commission on top of 15000/20000 Rs fee from students.Pakistani students should only seek admission in a University if they really want to learn and ultimately get better job opportunities on finishing the degree.It is total waste of time and money to study in any c0llege in UK even if it is A rated because there are loopholes in UKBA rating system…. Also there should be some regulatory authory back home to keep a check on education consultants with clear mandate to send atleast 90% applications to Universities (Currently otherway round) and no post graduate applications to colleges at all.

• fzaman said:

A reality check programme for the confused and venerable youth of Pakistan, however Talat’s personal views usually are of a nationalistic nature, which is sad for a man of his background. In today’s Global village, Nationalism is an infantile disease.

Ps; If MI5 is to spy on Mr Talat’s show, I think they can do a much better job than just fastening a bike against the bench!
    F Zaman (London)
    Koko2@hotmail.co.uk

• theinsider said:

@JATJEE

I am in US ,Things are not that rosy buddy,please don’t give out false info

• Believer said:

I think JATJEE is just trying to start heated debate.

We all know that things are not rosy anywhere for foreigners. My friend went to Kenya and said that people there give us respect.

So if you need respect/equal status, go to a country that is far worse than yours!

• Siyana said:

@ Jatt Jee –

Deluded and drunk – hardly has a clue of wat is happening around – better stay shut up, Comment on life on Mars, probably many wouldn’t know and you may get away with it…
    -:)

• Malik Waqas Ahmed said:

Yahan pe sirf khwari hay. There is no safe place for Pakistanis. Pakistan mein dhamakay aur yahan pe Joblessness and all that. Jayein tw jayein kahan.

• jatt jee said:

Ok guy’s im not here to start any heated debate.

I moved to USA in 2001 just before 9/11 in small conservative town sapulpa, oklahoma. I was only 14 years old back then. There were only two pakistani muslim families living in the town. My dad was well known in town. After the 9/11 attacks, the next day my middle school principal called me in to office and asked if i was feeling alright. She said to me, if anyone in school say any racist or offensive remarks to just report to the office. There were couple of incidents in town but nothing major. My dad was invited to speak to community after 9/11 attacks and how he felt about.

We moved to dallas, texas in 2005 because of business opportunities. I was enrolled in 90 % white population school. There were only 3 muslim kids in that school. My high school teachers loved me and my favorite teacher was US History Jewish teacher. I was never hated by any teacher and loved the education system here. I was given equal opportunity as other students in school. Now, i’m enrolled in junior college in Texas and majoring in International Relation/Peace Studies/Politics. My college is very diverse and love it.

If there are few bad apples in basket that doesn’t make all apples bad.

• jatt jee said:

@ Siyana

calling me drunk and deluded doesnt justify your position please argument with me if you want to have debate.

• Azizi said:

Talat should have asked the producer of this program to zoom in the suspicious microphone and show it to the viewers instead of sensationalizing the issue in the similar manner as the Indian media does.

• Proper_Pakistani said:

Dear Talat,

Thanks you for highlighting the issues of Pakistanis abroad, UK in this case, but what u have projected in this program is not the whole truth.

In fact this is only one side of the story. What these boys have said is true to a small extent only and they r lying if they say that they did not knew what they were getting into. absolute lies.

When u move to a different country, you have to start from scratch. Unless u come from a wealthy family, life is usually tough. We all go through this.

Developed country are very competitive when it comes to jobs. Specially in the current economic situation when everyone is complaining. So complaining about the jobs is not reasonable. There are not a lot of jobs going around in Pakistan right now. So we cannot complain much. I travel to London everyday on the tube and train and no one minds sitting next to me even though I have a beard. These idiots deserve to be treated the way they are treated(or atleast say).

Also you are “Talat Hussain” ONLY in Pakistan. No one knows u here in UK. If u move here with ur “experiences”, you will also face similar hardships. Its part of immigration. Still the hardships will be less than what the so called “Muhajirs” faced in the hands of locals during partition. Make a program on that!

As for intelligence is concerned, Britain has the best internal intelligence network in the world. The best. Have u not notices that the Police doesn’t carry a weapon with them. Try to highlight the achievements as well.

Have u not noticed the number of immigrants in UK? they are welcomed and the society is quiet tolerant. Specially compared to Pakistan where Sindhi hate Baluch, Pathan hate Muhajers and Punjabis hate everyone else.

I think the focus of this program should have been different. and i hope it is different in the coming ones.

You should have focused on what we should do for ourselves while we have the advantage of travelling to these countries. Yes there will be difficulties in the beginning but it changes after a while. I know many many success stories. Take care.

• Believer said:

@ Jatt JEE

Your chosen name and visiting pkpolitics regularly shows how much you are ‘integrated’ in the US society and their Mainstream things.

Just being one of 3 Muslim kid who was loved by everyone should have made you part of the overwhelming majority. All those who come here (on pkpolitics) are the ones who prefer Pakistan and only outside Pakistan due to some reasons (mainly economic/education). If you are well integrated and especially if you went to the US at a tender age of 14, you wouldn’t get time to go to ‘ethnic’ political chat shows website.

Maybe leaving Pakistan and being in the US at such an early age put you in a stress which is putting you in denial. We all have a few issues, there is nothing wrong admitting and seeking professional help.

• jatt jee said:

@ Believer,

I’m not in any under stress mode or in denial positions. There are problems in United States and i’m not denying that. But the way, Talat presented UK system is not true in US which is different kind of west compared to Europe.

I only visit pkpolitics because of family background involved in Pakistan politics and still are involved in Punjab Government. I’m majoring in International Studies and i have list of countries that i follow their political system and history background.

• Believer said:

@ Hatt Jee

Don’t worry mate. keep studying. we would like to know your views after a few years when you have completed main part of your research.

Please don’t forget to comment on Dr Aafia’s story on today’s ‘main story’ on this website.

• kunan said:

AOA to all n Talat bhai!
    ap yahan program series par aye hain and haqiqat byan kar rahai hain liken kuch log yahan haqaiq aur evidences kai baghair ap ki video jo youtube par hain un par caoments polls aur respond video bana kar post kar rahey hain i saw some of them and replied them liken janb wo delete kardaitey hain sada coment tu main yahan post kar raha hon.
    http://www.london.gov.uk/assembly/reports/transport/stand-deliver-cycle-parking-report.pdf
    Brother’s all others n especially for immaculatestuff (on you tube) the above link is about cycle parking link, plz try to read it if u can’t u can ask for translations as well. (Available on Ur request on last page of the guide)
    And as ur saying in ur video on Talat, that if he is objecting on gora interfering them so he is right bcoz that place is not for parking so if he have any doubts he can say anything on that. And u r just passing ur comments on Talat’s program by ur own selves, Also in ur 2nd uploaded video u r saying illegal work only Pakistanis offering and abusing their own pplz so for ur kind information see the links below 100% Authentic by BBC
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/4999610.stm
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/7518128.stm
    Also i can write here about student problems of bogus colleges also about council matters not accepting student tax exemptions so many things.
    And Ur just explaining n making video it’s just Ur won words n comments, come with solid evidences to prove wot u saying, got it.

• kunan said:

Well Done Talat bhai to exploring the truth here in uk.