{ 129 comments... read them below or add one }

anna said:

DOWN WITH USA!!
    they have trash bins in which they dump the HUMANITY , Human VALUES , JUSTICE & their SENSES!!!

jazoo said:

I salute Afia family for brave & courageous reaction.

I think the guilty party is Govt of Pakistan which gives credence to this farce trial by insisting to defend and providing lawyers.
    Trial was conducted at a district court which has no jurisdiction other than its own territory to conduct a trial for alleged crime in other country.

Govt of Pak knew well that she was abducted with her children in 2003 with the help of then corrupt Govt of Musharaf and they must have all the evidences of her abduction by FBI agents….all they had to do was to provide those evidences…History would be different….defender would be accuser and accuser would be defender.
    Those who were conducting Afia trial rather be facing kidnapping charges of at least two American born children.
    I am sure this heinous Hussain Huqqani had to play dubious roll in this well organized drama.

Wahid Doyum said:

So why would the US abduct her and then present her in court? They could do have done what our ISI, army and police are known for, which is abduct innocent balochs and pukhtuns and then kill them, with their bodies never to be found again.

Why no hype over thousands of killed balochs?

fazeeljavaid said:

uuuuuuuuuuu have gotttttttttttttttttttttttt ttttttttttttttttto beeeeeeeeeeeeeeee kidding me

Saloo297 said:

What did you expect from the kangroo court from a country that picks up and hold innocent civilians in the name of war.

Please change the name of department of Justice to department of Justice “as we like”

Rao Imran Haider Saim said:

لوگو جاگو ورنہ سقوط ڈھاکہ کی طرح کچھ نہ کچھ ہو جاۓ گا اور تم دیکھتے رہ جاؤ گے. مہنگائی کا حل دیکھو کراچی میں لوگوں کی جان محفوظ نہیں ہے. غریب مرا جا رہا ہے اور غریب ہاتھ پی ہاتھ دھرے بیٹھے ہیں. اٹھو اور انقلاب برپا کر دو. آج قوم کی بیٹی کی ساتھ کی ہوا. عافیہ صدیقی کو نام نہاد منصفوں نے انصاف کی بھینٹ چڑھا دیا. آمنہ مسود جنجوعہ کا شوہر کہاں ہے؟ اٹھو اور اپنا حساب لو ورنہ تم سب مارے جاؤ گے. کوئی ہے ایسا شخص جو مشرف کو پکڑے اور ہماری بہن بیٹیوں اور بھائیوں کی فروخت کا حساب لے. کوئی لال مسجد کا حساب لے؟ آٹا، چینی ، بجلی گیس پٹرول سب ہی کچھ تو ختم ہو گیا ہے اور یہ کتے ذلیل اور حرامی سیاستدان دولت بنانے میں لگے ہیں. سب کو پتا ہے شاہ محمود قریشی امریکا کا لونڈا ہے مجال ہے کوئی بات کرتا ہو. حسین حقانی حرامی کو دیکھو؟ خدا کی لئے لوگو اٹھو اور اپنا حق لو ورنہ تم حق مانگنے سے بھی محروم ہو جاؤ گے. خدا کی لئے اٹھو انقلاب آے گا انشا الله میڈیا زندہ باد ہمارے سیاستدان مردہ باد عمران خان کی علاوہ. وسیم اختر تو بہت بڑا قاتل ہے. میری ہمدردی پٹھانوں کی ساتھ ہے کیونکہ یہ بیچارے پوری دنیا میں مارے جا رہے ہیں. لیکن اے این پی بھی ان کو صحیح نمائندہ جماعت نہیں ہے. یہ بکاؤ مل ہے. متحدہ قتل مومنٹ تو ایک گندی ترین جماعت ہے. عمران خان زندہ باد.

aftab said:

Shame on the so called independent American judiciary for finding an innocent women guilty of crime she did not do, this is a BIG miscarriage of justice. I pray for Aafia’s well being may Allah give her patient.

arrehman said:

we demand the army and govt to tell us what the hell these bastard US soldiers were doing here. The amry must make us clear why they are consuming 75% budget if they can’t train their soldiers. What a shameful decision this is.

arrehman said:

shame on US justice and shame on our puppet rulers who paid millions to lawyers for nothing. this govt has failed to live with expectations.

arrehman said:

@ Wahid Doyum
    Brother have courage to say wrong as wrong. The killings of baloch or any other is in no way justified rather extremely abhoring act. Nor the killings of Punjabis setteled in Balochistan. Nor the killings in Karachi. Just start saying the reality and dare to condemn the bad acts.

arrehman said:

The ISI and generals are equally responsible for handing over Afia to US. we condemn them as well, these bullys can only kill their own citizens.

Wahid Doyum said:

@arrehman,

Afia Siddiqui is a mental patient due to family history, so I empathize with her plight on that count. But she is one person, what about the hundreds if not thousands suffering or dead in Pakistan under Pakistani establishment rules?

On what moral ground is Pakistan or even Pakistanis to ask for justice for Afia when it delivers injustice on its own directly and through its proxies, MQM and Taliban on a daily basis?

Saloo297 said:

@Wahid Doyum:
    firstly a wrong done by anyone ISI/Army/Police or Blauchis is still a wrong

Maybe now we can stop fighting amounst ourselves and fight the common enemy.

May allah give us the courage to see the truth

aftab said:

Elahi to meet Obama in US

He will attend a breakfast meeting with US President Barack Obama at the White House besides meeting several Congress leaders.

Elahi is accompanied by MNA Chaudhry Wajahat Hussain, MPA Monis Elahi and Imtiaz Ranjha.

http://www.geo.tv/2-3-2010/58486.htm

While our sister Aafia is being incarcerated these idiots are meeting Obama, isn’t it time we as a nation take a stand and decline to meet with any American office holders until Aafia is released and allowed to return to Pakistan.

maxpk said:

Rao Imran Haider Saim said:
    لوگو جاگو ورنہ سقوط ڈھاکہ کی طرح کچھ نہ کچھ ہو جاۓ گا اور تم دیکھتے رہ جاؤ گے. مہنگائی کا حل دیکھو کراچی میں لوگوں کی جان محفوظ نہیں ہے. غریب مرا جا رہا ہے اور غریب ہاتھ پی ہاتھ دھرے بیٹھے ہیں. اٹھو اور انقلاب برپا کر دو. آج قوم کی بیٹی کی ساتھ کی ہوا. عافیہ صدیقی کو نام نہاد منصفوں نے انصاف کی بھینٹ چڑھا دیا. آمنہ مسود جنجوعہ کا شوہر کہاں ہے؟ اٹھو اور اپنا حساب لو ورنہ تم سب مارے جاؤ گے. کوئی ہے ایسا شخص جو مشرف کو پکڑے اور ہماری بہن بیٹیوں اور بھائیوں کی فروخت کا حساب لے. کوئی لال مسجد کا حساب لے؟ آٹا، چینی ، بجلی گیس پٹرول سب ہی کچھ تو ختم ہو گیا ہے اور یہ کتے ذلیل اور حرامی سیاستدان دولت بنانے میں لگے ہیں. سب کو پتا ہے شاہ محمود قریشی امریکا کا لونڈا ہے مجال ہے کوئی بات کرتا ہو. حسین حقانی حرامی کو دیکھو؟ خدا کی لئے لوگو اٹھو اور اپنا حق لو ورنہ تم حق مانگنے سے بھی محروم ہو جاؤ گے. خدا کی لئے اٹھو انقلاب آے گا انشا الله میڈیا زندہ باد ہمارے سیاستدان مردہ باد عمران خان کی علاوہ. وسیم اختر تو بہت بڑا قاتل ہے. میری ہمدردی پٹھانوں کی ساتھ ہے کیونکہ یہ بیچارے پوری دنیا میں مارے جا رہے ہیں. لیکن اے این پی بھی ان کو صحیح نمائندہ جماعت نہیں ہے. یہ بکاؤ مل ہے. متحدہ قتل مومنٹ تو ایک گندی ترین جماعت ہے. عمران خان زندہ باد

Babloo said:

Curse on Mushi (Good boy now get Osama……………………)
    Curse on Pakistani Esteblishment
    Curse on Faisal Saleh Hayat
    Curse on all american’s Pakistani’s dogs (Again Good boy now get Osama…………..)

May ALLAH give her courage to face Shahadat.

Sweettruth said:

We are focusing too much on Afia case and forgetting day-to-day killings of innocent Pakistanis. I am not a fan of Dr. Afia as her role has always been dubious in this whole saga. She has been behind the bar for too long which means there is a reson or reasons. She must have done something improper (like aiding and abetting someone) in the past which would have brought American CIA int action against her. One thing is sure: She has done something otherwisw she would not have been in US custody for so long.

IluvPak said:

Is this world coming to an end or what?there is a limit to injustice,The American Bastards can abduct anyone without any reason at any time but you cant do anything to protect yourself,since she has proven guilty,she has already spend 3/4 years in prison,2 of her kids are missing i wish she had killed all the terrorists right at the spot that day.

NAB said:

@SweetTruth
    “She must have done something improper…”

Man you sound like a stupid kid! Did you see her doing something improper :)

Btw, i beleive that you have done something improper as well so now what? I bring you to detention, rape you and then present you in front of my own so-called judges…. Trust me you wouldnt be saying the same thing then!

NAB said:

@SweetTruth
    and btw we can focus on two things or even multiple things at the same time! or at least intelligent human beings can! so dont bring another topic like day to day killings in this. Its an absolutely diff scenario and deserves its own discussion.

uth oyay said:

@Sweettruth,

Sab say pehlay, 18 crore lanaatain tum per and tumharay jaison per. Things like humanity, common sense, basic human rights, rule of law, Geneva conventions don’t apply to po*dles of Musharraf and US.

She must have done something wrong, thats why no one has proof and no one is charging her of aiding someone. They need another 200 years to find proof, and until then, the d*gs have right to torture her, abuse her, shoot her and the only thing maha-begerat guys like yourself can do is to act like good po*dles.

Agar musharraf apnay kisi poodle kee behan ko bhee is tarah baych day or kahay kay woh terrorist thee .. tab bhee tum log woh maan lo gay aur kaho gay kay musharraf ya amreeka ghalat nahee keh sakta aur apni ma behan kay liyay bhee aisay hee kaho gay.

zeeshan007 said:

SHARAM OR GHARAT KA MAKKAM HUM PAKISTANIOO KA LIYEA HUMARE AK BHAN YAHUDIOO KA PASS HA MAGER HUM USA NAHI LA SAKTA KEA FAIEYDA ASA NEUCLURE BOMB KA HUM SA ACHYA TOU AFGHAN HINOO NA APNA AP MEHMAN MUSLAMAN KA LIYEA APNI PORI GOVERMENT KHATAM KARRA DHAYE MAGER APNA MUSLMAN BHAI KI KISE KA HAWLA NAHI KEA

Believer said:

I am waiting for pro American user ‘Jatt Jee’ to tell us here how much Muslims are loved in the US.

We would like to know his favourite Jewish teacher’s comments on this too!

anna said:

The Pakistani Army should give the Answer that why there are US spacial force men in Lower Deer ?? they made Hue & Cry of “BAY GHARITI ” for Civil government on Carry Lugar Bill but now BEGGING for 1.75 million $$ from USA as Military Aid, while A Daughter of Pakistan is facing INJUSTICE in USA !!!
    If there is a SINGLE “MERD ” in our Government today ( keep PMLQ & MQM out … I dont consider them …..) he SHOULD bring Musharraf ( RETIRED & Retarded) in Pakistani Court & make an FIR on him under HUMAN TRAFFICKING .
    Our BALOCH Brothers who were Kidnapped & killed by ISI & pak—US Army joint venture are equally Mazlooms….. and the ONLY JUSTICE with these Mazloom ’s families is bring the ZALIMS to face a FAIR Trial in our courts ….

adnanvisa said:

I DONT GET IT…. ive read following facts

- Pakistan ki baiti with an american passport
    - Received arms training in US from an official institute
    - Captured in Afghanistan; how the hell did she get there
    - Her second husband Ali Abdul Aziz is nephew of Khalid Sheikh Muhammad and cousin of Ramzi Yousuf( this is theeeeeee most important point) if ppl knw who they r

stop being an emotional foolish jerk and know the facts

anna said:

I GET IT all !!

1. Many of us go to USA , Canada & Uk for education , for jobs & Unfortunately for Marriages … ……..not all taken Asylum like Altaf hussain or making money like Musharraf , Zerdari , Nawaz & admr. Mansorul Haq …. so getting US Passport is not changing our ORIGIN.

2. Taken arm training is not yet PROVED ….. still one can learn how to use a gun , is it a penal crime sir ???

3.She was in Afghanistan, got tortured in Baghram jail …THANX to your Generals , ISI & that Hell MUKAY WALLA musharraf ………..

4.The point that who was her first or Second husband was never raised ” so importantly ” in the case …. being a alleged terrorist ’s wife is not a CRIME i think !! or is it a CRIME ??

So STOP being ILLOGICALLY RATIONAL & have some HUMAN EMOTIONS so that you can be known as HUMAN BEING .

american said:

Justice has been served!!

Shock said:

@Believer

Since when did Pakistanis love America? Now we have a new excuse to spread hatred.

uth oyay said:

@adnanvisa,

You already got a big one from anna, let me just clarify one point.

She does not have American Passport. This is official statement of Government of Pakistan and they have said all statements of dual nationalities are false.

Another misinformation is regarding her nationality. She is neither a US national nor holds dual nationality. She is a Pakistan national.

http://www.mofa.gov.pk/Spokesperson/2008/Aug/Spokes_21_08_08.html

Regarding how she reached Afghanistan, she was detained on 30th March by dogs of Pakistani Army and your daddy Musharraf. Dr. Aafia’s son Ahmad has given his statement to SP Investigation last week:

Police recorded the statement of Dr Aafia’s son on Monday, according to a report.

Muhammad Ahmed, son of Dr Aafia Siddiqui – a Pakistani scientist detained in America – told the police that he, his mother and siblings – Mariam and Yousuf – were on their way to the Karachi Airport on March 30, 2003 when plainclothesmen intercepted their taxi in Gulshan-e-Iqbal and took her into custody.

Investigations SP Niaz Khuso said Ahmed stated that he was taken in a separate vehicle and the officials had rendered him unconscious, and when he regained consciousness, he found himself in Juvenile Jail Kabul, Afghanistan.

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/print.asp?page=2010%5C01%5C19%5Cstory_19-1-2010_pg7_45

Khalid Sheikh Muhammad was arrested in 2002 I believe, who is “known” to be the master mind of 911. He has not been put in front of formal court until now due to what reason? Thousands of so called terrorists and members of taliban government were captured but so far no one has been charged for any crime? There must be something really fishy there.

Proper_Pakistani said:

Can anyone here tell me why are the Americans after Dr. Aafia only? I mean there are many other terrorist women in Pakistan. Why her? Why not the women from Lal Masjid(not that i want anyone be handed over to USA)?

I think that there is something else that is not coming out. I am not saying that what ever it is, it is against this poor lady but, there is more to this case than we know OR will ever know.

Musharraf handed over AlQueda Teletubies to USA but we were aware of the charges of them. Why her?

I mean USA took many people and ALSO released many Guantanamo prisoners. Why are they after this women?

deevav said:

Innalillah e wainnailaihe Rajeoon!

Having seen the decision of the KUFAR’s court and some of the breed of Mir Jaffer and Mir Sadiq’s above, I am simply disappointed.

Pakistan is under great threat from the Jew , CIA and RAW lobbies presently having all sort of freedom in Pakistan. Even army generals can’t do any thing about.

It has to be the awakening of people of Pak to rise and save Pakistan from this drastic changing scenario. The enemy is not hiding behind any curtains now and has openly come in the front line. And coward that they are, they find satisfaction in punishing a helpless woman, whose two kids are still missing and nothing is known about them.

Mixing / comparison of missing Baluch with Afia’s case is not justifiable. Only power in the country that has still some authority over own countrymen (not foreigners ofcourse) is army. Army and its agencies have to come up and inform Supreme court of all the missing persons otherwise it will be ample proof that they also have eaten from the bribe that their ex “Commando” boss had received by handing over wanted persons to USA and other western countries.

All missing perosn, whether they be from Baluchistan, Sarhad, Punjab or Sind, be immediately declared and produced in Supreme court of Pakistan otherwise Armyy can not shed away the responsibility of these missing persons. Let every Pakistani know that with each passing hearing of the missing persons, the confidence of the people of Pakistan over its own army is shaking and that would be the last nail in the coffin of Pakistan.

Lastly Afia.

It is A SLAP ON THE FACE OF EVERY PAKISTANI FROM CHRUISADORS WITH WHOM COMMANDO COULD NOT FIGHT BUT CHOSE TO FIGHT ITS OWN PEOPLE WHO WERE AT HIS MERCY.

“MAARKA E HAQ O BATIL HO TO BARESHAM KE TARHA NARM
    HO HALQA e YARAAN TO FOULAD HAY MUSHARRAF”

FEEL IT OR NOT THE BURNING OF THE SLAP IN THE SHAPE OF AFIA’s CONVICTION DOES HURT THOSE WHO BELIEVE IN QURAN AND THE LAST MESSENGER OF ALLAH’s TEACHINGS.

REMEMBER THE DAY IS NOT FAR OFF THAT SOME SON OF MUHAMMAD BIN QASIM WOULD RISE AND TAKE REVENGE FROM THE BASTARD USA. THEN ALL ITS BLACK WATER AND MARINES WOULD GOTO HELL SOONER THAN THEY EXPECT INSHA ALLAH.

PAK WATAN KAY ZALEEL LOGO AB BHE WAQT HAY UTH JAOOOOOOO.

deevav said:

IMPROPER PAKISTANI
    Can youlet this forum know the charges that were there against the persons handed over to USA by your boss and god musharraf??

The only charge against them was they fought against USA to save Afghanistan, abrothern Islamic country that was invaded by USA.

AAJ KA SUB SE BARA JURM “GHAIRAT” HAI. To aap to is jurm say baher hein Improper Pakistani but poodle of usa.

wbuttar said:

I salute Dr. Afia and any other who resist the criminals of mankind.

mansoorahmad said:

DOWN WITH USA & their Pakistani DOGS!!

ugb13 said:

@ american

Are you kidding me

No physical or forensic evidence. Add that to inconsistent witness accounts.

That gets you a guilty verdict nowadays!?!

Ranababarkhan said:

Really strong reaction by you all you folks but I am going to float rather an unpopular notion.
    Is she really innocent? I mean completely innocent?

You can be at a wrong place at a wrong time but that doesnt quite seem to be case with Dr. Afia.

I hope she is innocent and this decision is over turned in the apellant court.
    Might we not consider the other side of the eqation too?

jazoo said:

@Ranababarkhan

You try very hard to sound like a sane person…….though you fail.

Your unpopular notion is insane.
    Theres only one sane possibility….a free Afia is neither in favor of USA nor in corrupt Pakistani authorities.
    Its not possible to free her and keep her muted at the same time.

Her missing period from 2003 to 2008 with her children(two American born) is a dark spot on the face of America and so called western civilizations and off course on the face of humanity.

ugb13 said:

@ Ranababarkhan @ american and @ any other Idiot

These are the facts of the case, not opinions.

There was no physical or forensic evidence (bullet shells, bullet holes, fingerprints).

There were completely inconsistent witness accounts of the story.

She was obviously tortured and sexually abused.

And common sense: She was hiding behind a curtain, the soldiers didn’t see her. Then a soldier just leaves his gun next to her and walks away. She suddenly comes out, ninja style, grabs his heavy machine gun and “point it straight at me” as the soldier testified. Then she starts wrestling with the soldier as he tries to take it form her. ARE YOU F***ING KIDDING ME!

Whats the other side of the equation.

ammarawaheed said:

what else cud be xpectd frm a US court. they had to declare her guilty in order to find an xcuse for her captivity and such a long period of torture. the real sad part is the role played by our govt who has done nothing more than making a few claims of supporting her fully. had the govt taken a stand on the issue , the rzlt cud certainly hav been a lot better.
    and i think influential members of the civil society shud cm frwrd wid call for a peace rally to support dr. aafia .

jatt jee said:

Ohhh man… really angery reaction from pakistani society living abroad i assume.

I really didn’t know lot about Dr.Aafia case before now. I just known that she was captured from Karachi and transferred to Afghanistan where she was tortured by American soldiers and Musharaff regime was responsible behind this act. Thats the one side of story from my follow pakistanis.

Now after the jury decide that she was guilty, i’m now waiting for the final verdict of what basis she will given sentence in may or whether she will file appeal in higher court. I can’t make any jugdement now at the movement.

But i searched Dr. Aafia on google and several sites showed different point of view.
    There is both side of story that she is innocent and other say she might be involved in some kind of activity.

for example : married shiekh mohammad nephew.
    Already american citizen
    she had some kind a training using weapons.
    what was she doing in afghanistan (if humanitarian work any proper paper work)
    her son who was also captured in afghanistan now cannot speak to media about what happend back there because he is relized on some kind a deal with afghan government.

So i will wait to make final judgement on this issue.

But i hope, she is innocent and the ruling will be overturned and then see your reactions.

Ranababarkhan said:

Mr. ugb 13

well, I reckon there was more to it too. jury was obviously able to see it that way.
    my sympathies for the poor lady.

I suppose her liar didn’t blew her chances by being ruthlessly dragged by precocial instincts of his. My heart break for what happened to her and for the poor children what they are left to live up with.

travesty of justice as some might call it.
    Is American justice department oblivious of facts that there were hundreds of channels covering the case with thousands of journalist scratching every aspect of the investigation?

how could jury reach the verdict without having enough conclusive substance against her. Justice department cant ridicule the whole world like that.
    I am not saying she was guilty but she wasn’t’ just any other women either that they picked up to help concoct their story.
    If it was as simple as it say it was ” no case against her”. ~They have made the biggest mistake of American judicial history for it would be looked as contrary to the very principles and values America was once found upon.

Ranababarkhan said:

Lawyers* not liars
    Correction

nota said:

You know what I find even more disgusting? The self-proclaimed campaigner for Dr Aafia named Dr. Awab Alvi of PTI (who blogs as ‘Teeth Maestro’) stating:
    “we must simply accept the decision, pending a possible appeal, Dr. Aafia is guilty.”

okboss said:

By the way, what was Ms. Siddiqui doing Afghanistan at the first place?
    For social work ?
    I really don’t know.
    Please help me to understand the reason of her presence in Afghanistan

netengr said:

Why Talibani supporters believing in Afia Siqiqi ? why dont they call this a Hollywood movie ? ,Afia Siddiqi is the same as other women in Sawat who were forced to cover their face and stopped going to school ,but this “Mujahida ” aafia siddiqi does not cover her face and graduated from Co education and enjoyed the freedom .First Ulema issued the fatwa on Afia Siqqiqi and her sister who used to give speech front of 1000s man without covering her faces .
    “yeh tou ghair sharaee amal hay na ?

baghat sing said:

@Jatt Jee – Fittay m…. janab ka, just a single line
    Do you know the age of son you are talking about?
    Five years old.

aftab said:

Aafia urges Pakistanis to remain calm

Dr Aafia Siddiqui has fervently appealed to her fellow Pakistanis to remain calm and not to resort to violence following her conviction on Wednesday on charge of attempting to kill US military officers while she was in custody in Afghanistan.

The appeal was conveyed to US-based Pakistani reporters by Elaine Sharp, one of the defence lawyers, soon after her trial in the federal court in Manhattan was wrapped up.

“Dr. Siddiqui wants you all to know that she doesn’t want there to be violent protests or violent reprisals in Pakistan over this verdict,” the lawyer said.

http://www.aaj.tv/news/National/

We are proud of our sister Aafia.

Proper_Pakistani said:

@ deevav

The charges against these foreign nationals was that they are running a terrorist organization called Al-Qaeda. Your mamoon, Osama binliner, was heading it. They have committed an act of terrorism against the world by planning and executing 9/11. They have been using our land for act of terrorism around the world. So. Musharraf, very bravely, took the decision to send these boys home. And home they went : )

Good thing Musharraf has dismantled Al-Qaeda network. That is his best work. We do not want these takfeeris on our land. They do nothing but make our life difficult. We do not want these people!

I am sorry that some of these were ur relatives. I hope u will refrain from such acts of terrorism. If not, there is more space in guantanamo. The way your “GHAIRAT” is increasing everyday, I will not be surprised if u join you family up there soon.

And also, we will continue to dis-mental these outfits. Wait till we come out of the current mess, created by ur family, and u will see an increased clean-up process. This cancer has to go from Pakistan if we want to continue to exist. And we will not mind sacrificing people like u to achieve that. But i have a message for u too.

lage raho munna bhai, as we need some target practice too ; )

proudpakistani85 said:

Americas Downfall started…. Shame on America and its morally corrupt society and institutions….

okboss said:

@ Proper_Pakistani
    Well said
    But it is not going to work on Deevav

I just want to add one thing.

If these friends(including Ms. Siddiqui ) of Deevav were fighting with USA to save their brother country (???) then why are they now crying for?
    In war every thing is allowed. She wanted to kill some one in war and got captured and will be killed for her noble cause of her life.
    Deeva you should thank USA’s KUFAR court for sending your sister to heavens.

*RhyMe* said:

That was very well known that the verdict of the court would never be in favour of her…they are not so stupid that after years of voilence and injustice on her in jail,they would let her go so easily…if shes out of jail today,shes gonna reveal all those brutalities nd tortures on her done by American Animals in jail nd that is something not advantageous to them….I Salute to her patience that after sucha harm shes still fighting and surviving…May Allah(swt) give her more patience to bear the coming challenges…ameen

american said:

@ugb13

Nobody on this forum was present in the courtroom and all of a sudden everyone is an “expert’” on legal matters in the American justice system. People who could never spell FORENSICS are now talking about Forensics and Physical Evidence. I wonder why is it always America that teaches and educates the rest of the world!! Guess what, all America haters on this forum are using computers/Internet invented by the US. This is just the tip of the iceberg of Compassion and inventions that this country has given to humanity. When you sit on the internet and keyboards invented by this great nation and start bashing it with utmost hatred, that clearly shows the hypocricy on your part. I think last time I checked, Allah does not like hypocrits better known as Munafiqs.

farfront said:

May Allah bless her and her family . Allah will do the justice and he is the Chief Justice !

adnanvisa said:

@EmotionalFools
    There are lots of women criminals in Pakistan; jsut becuase her relatives are cryihng diesnt make her guilty… nor 100% .. she was indeed in very eye raising circumstances… arrested in afghanistan.. i dnt care wht her sis says.. she wil always say in favour.. n i dnt care wht her ex husband said he will always say against… what i do care is the fact she is married to the closest relatives of most wanted person… n one convicted person… she has been actively involved in jihadi activities and pro jihad protests in US… it is proved she received guns training in US.. as its a normal thing for nay one to take guns traning.. shes not a normal pakistani women… she was in MIT… a neuroscientist… tahts like .00000001% not even that of paksitan…. so cut the crap support real paksitani women issues.. like teh one who got raped n killed… in our villages…. forcd marriages of teenagers with 50+ men.. the last thing on this list wud be AAAFIAAAAAA SIDDEEQUEEEEEE…. with all the strange things going around her.. so shut the crap up

adnanvisa said:

n her name shud be aafia abdul aziz… n paksitani govt shud investigate how she got in touch with this man.. where is he now…her sister n mother shud be asked this question about where n when did she meeti himm.. how did they got married.. love marriage???? she was impressed by this mans terrosists views… keep al answers in front of u .. n then think…. problem with us paksitanis are we r too jazbati with a very short term memory.. n politicians use this to win elections… so to all emotionalfool ppl.. get a life

trika007 said:

Prisoner no 650……………Dr Aafia Siddique age 37, a PhD having 144 honorary degrees and certificates in neurology from different institute of the world. The only neurologist in the world who have the honorary PhD from Harvard University
    Hafiz-e-Quran, Aalima not a single American matches her qualification, was kidnapped along with her 3 children’s, by the FBI from Karachi with the help of Pakistani government and specially then shameless ruler Gen. Musharaf.
    Musharaf is now days trying to pose himself as a hero in social websites. I humbly request the members/viewers of pkpolitics , please make bloggs on facebook and other social websites to defeat and expose this traitor (Gen. Musharif).

adnanvisa said:

yea yea yea trika anwer my question n cut the kidnap part one….

adnanvisa said:

WE WILL ALWAYS SUPPORT MUSHARAF.. FACEBOK PAGE PROVES THE LITERALE EDUCATED AND SOUND MINDED PPL ARE WITH GENERAL PRESIDENT PERVAIZ MUSHARRAF… rest of u can follw our lead if u dnt understand

arrehman said:

@Proper_Pakistani
    Ok if Afia was criminal then what abt her little kids, what they did why they were killed. what was their crime man.

adnanvisa said:

Pakistani govt shud rather be putting wefforts to find her kids.. thats a valid argument

jazoo said:

@adnanvisa pompous slut wrote

“she was in MIT… a neuroscientist… tahts like .00000001% not even that of paksitan”

The slut need spanking for phd in ignorance.

aftab said:

@ adnanvisa

follow your lead, yeah right. The biggest terrorist in Pakistan is general Musharraf who butchered people in Lal Masjid, who subverted the constitution, who incarcerated judges of the supreme court, who ordered the killing of 52 people in Karachi on May12 and then said, yeah awamm ki takath hay, you are ******* sick individual who needs locking up in mental asylum.

If our sister Aafia has broken the law in anyway she should be tried in Pakistan and not be kidnapped and sent to Afghanistan.

adnanvisa said:

She was arrested in afghanistan….n why the hell they wud arrest n take her children to afghanistan.. n still unanwered question.. how she married her second husband.. wher did she meet him.. love marriage arrange marriage.. parent knew abt it.. n all of u shouting abt lal masjid etc etc… tahtswhy i am syaing if u dnt understand follow the lead

aftab said:

@ adnanvisa

Who she marries has nothing to do with anything and does not give Dictator Musharraf the right to kidnap Pakistanis and sell them to the Yanks. If she broke the law in anyway, charge her with an offense and present her in a court of law.

adnanvisa said:

HAHAHAHAHAHA….stuck in ostrich syndrome.. when investigation is done all questions are asked. we are not running a bolywood court here.. so if yr so much favouring her.. u shud knw abt her as well. her second husband…. one the most wanted terrorist .. where did she meet him.. her family was aware of her marriage?????? whts her send husband nationality…where is he now??? her first husbands statements?????? why the hell CIA wud kidnap her kids n send to afghansitan.. she mus have taken them with her… poor kids…. or if i need to support her… i wud say her second husband got her foooled n married her… to get into some sort of plan of his… n she got in a trap… but crying for her without thinking rationally is stoooopid

aftab said:

I have said if she has broken any law by marrying a jihadi then why didn’t dictator Musharraf charge her with an offense of marrying a jihadi and present her in a Pakistani court .

Justice4all said:

This is lovely:
    OJ Simpson got away through US courts because of the “Weakest Prosecution Case”.
    This lady could not get away through US courts because of the “Strongest Prosecution Case”.
    Long Live US Judicial system.

trika007 said:

@adnanvisa
    Once an American lawyer (I think in Aamil Kansi case) said that some Pakistani’s can sell their mother for dollars. After reading your comments I think he was right.

adnanvisa said:

WHat ever emotional statements u make.. u hv al teh righs to do so… it will be beneficial for film directors making a movie… jsut talking crap.. no sense at all.. gimme facts ma friend.. both sides of the story…. just not shout yr heart out.. shout yr brains out.. n let heart follow it…

adnanvisa said:

hmmmm… about yr statments abt motehrs… ive read couple of times when paksitanis hv kiled their moterhs for property issues.. but this happens evry where in teh world.. in all theird world countries where there r lots of poor ppl .. u may find one or two whi wud actually do this.. considering how rurual areas treat woemns n how fathers teach their sons how to treat women.. this statment might hold its justification..

adnanvisa said:

If afia abdul aziz can marry a jihadi she can very well go to afghanistan with his help.. so the crap abt pakistani isi send her there .. no one has prioved this…. the only way is .. put t petition in court and charge the esponible person for abduction.. not just shout.. cu zi wud say she went there on her own with her husbands help.. n u guys will keeep on saying she was abducted… never ending argument…

anna said:

@ adnanvisa said:
    WE WILL ALWAYS SUPPORT MUSHARAF.. FACEBOK PAGE PROVES THE LITERALE EDUCATED AND SOUND MINDED PPL ARE WITH GENERAL PRESIDENT PERVAIZ MUSHARRAF… rest of u can follw our lead if u dnt understand

what a JOKE ?? supporting Musharraf is showing up how “EDUCATED ” & SOUND MINDED ” ppl they could be …. haahaa
    the LESS said about that INSANE general of Pakistan Army the Better !!!

mha09 said:

@anna…………..agreed with you
    @adnanvisa…………….a nonsense and shameless

jatt jee said:

@ baghat sing

one of her son was captured when he was 13 please search around the internet.

Sohaib107 said:

This is something we never heard before??

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/8499322.stm

skunk said:

Afia was kidnapped by Pakistani intelligence agencies during army rule, so why DOWN WITH USA but not DOWN WITH ARMY AND ISI?

Why not give equal if not more importance to hundreds of women tortured, executed or forcibly married by Taliban who are not given any lawyers like Dr Afia to defend their self.

Dr Afia can appeal but I’m sure much of the evidence was provided by Pakistani intelligence agencies during the Army rule and fabricated or genuine it would be sufficient to convict her.

adnanvisa said:

Good one sohaib.. enufff to shut the mouth of ignorant ppl

adnanvisa said:

The only real clue to all these may lie in what her uncle, Shamsul Hasan Farooqi has told the BBC.
    “Five years after she went missing, my niece reappeared on my doorstep on 22 January 2008,” he said.
    “Someone had rung my door bell and then my servant came and told me a woman wanted to see me.
    “When I went to meet her, I saw Aafia standing outside. She was wearing a burka and was clearly very scared.”
    “She said she wanted me to put her in touch with the Afghan Taliban.”

aftab said:

“She had not seen her children for years – sometimes her captors said they were dead and sometimes that they had been sent abroad,” he said.

“She was quite clear that she was being held by Pakistani agencies. She spoke well of the Americans, but was clearly afraid of the Pakistanis.

“Before she came to see me, she said that she was being held in Lahore by a security agency.”

“Throughout this time I had a strong feeling that she was being monitored in some way – through a device on her person or some other method,” he said.

Allah ka Banda said:

@netengr

Picture momin ke aur kartut …….
    kia yeh khulaa tizad nahin?

Agar Taliban ghalat hein aur aap bhee Taliban aisee harkat kartey ho to, FARAQ Kahan?

Taliban Sawat mein aurat ko torture karein aur aap ke bahee US mein to FARAQ kahan?

Please think about it if you do.

ConcernedAmericanPak said:

Verdict on Dr Afia

By Saeed Qureshi

February 04, 2010 — When Dr Afia was first picked up by the moles of intelligence in March 2003 in Pakistan against the charge of her association with the Al-Qaida terrorists. She was secretly kept in Afghanistan’s notorious Bagram prison for 5 years without any trial. Finally when a British female journalist disclosed her presence by hearing her screams as prisoner number 650, the concerned American authorities reluctantly moved her to the United States. Here too it took considerable amount of time for her case of abetment of Islamic terrorist to be initiated before the court.

But while the previous charge seems to have been pushed on the back burner, a new charge was framed and brought against her. She was accused of snatching a gun from an American soldier with a view to fire at him. Now when one looks at the hearing the whole case put up by the prosecution is replete with contradictions. It is utterly unimaginable for a delicate, educated women reduced to a skinny skeleton of bones after years of rigorous incarceration to first snatch a gun and then aim at some one. The whole incident took place behind a curtain with no direct witness.

The case otherwise calls for mercy to the defendant on humanitarian grounds. Someone from the American penal and legal system should have a heart and honest courage to point out the clumsy way she is being prosecuted in the American court. A totally mentally and physically broken women whose fault or crime is yet to be established conclusively, has been so much brutalized that one disdains the claims of the upholders of human rights and refinement of human civilization in the present age of enlightenment.

Even if there was scuffle that in normal circumstances can take place, did she deserve 5 years of unwarranted stay in one of the most horrifying prisons of wild land called Afghanistan? Have a heart and look closely at the credentials of the case that even a child can figure out is frivolous and is being blown out of proportion by the quarters who would in any case like her to be declared a convict. The justice stands totally wounded and abandoned by the people who are so powerful to get a convoluted verdict irrespective of the merits of the case.

Dr. Afia, a U. S. citizen and a refined woman did not actually hurt anyone, did not injure any one nor was implicated in any offence that would entitle her to such a long jail term without trial which she has already gone through. By all indications she is a law abiding US citizen with good academic record. What is called Christian mercy was not shown to her and where is the noble concept of benefit of doubt?

She has never been given a chance to give her point of view so that there would have been a clearer picture whether she was wrongly picked upon mere doubt or there was some substance behind that. After all she is an American citizen but perhaps her tag of being a Muslim American is an anathema to her tormenters who in any case wanted to prove them justified. Who is going to restore to her the 7 years of her life that this sophisticated women spent in the stinking and dreadful dungeon of Afghanistan and in U.S. prison.

Her children were not her accomplices if at all she came under suspicion of her abductors. How and why these innocent souls were made to suffer so enormously? Has the conscience of the entire world gone dead? What kind of war on terror is being waged when the pristine concept of justice is audaciously trampled to the extent that the future of the small kids of a suspect female also stands darkened?

The trust of fair trial for those who are rightly or mistakenly apprehended loses its validity when seen the crude and discriminate way all are targeted alike: the hardened and proven criminals and those with scant suspicion or drummed up charges like Dr. Afia.

Since Dr. Afia has already suffered immensely and perhaps unjustifiably she deserves a presidential pardon or reconsideration of the verdict handed out by an ambivalent jury which took two days to reach this otherwise controversial decision. The whole case is shrouded in unclear proceedings and is supported perhaps by doubtful and spurious evidence. For the human conscience, the American spirit of humanism, the constitution of the United States of America, for the sake of a fair legal system and for sanctity of the immortal Bill or Rights, Dr. Afia is eligible to be freed and rejoin her family and children also suffering trauma and agony all these years along with Dr. Afia’s harrowing afflictions and unspeakable tribulations.

manilala said:

now where the hell are those LIBERALS, SECULARS who always against islamist and back america or western culture and their policies who always blame muslims or mullahs to de-grade women??????? huh I wonder if we muslims not gona open our eyes then these BASTARD might even EAT USS!!!!!!

WAKE UP MUSLIMSSSSSSSSSSS FOR ALLAH’S SAKE WAKE UP NOWWWWWWW

max786 said:

what sort of leaders we have? They have sold us. All I say is to get educated and elect good leaders who should look after the nation, not themselfs.

Proper_Pakistani said:

@arrehman

My dear. Where have i said that this poor woman is a criminal. Read my comments from the start. I am asking the same questions as all. I do not know what is the truth and that is why i am not sure about this case. And this is all i am saying.

There are so many other women in Pakistan but why is Dr. Aafia in this situation? Do not think i want any one to be treated like this. I am just asking?

There is something else that is not common knowledge and until that info come out, no one can say anything for sure. Thats all i am saying.

Regarding Musharraf, he was dealing with too many issues to keep an eye on everything. After all, he is a human too. So do not hate ANYONE just for the sake of hating. TC

Plato said:

Addressing all!

I am completely unaware as to the truth of the matter. I have heard multiple versions of the same story and sometimes different story. The official story on Geo News and other media organizations was that she was picked up while driving in a Pakistani city (not Afghan) with her children without due cause. This version is also supported by all the patriotic Pakistanis who do not want to see one of them (especially when it is a woman) behind American bars without due process.

The second version comes from Dr. Afia’s in laws (sister in law). This is in direct contrast to the Pakistani (not Musharraf’s Pakistan but Zardari’s) version. He goes on to say that she warned her (Afia) many times, but she would not listen…. that she had become a hard liner…not giving time to the family…to the husband…but committed herself to political Islam [not Islam nor to Politics, but political Islam, which is the ideology of the likes of Bin Ladens of this world].

I did not know what to believe from among the two versions.

Yesterday I heard Dr. Afia’s sister’s and mother’s speeches. What were they trying to achieve, I asked myself. They wanted Afia released by accusing the U.S. courts, by saying “down with America”, by saying things like downfall of America has started.

I would agree that they must have been very emotional. But if you hear the defence lawyer’s remarks that Dr. Afia’s own statement in the court proved her guilty, should tell all of us that emotions blind people to reason. Fine we all want her released because she is an MIT educated Pakistani woman, but shouldn’t these women be using SOME common sense?

They were making mockery of the same America and justice system from which they were ultimately hoping to have their sister and daughter released. Fine it is Allah Almighty who decides and judges between us, but if Dr. Afia did indeed go to MIT, then she better tell her family that our Lord says “happen” and it shall happen, but the rules devised by that same Lord also are right before us. He creates explanations for things that happen. Forgive me for rationalizing God and His works in this way (some of you might disagree and some might feel otherwise) but I feel he has created explanations which are in science (as for the metaphysical, it exists, no one can explain them save God himself and chosen few), but the confidence of these ladies with bearded New York city cab drivers at the back suggested that these ladies chose to be driven by emotion not common sense. Dr. Afia ought to have emphasized her innocence in charges pressed against her and not say “down with America”. Similarly, her family and relatives ought to have issued statements such as,

“Historically, death of justice is often brought about by juries – guided by self righteousness and passion, and we truly believe that the appellate court will decide in the favor of justice instead of popular passions….”

If there is anyone among you who knows Dr. Afia’s family, please let them know that they should not display their innermost feelings on camera and in court if she ever wants to be free.

I do not want to debate if Dr. Afia is guilty or not.

adnanvisa said:

well said… we cant debate if she was guilty or not.. we can only highlight facts…. n evidences by her relatives and her husband

Zaheer said:

Few points

- First of all was she abducted from Pakistan? Who did it and why? I think this question could be answered by our agencies and people like Musharraf!

- Where has she been during her disappearance and under which law?

- What is the nature and authenticity of allegations against her and were these evidences really analyzed by our authorities and why was she not trialled in Pakistan if there were any proofs? Secondly, if she was abducted/arrested by external forces then were our agencies aware of that and is such arrest legal?

- 911 itself is very suspicious incident and if it is being used as a base to prove any connections then those connections also get suspicious!

- American courts are dependent upon the proofs, statements and evidences provided by the American authorities and agencies so it gets hard for them to go for anything beyond that! If they really take unconventional approach then results would be different!

- I personally think that she was abducted with some suspicions but they could not find any proofs of her alleged connection to so called terrorists so they came up with that story of her firing at the officers and now they have to defend this story somehow! They don’t want world to know the true facts so there are two options either she is sentenced or killed! One possibility to know truth is that some people from among the American officials who remained close to Afiaa or know facts decide to to tell the right and neutral version of this episode!

- This is just one case out of many! There are so many similar cases which we don’t know and only time would tell that how sad and tragic last decade has been! This is a test case not only for USA and world at large but especially for us Pakistanis! We have become extremely selfish, senseless and greedy that we don’t even care about our country fellows, we think that if we are safe then others go to hell we don’t care! Such an attitude only leads to destruction of everyone especially those who don’t care about others! If unjust/cruel hands are not stopped then they reach the throats of everyone sooner or later!

- We need to try our best that she gets the justice in this world! and ultimate justice will be done in the Court of Allah(SWT) where every proof and evidence will be available! That Day none will be able to escape!

ugb13 said:

@ american

Dumb*ss I was born in America and am going to college in America. Trust me I know what forensic evidence means.

And I’ve always had trust in the American system, but since 9/11 and the Bush era, the judiciary has been really influenced by the patriot act, etc.

From all AMERICAN media reports they mentioned the facts I stated.

When asked about the lack of bullet holes on of the officers says: “Maybe it hit furniture that was later thrown out.” & “Forensic evidence is an inexact science”. Bullshit.

1. The case against her was that the prosecution says she had married KSM’s nephew.
    2. Her admital of guilt on some occasions while being “interrogated” (tortured, sexually harassed).
    3. The prosecution said that to declare that Dr. Afia was innocent the jury would be implying that all the people involved were lying, and these were “brave, patriotic soldiers”.

You have no idea what your talking about so push your stupid agenda on some other forum.

ugb13 said:

@ Ranababarkhan

I probably should have not included you with this idiot “american”. I went overboard, but it just annoys me when some people just defend stuff for no reason than to be different.

I am not some lover of terrorists. I also was suspicious of Dr. Afia’s innocence. But the facts just don’t line up for a guilty verdict in this case.

KhalidAli said:

Khuda Pakistan army or governement of pakistan (Musharraf and all of his dogs) must put in the same shoes as Aafia and many others. I hope that musharraf and every army general whos was with musharraf in his time and still is quite about his crime, their daughters are arrested by ef bee iee and then abused by b*stard afghans for 6 years. I hope Pakistani army and government officials burn in hell.

Rakhio muaf is talkh nawaee maen
    Aaj kuch dard is dilmaen siwa hota hay…

jazoo said:

So far yes masa crowd squeaking and ranting about her pro jihadi stance….No one cans say she was a terrorist because masa himself couldn’t indict her on charges of terrorism.
    Unfortunately this yes masa crowd had gone a step ahead of masa with great disrespect to masa and had declared her terrorist just because of her allegedly pro jihadi involvement.
    This is shameful…this thought terrorism by these ugly wana be gora slaves are the scum of earth everywhere…They are the one who provides torture cells in Pakistan, Egypt Jordan Saudia and all over the world…This way they keep masa face clean and spotless.
    In this very tragedy masa is not to be blamed these scums are the main culprit…if not for them masa won’t dare torturing and capturing innocent Afia.

spk1 said:

Before criticizing US, all of you should pressure Pakistani government and ISI to negate US claims. After all according to people who think that she is innocent, she was handed to US by Pakistan. If Pakistan openly refutes US claim that she was captured in Afghanistan, she will have more support from people that matter in this case (American public).

Even if she is innocent, she is just one person. She should get the same attention that an ordinary person kept illegally by Pakistan’s forces would have gotten (that is no attention at all). At least she got a chance to defend herself, maybe it was not very fair but at least she got a chance compared to thousands of people who are just killed or disappear forever due to our own government and army (and thousands of people who are killed by Muslim terrorists every year).

american said:

@ugb13

The very reason that you use profanity in your post tells me that you are not at all confident of the point that you are trying to make. So by leaning on this subhuman verbiage of yours, you think you are going to persuade someone? The fact is:

You were not one of the jurors so you did not see any evidence presented in that room.
    You were not one of the staff of the court (wouldn’t be smart enough).

“From all AMERICAN media reports they mentioned the facts I stated”

Wow. this sums it up. You are one of those cool aid drinkers that instead of being rational, always rely on the media for information. If you are in USA then how come you don’t know that all the news media in this country is not there to inform you. They are in the game of ratings to earn money for their shareholders. Even Ted Turner acknowledged CNN being “ShowBusiness” instead of News Business. You seem to have a stronger belief on the news media than Ted Turner.
    And finally, since you believe on the media so much and tend to derive your conclusions out of it, don’t forget that Aafia Siddiqui had relations with people that feel proud to display a throat cutting film on your beloved media. This to me is guilty enough to convict her.

mujtaba-ali said:

The jury has found Dr. Aafia Siddiqui guilty of shooting American Terrorists in Afghanistan. She was accused of shooting members of US terrorists who had illegally kidnapped Dr. Aafia several years ago from Karachi along with her 3 children. Although the only one found shot was Dr. Aafia herself, but jury decided that she was still guilty of trying to cause harm to the american citizens. No other charges were brought against Dr. Aafia, who has accused the americans of putting her in secret prisons and torturing her for several years.

is it deliberately written ??

haroon ali said:

So who is voting the same US dogs back in the parliament?

Revolution انقلاب said:

We want mushraf to be hanged and our sister back.

Please join us at face book.

http://www.facebook.com/?ref=logo#!/pages/Release-Prisoner-650-Dr-Afia-Siddiqui-Urgent-Appeal/31452992467?ref=mf

khan javaid said:

Congratulations to Pkpolitics for using the word Terrorist for the Actual terrorists……

America is the real terrorist
    Israel is the real terrorist
    India is the real terrorist

Congratulations Admin bro

Pakistanis wake up, wake up.. otherwise would be too late. Our sisters are being abducted and are we this much ” begheratt” ??
    Musharraf ko phansi di jaiy..
    Zardari ko ulta latkaya jaiy..

Imran Khan…………….Please start the long March..
    Nawaz Sharif .. …. stop playing friendly opposition…

thedude said:

3 things:

- why don’t they ask her sister about her husband who admitted that she was involved in some objectionable activities before getting abducted?

- why did she make such a racist statement in court, “i don’t want any jews on jury subject to dna testing” … she must’ve pssd off the jury real bad

- US might be wondering “why pakistani public is so upset on this issue when we kill so many innocent aafia siddiqui’s in drone attacks every other day WITH THE PERMISSION OF PAKISTANI GOVERNMENT”

i_shah said:

@spk1

100% right

what about Dr Shazia. why have we forgotten her?
    and missing persons?

zalmay said:

We should try our best, especially the American Pakistanis and those living in the west in general, to raise and propagate Afia’s innocense in all possible ways. If hope genuine public opinion can change the court verdict in the so called ‘American Democracy’.

Also, the traitors at home involved in this case should be dealt with iron hand so that nobody can dare to use, disrespect and sell daughters of the land in future.

Shock said:

Imagine if the same was done by the Taliban in Sawat to Aafia Siddiqui. What would have been our reaction?

ugb13 said:

@american

Oh man I don’t know why but ill actually waste time on you.

Your name is “american”, and I’m drinking the Koolaid??

You’ve clearly shown that your too big of a retard to have an actual argument with so forget that.

Ill just say that if CNN is trying to sell an agenda along with the rest of the American media, why the hell would it be the talibans, or Afia Siddique’s??

The only reason I use profanity is that I cant smack some sense into you over the internet so that will have to do. ;-)

VOX said:

The woman was subjected to gang rape and sexual humiliation allegedly. Has any one even looked into these serious charges?
    That and he death and whereabouts of her little children.

I wonder if she would prefer death than incarceration. But then again, a deeply traumatized and scarred mind bottles itself up, so that it may not feel the haunting pain of reality and memories of horror night after night after night.

But I do take issue with the text of this bulletin. “American terrorists?”
    What does that even mean?
    Such anger and rage…and peripatetic labels.
    I don’t have any issue…. with this anger or rage. Just its timing (why now? what changed?), its hypocrisy and scale (thousands more younger, innocent, poorer, void of any charges or suspicion have been butchered and are still butchered by their own State elite while their countrymen watched continue to watch ).
    But if you really want to paint that grim picture, than by all accounts those who have aided and abetted the terrorists, at times more zestfully and more often, are also terrorists. And those who have advocated or tolerated it out of irrational fear, bigotry, apathy, statist mentality resulting in advocacy of statist pragmatism and savaging of those who had the courage to object, to cry halt and express outrage are a party to this evil.

Ch said:

Dr. Aafia caught by Americans from Karachi when Waseem Akhtar of MQM was Interior Minister of Sindh. And MQM is happy to give any Pakistani to any outsiders, who they think they are against MQM terrorism in Karachi.
    Now I dont know how this Altaf K_l_ia is protesting against government not done enough for Afia in USA.
    He is traitor and whole MQM is traitor of Pakistan with thier father Musharaf.

valiantpk said:

UK lawyers have demanded withdrawal of Dr Afia’s Case & a public enquiry on Dr Afia’s case from US President Obama

Association of Pakistani Lawyers in UK, in their 6 February 2010 communiqué addressed to Barrack Obama, The President of USA and Foreign Secretary, Senator Hillary Clinton has demanded that Govt. of United States must consider withdrawing charges against Dr Afia Siddiqui and her repatriation to Pakistan forthwith.

APL wrote that Dr Afia Siddiqui’s Conviction may result in a stumbling block between US-Pak people to people contact and relations between two states. Dr Afia was kidnapped and kept at Bagram Airfield without the aid of a lawyer, doctor and or consulate access for years and her being a female, Muslim women that has the potential to charge the mood of the public.

USA is already making efforts to bridge the gap between the people of Pakistan and US Administration and Dr. Afia’s conviction will wipe out all efforts and this decision seems to have dictated through fears than the facts and law. Dr Afia is demonized as ‘Al-Qaeda’ lady or in official circles as ‘the grey lady of Bagram’ without substance of her association or affiliation as Association with Al-Qaeda itself is a criminal offence and that avenue has not been pursued. Under the circumstances she may never get a fair trial from the jury due to 9/11 as in built prejudice against the perpetrators of the 9/11 makes it impossible to allow a fair hearing against anyone who is allegedly portrayed by media or through whisper campaign to be an associate of that outfit no matter how much it is denied. Though, we agree that USA has failed to prove or at least bring it open the limits of her engagements

APL proposed 5 resolutions of demands:

“Resolution of Demand:

1. Govt of United States must consider withdrawing charges against Dr Afia Siddiqui and her repatriation to Pakistan forthwith; or

2. Govt of United States must consider Presidential pardon for Dr Afia Siddiqui as she has been missing and or confined allegedly since 2003 and there is no account of her missing time in Bagram airfield and her conviction is unsafe considering the state of mind and or issues of serious allegation(s) of torture and maltreatment; or

3. Govt of United States must consider appealing this decision as it is unsafe as post 9/11 putting people of New York in a position of jurors to find a question of guilty/not guilty of a person who is highly publicised as allegedly associated with internationally notorious outfit (AL-Qaeda) is unreasonable and rules of natural justice and norms of Art.6 of the European Convention on Human Rights 1950 has not been met. looking at the case of Brown v Board of Education, 347 US 483 (1954) where so rightly Supreme Court gave decision against segregation of white and Black children in the public state school solely on the basis of race because that segregation was against the principle of equal protection of law guaranteeing Fourteenth Amendment, at this juncture based on the past knowledge, I am sure, USA can ensure justice with Muslim minorities (its a test case in that scenario); There is overwhelming evidence of making this conviction unsafe i.e lack of DNA / finger prints evidence of her linking to the rifle, her unlawful presence at Bagram as the account of her arrest is not credible, discrepancies between the accounts of Interpreter, and other two witnesses, and no empty shells of the bullets fired were presented at court all makes the conviction unsafe; and these questions must be put to rest which questions the prosperity of US criminal justice system to be fair to Muslims post 9/11 as is the case in UK where many convictions were overturned by superior courts declaring them unsafe and excessive;

4. Govt of United States must consider prisoner exchange with the Govt of Pakistan as in the past many prisoners from Pakistan has been shifted to USA without judicial oversight, on the similar approach Dr Afia Siddiqui must be returned to Pakistan to remain in Pakistani custody whilst the issue of her case (withdrawal/appeal and or pardon) are considered at home in USA as she has already spent many years in confinement and her return would ease her sufferings and will avoid hampering United States effort to increase people to people contact and efforts to winning the hearts and minds of the Pakistani people.

5. Govt of United States must consider setting up a commission to adjudicate the questions of true facts surrounding Dr Afia’s arrest, allegations of torture and mal treatment at Bagram airfield, and the issue of extra judicial and extra territorial confinement and imprisonment at Bagram where there are allegations that CIA paid huge monies to Pak officials for making successful arrests and Gen. Musharraf accepted that fact in his book, (in the line of fire). Dr Afia is a female, Muslim lady from Pakistan who is a highly educated (PhD from Brandeis University 2001) and has been either bought via CIA and or arrested in dubious circumstances at Pakistan and or Afghanistan; she has been strip searched, allegedly maltreated, interrogated mostly without lawyers , proper examination of a female doctor, and or consulate access at Afghanistan and has been shifted to USA without her consent. How come she was shown to be at Bagram in 2008 when people had knowledge of her whereabouts as prisoner no 650 prior to that date makes it desirable to settle the facts once for all to ease the people of Pakistan as this is the kind of material if remain uncertain acts as prima facie fodder for radicalisation which needs to be put at rest through proper enquiry. Incidents like Abu Gharib force APL to say that the allegation of such nature may not be easily refuted without an independent oversight or an enquiry”.

APL hope our representations are given due weight in the interest of public in order to promote rule of law, justice and true accountability of the forces and in order to fill the gaps between ancient civilizations who are at a crossroad to mend fences and be friends

The Presidential Correspondence Team on 6 Feb has responded as following, “Dear Friend,Thank you for your message. On behalf of President Obama, we appreciate hearing from you. The President has promised the most transparent administration in history, and we are committed to listening to and responding to you”.

Barrister Amjad Malik
    Chair APL (UK) chapter

6 Feb 2010

Shock said:

@CH

MQM’s own members are missing till this day for more than a decade. Nobody knows anything about Dr Aafia Siddiqui’s case. The biggest traitor to Pakistan are people like you. Aafia or no Aafia, you just need a reason to spread hatred.

Ch said:

@Shock

I think u mean some Bhata Collectors of MQM are missing from decade.
    Man u need to grow up, dont stand for criminals.
    as ur name id is shock u need some electric shock from ur Bhai, i mean altaf k_l_a.

Shock said:

@Ch

The terrorist Aafia got what she deserved. Since you have grown up, then why is your brain is still only two years. It was a court’s decision, and nobody is above law, whether it is Aafia or MQM.

jazoo said:

@Ch

Stay corrected its not the job of interior minister Sindh to interfere in federal matters.
    She was allegedly kidnapped by federal agents of USA and Pakistan.

aftab said:

The mystery of Dr Aafia Siddiqui

But while the Guantanamo detainees will be tried for their part in mass terrorism, Siddiqui’s case focuses on a minor controversy – whether she fired a gun at a soldier in an Afghan police station. And so the big questions may not be probed: whether the ISI or CIA abducted Siddiqui in 2003, what she did afterwards, and where her two missing children are now. In fact the framing of the charges raises a new question: if Siddiqui was such a dangerous terrorist five years ago, why is she not being charged as one now? A senior Pakistani official, speaking on condition of strict anonymity, offered a tantalising explanation.

In the world of counter-espionage, he said, someone like Siddiqui is an invaluable asset. And so, he speculated, sometime over the last five years she may have been “flipped” – turned against militant sympathisers – by Pakistani or American intelligence. “It’s a very murky world,” he said.

“Maybe the Americans have no charges against her. Maybe they don’t want to compromise their sources of information. Or maybe they don’t want to put that person out in the world again. The thing is, you’ll never really know.”

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/nov/24/aafia-siddiqui-al-qaida

I wonder why they did not charge our sister Aafia with terrorist offenses when they allegedly had so much evidence against her.

sanwal said:

Lets clear some myths… the story of Dr. Afia Siddiqui, claims, myths & realities

1) The woman was standing there, pointing the officer’s gun at his head. A translator lunged at her, but too late. She fired twice, shouting “Get the **** out of here!” and “Allahu Akbar!” Nobody was hit. As the translator wrestled with the woman, the second soldier drew his pistol and fired, hitting her in the abdomen. She went down, still kicking and shouting that she wanted “to kill Americans”. Then she passed out.

2) The September 11 2001 attacks marked a turning point in Siddiqui’s life. In May 2002 the FBI questioned her and her husband about some unusual internet purchases they had made: about $10,000 worth of night-vision goggles, body armour and 45 military-style books including The Anarchist’s Arsenal. (Khan said he bought the equipment for hunting and camping expeditions.) Their marriage started to crumble. A few months later the couple returned to Pakistan and divorced that August, two weeks before the birth of their third child, Suleman.

3) On Christmas Day 2002 Siddiqui left her three children with her mother in Pakistan and returned to the US, ostensibly to apply for academic jobs. During the 10-day trip, however, Siddiqui did something controversial: she opened a post box in the name of Majid Khan, an alleged al-Qaida operative accused of plotting to blow up petrol stations in the Baltimore area. The post box, prosecutors later said, was to facilitate his entry into the US.

4) Six months after her divorce, she married Ammar al-Baluchi, a nephew of the 9/11 mastermind, Khalid Sheikh Mohammed, at a small ceremony near Karachi. Siddiqui’s family denies the wedding took place, but it has been confirmed by Pakistani and US intelligence, al-Baluchi’s relatives and, according to FBI interview reports recently filed in court, Siddiqui herself. At any rate, it was a short-lived honeymoon.

5) Initially it was presumed that Siddiqui had been picked up by Pakistan’s Inter-Service Intelligence (ISI) spy agency at the behest of the CIA. The theory seemed to be confirmed by American media reports that Siddiqui’s name had been given up by Mohammed, the 9/11 instigator, who was captured three weeks earlier. (If so, Mohammed was probably speaking under duress – the CIA waterboarded him 183 times that month.)

6) There are several accounts of what happened next. According to the US government, Siddiqui was at large, plotting mayhem on behalf of Osama bin Laden. In May 2004 the US attorney general, John Ashcroft, listed her among the seven “most wanted” al-Qaida fugitives. “Armed and dangerous,” he said, describing the Karachi woman as a terrorist “facilitator” who was willing to use her education against America. “Al-Qaida Mom” ran the headline in the New York Post.

But Siddiqui’s family and supporters tell a different story. Instead of plotting attacks, they say, Siddiqui spent the missing five years at the dreaded Bagram detention centre, north of Kabul, where she suffered unspeakable horrors. Yvonne Ridley, the British journalist turned Muslim campaigner, insists she is the “Grey Lady of Bagram” – a ghostly female detainee who kept prisoners awake “with her haunting sobs and piercing screams”. In 2005 male prisoners were so agitated by her plight, she says, that they went on hunger strike for six days.

For campaigners such as Ridley, Siddiqui has become emblematic of dark American practices such as abduction, rendition and torture. “Aafia has iconic status in the Muslim world. People are angry with American imperialism and domination,” she told me.

But every major security agency of the US government – army, FBI, CIA – denies having held her. Last year the US ambassador to Islamabad, Anne Patterson, went even further. She stated that Siddiqui was not in US custody “at any time” prior to July 2008. Her language was unusually categoric.

7) That night I went to see Siddiqui’s ex-husband, Amjad Khan. He ushered me through a deathly quiet house into an upstairs room where we sat cross-legged on the floor. He had a soft face under the curly beard that is worn by devout Muslims. I recounted what Fowzia told me. He sighed and shook his head. “It’s all a smokescreen,” he said. “She’s trying to divert your attention.”

The truth of the matter, he said, was that Siddiqui had never been sent to Bagram. Instead she spent the five years on the run, living clandestinely with her three children, under the watchful eye of Pakistani intelligence. He told me they shifted between Quetta in Baluchistan province, Iran and the Karachi house I had visited earlier that day. It was a striking explanation. When I asked for proof, he started at the beginning.

Their parents, who arranged the marriage, thought them a perfect match. The couple had a lot in common – education, wealth and a love for conservative Islam. They were married over the phone; soon after Khan moved to America. But his new wife was a more fiery character than he wished. “She was so pumped up about jihad,” he said.

Six months into the marriage, Siddiqui demanded the newlyweds move to Bosnia. Khan refused, and grew annoyed at her devotion to activist causes. During a furious argument one night, he told me, he flung a milk bottle at his wife that split her lip.

After 9/11 Aafia insisted on returning to Pakistan, telling her husband that the US government was forcibly converting Muslim children to Christianity. Later that winter she pressed him to go on “jihad” to Afghanistan, where she had arranged for them to work in a hospital in Zabul province. Khan refused, sparking a vicious row. “She went hysterical, beating her hands on my chest, asking for divorce,” he recalled.

After Siddiqui disappeared in March 2003, Khan started to worry for his children – he had never seen his youngest son, Suleman. But he was reassured that they were still in Pakistan through three sources. He hired people to watch her house and they reported her comings and goings. His family was also briefed by ISI officials who said they were following her movements, he said. (Khan named an ISI brigadier whom I later contacted; he declined to speak).

Most strikingly, Khan claimed to have seen his ex-wife with his own eyes. In April 2003, he said, the ISI asked him to identify his ex-wife as she got off a flight from Islamabad, accompanied by her son. Two years later he spotted her again in a Karachi traffic jam. But he never went public with the information. “I wanted to protect her, for the sake of my children,” he said.

8) Khan’s version of events has enraged his ex-wife’s family. Fowzia has launched a 500m rupees (£360,000) defamation law suit, while regularly attacking him in the press as a wifebeater set on “destroying” her family. “Marrying him was Aafia’s biggest mistake,” she told me. Khan says it is a ploy to silence him in the media and take away his children.

Khan’s explanation is bolstered by the one person who claims to have met the missing neuroscientist between 2003 and 2008 – her uncle, Shams ul-Hassan Faruqi. Back in Islamabad, I went to see him.

A sprightly old geologist, Faruqi works from a cramped office filled with coloured rocks and dusty computers. Over tea and biscuits he described a strange encounter with his niece in January 2008, six months before she was captured in Afghanistan.

It started, he said, when a white car carrying a burka-clad woman pulled up outside his gate. Beckoning him to approach, he recognised her by her voice. “Uncle, I am Aafia,” he recalled her saying. But she refused to leave the car and insisted they move to the nearby Taj Mahal restaurant to talk. Amid whispers, her story tumbled out.

9) On the third day, Siddiqui vanished again.

Amid the blizzard of allegations about Siddiqui, the most crucial voice is yet to be heard – her own. The trial, due to start in January, has suffered numerous delays. The longest was due to a six-month psychiatric evaluation triggered by defence claims that Siddiqui was “going crazy” – prone to crying fits and hallucinations involving flying infants, dark angels and a dog in her cell. “She’s in total psychic pain,” said her lawyer, Dawn Cardi, claiming that she was unfit to stand trial.

But at the Texas medical centre where the tests took place, Siddiqui refused to co-operate. “I can’t hear you. I’m not listening,” she told one doctor, sitting on the floor with her fingers in her ears. Others reported that she refused to speak with Jews, that she manipulated health workers and perceived herself to “be a martyr rather than a prisoner”. Last July three of four experts determined she was malingering – faking a psychiatric illness to avoid an undesirable outcome. “She is an intelligent and at times manipulative woman who showed goal-directed and rational thinking,” reported Dr Sally Johnson.

Judge Richard Berman ruled that Siddiqui “may have some mental health issues” but was competent to stand trial.

10) In fact the framing of the charges raises a new question: if Siddiqui was such a dangerous terrorist five years ago, why is she not being charged as one now? A senior Pakistani official, speaking on condition of strict anonymity, offered a tantalising explanation.

In the world of counter-espionage, he said, someone like Siddiqui is an invaluable asset. And so, he speculated, sometime over the last five years she may have been “flipped” – turned against militant sympathisers – by Pakistani or American intelligence. “It’s a very murky world,” he said.

“Maybe the Americans have no charges against her. Maybe they don’t want to compromise their sources of information. Or maybe they don’t want to put that person out in the world again. The thing is, you’ll never really know.”

Sources:
    http://www.nydailynews.com/news/ny_crime/2010/02/03/2010-02-03_lady_al_qaeda_aafia_siddiqui_convicted_of_attempted_murder_.html
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/nov/24/aafia-siddiqui-al-qaida
    http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_27-3-2003_pg7_56
    http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/national/proof-of-dr-aafias-arrest-submitted-to-court-210
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=20404
    http://www.dawn.com/2003/04/16/top6.htm
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/us_and_americas/article4467148.ece
    http://www.nypost.com/p/news/local/manhattan/qaeda_mom_tossed_from_manhattan_JWq04BMQmrEIUCZnJfO5WJ
    http://www.webcitation.org/query?url=http%3A%2F%2Fnews.oneindia.in%2F2010%2F02%2F05%2Ftalibandemands-release-of-pak-terror-suspect-aafiathrea.html&date=2010-02-06

Jutt kharak said:

Oh my JUZBATI NATION at its best..
    Nobody actually has tried to find out the facts?
    U.S of A abducts an innocent women from our glorious land and puts her in Jail.
    A jury trial? What the heck is it?
    One Pakistani women , if she goes to Jail, how great the bad old U.S.A woulf feel?
    You know why we are a 3rd world country and they are not? because of you.. YOU

BaliMA said:

pehlay karnie dehshatgardie or jihad aur jaab pakray jana tu kehna haie haie mujhey bachaoo.
    Khiya yeh khula tizad nahie?

BaliMA said:

2 million zaiya ho giya kawaa kala nahie white haie sabit karney paie. haha.

adnanvisa said:

Great work sanwal… simply great

BABU FROM USA said:

US prejudice court system has showed its true color after 9/11 DRAMA towards Muslims.
    There were THREE MAIN THINGS were on the stake about this case.

1. SERVE THE JUSTICE NO MATTER WHAT.

2. SAVE US REPUTATION AROUND THE WORLD NO MATTER WHAT.

3. SACRIFICE A WOMAN BEFORE AN IMPERIAL BEAST NO MATTER WHAT.

Oh!!! what happen to the Human Rights Activists and the Human Rights Champions.

What happen to those American OFFICIALS who abused the Human rights under the US govt. nose and permission.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sr5hB8ovsBo

SO THE VERDICT MUST BE:

Sacrifice a woman before an imperial beast.

fmk said:

@BaliMA
    agar apko sari haqeeqat pata hai k uska asal jurm dehshat gardi aur jehad tha tou phir ap k “uncle” ne us pe ye case kyon nahi chalaya? koi aur story aur wo bhe kayee darjay lower level ki… ye tazad ki konsi qism hai?

aur jab se insaan junglon se nikl aaya hai, wo jungle k qanoon ki bajaye human rights, justice via legal system and courts pe believe kerta hai … ap bhe thori koshish karen is tarz-i-zindagi k baray main sochnay ki. shukria.

asif khan said:

no proof that she was kidnapped from pakistan. Just propoganda.

Ample proofs that she was arrested in Ghazni by US troops. Don’t know why pakis are making hue and cry for a corrupt who has been convicted.

BaliMA said:

fmk
    tum uss waqat khaan thaie jaab afia naie talaq laie kar jihad shuru kiya thaa. Us waqat us ko samjatay tu 2million dollar zaiya na hotay aur koie school ban jata.

aftab said:

PTI protest for Aafia’s release continues

US registered a fake case against Aafia in order to save its skin from possible reaction of human rights organisations and the whole world when it was revealed that Aafia was subjected to brutal torture in Bagram Jail.

Fozia Kasuri, Central President of PTI women wing while addressing the protesters said whether Aafia was guilty or not, the way she was kidnapped from Karachi was the sheer violation of basic human rights. She demanded of the government to take steps to repatriate Aafia and her trial should be carried out in Pakistan if necessary.

http://www.nation.com.pk/pakistan-news-newspaper-daily-english-online/Islamabad/07-Feb-2010/PTI-protest-for-Aafias-release-continues

kashif771 said:

i think this is no justice, they made the case themselves, proved her guilty themselves and then gave her punishement

http://questionat.com/questions/1819-dr-aafia-siddiqui-s-case-decision-is-it-justice-

kjat said:

See this link for an inspiring song for all who feels the pain and humiliation on this verdict….. its an irony, the blessings of this nation started by the capture of a girl by Raja Dahir in Sind and subsequently an islamic army led by Moh’d bin Qasim which introduced islam in this region and now another daughter of Sind was handed over to kuffar by the so called Pak Army, this might be the END for this nation if it does’nt rise up. I think this is the height of Bay-Hissi and Bay- ghairati & there is no where below to go.
    On the other front, Black-water has struck again to divert the anger from this conviction by the bombings on Izzadaran. People must start to connect dots…before its too late.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZajoYiyCrIs

or search for ” Istqamat ko teri salam afia”

jaw123 said:

great column on this issue:

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/feb2010-daily/09-02-2010/col2.htm

afridii said:

Actually shame on ur self first because she was handed over by your country…… why ru blaming their courts… Apnay gariban may toh jhankooo pehlay.

Jaisay awam hoti hay waisi he leadership hoti hay. It is admitted fact.

mujtaba-ali said:

The first blog from a frnd of mine

ایک وعدے کا قرض

دو چار دیں کی بات نہیں دو چار مہینے بھی نہیں دو چار سال بھی نہیں سات سال ہونے کو آیے کہ میرے سارے اعمال بھوجھل بھوجھل سے لگتے ہیں میرا سونا ،جاگنا کھانا پینا ہسنا رونا سب ہے بے برکت بے ثمر ہے میں ایک مسلمان پاکستانی قوم کا نام نہاد نمایندہ ایک قرض کے بوجھ تلے دبتا دبتا زمین کی تہ سے جا لگا ہوں زمین اپنا دامن کھول کر مجھ جیسے ظالم کو چھپانے کو تیار ہے نہیں ہے. کیسے نیند آے کیسے میری غذا میرے خاکی بدن میں تحلیل ہو کر صاف خون کی بوند میں تبدیل ہو جبکہ میرا دل ہی غلامی کی غلذّت سے بھرا ہوا ہے غلامی بھی وو جس پر اپنے ننگے جسم پر تپتی ریت میں پتھروں کا بوجھ اٹھاننے والا عربی غلام بھی ہستا ہے دل بھی اسس طرح چل رہا ہے جیسس طرح پٹرول سے چلنے والی موٹر میں ڈیزل ڈال دیا جائے اسس طرح جیسے ایک سیاہی سے چلنے والی قلم میں مٹتی کا تیل ڈال دیا جائے جیسے ایک مومن کو ہاتھ پاؤں بندہ کر ایک کلیسا میں مصنوئی خدا کی پوجا کروانے کے لئے قایل کیا جائے مراعات کا جھانسا دیا جائے اور ناکامی پر تشدد کیا جائے بےبسی کی انتہا کو بیان کرتے ہر لفظ کو مستعار لے کر بھی میں اپنی بے بسی کو بیان نہیں کر سکتا.میری دعا میرے ہونٹوں سے اس طرح گر جاتی ہیں جیسے مرجھاے ہوے پیڑ سے ایک سوکھا ہوا پتا گر جاتا ہے اور اسے عرش پاک کے باسی اپنے پاؤں میں روندھتے ہوے چلے جاتے ہیں
    ایک شیرخوار بچا مر جانے سے پہلے کتنا رویا ہو گا کتنی بار ماں پکارا ہو گا؟ معصوم آنکھوں سے کتنی بار فوجی بوٹوں سے لپٹا ہو گا مارنے والے کو بھی ماموں نانا سمجھ کر کتنی بار ہاتھ پھیلاے ہوں گے أننے سے صاف آنکھیں ننھے ننھے ہاتھ بہ بہ کر سوکھا ہوا ناک لئے کتنی دیر رویا ہو گا. وو اپنی زندگی کے احساس سے تو عاری تھا مگر موت تو اسکو بھی ایک زی ہوش انسان جیسی ھی آی ہو گی جب اسسے صلیبی جنگجو نے موت کے گھات اٹھارہ ہو گا تو کربلا کا میدان ایک بار پھر لال سرخ ضرور ہوا ہو گا. اور اک روح روزہ مبارک میں تڑپی ہو گی
    خداے بزرگ و برتر کے دربار میں رزق لے جانے والا فرشتہ خداے بزرگ و برتر کو پوچھتا ہے ے میرے ملک یہ رزق تو اس قوم کے لئے بھیج رہا جیسس کی نسلوں کو تو ابن مریم کی فوج سمجھتا ہے جو شام میں جا کر دجال سے ٹھاکرے گی ؟ ے میرے مولا کیا یہ انہی لوگوں کا خون ہو گا؟ جو عافیہ صدیقی کو کفّار کے حوالے کرتے ہیں جو اسکے بچوں کو وحشی درندوں کےرحم کرم پر چھوڑ دیتے ہیں جو زلزلے میں یتیم ہوے بچوں کو اپس کی لڑے میں خود کش بمبار بناتے ہیں؟ جو دجال کے رکھوالے امریکا کے تلووں کے نیچے دل کا سمکوں تلاش کرتے ہیں جو چند دہشت گردوں کے ساتھ سینکڑوں کم سن بچیوں کے پرخچے اڑا دیتے ہیں جس کو تو نے اپنی حفاظت کے لئے دنیا کے بہترین ہتھیار دیے اور سب سے کمزور حوصلہ دے رکھا ہے؟ ے میرے ملک تو مجھے اجازت دے میں یہ رزق بحرہ عرب میں پھینک ہوں تا کہ ان پر بھوک کا عذاب آے اور شاید انکی اگلی چند نسلیں جاگ جاییں
    خدا بزرگ و برتر اپنے فرشتے سے فرماتا ہے
    مجھے اپنے جلال کی قسم اگر مجھے میرے محبوب محمّد عربی کے وعدے کا پاس نہ ہوتا تو میں اس قوم کو اسی دن تباہ و برباد کر دیتا جس دن اس قوم کے نوجوانون نے سرحد پار سے ہجرت کر کے آی ہوئی تباہ حال نوجوان لڑکیوں کو بری نگاہ سے دیکھا تھا میں اس قوم کو اسی دن تباہ کر دیتا جس دیں اسکے بیٹوں نے کفّار کی عالمی عدالت میں راۓ شماری کے وعدے کے عوض کشمیر کے پہلے مجاہد کا خون بیچا تھا یا جس دن اس قوم کے علما نے ایک اندھے باپ کی جوان اولاد کو ڈالروں کی ہوس میں جہاد پر بھیجا تھا اس قوم کا سب سے برا عذاب یہ ہے کے اس پر عذاب ہے نہ آے. یہ کبھی غلامی کبھی ذلت کی زندگی جِین گے کبھی اپنے بیٹھے بیٹیوں کو چند ڈالروں کے لئے بیچیں گے یہ سارے جہاں کے قدرتی وسایل کے ہوتے ہوے غیروں کے پاؤں پڑیں گے مگر عذاب نہیں آے گا ان کو اس زندگی کی قید سے چھڑانے کے لئے، یہ پانی کی بوند بوند کو ترسیں گے یہ کھڑی فصلوں میں بیج بو کر باران رحمت کا انتظار کریں گے پر نہ بارش آے گا نہ عذاب آے گا.
    محمّد عربی نے ایک نظر خداے بزرگ و بر تر کی طرف دیکھا اور ایک نظر اپنی اُمّت کی بے یار و مدد گار بیٹی پر اور رو پڑے، گال مبارک سے پہتے ہوے آنسوں سے دل کی تحریر عیاں تھی
    “کاش میں نے خدا سے عذاب ہی کا وعدہ لیا هوتا

netengr said:

Again Excellent work by Farooq Paracha

http://blog.dawn.com/2010/02/11/from-maududi-to-aafia/#comment-53726

She’s being called the “daughter of the nation” who needs to be rescued from the fanged jaws of the Americans. Her name is Dr. Aafia Siddiqui. Pakistani TV channels and drawing-rooms are buzzing with talk of this gallant woman who was recently found guilty by an American court for attempting murder, and on whose defence the government of Pakistan has already spent a whopping two million dollars.

On February 5, when Karachi became the horrid scene of two bomb attacks that killed dozens of men, women and children, leaders of various mainstream religious parties (especially the Jamaat-i-Islami) were marching up and down the roads and streets of Lahore condemning the American court’s verdict, insisting that Aafia was innocent, and demanding she be released and returned to Pakistan immediately. Not surprisingly, the Taliban followed suit.

A few days earlier, when TV channels were airing the shameful scenes of groups of lawyers outside the Lahore High Court cursing and abusing media men and the relatives of 12-year-old Shazia, who is said to have died at the hands of a senior lawyer and his family, these religious parties were behaving as if the young maid’s torturous death meant absolutely nothing compared to Aafia’s plight in the US.

Not a single rally or a word of condemnation in this respect slipped out from any of the many defenders of Aafia’s cause. Clearly, her champions are not bothered by the plight of those women who face humiliation and rape every day and then linger in a depressing wilderness and a psychological void. How come these women too are not the daughters of this immaculate bastion of faith called Pakistan?

What’s more, never have these highly vocal keepers of Aafia’s sanctity even superficially censured the aggravating antics of monsters like the Taliban and Al Qaeda at whose murderous hands thousands of innocent Pakistanis have lost their lives. None of the many women, children, and men who were mercilessly slaughtered by these monsters, it seems, were noble, good, or innocent enough to also be celebrated as the brothers, sisters, and children of this nation by the Aafia brigade.

In an excellent piece written by Anas Abbas on the issue, the writer rightly questions the validity of the vocal frenzy exhibited by the religious parties and their skewed mouthpieces in the popular mainstream media about the ‘insults’ that Aafia has supposed to have faced in custody.

Abbas is on the ball when, after pondering the Aafia fan club’s protests, he asks, “why did we not see this in the case of two other missing Pakistani women?” In other words, why such a hue and cry for a convicted felon and not a peep about women like Zarina Marri, who also went missing? Accused of harbouring Baloch nationalists, Marri was abducted by the Pakistan Army from Balochistan in 2005 and is believed to have been kept in an army torture cell in Karachi.

For that matter, why hasn’t the Aafia brigade previously taken up the case of Dr Shazia Khalid, a medical doctor and an employee of Pakistan Petroleum Limited, who was beaten and raped by Captain Hammad at Sui Hospital in 2005. She was then drugged and moved to a psychiatric hospital in Karachi. Later, she was put under house arrest and prevented from contacting lawyers, doctors and human rights officials. After her release, she managed to leave Pakistan after facing death threats.

For every single Aafia, there is a Zarina, Shazia and, of course, a Mukhtaran Mai – victims of either violent feudal traditions, untouchable establishmentarian arrogance, and the maddening forms of social hypocrisy that have been eating up the moral fabric of Pakistani society for decades now.

In the context of the unprecedented and highly subjective media attention that Aafia is getting in Pakistan, Abbas is absolutely right in asking: “Why was Shazia Khalid’s and Zarina Marri’s families never interviewed by Pakistani TV channels? Why was Shazia Khalid’s interview to the BBC never aired by the so called “free” Pakistani electronic media? Why have we not seen mass scale demonstrations in Pakistan for the justice for these two women? Why are pictures of Shazia Khalid not the highlight of every newspaper, TV channel and Pakistani activists’ blogs as pictures of Aafia are?”

The truth is, politico-religious parties and conservative flash-in-the-pans that have sprung up within the country’s electronic media and political spectrum, stand ideologically bankrupt, operating in a vicious vacuum created by the constant failure of Political Islam and ‘militant jihad’ to impose their own versions of ‘Islamic rule’ and revolution in the Muslim world.

Cleverly ignoring the brutality of an experiment gone wrong (i.e. state-sanctioned jihad and a lopsided, undemocratic mixing of religion and politics), these parties and individuals now concentrate on utilising all kinds of modern electronic and communication media.

Mainly using the internet, they bypass conventional political routes (where they have failed), and instead operate like large cyber fringe groups. But they have enough demagogic appeal to attract the commercial and ratings-hungry attention of the mainstream populist media (especially television).

They are likely to fare badly in an open (and real) democratic and political playing field, so keeping in mind the above-mentioned scenario, their constituencies cannot be found in the physical electoral geography of Pakistan. Instead, their constituencies lie in the nation’s drawing-rooms and cyber cafes.

Thus, unlike in the past when their agenda aimed to pressurise the state and schools of the country to impose their version of Islamic law and doctrine, today, these parties and individuals are reaching out to a cyber-savvy and TV-viewing audience through websites crackling with the most conspiratorial assumptions about Pakistan, Islam and their relation to the rest of the world.

The idea behind this (both directly and otherwise) is not all that new. It smacks of Abul ala Maududi and Syed Qutb’s insistence many years ago on the need to socially prepare and indoctrinate the society so it can be readily mobilised for that final ‘Islamic revolution.’

Whereas conventional Islamist organs like Jamaat-i-Islami and Egypt’s Muslim Brotherhood initially used university and college campuses and even the electoral dynamics of democracy for the above purpose, by the early 1980s, the JI, excited by the prospect of grabbing state power (when it was invited to join the Ziaul Haq dictatorship), short-circuited Maududi’s evolutionary Islamist mantra by encouraging Zia to implement Islamic laws and doctrines that were alien to Pakistan’s Islamic polity and traditions and thus began to mutate the society’s natural religious evolution.

Islamist terrorism today is clearly symbolic of the frustration the once heroically perceived ‘mujahideen’ and jihadis began to experience when, buoyed by the Soviet Union’s defeat in Afghanistan, they failed to convert other Muslim countries towards their brand of faith and jihad.

Interestingly, this failure and its violent consequences has seen the jihad brigade’s indirect spokespersons and sympathisers in cyber space and the media go back to the Maududdist drawing-board, that of initiating the Islamic revolutionary process on a social level, specifically through the media.

But the problem is, as mentioned before, the world-view being popularised by the sympathisers has already mutated Pakistan’s social evolution. In other words, instead of Pakistan’s social and cultural polity taking a natural and modern evolutionary course towards developing a collective democratic mindset that respects ethnic, religious and sectarian diversity and understands the elements that make a country develop a progressive relationship with other nations and peoples, the Islamist worldview has only managed to make the society collapse inwards, hiding from imaginary demons in the shape of ‘anti-Islam’ and ‘anti-Pakistan’ forces which are supposedly obsessed by the idea of destroying the country and its religion.

This is the mindset and worldview from which many Pakistanis are screening Aafia’s case. However, this worldview is blind to the fate of various Pakistani women who have suffered miserably at the hands of religious bigots, feudal lords and military regimes at home. Since Aafia’s image falls well within the precepts of this worldview (hijab-wearer, anti-America, Jew-hater, etc.), she is automatically raised to the status of being a cross between a heroine (a sort of Lady Saladin), and a helpless damsel in distress.

The truth is, if one is ready to face being socially ostracised by allowing himself to closely study the Aafia case objectively and without the crippling sight of the Islamist worldview, he is likely to concur with the American courts’ decision that, yes, Aafia was not innocent; at least not as innocent as her many sympathisers would have us believe.

shawshank said:

1) Its actually true that noone is looking at the other side of the equation and doesn’t seem to hold a clean slate.

2) Pakistani Govt. has more blame than US as far as the direction of protest is concerned.

3) My only problem is her treatment. Even if she was a convict, a war criminal or a terrorist, she should still be given a trial like any other human being in due time.

shawshank said:

I mean not after 5 years of disappearance …