l Dunya Today – 4 February 2010 | Pakistan Politics
{ 23 comments... read them below or add one }

• planet372 said:

Its disgustful even to think that people like Zardari, Nawaz Shari, Altaf Hussain, Wali, Fazlur rehman……………. are our leaders. and we still defend and vote them even they are exposed badly.

• cheguevara said:

One of the best and must watch shows…… Imran had no powers in 2003 and all powerful,Benazir,Nawaz Sharif and Chaudries had no concern about Afia or other missing people.

I don’t know how long this system will suffer at the hands of these plutocrats….I salute Imran for all his courage and bravery……..A true son of this soil who never thought of political mileage but just stood what ever is right……

• zalmay said:

Any Pakistani with a bit of honour should come forward to protest (any possible way) and help on this issue, favourably, the way Imran khan recommended. Long Live Imran Khan

• mansab said:

If any PML-N leader see this convey to Nawaz Sharif “This is the best time for another long March for Dr. Afia Saddiqui”. Nawaz Sharif should do this to think “Dr. Afia” as his own Daughter.
    Pakistani Nation should stand up now and must thrashed out Non sense American Ambesseder “N. W. Peterson” from Pakistan

• haroon ali said:

i respect you imran

salut

• ConcernedAmericanPak said:

@planet372

Agree with you my friend, It is!

• twin_cities said:

Most disturbing is the fact that no one is naming the real culprit, who sold the daughter of the nation to their masters, b*ast*rd Musharraf and his baigharat Army officers. Musharraf and all the Crore Commanders, Chore Commanders who were in office in 2003 when Dr. Aafia was abducted from her house in Karachi alongwith her three innocent childrens must be hanged in public.

This case is also a real test for the credibility of Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry. He must take action and should order the arrest of all the forces behind this horrible act. This is also a test case for all the political parties, it is not the time to just do the lip service they must come on the streets.

• aylahussain said:

Dr.Moeed Pirzada has done a great job in his 4th February’s show by taking Imran Khan,Lord Nazir Ahmed and Yuan Red li on board. All three are important figures of raising Dr.Aafia’s issue at International level and making it public against America’s will and the then Pakistani Government machinery .Though all political analysts held discussion on the issue on fire but Moeed’s selection of the guests was exact by all means and Imran’s call for the mass protest against the unfair verdict of Dr.Aafia is need of the hour and civil society members should fully support this cause and give a message to opinion makers that we do care for our Pakistani sisters and brothers and all missing persons.This is moral obligation of every Pakistani to register peaceful protest against this inhuman verdict.

• altf_0011 said:

Where is Khalid Wasti (PPP’s interest promoter)? it proves that they have no interest in national interest, they only fight to keeping their seats to one day more, they don’t give a damn for the interest of our nation.

Lord Nazir confirms IK that the wealth of our leaders (politicians,bureacrates,generals and feudal lords) are on “yurgamaal” outside. Now how these people can take the free/independent decissions or decssions in our national interests?? Very alarming situation.

Will this “bikao” NGO’s or so-called liberals or Human societies of Pakistan will education/inform public abroad (as decussed obove), with the co-operation of their liberals/human/civil societies? Will the interests of our civil societies allow them to do so? Will see how our human rights and women rights experts/champions of Pakistan fight this case?

• Salam said:

women rights, human rights, justice, morality, etc all turned out to be just imperialist tools to impose control and authority over weaker nations…

• bionicwoman said:

Amazing discussion! a must watch…the only program with the most relevant commentators, Yvonne Ridley who first brought the plight of Aafia Siddiqi to notice, Imran Khan who provided her the platform, and Lord Nazir Ahmed who raised the issue in British Parliament ….all together in one discussion…Dr Pirzada you are simply amazing in selection, and timing…
    It was through the efforts of Ridley, Imran and Lord Ahmed that Americans & FBI who denied having Aafia for the last five years suddenly found her in Afghanistan… the whole circumstantial evidence helps understand that Americans suspected Aafia, ISI picks her up and hands her over to FBI and who takes her to Afghanistan for interrogation, perhaps like many others could not find anything really substantial in connection with 9/11 and Terrorism but since they have her they dump her in Bagram Airbase and forget about her.. it is here that British detainee Moazzam Baig gets to hear of her… the Gray Lady of Bagram, the Prisoner No: 650 and Yvonne finds out and alerts Imran Khan and then both alert Lord Ahmed and then suddenly Americans who had denied her whereabouts for five years suddenly discover her and book her for shooting at American soldiers…what more evidence do we need to understand the American plot to hide their crime of abducting her….and if you read the old accounts of 2003 and 2004 you will find Western sources blaming ISI or FBI of holding her…so I think this program lets us relive the whole saga….

Brilliant! ….but the culprit is Gen Musharraf and his pathetic stooge Army…and that is why we need a balance of powers in Pakistan…that is why we need a strong independent judiciary…

• *RhyMe* said:

good program….

• Rohi said:

In my opinion it is spelled as ‘ Yvonne Ridley’.

• truewriter said:

It is proved that for money Pakistani sold their mother Mushraf proved that.
    Any Pakistani can answer that is wrong.

• runaway said:

Kiayni was ISI head and responsible for all the people who were handed over to US.

No one (not even Imran Khan) has the courage to say anything about Kiyani.

• bionicwoman said:

I think from this moment onwards our struggle needs to be in at least two areas: One Dr Aafia’s best defense is unfortunately only legal…the way American prosecution has cleverly framed the charges in a narrow fashion she is only being checked against the charge of firing on US military personnel and the wider question of how she was in Afghanistan and what happened to her children has never been addressed, this can only be raised inside the US by HR activist and by Pakistani American bodies…how many Pak-Americans reading this? ….I think some groups should start a letter/email writing campaign to US congress as well…highlighting the inconsistencies in the case made by the US authorities to save their own skin…

Secondly, if anything this case proves how important it is to have a strong, assertive judiciary in Pakistan to protect civil liberties…we must always raise our voice to safeguard a free judiciary… it is only in our own broader interest…whatever happened to poor Aafia can happen to anyone in a lawless country like Pakistan….

Aafia’s saga reminds me of Jack Nicolson’s famous: One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest…

• altf_0011 said:

@Rohi

Thats all you have to say? Very inteligent!!!

@runaway

Above I put 4 catagory, all they are responsible, not only one. Do you agree?

• VOX said:

Sometimes I fear that Imran Khan stands alone.
    It is too much burden for one man to bear. A lone lion amid a nation of sheep and cackling hyenas.

Hold on Khan. Never dither and never give in. Help shall come. Your courage, your honesty and compassion….it embarrasses.

• Rohi said:

altf_0011

Bhaiya agar mainay apki aur doosray logo ki maloomat k liye aik point uthaya tou is say ap ko itni takleef kiyun hui? Mujhay maaf ker dijiye bari ghalti ho gayi. Intelligent baten tou ap ker saktay hain, mujh nacheez ka intelligence say kia wasta?

• ahmad ahsan hashmi said:

mr imran you only hope for future of pakistan .i wish people of pak awakeup and stand up with imran for better future of your genration please if some one has right for vote only imran khan give hime one chance because he is true leader God help you imran the days are not for when u will be in power and turn the country to justice and happynes

• jhonnydeppp said:

very well said Bionic woman and very logical comparison to the Jack Nicholsans movie …..
    I totally agree…

• newpakistan said:

I don`t understand that 4 people with sheikh Rasheed was killed and he just

got 2 Bullets on his feet? if it was( Qatilana Hamala ) thn why rest 4people got

shoot at chest and Sheikh Rasheed on his feets?

He is trying to make fool peoples of Rawalpindi to get votes……….Gandni

Siyasat.

• bionicwoman said:

No Sheikh did not even get bullets on his feet, he got slightly injured when he fell down, this raises this all important Question: if these assassins loaded with the state of the art weapons and who had already eliminated his guards were really interested in killing him then they could have spent another 2-3 minutes in chasing him inside his office and finishing him off? Is it not a fair question to ask? …by the way Dr Pirzada did an amazing program on this o 8th Feb but for some strange reason no internet site – including PK politics – has posted it..I wonder why?