Thousands of people attended funerals in Karachi on Saturday for those who died in bomb attacks on a bus and then a hospital where casualties were being treated, as the toll reached 33.
Mourners cried out as the bodies of 14 victims were brought to a sports field following Friday’s attacks.
“More than 10,000 people attended the funeral of the 14 deceased,” Javed Mehr, a local police official at the ground, said. “The entire area was sealed off by police and paramilitary Rangers to avoid any untoward incident.”
Funerals were also held for five members of a Christian family killed in the hospital blast, four of them women.
Karachi’s roads were mostly deserted, while shops, business centres and educational institutions were closed as the port city mourned.
Police said the bombs were planted on parked motorcycles and detonated by remote control, rather than being suicide attacks.
“According to our preliminary investigation, both the explosions were triggered by remote control,” senior police official Mazhar Mishwani said. Thirty-three people, including women and children, died as a result of the attacks and 170 others were being treated for injuries, provincial health minister Saghir Ahmad said.
How can one justifies the killings of 33 people? These were not due to the crimes of passion, armed robberies , mad person loosing his or her cool and going on to a killing spree or terries act by an enmity country. Almost all of these were execution style murders, more like an attempt of Ethnic cleansings.
The whole Pakistan known’s that these are done by three political parties, MQM, ANP and PPPP. All three parties are run by ethnic, and ethnic family Mafia’s. The easiest way to control these is to hang only three men for each 11 counts of murder, Altaf Hussin, the ethnic mafia boss, Asif Zardari, an ethnic and family mafia boos, and the ethnic and family Mafia boss, Walli Khan.
After that if the killings occur, start hanging the next level Party mafia heads, until the last murderous political party Mafia leader is alive the killings wont stop. It is obvious that when these three criminally insane, blood hounds meet, the killings stop, lets neuter these blood hounds and chop their heads off in a public area and show that on the international Medias, with the strong condemnation of state and non state actors involved in killing Pakistanis like rabbits, that there will be a price to pay.
Pakistan is the only country, where the leader slaughter sheep’s and party workers, for the same reasons, for “good luck:, and safety of their power bases and hiding their crimes. Pakistani poor majority when slaughtered , has the same value of their head as a good size sheep or goat and less than a cow, during the Eid or for the safty of the Mafia Bosses.
In a country, where the average human dead or alive has less value than a cow or a fat Goat or sheep, one can understand this type of behavior by the elitist of the country.
karachi needs full fledge operation clean up by army commandos like 1992. but this time MQM leadership should be removed.
@ nonaminapupa
Operation is a needed but this time finish the job, no ***** footing about.
These are words of Bomb Disposal Squad’s senior inspector
Munir Sheikh, talking to Geo News following the bombing at Jinnah Hospital, said the BDS is working without modern equipments, as the present bomb-detecting apparatus cannot detect the sealed bombs, adding the BDS work is underway Allah Tawwakul.
http://thenews.jang.com.pk/updates.asp?id=97938
All these political and religious parties are doing politics over the dead bodies of innocent people.
We will soon see these religious leaders after getting their due SHARE will be sitting with Rehman Malik in another press conference and saying, we are taking back our ultimatum, as everything has been sought out and gov will help us in nabbing the real culprits.
I dont believe how ppl jsut withotu any knowlege of karachi blame MQM and dotn get this point straight that we common middle class give votes to MQM and ppl shouting against them r not even from karachi… mqm is here to stay and will always stay till we common ppl give them votes are bring them into power…
I do not want to hurt anybody’s feeling but the truth is that Karachi wala’s have now always voted for MQM in the last 20 years. By rooting out Jamaat e Islami and Jamiat e Ulemai Pakistan, they have committed the biggest mistake. Now MQM is in full control of Karachi, and in the same Karachi the areas of Lyari and Malir are in full control of PPP.
Also the Sindhi’s will always always repeat always vote for Bhutto Party. So suffer now……and go on voting MQM and PPP.
Unless we are not going to give chance to Imran Khan + JI, then go on suffering. Even Asfandyar Wali has too started to play dirty game. Asfandyar Wali just like his father (Wali Khan) knows that the position of Zardari is now very weak and he is now blackmailing PPP.
I really admire and enjoy the dirty game plan of MQM, ANP and JUI as they make a real fool of Zardari. Carry on MQM ……Carry on ANP and make the most of the current situation, because in the next election this stupid, junglee and jahil awam are still going to vote for MQM, ANP and PPP. Don’t cry Pakistani’s…….Don’t cry Karachi walo, we all are responsible for this situation.
And today the our impotent and bloody khusra PM is in Karachi and the entire security is looking after him. And all of a sudden all killing has stopped and the Awam are chanting Jiye Bhutto…………so why are you crying Karachi walo ?????.
Faiz Alam
The mafia and militant under world gangs find MQM as their natural partner,for their evil activities,they need patronage which MQM provides them coz they share the same past while for retaining power on all cost in Karachi is integral part of MQM,for which they need strong support of Mafia and gangs.
This nexis of Mafia of underworld + MQM Political wing is infact biggest threat like Taliban,their terror actions and murder of innocent civilians on the basis of ethnic and religious affinities is horrible proof of MQM’s future agenda against Pakistan.
AFter the defeat of Taliban terrorists,the suited terrorists of MQM should be brought to books once for all.
@mir munsif and @Faiz Alam
@Faiz Alam
I fully agree with you that MQM and ANP is really making a fool of Zardari. What ever is going on in Karachi is in fact indirect support to Zardari so that in this mess the Supreme Court decisions can not be implemented. MQM, ANP and PPP are together playing this dirty game. At least what has been going on in Karachi especially in the last 10 days, I can say that Taliban’s are not involved. MQM and ANP wants a big slice of the cake for supporting Zardari in the Centre.
@mir munsif
=========
You are forgetting one thing that in 1972 when the Sindhi Language bill was presented by ZA Bhutto (not shaheed) it was the first time when Altaf Hussain emerged as a hero in Urdu-Sindhi riots. Then during the Gen Zia era he too explioted MQM against PPP but as always Sindhi’ s by tradition have always voted irresponibly in favour of PPP. It was earlier ZA Bhutto’s idiocity and now Zardari’s stupidity that MQM got importance and last year twice on 6th May and then on 13 Nov ‘09, Zardari met Altaf Hussain in London and apologised from him for calling MQM the dirty baby of Gen Zia. And now MQM is really making Zardari look fool because they want absolute control of Karachi. There is no outsiders involved in Karachi and at least in the last 10 days, I don’t think Taliban are involved. Today our inefficient and helpless PM and chmacha of Benazir NRO Wali has arrived in Karachi and straightaway phoned once again to Altaf Hussain in London and all of sudden the killings has stopped.
This was the precise point which Dr Shahid Masood was making in his programme last night that all of a sudden Zardari makes a call to Altaf Hussain—-apologises from him and then Altaf Hussain phones the Gov Ishrat Ibaad and all killing is stopped. Where the hell outsiders and Taliban comes into this.
It is quite clear that MQM, ANP and PPP are together playing this dirty politics and both bombs in Karachi yesterday were plotted by ANP, PPP and MQM………and Mir Munsif you sound like a big Zardari lover to me.
i think the extremist forces are behind this attack…………
http://www.questionat.com/questions/1823-who-is-behind-the-bomb-blasts-in-karachi-
@wassemjafree
Whats wrong with Sindhi Language bill,its not the language of province as ever??Sindhis welcomed millions of immigrant brothers with open arms,but it doesnt mean that mohanjirs take wrong advantage of it..certain segment of immigrants (Mohajirs) come with facist mind to downplay Sindhi traditions,langauges and their land.They behave as if Sindh is conquered terroritory of theirs and they can spread mass terror against Sindhis,Balochs,Pakhtoons in Karachi,which is unacceptable to any Pakistani.The reign of terror by MQM is very obvious thing..MQM always backfired against democratic govts either its PMLN or PPP.
I agree you that current PPP govt would also not get any leverage from them by giving them soft corner.They were and are a mafia ganesters whose survival is in the breading of mafia wings and keep hold on karachi on all cost.
two nation ideology has failed. no country can go ahead on religious base
as we have examples of Pakistan and Israel.
i m pakistani so i want pakistan more stable. and its only possible when all provinces get fully independence with their own culture,language,behave,and resources. like.UAE,USA and so on.
MQM ke Qatiloon ko vote do aur bhughto….
@mir munsif
There is nothing wrong with Sindhi language which is a centuries old language but the purpose of ZA Bhutto in 1972 in presenting Sindhi-Urdu Bill was to create divisions in Karachi because at that time Karahchi was under influence of Jamaat e Islami and JI had 3 seats. You must also remember that in 1972 Baluchistan Assembly and NWFP Assembly passed the resolution that Urdu will be their Official language. Ever since there has been no peace in Karachi and evevtually Gen Zia did the right thing by hanging Bhutto. Beside many killings which were ordered by Bhutto, He was also responsible for the separation of East Pakistan.
Coming back to current situation it is absolutely clear that Zardari is very upset that MQM has backed out on the issue of NRO, and MQM being aware that Zardari is in a very weak position, they are playing their cards very cleverly. And the sad aspect is that ANP too has joined in this dirty game.
But if you ask me to score out of 10 then I would give 8/10 to MQM and ANP but I would give 9/10 to Zardari, because what ever MQM does it gives more time to Zardari to stay in power. But the biggest asset of Zardari is the Sindhi voter who always very stupidly vote for Bhutto Party. Sindhi’s will go on voting for Bhutto Party for the next 100 years. This leaves people of Karachi with no choice but to vote for MQM. Unless people of Karachi go back to Jamat e Islami and Jamiat e Ulema Pakistna (JUP) as in 1972 and 1977 elections, otherwisw both MQM and PPP will keep playing dirty politics in Karachi. But for the time being I think Zardari has upper hand in situation in Karachi. And if anyone has got doubt in his mind just listen to applause and Jiye Bhutto slogans where ever Yusuf Raza Gilani or Zardari goes in Karachi. Liyari seat and Malir seats are solid for PPP. And I still think that Talibans are (at least) in Karachi not involved in bombings in Karachi. Only MQM, ANP and PPP plant bombs in Karachi.
Fe hours after incident JI released statement that blackwater is behind this. How do they know so quickly? Maybe they are behind this as killing of shias is very much their skill.
MQM, as evil as it is would not kill its own shias.
@Wahid
same way rehman malik knows taliban are behind every terrorist activity
if altaf C**** loves his country so much why he cannt he come back and lay his life for this country
This is one of the NON-human acts , creating non-state actors
Ashura revisits Karachi, another catastrophic incident that paints a bleak picture of sectarian harmony. What is more alarming is the emergence of such groups under the umbrella of Al-Qaida. The goals are over-lapping as the sectarian attacks leads to further chaos which remains to be the prime goal of the militants. Rather than chanting the mantra of harmony we need to promote sect oral interaction at a massive level so that we emerge as United Force against violence and extremism.
@Zahid
Why do you want Altaf Hussain back here when Zardari and Altaf Hussain is the same thing. I suggest you please read the comment by Waseem Jafree/posted-6.41pm and 11.58pm which gives good analysis of Altaf Hussain and Zardari relationship.
Just to add that I saw on the news today (Monday) that when our stupid PM was meeting the sister and brave mother of Dr Afia Siddique, you will see that next to PM, Gov Ishrat Ibaad and Farooq Sattar are sitting next to him.
Now you see all killings has stopped, so where all those Talibaans and Islamic extremists have now disappear. Tomorrow again they will start fighting over the control of Karachi and both MQM, ANP and PPP will start blaming Talibaan.
Zardari is now very relaxed and so can Altaf Hussain relax in London, because I fully agree with some comments above that this stupid nation only wants Bhutto Family.
So long as MQM and ANP keeps getting big slice of the the cake, then both Altaf Hussain and Zardari are not worried about Imran Khan. And my message to Karachi walo….. keep voting MQM and go on suffering and my message to Sindhi voters, keep voting PPP and make the whole Pakistan suffer.
@zahid. Its not all about laying lives. More or less it is about saving lives at this time. I think our setback is that we criticize a lot on known figures and in this course we forget what our responsibilities are as citizens. We owe a lot to this country as well!
@malikzafar, So should we vote for the taliban lover Imran Khan or Qazi Hussain Ahmad, Or the hypocrities Sharif, or Chaudhry bradran?.
Bhai away ka awa bigra hoa hai, aapko MQM hi kyoun buri lagti hai? Mujhay tou aapki batoun say ethnicity ki bharpoor khushbo aa rahi hai
Good Lord, we were zapped again. Thank you Rabia Zia. You are simply marvellous.