Chief of Awami Muslim League Sheikh Rashid sustained bullet injuries in an armed attack on his election office here on Monday, Sheikh Rashid’s personal assistant told Geo News.
Javed Qureshi, the personal assistant of Sheikh Rashid was talking to Geo News from 1122 ambulance in which Sheikh Rashid was being shifted to a hospital. He said Sheikh Rashid was hit on one of his feet.
Sheikh Rashid was coming out of his office when he was attacked by unknown assailants carrying Kalashnikov(s), he said. However, the attack killed at least four guards of AML Chief.
ooh wow now he is going to win. hurray
PML – N is going to take tha flak for this.
The dirty politics has been started in NA 55 to trap PML(N) as per joint coalition movement inbetween AML, PPP and PML(Q). Lets see how PML(N) react on this critical situation. Its really sad to have these kind of incidents in Pakistani politics, ultimately this is to target Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif, Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif and Hanif Abbassi by Governor Punjab Salman Taseer through his un-seen paid operatives.
seems as PPP backed conspiracy. Though i pray for Shaikh’s safety , but wouldn’t like him winning
do you guys think sheikh did it himself, after all its just his foot, i could be its little finger? not a big price to embarrass pmln; it could be ppp!
but it will be good to see sheikh win it will provide a great tv for couple of days.
we all know nothing will change whoever wins so its irrelevant but its always good to see underdog going after big dogs.
ad sad news for Pakistan as whole. I am not a bog fan of him but this is not good for Pakistan overall.
First of all my sympathies for the families who have lost their loved ones.
This matter should be thoroughly investigated and let’s not blame Talibaans or Islamic Extremists straightaway. Don’t allow Rehman Malik or Qaira to blame Talibaans.
As we saw in the news today that when the PM was meeting ths sister and the brave mother of Dr Afia Siddique in Karachi, next to PM was sitting Gov Ishrat Ibaad and Farooq Sattar. And we have noticed that all killings in Karachi have suddenly stopped. Where those Talibaans and Extremists have now disappeared.
We also know that Sh Rasheed is a very slippery and a dodgy character and he can fabricate any plan to win the election. Zardari Party was clearly backing Sh Rasheed and PTI candidate was going very strong. PTI candidate was going to win the election.
And Pindi waalo listen and I said listen NO SYMPATHY VOTE THIS TIME FOR Sh Rasheed, we are already suffering by giving Benazir Sympathy vote to PPP.
This shooting is conspiracy by Zardari to gain support for Sh Rasheed because this Guy could be bought very easily.
LISTEN PINDI WAALO…….NO SYMPATHY VOTE FOR SH RASHEED.
I am sure, PPP is behind this incident. PPP is not contesting this seat and also it has grudge for Sheikh Rasheed and PML(N) both, so it has tried to sabotage the election and also increase the hatred for PML(N) in this constituency.
Now the victory of shiekh Rasheed is sure..
waat lag jay gi ganjoooooooon ki
Some channels are claiming for two casualities only and there is minor injury at SR knee.
My first reaction is also that only deserving candidate should get the vote and I support the view above that……..NO SYMPATHY VOTE FOR SHEIKH RASHEED……as somebody has just commented above that we are already suffering by giving sympathy vote of Benazir to PPP, so let’s not be fooled by this act………NO SYMPATHY VOTE FOR SHEIKH RASHEED.
Sorry to say that some of us saying hurray or happy over sheikh expected win but no one think about those 4 people killed or those injure. What a society we got where now killing is just became amusement or just something to forget. Anyhow whoever win nothing will change after this incident Sheikh position might be better so we should also think on this point that why he was just shoot at his feet or legs>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Heart felt sympathies for the people who lost their lives. Kufr key raat ghari hoti ja rai ha. Wishing for a quick recovery for Sheikh Rasheed and the other injured.
I want Sheikh Rasheed to win because he is the only genuine politician left, all the others are comedians.
4 innocent people killed and SK had minor injuries only …Hummmmmmmmmmm. Dirty politics, these politician can do anything to be in power.
@mango
only a mango and banana type like you sound like a comedian to me.
And now listen to me you mango woman…….NO SYMPATHY VOTE SHEIKH RASHEED.
Faiz Alam
Shiekh Rasheed shot (himself) in foot !!!!
Desperate times indeed call for desperate measures …….
We condemn such cowardly act and pray for his speedy recovery and condole with familys of sahids who died in this event and hope the culprits will be brought to justice and hope punjab government will act and provide the security for all the candidates.
It is Mafia league only.
@Adoni
You know them very well.
They were trying to postopone this election since one year.
They have spent billions to show them popular.See so called serveys and result of NA 121.
If they loose this seat, It could finsh their politex.
They could not do anything so now they want to finish one. PTI is also not acceptable to them.
They have been using them but now bothPTI and JI are away from them.
Other condidates are also in danger.
I was using an idiom, actually.
But it was a very strange “attempt on life” in which five people were firing bullets and the main target escaped unhurt. His “injury” occured when he twisted his ankle while climbing the stairs.
My dear friends, before you get mad at me and start calling me an American who is writing from the silicon valley’s affluent and safe residential area and criticizing the people of Pakistan. I must with due respect say that my opinion on this barbaric behavior is objective and with a heavy hart.
I just wrote about the violence in Karachi, and an quick assay on the Gang mentality of the Pakistani voters and the political parties. I made an observation about the turf war and Gang mentality of Pakistani Ethnic political Mafia‘s , ethnic based family political Mafia’s, which today is coming true like third rate movie; one can predict the ending in the first few minutes.
The whole Pakistan known’s that in Karachi it’s done by under the protection of three distinct political Mafia Groups, MQM, ANP and PPPP. My suggestion was and still is to prosecute the Mafia Boss for the crimes of the gang members. All three parties are run by ethnic, and ethnic family Mafia’s. The easiest way to control these is to take these leaders to the court and try them for mass murders and punish the three men for each 11 counts of murder, Altaf Hussin, the ethnic mafia boss, Asif Zardari, an ethnic and family mafia boos, and the ethnic and family Mafia boss, Walli Khan.
In Rawalpindi the situation is more confusing and challenging, because the 2nd largest family run political Mafia’s boss also have grave consequences to pay if one day Sheikh Rashid sleeping consonance get jolted by the “lightning of truth” after seeing his death from so close and will spill the beans of Corruption, money laundering and political assassinations and other crimes against the people of Pakistan, he has the evidence of or was partner in the crimes with the Noon Mafia.
On the other hand, PPPP’s criminally insane “, ***Kleptocracy” run by a group of international criminals can sacrifice few “human Black Sheep”(any one against Don Zardari, is a black sheep for the PPPP grave worshippers) to create any situation which can take the attention away from NRO and give their spiritual leader the Commander -n-a Thief of Pakistan, Asif Ali Madari, few more weeks or months of distraction, before the next human sacrifice.
Pakistan is the only country, where the leaders slaughter sheep’s and party workers, for the same reasons, for “good luck, and safety of their power bases, keeping the political situation “fluid” for their Mafia and buy more time for hiding their crimes. Pakistani poor majority when slaughtered , has the same value of their head as a good size sheep or goat and less than a cow. In a country, where the average human dead or alive has less value than a cow or a fat Goat or sheep, one can understand this type of behavior by the elitist of the country.
Sheikh Rashid is just as capable and able to do human sacrifice for the power grab and for the sympathy vote. The other outside players, such as American, Indian, Afghan and Nato agencies can also befit from this situation of throwing a “bouncer” in the middle of possible loose of their lap dog, Asif Ali Madari and his protégé in international crimes, Bilawal Bhutto. They do not want to lose two assets, which can keep the Pakistani establishment by the balls for at least two generations.
Pakistan has become a political hell and the worse example of the democracy in the world. If you want to see how democracy can go wrong, just look at Pakistan, a democracy of the Mafia’s in the criminal style, with target killings, human burnings, kidnappings, human smuggling, money laundering, foreign espionage by the ruling elites and the Mafia heads, political murders, murders for power projection, murders for ethnic “pride”, murders for the sake of murders, murders as a political process of putting fear or gaining sympathies, murders for colleting bounties from the “Master Race Masters“, Murders for the Saudi religious mafia of wahabies or the so-called “Salafies”and the royal counter parts, murders to please the Iranian fanatics, murder on the behalf of any nation who is willing to pay for the Pakistani “human” rabbits, ducks, sheep, stray dogs or simply human targets to kill for cheep. murder of the collective sprit of the people of Pakistan.
I am concerned about the youth of Pakistan, how traumatic it is for them to deal with humans being shot, burnet to death, blown is bits and pieces, maimed, disabled, orphaned, widowed, fatherless, mother less, losing the heads of the house holds of the poor of the poorest, loosing loved once, family members, sons, daughters, brothers, sisters, aunties, uncles, husbands, wives, friends, and the community members almost every day and there is no one willing to take respectability, no one cares because they are the commodities not humans, sacrificial lambs, animals, slaves or for the rich ruling Mafia heads and elites, no more than disposable human trash.
***Kleptocracy, alternatively cleptocracy or kleptarchy, from Greek kleptes (thieve) and kratos (rule), is a term applied to a government that takes advantage of governmental corruption to extend the personal wealth and political power of government officials and the ruling class (collectively, kleptocrats), via the embezzlement of state funds at the expense of the wider population, sometimes without even the pretense of honest service. The term means “rule by thieves”. Not an “official” form of government (such as democracy, republic, monarchy, theocracy) the term is a pejorative for governments perceived to have a particularly severe and systemic problem with the selfish misappropriation of public funds by those in power.
People of Pakistan .. please vote for Sh Rasheed… Now Sh Rasheed party is also shaheedoon ki party …
Yes, no sympathy for Sheikh Rasheed. He was involved in Lal Masjid killings. Few days back in a tv show he was regretting for his support for mushrraf, and it clearly looked, he is telling lie. He also told lie that he has asked apology from ulema of RWP for Lal Masjid Massacre..
But Ulema rejected his cliam…
http://daily.urdupoint.com/Live-News.php?news_id=120484&featured=1&cat_id=2
He is such a crap, i hate this B**tard..
The firing scene is really suspicious.. Four othee innocent died, and the crap SR didnt even hurt.. but his PA portraited as he also got critical shots…What a shamless plot he has made..
A poem dedicated for thousands of loving souls who have lost their love in the continual and non stop murderous environment of a country run by the lawless criminals….
By St.James
Can’t Count the Tears
I’ve been awake for days- I can’t sleep
The thought of losing you; Cuts me deep
My heart is crying out for you
Will I have- to come home to?
I need you here.
Right now I’m living in my darkest fear,
My head hurts- I can’t stop the ringing in my ear.
It’s feels like I’m crying blood instead of tears,
What the hell is happening to me- after all these years?
Can’t count the tears; There’s too many.
I need to feel love. Do you still have any?
I’m dead inside- I don’t wanna breathe.
I can’t stop you; If you want to leave.
All I feel is the pain,
Somehow it brings comfort to my brain.
I don’t want to go on without you,
I don’t know what to do.
There’s a hole in my heart- A sharp pain in my head.
Something is missing inside; I feel like I’m dead.
Kiss away my hurt, remove my fear,
I don’t know why I need you here.
Here comes that same old familiar pain, again.
I’m too dead to live, too alive to die,
All I ever seem to ask is “why?”; God, why?
My whole life seems like it’s crashing down,
How can someone live with their heart torn out?
Please! Someone out there come save me.
Have I finally- Gone crazy?
Here I am broken, fragile- but still a man.
I’ve fought for life for so long; I’m dead right where I stand.
God, please don’t leave me like this!
I need you to be here; someone answer my wish.
Take away the fears- I have inside,
Can’t count the tears- God knows that I have tried.
I’m wounded- I can’t walk
I can’t call out to you; We don’t talk,
I’ve beg you not to leave,
When I’m gone don’t grieve.
I can’t sleep- I wish I could die.
I can’t live in this emotional suicide.
It’s hard to fight for what I can’t see,
I need to learn to just believe.
I’m empty and it’s something I can no longer hide,
Can’t count the tears- That have yet to be cried.
Sheikoo is such a dirty man that for winning he will do anything. For him it is like MJ “This Is It”. But what is amazing that those attackers managed to kill 4 or 2 innocent persons but when it comes to killing the right person they only managed to shoot him on his foot. Now that is something…I hope people dont fall for this trap.
This incident is not a good omen for PTI …………..
Now there are little chance left that this gullible public would vote for PTI candidate.
It turned out to be a good plot for making Shekh win election.
If benazir’s murder did not make people vote for PPP in rawalpindi, this farce of an “assassination attempt” will not make people vote for Sheikh Rasheed.
But PTI would do well if Jazi Khan manages to keep his security deposit.
My respect and condolences to the martyrs, yet another nail in the coffin of so called Democracy, in any conflict the foot soldiers pay the ultimate price, the leaders and Generals only give cosmetic statements. Western style democracy in Pakistan will not work where educational social and economic equality is nonexistent.
Pakistan is ready for revolution, unfortunately without the theory of revolution, there cannot be a revolutionary movement, and without a revolution Pakistan will stay under the same system, unfortunately there is no revolutionary theory on the horizon in Pakistan.
the man who killed his wife can think about it. AZ can do anything to cause issues to divert away the things against him…
makes me laugh when ppl even think of PTI victory… imran is honest n comitted… but a lil immature and totally unaware of pakistani politcs.. only talks abt foreign examples … that was then this is now. he shud talk abt current things n how can they be solved rather than talking abt how western govt are run..
NO SYMPATHY VOTE,
NO VOTE FOR THOSE WHO HAVE ALREADY BEEN TESTED 6 TIMES
NO MORE STUPIDNESS PLEASE,
THIS IS PPP+SHEIKH RASHEED PLANS TO WIN BUT IF PEOPLE USE THEIR COMMONSENSE THEY SHOULD NOT VOTE HIM .
Inshallah Sheikh Rasheed will lose the elections
no matter how many times he do these type of tactis but people please wake up and dont be fooled again and again and again
i think he did it himself or may be some agencies backed by PPP involved. The nature of his injury make more suspicious.
Dont vote for the guy, but seriously he just got shot and 4 of his party men were murdered. Calm down and think about it for a second.
Sheikh Rashid thinks Malik Shakeel Awan is behind this.
Salam,
Most probably India is involved.
Bay Ghairat logo Kala Bagh Dam banta hay tu apas main lartay ho, Halanka is main tumhari balahi hai, Hindu Dam banata hai tu is say dartay ho, Koi India is kuin nahi larat ja kay…
Sheikh Rasheed is a biggest madari, he might have done himself this shameful killing. Just to win he killed innocent peoples, shame on u, if u did.
Who will do???? I am 100% he did himself, poor peoples blood is very cheap for these corroupt animals. just for election four families will suffer for ever.
Why innocent peoples join these animals, these beasts, I am he wouldnt win now. ALLAH KI LATHI BEAWAZ HAI.
this bloody “sympathy vote” will kill us
Four killed but he survived strange?
very sorry for those 4 innocent pindites who lost there life…..but i ve few questions:
1. why the shooters couldn’t aim a single bullet on their main target who must be ahead of everyone.
2. Why his camp initially kept claiming bullet injury where as there was no injury to Sheikh Rashid at all??
3. For whom is this one seat matter of political survival and life and death?
4. Which party could have the worst effects of any such incident??
Honestly answer these questions and think about his past …… if he could have a laugh at the death of hunderds of innocent girls of Jamia Hafza just to please his master Musharaf…. he can easily sacrifice his 4 workers for a desperate efforts to save his political career……
But i m afraid its already over for him
Hahaha sheeda tully, sorry it only made me laugh when I read he was attacked !!
not PMLN not PTI but could be any third party who did that just to put fuel on fire at this moment…
I am from Pindi and currently in Dubai……….if Sheikh wins in NA 55 I will never ever return to Pindi………
I promise………
Who is behind the assassination attack on Sheikh Rasheed , off course the suspicion goes to PML/Nawaz group as they would have been the beneficiary if Shaikh Rasheed had died. Every one is aware of the fight going on in Rawalpindi between Sheikh Rasheed and PML/N.
To prove it otherwise PML/N must find the killers, it should not be that hard for them as they are the ruling party in Punjab and they have enormous resources.
@Waqar ur Rehman
don’t worry pindi is politically most aware city in our country…. Sheikh is a history now and will be third after Awan and Jaazi and who knows Dr Danish may also beat him…. you can proudly go back to ur city
what a brave man
ran away from the scene
what an actor
admitted in the hospital for ankle sprain and pretending as got bullet injury
and what a baghairat
still blaming PML-N
now he would have come to know that there were terror threats and there were no need to go to courts for elections
and he also would have come to know that what fear and pain girls might have faced in jama-e-hafsa due to these bullets
1st of all we all condemn this cheap and shameful attack upon SHAIKH RASHEED..and 2nd according to me it’s a publicity stunt not more than that shaikh sahib.we all know that you can not win this election and people of rawalpindi wont let u to come again because you deceived them everytime and using these sort of we all are well aware of you ….. as u know it very well that PML(N) is not that kind of party which would like 2 remove there opponents by this cheap action.PML N is one of the largest democratic parties of this country and we all are with u @ this stage but if u try to use this incident for your political graph which is no more getting increase,then, people of rawalpindi will not accept it…if PML N wanted to kill u or wanted to attack u,then it was very easy in 2008 but they did not do this because PML N knows believes in votes of people not in these sort of cheap and shameful acts… in conclusion,we r wid u and urge u not 2 play a blame game and also will not lie to our nation..
thnx n regards
javed abbasi
RAWALPINDI
I fully agree with @Zee
I feel sorry on the death of innocent 4 people from Rawalpindi. The innocent students of Jamia Hafsa were also human which were burnt live by Zaleel Shaikh boss Mush. Why he kept quite at that time? just for the sack of ministery, shame on him and all his supporters. What is this non sense that PML (N) is behind todayy’s killing. Why they would kill a loser candidate who even lost his deposit money in the last election.
Punjabi stage play
interesting..
4 people die in Punjab and the ‘pundits’ claim the conspiracy to frame PML-N and Punjab govt.
Its clear sheik gets some more sympathetic vote and probably he going to win. “Badshah Gur” trying to give lessons to N. Sharif through bye elections results, and in my view it’s good. Shareef’s were flying high and thinking we are definite for next term. Now at least they think again and may be give attention to people problems
may be behind PPP or Shahikh want sympathey , any body behind this dirty politicits but
this type politicits can not favor for DEMOCRACY.
yahan pe raaye dene walon ki aksariat ko parh ke mujhe ye yaqeen ho gaya hai ke pakistan ka mustaqbil kuch khas roshan nahi hai kyunk jis mulak ki aap jaisi parhi likh aur honhar qaum ho aur nojawan nasal ho uss mulak ka yehi haal hota hai, aur hona chahiye.
pmln ho ya ppp ho mqm ya plmq jitni bhi bari parties hain sab ki sab rishwat khor aur chor hain. aur aap laug yahan aa ke jab apas main larte ho aur jab in parties ki tareefain karte ho tu mujhe ye soch ke khushi hoti hai ke pora pakistan jis haal main hai bahot acha hai kyun ke jaisi rooh hoti hai waisa hi farishta aata hai aur jaisi awam hoti hai waise hi hukamran milte hain.
Why PML-N is so scared of Sh. Rasheed?
Big question is who will benefit most by this cowardly act?
Such a sad incident.PMLN always tried to block polling and stop such democratic process.PMLN seems very worried about their failure symptoms in so called popularity graph.They lost seat in their stronghold Mansahra earlier and now count down is on in Rawalpindi.SR demanded police protection but CM Punjab refused such things.WHat a shame politics by PMLN.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Q7VQiS_P90
“What goes around comes around ” That idiot Sheikh Rasheed, If he ‘d have resigned during Lal Masjid problems, he ‘d have been the biggest leader, rightnow. But it’s not only him, the way it looks, Ijaz-ul-Haq, Shahjat Hussain and of course the king Mushraaf; all these dummies and whoever was infront will suffer the wrath of God and will going to live in fear for the rest of their lives.
The Terror-Industrial Complex
By Chris Hedges
February 08, 2010 “TruthDig” — The conviction of the Pakistani neuroscientist Aafia Siddiqui in New York last week of trying to kill American military officers and FBI agents illustrates that the greatest danger to our security does not come from al-Qaida but the thousands of shadowy mercenaries, kidnappers, killers and torturers our government employs around the globe.
The bizarre story surrounding Siddiqui, 37, who received an undergraduate degree from MIT and a doctorate in neuroscience from Brandeis University, often defies belief. Siddiqui, who could spend 50 years in prison on seven charges when she is sentenced in May, was by her own account abducted in 2003 from her hometown of Karachi, Pakistan, with her three children—two of whom remain missing—and spirited to a secret U.S. prison where she was allegedly tortured and mistreated for five years. The American government has no comment, either about the alleged clandestine detention or the missing children.
Siddiqui was discovered in 2008 disoriented and apparently aggressive and hostile, in Ghazni, Afghanistan, with her oldest son. She allegedly was carrying plans to make explosives, lists of New York landmarks and notes referring to “mass-casualty attacks.” But despite these claims the government prosecutors chose not to charge her with terrorism or links to al-Qaida—the reason for her original appearance on the FBI’s most-wanted list six years ago. Her supporters suggest that the papers she allegedly had in her possession when she was found in Afghanistan, rather than detail coherent plans for terrorist attacks, expose her severe mental deterioration, perhaps the result of years of imprisonment and abuse. This argument was bolstered by some of the pages of the documents shown briefly to the court, including a crude sketch of a gun that was described as a “match gun” that operates by lighting a match.
“Justice was not served,” Tina Foster, executive director of the International Justice Network and the spokesperson for Aafia Siddiqui’s family, told me. “The U.S. government made a decision to label this woman a terrorist, but instead of putting her on trial for the alleged terrorist activity she was put on trial for something else. They tried to convict her of that something else, not with evidence, but because she was a terrorist. She was selectively prosecuted for something that would allow them to only tell their side of the story.”
The government built its entire case instead around disputed events in the 300-square-foot room of the Ghazni police station. It insisted that on July 18, 2008, the diminutive Siddiqui, who had been arrested by local Afghan police the day before, seized an M4 assault rifle that was left unattended and fired at American military and FBI agents. None of the Americans were injured. Siddiqui, however, was gravely wounded, shot twice in the stomach.
http://www.truthdig.com/report/item/the_terror-industrial_complex_20100208/
Typical govt response is going to be “Hum nay to jamhooriyat kay liey itni qurbanian diey hain. Bibi shaheed hoein, bhutto shaheed hoey, hum nay jailein katien etc”
This is a response that they use everywhere. This is what is called sawal gandum jawab channa. Be it corruption in govt, bomb killings, mehngai etc. What I don’t understand is that lets say its true PPP did give qurbanian, does that qurbanian give them a license to do whatever now.
Both PPP and PML(N) making people fool. PPP says that they will support PML(N) candidate on NA55 because of COD, but on NA21 Mansehra, the filed their candidate against PML(N), who got 28000 votes.
Did Dr Aafia order the hit?
very filmi story and cheep publicity gain…..
kis ko itni fursat thee k sheikh rasheed jasi ger zarori cheez par qatilana hamla karey?
ye sirf eik 3rd class drama hay ..self created
producer and director mr sheikh rasheed..sponsored by ppp
both r trying to damaging PML-N ..
see what statements r coming?
Meri maqboliat aur apni haar dekh kar muj par ye hamla karaya gaya hay..shiekh rasheed
sobay me amn o aman naam ki koi cheez nahi..salman taseer (aap k hotey hoye ho bhi nahi sakti)
this was just an effort to get publicity, and try to prove his importance
PML-N inti bewaqoof nahi k is waqt itni bhundi sazish karey… aur apne aap ko khud bad naam karey…
its just a drama …
i have sympathy those innocent ppl (guards) who have laid thier lives in this publicity game… very unfortunate.. but its politics… Muhabat aur jang me sab kuch jaeez hay..our politicians always gain publicity and vote over the bodies of innocent ppl.
drama,
drama,
drama,
Sheikha baigharat is fully supported by agencies, since Nawaz has plainly refused to be a party in toppling Zardari by any act of unconstitutional means in his meeting with the head of army intelligence in Lahore, agencies first acted in favour of Fazlu in Mansehra, now they r hell bound to give Nawaz another lesson. But this is not Mansehra, here the difference is very big and Sheikha gonna loose by a huge margin. All the Topi Drama will fail here.
After the statement of Rana Sanaullah, I have the feeling that it is done at state level. Aik Teer Main Do Shikar. To assasinate S.S and delay bye elections. I know these PML-N guys , they are even dangerous than PPP. PPP being a political party is tolerantas campared to N-Leage, you guys heard stories of torturing/killng journalists and victimization of political opponetns during the era of N.S. Any how it is still presumption. I think their plot is backfired being unsuccessful and they are now on the defensive. Lets wait for the outcome and it is impossible police do not recognize the culprits. And remember guys it is not a suicidal bombing or planted explosive. It is target killing and the guys involved were there for quite some time and police station is few yards away from the scfene.
Surely, there will be sympathy vote but it is also possible some PML-N voters now inclined towards us. Lets hope this may not hurt our campaign and sympathy vote may not make a big difference. This is my personal views and I may be 100% wrong.
I also want to add, Sh. Rasheed is a cunning but a coward person and surely he will not dare to take such risk on his life.
Some of the ppl are dreaming that Sheeda will win this election due to the sympathy votes after recent attack. Don’t forget that Benazir was assassinated in the same city Rawalpindi, and not a single candidate from ppp could win any seat from rawalpindi city in 2008 election. People of Pindi are not idiot and could not be fooled by such acts. I have no doubt that the elements of Laal Masjid incident are fully involved in it as during that time Shaikh was the spokesman of the killer dictator Mush so those elements will try their best to hit on all responsible in the brutal killings of Laal Masjid students.
@wasimibr
Lal Masjid affectees want to kill him, he will not escape. Who were the motorbikers with heavy guns and absconded from the scene, where was the police (a few yards away)? There is something wrong. I am sure police very well know the culprits.
why does life of any common person killedin terrorist attach has any less value thn that of shiekh rashid .
seems to me life of comman man is that of dog’s that nobody cares about.
please TTP explode urself next of every politcian
why dont these political dogs cry that much when drones kill innocent people
i will i could slaughter these pigs
Sheikh sahib just got few very light injuries. May be his clothes were dirty.
WHY MOST OF THE TIME THE POOR GUNMAN, POOR DRIVER OR ANY OTHER POOR PERSON GETS KILLED WHILE THESE CORRUPT POLITICIANS ARE MOST OF THE TIME SAVED.
Think people think.
I can only laugh at the people who think that Sheikh Rasheed will get any sympathy votes for this. Obviously they take people of rawalpindi as fools.
The only contest seems to be in the media. On ground, this election is a virtual walk over for PMLN.
Dirty politics and behaviour of our people is painful. Whenever there is any incident people come out and start robbing banks, breaking glasses, hospitals, burns public transport without thinking. We are very emotional nation. I know how this nation gave sympathy votes to PP after BB.
Actually it is a misconception that this nation gave any sympathy votes to PPP in 2008. In fact there was no significant increase in votes given to PPP in 2008 as compared to 2002.
The most interesting comment is from @wbuttar who started daydreaming the moment he heard about SR being shot at. The best part is that PMLN voters will now switch to vote for a big time gangster jazzi khan after ditching the little gangster shakil awan to vent their anger against a shooting incident of a mid-level gangster SR.
@bechari-awam
What is the definition of Gangster. What is the status of your leader Asif Zardari?.
Daily hundreds of inocent poor Pakistanis are murdered.No one cares about them.So why such a corrupt politician who is slightly injured is being given so much importance?All the corrupt politicians like Sharifs,Zardaries & Choudaries are human curses.We should not be bothered about them.They are far less humans than ordinary, hardworking & honest Pakistani.
@drcardio1980
Agreed.
Appears to me a plot of Zardari-Taseer-Rehman troika to get Sheikh Rashid some sympathy votes in the upcoming elections but I swear he would still lose hands down. People of Rawalpindi and Islamabad have not forgotten the massacre in Lal Masjid and the prime culprits; Sheikh Rashid being a partner in the same crime with the evil dictator.
SRK is such a hypocrite and oppurtunist that now when the evil commando has been thrown into the dustbin of history, he suddenly regrets being a part of his evil dictatorship.
Where was his conscious when the crimes were being committed by the evil commando?
Why he kept silent? Were those killed inside Lal Masjid were not human?
Now he’s even begging the chief thief Zardari to support him whose wife SRK use to call a whore in the past. LOL! what a sell out! He changes his loyalty faster than I change my underwears.
@adnanvisa said:
makes me laugh when ppl even think of PTI victory… imran is honest n comitted… but a lil immature and totally unaware of pakistani politcs.. only talks abt foreign examples … that was then this is now. he shud talk abt current things n how can they be solved rather than talking abt how western govt are run..
====================================
You are right, if you just replace word immature with honest and word “pakistani politcs” with Corruption ….
You like the parties who are most corrupt and name it pakistani politics .. what a disgust
If Sheikha wins this election it will be a tragedy with this nation when only 2 years ago he lost both of the seats he was contesting.
@ aftab
Don’t worry. There is absolutely no chance of sheeda winning. Turtles will have to be flying before such a day comes.
It is just that the connections he cultivated in media are trying to keep him alive, otherwise in public, he is old news.
Well, from yesterday’s incident it seems that there are also some other people besides media who are trying to keep sheeda alive
@aftab. I don’t think we should blame anything but yea to some extent you are rite that the blame might be shifted a little bit towards them. Anyways it can also be a terrorist plot. The Taliban have modified over the recent years and they use unique tactics to create chaos. Am thankful that he is safe or we would have lost another one to violence.
@establishment. Is this the start of some trend that whoever gets shot gets the sympathy vote?? Don’t you guys thing the militants piked this up as a soft target just in case to create chaos cuz now there will be Punjab and other provinces rivalry for sure. NA55 elections should have not taken place under current terrorist situation I think.
Whoever planned this episode has kept his options open.
If sheikh rasheed wins as he will surely get some sympathy vote from ppl of rawalpindi, he will calim that he is very popular.
On the other hand if he loses, he will say that govt of punjab did rigging & they even tried to kill him. Thats why he was demanding election under army supervision.
So, govt of punjab must act wisely as in every scenario they will be on the receiving end. Please remember that this seat is very important for both the parties. Sheikhoo for his survival & N-league for their future. Sheikhoo has nothing to lose as he is facing sunset of his political carreer & can go beyond limits to survive. So, N-league must act quick and either arrest the real culprits or accept polling under army supervision to counter that strategy.
admin please start opinion poll and ask people
will sheikh rasheed win after attempt of murder ?
there should be no sympathy vote…. he is a biggest lota
CHANGE!!!!!
If people want some change they need to vote for that also,
sheikh Rasheed has been elected 6 times and if he would be elected this time,what change would he bring ?
So my request to everybody from pindi is to think for a moment atleast .
Have anyone viewed the news. The killers fired directly at Sheikh but Anwari braught himself forword and Sheikh was saved
Who could be behind the attack, read the following story and picture will be clear
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/2010/02/100209_ministers_attack_zee.shtml
4 people killed and shiekh rasheed gets a bullet in his foot!!!!!!!!!!!! What is up with that!!
@ supercreature
understand teh difference b/w correct and politically correct.. when u understand this ull understand paksitans poltics… a good example is handling of qadeer khans case.. musharraf did the correct thing… but politcally incorrect…. this stoopid govt came in and did teh poltically correct thing but incorrect by releasing him.. when they scored political points.. they shifted back again to the correct thing that musharraf did and it also had the jazbati tollis backing….n thus became correct and politially correct as well.. correct naaa.. cheezon ko samjho.. kya chal raha hia aas paas aur kase loag us ko deal kertey hein
Kindly visit
http://fanofnawaz.blogspot.com
@wbuttar
“What is the definition of Gangster. What is the status of your leader Asif Zardari?.”
That’s the best you got. If considering a legitimately elected president the leader of the country counts, then AZ is obviously my leader but politically speaking, I wish he is out of office before I finish up this writing.
Buttar sahab, what happened to you after Mansehra elections, I remember you claiming revolution in offing during those by-elections but you have disappeared since then. Now your hopes are with NA55. Let’s see after this one, what will you think of, may be general elections and after that taein taein fish!!
@wbuttar
It is not bad to have big dreams like PTI winning NA55. No problem if PTI could not win NA55 bye election in 2010 but still be hopeful because PTI could win this seat may be in 3010. Please be optimistic and don’t lose hope.
It’s fun to see all comments on this thread… looks like PML-N boot-lickers is trying to undermine the incident on internet… even if it’s cheap tactics by Shekho… but Ganjum Khadim-e-Aala should show some integrity if he has some… to capture real culprits behind this incident…
Badi chall chali hay Shekh Rashid nay.
I am petrified about the Pakistani peoples comments about Sheikh Rashid’s injuries. As a person who believes in analyzing human behaviors without any particular biasness‘, the reality of the matter is that due to continual mass murders and bloodshed in Pakistan the majority people have internalized the barbarity as an unpleasant norm. A lot of people are making fun of the fact that he did not die or got crippled or severely burnet or disfigured or badly hurt?
My first thought was, that at least he is safe and I felt sad and sorry for the deaths of his workers or friends. I myself believe that the political structure of Pakistan is in the hands of criminal families and family Mafia heads, who can justify a killing as a political expediency or just look at it as a hit by the hit men, still we should not be indulging in the fantasy of death or injury to anyone.
The man looks like he aged and petrified in all the interviews and as a human, he looked saddened for lose of his friends. Regardless of his past political affiliations or mistakes, he still is challenging an established family run Mafia in Punjab and just for that matter I feel he should be able to contest the election and hopefully spill the beans about the criminality of the Sharif Mafia and be able to brake the false image of a mentally below average, (BA 2nd division) deal maker and tax cheat, money launderer as the next hope for Pakistan. Asif Ali Zardari, if considered as a venomous snake, Nawaz Sharif is no lees than a venomous scorpion, they are both deadly and dangerous for Pakistan.
I dont think Sh. Rasheed have guts to so such and act and lose 3 of his men. Someone else is beneftting here.
@wasimibr
I totally agree with you
IK has no vision but only emotions.
I remember when he laid the foundation of PTI and then immediately participated in elections which was premature.He had no organization/no proper funding and no candidates.He had a good reputatin from cricket and shaukat khanum.
All the time he was talking about accountability which by the way NS major political slogan too.Then came gen Musharraf and seven point agenda IK was with the General.Till he realized people are not in favor of the General anymore he switched all his morality to Iftikhar Ch.Still when it comes to PTI,his office holders are semi educated and most of them are unable to represent his views
So this brief history of IKs change in heart in politics means that he is a great passionate emotional and honest follower but honestly not a leader/organizer
@ConcernedAmericanPak
i) “..As a person who believes in analyzing human behaviors without any particular biasness‘..”
And now the story begins
ii) “I myself believe that the political structure of Pakistan is in the hands of criminal families and family Mafia heads, who can justify a killing as a political expediency or just look at it as a hit by the hit men, still we should not be indulging in the fantasy of death or injury to anyone.”
and continues,
iii) “Regardless of his past political affiliations or mistakes, he still is challenging an established family run Mafia in Punjab and just for that matter I feel he should be able to contest the election and hopefully spill the beans about the criminality of the Sharif Mafia and be able to brake the false image of a mentally below average, (BA 2nd division) deal maker and tax cheat, money launderer as the next hope for Pakistan.
and finally,
iv) “Asif Ali Zardari, if considered as a venomous snake, Nawaz Sharif is no lees than a venomous scorpion, they are both deadly and dangerous for Pakistan.”
@bechari-awam , Good catch, maybe I was trying to connivance myself that My biases are the reality or may be you found my reality as biased?
I got caught with my hand in the cookie jar, for an unnecessary sentence in the body of my comment. In an irrational way, I was trying to rationalize myself…well, I am just a human, trying to be nice and critical at the same time…..
i) “..As a person who believes in analyzing human behaviors without any particular biasness‘..”
@bechari-awam, it s/b or should read:)
i) “..As a person who believes in analyzing human behaviors with my particular biasness towards personality and family run political parties with the criminal background and history of nepotism and corruption.
The attempt to eliminate Shaikh Raishid is a pathetic attempt by his political foes to eliminate the popular leader. Going by “who gains” as a motive for the murder attempt, there is only one party in Pakistan that would get an advantage–that is PML(N), PPPP is not contesting elections. The PML(Q) still thinks of Mr. Rashid as an ally.
Who is behind the assassination attack on Sheikh Rasheed , off course the suspicion goes to PML(N) group as they would have been the beneficiary if Shaikh Rasheed had died. Everyone is aware of the fight going on in Rawalpindi between Sheikh Rasheed and PML(N).
To prove it otherwise PML(N) must find the killers, it should not be that hard for them as they are the ruling party in Punjab and they have enormous resources.
Remember Pindi Waalo and get this in your heads……..NO SYMPATHY VOTE FOR Sh Raheed’. Only Imran Khan PTI candidate is acceptable.
These sympathy votes have made us suffer again and again, so ‘NO SYMPATHY VOTE FOR Sh Rasheed’ and absolutley NO SYMPATHY FOR BB NRO Waali.
Get the message Pindi Waalo.
[Could someone please tell me the election date in NA-55]
Understand that you have a poll for NA55, but I think you should have another one now after the firing on Cheeda tali. Lets see what people say this time. Also please put in the candidates name in the poll
Guys
Please stop calling Sheikh Rashid by this name. Use his real name instead Cheeda Taali
@wasimbr
I recommend you to see the election results of PF 75 Lucky Marwat where PTI candidate stand 2nd, where are your most popular parties i.e. PPP/PML-N. You will see the results in NA-55 as well. And remember by elections is the most difficult elections for opposition especially not even in parliament. Open your eyes and see the change which is in offing.
Its going to be a low turnout polling day……Expected results as follow:
1st Shakeel AAwan around 30000 votes
2nd Tally around 15000 votes
3rd Jazzi around 7000 votes
Tally will claim rigging……
Imran Khan’s fans club will say……Look! change is in offing (forgetting that Jazzi as an independent had got 12000 votes in previous elections)
I think this is all drama, sheikh rasheed only wants to get sympathy votes from NA-55. Because he said that this election is very important for his life.
@ sahibzada1
pretty darn right analysis.
May be Shaikh is being haunted by LAL Msijd walas and thanks he survived. Otherwise someone of his family could have taken advantage of sympathy vote and won.
Insha Allah Shaikh is going to lick the dust again and he will lose.
Shaikh sb Pindi wala have seen your true face. Now you do not stand any chance of winning.
Not about victory of losing I think. It is a sign that where is country leading to?? No SINGLE PLACE is safe guys!! Thanks to the corrupt mullahs who have ruined a whole generation. We have started to adapt to violence and it can be sensed in the communities! We have to END this steak of violence before it is too late.
@ Adeel Ayub, try to stage the drama you are talking about and please be a part of the drama along with your friends .
Thats enough now …….time to give a call to Army. We don’t want Sh Rasheed, Zardari, Maulvi Diesel, puttar of Wali Khan and Bhatta Khor of Karachi.
Otherwise, we only want Imran Khan as PM and Ch Iftikhar as President. Full stop.
Call to Army? What a load of cr*p !!!
It is because of army that our country has faced so many disasters and it is the army that gave us the gift of NRO. But still some blockheads are looking to the army which is the source of all evil.
Army is still powerful in Pakistan. Look remediation between Taliban & USA guys.
It is almost one week since the armed attack on Sheikh Rashid in pindi, as expected Shahbaz Sharif Government failed to find the Killers.
May be it is time that our C/J Choudhry Iftikhar responds to this day light killings that took place in Rawalpindi on Feb 08, 2010.
People want some answers.
Good point, tamaazkhan.
How can Zac Goldsmith be anti-WAR when he is part of the elite inner circle of the British Conservat. […]
Oh, no, that way you'll not defend Imran K. This stupid distinction between Zionists and Jews is ano. […]
Mirza Ghalib, Like most sane muslims I have no axe to grind with Jews only with Zionists. Anti Zioni. […]
Zac also happens to be a Jew. We have seemingly forgiven Imran Khan for his disastrous marriage. But. […]