l Islamabad Tonight – 10 February 2010 | Pakistan Politics
{ 51 comments... read them below or add one }

• tariqhussain said:

Haroon Rashid and kamal Azfar exchanged harsh words, which I think were not required. They are both learned persons and should know how to talk in a live programme.

• Allah ka Banda said:

Well done HR & “fittey munh” Kamal Azfar

• pakwatan12 said:

Wasn’t Kamal Azfar Drunk??

• true man said:

kamal azfer shame on you be a son of PAKISTAN not a zardari you don’t have reasonable answer, Justice sadeeqi saab ,athar minnalah and haroon rasheed absolutely right,Haroon rasheed atleast have a guts to say trurh

• justice said:

Kamal Azfar treated Haroon Rasheed “Well”

• planet372 said:

Haroon Rashid rightly said, do these people know what Shaheed means.

How Benazir can be Shaheed ? she came to Pakistan ,not for Allah, but for herself.
    people should fear Allah and have proper knowledge before calling someone Shaheed.

• Ahsaan said:

Must Watch

• farfront said:

Kamal Azfar said who is Haroon Rasheed, and people of Pakistan want to know that who is Kamal Azfar ?

• dildar said:

wel said @farfront!

• niazmand said:

Must Watch Programme.

• aawan said:

Yaar yeah people party mein insan ka putar naheen hai koi? Ek se barh ker ek haramzad hai.

Look at this dog of Zardari!

• Revolution انقلاب said:

peoples party has become dangars party. everyone is busy to please zardari but don’t realize Pakistan is suffering because of their mismanagement and corruption.

Criminal behaviour from PPP and Governor Salman Taseer, so many people are waiting for justice but cannot receive because PPP won’t do the formalities in appointing judges, just because it is not getting the opportunity to appoint either Jiyala Judges or because CJ advised government to re-open Swiss cases.

I guess as Ather said that Babar Awan had to show some of his magic that he has learned over the years but this delay won’t get them anywhere, so sooner or later they will cave in to the pressure and appoint these judges.

Understaffed judiciary

A judicial crisis of another kind is brewing in Pakistan. The Supreme Court, which has been working with one judge less ever since Justice Ramday retired on Jan 12, is now understaffed by two members with the retirement of Justice Raza Khan. If the executive and the judiciary continue to be locked in a controversy on the appointment of judges the situation can hardly be expected to improve in the near future.

Millions of prisoners remain under trial with their cases not being heard, while prisons are bursting at the seams. The failure to fill vacancies in the superior judiciary has led to thousands of appeal cases pending before the courts.

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/editorial/16-understaffed-judiciary-hs-02

This bad governance by PPP is just NOT acceptable.

• kraizii said:

Haroon Rashid is right on. Something that I have always wondered about that how the hell Bhutto or Benazir is called shaeed? They both were power hungry and were killed/murdered in the power struggle. If PPP really want to give Qurbani then they should send Balawal to some war (war that should be for the country or Islam), then we can consider that qurbani or shahadat.

• hasankhan said:

@aawan,stop insulting head of state of pakistan,u indian rat.mind ur language,paishaab peeney waali qoum.

• bacha jamhoora said:

well doen haroon rasheed.
    Kamal azfar si scolding others for interrupting him.
    Does not have the manners not to interrupt Haroon rasheed when he was speaking

The most ill mannered person I have ever seeen: Kamal Azfar

• planet372 said:

@kraizii

You are right. In pakistan if you have money and die in a sewer you will be called shaheed.
    This is a nation of slaves, you will see when Nawaz sharif will die no matter how, he will become shaheed too.

• adilhussain said:

Kamal Azfar PPP ka wakil tha NRO case mein. Now we can understand why PPP failed in the courts, with law minister like Babar Haiwan, AG like KHosa and Lawyer like Azfar, it was a perfect recipe for disaster.

• super7 said:

Very Good Program

• true man said:

can someone explain shahadat and how come bhutto and benazeer are shaheed if ppp really want shahadat so they should send (bill) bilawal bhutto zardari with pakistan army at front border

• jaagpakistanijaag said:

We are very lucky not to have another SHAHEED Sheikh Rashid.Otherwise we were going to listen in the coming days that “Quaid-e-Awami league Janab Sheikh Rasheed Shaheed”.God bless our country.

• planet372 said:

@true man

Power/Money is God for this nation.
    She died for Power so thats how she became Shaheed.

• sherdilmuslim said:

I agreed with Haroon Rasheed,s point of view but i do not approve his churlish and malapert attitude.he should be reasonable when talk.He could say what he said in civilized manner.

• jiwaypakistan said:

pakwatan12 said:

I also felt that.

• noorjan said:

There is thirty days limit to appoint new judges according to Al-Jihad case and it is already 60 days have gone bye what PPP government is waiting for.I think eventually we are going to see a big war between supreme court and government which government will loose.Government will not only loose the war against supreme court but also the government.

• hasankhan said:

for all sick ppp haters,i have only one line for u.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,how the haijrey can understand the meaning of shaheed.

• tayyaba said:

TO,
    aftab said:
    I guess as Ather said that Babar Awan had to show some of his magic that he has learned over the years but this delay won’t get them anywhere, so sooner or later they will cave in to the pressure and appoint these judges.

Babar Awan will never play any role to appoint new judges first because he can not take risk to irk Zardari secondly he himself is not a clean person.

• khochal said:

bacha jamhoora said:
    well doen haroon rasheed.
    Kamal azfar si scolding others for interrupting him.
    Does not have the manners not to interrupt Haroon rasheed when he was speaking

The most ill mannered person I have ever seeen: Kamal Azfar.

You are absolutely right it is such a shame to see that kind of political leaders who do not have any self respect so how they can bring any honor to the country.

• danishwar said:

justice said:
    Kamal Azfar treated Haroon Rasheed “Well”

If that is the level of PPP leader ship then Haroon Rasheed justify they way he treated Kamal Azfar.PPP leader ship a complete non sense.They start with Shaheed BB and they end with democratically elected president Zardari.

• tahirmalik said:

hasankhan said:
    for all sick ppp haters,i have only one line for u.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,how the haijrey can understand the meaning of shaheed.

you are right so understand the meanings of shaheed before you calling your PPP leadership shaheed.

• planet372 said:

I know its hurting for PPP Jiyalas but they should be honest and explain how Benazir is Shaheed. How she died in the path of Allah ?

• izatmaab said:

In response to the question that why new judges are not appointed yet the answer of Kamal Azfar was they will be appointed soon.People were expecting him to come up with some logic.Unfortunately PPP government only move when “SO JOOTAY BHI KHATAY HEN AUR SO PIAZ BHI”.

• mohibewatan said:

aftab said:
    Understaffed judiciary
    Millions of prisoners remain under trial with their cases not being heard, while prisons are bursting at the seams. The failure to fill vacancies in the superior judiciary has led to thousands of appeal cases pending before the courts.
    This bad governance by PPP is just NOT acceptable.

That is correct but who cares what people are going through.

• sherepunjab said:

I salute Ather Min Ullah for pointing out that Malik Qayyum licence has not yet suspended despite the fact that he went out of the way to save Zardar in Swiss case.Lawyers who are fighting for the rule of law in the country should set this example that black sheeps in their community will not be tolerated.

• mazloomlog said:

planet372 said:
    I know its hurting for PPP Jiyalas but they should be honest and explain how Benazir is Shaheed. How she died in the path of Allah ?

In JIALAS opinion she is SHAHEED not because she gave her life in the path of Allah but she is SHAHEED_E_JAMHOORIAT.PPP workers do not under stand that she was removed from the scene by America because she was not fit in their plan any more.
    I consider her SHAHEED because there was no reason to kill her.

• establishment said:

Haroon Rasheed kya baat hai, i think he is the only current analyst/columnist with dr shahid who are still keeping the heat on.

• hasankhan said:

is BB shaheed?ask this question to imran khan,nawaz shreef,altaf hassain,qazi hassain ahmad and general gul hamid who call her shaheed.

• Adonis said:

They all also call Zia ul Haq Shaheed.

But why bother about who is a shaheed or not? Why cant we leave it for Allah to decide, instead of adding shaheed to every dead person’s name whom we like?

People even call Bhagat singh and Che Guevara as shaheed. Lets leave this title for only those who die fighting against kuffar. For all the others lets pray that Allah gives them the status of shaheed, without us taking over that job.

• mazloomlog said:

hasankhan said:
    is BB shaheed?ask this question to imran khan,nawaz shreef,altaf hassain,qazi hassain ahmad and general gul hamid who call her shaheed.

They all have to live on political scene,so they have no other choice.

• okboss said:

Haroon Rasheed himself cannot spend a single evening without drinking wine…

But love to give examples of Quran and Islam and above all questions the ISLAM of each and every person He hates.

This is a typical mind set of Pakistani ARMY and its illegitimate children ” mullahs of Pakistan” and ” Nazaria-i-Pakistan journalist” .

• planet372 said:

@mazloomlog

what do you mean by SHAHEED_E_JAMHOORIAT ? is this better than the people who die in the path of Allah ?

• okboss said:

@planet372

What do you want to prove here ?
    if you donot believe that some one is not Shaheed then keep your believe.
    Why are you trying to impose your opinion on others like Stupid mullahs of Pakistan.

• Salam said:

watch kamal azfar’s face exactly at 06:28 and see how he drops his jaws!

he was like :mrgreen:

Judges appointment summary sent to PM

Law ministry has sent the summary of judges appointments to Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani, sources told Aaj News on Thursday.

The summary included appointment of judges in Supreme Court.

http://www.aaj.tv/news/National/158887_detail.html

lets hope in the interest of good governance that judges are appointed quickly and that the summary does NOT get sent around the houses with no outcome in sight.

• zia944 said:

In JIALAS opinion she is SHAHEED not because she gave her life in the path of Allah but she is SHAHEED_E_JAMHOORIAT.PPP workers do not under stand that she was removed from the scene by America because she was not fit in their plan any more.
    I consider her SHAHEED because there was no reason to kill her.

if she wasn’t killed, how zardari become the president?
    why they are not supporting the UN in BB murder investigation?
    H R great well said. a true Pakistani man. i fully agree with you.

The hearing will take place on Friday.

SC admits petition against delay in judges’ appointmentThe Supreme Court today admitted a petition filed against the delay being made in the appointment of judges in superior judiciary, for regular hearing.

http://www.geo.tv/2-11-2010/59036.htm

• Bolta Pk said:

Ye “Kamal Asghar” too barri kadeem aur manhoooos itom lagti hay.

• anna said:

@ pakwatan12 said:

no ! it was HAROON RASHEED !!! you misunderstood

• anna said:

Hroon Rasheed a Zeberdast column writer , completely shocked me while TALKING IRRELEVANT !! what on earth he was talking about ??? there was no relationship between present Government’s ” Naaehli “to appoint the Judges & that why ppp wallas calling ZAB & BB shaheed ??
    ohhhh! lord !! how come every other Character shattering our Idealism ?? first I got disappointed by “CHORAHA” fame Hasan Nisar .. whom I thought very Bold & Balance Columnist & now Mr.Haroon rasheed …… sound so Illogical , Angry OLD man & so Irrelevant ….. I watched the show twice , thrice to understand … what Happened to mr.Haroon rasheed … my favorite columnist …tch tch tch !! but i still dont understand !!
    CAN SOMEBODY GIVE ME HIS e MAIL Address so that I asked him why he was sound so IMBALANCE ???? he is not like us ” the ordinary people ” he is a Columnist , who must not show his Personal liking & disliking for certain Personalities !!
    I hope he will show some wisdom next time & w’ll remain cool , calm & relevant …

• truewriter said:

Dear Kamal Azfar son Of Nuh has no benefit that he is who’s son