l Islamabad Tonight – 11 February 2010 | Pakistan Politics
{ 17 comments... read them below or add one }

• super7 said:

For most of the time, Pakistan never had any real Afghan Policy. Mostly it was dictated by Americans. Even now there is no guarantee that we would successfully watch our interests, which should remain the most important issue for us.
    I do not buy that slogans of Humayun Akhtar. We need to carefully develop a drat for security and foreign policy whereby GHQ, Foreign Office send their inputs and the National Secuirty Committee of the Parliament discuss it and approves after fine tunining.

• adilhussain said:

Pathetic parliamentarians do not have courage to stand on their feet and debate issues of national importance in the House. People have given vote for this job, but our MNAs have disappointed their voters.
    Bhair, bakri say ziada mutalif tarika nahi inka.
    Where zardari, nawaz, altaf bhai would nod, all their MPs would nod likewise.

• Ahsaan said:

We should not try to micromanage Afghan affairs, similarly we should not allow Americans to micromanage our domestic matters. There should be some sort of national policy. We are just drifting along with the US policy objectives in the region.

• Fasih Ahmed said:

James Jones ki naukri zardari say nawaz sharif aur fauji saray ker rahe hein. How one could expect a change?

• Noble said:

@super7 said:
    There should be a national debate on the subject. Policy formulation under US dictated line has always created trouble for us. We made several mistakes during Jihad days, then allowing free ride to armed groups was another mistake and after 9/11 open war was the 3rd mistake.
    First we created a monster and then used our people as a fodder. Have we gained any thing out of it?
    We should have a national roadmap which should be binding on the security apparatus as well as civilian leaders.

• mazloomlog said:

It is true that Pakistan do not have any foreign policy not about Afghanistan only but in general.No body can explain Pakistan foreign policy in black and white.

• khochal said:

Tasneem Qureshi comments that we will talk only to those Talibans who will lay down their weapons make me wonder that PPP government understand who Talibans are? surrender is not the word in dictionary of Talibans.Americans do not want to talk to Talibans because Talibans want so but because they are kicking Americans ass real good.If any party will eventually surrender that will be Americans not Talibans.

• danishwar said:

Irfan Siddiqui gave the right perspective of the issue that America is not only loosing the war in Afghanistan but also lot of money.American economy is at the verge of collapse and soon America is going to implode InshaAllah.

• tahirmalik said:

I will like to give credit to our military for the loosing war for America in Afghanistan.The policy of “wait and see”worked very well.Pakistan was not in the position of war with NATO forces so Pakistan military kept patronizing Talibans over the years.Talibans know their country very well and also their determination to defeat their enemy is eventually paying off.Pakistan military has won this war with out putting its soldiers on the front line.That is the reason why trouble in our tribal areas have been created by NATO and Indians.

• noorjan said:

I do not support Humayyon Akhter Khan comments that Pakistan made a mistake to disengage itself from northern alliance.Northern alliance people are very stubborn and have close ties with Iran.From day one they consider Pakistan their enemy and do every thing possible to harm our interest in the region.Having good relation ship with them was never going to bring any positive change in Afghanistan or in the region.

• supurpakistani said:

tahirmalik said:
    I will like to give credit to our military for the loosing war for America in Afghanistan.The policy of “wait and see”worked very well.

You are absolutely right.I share my views with you.

• tayyaba said:

adilhussain said:
    Pathetic parliamentarians do not have courage to stand on their feet and debate issues of national importance in the House. People have given vote for this job, but our MNAs have disappointed their voters.
    Bhair, bakri say ziada mutalif tarika nahi inka.
    Where zardari, nawaz, altaf bhai would nod, all their MPs would nod likewise.

That is correct these political parties do not understand democracy meanings so why we expect them to bring true democracy in the country.

• sianibili said:

If Pakistan had any foreign policy India never would have been in Afghanistan.

• machoman said:

Things are heating up between judiciary and government and i have no doubt that soon we are going to witness a big saga of war unfortunately.It will be a loose loose situation for Zardari and his party,there is no doubt about it.

• jaagpakistanijaag said:

There is news today that NAB chairman asked for 1.75 billion rupees commission for the pre bargain in the Punjab bank case and supreme court has taken notice of that.Every time such news we hear PPP leaders only say one thing that it is just a accusation not yet proved.The alligation have been made infront of the SC.I want to know that when will PPP government will come out of the state of denial.

• izatmaab said:

I thought Tariq Fatimi is totally wrong that Pakistan should only try to bring peace in Afghanistan and that is about it.Afghanistan is our neighboring country and there is lot of interest of other countries in Afghanistan.We can not just sit aside and watch our interest at stake we have to act in the best interest of our country.We need to have peace in Afghanistan and at the same time a government supportive to Pakistan interest in the region and Afghanistan.Indians even in their wildest dreams can never have any footing in Afghanistan it is impossible.Taliban will root them out in a day without facing any resistance .

• niazmand said:

First Pakistan and our people then anything else, that should be the policy.