l Dunya Today – 15 February 2010 | Pakistan Politics
{ 26 comments... read them below or add one }

• Liaqat Malik said:

Wao Moeez What an interview you have conducted with such a great man ( a real and true Pakistani) and honest person.Every word he said is true and correct.

• asimtaj said:

very good interview. that is harsh reality, we are very naive (i must say stupid ) nation. character of ordinary people is so low. we can’t expect good leadership until we change our character as a whole nation. Now it is our nature that we want to listen lie. bigger it is more popular it is. ZAB recognised very correctly. but how sad it is, that he had opportunity to give direction to the nation but he wasted for his own good. he may be ideal for many but for me he was evil genius.
    Asghar khan is right, we will suffer even more and will contiue suffering until we realise that we will only listen to the truth and vote for right person.

• molvirpg said:

May Allah SWT bless this great man.

I agree with him 100%. I never before or in the future see any hope for Pakistan. Some other composition of Muslims will rise at some point in the farther future several generations down the road and may create a new nation under some other name and bring about a glorious period for the Muslim inhabitants of South Asia. There is a lot of blood, misery and destruction between now and then, unfortunately but deservingly.

• mujtaba-ali said:

ok but still
    jiye bhutto
    aik zardari sab pe bhari …
    kisi kkkb
    aur kia kehtay hain ji yeh
    tum kitnay bhutto maro ge her gher se bhutto niklay ga ..
    merey khial main is mulk se tu niklo yeh ziada dair qaim nahi rehnay wala …
    jis mulk ka sadar zardari ho us ko qaim rehnay ka heq bhi nahi ..
    khak ba dehen …

• wbuttar said:

Nice to listen this Great Man .

I hope this nation is going to realize that they wasted Asghar Khan and they will not make Imran Khan as another Asghar Khan. Mr. Asghar Khan you have done your job and we are heading towards a prosperous and independent Pakistan. We have to pay price and you too lost your son in the process but I love to see your dignity and committment, not to bow down to the evil forces. I assure you we will bring change under the leadership of Imran Khan and if we will not able to see the results our children and their children will bear the torch of change.

• hariskhan said:

The air Marshal is perfectly correct in what he says.

• Salam said:

intelligent way to support zardari and to malign chief justice of pakistan :)

• Salam said:

dr moeed you are a zardari chamcha… look at your cheap timing, you brought this case up because you knew that this was neglected by iftekhar chaudary… smart way to support zardari! you don’t care about asghar khan’s case, you just chose this time to make a hit at the CJP

• planet372 said:

This Channel Dunya News should not be watched. it defends corrupt people.

• atruepakistani said:

Nice to see asghar khan after a long time.excellent interview

• Khanji said:

Do you all remeber his past. THis is the man who wrote to the Chief Of Army Staff to take over and then the country suffered for 11 years and still suffereing its after effects. Asghar Khan was never a leader but exploiter. His famous name was Aloo and he still seems to be an Aloo. Nothing more than that. I bet you guys give him a chance to be the ruler he will prove similar to the others. This man has always worked with the forces against democracy in the country.

• Khanji said:

Forgot to write about Moeed he is also a piece of crap. Dr go and do your practice this is not your field. You are Kurcha of Zardari.

• bionicwoman said:

What an interesting discussion! I think it brings out very clearly why Pakistani politics fails to deliver, because in the end people are not very wise, not educated or aware enough to scrutinize politicians in their interest and politicians can get their way…ZA Bhutto was right, people are stupid..and this is what Zardari and even Nawaz Sharif are exploiting.. both are fooling people in their own interest…

Will Imran meet Asghar Khan’s fate? will he end the same way? without an impact? only to be adored by us the middle classes on internet? will he ever be able to reach the hearts and minds of the poor people ?

• justice said:

bionicwoman
    people of pakistan are deliberately left uneducated and poor.

Budget of pakistan

400-600 Billion Rs Defence budget
    600-800 Billion Rs payment of loans

21-24 bilion Rs Education
    15-21 Billiob Rs Health

Now tell me who is the enemy?

• bionicwoman said:

@Salam & Khanji……………..are you then suggesting that even asking the question that why Supreme Court & judges don’t touch upon a case that brings into light the role of ISI and how it influences elections is evil? oh! or are you worried that one man who took tax payers money to create IJI was Nawaz Sharif? Is this the end all of your political balance? come on? …should we not raise questions that keep judges on their toes? should we not stop judges from becoming totally corrupt in an atmosphere where stupid public merely adores them…should public never know the whole picture? …you must examine your belief system…

• Khanji said:

bionicwoman, I never said this I just told the past of this person as well. I have no objection taking action against the persons of ISI. I just mentioned the character of Asghar Khan.

• fulan said:

Air Marshal Asghar Khan has restated what is the undeniable truth that Zulfikar A. Bhutto was a crook of the highest order. And as fate would have it, he got a super crook for a son-in-law, Asif A. Zardari.

• bionicwoman said:

Khanji_ Ok! but I think that Asghar Khan strikes me more as a person with inability to understand Pakistani politics and its dynamics, even if he has done shady things -which is not easy to prove – his record will be far far better than almost everyone else in Pakistan…we can find faults with him just like some people find faults with Imran…both of them can be clubbed together for being impractical, dreamers and not fit for the kind of politics we have in Pakistan… I will say we can condemn Asghar Khan for being simple and naive rather than a crook or bad guy..his character flaw like Imran in our times is of simplicity and stupidity or the inability of a middle class upright man to relate to the world of lies and fraud of Pakistani politics…
    Dr. Pirzada has done a great job in finding him at this moment… he is already 89, might not be around for long, this interview will become archival material soon…

• fmk said:

@Khanji
    I respect your thinking and concern for the democracy. That spirit is needed. However, you probably have only heard about Asghar Khan from others, like the word on street is to ridicule him and others like him.

Please listen to what Asghar Khan said in this program about that letter. He is clearly denying it as a call for the coop. He explained it, but perhaps you did not watch it there around the middle of the video; he said if someone claims it to be what you, Khanji, are saying, he has either not read that letter or is ignorant.

There are always at least two means of information about someone: the first is through others, newspaper, media, word on the street, etc. The second is to ask the person him/herself. Sometimes, it is even harder to judge the intentions from the words. If someone says to me “do not obey any unlawful orders from your boss sounds a good advice”, it sounds like a good advice. It may be read as mutiny, as well. but if we really open the lawyer style debate over it, it is not mutiny (but that is a more involved discussion). BUT please distinguish it from saying “go, hang the boss”.

It is a pity that we ridicule people like him, who stood firm on the grounds of principle, morality rather than being opportunists (like ZAB, BB, NS, Chaudhri’s, Altaf, and who else better than Fazal ur Rahman), liars, exploiters and even murderers. We taunt people like Asghar Khan as “who could not win a single seat” or “taanga party” — as if it is not us who have to vote for them; rather these guys should be so good that angels drop from the heavens to fill their ballots. The failure of such people is a failure of us as a community who cannot distinguish a con man from a noble/honest person.

• Khanji said:

Ya Archive material I agree hahaha. But he never produced anything good in Pakistan politics. He had no ability intellgence and vision required for success in Pakistani politics. The case of Imran Khan is different and even the people of Pakistan are more vigilent and know better these politicians cum looters. Imran has a chance but please give me a break from this man Asghar Khan who even doesn’t care speaking lie at the age of 89.

• hypocrite said:

Most humbly speaking Great people accept their mistakes and shortcomings. Have heard many stalwarts involved in politics in Pakistan and have yet to see someone who accepts even a single shortcoming or mistake.

Dont know whom to trust

• bionicwoman said:

hypocrite_ as far as I remember in this particular interview Asghar Khan admitted that he failed in Pakistani politics, could not achieve much..and after admitting he went on explaining the reason of his failures….I think Dr. Pirzada was a little harsh on him as well, but then perhaps Anchors have to be to bring out the story from the subject….

• kqm000 said:

Very poor interviewer who wasted a lot of time discussing the past. Asghar Khan looks very young for an 89 year old Pakistani with a sharp mind. An honest politician who wasn’t ready to sell his soul in the name of politics. The funny part was when Asghar Khan said that the govt. formed after 1977 elections was fascist and had imprisoned almost all who had stood up against the Prime Minister and Chief Ministers …. and the interviewer in haste, commented “but isn’t this what democracy is ?”.

• pakistanthegreat said:

Well Done Dr Moeed.I hope Imran Khan will not leave this nation alone……

• dadarocks said:

It’s hard to imagine that thsi gentleman is 89 years old. I know many here disapprove him because he discouraged then leadership from starting operation Gibraltor thereby leading to 1965 war but this gentleman talks sense.

• kpannu said:

Let us assume Asghar Khan & Imran Khan both are really good and patriotic people. Why not they join their hand together to make an impact against evil elite of this country? And this question is for every one who thinks for this country and nation.