l Najam Sethi Special – 15 February 2010 | Pakistan Politics
{ 32 comments... read them below or add one }

• Rehan Butt said:

Shame on you Najam Sethi. you kind of people are never been loyal to Pakistan.

• shakeelbajwa said:

Honestly, once again Najam Sethi, I did not bother to watch your programme, but I have got a message for you that a ‘Lifafa’ has been given to me for onward delivery to you.
    Please don’t worry this is just a ‘Mota Lifafa’ and this has been passed by the security and it is not a suspected package. I have personally checked that there are no wires hanging out and I do not see any metal bits in this. Trust me it is a safe package……just a ‘mota Lifafa’.

Please let me know where I should deliver.

P.S. Someone has just told me to post it to……. Najam Sethi c/o Yusuf Gilani.

• Rehan Butt said:

lolzzzzz @ bajwaa

• shakeelbajwa said:

@Rehan Butt

Rehan bhai, can you please suggest where should I deliver……….just in case there is micro chip hidden in it and I suspect a Drone atttack. Please help me quick.

Believe me it is a Mota Lifafa.

• mujtaba-ali said:

@ shakeelbajwa
    i believe it must be made of lather … :)

• justice said:

I am appalled with the misplaced logic of NS.According to him, on every clash both the feuding parties are responsible.If we consider that to be true then we are stuck to interpret that Imam Hussain was also responsible for the clash between Yazeed & Imam Hussain

• champion11 said:

@shakeelbajwa,
    جناب میری راۓ میں موحترم نواز شریف کو لفافہ واپس کر دیں اور ان سے ایک درخواست ہے کے اب تو لفافوں اور چھانگا مانگا کے بریف کیسوں والی سیاست ختم کریں

• usman55 said:

Najam Sethi is just proving his alligiance to his Sharabi friend Salmaan Taseer. Everyone in Lahore knows their background and reality and noone takes them seriously.

• shakeelbajwa said:

@champion11

I agree with you that Nawaz Sharif was involved in 90′s in the politics of ‘Lifaf’s and brief cases and this is also true that some MP’s were taken to Changa Manga’. But if somebody has changed or repents it then we must give him a chance. And don’t forget he took the oath from all his MP’s WELL BEFORE FEB ’07 ELECTIONS REGARDING HIS STANCE ON THE RESTORATION OF JUDICIARY. Then Nawaz Sharif also took active part in the Long March and that too helped in the restoration of Ch Iftkhar Hussain.
    I also agree that Nawaz Sharif has also millions of Dollars abroad but He is a lesser evil then Zardari and if you ask me to choose between Zardari and Nawaz Sharif……..I will choose Nawaz Sharif and if you ask me to choose between Nawaz Sharif and Imran Khan…….then I will choose Imran Khan.
    But Mr Champion we are discussing here….Najam Sethi…..so please tell me Najam Sethi, Lifafa laita hai ke naheen…….haan ya naa.

• shakeelbajwa said:

@Usman55

If you knwo some stories about Najam Sethi and Salmaan Taseer then let us all hear. Please don’t keep us guessing, and I guess you may be living in Lahore and it would be impossible to give any stories about Salman Taseer in Lahore and you can guess the consequences, but here we should be thankful to ADMIN PK POLITICS

• shakeelbajwa said:

……..but here we should be thanful to ADMIN PK POLITICS for giving us frank oppotunity to share our views. So if you know some stories, please let us know and once for all let us expose all these Liffa Journalists.

• socratese said:

i kind of do not like Najam Sethi but I hate to say that he is absolutely talking sense here. I agree with him.

• Believer said:

@ socratese

You are using the language that MQM lovers use. They start with I do not like Altaf Hussain but he is absolutely right here… etc.

People who dislike Najam Sethi don’t use these words about this website (this is what you wrote when pkpolitics exposed Rauf Klasara & Haroon ur Rasheed. I searched your comments in google):

“why pkpolitics administration is keeping all this secret. why this secrecy and why they are quiet at all the comments posted by the honorable contributors here. this WEBSITE I hope is not funded by some other 3rd COUNTRY INTELLIGENCE AGENCY. Though this will be height of conspiracy but keeping in mind the history of our news media there is nothing impossible.”

ARE YOU SURE that you don’t like Najam Sethi??????? The word Agencies is favourite of we know which party.

• justice said:

@believer
    It is unbelievable that someone can trace the old comments of other people like you did.I first appreciate your work and hope you are not working for agencies since investigative work like yours make me think of them.
    Having said that I don’t like NS either but he does make sense on most issues.I was reading about him today and felt bad that he was put in jail by Nawaz Sharif for 25 days without any case.Police stormed his bedroom in the middle of night.It was only through his wife’s international human rights and journalist organizations contacts that he was released otherwise he would also have been a” missing person.”

I think pakistans liberal elite considered General Musharraf as their God father.Lots of people supported the usurper for first few years including IK.But the General was a disappointment in every aspect.The worst thing is that there is otherwise no liberal political representation and they are stuck with Musharraf.NS is one of the souls who was badly hurt by CJ IMC since he was the reason that the popularity ratings of the General plunged from72 to 18% in 10 months

• Adonis said:

Mian Amir Mehmud himself has confessed that his Dunya TV is running a monthly loss of Rs 60 million. Perhaps, the Rs 500 Million taken recently from the rulers’ secret “discretionary” fund is helping mitigate this loss.

What else justifies live telecasting Sheikh Rasheed’s election jalsa and giving so much screen time to this clown Najam Sethi who has suddenly started thinking that he is an “intellectual”.

Najam Sethi has always been a very mediocre journalist whose only claim to fame has been his wining dining with foreign diplomats in the company of Salman Taseer. His other “tryst with infamy” was his speech in New Delhi where he said that creation of Pakistan was forced by religious extremists and Pakistan should become a part of India. That led to a sedition case against him which was later quashed under american pressure.

Therefore, it was surprising for some people (who did not know the ownership structure of Dunya TV) to see such a mediocre person given a whole hour show on this new channel.

So whatever Sethi says has to be taken in the context of who is pulling his strings.

• planet372 said:

Dunya News is a pro Zardari Channel.
    Even the callers are very carefully picked. If judiciary has a support of 90% people , then 9 out 10 calls should be in support of Judiciary.

we all know CJ is a brave man. who did not bow in front of Musharaf then who is Zardari, a coward /corrupt person who does not even has the courage to tell the source of 60 million $.

• countryman said:

Dear Patriots AOA: Thanks for showing awareness about the real facts. With awareness , we can move in the right direction. Think how “WORDS” jujitsu is played and how other jujitsu players are hired on TV shows. Najam sethi Najis Klasaras are from those criminals. (Pls admin dont always put moderation TAGS. See how moderation is appearing in our educated filthies..so exempt we..the less educated ones) .
    Main ID of Hypocrite(munafiq) is..when speaks, uses ambigeous words OR sides with other hypocrites like him. But this Naman category is paid one and be kept on the list of nation.
    Look how PM/President and tolla is trying to continue with their old corruptions. Pakistan has been revolutionised…no more nigger like zaradr/gillani and chronies will survive.
    Another corrupt get her fate..and these dirties still cheating the poor sindhis to accept her as shaheed. (Dear admin.. even iofwe use the worst words of PUNJABI for them..I think it would be the INSULT of those words when being used for zardar and co.)
    I am not aganist/favour of any party. As a pakistani I have the right to protest or even come
    face-to-face with these dirties and ask..why they have poluted the posts like Pm/President and other ministries with criminal families. They have destroyed our exchequer and paralised the economy and still..admin wants a moderation about this. BREED OF CORRUPTS. Nation this time want to use RIGHT WORDS for them..which is TRATORS OF MOTHER-LAND. Look at a tolla that gets his/her share to protect ONE biggest corrupt who
    killed all the prominent members of bhutto family and other pakistanis.
    God almighty…always sets an example..and therefore granted zardari to bhutto family and
    he did his job. Now, he has tried to repeat the same with the nation…and the nation will
    write a history this time. Few DIRTY RATS earning their livelihood by defending these
    TRAITORS OF NATION…what would they get in the end ?.
    Dear patriots make sure ..time is comming closer and we should be with the honests the
    saviours NOT WITH THE TRAITORS. God bless Patriots.

• countryman said:

Dear @planet372:

Just to correct your figures: It is been announced several time..that in 40 swiss accounts of
    this RAT, only one had 60 millions, wheras total in other 39 accounts was 1.7 billion $.
    And as they repeatedly said, there was much more arround..yet to be discovered.
    Dont forget..a person with such past, when he was just a husband..he did that musch.
    What about year 2008/2009 and ongoing 2010 when he unfortunately is a president of country ?. Imagine what is going on behind the scenes wher state bank/steel mill/PIA
    and all such big organisation and their funds are under the control of his selected people.
    JUST VISUALISE…WHAT KIND OF RESPONSE IS REQUIRED FROM THE NATION FOR THESE PLUNDERERS ? Perhaps much more dreadful than what talibans suggest…!

• yousafkhan said:

I cant believe you people watch Najam sethi’s show, he works on pay roll like Abbas athar of express news.

• planet372 said:

@yousafkhan

you are right. even this channel Duya news should not be watched. its a pro Zardari channel.

Even in the news it kept on defending Zardari when he took such a step. This program is a clear indication of how much biased this channel is. even callers are picked.

• okboss said:

BAAT TO SACH HAI MAGAR BAAT HAI RUSWAI KI

Well said PM …. well said…

PM can appoint chif justice with his very own orders but can MOVE one judge from one court to other. What a rule and what a law.

The behavior of so called independent judges made me to say that every person in power is a badmash in Pakistan.

Judiciary is acting like a mafia like FUJI Mafia , media mafia, political mafia , or land grabber mafia.

Welcome to Mafia land … Pakistan

• time said:

Najam Sethi offers most unbiased analysis. All those who want judicary and GHQ to kick PPP out and give power to PMLN or IK hates him to death. My only question is how anyone can fight with establishment if he comes to power from back door using establishment? If we can’t stand against establishment we will never see any change in policies on Afghan war, relations with India and America, Kashmir, spending on social sector etc etc

• Believer said:

@ justice

I don’t have any personal problem with Najam Sethi. He is an intelligent person, though he is not unbiased.

Nawaz Sharif might have been behind his arrest but I think ISI was behind that. Basically he called Pakistan a failed state in 1999 and said it will disintegrate in Delhi, India. His arrest without charges was at the behest of Army/ISI. You know how powerful governments are in case of missing people.

Pakistan was not a failed state then when Najam Sethi inspired Indians.. it is closer to that due to Musharraf.

I paid a lot of money to one news agent in London who would arrange hard copy of Daily Times newspaper twice a week (after Iraq war). Guess what were the main headlines in Daily Times (Najam Sethi/Salman Taseer paper):

1. US is right in attacking Iraq: Iran should be next
    2. It made fun of Pakistani columnsts/Generals who said that the US wont be successful in Iraq. It made these comments look stupid.

Those of you who do not believe, check especially Sunday editions of Daily Times Lahore soon after Iraq war!!

• Believer said:

If there was no pressure from the US, ISI might never have released him.

And I forgot to tell you that Najam Sethi is a personal friend of some top US diplomats. He stays in the house of one famous diplomat whenever he is (summoned to) the US

• Believer said:

A bit more on Najam Sethi. He pushed Musharraf to back the US

His SEPTEMBER 17, 2001 article in INDEPENDENT LONDON. He said that Pakistanis and other Muslim countries are happy that September 11 happened

Najam Sethi: Pakistan could be plunged into anarchy if it fails to back America
    Monday, 17 September 2001

As Americans grieve, elsewhere in the world battered groups, communities and countries ­ ranging from the angry jihadis of the Islamic world and the displaced Palestinians in the Middle East to sanction-burdened Iran, Iraq, North Korea, Libya, Afghan-istan, and even Pakistan ­ strain to hide their true emotions ………………………………………………..
    Visionary leadership is necessary to steer Pakistan to safer waters. This is no time for international bluff. General Pervez Musharraf should stake the country’s future on right and rationality rather than on pride and passion.

http://www.independent.co.uk/opinion/commentators/najam-sethi-pakistan-could-be-plunged-into-anarchy-if-it-fails-to-back-america-669685.html

• socratese said:

@believer

look like you have ample time at your hands to google about me or my comments. I am sure you are not disappointed to learn about me. Why dont you directly email me and I might be able to help you more about if any myth about me. lol.

I did not understand as to how you linked my previous comments on some ohter issue and that too out of context to my these comments about Najam Sethi.

My General Views about all the Pakistani Journalists are they arrogant, mean and pompous.
    These people think they are last word on any topic, whether it is politics or general medicine or more complicated issues like constitutional interpretations.

I due to my background believe that person can not be jack of all trades, he needs to be master of one. They can comment, but only with the help of refering to others.

Now term agencies I donot know is favorite of which party, I believe it is favorite of all the parties, and at one stage or the other they have been colluding or flirting with your agencies.

I am not MQM nor do I support the philosophy of MQM, I think they are bunch of thugs who collect Bhutta, or Jugga Tax and these days are acting like Robbin Hood, trying to do few good things for Karachiites.

I donot like PMLN and I believe they are traditional politicians , who lie cheat and have no democracy in their party and have no vision what so ever for the country.

PPP, I believe is partly responsible for the breaking of the country, and under leadership of Zardari is the biggest party of criminals waiting for indictments.

I do not know about PTI, as they are unable to win single election so far, and yet to define themselves on various issues. It is still one man party and still need to introduce their team.

I hope this will help you. Where I stand on various parties. lol, let me know if you still need to know more about me.

• bionicwoman said:

Socrates_ despite all what you say, you must be able to see that Najam Sethi is not all about being rational; when he speaks he is looking after his economic interests… may be all others are doing the same…problem is that his interests lie with such odd characters like Zardari, Americans and the Indians… and he tries to sell his personal interests as an intellectual journey…that is the problem..there is no denying that he is intelligent and better educated than most…but you cannot ignore his intellectual hypocrisy…if one’s economic interests dictate their point of view then it is an expression of business interest rather than an objective assessment or intellectual analysis… he is intelligent and does it intelligently but then he should not be able to fool us….

• Believer said:

It is because of people like Najam Sethi that we in a mess. Look at his views soon after 9/11.

He must be Musharraf’s adviser:

http://www.independent.co.uk/opinion/commentators/najam-sethi-pakistan-could-be-plunged-into-anarchy-if-it-fails-to-back-america-669685.html

My post above is in ‘mode ration’ for hours so I will not write anything about him again.

• Believer said:

@ Socratese

How come only your comments are in bold?

yes, give me your email address. I would like to find out a few things about your ‘dynamic’, mean, arrogant and pompous personality. I always learn a few things from every type of people. Haven’t met anyone with all three things together yet!

• socratese said:

you can use tags given at the bottom to make your comments bold.

so let this be the first thing you learn from me.

Tell this forum about yourself, and i have info about myself on this website, you need not to google about me. Have fun and enjoy posts and relax, ok.

• socratese said:

@Believer

you can use tags given at the bottom to make your comments bold.

so let this be the first thing you learn from me.

Tell this forum about yourself, and i have info about myself on this website, you need not to google about me. Have fun and enjoy posts and relax, ok.

• norozkhan said:

Excellant program, it is impartial and factual, people of Pakistan like to hear the truth. I hope other journalist learn from this show.
    At present C/ J Iftikhar Choudhry is the most powerful and untouchable man Pakistan has even seen, my question is “to whom is he accountable and is he abiding by the constitution himself” ?.