Again its victory of Judiciary Victory of Chief justice,Qazi anwar,All Lawyers who supported Judiciary ,Athar Minullah,Nawaz Sharif ,Imran Khan,Jamaat E islami & Whole nation who prayed and condemn Zardari n his corrupt tola.
Thook kay chatna koi PPP say seekhay.
They are shameless people they will say its “Jamhooriyat ka husaan hai”
Or they will say people of Pakistan n Politicians interprated our statements in a wrong way.
We talked in a different context
Shame on these hipocrate people who lies 24/7 but not gonna accept.
100 Piyaz 100 jootay
One thing which always amazes me is how ‘dheet’ Zardari and even PM Gilani has become. Instead of taking credit, they eat 100 piyaz with 100 Jootay and let others be the winners.
Judiciary, PML N, PTI etc are winners and ruling eite are losers again
As far Gilani, he is a friend of Zardari. A man is known by the company he keeps!
PPP had no option other than surrender otherwise they could face disquaqlification.
Thieves always do as they do baseless,shameless,hipocrat party has lost whole credibilty.But they goof will definatly expect some consession from CJ which is not a joke.Judiciary got more power CJ strengthen his position.
@ Admin please upload the comment soon.it spoils the fun if it is too late.
@All
This is my theory that “dunya “channel is ploughing the ground to make it fertile for General Musharraf’s political and victorious reutrn to Pakistan,while deluding us with neutrality
To Back my theory up I will put forward the following argument
1.NS show—Ex General’s Ex Lover(spiritual)
2. Naseem Zehra— Ex General Ex Admirer
3. Mian amir (owner)— Ex general ‘s Ex Mayor/Nazim Lahore
6.Hasb e Haal In the name of humor;they have managed to make fun of PMLN/judiciary the most.It is subtle but very consistent.Think of the lawyers movement jokes,then almost the scanals regarding the leaderships(songs on the telephone),Rana Sanaullah’s plaza
5.Dr. Peerzada— Has been in the last 2-3 programs has mentioned that both the aprties have failed to deliver in center and punjab.Is there a room for a third one.He goes on to mention IK;and here is the catch(in my view);he would after IK in few days to weeks start saying IK or The Ex’s
Knowing fully every one here would just take a pro or anti judiciary stance here without paying least attention to the material under discussion in the program, I still would like to raise some point!
1-It seems that after a solitary act of not bowing down against Musharaf (which of course could very well be attributed to “just saving their jobs”) and hence receiving the stature of ANGELS, whatever blunders this judiciary makes (from writing “shairs” on legal decisions like some backward urdu medium moron to meeting executives just because they were wily enough to embark on that old school and tribal tradition of “ghar aie mehman ki aajizana request” or from letting the media cover highly classified discussion on “judicial policy” to being careless enough to leave highly important piece of documents unsigned on the right date ) are all put under the carpet just because its a forgone conclusion that they can never be wrong!
2-Now had it been any other civilized country, the kind of loop hole najam exposed today would have been revelation by the media in terms of judicial ignorance and non-professionalism..you know the kind of “INVESTIGATIVE JOURNALISM” that the media is all about!!!
But since it is our good old Pakistan, a country where media is all about those good for nothing masala talk shows and altercations or about covering those fast moving cars of CJ, NS, PM etc..hence no one would even bother as to how important a revelation the guy made today because at the end of the day he is just a secular and leftists bastard, an agent of israel/india who is hell bent on conspiring against the “ISLAM KA QILLA” i.e DEAR PAKISTAN OF OURS!
3-Now to all those who would ignore today’s revelation of Najam’s just because
according to them all he was talking about was some late signs and irrelevant things mentioned by judiciary in irrelevant cases, I would like to remind is that the same kind of garamatical mistakes were made by the british law when it said “Hang him” instead of “Hang him till death” which made a guy called Muhammad Ali Jinnah take advantage of it when he managed to get his client released moment before his death!
Moral of the story: Either take the modern form of constitution seriously or just go back to those ridiculous ancient tribal laws of giving a guy benefit of doubt just because his shirt was ripped from his back which meant that he couldn’t be a RAPE VICTIM!
Lastly, Do our country a good and Suggest Athar minallah to sell milk (not only because he looks like a gawala) but also because the way he was all at sea today when it came to give logical and relevant arguments in response to some logical questions, it is almost official that he could be anything but a lawyer( let alone a lawyer who also happens to be a spokesman of the CJ!
“This is my theory that “dunya “channel is ploughing the ground to make it fertile for General Musharraf’s political and victorious reutrn to Pakistan”
If Gen. Musharaaf wants to come back and join politics it’s better than sitting unaccountable in self imposed exile. If he is fairly elected as PM it’s better than any Genral repeating 12th Oct or July 5th coup. Ayub, Yaya and Zia never bothered to answer for their deeds and I am sure if Musharaaf doesn’t join politics he will go to grave unaccounted and untouched like his predessors.
@time
May be you are right about the General.
I am more interested to know your opinion about the role of Dunya News. I am baffled with the consistency of negative propaganda at this Channel against CJP
Today Asma Jahangir said that country is heading towards judicial dictatorship.
She may be right. If that is the case, let it be.
Judicial dictatorship is million times better than military or democratic dictatorship.
I am all for judicial dictatorship. At least we eventually would have de-politicize judiciary which will then might make police to be significantly de-politicized institution. As far Najam is concerned, he distorts historical facts. What our SC did, the US’s SC is known for this very well during late 1950′s, 60′s,70′s. Whatver he said should not be believe without critical evaluation, nor what I have said.
Asma Jehangir is a staunch PPP supporter. Even if Zardari goes on a killing spree Asma will support the PPP. Everyone agrees, including Najam Sethi, that the notification sent by the government was in error but Ms. Asma Jehangir goes out of her way to say that we are under ” judicial dictatorship”. What she fails to comprehend is that the parliment can go and change the constitution and the supreme court will have to adhere by it. The PPP doesnot have the requisite numbers to make that change.
” …blunders this judiciary makes (from writing “shairs” on legal decisions like some backward urdu medium moron ………………”
What a load of horse “sh*t” !!!!!
So it is Ok for British judges to quote Shakespeare in their decisions, but when Pakistani judges quote Urdu poets, these ‘coconuts’ full of inferiority complex cannot digest it !!!!
I simply didn’t understand the purpose of the program. If this was an issue, it should have been brought in the year 2007; or perhaps 2008! Why now?
Najam Sethi has really disappointed me.
Lastly, the mess which created by Musharraf can not be clean in a straight-forward manner.
A new social contract is being written. That is, whether SC restoration was legal or not, 3rd nov order was passed or not, people of Pakistan has rallied behind CJ and get him restored. He is not restored through legal process but by social movement. Therefore, these legal trivialities does not matter at all.
Najam Sethi and Athar Abbas of Express news both look disappointed and much frustrated dont know why? They may be afraid of departure of cuurent govt. doing good governance. So its just frustartion, the reason this frustration is very much clear.
Why can’t we appreciate government decision on appointing judiciary as per CJ advise; would you have appreciated if the govt were gone on collision course? we should give credits to govt for for not validating unconstitutional and illegal acts anymore.
When ever I see this Najam Sethi’s any talk show, I always feel he is BIG SHAITAAN by nature and I hate to see his talk shows and have started to avoid seeing or listening him any more.
I am not all I am saying why are you just blaming him. Najam Sethi did not generate 70% approval ratings that Musharaaf enjoyed over seven years. We all are culprits. Iftikhar Chaudhry played his role in legitimizing him, Imran Khan ran his refrendum compaign, media projected him as hero. Those who didn’t like PMLN are now dealing with Kiyani/GHQ. So why just single out Najam Sethi just bcaz you don’t agree with his political analysis.
In this episode, Najam Sethi showed his bias. Athar Minullah was not given his due share of the time and he was interrupted time and again. Whereas others were given uninterrupted time.
its not a good excuse by saying “i am a bad person so what, many others are”.
if Musharraf had 70% approval rating, he would have not been running out of the country.
even if Sethi had supported Musharraf but if today he accept his mistakes our nation will accept his appology but even now how openly defend his support for Musharraf. this is his character to support corrupt/evil persons like musharraf and zardari.
Lets keep the facts straight. I didn’t say his approval ratings were 70% when he left. Judicial crisis dropped his ratings before that even though he grabed power unconstituionally his approval ratings were very high.
There were not many who opposed Musharaaf through out. And it is not an excuse it’s relative grading is reality. Najam Sethi was not lone supporter of dictator, from present CJ to Nawaz Sharif to Bhutto everyone strenghten dictator at some point. You can’t use this as a litmus test.
Accepted mistake? are you kiding me? BB came to power after negotiating with GHQ in ’1988. Shahbaz Sharif and Ch. Nisar are rebuilding relationship with GHQ. Imran Khan criticises civilian gov but never criticises GHQ directly on their policies on war against terror. All these so called gharutmund journalists Ansar Abbasi, Haroon Rashid even Talat Hussein and Hamid Mir do not criticise GHQ. Look at media coverage we had in Pakistan on Moulana Baradar’s arrest.
Whatever Musharaaf did his corp commanders were onboard. His hand pick deputy Gen. Kiyani is still following his (actually GHQ’s) policies. All pundits from media, civil society and politicians criticise Zardari and Rehman Malik for that but nobody ccriticise the actual culprits – the military leadership. They all know if they do security agencies can target them as they are doing in Baluchistan, as they arrested Javed Hashmi, even he doesn’t say anything about army now.
I don’t know how can you just single out Najam Sethi. I will again say your litmus test is flawed. In Pakistan no one can ignore the fact that buck stops at GHQ. Why don’t you accept it’s not Najam Sethi’s pro-Musharaaf or anti -Musharaaf views it’s his political views that you can not stand.
I don’t think Dunya TV is projecting Musharaaf. Musharaaf was most powerful man in Pakistan for 9 years. During that era he must have built some life long relations with few in media. Najam Sethi and Athar Abbas and may be few others. Individually few anchors may defend/project himbecause of personal relations but I don’t think Dunya TV is doing that. I watch Hasb e haal, Duniya Today, Policy matters all these anchors are fairly anti-Musharaaf . You can argue Najam Sethi or Athar Abbas on express has some soft corner for Musharaaf and frankly I don’t think there is anything wrong with it.
There are many in media like Haroon Rashid, Ansar Abbasi, Mushtaq Minhas etc who still praise and defend Zia. I don’t think they defend Zia bcaz he took power unconstitutionally they defend him because of his religious views. Pundits on right see commanalities and based on that they defend Zia. Similarly few liberal anchors appreciates Musharaaf progresive and moderate approach expecially his U turns from Zia era.
I will again repeat we will be fortunate if Musharaaf joins politics. Gen. Irshad was hanged after he joined politics. As ex-COAS no civilian can dare to touch him. Gen Beg, Hamid Gul, Asad Durani all in Pakistan comes on TV every other day and challenge judicary to trial them bcaz they know no institution can dare to trial them. But once they become politicians even Gen. Tika Khanwent to jail for few months as PPP’s genral secretary.
Musharraf was criticized when he was in power. otherwise he would have not put ban on the media. Have you forgotten Hamid Mir doing programs on the streets ?
secondly i come to the same point its not a good excuse “if I am a criminal so what everyone else is”
If Najam Sethi is doing wrong, i will still criticize him. same rule apply for nawaz sharif , BB or Imran Khan. but if they accept their mistake then we should accept their apology.
please also remember these politicians are elected representative so they should be critized more.
I do remember Musharaaf’s ban on media but that was late in his tenure after March 2007 judicial crisis. This so called free electronic media was created by Musharaaf in early days and media on the whole gave him a free pass. The good ratings he enjoyed was bcaz of media. Besides whats wrong with supporting Musharaaf. When Nawaz Sharif can build working relationship with GHQ after being sacked and jailed why can’t Sheikh Rashid. When Iftikhar Ch. can build relations with GHQ after being forced out why just to blame Ather Abbas. When BB can build relations with GHQ after her father was hanged by GHQ why can’t Najam Sethi.
Besides Why don’t you use same litmus test, supported or opposed dictator, on those who supported mard e mujahid Zia-ul-haq; people like Ansar Abbasi, Haroon Rashid, Qazi Hussain Ahmed, Nawaz Sharif and the list goes on and on.
Ms. Asma Jahangir is a great lady. Please read the following her article.
Irony rules over all else
By Asma Jahangir
LEADERSHIP in Pakistan is its own worst enemy. It is quick to grab the limelight but lacks the ability to gracefully preserve the often ill-found glory and veneration that falls into its lap. Lessons are not learnt and heroes emerge because of the mistakes of adversaries.
Gen Musharraf’s highhandedness made the Supreme Court a champion of people’s rights. The handling of the NRO gave back to the presidency the support it was losing from its own party. And now, the swansong of Asif Ali Zardari to a bewildered audience only exposed his incoherence and insensitivity to the occasion. It was a rare opportunity to remind the people of Benazir Bhutto’s philosophy of reconciliation and urge for unity to strengthen the democratic process. Instead, he threatened to pull out the eyeballs of those who dared to undermine ‘democracy’.
Democracy is not simply an exercise in electoral politics. It may begin there but also ends there if other components remain absent. Absolute power for the president under a parliamentary form of government does not reinforce democracy. A politically partisan president can hardly claim to be a champion of democracy.
Maintaining a huge cabinet is not the government’s right; it is an abuse of the people’s trust in it. Most importantly, democracy can only be sustained in a system that remains accountable and is respected by the people.
The PPP is facing a number of challenges including the absence of a seasoned leadership. Still the government has made some positive moves, including reforms in Gilgit-Baltistan, offering an olive branch to the enraged Baloch and reaching a consensus on the NFC award. But it has also erred. There is no governance in sight, corruption is still tolerated if not encour
aged and the Dogar period saw some of the worst practices in the judicial system fully backed by the ruling party. Credence can be given to Zardari’s allegation that the establishment has an aversion to the PPP. But this can only be countered by addressing the people’s problems and putting the country on the right track. The way forward can be through negotiations and not constant defiance.
Governments are judged by the results they produce, not by the level of suffering in the past. Constant harping on the martyrdom of political leaders only undermines their sacrifices. People recognise the PPP’s travails. Friends and foes pay homage to Benazir Bhutto’s valour. But compassion for her does not necessarily extend to her spouse and other party leaders. Zardari’s repeated attempts to stir up sentiments in the context of raising his children singlehandedly have backfired. There are millions of people doing so without any support or resources. Emotionalism on that score often appears manipulative.
No doubt, the greatest loss of Benazir Bhutto’s assassination is felt by her family, but this cannot be a reason to snub those asking for a full-fledged investigation into her killing. Murder is a crime against society and people have the right to insist and expect that with the PPP in power, the party should pursue the case of their revered leader with vigour. A UN fact-finding exercise is no alternative to a criminal investigation. Zardari’s outburst that he would either occupy the presidency, the Prime Minister House or a prison was bizarre. His reference to the Prime Minister House suggests he is eying the office once the 17th Amendment is repealed. Politicians must also be prepared to sit outside the corridors of power. His famous words, “Pakistan khappay”, were appreciated all round but cannot be thrust down the throats of the nation as a great favour.
Obama’s Afghan policy is bound to play itself out in Pakistan. The transition to civilian rule will be under constant strain until it gives in to the military’s policies. To overcome it the government must build larger political alliances at home and depend less on Washington’s patronage. Ranting about conspiracies being brewed is no deterrence. Instead, the president should have stepped back, allowing others in his party to woo the opposition, especially after Nawaz Sharif denounced extra constitutional measures to topple the government. The PPP’s response was to let loose the Punjab governor on the PML-N. There are a number of people, sticking out like sore thumbs, on television hysterically defending the government where no defence is possible.
The repeal of the 17th Amendment is being delayed on some pretext or another, allowing no space for the opposition to close ranks with the PPP. No wonder there are now calls by the opposition for resignations by PPP ministers. And now the PML-N has arrogated to itself the task of championing the fight against corruption! Irony rules over all else in Pakistan.
While bickering continues in Islamabad and amongst political forces, ordinary folk continue to face violence and economic hardship. They hear ad nauseam the sacrifices made by the judiciary, the military and the politicians for the cause of democracy and rule of law. Yet none of these paragons of virtue, holding positions of power, contemplated resignations on a point of principle. Neither have they protested, when in power, on issues other than those that singularly affected them. Every political party agrees that military rule has been a disaster, yet they are unable to marginalise the army’s influence in politics. All deals and crucial decisions are left to the military. Once there is a transition to civilian rule, politicians begin to stab each other in the back, and the establishment, with the help of other institutions, takes over the decision-making process. Eventually, politicians are unceremoniously thrown out and end up playing martyr.
No doubt Pakistani politicians have suffered and been demonised, but they are rewarded as well. In reality, people who have truly sacrificed are those who have put themselves and their children to eternal sleep because they had no food, no mercy and no hope. Those who sacrifice also consist of judges of subordinate courts who face immense pressure, have few resources and must deliver tough judgments without any security from the state; they consist of those who flee from war at an hour’s notice and of those who lose their lives in daily bomb attacks; of political workers who keep the flame of democracy alive while their leaders are in exile and of foot soldiers who die in conflict unleashed by the skewed policies of their seniors.
If Pakistan survives it is no thanks to the powerful and the mighty. The credit goes to the resilient people of this country who are witnessing a constant tamasha.
The writer is chairperson of the Human Rights Commission of Pakistan.
Again its victory of Judiciary Victory of Chief justice,Qazi anwar,All Lawyers who supported Judiciary ,Athar Minullah,Nawaz Sharif ,Imran Khan,Jamaat E islami & Whole nation who prayed and condemn Zardari n his corrupt tola.
Thook kay chatna koi PPP say seekhay.
They are shameless people they will say its “Jamhooriyat ka husaan hai”
Or they will say people of Pakistan n Politicians interprated our statements in a wrong way.
We talked in a different context
Shame on these hipocrate people who lies 24/7 but not gonna accept.
100 Piyaz 100 jootay
One thing which always amazes me is how ‘dheet’ Zardari and even PM Gilani has become. Instead of taking credit, they eat 100 piyaz with 100 Jootay and let others be the winners.
Judiciary, PML N, PTI etc are winners and ruling eite are losers again
As far Gilani, he is a friend of Zardari. A man is known by the company he keeps!
PPP had no option other than surrender otherwise they could face disquaqlification.
Thieves always do as they do baseless,shameless,hipocrat party has lost whole credibilty.But they goof will definatly expect some consession from CJ which is not a joke.Judiciary got more power CJ strengthen his position.
@ Admin please upload the comment soon.it spoils the fun if it is too late.
@All
This is my theory that “dunya “channel is ploughing the ground to make it fertile for General Musharraf’s political and victorious reutrn to Pakistan,while deluding us with neutrality
To Back my theory up I will put forward the following argument
1.NS show—Ex General’s Ex Lover(spiritual)
2. Naseem Zehra— Ex General Ex Admirer
3. Mian amir (owner)— Ex general ‘s Ex Mayor/Nazim Lahore
6.Hasb e Haal In the name of humor;they have managed to make fun of PMLN/judiciary the most.It is subtle but very consistent.Think of the lawyers movement jokes,then almost the scanals regarding the leaderships(songs on the telephone),Rana Sanaullah’s plaza
5.Dr. Peerzada— Has been in the last 2-3 programs has mentioned that both the aprties have failed to deliver in center and punjab.Is there a room for a third one.He goes on to mention IK;and here is the catch(in my view);he would after IK in few days to weeks start saying IK or The Ex’s
Knowing fully every one here would just take a pro or anti judiciary stance here without paying least attention to the material under discussion in the program, I still would like to raise some point!
1-It seems that after a solitary act of not bowing down against Musharaf (which of course could very well be attributed to “just saving their jobs”) and hence receiving the stature of ANGELS, whatever blunders this judiciary makes (from writing “shairs” on legal decisions like some backward urdu medium moron to meeting executives just because they were wily enough to embark on that old school and tribal tradition of “ghar aie mehman ki aajizana request” or from letting the media cover highly classified discussion on “judicial policy” to being careless enough to leave highly important piece of documents unsigned on the right date ) are all put under the carpet just because its a forgone conclusion that they can never be wrong!
2-Now had it been any other civilized country, the kind of loop hole najam exposed today would have been revelation by the media in terms of judicial ignorance and non-professionalism..you know the kind of “INVESTIGATIVE JOURNALISM” that the media is all about!!!
But since it is our good old Pakistan, a country where media is all about those good for nothing masala talk shows and altercations or about covering those fast moving cars of CJ, NS, PM etc..hence no one would even bother as to how important a revelation the guy made today because at the end of the day he is just a secular and leftists bastard, an agent of israel/india who is hell bent on conspiring against the “ISLAM KA QILLA” i.e DEAR PAKISTAN OF OURS!
3-Now to all those who would ignore today’s revelation of Najam’s just because
according to them all he was talking about was some late signs and irrelevant things mentioned by judiciary in irrelevant cases, I would like to remind is that the same kind of garamatical mistakes were made by the british law when it said “Hang him” instead of “Hang him till death” which made a guy called Muhammad Ali Jinnah take advantage of it when he managed to get his client released moment before his death!
Moral of the story: Either take the modern form of constitution seriously or just go back to those ridiculous ancient tribal laws of giving a guy benefit of doubt just because his shirt was ripped from his back which meant that he couldn’t be a RAPE VICTIM!
Lastly, Do our country a good and Suggest Athar minallah to sell milk (not only because he looks like a gawala) but also because the way he was all at sea today when it came to give logical and relevant arguments in response to some logical questions, it is almost official that he could be anything but a lawyer( let alone a lawyer who also happens to be a spokesman of the CJ!
@justice
“This is my theory that “dunya “channel is ploughing the ground to make it fertile for General Musharraf’s political and victorious reutrn to Pakistan”
If Gen. Musharaaf wants to come back and join politics it’s better than sitting unaccountable in self imposed exile. If he is fairly elected as PM it’s better than any Genral repeating 12th Oct or July 5th coup. Ayub, Yaya and Zia never bothered to answer for their deeds and I am sure if Musharaaf doesn’t join politics he will go to grave unaccounted and untouched like his predessors.
@time
May be you are right about the General.
I am more interested to know your opinion about the role of Dunya News. I am baffled with the consistency of negative propaganda at this Channel against CJP
Today Asma Jahangir said that country is heading towards judicial dictatorship.
She may be right. If that is the case, let it be.
Judicial dictatorship is million times better than military or democratic dictatorship.
I am all for judicial dictatorship. At least we eventually would have de-politicize judiciary which will then might make police to be significantly de-politicized institution. As far Najam is concerned, he distorts historical facts. What our SC did, the US’s SC is known for this very well during late 1950′s, 60′s,70′s. Whatver he said should not be believe without critical evaluation, nor what I have said.
Judicial dictatorship == Zindabad
Asma Jehangir is a staunch PPP supporter. Even if Zardari goes on a killing spree Asma will support the PPP. Everyone agrees, including Najam Sethi, that the notification sent by the government was in error but Ms. Asma Jehangir goes out of her way to say that we are under ” judicial dictatorship”. What she fails to comprehend is that the parliment can go and change the constitution and the supreme court will have to adhere by it. The PPP doesnot have the requisite numbers to make that change.
” …blunders this judiciary makes (from writing “shairs” on legal decisions like some backward urdu medium moron ………………”
What a load of horse “sh*t” !!!!!
So it is Ok for British judges to quote Shakespeare in their decisions, but when Pakistani judges quote Urdu poets, these ‘coconuts’ full of inferiority complex cannot digest it !!!!
Retards !!!!
I simply didn’t understand the purpose of the program. If this was an issue, it should have been brought in the year 2007; or perhaps 2008! Why now?
Najam Sethi has really disappointed me.
Lastly, the mess which created by Musharraf can not be clean in a straight-forward manner.
A new social contract is being written. That is, whether SC restoration was legal or not, 3rd nov order was passed or not, people of Pakistan has rallied behind CJ and get him restored. He is not restored through legal process but by social movement. Therefore, these legal trivialities does not matter at all.
@madeel
Najam Sethi and Athar Abbas of Express news both look disappointed and much frustrated dont know why? They may be afraid of departure of cuurent govt. doing good governance. So its just frustartion, the reason this frustration is very much clear.
Sethi, who will believe you ?
you supported Musharaf 8 years and now pretending to be very truthful person.
Why can’t we appreciate government decision on appointing judiciary as per CJ advise; would you have appreciated if the govt were gone on collision course? we should give credits to govt for for not validating unconstitutional and illegal acts anymore.
Sethi can you please provide reasons for supporting Musharaf for 8 years ?
With apologies from Munir Niazi:
Tum ne to bana li hai aadat hi Zardari apni
100 pyaaz bhi khaana or 100 joote bhi khana
@planet372
Did you ask same question to rest of the country? Why did they support Musharaaf for 7 and a half years when his ratings were hovering around 70% …..
When ever I see this Najam Sethi’s any talk show, I always feel he is BIG SHAITAAN by nature and I hate to see his talk shows and have started to avoid seeing or listening him any more.
@time
Mushraff imposed himself on the country. We did not elect him
Are you defending Sethi for supporting Musharraf.
@planet372
I am not all I am saying why are you just blaming him. Najam Sethi did not generate 70% approval ratings that Musharaaf enjoyed over seven years. We all are culprits. Iftikhar Chaudhry played his role in legitimizing him, Imran Khan ran his refrendum compaign, media projected him as hero. Those who didn’t like PMLN are now dealing with Kiyani/GHQ. So why just single out Najam Sethi just bcaz you don’t agree with his political analysis.
In this episode, Najam Sethi showed his bias. Athar Minullah was not given his due share of the time and he was interrupted time and again. Whereas others were given uninterrupted time.
@time
its not a good excuse by saying “i am a bad person so what, many others are”.
if Musharraf had 70% approval rating, he would have not been running out of the country.
even if Sethi had supported Musharraf but if today he accept his mistakes our nation will accept his appology but even now how openly defend his support for Musharraf. this is his character to support corrupt/evil persons like musharraf and zardari.
@planet372
Lets keep the facts straight. I didn’t say his approval ratings were 70% when he left. Judicial crisis dropped his ratings before that even though he grabed power unconstituionally his approval ratings were very high.
There were not many who opposed Musharaaf through out. And it is not an excuse it’s relative grading is reality. Najam Sethi was not lone supporter of dictator, from present CJ to Nawaz Sharif to Bhutto everyone strenghten dictator at some point. You can’t use this as a litmus test.
@time
you are missing the point.
The difference is Nawaz Sharif or Bhutto or even Imran Khan accepted their mistake.
but Sethi still supporting Musharaff.
@planet372
Accepted mistake? are you kiding me? BB came to power after negotiating with GHQ in ’1988. Shahbaz Sharif and Ch. Nisar are rebuilding relationship with GHQ. Imran Khan criticises civilian gov but never criticises GHQ directly on their policies on war against terror. All these so called gharutmund journalists Ansar Abbasi, Haroon Rashid even Talat Hussein and Hamid Mir do not criticise GHQ. Look at media coverage we had in Pakistan on Moulana Baradar’s arrest.
Whatever Musharaaf did his corp commanders were onboard. His hand pick deputy Gen. Kiyani is still following his (actually GHQ’s) policies. All pundits from media, civil society and politicians criticise Zardari and Rehman Malik for that but nobody ccriticise the actual culprits – the military leadership. They all know if they do security agencies can target them as they are doing in Baluchistan, as they arrested Javed Hashmi, even he doesn’t say anything about army now.
I don’t know how can you just single out Najam Sethi. I will again say your litmus test is flawed. In Pakistan no one can ignore the fact that buck stops at GHQ. Why don’t you accept it’s not Najam Sethi’s pro-Musharaaf or anti -Musharaaf views it’s his political views that you can not stand.
@Justice
Sorry I missed your reply earlier.
I don’t think Dunya TV is projecting Musharaaf. Musharaaf was most powerful man in Pakistan for 9 years. During that era he must have built some life long relations with few in media. Najam Sethi and Athar Abbas and may be few others. Individually few anchors may defend/project himbecause of personal relations but I don’t think Dunya TV is doing that. I watch Hasb e haal, Duniya Today, Policy matters all these anchors are fairly anti-Musharaaf . You can argue Najam Sethi or Athar Abbas on express has some soft corner for Musharaaf and frankly I don’t think there is anything wrong with it.
There are many in media like Haroon Rashid, Ansar Abbasi, Mushtaq Minhas etc who still praise and defend Zia. I don’t think they defend Zia bcaz he took power unconstitutionally they defend him because of his religious views. Pundits on right see commanalities and based on that they defend Zia. Similarly few liberal anchors appreciates Musharaaf progresive and moderate approach expecially his U turns from Zia era.
I will again repeat we will be fortunate if Musharaaf joins politics. Gen. Irshad was hanged after he joined politics. As ex-COAS no civilian can dare to touch him. Gen Beg, Hamid Gul, Asad Durani all in Pakistan comes on TV every other day and challenge judicary to trial them bcaz they know no institution can dare to trial them. But once they become politicians even Gen. Tika Khanwent to jail for few months as PPP’s genral secretary.
@time
Musharraf was criticized when he was in power. otherwise he would have not put ban on the media. Have you forgotten Hamid Mir doing programs on the streets ?
secondly i come to the same point its not a good excuse “if I am a criminal so what everyone else is”
If Najam Sethi is doing wrong, i will still criticize him. same rule apply for nawaz sharif , BB or Imran Khan. but if they accept their mistake then we should accept their apology.
please also remember these politicians are elected representative so they should be critized more.
@planet372
I do remember Musharaaf’s ban on media but that was late in his tenure after March 2007 judicial crisis. This so called free electronic media was created by Musharaaf in early days and media on the whole gave him a free pass. The good ratings he enjoyed was bcaz of media. Besides whats wrong with supporting Musharaaf. When Nawaz Sharif can build working relationship with GHQ after being sacked and jailed why can’t Sheikh Rashid. When Iftikhar Ch. can build relations with GHQ after being forced out why just to blame Ather Abbas. When BB can build relations with GHQ after her father was hanged by GHQ why can’t Najam Sethi.
Besides Why don’t you use same litmus test, supported or opposed dictator, on those who supported mard e mujahid Zia-ul-haq; people like Ansar Abbasi, Haroon Rashid, Qazi Hussain Ahmed, Nawaz Sharif and the list goes on and on.
Madeel and Yusaf Khan ji!
Ms. Asma Jahangir is a great lady. Please read the following her article.
Irony rules over all else
By Asma Jahangir
LEADERSHIP in Pakistan is its own worst enemy. It is quick to grab the limelight but lacks the ability to gracefully preserve the often ill-found glory and veneration that falls into its lap. Lessons are not learnt and heroes emerge because of the mistakes of adversaries.
Gen Musharraf’s highhandedness made the Supreme Court a champion of people’s rights. The handling of the NRO gave back to the presidency the support it was losing from its own party. And now, the swansong of Asif Ali Zardari to a bewildered audience only exposed his incoherence and insensitivity to the occasion. It was a rare opportunity to remind the people of Benazir Bhutto’s philosophy of reconciliation and urge for unity to strengthen the democratic process. Instead, he threatened to pull out the eyeballs of those who dared to undermine ‘democracy’.
Democracy is not simply an exercise in electoral politics. It may begin there but also ends there if other components remain absent. Absolute power for the president under a parliamentary form of government does not reinforce democracy. A politically partisan president can hardly claim to be a champion of democracy.
Maintaining a huge cabinet is not the government’s right; it is an abuse of the people’s trust in it. Most importantly, democracy can only be sustained in a system that remains accountable and is respected by the people.
The PPP is facing a number of challenges including the absence of a seasoned leadership. Still the government has made some positive moves, including reforms in Gilgit-Baltistan, offering an olive branch to the enraged Baloch and reaching a consensus on the NFC award. But it has also erred. There is no governance in sight, corruption is still tolerated if not encour
aged and the Dogar period saw some of the worst practices in the judicial system fully backed by the ruling party. Credence can be given to Zardari’s allegation that the establishment has an aversion to the PPP. But this can only be countered by addressing the people’s problems and putting the country on the right track. The way forward can be through negotiations and not constant defiance.
Governments are judged by the results they produce, not by the level of suffering in the past. Constant harping on the martyrdom of political leaders only undermines their sacrifices. People recognise the PPP’s travails. Friends and foes pay homage to Benazir Bhutto’s valour. But compassion for her does not necessarily extend to her spouse and other party leaders. Zardari’s repeated attempts to stir up sentiments in the context of raising his children singlehandedly have backfired. There are millions of people doing so without any support or resources. Emotionalism on that score often appears manipulative.
No doubt, the greatest loss of Benazir Bhutto’s assassination is felt by her family, but this cannot be a reason to snub those asking for a full-fledged investigation into her killing. Murder is a crime against society and people have the right to insist and expect that with the PPP in power, the party should pursue the case of their revered leader with vigour. A UN fact-finding exercise is no alternative to a criminal investigation. Zardari’s outburst that he would either occupy the presidency, the Prime Minister House or a prison was bizarre. His reference to the Prime Minister House suggests he is eying the office once the 17th Amendment is repealed. Politicians must also be prepared to sit outside the corridors of power. His famous words, “Pakistan khappay”, were appreciated all round but cannot be thrust down the throats of the nation as a great favour.
Obama’s Afghan policy is bound to play itself out in Pakistan. The transition to civilian rule will be under constant strain until it gives in to the military’s policies. To overcome it the government must build larger political alliances at home and depend less on Washington’s patronage. Ranting about conspiracies being brewed is no deterrence. Instead, the president should have stepped back, allowing others in his party to woo the opposition, especially after Nawaz Sharif denounced extra constitutional measures to topple the government. The PPP’s response was to let loose the Punjab governor on the PML-N. There are a number of people, sticking out like sore thumbs, on television hysterically defending the government where no defence is possible.
The repeal of the 17th Amendment is being delayed on some pretext or another, allowing no space for the opposition to close ranks with the PPP. No wonder there are now calls by the opposition for resignations by PPP ministers. And now the PML-N has arrogated to itself the task of championing the fight against corruption! Irony rules over all else in Pakistan.
While bickering continues in Islamabad and amongst political forces, ordinary folk continue to face violence and economic hardship. They hear ad nauseam the sacrifices made by the judiciary, the military and the politicians for the cause of democracy and rule of law. Yet none of these paragons of virtue, holding positions of power, contemplated resignations on a point of principle. Neither have they protested, when in power, on issues other than those that singularly affected them. Every political party agrees that military rule has been a disaster, yet they are unable to marginalise the army’s influence in politics. All deals and crucial decisions are left to the military. Once there is a transition to civilian rule, politicians begin to stab each other in the back, and the establishment, with the help of other institutions, takes over the decision-making process. Eventually, politicians are unceremoniously thrown out and end up playing martyr.
No doubt Pakistani politicians have suffered and been demonised, but they are rewarded as well. In reality, people who have truly sacrificed are those who have put themselves and their children to eternal sleep because they had no food, no mercy and no hope. Those who sacrifice also consist of judges of subordinate courts who face immense pressure, have few resources and must deliver tough judgments without any security from the state; they consist of those who flee from war at an hour’s notice and of those who lose their lives in daily bomb attacks; of political workers who keep the flame of democracy alive while their leaders are in exile and of foot soldiers who die in conflict unleashed by the skewed policies of their seniors.
If Pakistan survives it is no thanks to the powerful and the mighty. The credit goes to the resilient people of this country who are witnessing a constant tamasha.
The writer is chairperson of the Human Rights Commission of Pakistan.
Web Link of Article:
http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/editorial/irony-rules-over-all-else-029