l Capital Talk – 23 February 2010 | Pakistan Politics
{ 108 comments... read them below or add one }

• mango said:

Oh Hamid Mir and Irfan Saddiqui, Humayun Ghohar just exposed you. Bringing sounds bites from 05, 06, 07 just to malign Sheikh Rasheed.

May the force be with you Sheikh Rasheed. Go Win Win Win.

• hashimraza said:

Yellow Journalism on its best.

Whats the point of this programme? tommorow is election and todays night we have this programme specifically targetting Sheikh Rasheed and showing his old clips and everyone on this programme talking against him. They could’ve aired this programme after election but the purpose to stop people from voting Sheikh Rasheed.

This Irfan Siddiqui guy who is a big chamcha of NS countinously writing in his column against Sheikh Rasheed every day and now he is invited in this program. Hamid Mir’s intentions were very clear here. I don’t support Sheikh Rasheed or anyone else for that matter but this was really one of the worst program I have ever seen as it was aired just to influence the voters at the last moment. I guess Nawaz sharif $$’s are working big time…

• canada1 said:

GEO TV you must geo because you have exposed this hypocrite, liar, lota who has no base. He is hungry for minister ship. He is a murderer of three innocent supporters, He is directly involved in Jamia Hafsa incident.Whole of his politics was based against PPP.
    But now he is giving Fatwas that Bhutto & Benazir were actual shaheed.I m not supporter of Nawaz but any lota should not be elected anyways.
    He was the biggest supporter of Mushi he always called his name with most respect “SYED PERVAIZ MUSHARAF” but after impeachment when he realized Mushi is nothing now he immediately changed his views n started barking against him.
    This kind of hypocrisy must be stopped now.

• Faisal said:

hashimraza said:
    Yellow Journalism on its best.

Watch yesterday’s Off The Record you will get some relief from pain
    http://pkpolitics.com/2010/02/22/off-the-record-22-february-2010/

• SA said:

Good one, I was hoping someone bring his old clips… should have been done much earlier…

• canada1 said:

must watch todays KUL TAK Sh.Rashed & Imran Khan
    Sh.Rasheed again lying all of his objections are of Fedral level, but he is blaiming Punjab Govt.
    This level of guy who does not know who is more responsible for all these issues.He is trying to make fool again.Imran talked wel.

• BE COOL said:

Irfan Saddiqui, Javed Chaudry, are paid puppies of Nawaz GAnjo

• Sarmad Masud said:

Despite my extreme hatred for Sh Rashid, I consider this programme unfair. Why was there a need for this programme? To divert the public opinion? Or Sh. Rashid’s Chances are bright.?
    I am disappointed by Hamid Mir, he shouldn’t be a party to anyone.
    Moreover, I dont think any media gave coverage to Imran or JI, which is unfair as well.
    Dr.Sarmad
    Dublin

• canada1 said:

BE COOL,what do you think about Najam Sethi,Abbass Thar & his team,Kamran Sahid?

• UmeR said:

haha, finally some sanity. Sheikh exposed in 55 seconds.

This election is not between PMLN vs SHEIKH.
    but this is a election between PMLN vs SHEIKH + PPP + PMLQ + JUI/

And Inshallah, PMLN will win, and will win handsomely. and PTI should be second.

• maxpk said:

,,,,,ساراہ پروگرام یك طرفہ حامد میر صاحب كون سا غصہ نكال رہے ہیں شیخو پر

• tayyab1796 said:

On SamaTV Sheikh Rashid was saying an hour ago that an anchor is trying to malign him and discredit him and i was wondering which anchor is Sheikh refering to , now i got my answer.

• hashimraza said:

It was all personal between Hamid Mir and Shiekhoo. Hamid Mir tried his best to influence voters against Shiekhoo.

• ALi Ch said:

@maxpk
    bhai ji ap ko yaad ho ga last time talli jab hm key prog main aya tha to us ne hm ko jhoota sabat karney ki koshish ki thi usi ka badla hai…. saaf mukar gia tha key main ye nain kaha k main hanif abasi air shakil awan key sath prog nain karoon ga lol

• QAISER KK said:

حامد میر صاحب آپ کا یہ پروگرام حا لصتا شیخ رشید کے خلاف کیا بھت افسوس ھوا آپ جیسے شخص کو ایسا پروگرام –ون سایڈڈ نھیں کرنا چاھیے ھم شیخ رشید کے حامی نھیں مگر ——————————–

• UmeR said:

sheikh ko vote do, “uss nay deewarain chaari hain”. :D

• canada1 said:

He just shown him mirror about public opinion,views of Maulana Abdul Aziz.& his previous statements.what was wrong?

• canada1 said:

What a Nasha of power
    This Talee wrote a book against PPP to impress Nawaz Sharif, 7 times elected through his party then laft him when he was thrown out.Praised & Licked Mushi balls but suddenly left him alone when he is gone.
    Now he is praising Zardari …….what gnna happen if you could loose tommorow.

• *RhyMe* said:

Very well exposed….Shaikh Rasheed should lose at any cost because Pindites cant afford this liar,killer,loser,puppet of mushy once again…

• tayyab1796 said:

Allah Almighty ki shaan hai aaj say sirf teen saal pehlay tak Sheikh Rashid and his mates were icons of proud , above the law , looked down upon ordianry folks and look at them now struggling for political survival, asked for justice from the same judge about whom they used to say ‘Iftikhar Chaudhry is a stupa of history ‘ and now literally begging people for their votes . I don’t see a very different fate of the present courtiers of the Presidency.

• wassemjafree said:

Listen Pindi Waalo

Strictly NO sympathy vote for Sheikh Rasheed. As Peoples Party is supporting Sheikh Rasheed, therefore a vote to Sheikh Rashee is a vote to Zardari.
    And vote PML-N is a vote to Nawaz Sharif khusra…..who was hoping that Zardari will disppear soon and he will become PM.

Only Imran Khan candidate should get the votes. Only vote for Ijaz Khan Jazi the PTI candidate.

• farfront said:

This is how mostly we Pakistani are ! Hypocrates at their peak.

• farfront said:

This is how mostly we Pakistani are ! Hypocrates at their peak.

• farfront said:

Totally agree with Waeemjafree !

• b4boy said:

i belong to NA 55 and according to my observations PMLN is winning , but before attack on sheikh rasheed Jazi khan was 2nd and sheikh was 3rd, but after that attack plus with the support of PPP+PLMQ+JUI, directly and TI and JI indirectly ( by reducing PMLN votes ) sheikh has become on 2nd but Inshallah at any cost he cannot win, because we ( NA 55 people ) are not foolish.

• Mulla Nafs e Zakkiya said:

Sheikh Rasheed lost!

• baniya313 said:

ISS LOTA KO TOU RAWALPINDI KI GALIO MA JOTA MARNE CHAHIA

YE LAL MASJID KA QATALOO MA SE AIK HA

• winter said:

I guess media does have some sway. Initially I thought that the program was biased and in reality it actually was. However, I guess people like Sheikh Rasheed should be exposed after all. Plus, don’t you guys think that its unfair that PPP, PML-Q and maulana Diesel are all supporting Sheikh Rasheed just because he is standing against PML-N.

Not that I like PML-N, but we have to give them a break. They are atleast much better than PPP and Sheikh Rasheed. Although personally I would have voted for PTI.

• baniya313 said:

B4BOY YOU R RIGHT

NOW A DAYS NO PAKISTANI IS FOOFLISH BUT I THINK PTI SHOULD BE ON 2nd

• RoshanKhiyal said:

Please remember this…
    Sheiko is jumping up and down only because of PML-N principal stand. They asked the elected member to resign. No I may disagree with NS on other issues but I have to give him credit for this. Now is it fair to punish PML-N for there principal stand.

Only people of Rawalpindi will decide. Just please remember why Sheiko has a chance to contest elections again.

• baniya313 said:

KOI BATAE “CAMEETI CHOWK ” NA 55 MA HA YA NHI????????????????????

• canada1 said:

B4Boy,Thanks to give us an exact picture in NA 55 this kind of looters should be hanged infront of public.How disgustingly he lies all the time.PTI is getting strength day by day.I think PTI did not select a strong & wel known candidate this time but future is bright for PTI

• asim ali jan said:

Shame on u HAMID MIR. I have had great respect for u and u were my ideal. im not supporting Shaikh Rashid, my vote will goes to PTI but this was really yellow journalism.
    SHAME ON U

• RoshanKhiyal said:

Good Job Hamid Mir. It has nothing do with being pro PML-N or PPP. It is about exposing Sheikh Rasheed. I hope people will remember that when they vote.

• canada1 said:

All of my brothers who are sending shame on HM they must watch DUNIYA with Moeed Pirzada.Is there yellow journalism every where?

• Fahad siddiqui said:

BIASED HAMID MIR cause shaikh rasheed proved him a LIAR on one of his shows

• hofiftytwo said:

Good show Hamid Mir. Shaikh has played with media a lot and its little bit back from media.

Sheikho exposed again.

• farfront said:

@Baaniya313 , Comitee Chowk is in NA 55

• ahmad ahsan hashmi said:

salam again to hamid mir you showing truth people should know even 1 minute before election good for pakistan this rashid call syed to mushraf he is lier he greedy for mna seat ,he is not faithful people of pakistan should not give chance ;ike thease leader,otherwise no wonder next woman not afia any one els sister,mother or daughter will handover to america ,please vote for imran khan

• mujtaba-ali said:

hamayoun gohar ki bat tu sahi ha
    Hamid Mir Targeted Sheikh Rasheed in this program …. not intending to damage his election but to make a clear picture .. which ultimately doing the damage … but thats the truth .. if u sit back and see what this man has been doing .. u can find that all of it is true about him … every one in pindi knows that in 2002 he swear that the seats belong to NS and he gathered votes in his name but then he switched his side
    i dont think that if not helpeby establishment he would succeed … as Pindi people still remember lal mosque and musharaf …

• maxpk said:

@maxpk
    bhai ji ap ko yaad ho ga last time talli jab hm key prog main aya tha to us ne hm ko jhoota sabat karney ki koshish ki thi usi ka badla hai…. saaf mukar gia tha key main ye nain kaha k main hanif abasi air shakil awan key sath prog nain karoon ga lol

@ALi Ch:
    سو فیصددرست مگر یہاں بات ٹلی كی نہیں حامد میر كی ہو رہی ہے اب میں سخت خلاف ہوں شیخو كے مگر یہ بھی تو انصاف نہیں پرانے سكریپٹ برانئی آخبار تے تازہ خبراں وہ بھی بے چارے شیخ صاحب كے خلاف

• mujtaba-ali said:

PTI supporters
    bros .. dilli hanooz door ast …
    abhi bohut kuch kerna baki ha …
    IK need a serious help from any side … perhaps some thing like a mistake or blunder from others would help him …. other wise he is lacking a lot of things … and the top most is a good team …

• mujtaba-ali said:

@canada1
    i agree with u and for those who dont know … Moeed Pirzada is the most highly ranked journalist in Pakistan …

• Muhammad Majeed said:

Hamid Mir;
    Sheikh Rasheed could loose tomorrow but you lost today

• maxpk said:

Shaikh Rasheed Blamming Hamid Mir & Irfan Siddiqui for Today’s Capital Talk before by Election 2010

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cmhnugeWrtU

HM did 100% right for showing this and reminding people of his past, he smokes a cigar of 2000 rupees from CUBA and talks about poor Awaam.

• taufeeqbaig said:

Shame on Hamid Mir. He is not a neutral anchor.

• SHAHID CHAUDHRY said:

This program is not actually, Hamid Mir must be neutral, has he forgotten about PLM(N) what they have done in past. Hamid Mir just focused on PMLN. Alas!!

I am not supporting any party but anchor must be neutral.

• Believer said:

Thanks Hamid Mir

Now people can make better decision

• time said:

Even though this was target killinng of Sheikh Rashid and is definitely against the journalistic norms but I don’t have any problem with that. It was mostly Sheikh Rashid’s clips that deserves to be on air before tomorrow’s elections.

If it was paid commercial by PMLN it couldn’t be better than this … may be it is:)

• ZEE said:

humayun gauhar is very true

everyone is lota here

but his family is not

first his father licked the ba**s of ayyub khan

and then he himself licked the b**s of musharaf

very loyal family

• mango said:

Dil jeet lia ha Sheikh Shab baat ker kay. May Allah help you win…. and you open more schools, colleges, and hospitals.

And here is a question for other party leaders

Where is Nawaz Sharif Polytechnics College?
    Where is Bhutto memorial hospitals?
    Where is Sharifs Schools of business administration?

No where.

Go Sheikh Shab Go.

• GHQ said:

Hamid mir sahib shiekh is going to loose because of you!!!!!!!!
    I am not fan of Sheikh but this is not fair!!!!
    Shame on GEO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• time said:

@GHQ

“Hamid mir sahib shiekh is going to loose because of you!!!!!!!!”

What about Sheikh’s past, will tha have any role if Sheikh loose tomorrow? I understand in politics there are no permanent friends or enemies so I don’t have much issues with his lotacracy. I think Lal Masjid was a right operation, so I won’t have any problem with that either.

My biggest issue with Sheikh is that he is GHQ’s spokesman in political areana. I want to see PMLN, PTI, Sheikh, JI all defeated. May be I should root for that Trader …. :)

• MahmoodChaudhry said:

i have a question for everyone that wht Saheeda Taale is so desparate to become mna,he wants to be in politics forever after all blunders he has done,so he will loose i can bet?

• Revolution انقلاب said:

Well done HM. Although it wasn’t a neutral program but this is the best way to show mirror to people like sheikhoo. watch the link below how upset he is after this program

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cmhnugeWrtU&feature=player_embedded

• canada1 said:

Today HM Capital Talk got importance same like MERAY MUTABIQ just because of TRUE Picture of Sh.Rasheed.If we see todays comments in the favour of Sh.Rasheed all supporters are the same who support ZARDARI & PPP every day.
    This support would be major cause of lost for Sh.Rasheed.

• wbuttar said:

I am not a supporter of Sheikhu but Hamid Mir proved to be a partial individual he should also expose others like N.S etc.

• virgoind said:

SHAME ON “HAMID MIR” .

SHEIKH WILL WIN INSHALLAH.

• virgoind said:

HAMID MIR GOT BIG MONEY FROM NAWAZ. THIS IS AN EXAMPLE OF YELLOW JOURNALISM.

HAMID MIR,
    SHAME SHAME SHAME SHAME SHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAME SHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAMESHAME SHAME SHAME SHAME

• wasimibr said:

@virgoind said:
    SHAME ON “HAMID MIR” .

SHEIKH WILL WIN INSHALLAH

I fully agree with u, InshAllah Shaikh will have the same amazing wins like 2008

• nota said:

@hashimraza said:

“Yellow Journalism on its best.

Whats the point of this programme? tommorow is election and todays night we have this programme specifically targetting Sheikh Rasheed…”

100% agree with you and others expressing the same.

@Believer said:

“Thanks Hamid Mir
    Now people can make better decision”

If you needed this program to make a better decision, than you have been asleep for a very long time…

@canada1 said:
    “All of my brothers who are sending shame on HM they must watch DUNIYA with Moeed Pirzada.Is there yellow journalism every where?”
    Yes!!!!! (Not every show might be like that but I have not seen any journalist who does not do ‘paid-adverts’ here and there….)

• david said:

SHEIKH RASHID ZINDA BAAD,
    HAMID MEER MURDA BAAD.
    lets boycot capital talk from now on.
    admin.thanks for becoming neutral.on the bestwebsite.of news views.

• Munir Solangi said:

@GHQ,

This programe is a slap on your face.Sheikh Rashid is sponsored by GHQ.Everybody in Pindi is aware that Zardari is supporting Sheikh just to please GHQ.

ISI managed a drama to attack on Sheikh Rashid for giving him some favor but this drama failed.Hamid Mir exposed the past of Sheikh Rashid as a true journalist.He said nothing but just showed old clips in which Sheikh was praising Musharraf.This show is not one sided.Hamayun Gohar was present to defend Sheikh Rashid.This fat man is the real author of Musharraf book “In the Line of Fire”.Hamid Mir rightly showed the book of Sheikh in capital talk in which he declared late Benazir Bhutto as “yellow Taxi”.

Shame on Zardari for supporting a LOTTA.

Shame on Imran Khan who is supporting drug mafia lord Ejaz Khan Jazi in Pindi.

Thanks Maulana Abdul Aziz for exposing Sheikh in this show.

• Munir Solangi said:

Hamid Mir won the hearts and minds of Benazir lovers by exposing Sheikh Rashid and irritated Zardari who is supporting Sheikh Rashid.

What man Zardari is?Sheikh Rashid declared his wife as a “taxi” and Zardari is supporting the same man.What is difference between Zardari and Mooda Kanjar(pimp)

• tayyab1796 said:

I don’t like Sheikh Rashid because of him being a Musharaf crony in his hay day, but HM should not have done this because now this provides an excuse to Sheikh Rashid .He can cry foul play now . Also this undermines HM ‘s credibility an otherwise very respected journalist .

• LalBichoo said:

What a pathetic manifestation of Yellow Journalism !
    Sheeda Tilli isn’t a saint, however there should be a difference between propaganda and journalism !
    Mr. Gohar rightly pointed out that it was infact target killing of Sheeda Tilli !

• time said:

Hamid Mir targeted Sheikh Rashid which was wrong. But what he showed are basically Sheikh Rashid’s old clips, couple of pro-Nawaz Sharif anchors and last but not the least statement of Lal masjid khateeb that Sheikh never contacted him exposing all his false claims. HM balanced over exposure that Sheikh got in last few weeks.

• Adeel Ayub said:

I think This time GEO as well as Hamid Mir take revenge from Sheikh Rasheed. And this program badly affect Shaikh’s vote bank.

anyways Geo proves to be a mean channel among Pakistani Media

• Quwat Khan Sunny said:

One thing is very clear. Those who wanna vote for Sheikh they wanna do so because he did something (Schools, Roads, Express way) and those who do not wanna vote say because of the face of Nawaz Sharif. That means the first group has some sense. The second one is Personality worshipers.

• UmeR said:

@ Quwat Khan Sunny

yeah, if something was left on this forum, it was your ‘fatwa’. Thanks for declaring anyone supporting NS a ‘Mushrik’….

• Faarigh Jazbati said:

AoA All

From the programme I get the following hints.

Establishment is ready to have a deal with NS and NS is ready to have a deal with establishment.

As a CBM to NS Establishment wants to show to the wider public that NS is still the most popular leader of Pakistan and he is the only person who has the support from all the provinces. The joining of AQ Baloch and Mehr Family to PLMN is the clrear indication of the mood and thinking of establishment.

Establishment wants to show to the political parties that they will use the force of the electronic media to finish them at any moment and from now on they will use the power of the media even at the last moment to do the target killing of any leader and party who is certain of winning the election.

Hamid Mir has exposed himself as the tout of the establishment.

This remind me of the Daily Sun in UK who in 1992 changed the mood of the public on the polling day to vote for tory party (John Major) instead of Labour even though before that every survey predicted Labour win

Last but not least, I dont think anybody will be shedding any tears if /when Sheeda Tuli loses the election and that including the people who are writing the comments in his favour.

• amiv234 said:

If Pakistanis want to get ditched again. They will bring PML(N)…
    Though NS is not very bad for the country as a whole, but today, Pakistan need Imran Khan’s (which is Quaid-e-Azam’s / Allama Iqbal’s) vision. At least for this term or later one, so we can follow the appropriate path…. Once institutions will get better, there will be no dispute that whoever is president, prime minister or establishment

• Quwat Khan Sunny said:

@UmeR

I am inspiring attention to Mushrikeen. Those who talk democracy and walk autocracy are both Mushrikeen and Munafiqeen. In pakistan, whoever does TC and remains num is declared to be Wafa Ka Peikar. Having a different opinion than that of Nawaz Sharif or Banazir is declared Lota. Thus 17 Crore nation minus Nawaz Sharif and Benazir are lotas because they by default have a different opinion. So Umer I wanna liberate you and myself from this divination. Please do not vote to Nawaz Sharif or Zardari. Vote for whoever you want.

• UmeR said:

@ Quwat Khan Sunny

do you even know what “Mushrikeen” means?

• UmeR said:

@ Faarigh Jazbati

oh really, tout of establishment?

Tell me the name of the anchor/columnist who has highlighted and supported the issue of missing persons the most, which is an direct confrontation with the establishment.

• Quwat Khan Sunny said:

@ Umer,

I know the religious prospective with due reverence.But I guess you used the word in political paradigm. In that case it would be partnering someone with Nawaz Sharif, the Eiffel tower of autocracy in Pakistan.

• Faarigh Jazbati said:

Dear UmeR

Just take a deep breath. Think of the scenario when Qazi Hussain and some other people went to supreme court against Gen Mush in 1990. Although no one else went to supreme court to rule over Mushy’s coup. And surprize surprize supreme court not only accept the coup but also give the right the Mushy to change the constitution despite the fact no one asked for it.

In politics sometine you need to create a situation which will play into your hands. This is only done through the people who are perceived to be your opponents/anti as no one will suspect them and also give them the image building that they are anti something.

Just read the column of Rauf Klasara “bees ssal baad” and you will understand how ruthless the political moves are.

• Chaudhary said:

Jnab Agr Hamid Meer ne Nawaz se Paisay (Big Amount) laini thi tou Pervaiz Musharaf jo her tara ki offer krwa chuka tha ous se kion nahi li ,,,,

Hamid Meer Zinda Bad !

Ye aina hia oun Sub Polition k laiy…. good continue hamid meer ,,, good job

• Proactive said:

Anyone who thinks that Hamid Mir undermined his credibility by showing this montage of clips regarding a certain aspect of Sheikh Rashid’s behaviour during his previous tenure as an MNA and Federal minister, needs a reality check.

Considering all the overwhelming positive media coverage both Sheikh Rashid and his campaign are getting, showing the other side fosters a more balanced viewpoint for the average viewer who is going to vote today. Hamid Mir and the Capital Talk team made a very positive contribution to journalism although the program. There were clips shown in which people talked good about him as well. Even the Jang reporter acknowledged Sheikh Rashid as a very smart and diligent campaigner.

As for Irfan Siddiqui, I do not consider him an analyst, just a good column writer. That’s all. That is why I’ve stopped reading him.

• Proactive said:

… “although the program” (forgot to delete this part)

• ALi Ch said:

بیچارے جیالے اور نواز شریف صاحب کے مخالفین کو بھوت برا لگا کہ حامد میر صاحب نے سچ کیوں دکھا دیا ایک طرف ہم آزاد اور سچا میڈیا مانگ رہے ہیں اور دوسری طرف ذاتی مخالفت کی بنا پر ہم سچ کو ہضم نہیں کر رہے
    میں اپنے یقین سے کہ سکتا ہوں کہ ہم لوگ ذہنی طور پر بھوت ہی زیادہ بیمار ہیں ہمارے اندر ایک چھوڑ اور ڈاکو بٹھا ہے اس لئے الله نے قرآن میں صاف لفظوں میں لکھ دیا ہے جیسی قوم ویسے حکمران
    اور مجے یہ بھی یقین ہے کہ یہ شیخو تلی آج نوں لیگ میں ہوتا اور انتخابات لڑ رہا ہوتا تو ہم لوگ ہی اس کی مخالفت میں لال مسجد بھی لے اتے اور مشرف کو بھی لے اتے سارا ماضی کھول کر تلی کو نہیں نواز شریف کو ٹارگٹ کر رہے ہوتے ہمارا اصل ٹارگٹ نواز شریف ہے

میرا لیڈر نواز شریف
    جند پاکستان
    جان پاکستان

• Muteness said:

Few days before Sheikh Rasheed refused Hamid Mir to participate his program and Hamid Mir also said him that he will not invite him again. So all of you can understand why HM did today’s program (revenge).

Hamid Mir shame on you.

This media is a puppet. Till monday media was inviting Sheikh Rasheed to programs to clear his position and promote him through media, but after the breakfast meeting with Nawaz the conditions turned at 90 degree and the media (all channels) gone against Sheikh Rasheed.

Note: I’m not a supporter of Sheikh Rasheed but i always analyze that where the media is taking us. All are fraud including media and all the parties. These all are the bogies of a single train, 1 party is first while coming and other party is first while going.

• pearl said:

Hamid Mir did a very best thing by exposing a hypocrete n oppurtionist…..why its yellow gernalism..its called reporting the truth..as waht ever he was showing was true…

every corrupt leader should be exposed…. n this is the best time toexpose a corrupt polition before election ..so people dont vote for a wrong man…

truth is only useful when u know it on time..that what Hamid Mir tried to do..he tried to warn people just by telling the truth

• Proactive said:

No doubt that media likes to spin things to suit particular purposes and those elements abound within this industry. But there times that media does the right thing in showing the clear picture as well. It would have been better if all the comments against Sheikh Rashid were done with him being interviewed. That was very necessary for this program.

• Believer said:

I think we need more programmes like this.

Journalists can never be impratial. They shouldn’t be impartial. They should take sides whenever they think someone is wrong.

As far Hamayun Gohar: another reason not to vote Sheikh Rashid if he is a supporter of Sheikh Sb.

• Believer said:

Can you ban Virgoind for violating your rules? He has written ALL CAPS and unecessary repeated ‘Shame’ and wasted a lot of space.

His unnecessarily long post is a strain on eyes.

• kingprawn said:

Todays LOTA award goes to Himid Mir for conducting a party political broadcast against Sheikh Rasheed.

• tasha said:

hamid mir saheb ap ko main or meri family main sab bohat pasand karte the or bohat shoq se ap ka prog dekhte the lekin kal k capital talk nne hamen bohat dukh hoa hamen ap se aisi umeed nahi thi main sheikh rasheed ki sporter nahi hon lekin votin se aik rat pehle ap ko aisa prog karna zeb nahi deta very bad hamid mir & geo tav

• tasha said:

shame hamid mir

• torontonian said:

Shame on Hamid Mir. It shows that Hamid Mir is a cheap person. The title of the show say “Capital Talk sponsored by Nawaz (Ganga) Sharif”. Shame on him.

• QAISER KK said:

HAMID MIR SHAME VERY BAD I THINK NOW YOU R CROS YOUR LIMIT

• UmeR said:

watch today’s dunya today, he has clarified why he did that…

• Cathy said:

i agree with what brother Umer has said!
    Watch Dunya Today,hamid Mir has clarified every thing!
    Sheikh Rasheed,you certainly deserve that defeat!

• hamza09 said:

LOVELY PROGRAM……………!~

• afisadi said:

DEAR ALL
    Irfan Saddique, is a person who is ready to do everything for Nawaz league. PML-N is his faith. He has crossed all limits in opposing PPP and others for Nawaz.
    Good job Hamid Mir, what a great journalist you are.
    Sh Rasheed lost, Hamid Mir and Irfan Saddique won.
    A journalist like them are a stigma on the face of journalism.

• truebalance said:

Hi All,

The objection is not on the content of the program but the timing of the program. The program was telecasted at a time when election campaign has ended and people were preparing for poles. Irfan Siddiqui was press secretary of President Rafiq Tarar during his tenure and thus can be considered a member of PML-N instead of an independent journalist. Media has gained a lot of power but they forget that great power brings great responsibility with it. They shouldn’t think themselves as makers and breakers. I have stopped watching GEO TV as its biased against a specific party and projects things in a way that goes against a party. Instead I like Dunya TV Moeed Peerzada, Najam Sethi as they act as true anchors/analysts and not a party.

• ibnebashir said:

N leag ki tarf se hamid Mir aur Irfan Saddiqi ko Aik Aik lifafa Zror milna Chaye.

• arshidali1 said:

میراخیال ہےکہ ایک پروگرام سے کوئ فرق نہیں پڑتا کیوں کہ شیخ رشید صاحب2ماہ تک تنہا سب چینلوں پر کمپین چلاتےرہےاور کسی نے شکیل آعوان کونہیں پلایا شیح صاحب یہ طے کر کہ آتے رہےکہ انیں نہیں بلایا جاہے گا یہ بہت بڑی نا انصافی ھے

• Faisal said:

truebalance said:
    I have stopped watching GEO TV as its biased against a specific party and projects things in a way that goes against a party. Instead I like Dunya TV Moeed Peerzada, Najam Sethi as they act as true anchors/analysts and not a party.
    ———————

اور حامد میر کے بارے میں ہیں GEO TV آپ کےجو خیالات
    معید پیرزادہ اور نجم سیٹھی کے بارے میں ہیں ،Dunya TV وہی خیالات میرے

• time said:

@Faisal & truebalance

My take is Dr. Shahid Masood is definitely biased and he doesn’t try to hide this. The other three Hamid Mir, Dr. Moeed Pirzada and Najam Sethi have lean to right or left but are not involved in target killing.

As far as Shahid Masood is concerned he is like Sheikh Rashid and can do anything for short term gain.

• gre8nation said:

I don,t like sheikh rasheed but its shame ful act of geo tv and Hamid mir who pretend to be an anchor showed their real faces .

• shimatoree said:

I spoke with a former Cabinet Secretary who worked for both BB and Nawaz Shareef and he told me something which stunned me. He said and I quote-

” GEO is a propaganda outlet for PML-N ” end of quote.

I did not believe that but after watching this show, I am here to admit that the old establishment guy was rioght.

• Zaheer Chughtai said:

My comments earlier were not allowed or rejected by admin and i don’t know these lines will be updated. I will repeat that this program was biased and still Hamid Mir was insisting that he shown mirror to Sheikh Rashid. He should also show a mirror to Nawaz Sharif and should show his earlier comments about the leadership of Peoples Party. He should also on air their frequent somersaults about whether to contest last general Polls or not. He should also show their denials about any sort of agreement with Gen. Mushara and then their acceptance when actual agreement was produced by Prince Muqran of Saudi Arabia. Only then he can justify his assertion that he was showing mirror to Sheikh. Why only Sheikh? Specially when election was between Sheikh and PMLN. It was a masterpiece of yellow journalism.

• kqbrain said:

Dear Mr. Mir,

You may not have much time to read my mail, and I want to be short and simple. Your yellow journalism is just exposed on this show. You had an argument with Sheikh Rasheed in one of your previous program and you have taken a revenge. I am no supporter of Sheikh Rasheed, but this organized character assassination of someone a day before the election can never be justified. There are more than 350 NA members in so called parliament. You should investigate and show the reality in the similar way before each election. I am really sorry for you. In a protest I am cancelling my membership of GEO TV in UK.

• islamomvi said:

although sheikh rasheed is a lier person, and he mostly tell a lie with “SWEAR THAT HE IS NOT TELLING LIE” very shamefull for sheikh sb. This is old style of pakistan politics when people gave votes on making roads, eating rice and watching DVDS and candidates make speeches like dramas. Now all this environment has changed, but sheikh sb is not changing.

But I condemn this hamid mir program, because he has target sheikh sb when he has election tomorrow. If hamid mir has objection, he can call him anytime for clarification, no dount , he is wrong. But at this moment the attitude of hamid mir is not on justice.

• pakistani47 said:

Bad Journalists are exposing themselves. Any person who is fair and un-biased can not support these hypocrites like HM, Shahid Masood, Javed Ch. supporters of PML-N whereas Athar Abbas and Co. are supporters of PPP. None of them is un-biased and impartial. I think only Dr. Moeed and Talat Hussain try to maintain a balanced approach. We should support such people who give us a fair analysis. If they criticize then criticize across the board not just target one party or person.

• Bazi said:

One of the most dishonest program i have ever watched. A fully loaded prog against sheikh. Hamid mir’s claim of telling just the truth is very hypocritical since it would have been true only if he had done the same for nawaz sharif as well. Presenting a nawaz-ally Irfan siddique as an analyst is in itself dishonest. Plus the third guy seemed very personal with sheikh. Kudos to Humayun Gohar for reading the intent of the host during the program and saying so in plain words there and then.

Unfortunate for Pakistani media for such an event to have occured. Election laws must be updated to cater for such mockeries. Plus the assertion by many that it didn’t have or couldn’t have any worth-while impact is quite ridiculous. It did what it intended to do. We must not under-estimate the impact of media, and esp this program, which we would have to admit has quite a following.