l Dunya Today – 24 February 2010 | Pakistan Politics
{ 41 comments... read them below or add one }

• aroojsattar said:

Moeed Sahib. Weldone… thanks a lot for a very nice balanced program. Mr. sethi must watch this show.

• jhonnydeppp said:

To be very fair I personally feel sorry for Sheikh rashid, No doubt the programme Capital Talk on geo TV in the dying hours of the day prior to the election day was clearly a biased attempt by HAMID Mir and one could smell Malice in Hamids tone which i believe is absolutely unfair coming from a media person who happens to be a prominent opinion maker.
    I watched the programe in London and It was easy to tell Hamid and his cronies criticizing Sheikh Rashid only..
    Also there is a fair amount of truth in the fact that the full Punjab Machinery was mobilised in PML Ns favour.
    But one another issue which has really depressed me that Imran Khans candidate had only 2 percent vote which is a disgrace to Honest and Policy / Issue based politics and serious education needs to be inducted in the Voters minds..

• mujtaba-ali said:

dekho dkeho kaun aya
    shair aysa shair aya … :)

• atifrafi said:

Dear Jhonny…

You are right that Hamid Mir program was biased against Sheikh Rasheed…. BUT IT WAS ALL TRUTH….

So, I think Hamid Mir did a brilliant effort to show the real face of this Tout….. Sh. Rasheed claimed many times in the media that he apologized Laal Masjid ppl but the program confirmed that he was AGAIN lying.

About Imran Khan, I totally second your opinion.

• norozkhan said:

Hamid Mir was wrong , just hours before the election his program was a dirty trick and he should be held responsible for that.
    Most of our talk show hosts tried to be impartial but certainly Hamid Mir presented this show to please PML/N and make Sheikh Rashid look dirty at the last minute.

• planet372 said:

This is a nation of fools.
    They know Zardari or Nawaz Sharif will not do anything for them. but they keep trying them. how many times they want to try maybe til they sell the whole country.

this remind of the quotation ” Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me”

people have been fooled more than twice but still not ashamed.

• crazybynature said:

I am not Sheikh Rashid’s fan but Hamid Mir did play a dirty role.

• jhonnydeppp said:

@ I agree with Norozkhan and u also used the right word “dirty trick”…it may also be called “Hitting below the belt”…
    @AtifRafi we are not discussing weather it was the Truth or a Lie the point I am trying to make is that it was against the Election ethics to be so clearly biased in PML Ns favour..
    Doing such a programe at the very last minute clearly shows malicious intent..
    Hamid Mir is an anchor who should be totally and brutally FAIR, Ethical and Unbiased..
    It is the same scenario if a refree or an empire starts taking sides…
    for example David Shephard (Late) was usually biased against Pakistan in LBW decesions
    which jeapordised the dignity of the game…
    The point is HAMID MIR clearly jeapordised the dignity of the profession of journalism…
    I guarantee you this would never happen in England on BBc in election days…
    personal grudges or personality clashes should never overcome the ethics of the profession…nor cloud the judgement of anchors..
    One a personal note I have usually found Hamid Mir dodgy any way, he is a man with Limited knowledge and with limited intellectual capabilities he does not know what to say & when to say….i can quote many examples
    Dr Moeed and Mr Malik of Islamabad tonight are two of the many much better and balanced anchors then this biased and strangely unbalanced character (Hamid Mir)…

• bionicwoman said:

JhonnyDepp_ I fully agree with you that Hamid Mir’s last minute attack against Sheikh Rashid was kind of below belt and was aimed at damaging his election…but I have few questions:
    One, Could it really effect, i mean seriously affect the outcome? with Sheikh taking almost 43,000 votes which clearly includes 25-30,000 PPP vote…we must not rule out that PMLN has added 10-15, 000 fake votes in any case…it looks that Sheikh was least affected by Hamid Mir’s attempts…though one call it an emotional hurt..

Secondly, Is media not for exposure? Should in a next election, till last moment, media should not remind voters about NRO, RPP’s and other continuing corruption of Zardari camp and their twists?

Third, Was it unfair to expose the unholy alliance of Sheikh & Zardari? with Sheikh continuously talking against America, condemning PPP govt as American stooge…marketing himself as an Alternative to the stupid people and yet actually fighting the elections with the help of PPP vote, with tactical help from Zardari, with money from ISI…Is it not the right of the media to expose such double tripple standards? ….

I am afraid due to the emotional nature of the jolt, and due to the “hurt written all over Sheikh’s face” we are ignoring the real issues and questions here…. also Hamid was quite robust in Moeed Pirzada’s program about his actions…. listen to Hamid’s explanation… that was worth pondering… and when he explained his side of the things both Marvi and Nadeem Malik could not offer much in negative to counter his assertions… also Hamid is right that Media’s influence is widely exaggerated….if even today Media were really deciding a typical Pakistani elections then SheikhRashid with his 24/7 presence and popularity on all tv networks would have ensured his victory….then Imran would not have taken 2% vote….

But what an electrifying program…? Vow…this is fast becoming the best & the most balanced program in Pakistan…

• MahmoodChaudhry said:

Q-LEAGE is the worst ch.&co party,but man oh man today Marvi got Hmid Mir in the corner,it was hard to believe,she did anyway and Hamid without answer?

• sahibzada1 said:

I d request all my friends who r ctiticising Hamid Mir to also Comment on High Profile Media Campaign run by DUnya TV, ARY Especially Kashif Abbai and Express TV (Javed Ch)….we the Awam keep rejecting this characterless SR and they keep nailing Sheikh’s senseless Bakwas in our heads……
    Just tell me Was it fair for thses 3 channels to become a mouth piece of SR in last 20 days……….why SR didn’t want to sit in a programme (Capital Talk) in presence of Hanif Abbasi or Shakeel AAwan…..
    It is easy to point fingures to others …….

• bionicwoman said:

@Sahibzada1_ just adding to your thought even on Dunya TV, this clever bugger was made to sit with a brainless girl Asma who keeps on giggling or posing innocent with eyes turning around like owls…and asking stupidest possible questions…. her specialization lies in asking the most stupid nonsense things…wonder who parachuted her into tv…she should be only a reporter..why not let Moeed Pirzada or Najam Sethi interview Sheikh….and ask him questions about his politics….Dunya was clearly providing a uncritical platform to Sheikh and yet Sheikh lost….

• Salam said:

sheikhu was crying… loser :mrgreen:

yes this election was PPP+Fuzlu vs PML-N

• aristotle said:

I did not understand the composition of guest penal, why only Q-League representative (Marvi memon) to give their party’s point of view… She was continuously supporting sheikh rasheed and other party’ views were missed on this show. Is it Balanced and Impartial journalism? (jis k tanaay geo news and hamid mir ko deye jarahe hen)

Nadeem malik gave very balanced views and I like this policy of AAJ News and his channel anchors attitude towards other channels. They never used to bad language, criticism or negative opinion against other competitors. Its really gud and positive attitude which has to be adopted by other channels.

rahi baat sheikh rasheed ki tu un ko media ne jo un itna sir par char harah tha, apni auqaat pata chal gayee, media me in ki campaign chalane walo ko bhi aur khud sheikh chilli ko bhi..:)
    i hope k ab kuch arsa hum sheikho ki shakal tv par dekhne se mehfooz rahey gey..:)

cheers

• usman55 said:

Being unbias doesnt mean start hiding the truth. Hamid Mir did exactly what he was supposed to do. Good Job.

In fact other channles should be ashamed of projecting Sheda Tali more than he deserved.

• ali.abbas said:

dr.peerzada doesnt trust himself that is y always rely on other anchors,,,,,,,,u cant conduct ur show,try to capture other anchor,s viewership.be urself………..

• scary said:

We all know politics are a bit different in Pakistan to say the least. It may sound bias but I think Hamid Mir did a great job in reminding the voters where Sheikh Rashid was coming from. One has to face the hard facts no matter how much you want to believe in someone. Sheikh Rashid has had so many opportunities to be honest, to be a good loyal Pakistani, to work hard and learn from his own mistakes and indeed from others. But he has always blown this opportunity big time. The man just does not have it. He just wants to hang on to power only for personal ego.

Now there is an argument that there are many others like him. The Choudry family to mention one. This family just does not have it no matter how hard they try. But they have some support through there villagers and local residents but more important through our mistakes i,e the voters they have tasted power. And like blood they are now power hungry. None of them are born or gifted leaders. None of them will ever become one no matter which party they belong to. They should be thrown out.

Hamid Mir has done a great service to the country. Let every future candidate fear people like Hamid that if they carry baggage then it will come around and haunt them at some stage. It may sound under the belt, but our politicians have been betraying the country for a long time and we should now get even with them.

That is why Banezir can never be called Shaheed. She had her chances in power. She blew it. She came back with corruption on her mind i.e NRO. How can anyone ever say such a person is Shaheed. That is an insult to every brave soldiers who died fighting for his country. All these people who put her picture on the walls and tables are actually “pimps of politics” They are only doing so to please a few and throw dirt into the eyes of many.

We should always remember and I hope Hamid Mir will remind us how Zardari came to power this time. He was NOT ELECTED BY PEOPLE. He was elected by “pimps of politics”

Hamid Mir, thanks for setting the bar high. You have courage. I hope you remain unadulterated.

• ali000 said:

my sweet innocent
    bionicwoman,

You really seems a “chamchi” of Dr Moeed Mirzada,
    No doubt Moeed is a good anchor, but Asma is also a brilliant anchor.
    she asks very smart Questions, and normally bent discussion smartly.

• aristotle said:

Despite full support and coverge from entnire media especially from ARYNews, Dunya and Express, SR has lost .

Media was trying to make him a hero but Pindi’ public made him ZERO again… and he deserve it:)

itnay paisay jo media par invest keye they sab bekaar hogay:)

• aristotle said:

ali abbas

u said right

r peerzada is show me sirf muskarane aur sharmane k ley aye they shayad:)

• jhonnydeppp said:

@Bionic Lady no doubt your questions are very valid and warrant an elaboration which i would attempt as follows.

Question 1: Probably and potentially yes It may had a serious impact on swaying a decent chunk of voters away from voting or voting against Sheikh Rashid.
    Not only it caused emotional hurt as you mentioned Capital Talk acted is a perception manager and with quite high viewer ship Hamid Mir certainly exploited and tried to exploit his nuisance value directly aimed at Sheikh Rashid.
    I would try to be relevant here by quoting the example of the all powerful Mr Musharaf becoming a villain overnight due to overexposure of his mistakes which eventually proved fatal.
    So Yes media has a serious nuisance value which is exploited by likes of Hamid mir.

Question 2: Let me clarify one thing here i am not advocating sheikh Rashid here most certainly hypocrisy prevails in the world of politics and he may be certainly at par with any of the other high class hypocrites.
    And Yes media should expose till the last moment the hypocrisy but hypocrisy of both sides
    Exposing sheikh Rashid is not an issue for me but NOT exposing PMLNs abuse of power bullying of candidates etc along side is the issue.
    My point of debate is it should be balanced, unbiased , fair perception management,
    And opinion making.
    You tell me why Hamid Mir didn’t speak of serious misuse of Punjab police berurcarcy logistics and resources of the under debt Punjab govt.
    Had Hamid mir also spoken about the excessive abuse of resources and power by the Punjab govt in exactly the same way he spoke of sheikh rasheeds bad deeds it would have not raised an eyebrow.
    But he deliberately ignored that, painting sheikh as the villain and PML N as the angels which they are certainly not in fact NO politician is.

Question 3 : No it wasn’t fair to paint sheikh as the villain and not to utter a single word about the abuse of power by Punjab govt and that too at the dying moments of the night before election day, they should have been exposed with the same zeal.
    They were not which that is what makes hamid mir a shady character.

Yes i agree he was robust in defending himself but he could not answer the question which was politely and quitely put by Mr Malik of Islamabad tonight that Hamid you were focussing on Sheikh Rashid that he despite demonising PPP in his book he shook hands with them why you didnt mention a single word about President Zardari why he chose to put his eggs in Sheikh Rashids basket just out of animosity with PML N..

I would again repeat i am not advocating any politician they are simply useless all of them.
    The only point i am trying to make is Hamid meers biased intentions.

Unfortunately here in london we only get to see geo and ARY so i cant comment on awaz and all other channels.

Again i would sadly(i am genuinely depressed) point out that Imran Khan got very less votes then his candidate should have but we can t deny that fact that the electronic media has made him a household name virtually (positively)..

He should work till the next general election on seriously educating the masses to come out and actually cast that holygrail i.e the votes he desperately needs..

He is the only bloke with decent credibility backing him..

I agree with you Dr Moeed is a serious intellectual and his programmes are genuinely balanced

• jinnah said:

well a hamid mir said that k whole media was supporting shiekh rasheed so thats why i did that program ..man if other media is bias then u have no right to be bias …u cant kill evil with evil ..i am pml n supporter and i dont like sheikh rasheed much but hamid mir u u acted bad ..shame on you….just before the election that program of capital talk was poisonous ….indeed

• paki.revolution said:

Was Dunya News one of channels supporting Shekiho big time? :-)

• amandamarrion said:

Sheikh Rashid is right “He has won even by losing”.
    His number of votes show that Zardari and Q League are gaining strength.

Zardari is the most intelligent man on earth. He is alone fighting with all. and no one could harm him for last 2 years.

• Proactive said:

Can someone please answer one simple question: how did one Capital Talk less than 24 hours before the polling change the minds of voters of just one constituency to vote for Shakeel Awan instead of Sheikh Rashid or vote for another candidate instead of Sheikh Rashid?

Did all of those people watch that Capital Talk?
    Did they not make up their mind beforehand about who they would vote for?
    Did these people not know beforehand about Sheikh Rashid’s inclinations and viewpoints?

I will reiterate that all the concerns raised in that Capital Talk were better if addressed to Sheikh Rashid directly giving him a chance to respond; also, other candidates should have been interviewed as well. If the Punjab government rigged the polls, that should be exposed as well with concrete evidence; if they conducted them fairly, then that should be exposed as well.

Its like saying that Capital Talk is the undisputed No.1 news channel program and the most influential.

JI expressed satisfaction with the polling process as far as I know. PTI are livid and have requested the CJP to take notice of what they term as historical rigging. This brings me to another aspect of “that” Capital Talk. There was a clip in which Imran Khan was talking about never wanting to be a politician like Sheikh Rashid; now he is vouching for his honesty and saying exactly the same thing. PTI should ask themselves one simple question.

“If the next general elections are to take place before 31 May 2013, who will dissolve the national assembly?” The CJP? He better not because he will violate the constitution if he does that and thus become eligible for trial for treason under Article 6 of the constitution.

• agrana75 said:

Yes, Hamid Mir programme was biased, but ……………………………………..unfortunately he exposed real face of SR and all he said about him was true..

• ali000 said:

its true that HAmid Mir exposed the real face of SR, but why he didn’t say even a word about PML N,
    same character that party leader ship played against PPP and every one knows how this man brought in politics,
    Though all is right which Hamid Mir told, but that was really one sided,

HM did 100% right showing the true face of hypocrite Sheikha and no complaints there at all, well done HM.

• torontonian said:

Two lota’s, Hamir Mir and Nadeem Malik finaly came out of the closet. Since Lota (Hamir mir) is exposing people how come he does not talk about the richet person (Ganga) in Pakistan and where he got his money from.

• bionicwoman said:

ali000 – i may be a chamchi of Dr Pirzada….. yes he is rare combination of a Pakistani tv anchor who is handsome and has brains and sounds a clear headed patriot who knows what he is talking off….but what what about you? ….someone who likes a woman for being a woman? …please compare Asma Ch with Asma Shirazi…or Meher Bokhari or Jasmine Manzur…….I am sorry! but the likes of . dr Moeed, Talat, Naseem Zehra and Nadeem Malik fall in a different class… I will argue that may be Najam Sethi fall in a more senior, a more mature kind of group …someone in his own class…..but we have to be rational… don’t compare apples with sour grapes or something…… but given your lust for that reporter you have also not understood my argument…..I was not trying to compare that reporter with an educated anchor but was trying to unravel on the designs of Dunya TV who wanted to support Sheikh Rashid ….running a free campaign for him…that is why someone like Asma was sent to interview him…because she would not give him tough time… had they sent Naseem Zehra or Moeed Pirzada or Najam Sethi it would have been a different matter….

• bionicwoman said:

@ ali000 – i may be a chamchi of Dr Pirzada….. yes he is rare combination of a Pakistani tv anchor who is handsome and has brains and sounds a clear headed patriot who knows what he is talking off….but what what about you? ….someone who likes a woman for being a woman? …please compare Asma Ch with Asma Shirazi…or Meher Bokhari or Jasmine Manzur…….I am sorry! but the likes of . dr Moeed, Talat, Naseem Zehra and Nadeem Malik fall in a different class… I will argue that may be Najam Sethi fall in a more senior, a more mature kind of group …someone in his own class…..but we have to be rational… don’t compare apples with sour grapes or something…… but given your lust for that reporter you have also not understood my argument…..I was not trying to compare that reporter with an educated anchor but was trying to unravel on the designs of Dunya TV who wanted to support Sheikh Rashid ….running a free campaign for him…that is why someone like Asma was sent to interview him…because she would not give him tough time… had they sent Naseem Zehra or Moeed Pirzada or Najam Sethi it would have been a different matter….

• bionicwoman said:

@JhonnyDepp _ thanks for addressing the questions in the most rational way and I agree with your observations that Hamid Mir’s attack was one sided…he chose his target and assassinated him ruthlessly…with the old sayings and statements of Sheikh he exposed him… and the fact that he did’nt do the same with PMLN clearly shows that he was one sided, he was biased….since damaging Sheikh would have benefitted PMLN…but where is it written or practiced — apart from Public Interest Media like BBC — that tv channels or journalists would be mandated to show it from both sides? that they have to strike a balance between right and left? … What about Fox? and Sky and CNN or CBS or ABC?…. yes that may be true about PBS or BBC but not about private media…journalistic bias will exist… and Hamid showed his bias from one side…. but has this necessarily made Sheikh lose? read Proactive above ..he has made a very good observation on this…today I also watched Fahad Hussain and Pirzada discuss the same thing on Express 24/7 the English Channel and it was one helll of a quick anlaysis on the same question…

• jhonnydeppp said:

@ Bionic Lady now here I would have to agree with you, In my opinions I have been ignoring the fact that GEO is a private institution and not a Public interest media like BBC hence journalistic bias will and does exist…
    However for the public interest in my opinion this should be debated on and minimised because this would unfortunately provide room for vested interests to buy their way in or exploit (personal favorite tendencies) in this major perception making and opinion making medium.
    I also agree the degree of Exaggeration in my perception of sheiks loss solely due to the last minute programme.
    Perhaps this perception of mine was boosted by the fact that we have only GEO as a major channel here in london and i do miss out on the other 70 odd channels operating in Pakistan…
    I would also confess my personal dislike for Hamid mir which may have clouded my judgement..This dislike developed after watching his highly insensitive interview to star televison India upon the death of Bob Wolmer the Late English Coach of Pakistan…
    He just didnt think at all before choosing his words..
    I admit my prejudice may have exaggerated my perception..
    I would try to dig You tube for the programme you mentioned on express 24/7..
    Thanks for a decent, logical and intelligent debate well done and keep it up..

P.S : Some information just in defence of your defence of Dr Moeed Pirzada..
    Apart from the quality of being handsome on his CV :) he is no ordinary anchor.
    He studied International Relations at the School of International Affairs, Columbia University, New York and studied Media & Internet law at London School of Economics, where he was a Britannia Chevening Scholar with the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office.

In UK he has been a member of the International Institute of Strategic Studies (IISS), and has worked as external consultant with Commonwealth Business Council, and India & Pakistan Relations Study Group (INPAREL); he has assisted BBC with its documentaries on South Asia and was selected by Ford Foundation and Foreign & Commonwealth Office for the under forty leadership of South Asia at “Third South Asia Forum” at Wilton Park.(2003). In Pakistan he worked with Central Superior Services (CSS) and was awarded for meritorious services by the Federal government in 1998.

Perhaps he is one of the best we have and my personal view that he should replace Hamid Mir as a Capital Talk Anchor from Monday next week :)

• Dashing10 said:

Sheik rashid is a bad person….but Hamid Mir lost his credibility by taking sides so openly and in a dirty manner

he is a biased anchor anyways—like Dr. Shahid Masood, he has lost my trust!!! I dont care wat others say or Hamid Mir thinks

• mujtaba-ali said:

@ jhonnydeppp
    @ Bionicwoman

nice to see some people with sense … i would love to see u around … :)

@ aristotle
    ur question has very simple answer .. Q league was pro SR .. so here are 3 parties …
    HM .. Q and an independent observer NM …

• mujtaba-ali said:

and about what Hamid mir …
    see “off the record” of 24th with kashif from the very place of constituency of NA55
    where even people from N league said that the didn’t like some of those programs which were even in their favor … referring “capital talk” …

• pakistan1987 said:

hamid mir played very bad role. he is now lifafa journilist? han ji mir sahab kitnay paisay k=lia hain muh kholnay kay.

• aristotle said:

agar HM lifafa journalist hen tub bhi i m happy k pehli koi sahi kaam kia lifafa le kar:)

• aristotle said:

rahi baat Kashif abbasi ki tu dabba channel k anchors ab sirf dosray channel ko bura bhala kehne k siwa kuch nahi karsaktey, itne zoor o shoor se SR k favor me threek chala raha tha bechara ..nakaam hogayey dono..

ab SR k zakhmo par marham rakhne k ley is tarha k program aur comments pesh key jarahey hen… ansoo pochne k ley

Kashif abbasi is wasting his potential , energy and time on wrong issues

• kjat said:

Hamid Mir Zinda Bad…its a disgrae people are supporting a crooked and lota and crying over his exposure…. these are all PPLiyas who are sour after thier defeat….Jiyey NS.

• khaksaar said:

Dr Moez seems to be with no agenda except acting like a mouth piece of a looser candidate of memeber of national assembly election.
    Does the inclusion of Marvi Memon ( show piece) has anything to relate with the discussion about media role. If the intentions were to attract more viewers then there may be other options like meera, reema etc
    Does it make any sence to stop the programe and live telecast the speach of a looser of the national assembly election. It looks as if the president of USA was about to deliver his policy statement about Pak-America strategic relationships or there was joint declartion of indo-pak premiers on the issue of Kashmir.
    I request viewers not to waste their times to watch such programes who dont have any agenda of national interest rather following their financial or personal goles. At one stage even Dr Moez looked disturbed when he was trying to deliever his shot and the producer was still telecasting the press conference on the orders of big boss.