l Islamabad Tonight – 24 February 2010 | Pakistan Politics
{ 37 comments... read them below or add one }

• Ali Murtaza said:

I salute to Khawja Saad Rafiq for being honest. Inshallah people like Saad Rafiq, Khawja Asif, Mushahid Hussain, Marvi Memon, Sheikh Waqas, Jamal Laghari, Kashmala Tariq, Ayla Malik, Umer Ayub should join PTI to become our next leaders. IK cannot do by himself.

I disagree with Imran that Sheikha got votes because Punjab government has performed badly, he clearly had support of PPP in this election.

@ Ali Murtaza

Bhai meray i hope most of the names you mentioned above don’t join PTI other then Saad and Khawja Asif.

• Ghazanfar Mahmood PTI BIRMINGHAM said:

This is why Imran khan is most popular leader in pakistan for his honesty and
    people acknowledge this through out the world.

I agree that sheikh rashid vote bank has increased which was expected in my
    opinion.

• usman55 said:

Imran Khan got it wrong this time. PMLn retained its vote bank. It was do or die for Sheikh Rasheed. And after all he is a shrewed politician and was contesting elections with benazir pictures on posters just like he did in 02 with Nawaz Sharif.

• pakwatan12 said:

PML(N) realizing that in the next election PPP, PML(Q), ANP, JUI(Diesel), AML will be together against PML(N), thats why they are offering IK to join them.

• fulan said:

Ali Murtaza seems to be unaware that Mushahid Hussain, Marvi Memon, Sheikh Waqas, Jamal Laghari, Kashmala Tariq, Ayla Malik, Umer Ayub were part of the Musharraf junta.
    Umer Ayub is the grandson of none other than the Dictator Fraud Marshal Ayub Khan and son of Gohar Ayub Khan who conveniently grabbed GM’s auto plant under the Gandhara Industries banner.
    Imran Khan should only recruit untainted workers, and not beneficiaries and camp followers of crooks and dictators.

• canada1 said:

Sheeda Tuli,Sheeda Tuli Teri Tun Tun Stopped forever
    This is not only defeat of TULI its also defeat of PPP,MQM,PLM-Q,JUI,ANP
    6 Major parties tried thier best to defeat “N”
    Khuch to sharm karo
    I would like to invite all supporters who wrote so much yesterday in the favour of TULI & wrote aganist yellow journalism.
    Most them who wrote yesterday in favour of TULI they were PPP supporters.
    This result is more than enough to see people`s trend.
    Its slap on 6 MULK DUSHMAN parties.

• MahmoodChaudhry said:

@Ali Murtaza,dear,do not mix up Q-League with N-League,i am sure you have heard Nawaz Sharif saying Ali Baba Chaleese Chore,Mushraf Ali Baba is gone and chaleese chore i mean Q-League left behind?one is Sheeda Taale a big chore killer of Lal Masjid’s mujahdeen including children and women,shame on these chores and murderers.
    If all these 21 candidates running against govt. candidate and they know they will loose this by election then why they were running this by elaction,just think about it?i heard each candidate,saying i will win with lot of votes?

• tariqhussain said:

Imran Khan joining PML-N may help him to survive in politics. He is popular but a loner, does not have any party behind him.

• Bawa said:

@ tariqhussain
    Imran Khan joining PML-N may help him to survive in politics. He is popular but a loner, does not have any party behind him.

یہاں سچی باتیں کرنا منع ہے

• tayyaba said:

One thing i like about Imran Khan is that he speaks his heart.I do not know how he will behave if he gets the government but so far he is the man who has courage to express his feelings honestly.

• jaagpakistanijaag said:

Day before yesterday Saad Rafiq predicted that Sh Rashid will loose and will blame for rigging and that exactly what he did.The result of the election was more in the hate of Sh Rashid rather than in the love of PML(N).

• sherdilmuslim said:

I thought Khawaja Saad Rafiq made a smart move by offering Imran Khan to become coalition partner.Imran Khan can not make all the way all by him self he needs support and i will suggest to Imran Khan that in the best of Pakistan interest he should join hands with PML(N).I also believe that PML(N) is not the best choice but better than most of the parties in Pakistan.

• sadajeopakistan said:

The defeat of Sheikh Rashid is a message for all crooks that there is no room for tallees and shatallees.People have not forgotten the dark past of Sh Rashid and punished him with the power of vote.

• mohibewatan said:

TO,
    MahmoodChaudhry said:
    Sheeda Taale a big chore killer of Lal Masjid’s mujahdeen including children and women,shame on these chores and murderers.

My brother people got their revenge Sheeda Talli is defeated and i believe that his politics is over for ever.

• izatmaab said:

Mushahid Hussain is one of those politicians who keep every body happy.He always praise military to stay in their good books he never openly criticize America and he always use soft language against PPP.This man is another Sheeda Talee.He was part of almost every government in the past.He is not in the government at this moment because then he will not be able to face the people.

• machoman said:

aftab said:
    @ Ali Murtaza

Bhai meray i hope most of the names you mentioned above don’t join PTI other then Saad and Khawja Asif.

That is right i think Ali Murtaza do not have any knowledge about the politicians he mentioned.It is not going to help PTI but will damage the reputation of Imran Khan and his party.

• tahirmalik said:

PPP government was begging India for talks and India was turning it down.I do not understand why Pakistan is so desperate to talk.There was no result of talks in the past and there will not be in the future.Sooner or later Pakistan has to fight for its rights.India is working on a strategy to buy maximum time and resumption of talks will give India better opportunity to delay the things even more.

• bechari-awam said:

@aftab
    “Bhai meray i hope most of the names you mentioned above don’t join PTI other then Saad and Khawja Asif…”

It is really funny that the fan club members on one hand consider PMLN to be as corrupt as the PPP but the only people in the list they consider to be clean and competent are the major PMLN leaders who were ministers in the 2 months stint in the fed govt in 2008. It looks like fan club members themselves consider PMLN to the only party competent enough to run a clean govt. PTI waaloan, grow up and at least make up your minds. You guys need to to have an alliance with PMLN, they don’t need you

• sohnidherti said:

I agree with Mushahis Hussain that America needs Pakistan more than ever now it is on our leader ship to take maximum advantage and cash this situation in the best interest of Pakistan.Once American interest is over they will turn their eyes away like in the past so Pakistan should not give even a inch to America and rub their nose in the mud.

• khochal said:

Pakistan should make very clear to India that talks should not be for sake of talks only.Pakistan is in deep trouble over water resources and should not let India to buy more time.There should be strict and firm stance.

• sianibili said:

TO,
    tahirmalik said:
    Sooner or later Pakistan has to fight for its rights.India is working on a strategy to buy maximum time and resumption of talks will give India better opportunity to delay the things even more.

I share my thoughts with you.Americans are defeated in Afghanistan and Pakistan can put pressure on India through America and resolve water problem for ever.

• danishwar said:

sohnidherti said:
    I agree with Mushahis Hussain that America needs Pakistan more than ever now it is on our leader ship to take maximum advantage and cash this situation in the best interest of Pakistan.

I do not believe that PPP leader ship under stand Pakistan strategic importance in the region.Unfortunately we always miss golden opportunities to serve Pakistan.Personal interests or stupidity always force our leaders to make foolish decisions.

• super7 said:

@tariqhussain said:

Its a very good point. Both Imran and Noon-League could benefit.

• countryman said:

Okey that is finsihed ..let us move towards the actual points.
    Who is up there in ruling seats…what has he been doing all his life and what is he
    doing now. Ali baba definitely maintains his 40 thieves all the time with himself.
    What happend to state-money whejn Ali-Baba was in action a husband ?. When in full
    control of country what else not he is doing with the corruption.
    NRO wasimpossible to defend because of its disgraceful nature. BUT now in response to
    their rejected petition to SC, these niggers (AZ/BA/Khosa etc etc) are making another efforts to prove it the most pious act on earth by musharaf..for Pakistanis and perhaps a guideline
    to whole world. They really want the nation to get in to their bankers put a doggy-strip
    in their knecks, drag them out and deliver a swift justice.
    My dears that is good to have PML-N defeating the corrupt bunch of PPP (rightly said Paisa-paisa-paisa) Fazlur-rehman Q-League currupts choudhires. But dont forget main task
    still lies ahead. These dirty people are helpless else they would even alter the suras of quran…just to save their corruption. There is a day for such people and that is now IMMINENT. Hit hard munafiqs and Islamic republic will be on the course.
    No doubt Imran Khan sahib always deserve a chance as a ruler. We infact need many like him. Let Nawaz sharif sahib join in alliance whereever possible with such people.
    After all , each honest pakistani on top-seats is the need of a day..and there party
    does not matter at all. Unfortunately so-called national party is 99% indulge in corruption
    and has proved by making a zardari like person its leader. Imagine the kind & quality
    of followers where zardari is their boss ?.
    Dear patriots.. day and night they only anly involved in finding ways
    HOW TO SAVE OUR MOST CORRUPT LEADER and tolla.
    It is Gods will this stigma is going to be glued on their dirty faces…for ever…they are
    going to make a HISTORY…… my friends. Nwaz sharif’s yesterdays speech was
    in right direction. Let us JUST DO IT ….not let the CRMINAL RATS runaway this time.

• wbuttar said:

I had covered the whole day campaign and with the Rawalpindi team during whole elections campaign. Not even a single person questioned Jazi Khan character throughout campaign. He is not an angel, have some flaws. But people voted out us due to some other reasons and not due to our candidate. And I am sure the families of our well wishers who are complaining Jazi Khan’s candidature in Rawalpindi may find other excuses if some other candidate was nominated, because in any circumstances they were not voting us. If Jazi Khan was so bad to seek votes how he manage to get morethan 12000 votes with same character and same voters. Unfortunately our nation is trapped in power policits and in by elections power policits plays its major role. Both Sheikh Rasheed and Shakeel Awan were going to be part of ruling parties i.e. PPP and PML-N. We are hoping that popular votes will go in our favor but unfortunately we went wrong. People think if Jazi Khan won what he will do for us.

I am witness of many people discussing Imran Khan as a great person but they were not voting us because this election was made anti nawaz and anti sheikh rasheed. People did not vote for change but for personal biases which was my fearr and I have mentioned in one of my previous post.

At the end there was no publicity, funds matter. PTI run the campaign very well. Workers done a hard job but only manage to caste their own vote. Public responded very well during campaign but when it come to vote they voted only two parties. Even JI who has his vote bank round about 10000 only managed to get 3109. I am affraid the perception of Mr. Ahsan Iqbal, PML-N Information Secreatry proved right when few days back he was asked in a program about the popularity of IK and potential threat for PML-N in NA-55, he specifically replied as under:

“Mujhe umeed hai ke PTI aur doosre akhri dino main halat ko dekhte hue hamain vote karain ge kyuke unka vote sheikh rasheed ko faida de sakta hai”.

By election is always the most difficult election for a party not even in the parliament but in any circumstances we were expecting more than 20,000 votes which were ultimately casted in favor of PML-N candidate due to their favor that their vote for PTI can benefit Sheikh Rasheed. I was in Dkho Hassu where 5/6 youngsters come to me and show their willingness to be a PTI member but they were casting their vote for PML-N due to certain reasons.

We should appreciate our workers and try to encourage them, who were physically weeping after the results, they are our real assets. They were not worried for themselves but for their leader how they will confront him after this defeat. We should overcome our shortcomings and try to perfrom better in NA-123. We should contact our members who got membership and invite them in the functions with dignity and respect. If we succeed in doing that will be beneficial.

“Palatna, Jhaptna, Jhapat kar Palatna, Lahu garam rakhne ka hai ik bahana”

• countryman said:

Dear @wdutter: Well supported arguments.. Power-politics blindedly followed.
    But soon..very..son people will come to honesty of candidates.
    Imagine a horse….among a herd of donkeys……….never liked by the donkeys
    BUt horses are always a reality..nation must realise.

• Salam said:

Mushahid Hussain’s comment on Cino-American relationship is bonggee… there is quite a lot of tension these days-

• amaan said:

There is no doubt that Imrankhan is a good person. But is he a good “statesman”? I am surprised by his views about India and the US. He should not only talk about terrorism and Kashmir but should also talk about economy and trade opportunities. Being a responsible politician he must know that India is a major economic power and the 4th largest economy in the world. We Pakistanis must act “smart” and exploit every trade opportunity with India. We also need to talk on the water and visa issues. As far as Kashmir problem is concerned, I dont think it will resolve overnight and will take another 60 years to resolve.

• tayyab1796 said:

@wbutter

Bro I participated once in IK ‘s jalsa in Illford London following CJ’s reinstatement in 2007 . Please be assured we are with him through thick and thin . I am by nature a swing voter i-e for me and my household its either PML-N or PTI . We all know that mid term elections may not be very far away considering the frequency of mistakes committed by Pakistan Plunder Party (PPP) . I will sum up my suggestion for u ,PTI should concentrate on her biggest assets :
    *_ The unquestionable reputation of IK.
    *_ A very large but unfortunately silent majority of voters sympathetic to IK’s cause.
    *_ The image of the party which is of an educated middleclass i-e students,doctors,engineers,accountants,professionals,teachers,lawyers,expatriates etc.
    *_ As Saad Rafique mentioned PML-N and PTI could become natural allies because both need each other and there is no trust deficit .Alliances are the future in Pakistan.

Lastly yesterday PPP died in NA55 for good and was buried but Sheikh Rashid is a very shrewd politican he will be a threat in the next general election and PTI would rightly be advised to withdraw her cndidate in PML-N (alliances again…) ‘s favour .

• Awaam said:

good programme

• fahmeeda52 said:

Mr. Imran Khan is a true and loyal person. I salute him for being honest. He is the only hope for Pakistan, Inshallah he will bring the change but it takes little time.
    LONG LIVE PAKISTAN

• Fasih Ahmed said:

Imran Khan seriously need to think about his political future. No dramatic turn around in hi sparty is expected in the short term. So he needs to forge some broad-based alliance to survive politically.

@ bechahri-awam

Before you jump on your high horse, clean and competent PML-N is not, they may have several figures that are good at organising elections and good on giving us spin on TV shows but this the same incompetent idiots who decided to pick Mushy over Ali Kuli Khan and the rest as they say is history.

Just to add further about NS and his Competent(according to you) gang, they didn’t know the very person they chose as COAS has gone to conquer part of another country and until Bill Clinton rings your Boss NS he had no idea. So Bhai meray is Bechari-Awaam koh baksh doh about NS running an honest and competent government and save that lip service for some one else.

P.S. Are we talking about the same PML-N who’s leader only paid 5000 rupees tax.

• time said:

Imran needs to attack Nawaz Sharif very agressively. If he keeps on attacking Zardari politically speaking he won’t gain much. Those who are annoyed by Zardari have Nawaz Sharif as alternative. But those are anoyed by Nawaz Sharif, the political left, do not have an alternative their options are Zardari, Altaf Hussein, Asfand Yaar Wali, Musharaaf etc. That’s the vaccum that Imran Khan should try to fill.

Kh. Saad Rafiq’s offer today was nothing less tha a sweet pill. He wanted Imran Khan to accept Nawaz Sharif as undisputable leader of Pakistan and join his band wagon.

• fahmeeda52 said:

@Fasih Ahmed

I just Know one thing,

Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) Said “As you are, so will be the rulers that will be set over you” (Mishkaat). “

One day IK will come in to the power and save our innocent Pakistan…Inshallah & Amin
    LONG LIVE PAKISTAN & LONG LIVE IMRAN KHAN