جہاں گیر و جہاں دار و جہانبان و جہاں آرا
    اگر چاہوں تو نقشہ کھینچ کر الفاظ میں رکھ دوں
    مگر تیرے تخیّل سے فزوں تر ہے وہ نظّارا
    تجھے آبا سے اپنے کوئی نسبت ہو نہیں سکتی
    کہ تو گفتار، وہ کردار، تو ثابت، وہ سیّارا
    گنوا دی ہم نے جو اسلاف سے میراث پائی تھی
    ثرّیا سے زمیں پر آسماں نے ہم کو دے مارا

• *RhyMe* said:

Imagine if this is the case today with a section of our society that they dont even know the national anthem nd basics about Pakistan then what would be the condition with the coming generation of Pakistan after 10 or 20 years!

• yousafkhan said:

roney ka muqam ha yar aur ye barey saab muskura rahey han. wow what a tragedy.ab pata chala k india hamen q kuch nahin smajta. kya qaum han ham, is se pata chalta ha k ham pakistan se kitna pyar kartey han aur ye NGO zada log hamara kitna istehsaal kar rahey han.lekin yahi log kal hamarey hukamran hungay janab, fikr karney ki zarurat nahi ha q k yahan wahi log kamyab han jo mun terah kar k English bol saktey hun aur jo Urdu ka kam tamam kartey hun phir hm log q shor machatey han jab koi kehta ha k Urdu hamari National language nahin ha.
    according to Musharaf(Yazeed e waqt),
    “Pakistan ka Allah hi hafiz”

• hariskhan said:

This is utter disappointment for me. I think of it as my failure too.

These people who hold money, power, the decision making power for millions of people of this nation, they have no connection with their own nation, its people in the masses.

(1) Who gave these people the reigns of our nation ?

(2) Why have these people been handed over the responsibility to drive the cart of this nation’s life, when these people have no connection with their own nation, its masses ?

I am utterly! ashamed!! to see what comes out of these people, to say the least.

• wantinsaf said:

These people are “Desi badan mai walaiti rooh”.
    they are here among us to save America’s interests.
    They are not among,still we are unable to get rid of them

• Faarigh Jazbati said:

AoA All

جب یورپی استعماری قوتیں افریقہ پر قابض ہوئیں تو سب سے پہلے جو کام انہوں نے کیا تھا وہ یہ تھا کہ افریقیوں سے ان کی عزت نفس کا چھننا.

یہ کام انہوں نے دو طریقوں سے کیا . ایک تو یہ کہ ان کو کہا تم لوگ جاہل ہو گنوار ہو ، اجڈ ہو. تم لوگ ہاتھوں سے کھانا کھاتے ہو زمین پر بیٹھ کر کھانا کھاتے ہو ، ہمیں دیکھو ہم چھری کانٹے سے کھانا کھاتے ہیں ، میز پر بیٹھ کر کھانا کھاتے ہیں ہم سلجھے ہوئے لوگ ہیں . یہ بات اتنی مرتبہ کہی گئی کہ افریقیوں نے اس کو سچ سمجھ لیا اور ذہنی طور پر یہ مان لیا کہ ہم جاہل اور کم درجے کے لوگ ہیں .

دوسرا کام یہ کیا کہ افریقیوں سے ان کی زبان چھین لی اور ان پر انگریزی اور فرانسیسی زبان مسلط کر دی . آج آپ کہیں بھی افریقہ چلے جائیں آپ کو ہر بندہ انگریزی یا فرانسیسی زبان بولتا نظر آئے گا. افریقوں کو ان کی زبان سے محروم کرنے کا جو نقصان ہوا وہ ناقابل بیان ہے .
    زبان سے محرومی سے وہ اپنی تاریخ ، اپنی ثقافت ، اپنے ادب ، اپنے ورثے سے محروم ہو گئی
    اور بدلے میں کیا ملا . صدیوں کی غلامی ، ذلت ، مسکینی اور پھٹکار
    یہی کچھ اب پاکستان میں اور دوسرے مسلمان ملکوں میں ہو رہا ہے . زبان سے محرومی آپ کو ہر چیز سے محروم کر دیتی ہے .آپ کا اپنی تاریخ ، اپنی ثقافت، اپنے ادب و بیان ، اپنے ورثے ، اپنے محاورے ، اپنی قوت بیان غرض کہ ہر چیز سے رشتہ کٹ جاتا ہے اور نتجتاً ہر شے سے محرومی اور بدلے میں صرف ملتی ہے غلامی ، ذلت اور پھٹکار.

اس لئے میں تو یہ کہتا ہوں کہ پاکستان میں تمام تعلیمی اداروں میں انگریزی بطور ذریعہ تعلیم پر مکمل پابندی ہونی ہونی چاہیے اورتمام تعلیم اردو زبان میں ہونی چاہیے

ذرا غور کریں کہ اگر آج مسلمانوں کو عربی زبان سے محروم کر دیا جائے تو ان کی تیسری نسل اسلام سے بیگانہ ہو جائے گی .

کل اوریا مقبول جان نے اس پر بہت ہی خوبصورت کالم لکھا ہے
    http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100868579&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20100227

• shimatoree said:

Its a bogus wake up call for the corpses! who are masquerading as citizens of Pakistan.

The dead will not rise.

The comment about language must also apply to the proponents of the imposition of Urdu on the ethnic people.

The role of Arabic in being a Muslim is completely false. If Arabic was a requsit for being a good Muslim- then the Arabs in Saudi Arabia and othewr Arab countries would be the best Muslims and they are NOT.

• Faarigh Jazbati said:

Dear Shimatoree

The reason Quran and the Hadith is in pristine form today is due to ARABIC LANGUAGE.

Muslims insisted through out the history that Quran and Hadith will be taught in arabic and no other language. Look what happened to bible and other books and how many version of their exist.

I am not against ethnic languages, i am from Punjab myself and proud to speak Punjabi but as Urdu binds us all so my insistence on Urdu.

If Arabic could be introduced as language to bind us all in Pakistan then I am up for that.

Urdu or Arabic or Persian, these are the languages (and all the ethnic languages) which has our history, culture, proverbs, emotions, thinking, literatures etc. English is NOT.

• Faarigh Jazbati said:

Sorry the correct link to Orya Maqbool Jan’s column. Although the above link is also relevant.

http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100866233&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20100224

• Salam said:

Children of Macaulay!

Lord Macaulay must be jumping up & down in his grave on this success :mrgreen:

It is impossible for us, with our limited means, to attempt to educate the body of the people. We must at present do our best to form a class who may be interpreters between us and the millions whom we govern; a class of persons, ‘Pakistani’ in blood and colour, but English in taste, in opinions, in morals, and in intellect. To that class we may leave it to refine the vernacular dialects of the country, to enrich those dialects with terms of science borrowed from the Western nomenclature, and to render them by degrees fit vehicles for conveying knowledge to the great mass of the population.

future brown sahibs-

• shimatoree said:

Faarigh Jazbati

1. 1400 years of Arabic has failed to convince the Muslims of Pakistan and India that they should adopt Arabic as THEIR OWN. Quran and Hadith might be in PRISTINE condition but only in the book form and certainly not in the minds of the Muslims. All you have to do is to look at the lives of the Muslims which are full of ignorance and superstitions.
    That is not the fault of the Holy book and that is true but people read and learn a lot better in their own language as your arguement rightly says about English but the same logic must apply towards Arabic .

2. Persian was the language of the rulers of India for 1000 years. It was the language of courts and govt. and learning. But the rulers did not IMPOSE it-( which they should have!) like the British did with English.
    But what percentage of the Muslim people of South Asia speak Persian today ?

3. Urdu might be the binding language- but to a Pushtoon who does not know how to read URDU – is it fair to require and impose it on him and his kidsat the expence of his own Pushto . That seems to be the case here on this blog by some and if anyone has forgotten the reason for Bangladesh !

It is not English or for that matter any other language that makes anyone BROWN SAHIB- it is the mindset of elitism and arrogance of being superior to others in the group that are described in this video report. In Punjab-( to take an example) the ELITE in Lahore speak excellent Punjabi but behave just like these brownies towards their country and the common people.

This might sound bad but this mindset comes from the ECONOMIC factors rather than any language.

• Faarigh Jazbati said:

Dear Shimatoree

I understand your problem towards Urdu and Arabic and can only pray for you.

• Hasanm said:

We all love T20 cricket and are adopting the same approach here. I am not defending anyone in this video but it is also very important to bear in mind a few points
    1 – @ Shimatoree – the national anthem contains persian words rather than arabic, so you need not have seizures!
    2- Persian is no more taught in our schools, so we can all be forgiven for not knowing what exactly are the words and their meaning (which is more important!).
    3- Our education system (if we have one) is a complete, utter failure and will never help us become better Pakistanis.
    4- If we have one thing only, the rest will automatically fall in its place, and that one thing is justice system. How will the current judiciary shape our future, lets wait and see.

Pakistan zindabad.

• Azizi said:

All,

What would be the most blunt English translation of “NGO Zada Class”?
    - NGO Stricken Class
    - NGO Suffering Class
    - Malevolence Skilled Group
    - Charity Swindling Crowd
    - ہاضم خیرات طبقہ

• Revolution انقلاب said:

تو رہ نو رد شوق ہے،منزل نہ کر قبول
    لیلیٰ بھی ہمنشیں ہو تو محمل نہ کر قبول

اے جوے آب بڑھ کر ہو دریاۓ تُندوتیز
    ساحل تجھے عطا ہو تو ساحل نہ کر قبول

کھویا نہ جا صنم کدہ کائنات میں
    محفل گداز! گرمی محفل نہ کر قبول

صبح ازل یہ مجھ سے کہا جبریل نے
    جو عقل کا غلام ہو وہ دل نہ کر قبول

باطل دوئی پسند ہے ، حق لا شریک ہے
    شرکت میانہ حق و باطل نہ کر قبول

• ALi Ch said:

آسلام علیکُم
    احساس کمتری کے مارے لوگ ہیں یار سب کو قوامی ترانہ اتا ہے بچپن کی یادیں بھلانے سے بھی نہیں بھولتی چاہے انسان چند پر کیوں نہ چلا جائے ایک پاکستانی مسلمان کو قلمہ اور قومی ترانہ نہ اتا ہو یہ ہو ہی نہیں سکتا لیکن کیا کریں بھائی اگر ہم نے سہی سنا دیا تو دوست کہیں گے ابھی تک ترانہ یاد رکھا ہوا ہے
    برطانیہ میں یہاں پیدا ہونے والوں بچوں کو بھی ترانہ اتا ہے کیوں کہ گورے ہمیں یاد کراتے ہیں کہ ہم اصل میں پاکستانی ہیں اور جب ہم گوروں کہ ساتھ ہوتے ہیں تو مکمل پاکستانی بن جاتے ہیں لیکن جیسے ہی کوئی پاکستانی بھائی مل جائے تو ہم فورن گورے بن جاتے ہیں

• ALi Ch said:

شیدا ٹلی تیرے صدقے
    ٹلی نے بائیکاٹ کر دیا ہے الیکشن سے اب پاکستان کا کیا بنے گا ہا ہا ہا ہا ہا

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/feb2010-daily/28-02-2010/u22594.htm

• netengr said:

Its not necessary to know who wrote the national anthem of Pakistan ,Its not Surah Fatiha which every muslim should have to memorize ,
    What does it mean NGO zada ? Edhi ,Cheepa ,Shoukhat khanam is also NGO s

• tayyab1796 said:

Enjoy the ‘blessings’ of ‘democracy’ guys… chill out

• naughtypakistani said:

What is the fear if 0.001% of Pakistanis are like this? They are living their own lives not trying to impose their ideology on others. Is remembering national anthem or its writer a yardstick to measure someones patriotism? You can probably find many in US who know not much about US. whats big deal. Society culture and even religions are not static, they change according to the reality of life, economics and vested interests of different groups. People give example of other countries using their own languages, but this is half truth, there is always a second language mostly English taught in their schools. If you go to Beijing many young boys and girls will like to interact just to speak English. Specially after internet revolution there is no choice except to learn English.

• Believer said:

Can media stop being so hyper and negative? Even in Europe, many people will not know their naitonal anthem etc. I have never heard UK’s national anthem in London (it has never been played on television).

We need a cool mind. Not hyper ‘War mentality’ and ‘Patriotic Hyperactive Disorder’. These emotional things bring Taleban, Firing on Melad-e-Nabi and bomb blasts in Aashura.

Pkpolitics is reflection of our media. Sadly our media is full of cheap people. I don’t see any connection of ‘Pak Sar Zameen’ with Ghulam Mustafa Khar. His own kids don’t know 1,2,3 in Urdu (this is a fact).

Can we have discussions on technology in Pakistan? Can we have a proper programme on Solar energy? Can we not discuss shameful position of our film industry? My Indian friends ask me ‘how come you know all our films and we don’t know yours?’

Please help us start discussing the issues which are stopping Pakistan from getting advanced in technology. You cannot blame these kids. They adopt technology with much more happiness than an Acid throwing (on women’s face) NON-NGO zada guy!

• Believer said:

Can we discuss that why Nuclear Pakistan has failed to make DVD player? Or even VCR? Or even television???

Can we have a discussion what happened to first Pakistan made car ‘Proficient’ in 1990? It is a rumour that government took bribery and strangled it.

Can we discuss what happened to Pakistan’s first Solar energy car (students of NED made that in 1986).

Can we discuss so called rise of consumerism in Pakistan where we have about 10 CRORE mobile sets in the country, yet NOT EVEN ONE is made in Pakistan?

Can we discuss our $20 Billion YEARLY deficit in trade be bridged? If you bridge a yearly deficit of $18.5 Billion, I will give you $1.5 which you blame on Zardari!!!

You cannot feed world’s fifth larget army on Cotton export. Start making valuable things so that you can bridge the gap. If you canot make mobile in this age, then ban all the mobiles. Why spend billions of dollars when you only have mangoes and rice to export.

If NS and Zardari bring all their money back to Pakistan, that alone cannot bridge even one year’s gap in our trade deficit. That is why we are taking aid from the whole world and becoming poorer everyday.

How many houses use ‘JF 17 Thunder’? (I am not saying that they are unnecessary). Give priority to things that you are using everyday and save your foreign reserves.

I hope above issues are enough for this website to inform and discuss people. If media of Pakistan is asleep, maybe we can create a counter media.

• Believer said:

I have got bored of Three politicians blaming each other while the host is playing the role of Phappa Kutni (a clever woman who causes frictions and enjoys when people fight).

Only programme I liked was with Shamsul Malik Jawab Deh on 7th of Feb on Water issues.

My request to all the users here is to focus on real issues not on traditional chat shows which are more like ‘Saas bhe kabhi Bahu thi’ (never watched it but heard a lot about that drama).

• shimatoree said:

After the end of the US War in Vietnam-

G.E. wanted to have a Transfer of Technology agreement to built and sell Jet turbine engines in Pakistan for the SUI Natural Gas.

The delegation was scheduled to meet the higher officials.
    Two days before the meeting, on political pressure from above- the meeting was cancelled and a very junior engineer was told to meet with them to tell them that Pakistan wanted to buy the manufactured in US turbines instead.
    Guess why ?
    There was no commission in the manufacturing for the politicos !

Of course it does not require a rocket scientist to know that the same jet turbine technology-(parts)- is used to make airplane jet engines.

• shimatoree said:

@believer

you raise a very good point.

The same moronic geniuses of the political gangs appear on all the shows again and again and again- Sherry Rehman, Nabeel Gabol,Khawaja Saad Rafique, Babar Ghouri, Mushahid Hussain and so on and so on.People watch these instead of the dramas or other entertainment shows. It is really very bad theater of the absurd like everything now a days. Just look at this web site and others which put up these shows. If these shows were not popular then why would this web site put them up.

The only people the TV channels will listen to are the ones paying the Ad rupees and and they do not give a hoot.

So change is not coming

• Believer said:

@ Shimatoree

Thanks for the appreciation.

I am just getting fed up with all the negativity. ‘Sayapa groups’ (group of mourners) over everything and ‘kutch nahi hoga’.

No body is discussing the real issues. While Jinnah was 1000 times more ‘NGO zada’ than Ghulam Mustafa Khar, we all know that there is no comparison.

We need to discuss the reality Solar energy, Making everyday essentials in Pakistan (like Mobiles, DVD players, Cars etc.) When I say these things, people start ‘Sayaapa groups’ start saying no body will buy anything made in Pakistan. If everyone is buying Millat Fans/GFC Fan (because we make them), why wouldn’t they buy something made cheaper in Pakistan.

Over media is again making us hyper blaming India for using Pakistan to send Tata buses to Afghanistan with help of the US. I will get Pakistan buyer for its goods if Pakistan start making buses. Incompetent people who know nothing just keep on doing their ‘Sayapa’.

Who will discuss Real issues Seriously?????????

• nota said:

@Believer

“Can we discuss so called rise of consumerism in Pakistan where we have about 10 CRORE mobile sets in the country, yet NOT EVEN ONE is made in Pakistan?….”

See if this satisfies you (It certainly is not what I had in mind):

I came across a couple of days ago. The headline said:
    ‘First Pakistan-made cell phone within a year’

I read on but then I stopped at the second sentence:
    “Talking to APP, he said: “Dialogue with China and British companies in this regard is underway”

I think “DVD player? Or even VCR? Or even television” are way to advanced. I am still searching for a Pakistani-made light switch that doesn’t burn out in a month.

But then what do you expect when we have rulers like Mush/Zardari and avaiting saviors like the Sharifs. I mention Sharifs because they are expected to save us. But will they? Here I would like to present this recent example:

CM Shahbaz has been taking credit for helping education by programs like cash prizes to students winning speech competitions and setting up “Endowment Fund as well as distribution of Rs 120 million worth of cash prizes amongst the top position holders”. Well they all sound great but until you came across news like this:

DG Khan BISE facing severe financial crunch

In it we are informed that Board of Intermediate and Secondary Education (BISE), Dera Ghazi Khan, is caught up in a severe financial crisis, as it is facing a deficit of Rs 167 million. The board has 400 members but no money to pay salaries. DG Khan board is now looking for assistance from the Bahawalpur BISE, which itself is on the brink of bankruptcy.

But they must have budget money for it, you say. We guess where the money went:

The CM has “distributed the money among position holders, especially among the winners of essay writing competitions”

WTF?

That same story goes on to tell us:

Education Minister Mujtaba Shujaur Rehman admitted that almost all boards were facing a crisis-like situation, but said the department concerned had sent a summary to the Punjab CM for financial grant.

During the proceedings of the House, MPA Sheikh Allaudin said that the roads of Lahore were being dug without any reason. He said this practice had caused corruption of millions of rupees without any check. He demanded formation of a House committee to look into the matter. PA Deputy Speaker Rana Mashhood Ahmed Khan directed the law minister and the minister for excise and taxation to immediately look into the matter.

• nota said:

^^^
    “We guess where the money went:” should read “Well guess where the money went:”

• Believer said:

@ Nota

Well that is vision of Shehbaz Sharif… Its not very good still better than nothing!

Remember Parvaiz Elahi’s 200 Rupees schlarship to girls in villages?? I read in a book by James Caan (British Pakistani businessman) that the money was from US Aid for teacher training ($200 Million each year for 3 years) but Politicians thought it would be better to retain voters by bribing them with 200 Rupees every month!!

When $1.5 Billion EXTRA from US every month is not enough to bridge trade deficit, how can brining Zardari’s money will help? (I know US has her own agenda!). Maybe 200 rupees extra to few villages befor the money finishes and Sayaapa (mourning) start again?

You are right about leaders but lack of awareness of REAL issues in public is a mojor concern. When public is being fed with Capital Talk/Kal Tak/Kalam Kaar, how can they know about real issues? Public awareness will result in pressure on politicians.

• time said:

@Believer

Well said. I fully agree with you, especially your comment that

“Jinnah was 1000 times more ‘NGO zada’ than Ghulam Mustafa Khar, we all know that there is no comparison.”

No body bashes him for being goralike in every form and shape ….

This discussion on NGO zada class tells me we are done with our issues and are now just killing the time …

• Ali Q said:

poor stuff.

this has to be hands down one of the worst posts to be propagated by pkpolitics. all it shares is the hatred the writer has for a class of people. what makes it worse is that the writer uses something as inane as not knowing the national anthem as a basis for it.

as long these people eventually contribute to the economy of pakistan while respecting the legal framework, this stuff does not matter.

• Ali Q said:

I understand that you have to respect freedom of speech, but please don’t let someone use your platform to propagate hatred.

• Wahid Doyum said:

So what difference does it make if some elites do not know the manufactured history of Pakistan? To me Bacha Khan and Fakir of Ipi is more important then Jalandar or Chaudry so and so.

• jazoo said:

@Believer

You hit the nail where it fits best……awesome

• bechari-awam said:

Now as always we are talking about exceptions. Yeah, there are elitist who don’t know national anthem or have no idea who wrote it. How many people in US for example know these things. They don’t even know what is happening outside their state so can we say the same thing about them too. Remember the reason western countries achieved progress was only because of three basic points, rule of law, no corruption in institutions and sustained democracy. In US, for example, you can’t even imagine of bribing a police officer/IRS employee or any other government employee, creating a lot of confidence in the credibility of institutions. People pay taxes without any reservations and don’t dare to hide their wealth. Why, because they know if they are caught, not even president could save them from the wrath of IRS. We need to build institutions and do them as quickly as possible. It doesn’t matter that some students at grammer, city, beason house don’t know the national anthem but what matters is that common people have to suffer due to corruption.

• ALi Ch said:

wot abt dis guys chech it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q566ys0sqVQ

Axis of Evil = Germany. Lol

• Leviathan said:

To add to the people in the US don’t know stuff like this, but there is a difference of sample here.

The people in the US who don’t know these issues are ordinary people like the poor people of our country, they don’t have a direct influence in the rulings of the country and no strong political ambitions and there are also equal opportunities. IN PAKISTAN this is different, these are the people who have all the opportunities and are being groomed with the best education. THAT IS A BIG DIFFERENCE!!!

Secondly, why do we always do the same thing, if it is happening in America it must be right! No! We need to have our own standards and our own judgement, and stop being slave to this hegemony!!!! Then everyone asks ke Kerry Lugar kiyon accept kar rahe hain… :S

• socratese said:

this is ridiculous video to discuss, lady conducting the show also represent the same class which is under discussion. i am not sure how many on this forum including the one running this forum also knows the national anthem of Pakistan.

Discussion could be why we have so many mediums of education in Pakistan but not these kids as NGO zada class.

This is so common in USA, people do not know who there president or VP or first lady speaker are, and they also do not know the questions from their history. this does not show any thing.

this is democracy and this is capitalism, work hard and get what you deserve, don’t whine cringe, or show your utter grievances. If you have not got what you could have then get it for your next generation.

I have moved around in interior Punjab and Sindh, we can not have simple schools there what to talk about cambridge type education for those. Problem mainly is underpaid teachers, lack of facility for teachers.

Now at drastic pace the culture that is changing in Pakistan is due to independence of media and spread of foreign culture in Pakistan and not enough representation of Pakistani culture on media.

Such class exist in every country so why to get emotional here?

• Believer said:

@ Jazoo

Thanks for your support.

I am happy that I was the first one to point out the absurdity of media report. Its not pkpolitics’ fault. this website is just a reflection of what is happening in media.

If that is what Dawn TV is doing, I am worried that people will not see the real issues. If people want to apply theory of ordinary people, then there should be no Dawn TV or any English media because majority does not speak English (I believe that so called ‘minority’ of Pakistani cities is too big now and they should be represented in media).

• Zaheer said:

I think there are many Pakistanis who don’t know or forgot the national anthem! Many people never read it or understood it or forgot it, it is natural so i don’t think this is something to taunt/tease or disrespect anyone. It is important to know the anthem and understand it but if someone does not know or forgot due to whatever reasons, he/she should not be pressed or degraded.

We should respect and care every Pakistani because everyone is important and part of society. It is always good to look for positive traits in people than spending energies in searching negatives, and everyone has both.

Anyhow, here is national anthem to refresh in memories or to know/understand it :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gJI1QSRD-Ho

and more at

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qaum%C4%AB_Tar%C4%81na

• imgee said:

I think this is a non issue. If the same questions are asked to our urdu medium class, the answers will not be different. I myself have experienced the double standards of our education system. Untill metric I went to an urdu medium school and when I joined Gordon college in Rawalpindi in the pre-medical group, almost all the subjects were in english. The lectures of our professors used to go over our heads (we were quite a few the same situation) and we used to watch eache others’ faces to see the same impression as we were saying ‘what the hell is he (the prof.) talking about?” It took us more than a year and lots of efforts to get familier with the english medium. If the subjects in the college are in english (maths, physics, chemistry, etc) then why are we teaching these subject in urdu to our high school students?
    The point is not who wrote the national anthem and what does it mean. The point is how much all of us are loyal to our country? We who clean our houses and throw the garbage in the streets. We make big and beautiful houses and leave to space for the streets, there’s no evacuation for used waters in most of our cities (lets not talk about the villages).
    Living and working in France for more than 15 fifteen years, I know hardly one or two persons (french) who know their national anthem (la marseillaise) and that does not question their loyalty towards their country. They look-after the public assets as it were their own property.
    We should not accept this kind of pseudo issues raised by the media. As some people said above, let’s discuss the real issues.

• KhalidAli said:

What the hell is wrong with all of you who judge students like this. Has any one of you who are posting things against these kids and have memorized your national anthem, what is your in put for Pakistan’s success?
    If I ask you guys explain to me what is dark matter or dark energy would you be able to answer?
    or anything else for that matter, we must remember that we need to grow up and get out of this god damn blaming traitors game. And start doing things that make difference.

• shimatoree said:

As I have said before- this video interview is bogus(in it’s content and implications).

If we were to apply the same logic-

then would we equate the religious types obssesed with Saudi Arabia and so on.

Whether anyone can remember the national anthem means nothing since national anthem itself is a Western thing anyway and most educated people all the world over do not know their national anthem anyway- so what is the big deal.

People of Pakistan are talented and capable- if you have any doubts just look at what they did when building the BOMB- all they need is a chance to excel which is denied to them by their leaders but they continue to elect them anyway

• bechari-awam said:

One thing I need to mention is that our national anthem is not ours anyway. It is in pure persian except one work “ka”. I remember reading the anthem to a Iranian colleague during my university days in Canada. He said that he can understand almost every word of it and asked how many people in Pakistan actually understand it.

• socratese said:

i thought this is appropriate link , this kid shows how national anthem need to be sung, with zeal, enthusiasm, and national fervor

http://www.facebook.com/#!/video/video.php?v=1096597632017&ref=nf

• Adonis said:

Seeing the type of generation that these “burger” schools are manufacturing, one is compelled to say that all eductaion up to high school should only be in public sector. When the children of decision makers are themselves studying in public schools, they will be forced to increase the budget and improve the resources of public schools.

These private schools are just producing a generation of “coconuts” whose only dream in life is to settle in USA and who despise anyand everything Pakistani.

• fazalalibutt said:

Dr. Anjum saleemi once wrote ‘English in Pakistan is more the language of Macaulay than of Shakespeare.’

This statement very adequately shows the present position English holds in Pakistan. It is the language of elite, status conscious class that has been ruling
    Pakistan for more than half a century. This is the reason that all the policy documents, order and instructions, judgments and precedents are in English. The height of affairs is that even the constitution of Pakistan is codified in English. Furthermore, in the educational sector, the private schools are producing a breed that has native like proficiency in English specially, the children who do O’ level and A’ level. Since a good command of English opens the portals to highly paid-up jobs, status, and power oriented ranks, authoritative positions, these people face no difficulty to secure status, power, money, position or rank. Thus, when once they enter the portals of power they
    become the part of the ruling class.

In any society (though some argue against it) the elite class or the people in power set the course of action for the society. They are the people who look after the social values and cultural heritage of that society. They are the custodians of the literature, language, customs and traditions of that society. How far are the ruling elites fulfilling their responsibilities is a question we all need to ponder hard.

I’ve discussed the language issue in detail in an article Published at http://yello.pk. which can be read by visiting:

http://yello.pk/blog/fazalalibutt/pakistan-and-spread-english/10922

Those of you who are interested in the subject can visit it.

• Zaheer said:

I think the real fault is not of these children/youngs, they are doing what they have been given by family and society! We need to look where the real problem is!

The real culprits are those who are at the influential positions in our society and misusing it and doing corruption, those who might be fathers, uncles, elder brothers etc of these young lads. I feel it is unfair to fully blame these young people for what they are doing, they are just like children.

• rashidsaleem said:

Can this qualify as ‘Stereotyping’? How many people in the USA remember their national anthem? Any survey or reports? Does remembering your national anthem makes you a devoted Pakistani? If this is the case then every MUSLIM who does not remember Quran by heart should not be a Muslim? We are confused to a limit where the word “confusion’ does start looking a little too irritating I guess.

• hiramir34 said:

@leviathan. Well done. I like that link but one thing I don’t understand is that you cant really judge people by this cause, if they know or don’t know the national anthem. Probably in other countries as well the same is the case and why label them as ‘ngo zada class or ‘burger’ class. I think that is a little harsh.

• ammarisb said:

Now what is the “Ngo zada class”! As they contribute to the socially marginalized segments of society, where the state fails to meet the need of the masses in such a scenario these organizations play a crucial role e.g. Pakistan could have not coped with the aftermath of the 2005 earthquake without the assistance from various NGO’s.

• kashif771 said:

Dont look at only one side, look at this, how intellegent this girl is, she is also the youth of Pakistan

Hats off speach by a Pakistani student

• mujtaba-ali said:

jiyeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee bhuttooooooooooooooooooo

and LPC all who are backing this class over here …..
    and
    la’anat un sab per jinhain is ka ehsas tek nahi ha k humaray ender koi kharabi ha …