l Dunya Today – 3 March 2010 | Pakistan Politics
{ 56 comments... read them below or add one }

• aayan.ahmed said:

I never like Sheikh Rasheed. But what Hamid Mir did to him was absolutely wrong and ridiculous. Hamid Mir is a coward. He is not a journalist he is a puppet of Nawaz Shareef.

• aroojsattar said:

Minnd you… Hamid Mir is the most honorable person in Pakistani media.

• naseerakhtar said:

LOLZ he is cunning one when he is giving interview to BBC he is pro american and sitting in pakistan he is pro pakistani lolz

• Nasir Habib said:

Hamid Mir most honorable….. ahahhaha …. ahahahah…… ahahahah…… I can’t stop laughing…. ahahah………hahahahahahaahaha………….

• shimatoree said:

The one thing that any politician and every journalist or TV anchor needs is CREDIBILITY.

On that count Hamid Meer is finished. He has lost all credibility.
    What he did on 23rd Feb night confirms that he was either a paid or un-paid propaganda man for PML-N and that means that he can expect ordinary people like me not to watch his show.

The reason as to why Nawaz Shareef fears Sh. Rahseed is just that
    Sh. Rahseed is one man who is articulate enough to expose him. And there is no doubt that Nawaz Shareef DOES fear him- if you listen to his speeches recently.

The question though remains if Sh. Rahseed will rise to the occasion and really become a leader of the common man and is able to appeal to his issues. If he can do that then Nawaz Shareef is right in fearing him.

• Masood Ahmad said:

I don’t understand the words like credibility when the talks are about Sheikh Rashid.

• Rana Umair said:

okay most honorable and hamid mir? you must be kidding. I am no supporter of shiekh rasheed but the role of hamid mir is definitely rightly criticized. The campaign was legally finished and there he was showing old clips when shiekh was not in his show to defend his past actions. This is not journalism, this is favoritism.

• Safdar said:

Musharaf ka jo yar hey ghaddar hey ghaddar hey. Sheedaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa Taleeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

• socratese said:

this nation will be more than idiot to elect or vote clown like Sh Rasheed in future. this time he got 45k votes but in next general election he will be back to his own 15k. Why can’t he see his fortune written on the walls of Pindi.

As far as N is concerned they should lose in NA 123, only then they would learn. They have given ticket to the person of that family who has one elected individual from each party, the biggest fraud family of ex AG Abdul Qayyum who is on the run in Dubai these days.

Dont you think this person if elect will not try to save his brother and paly dirty like N already is. Ths Malik Parvez other’s sister is elected MNA from PPP. What a disguise of a family this is, and yet people living in NA 123 will vote that fraud in coming election.
    But unfortunate part is the Same JI candidate who has mile long tongue against N, Q and PPP are begging votes from PPP and Q workers what a pathetic show from Hafiz Salman Butt , I am always scared from these bearded person, because they cheat people in the name of God and Holy Prophet Muhmmad (PBUH),,,… beaware of such individuals like Hafiz + Salman Butt.

• ha2922 said:

Please make this program available to all of us A.S.A.P.

• DMN said:

Sheikh Rashid is as credible as his toupee ! What a total looser

• Syed Abbas said:

Hamid Mir => Mir Sadiq

These kind of people help Nawaz Sharif to become Amir-ul-Momanin.

• amandamarrion said:

Najam Sethi is the best.
    Zardari Khappay

• mansoor chaudhry said:

Dr moeed established himself as a mature acnhor person.

Sh Rasheed should come in real world where he is a simple looser,politically, moraly . He is just a drama king, old movie with new prints.

• siddiqi73 said:

SR is a quintessential bu** hole. Nuf said!

• amandamarrion said:

If PPP had fought itself in NA-55 they would have won.
    or if they supported Sheikh Rashid openly , he also could win.

but PPP had agreement with PML-N that they will not fight against them in NA-55.

We should have 2 parties system. and get rid of these small parties like Sheikh Rashid, Imran Khan and JI…………

• aristotle said:

uffooo

Dr Pirzada abhi tak sheikh rasgeed ki shikast ka rona roney me lagay hoye hen.
    kab tak mataam karey gay?

Sheikho ko bhi abhi aqal nahi ayee k dio raat media par aney ka anjaam tu dekh lia ab tu kuch arsa parhez karley ….

Dr Pirzada, logo ko ab SR se koi dilchaspi nahi, humen tu sir un k harney se dilchaspi thee :) aur wo pori hagyee

aakhir dunya news waley kab tak wafa dari nibhaye gay?

Dr sahib, koi kaam ki baat kia karey keo apna aur dosro ka waqt zaya kartey hen?

Najam sethi ki apni kia credibility hay jo dosro ko lecture detey hen? pehle Mush k qaseeday parhtey they aur ab Zardari kay qaseeda khaw han, ye hay in ki credibility…

Sheikh Chilli k sath jo kuch hoa he deserve it
    media hero bana raha tha aur Pindi k awam ne zero bana dia ch ch ch

Dr Pirzada aap kitni fee wasool kartey hen in Hazrat k interview ki? per interview charge kartey hen ya pora pacakge hay:)

• abdullaharqam said:

Hamid Mir has no crediblity!!!!!!!!!!!

• khurram545 said:

Allah knows better but , Before criticizing to HM , I would request you all recall his recent past.

1 – Lal Masjid & CJ restoration movement 2007 , if some one remember when Gen. musharaf was controlling each and everything and, HM was one of few of anchors who chellenged Musharraf and said (agar woh mujhhay phansi lagana chatay hein too lagien per ab mein peechay nehi hatoon ga yeh meri kom key mustakbil ka sawal hey…)

2- he is the same man who continued his to play his role in 2008 election and did same against PML-Q and Gen. Musharraf , he charged people to play vital role in elections.

3 – March 2009, CJ restoration he used positive role to active people. and when people like SR saying ab yeh adliyah ko azad karwa ker dekhien.

examples like above when we apperciated at that time , whats wrong now? what he did bad? just brought a ugly face of a loota in front of people based on facts.

for those who say election campaign was ended. or SR had nothing to defend him, man recall what SR was doing on Express TV (repeat telecast on election day) in Ajj Tak?

What Najam setthi was saying at duniya TV, it could be 60-40 election (60 for SR)

When other channels and anchors were already playing foul play to promote a lotta , what HM did wrong.

just would like to request , before saying anything against / fav of a person check his/her past record.

• paki.revolution said:

Absolute nonsense. A consummate liar, Sheikh Rasheed and congratulations to Dr. Pirzada; what an intellectual, eh? How about getting basics right? How about doing some research and digging what he’s said in the past to expose his lies. But no, who cares…

All the genius posters above might have forgotten how Hamid Mir was kidnapped, threatened and beaten up by the agencies…how Hamid Mir was called by Nawaz Sharif (when in power) and threatened to stop writing articles against him…they also might not know how close Hamid Mir was to Benazir Bhutto and that Zardari too has his email and phone number and while Zardari might not bother calling him, he did used to call Zardari as a sort of a ‘friend’ when Mr. 10% was acting all Parsa and all on judges and COD.

So let’s cut this BS. Why it so hard for some people to accept that maybe many of the stands PML-N has taken, particularly its top leadership, are actually what most people support and hence there being similarity in PML-N and Mir’s ideas/thoughts/wishes hasn’t nothing to do with Mir being a toady. Maybe he really does believe it.

It was wrong not to have Sheikh Rasheed himself present in the programme but was anything that was said in the programme a lie? Nope. It was SR laid bare. Something highbrow intellectuals and all like Dr. Pirzada can’t do.

• kqbrain said:

Hamid Mir has lost his credibility. Sheikh Rasheed has lost against the mighty tyrant Punjab government on teh ballot but infact he won the mind and hearts of the common man.

Shame on yellow journalism and full support to who stands against the feudal system.

Hamid Mir should review his attitude.

• malik mahmood said:

SHAME ON MEDIA…ONLY SHAIKH REVIEWS THERE SHOULD BE PMLN PERSON FOR ANSWERS…….VERY BAD PROGRAM….I THINK SHAIKH GIVE SOME MONEY ALSO HAMID MIR’S COMMENTS SHOULD BE ADDED AS WELL….

• malik mahmood said:

Sorry shame on this program….very bad one side of mirror………

• siddiqi73 said:

Sheikh Rasheed has gone redundant. To most he is a cockroach but to me he is that moist feeling which accumulates at the back of your throat.

• bft1 said:

how can hamid mir be a puppet of nawaz, he always wrote against the nawaz govt n was even picked up by the agencies for doin so….remember?!

I can tell you this and so will many other people that Sheikha said in his Jalsa in 2002 that if he wins election he will give his seat to NS so him lying so blatantly will not help him but he cannot go back on it now when he has lied about this so many times.

• siddiqi73 said:

@ bft1,

How can you surmise that HM is puppet of NS?

• siddiqi73 said:

@ aftab,

Forget about SR’s promise back in 2002. This two bit snake has been a liar throughout his life. He can go about claiming that he never cussed or used derogatory language against BB and ZAB or made the infamous promise at a jalsa in 2002. But how can he make people forget or disassociate himself from Syed Musharraf who according to SR was a true visionary and patriotic leader.

SR, is mulk kee awam ab itnee bhee phudoo nahee hai. Tumhari politics ab ushee soorat mein revive ho gee jub tum NS aur SS kay samnay zameen par apnee naak ragro gay aur wapis PML (N) aanay ka jatan karo gay.

• scary said:

I salute Hamid Mir. I hope this will be the start of a new type of Journalism in Pakistan. Where politicians are exposed before people vote. Not when they show their incompetence, their corruption, their hypocrisy their “goonda gardi”

Hamid Mir has done the service which I hope every other anchor will do. Every Pakistani must remember that Sheikh Rashid is not the type of person that will bring prosperity and happiness to them. We should elect precisely the type of person we have from NA 55. He is not known at all. He is young. He is corruption free. MOST OF ALL HE DID NOT GET ANY COVERAGE ON TV.

Good job Hamid Mir

• Muhammad Usman said:

why cant media aka these so called opinion makers educate people that , making man holes, roads, bridges, paki nallies and etc is not the job of MNA, SENATOR AND MPA.

For godsake tell people that ask there representative what legislation they made , what about national agenda, economy.

oh je ma ney school banwaye— ma ka karta halqe ke logon ke kama bhi karwaney they— wtf—

mna is not supposed to do these things.

no expectation form moed pirzada— talat hussain is hopless on this issue.
    all the anchors buisy findings assests of politicians.

• hofiftytwo said:

I wonder now why these anchors let SR come solo on channels so he can’t be counter argue’d or confronted on spot

• Adonis said:

Sheikh Rasheed is really a shameless liar. He uttered so many lies in this program.

Just a sampling of few:

1. Sheikh Rasheed had absolutely no role in holding Junejo’s jalsa in Rawalpindi in 1988. Money for that was contributed by local supporters of Junejo and Sheikh was nowhere among them.

2. No PML-N provincial minister ever came to NA-55 during the election campaign. The farmhouse meeting Sheikh is talking about happened at Amir Fida Paracha’s farmhouse where Senator Parvez Rasheed and Hanif Abbassi went to ask for PPP’s local leadership support. PPP leadership was already given the signal for Sheikh’s support by zardari. Therefore they made an impossible demand from PML-N, asking to support the PPP candidate for AJK assembly bye elections when PML-N had already announced support for Muslim conference candidate. As a result there was no agreement and PPP leadership including Paracha vigorously campaigned for Sheikh Rasheed.

3. It is yet another lie that Sheikh only left PML-N when he was not awarded a ticket. The fact is that this happened right after the coup of 1999. When Kalsum Nawaz started a campaign against musharraf, she visited Lal Haveli as well to ask Sheikh Rasheed to campaign with her. Instead Sheikh Rasheed rana way from Lal Haveli. Kalsum Nawaz kept waiting for him for a long time but Sheikh conveniently made himself indisposed and refused to come and see her.

4. Sheikh Rasheed did apply for PML-N ticket in 2002, but only as an election tactic. He knew he would not be given a ticket in view of his absence from any PML-N activity since mush came to power. So when he was refused ticket, he started blaming local PML-N leadership including Zafar Ali Shah for creating misunderstandings between him and Nawaz. He pledged that he was loyal to PML-N and asked people to reject the official PML-N candidate and vote for him as he was the real PML-N candidate. Never during the campaign he said one bad word against Nawaz Sharif. He always insisted that teh differences between them were created by some local leaders and he will resolve these after winning.

5. Coming to the infamous quote of Sheikh Rasheed in 2002 that “I will put these two seats in Nawaz Sharif’s feet after winning”. Sheikh Rasheed is technically right when he says that he did not utter these words. His actual words were in fact ” I will put these two seats in my leader’s feet after winning”. During the whole campaign he was calling Nawaz Sharif his leader so everyone took this as a pledge to give these seats to Nawaz and thats why most of PML-N vote went to him. Later on when Sheikh Rasheed joined musharraf, he joked with his friends that his leader was Musharraf so he actually meant that he would put these seats in musharraf’s feet.

7. Even prior to the 2002 elections, Sheikh Rasheed had meetings with Gen. Shujaat Zameer and had agreed to join Musharraf. That is why he was given the symbol moon & star which was the symbol of all those independent candidates who were officially supported. So his claim that he waited for 20 days before joining mush is a complete lie.

6. Sheikh Rasheed came from a very humble background and he always hated that. His history is that, like a snake, he has always bitten the hand that fed him. Started from Qayyum Butt who used to pay his school and college fees to Nawaz Sharif, he has betrayed every one.

Lastly, what Hamid Mir did was absolutely correct. Why is it that media is a hero when it talks against Musharraf and Zardari but a villain when it talks against Sheikh Rasheed? Given that ARY, Express and Dunya had become a virtual mouth piece for Sheikh Rasheed, a balancing act was much needed and was provided by Hamid Mir.

It would have been criminal for Hamid Mir not to do such a program. Nobody is saying anything against the contents of the program as it consisted of Sheikh Rasheed’s own sayings. Some people are criticizing the timing of the program but there is no such bar on media not to discuss any election on the election eve.

In fact the critics of Hamid Mir seem to be the same people who criticized him when he talked against musharraf.

• bechari-awam said:

All SR lovers, including former servicemen ;) can you please explain how come showing somebody’s own statements from before is unethical. If HM had added anything from himself then it could be considered mala fide but he just showed the true face of SR. The so called experts who don’t even have a basic command of their field and were saying that army will be defeated in swat are now coming out again to lecture us on politics and considering SR as their next savior.

The problem you with you PML-N disciples is you can’t see past NS white lies, Sheikha is a lost cause and really he is not even worth debating, but don’t come on this forum and make out as if NS and Co are saints because they are not.

• Adonis said:

No, only Imran Khan and Jazi Khan are the saints.

• kingprawn said:

Love or hate him there is no doubt SR is a fiery speaker and an excellent orator hence perhaps no one is willing to share a chat show platform with him. As far as local level politics is concerned SR was a great asset for NA55 and its a loss but i do hope Mr. Awan will carry on the good works of SR for this area of which I am a proud resident off when not in the UK.

@ kingprawn

Since PML-N and Khadam Saab’s gang have been in power for the last 2 years maybe the disciples can tell us what he has achieved in Rawalpindi.

• shakeelbajwa said:

I would like to thank Sheikh Rasheed for giving new hope to Zardari by asking him to back up in the bye-election and claiming 47000 votes. This is excellent performance.
    Sheikh Rasheed you made a serious mistake by not contesting the election on Peoples Party ticket, because this ch*t*a Awam loves Bhutto family.
    For the next election, please remember Sheikh Rasheed that Nawaz Sharif is khusra and he is still saying…….’Hum tu system ko bachana chahete hein’.

Remember Sheikh Rasheed it was you and Mushahidullah Syed who jointly prepared the draft of NRO agreement. So all you have to say is ‘Jiye NRO Waali and I guarantee you that you will win not just NA-55 but from anywhere in Pakistan.
    Just say….’Jiye BB NRO Waali’

• chaudhryanwar said:

If Hamid Mir had right to tell PPPP workers about SR. Then he should have to tell also about Nawaz Sharif who signed agreement and went to Saudia with his loved ones. He had to tell also that in Nawaz Sharif era Jang Group faced the case of Mutiny on publishing a poem about cooperative scandal. Before this programme I respect Hamid Mir but now i hate HM. he has joined the Club of Dr Shahid Masood and Kamran Khan.
    Hamid Mir has Taken too much money for this programme.

• ALi Ch said:

shakeelbajwa said:
    I would like to thank Sheikh Rasheed for giving new hope to Zardari by asking him to back up in the bye-election and claiming 47000 votes. This is excellent performance.
    Sheikh Rasheed you made a serious mistake by not contesting the election on Peoples Party ticket, because this ch*t*a Awam loves Bhutto family.

teri main pa*n dey kal*y phu**y vich maran apna dinga l*n

next time agar tum ney pakistani awam qoam ko gali deney ki koshish ki to bahot hi ziyada bura ho ga

• siddiqi73 said:

@ ALi Ch:

Just outta curiousity brotha, are you livid at the mere notion of Sheikh Rasheed running on a ZPP ticket or the fact that the awam is actually a bunch of CH*UT*YAS to be head over heels for Bhutto Family?

• pakistanimunda said:

Hamid Mir Zindabad…

• ALi Ch said:

jera kadey gal pakistani awam qoam ko wo khood ch***iya hai zzara apney garebaan main munh dal kar dakho tum log andar sey gandey ho jo apne pakistani qaom ko galian detey hain jis kisi ko ye qaom pasand nain india challa jay aor ram ram shuroo kar de
    jera kadey pakistani qoam noo gaal us di main p**n noo ahoo……………….

• Rashid said:

@Adonis

Awesome, I always had the inkling that Sheeda Tulli was lying. But did not know exactly what. Why we are not listening these fact on TV shows?

• ZEE said:

sheikh rasheed still has bright future

he can beat hamid mir and geo

he can join hasb-e-haal on dunya tv

they also need such jokes and mukhbaries

which never come true

loser

• raaz said:

what a shame to this man, he is blaming Hamid Mir, he is tottaly nonesense. why people sad about his defeat , I think he is rubbish , I think He should leave Politics and start Anchoring.

• Bawa said:

@ ALi Ch

علی بھائی. ان لوگوں کو انکی حالت پر چھوڑ دیں. گندے پانی میں پتھر ماریں گے تو کچھ چھینتے اپنے اوپر گرنے کا بھی خطرہ ہوتا ہے. آپ ننگ وطن، ننگے ملت اور ننگے دین لوگوں سے نہ الجھیں. خدا تعالیٰ انکو ہدایات دے اور ہم سب کو صراط مستقیم پر چلائے. آمین

• shakeelbajwa said:

@Ali Ch

Chaudhry Saheb, I think you misunderstood what I wrote above, and after reading your comments, I can now say that Pakistani pubic including you is 100% ch*t*a.

We don’t want Imran Khan, but love BB NRO Waali, we love Babar Awan, Faisal Raza Abidi, Fauzia Wahab, Mr 10 numberi, Fazlu Chacha, Altaf Bhatta Khor……….the list is endless.

• Bawa said:

@ shakeelbajwa
    Ali Ch
    I can now say that Pakistani pubic including you is 100% ch*t*a

عمران پارٹی کی اصلیت کھل کر سامنے آنے کے بعد بھی کچھ نہ سمجھے خدا کرے کوئی

• Farhan Sarwar said:

Though I am not a big fan of Sheikh Rasheed and infact like Hamid Mir for his contributions so far. Having said that I still think he was a little unfair to air that program the very election night..

• Munir Solangi said:

Moeed Pirzada tried to populaize his show by doing a one sided show against Hamid Mir with the help of Sheikh Rashid.

Moeed Pirzada is pro-Musharraf and Sheikh Rashid is pro-Musharraf.Dunyya TV is also pro-Musharraf and all the pro-Musharraf people are enemies of Hamid Mir.

The archive of pkpolitics still have the interview of Nawaz Sharif and Shehbaz Sharif conducted by Hamid Mir.Watch these interviews carefully.Rverybody will realize that Hamid Mir asked the most difficult questions to Sharif brothers.

I think the capital talk of Feb.23rd was not one sided.Hamid Mir invited Hamayun Gohar for defending Sheikh Rashid and that fat man tried his level best to defend Sheikh Rashid but he was failed because Sheikh cannot be defended.

According to PLML-N circles,Sheikh Rashid got 3 crores from ISI and 50 lacs from Malik Riaz of Bahria Town against PML-N.He was showering money on media and that was why his rival Shakeel Awan was not visible on media.Sheikh Rashid appeared in the night of Feb.23rd in Javed Chaudhry’s show just one hour before his last jalsa.If he can come in a show just one before the end of election compaign then Hamid Mir rightly did a show just 4 hours before the end of election compaign.I think Moeed Pirzada did cheap thing.he never invited Hamid Mir with Sheikh Rashid.I challenge Moeed Pirzada that if have guts then he must invite Sheikh Rashid with Hamid Mir.I know Sheikh will not come.He cannot face a brave and honest journalist.

• siddiqi73 said:

Down with Musharraf and his gutter relics of an ungrateful past

• shahzad warich said:

sheikh rasheed is a looser and will remains the same

• aristotle said:

munir solangi

i second ur opinion

good points

• aristotle said:

this post link should go to Dr pirzada and he must think over it

• ALi Ch said:

Bawa said:
    @ ALi Ch

علی بھائی. ان لوگوں کو انکی حالت پر چھوڑ دیں. گندے پانی میں پتھر ماریں گے تو کچھ چھینتے اپنے اوپر گرنے کا بھی خطرہ ہوتا ہے. آپ ننگ وطن، ننگے ملت اور ننگے دین لوگوں سے نہ الجھیں. خدا تعالیٰ انکو ہدایات دے اور ہم سب کو صراط مستقیم پر چلائے. آمین

@ Bawa ji

آسلام علیکُم
    بھائی جی مجے یہ سمج نہیں آتی کہ یہ لوگ پاکستانی قوم کو کیوں گالی دیتے ہیں حالانکہ ان کے آباؤاجداد کا شُمار بھی پاکستانی قوم سے ہوتا ہے میں سمجنے سے قاصر ہوں کے کچھ لوگ اپنی سوچ کو سہی ثبت کرنے کے لئے اپنے ماں باپ کو گالیاں دینے سے باز نہیں اتے افسوس صد افسوس مگر شرم ان کو آتی نہیں
    اپ کا بہوت شکریہ بھائی جی