l Government Jobs on Party Basis? | Pakistan Politics
{ 65 comments... read them below or add one }

• Rana Umair said:

is that even a question. There is no justification!

• tggg said:

Even private companies across the world take pride in being equal opportunity employers.
    Hiring process be clean from bias of race, gender, political affiliation etc as much as possible. There may be a few exceptions however.
    1) Some jobs may be performed more efficiently by a particular gender.
    2)People from disadvantaged and under-developed areas should be given relatively more representation.
    3) Only citizens be hired for sensitive positions as is the norm across the world

Other than that, there is no justification whatsoever for deviating from merit, in my humble opinion.

• Salam said:

MQM uses targeted killing as a tool to pressurize govt to accept their demands such as local bodies election or selection/appointment of administrators-

They are all blackmailers and can only force each other through blackmails.

• usman55 said:

This is one of the reasons why PPP is still popular in masses (specially low income and poor people).

They use government resources to bribe people and win their loyality.

• pakistanvideo said:

Out with PPP.Out with all muslim leagues(I call them mutehida luteray).People of Pakistan understand these Chaudhrys and bhuttos and mians are in for themselves.They give a damn about you.Understand for God sake that you people will have to write your TAQDEER with your own hands.

• sabir8798 said:

I beleive education, awareness and justice can help this country to comeout of this situation. Most of these political parties don’t want this to happen. Media has to play more constructive role and expose these wrongdoings while Justice Department has to act now. People supported them all the way, all they are doing is still talking. We need actions from CJP against bad people in our society.

• amandamarrion said:

I can not see anything wrong in this. As most of the PPP workers are poor and they deserve jobs.

well done Zardari. keep it up..

• Believer said:

@ amandamarrion

You are right. Voters of ANP, Sindhi Haris, Baluchis and PML are all millionaires in dollars.

Voters of PPP are not only poor but illiterate as well. They can easily become teachers, lecturers, clerks etc.

Fauzia Wahab and Amandamarrion Khappay!!!

• ConcernedAmericanPak said:

The obvious answer to this question is that absolutely people should get the jobs on their merits, no more no less. But to understand the real world is to understand the party structure of Pakistani political parties and their need or use of Government jobs for the loyalty of the people.

Political parties are nongovernmental institutions that organize and give direction to mass political desires. In a democracy, political parties are the crucial link between the citizens and the government. Parties only developed as the idea of political equality took hold in the late eighteenth century. They are specifically designed to allow groups to be heard that otherwise might be frozen out of the system. As a result, political parties are an essential element of democratic processes.

While Pakistani political parties share many common traits, party structure does differ from province to province ; however, the basic level of organization should be local level. Local party organizations most easily and readily accommodate participation on the part of the citizenry. In the early years of the twentieth century strong party machines and their party bosses dominated local politics. These machines offered :“jobs” and other material benefits in exchange for voter loyalty on election day.

Many of the urban machines have disappeared primarily because the creation of the civil service reduced the number of jobs that bosses had at their disposal at the same time that the welfare state eliminated many of the needs citizens had for those basic services that had once been provided by the machines.

The proliferation of non party local elections and the use of the ballot helped to decrease the influence of the party machine. This trend has been in a process of change by the two major Family Mafia based Parties, PPPP and PMLN, thus bringing the control of the top “Boss” at the gross roots by via party based nomination process, thus brings up the old issue of using the government jobs to the party ;loyalists to force the average citizen to chose the popular party for the survival and job opportunities, such as the “safe” jobs in the government.

Each s party also has a structure with a central committee supervising elections, particularly the local elections on party basses. At the national level, the national committee is responsible for coordinating the quadrennial national meetings and strategy.
    While the most popular parties are similar in these features, there are some differences.

PPPP, PMLN, ANP and JUI tend to stress family dynastical organization and funding by the corruption and the “franchise fees” for the lucrative ministerial position nomination.

The MQM, PPPP in Sindh and ANP attempt’s to be more representative of the ethnic groups and are funded through the corruption such as “Bhatta Khorry” and black mail. They strong arm people to join them for protection and jobs.

The third strain is JI and TI. JI grooms their members from the collage level and give them help in finding jobs by black mail and political jugglery. TI is the only party, which is mostly funded by the donations by the local Pakistani civil society and thee Pakistani abroad, thus has a limited ability to compete with more organized mafia like parties.

• kpannu said:

@ amandamarrion

WOW what a merit!

• agrana75 said:

Recently Punjab government hired about 40,000 teachers in schools. All those hirings were totally on merit and all credit goes to Shahbaz sharif. I know it personally through many of my realtives already affiliated with teaching profession. There is not a single example that any of the teachers hiring was out of merit..
    MQM, PPP and ANP etc are the parties which do politics for themselves and for their political workers only. They think that if political worker is happy, only then they can survive. They dont care about the system. Hell with them…..

• agrana75 said:

@amandamarrion:
    Who deserves for the job one who is poor and qualified or one who is poor and unqualified..??

If political parties workers make efforts for implementation of transparent system equally well for all or just where political workers could get jobs?

Could you please define “merit” ?

• amandamarrion said:

@Believer
    @kpannu

Jobs would be given on the basis of the share of these parties in the Govt.
    If people have given votes to other parties too. they will get the job proportionately.

and i believe in next elections people will not give votes to small parties like imran khan and JI. because they waste the votes and dont have any representation of people in the Govt.

It is quite logical.

We are moving towards 2 parties system. and this is a good step towards it.

• netengr said:

The reality on the ground is that political parties helped local people to give the employment ,otherwise army gives the jobs or take over the opportunities and only punjab is the beneficiary ,in Sind,Karachi ,Balochistan Most of the “non punjabi ” staff got the job on political basis .in Zia era when the army ruled most of the government vacancies in Sind were filled by people from punjab ,in sind still there are some department where punjabis are in majority like police ,rangers ,PIA ,steel mill etc . in sind , PPP and MQM gave the jobs to ” Local people ” .

First we should fix the system and stop the discrimination then blame the political parties

• geelemitti said:

@amandamarrion

“It is quite logical”

So you are saying, If one teacher is highly educated and very good at what he does, but doesnot belong to any party should not be given priority for teacher’s job over a person who has his affiliation with , say PPP but sucks @ his job and is almost as good as an illiterate person, is logical ?

Quite astounding a logic you have i must say .

• munna said:

BTW Thats what democracy is… Zionism Order!

“Tum sab Allah k Huzoor Tauba karo, Aye Momino! Taa ke tum Falah paa jao”

Surah Noor (Ayat 31)

In this world there is no respect of Pakistani nation, the only reason is they are morally courpt, they dont have any values they live in a market socity where every thing is for sale from a common man to eilte.

ALLAH TALA HUM SAB KO DIN KE RASTE PER CHALNE KE TAUFEEQ ATA FARMAE(AMEEN)

• ammarisb said:

This is the height of absurdity! What happened to the rationale of merit and equal opportunity? Why should be there any party based quota’s for jobs? Our once profitable institutions have sunk due to political appointments in PIA and railways have destroyed them.
    Employment should be open for all rather than awarding party members, such steps can further alienate the jobless disgruntled youth also it puts a question mark on the transparency in the running of states affairs.

• munna said:

Gents

Why bother him (amandamarrion) leave him alone.

Our time is much more precious then to waste with jayalas

• yahya87 said:

“MQM had earlier threatened PPP in Sindh and asked for 40% quota in Government jobs based on party affiliation of candidates.”

What a biased thing reported in this article as their is a 40% quota already in Sindh province for urban Sindh…as the population of urban Sindh is 40% of Sindh total population….

• Believer said:

@amandamarrion

Fauzia Wahab Khappay
    Farzana Raja Khappay
    amandamarrion Khappay

• Masood Ahmad said:

Just on a seperate note, is it necessary to name the income support programs on the names of politcians such as “Benazir Income Support Program”, as they are funded purely from tax payers money.

Secondly is there any good impact of such programs ?…… shouldn’t it be spent on putting some people back to work, instead of 1000 per month, which hardly helps.

• amandamarrion said:

@Believer

you forgot to say “Zardari Khappay”

• runaway said:

And what about Provincial quota?
    Urban / Rural quota?

• malikzafar said:

Excellent Peoples Party, make the most of it, We are stupid Awam and the Pindi Public is really intelligent as they voted 47000 votes in favour of a chor (Sheikh Raxheed) backed up by chor Party (PPP) and that khusra candidate of Hejhra Party (Nawaz League), So Pindi Waloo and Pakistan Waloo now pay the price for not voting for Imran Khan.

And Asif Zardari if you are reading these lines while you are holidaying in London , I would say keep yourself enjoying in London, this stupid Awam loves Bhutto Party, No one, yes no one can beat Bhutto Party for the next 100 years.

Masood Ahmad said:

“Just on a seperate note, is it necessary to name the income support programs on the names of politcians such as “Benazir Income Support Program”, as they are funded purely from tax payers money”

I agree with you and would like this issue to be addressed in a court of Law. It should be called social security or any name which does not hurt the feelings of the people receiving the help.

Even if Asif Ali Madari gives this money via BB “Saheeday NRO” fund from his personal funds, still he can not name it after his late wife, because that money is stolen from the poor people on the first place.

• Believer said:

@ amandamarrion

No i didn’t forget. I am saying it on behalf of Zardari to his Chamcha group!

• amandamarrion said:

Our Brave Army

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D-oPstyBoYc

Zardari Khappay

• Zaheer said:

@amandamarrion

If any black sheep in army does commit some crime it does not mean whole army is bad.

Don’t try to justify acts of Zaradri sahib or of anyone else on the basis of corruption/wrongdoing of someone! Wrong is wrong no matter who does it no matter whole world commits it!

• shakeelbajwa said:

@Concerned American Pak

If the funds are given under the name of ‘BB Shaheed NRO Waali’, I don’t mind. These are public funds and people should benefit it but not under the tag of her name.

And how about re-naming Benazir Islambad Airport as ”BB NRO Waali Airport’

Qs….Do you think that if Kala Bagh Dam Project can be named as ‘BB NRO Waali Dam Project’, then may be Zardari can convince Asfandayar Wali to start up the Kala Bagh Dam Project.
    OK…..as we know that Wali Khan is a real stubborn bloody idiot so we can rename it as ‘Begum Nasim Wali Khan/BB NRO Waali Project’, I hope than he might agree. It doesn’t matter what ever name you give so long as this b@s***d starts this vital Project.

Kala Bagh Dam Project is far more beneficial that hiring mobile tanker units from abroad, and we will utilize all the water which just flows into the Sea.

• haroon ali said:

I don’t understand if all this really matters anymore – I see this, most of us do, power greedy, money lusty, incompetent, hypocrites – politicians, bureaucrats, lawyers, generals alike – there is nothing we can do about them. We can’t change this system.

They should enjoy whatever time that is given to them in this world – they are just human being like all of us – So if you want a Job just join a Political Party – its that simple.

If a person like Imran Khan cannot compel people to vote for change – though sometimes I feel sorry for him – there is little chance unless Allah wills it.

Politicians Khappay
    Generals Khappay
    Zardai Khappay
    Altaf Khappay
    Rehman Khappay
    Fazalul Rehman Khappay

• haroon ali said:

and sorry i forgot – Asfandayar Wali also khappay

• socratese said:

What should be the criteria for Government Jobs? Do you think jobs based on political affiliation are justified?

Answer: HELL NOOOOO

@shakeelbajwa

Kala Bagh Dam; for this vital project and matter of life and death for millions of Pakistanis they can call it even the, Holly BB dam, the “daughter of east, mother of democracy, role model of enlightened and moderately Muslim women the “Saheeday” democracy and truth and justice the wife of the most honest man Asif Ali Zardari and the mother of golden boy of virtues and happiness, Bilawal Zardari Bhuto, the last hope for the progress for Pakistan and the future king for life Bilawal the saint, from the Bhutto saint hood family dynasty.”

• fazalalibutt said:

These political parties have hijacked all the departments and are trying hard to get their men appointed on the available vacancies. Later on these men will serve the wasted interests of these parties in return. That’s ‘ you scratch my back and I scratch your’ like situation. It’s very Depressing and plays havoc with the merit. Consequently, competent people, if they don’t have any political affiliation or Bribe, are pushed away and incompetent people due to these political parties’ links get where they can never reach in their wildest dreams.

• scary said:

Sorry to drift from the subject but why do we not have the video’s of “kehne may kya harj ha” or “Ajj Kamran ke sath”. The first one had an interview of the prime minister and the other extracts from that interview.

I think this very lively audience of this form would have loved to comment on the capabilities of our prime minister or the lack thereof. His comments highlights the wisdom of our president Zardari also in his capacity as the chairman of PPP’s party. If this man is the best that we can offer to our nation to lead us in this turmoil times then no wonder we have a problem. But I too must remember that if you spent 11 years in prison then you can’t be expected to be a genius. Or not everyone is Mandela.

• haroon ali said:

Corruption Khappay

• Adonis said:

Why only blame PPP? When military comes in power, it stuffs all departments by ex and serving military men. Military, for all means and purposes, is a political party, though it derives power from guns rather than popular votes.

• shakeelbajwa said:

@Concerned American Pak/posting @5.55pm

I really enjoyed reading that and as I said last time when you write your real feelings erupts like a lava.

Kala Bagh Dam is so important that I once asked Wali Khan (when he was alive) that we don’t mind you can called it Ghaffar Khan Dam, Gandhi Dam, Begum Nasim Wali Dam………just built Kala Bagh Dam, because not only it will produce Electricity, it will save water for irrigattion, it will bring jobs to at least 10 thousand people in terms of general labour and our new breed of Engineers will get the job………….and you know what Wali Khan replied, ” The construction of Kala Bagh Dam will be a political death for us, we will have no other topic to survive.”.

Benazir too played the Sind Card that Sind will not get water for agriculture. Both of them can go to hell.

@shakeelbajwa

This is the tragedy of Pakistan that the leaders family rule and personal hunger for power and benefits are more important than that of the best interest of the country. This is why I support Imran Khan, at least he does not represent a feudal, ethnic or business Family Mafia.

We have to get rid of these so called necessary family dynasties of the leaders who are bought and paid for by the enemies of Pakistan.

I will not object to calling it “Begum Nasim Wali Khan” dam. If I am not wrong, didn’t they caught her with stealing underwear from Marks & Spencer in London in the summer of 1978. …

Londoners still remember her as Begum Naseem Wali Khan , Wali Khan’s wife and notorious Panties thief in London.

I still remember the ridicules comment by the some Party member that the, “Begum Nasim Wali Khan” does not ware underwear……

@shakeelbajwa, an intresting read……

Former Pakistani Officer Embodies a Policy Puzzle
    By CARLOTTA GALL
    Published: March 3, 2010

With his white turban, untrimmed beard and worn army jacket, the man known uniformly here by his nom de guerre, Col. Imam, is a particular Pakistani enigma.

Mary Fitzgerald/The Irish Times

Once a promising protégé for the United States, Brig. Sultan Amir, who is known as Col. Imam, has taught insurgent tactics.

Notes from Afghanistan, Pakistan, Iraq and other areas of conflict in the post-9/11 era. Go to the Blog »

Times Topic: PakistanA United States-trained former colonel in Pakistan’s spy agency, he spent 20 years running insurgents in and out of Afghanistan, first to fight the Soviet Army, and later to support the Taliban, as Pakistani allies, in their push to conquer Afghanistan in the 1990s.

Today those Taliban forces are battling his onetime mentor, the United States, and Western officials say Colonel Imam has continued to train, recruit and finance the insurgents. Along with a number of other retired Pakistani intelligence officials, they say, he has helped the Taliban stage a remarkable comeback since 2006.

In two recent interviews with The New York Times, Colonel Imam denied that. But he remains a vocal advocate of the Taliban, and his views reveal the sympathies that have long run deep in the ranks of Pakistan’s military and intelligence services.

Despite Pakistan’s recent arrest of several high-level Taliban commanders, men like Colonel Imam sit at the center of the questions that linger around what Pakistan’s actual intentions are toward the Taliban.

American and NATO officials suspect that retired officers like Colonel Imam have served as a quasi-official bridge to Taliban leaders and their rank and file as well as other militant groups.

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/03/04/world/asia/04imam.html?hpw

• short life endless plans said:

merit should be the only criteria

• shakeelbajwa said:

@Concerned AmericanPak… &…. Scary/posting @6.57pm

@CAPak
    Yes, I have read your posting @10.58 pm with interest and I also had a look at the link of NY Times/Asia Pacific. Thanks

Posting @ 9.18 pm
    =============
    I am saying that even if Begum Wali Khan had stolen the whole Marks and Spencer Store…..I am still prepared to call it Begum Wali Khan Dam so long as this fool Asfandyar Wali is prepared to construct the Kala Bagh Dam. I am even prepared to put up the picture of Begum Wali Khan showing her wearing the panties of Marks & Spencer, so long as this Dam is Constructed.
    Let me take you back and just refresh your memory about that incident of Begum Wali Khan and M&S Store was that….. when this happened in London, she was actually found guilty by the Court in London. But ZA Bhutto couldn’t capitalize on it or exploit it, because Wali Khan was already under arrest for killing Hayat Mohd Khan Sherpao (The truth is that the blast which killed Hayat Mohd Khan Sherpao was actually carried out by the orders of Bhutto, because he was scared of Wali Khan, because Bhutto had earlier removed the coalition Govt of Mufti Mahmood and National Awami Party).
    Bhutto also did not felt necessary to exploit this because at that time the T.V. and other Media did not have any influence in Pakistan and not many people inside Pakistan knew about it. And immediately after that incident Bhutto really got himself into a mess by killing Nawab Mohd Khan (Father of Ahmad Raza Qasuri) which led him to rope round his neck. I personally feel that Bhutto was correctly hanged by the Court as he did kill many people in his tenure and famous people include Khwaja Rafiq, Dr Nazeer Ahmad (of D G Khan), Maulana Shamsuddin and of course Nawab Mohd Khan.

The sad aspect of all this is that whether Begum Wali Khan has done ‘chori’ or whether it is Altaf Chor or Zardari Chor…….we the stupid Awam of Pakistan will still vote for these people. We don’t want Roti, Kapra, makaan, clean water, electrcity, education, health Services etc we only want chor, daaku, bhatta khors, badmash……..because we stupid, jahil and junglee.

@Scary
    ======

Mr Scary, I think you were born yesterday because you don’t remember what happened just 8 days ago when stupid public of Rawalpindi gave 47000 votes to Sheikh Rasheed. In fact the votes (72000) to Shakeel Awan are wasted too, because Nawaz Sharif is khusra and he keeps saying…..’Hum tu system ko bachana chahte hein’.
    But here I am interested in the votes which were casted to Sheikh Rasheed because Sheeda was backed up by chor Zardari, and in fact the Pindi bye-election was a referendum for the Policies of Zardari and 47000 yes I repeat 47000 stupid people of Pindi has approved the policies of Zardari.
    And now I want to know that why do you want to watch ‘kehna mein kia harg hai’……yes I watched that programme and the Prime Minister really make himself look fool and in reality gave absolutely stupid answers. He is not fit to be the PRIME MINISTER but the public of Pindi clearly supported policies of Zardari. You may disagree with me but I think in the Pindi bye-election Peoples Party has won. Even today whilst I write these lines, as soon as people see Yusuf Raza Gilani, they start shouting Jiye Bhutto , Jiye Benazir. My message to people those who have not watched ‘ kehne mein kia harj’ is please don’t bother, because this stupid, junglee and jahil public of Pakistan loves BHUTTO Family.

My humble request to Admin PK Politics is to start again the programme, ‘AAJ KAMRAN KHAN KE SATH’ because these days the quality and analysis of the programme is really good.

• TruePakistani said:

All Quota system jobs should be removed & appointments made only on true merit.

These quota jobs are a method of legal bribe & all political parties use it since long.

That’s one of the reasons of high corruption & incompetence in our public sector organizations. I would rather suggest sacking of ppl appointed on political/quota systems in these organizations & fill the seats with deserving ppl on merit. If political workers fulfill merit requirements, only then they should be appointed.

Corruption will always eliminate from top. Corruption starts from the person who has power & poor ppl suffer afterwards.
    Catch the big theif on regular basis & smaller thiefs will be eliminated themselves.

In short, these quota system jobs are a cancer for our society.

• adnanvisa said:

quota system is to ensure illetrate work under illetrate but powerful politicians… no to quota system.. every thing shud be on merit… its because of quota all our institutions police customs tax are in the drain

My friend I thought we are the well wishers of the majority poor Pakistanis and all this forum is abut pointing out the faults of the system and educating people about the alternative to the current corrupt to the core, arrogant, extremists and Family inherited political Mafia’s or based on ethnical distributions and divide.

The Pakistani people more than three fourths live on the 150 rupees a day wages, less than two dollars and they have been kept in control by the colonial style police , military establishment and weak and corrupt judiciary and controlled mass media.

This is the first time we have free judiciary and open media and people can see the difference. You should not call names to the peoples for the fault of the system. They are in a way trapped in it and has to be rescued. My humble request to you is that in your anger and despise of the current situation of Pakistan , you are blaming the victims.

There is a group of people who will twist it and turn your anger into hate for Pakistani people. . They take every thing literarily and get offended by it, or start a cheerleading club to cheer one person as their perfect person or the “role model”, this sounds like puberty and immaturity.

Please channel your anger in a better way because you have good issues to discus and you sound like representing the majority sentiments of Punjabis, which are hard to find.

• BE COOL said:

Chorr b kahy chorr chorr

• anwarul Chaudry said:

No, NO hell No

• adnanvisa said:

said in anger or calmness.. no to quota system.. open merit

• shakeelbajwa said:

M-E- R-I-T………….what does this word mean. Is it something to play with, or is it somehing to eat. Could someone please explain this to me.

• Zaheer said:

This quota system is double loss.

One one side it promotes incompetent people and other hand it deprives the worthy people of their right!

This is one of the big reasons why we have corrupt and wrong people at posts causing huge damage to system and country; and deserving and competent people are either living miserable life and are forced to work under first type of people or they leave country.

Fellows i am missing the real change factor, i mean we know most of the problems and also their solutions but who can change this situation and how? What are hurdles and how to remove them? Please don’t come with typical answer that nothing could be changed rather try to give some realistic way out! Speak your mind freely without any fear or hesitation. We really need to fight for solid change otherwise we will only keep on talking, writing and objecting and nothing will actually change.

• Pakistan said:

Not justified But I know one of PML-N MNA doing job allocations and transfers on party basis.
    Hence justfied…..

5 March 2010 at 3:03 pm…. is for @shakeelbajwa

• amandamarrion said:

Even if this Govt or Zardari does anything good. people criticize him.

Like Rental power projects, Kerry Lugar Bill, Giving Jobs to People………………….

This is a very Good step by Zardari, it will strengthen Democracy.

we should support our Govt and give Zardari space to develop our country.

The things Musharraf could not do in 8 years, Zardari has done in 2 years.

Zardari Khappay.

• okboss said:

If CJ of Supreme Court appoints his loyalists to the courts then there is no problem.
    However, if a political govt. appoints its supporters all of sudden every one start shouting merit merit.

• proudpakistani85 said:

AOA,

Can anyone throw some light on Aitezaz Ahsan email which he sent to President…?

• shakeelbajwa said:

@Concerned American Pak

Thanks for bringing to my attention.

On the subject of Merit, this is true that in other Govt’ s too the Merit was not taken into consideration but in the Benazir’s both era’s and now in Zardari’s era, Sindhi’s (with due respect) always get jobs in PIA, Customs, Inland Reveue, Foreign Services, Overseas Postings, Free Umra tickets etc. The ‘Merit’ is really flouted when Peoples Party is ruling.

Also in the last few months Aitezaz Hassan is now openly supporting Zardari and this has really strenthen Zardari and he is really behaving like wild animal.

• proudpakistani85 said:

Well some of us already know the true face of Aitezaz Ahsan….However it is sad that such a corrupt and loeaderless goon is going to stay in the top executive position of our country…Its really very very sad!

@shakeelbajwa

http://pkpolitics.com/2010/03/01/meray-mutabiq-1-march-2010/#comment-294220

Please read this thread and see what kind of people you are dealing with…

Bawa said:
    @ shakeelbajwa
    Ali Ch
    I can now say that Pakistani pubic including you is 100% ch*t*a

عمران پارٹی کی اصلیت کھل کر سامنے آنے کے بعد بھی کچھ نہ سمجھے خدا کرے کوئی

• Zaheer said:

Few suggestions

- In our current situation when we are facing huge internal and external challenges it is very important that we act as united nation and use our resources and capabilities in best possible way. We minimize our internal divisions and also country should be managed and run by those are best capable and most appropriate. Pakistan is facing a very tough time; our economic, social, educational, political, law and order and other systems are in trouble and we need to act swiftly.

- Current party system is not really democratic and is mainly dominated by few individuals. Normally only those can enter into parties who are rich or influential while poor and talented individuals are not able to establish themselves in these parties.

- Party systems are a source of unnecessary conflicts and fights with each other and also have divided our society. There are more harms of these parties than goods. Almost all of the parties have been involved in corruption and they blackmail each other for their past and most of them are not able to fight the corruption and nepotism.

- Most of the people in political parties are not highly educated or competent enough to understand national and international situations/challenges. They lack the capabilities to decide and act confidently for the sake of people and country. At occasions people in political parties misuse their influence and status for their vested interests and disturb the rights of poor and common people.

- People don’t have much options except selecting between certain parties and also voters are not that aware about which parties could be best for nation and country.

– Although our current government is there and it claims to work good but in reality the magnitude of challenges and their lack of capabilities to handle the problems is causing continues damage to the country and situation is not improving nor it seems to improve.

- We have so many human and natural resources in our country but we are not able to handle and manage them properly. Our main problem seems to be lack of capable leadership or a team.

- It is quite encouraging that our Judiciary, Army and Media have been positively improving in the recent past. Although our politicians are also capable and sincere to nation and country but because of many factors some of which are mentioned above, they are so far not able to deliver for country.

- If we stay in current cycle then there is high possibility that our problems will further increase so we need to think and plan a way out. At this stage we direly need to think and plan for the nation than our personal benefits and parties because if country and nation is strengthened then everyone will be strengthened and in opposite case everyone will suffer.

- I would suggest that we make a national party which consists of best and capable people from current parties. In addition to that that party includes the people from other walks of life e.g. media, judiciary(retired), army and intelligence(retired), bussiness, education, religious lot, economists, lawyers, scientists etc. Initially only few individuals are selected and then they can further select more people into the team or make further teams. It should be made sure that this party gives representation to all provinces and groups of society.

- Now the questions is that how will people be selected for such a party? This is the most difficult task. Well, i would suggest that we can use different forums e.g. Media, this forum to ask people to suggest their list of 10-20 or more people or some other ways including taking the list of people from the parties and groups etc.

- Next question is that what will be authority and responsibilities of such a party? This is another big task. I think first thing after establishment of such a party is that they should analyze the current situation of Pakistan and point out the biggest problems of Pakistan and then suggest their solutions and then work for those solutions. This group should work hard and continuously taking their task as high priority and as main job. All the pillars of country e.g. Government, Judiciary, Army, Media, Religious groups and others should support, help and cooperate with them.

- This is just the initial sketch that comes in mind to bring any solid and realistic change in country. Of course this is not something which is the ultimate thing and is open to changes and improvements. I would however expect that we really do something in this direction because Pakistan really needs some solid plans and actions; we should not waste time here and there and in complacency. These are my views and feel free to share your opinions and suggestions.

• *RhyMe* said:

This favouritism,on the basis of political affiliation, in giving jobs to selective employees has been practised in Pakistan for quite a long time now…its not something new…. and in near future i see this practise will continue in our country until our “dead political culture” is replaced by a “contructive electoral process” as the present defective electoral process,where, one of the heavy promises of distributing jobs, only to their ppl, the political leaders made during elections to attract ppl to vote for them,is one of the reasons why the real talent is wasted in Pakistan…that is why the derseving ones who can get on crucial posts only and only on merit,get dishearted and then think of leaving the country to apply for a job abroad…

• malamgir said:

This is the height of ” jihalat ” if we agree to this . Are we still living in the stone age? Jobs should be given on purly merit basis , all in accrdance with the state standard procedures in line with the constitutional obligations.

In fact, this has been the policy of PPP since the times of its first coming to power that they reward their workers by offering them job s in public sector, regarless of their eligibility and fulfilling of required qualifications and in return, these individuals work for the interests of the party when the party is not in power.

• proudpakistani85 said:

Pakistani People know that Zardari is now trying to find “Safe exit strategy”…. Can someone guru in politics could guide me as what Aitezaz Ahsan is now trying to do???? after that he is all exposed…and grutted

• syed zaidi said:

Not in Karachi, but it’s justified in PUNJAB!!!!!

• silkccut said:

This is one of the many reasons why I have not been to Pakistan since 1998.

• islamabadi1 said:

@silkccut

You have not been to Pakistan since 1998 for this reason really? Well good for you…obviously it shows you have no concern for our country…so I wonder what you are doing on this website then? Punk.