l Dunya Today – 8 March 2010 | Pakistan Politics
{ 14 comments... read them below or add one }

• aristotle said:

o Khuda
    ab Dr Pirzada par ye waqt bhi agaya hay ch ch ch

ye discussion pehle bhi 100 maraba ki ja chki hay aur hamesha benateeja rahi hay

Muhesh Bhutt ko tv par time dene ka koi aur tareeqa sochna chaye tha Dunya news ko

• bionicwoman said:

@aristotle _ for once I agree with you…but more than the issue of Mahesh Bhatt I think the program had other issues of flow and connectivity.

despite some very good presentations and speed this program had several weaknesses, selected film clips should have been used rather than generic trailers, the single minded attack on Oscars for being pro-American for not selecting Avatar was less convincing since Oscars have a history of not selecting technical and science fiction films, they did not select ET and Star Wars and selected lesser known films of the day, they always go on human drama…also whereas Aamir Khan & Shahrukh Khan movies were introduced no meaningful comments were offered to justify and connect them with debate and there were some editing issues, looked like program was not recorded in one go…

And Aristotle, you are right this topic has been discussed before and unfortunately always without conclusion, which is actually so bad for Pakistan because its film has almost finished and to that extent the program was true that this represents a grave serious risk for Pakistan and something needs to be done and will never be done unless it is widely understood………but Aristotle from your comments it is obvious that even you being “Aristotle” on this forum don’t appreciate that, which means that not only program has failed but also Pakistani art & cinema has no future except for becoming a part of Indian cinema? Am I true?

Pakistani talent has no future but to become absorbed by India? Is, this not sad?

• ali000 said:

this is exactly what we people want to watch,
    we all are badly fed up with all boring result less discussions of corrupt polititions.
    Dr. Moeed Win at least today.
    In all other programs some where women day was the topic, and some where terrorism. Every TV channel present transmission about two of above almost whole the day, in this program viewers at least feel some rest for their mind.
    Please Dr. Pirzada don’t spare your program for routine topics.
    I want to see that kind of intelligent anchor at the top of pakistani Media.

and bionic lady,
    no matter about u,
    u are in love actually.

• bionicwoman said:

@aliooo_ you are crazy? I appreciate Pirzada’s program and I am in love with him and I criticize him and I am in love with him? ..just because I am a woman? what about all these men on Pk Politics who are deeply attached by this muchal Hamid Mir and guant looking Shahid Masood? are they all homosexuals? …my imagination is running amok…tell me what about men liking men? at least my fantasy fits into the global norm..what about these men loving men?

• jhonnydeppp said:

@ Relax Bionic lady …….lolz.. he is trying to wind u up that is his only ploy….As I have said in my reply to ur hamid guls post in the previous program………..you make sense when u speak, and i think it would be unfair to your intellect to come up to his level and answer his idiocracy…. ignore this stupidity….

I would seek your help in a serious matter kindly go to this newsweek webpage the article is “U.S must support Zardari” http://www.newsweek.com/id/234515
    an indian has made some seriously negative comments on Pakistan i have replied to him..

I would also request you to comment on that and using your logic just “blast” him on the spot…

regarding this programme i would agree with your comments however i would disagree with you that pakistani talent has no future it would absorb with Indias..

kindly keep in mind “Khuda kay liyay” by shoaib mansoor also keep in mind Pakistani rock music has rocked India, most of it is either used in bollywood or pilagarised..

Pakistani Talent has a bright future…

• hariskhan said:

Excellent! Program.

Dr. Moeed raised the point about the importance of remaining loyal to one’s own culture, one’s own belief, one’s own ideology, one’s own civilization.

• aylahussain said:

Good discussion is going on but are we not deviating from the actual point of discussion?
    Dr. Moeed Pirzada is well known anchor and many people like him for his well articulate analysis,research oriented approach and soft toned style of putting forward ideas which is rare in other TV anchors. Liking some one is not some thing unnatural or out of this world. Apart from it topic selected by the anchor was not out of fashion in line with current fever of Oscar Awards-
    Dr. Pirzada only tried to give analysis on ‘Film as a powerful medium’ having impact on public or society and molding or modeling opinion on certain desired lines well conceived by film makers-Oscar winning Film ‘Hurt Locker’ has far reaching imprints on minds of common viewers and giving it the stature of ‘Best film of the year’ has raised questions for many things ahead- American media through Film as a significant medium can project valor of its soldiers, it can well highlight atrocities of its enemies by making public the events of Tiananmen Square in China calling it brutal and cannot allow anyone give vent to brutalities of American forces entrenched in Iraq War to Muslim men and women- Did anyone dare capturing these inhuman treatment to Muslims and on aired it in shape of a Movie to model America’s public opinion against Government agenda to curb and humiliate Muslims only- in every part of the world?Looking at them without mending our ways is rather stupid.
    Movies give us a common language to talk about things as far flung as politics, technology, public morality, etc. Impact of movie on young minds is never denied in any culture or society.

• bionicwoman said:

@Jhonnydep__ Posted By: Bionicwoman @ 03/09/2010 5:41:43 AM
    Newsweek, 5th March…

Selig Harrison’s piece is misleading — there was a time 30 years ago when Selig knew a thing or two about this region but since then he has stagnated and his piece is just a combination of ignorance and stereotypical Delhi centric thinking…Had Selig been doing a regular research instead of relying upon his Internee’s world view then he would have known that the US policy makers — Hillary and her team – and also the key US generals ie Stanley McChrystal and David Petraeus have long determined that Zardari is far too incompetent, stupid, corrupt and unpopular in Pakistan to be propped up by overt or covert US support…and instead of any help to the US or even its India policy Zardari is in fact a liability…also Selig would have known that Pakistan today is not the country he had visited and traveled extensively in 80′s…Pakistan today is a country where Zardari is watched over by a strong opposition, a vibrant media and assertive judiciary; this is a multi-polar society where Army and its generals have lost much of their influence..they still try their antics but cannot succeed easily, and the same is true for us my dear Selig, we too cannot dictate or determine the fate as easily as it was possible in 80′s….Selig ought to know that supporting Zardari is neither desirable nor possible in an overt fashion….also if Selig had any real ground understanding, had he been a Pakistan watcher he would have known that his “endangered Zardari” is not going anywhere because however hated and despised he may be by his enemies and generals in a new multi-polar Pakistan they have no easy way — either political or constitutional — to get rid of… if he fell in the end he will fall by his mistakes or the by advice of stupid advisers the kind of one Selig spoke with…
    Also Selig’s partisan, one sided comments on India Pakistan relations are misplaced, misleading and unhelpful…India chose to offer the peace talks to Pakistan after dithering for 14 long months, and that too when they found themselves isolated on Afghanistan in London and Istanbul and it was the failure of Indian diplomacy on Afghanistan that needed a breather in the form of these talks that could be sold as evidence of good Indian intentions or gestures at a time when Pakistanis are offering tremendous help on Afghanistan….unfortunately the deadlock in Delhi on 25th Feb represented another setback for Indian diplomacy for they failed to bring new initiatives… in the end we have to support good relations between India and pakistan but it cannot be done the way Selig is suggesting… poor old Selig has lost his touch and understanding of issues..this happens when you rely upon internees or lay press and have no direct access in the region…Selig please read a lot and travel to Islamabad to find the pulse in new Pakistan….grow up, this is not 1985, this is 2010..

Regarding your on Dunya Today program, I don’t agree with your comments, I think it was not about whether Pakistan has the talent or not but whether Pakistan will be able to maintain its cultural identity… Shoaib Mansoor’s KKL offers hope but if Pakistanis have no option but to work for Indian industry like the way Brits and Australians have to then their separate distinct identity is at threat… we need to discuss this more….

• ali000 said:

bionicwoman
    &
    jhonnydeppp

Please don’t mind any of my comment,
    I personally like Dr. Moeed very much.
    He brings different issues, his thinking is mature, he manage discussion very well.
    and most I like in him is his fluency ans word section about Urdu.

Specially this program is really very good and serious effort to let us think about world’s most popular medium, and about Pakistani Film Industry.
    only one thing was missing. there should be some one known from Film industry,
    like Shan, Sayed Noor, Hassan Askari, or any other from main stream.

and at the end,
    fact is fact
    Bionic lady is in Love.
    I can prove this.

• aylahussain said:

Good discussion is going on but are we not deviating from the actual point of discussion?
    Dr. Moeed Pirzada is well known anchor and many people like him for his well articulate analysis,research oriented approach and soft toned style of putting forward ideas which is rare in other TV anchors. Liking some one is not some thing unnatural or out of this world. Apart from it topic selected by the anchor was not out of fashion in line with current fever of Oscar Awards-
    Dr. Pirzada only tried to give analysis on ‘Film as a powerful medium’ having impact on public or society and molding or modeling opinion on certain desired lines well conceived by film makers-Oscar winning Film ‘Hurt Locker’ has far reaching imprints on minds of common viewers and giving it the stature of ‘Best film of the year’ has raised questions for many things ahead- American media through Film as a significant medium can project valor of its soldiers, it can well highlight atrocities of its enemies by making public the events of Tiananmen Square in China calling it brutal and cannot allow anyone give vent to brutalities of American forces entrenched in Iraq War to Muslim men and women- Did anyone dare capturing these inhuman treatment to Muslims and on aired it in shape of a Movie to model America’s public opinion against Government agenda to curb and humiliate Muslims only- in every part of the world?Looking at them without mending our ways is rather stupid.
    Movies give us a common language to talk about things as far flung as politics, technology, public morality, etc. Impact of movie on young minds is never denied in any culture or society.

• DoubleU said:

@aliooo

haha … you sound so confident “I can prove this”

• jhonnydeppp said:

@ Bionic Lady ………… all i can say is “absolutely briliant” or in british slang i would say “you are spot on” :)
    what a damn good reply i also chked it on actual news week article and I am absolutely delighted…… ha ha poor old Selig….ur reply was so relevant and logical he himself must be thinking ……i guess i made a mistake in writing that piece….

Notice the April showers extreme anti pakistan comment in the end…..if you can at ur lesuire do smash his jaws by replying him in a befitting manner as well :)
    great stuff ……………. I must admit you have forced me to take this highly Avant-garde step and break my cover here and invite you on my face book, of course declining is your Prerogative but i would be obliged if u dont..
    My name is Naveed Ghuman (Black Tshirt)..
    I would like to introduce you some more international and national journals and papers who would need your replies against balatant anti pakistan propoganda by the Indians…

@ on This programe …..I some how agree Pakistani Identity and individuality is certainly endangered..
    All this again comes down mis governance and lack of patronage by the Govt whose officials are just busy in helping themselves from the cookie jar of the ex chequer..

One small example though this might be irrelevant, Indians are mostly identified as vegeterians (bhajia eaters) however they have convieniantly hijacked Pakistani dishes such as Chicken Tikka masala, Lamb pulao etc and market these as Indian food all over europe.

This is Plagiarism in broad day light..
    Bottom line only Official and strong Govt Patronage can save the true pakistani Identity..

@ AylaHussain—– i agree this is a very valid argument “Film is a very power full medium” to advance your own agenda by perception making in the minds of general public.
    The americans realised this fairly early when the electronic media was in its early stages..

Under Richard Nixons Patronage it was officially decided that american aura and perception of a super power would be built up by using the hollywood…

You may notice quite a few Pentagon or state department funded movies…
    America is portrayed as the good guys and the others as bad guys, it was communism in Rambo 3 in the 80s and now it is Islam and the jihadi culture…

I would quote the example of a 2006 movie “300″ in which the King Leonidas and a force of 300 men fight the Persians at Thermopylae in 480 B.C.

Notice the time of the release of the movie exactly when US had locked horns with persia i.e Iran…

So this is a harsh truth that the Film medium is used to make or break perceptions no matter they are morally, ethically or politically correct or not that does not matter for the film makers…

How ever I admit Avatar had an anti “use of military force” theme but i guess it wasnt refused an Oscar due to political reasons.
    Many popular films have been refused in the past as well.

This is my personal opinion..

• ali000 said:

@DoubleU
    thank you.
    you are the only one who got my point..
    nation needs your kind of people..

• sobiafatima said:

Is it Logical Dr to take comments of Indian producer on the survival of pakistani cinema?
    very interesting topics. wonderful. By the way Kiya pakistani producer indian filmain bananey main busy hain…………….. pathetic idea to bring Indian producer on this topic