l Pakistan Flood Disaster | Pakistan Politics
{ 74 comments... read them below or add one }

• Bawa said:

لیڈر ہو تو ایسا

روسی وزیراعظم پیوٹن آگ بجھانے کیلئے فائر فائٹر بن گئے

ماسکو (ثناء نیوز) روسی وزیراعظم ولادی میر پیوٹن روس میں تاریخ کی بدترین گرمی کی وجہ سے جنگلات میں پھیلتی آگ بجھانے کیلئے فائر فائٹر بن گئے۔ پیوٹن نے وہ طیارہ خود اڑایا جو آگ پر قابو پانے کیلئے فضا سے پانی کا چھڑکاوٴ کرتا ہے۔لیڈر ہو تو ایسا جو مصیبت کے وقت خود آگے بڑھ کر قوم کا مورال بلند کرے ،روسی صدرہیڈ فون لگاکر جہاز کے کاک پٹ میں بیٹھے، پیوٹن نے ریازن کے علاقے میں اڑان بھری اور فائر فائٹنگ آپریشن میں حصہ لیا

http://www.jang.net/urdu/details.asp?nid=458612

• busybee said:

@BAWA this is the reason our president is planning a trip to Russia from 20th:) by the way every one has some talent our president has nothing to show besides his greedy attitude and greedy parliment.

• agrana75 said:

All above contacts details are of goverment institutes and personal. There is no gaurantee if my money would and aid would go to victims or in the pocket of Mr 10% lovers group….

• SA said:

yes but there are many individuals and group of ppl who are working and distributing aid. We can donate to them, It is 1st of Ramazan we should use this opportunity to give our zakat..

• block said:

you guys could have given EDHI’s contact info too.I will not give my single dime to govt who has paid $25000/hour parking charges for SOB zardari’s plane at Paris and london airport.

• ConcernedAmericanPak said:

@block

Today my wife came back from work and gave me an envelope with $50 in it and was very concerned that how can she send it to the flood relief fund, she was so petrified about the corrupt government and wanted this money to go to the people of Pakistan, because a very average American lady with little money to her name, of Korean decent gave her the money, after watching the flood report on TV and knowing that my wife is from Pakistan. I will send it to the EDHI truest along with whatever we can give.

Last time I went around and collected funds for the earthquake victims and one of my white 85 years old 2nd world war veteran living next-door , whom I use to visit, help clean his house with my children and bring food once in a while gave me three hundred dollars and then came back and gave me seven hundred dollar bills and told me that Jesus came in his dream and told him to help more. My wwife’s coworkers the Christens, Hindus and Sikhs alike gave us money and all my white and black friends mailed me hundred or couple of hundred upon my request.

This time, I am so broken hearted by this government that I do not feel to do anything to help this international crime syndicate running Pakistan to the ground.

• hadi26 said:

MashAllah pkpolitics guys, wonderful work on your part to publish the most pertinent bits of information. Good on you brothers!

USA – Edhi Center USA Edhi international Foundation.
    42-07 National street
    Corona, New York, 11368 USA
    Tel: (718) 639-5120
    Fax: (718) 335-1978
    Toll Free# 1-888-899-EDHI (3344)

United Kingdom Edhi International Foundation,
    316 Edgware Road,
    London W2 1DY,
    United Kingdom
    Tel: 02077232050 and Fax: 02072249774

Canada Canada
    Bilquis Edhi Charitable Shop
    1801-1805 Danforth Ave
    Toronto-M4C-1J2 Canada
    Phone/Fax: +1 (416) 699-1388
    Also include the following above the international addresses:

Japan Japan Edhi International Foundation,
    RM 101 COPO Nikkei, 1-25 4-Chome,
    Minami-ohi Shinagawa -KU-Tokyo 140 Japan.

Australia Australia Abdul Sattar Edhi International Foundation,
    Level 20, Picadly tower,
    133, Castle Reagh Street, Sydney 2000,

Austrailia.
    Tel: 02-2646499, 03-3767-7282
    Fax: 03-3764-4395, 02-264-7337

Bangladesh Bangladesh Edhi International Foundation Inc,
    2/2 Purana palton, 3 rd Floor,
    Dhaka – 1000, Bangladesh

• Mujtaba said:

plz inform me about the Eidhi and Army fund collection points…
    ad i appeal and heartiest request to donate as much as you can and please spread the word of help to as much as you can … ask Pakistanis as well as others to help our nation .. no government can overcome this disaster alone …

PTI central Disaster fund
    Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (Disaster Fund)

A/C Number: 0008-129572-001
    Swift Code: PLCOPKKA

KASB Bank Limited, 90 West Razia Sharif Plaza, Blue Area, Islamabad, Pakistan

In Middle East Funds can be Handed over to the below contacts officially appointed by Middle East Coordinator and PTI’s Central Finance Sec.

Country
    Person Contact #
    UAE Kaleem Ch +971-504538462
    UAE Mian Anjum +971-504975974, +971-501817102
    Saudi Arabia Fawad Ch. +966-532923300
    Saudi Arabia Shahid Niaz +966-532502109
    Kuwait Arshad Ch. +965-99230443
    Oman Rezwan Aziz +968-99840748
    Qatar Tahir Aftab Butt +974-55824475
    Qatar Omar Malik Azad +974-66287593
    Bahrain Taimoor Ch. +973-36999001

• Ghost of TK said:

Google releases an app for finding resources like Hospitals/Food etc. in Pakistan

http://pakistan.resource-finder.appspot.com/

• Kruman said:

Aid alone is not enough to come out of this calamity. In the short run, yes we need aid.

In the long run, we need to compensate and rehabilitate the rural class who have lost their livestock, possessions and all. Land reforms are the only way to rehabilitate the poor.

It can usher in an era of progress, if land reforms are coupled with improved agriculture practices and building of more water reservoirs.

Land should be taken away from the wadera mafia and handed over to the haris and the mazaras of Sindh and Punjab.

• hsaqib17 said:

Can this government direct seasonal vote-grabbers to go and help those in distress. These are the people they claim to represent. Read interesting story at: http://fmeducation.wordpress.com/2010/08/14/vote-grabbers-remain-unmoved-by-the-plight-of-14-million-flood-survivors/

I have mailed my dontions to the EDHI trust fund and made payable to, “USA Edhi international Foundation”.

And mailed to USA – Edhi Center USA Edhi international Foundation, 42-07 National street, Corona, New York, 11368 USA.

I feel that we should help via Pak Army, PTI and EDHI Trust along with other organizations which people know that will send the monies to the people. Every single penny sent to the Government or the provincial Ethnic mafia run governments will be sending them to support the PPPP,ANP,MQM,ANP and PML-N and other sold-out and compromised criminal groups. I will not even piss in a pot with PPPP affiliation or any other ethnic and family based mafia political group.

Today I was pleasantly surprised when I sent some money to a family member in need to deal with current out of control electricity and commodity prices and was waived the 10 dollars by the Western Union with this note:

“Western Union expresses its deepest sadness to its valued consumers who have loved once affected by the recent floods in Pakistan. We have waived our money transfer fee to Pakistan from 8/12/2010 to 9/12/2010“.

All these small amounts can addup, unlike Asif Ali Madari’s $25,000 per hour parking fees for the plan for his persnal use and 7,0000 sterling pound per day suites and many other suites for his dung beetles and crime syndicate.

7,000.00 Pound sterlins x $1.5588 = $10,912.00 x 85.11 = 928,686.00 rupees per room. He had many rooms for his human dung beetles.

$25,000.00 per hour plan parking fees x 24(hours in a day) = $600,000.00 hrs x 6 days = $3,600’000.00 x 85.11 = 51,066,000.00 rupees.

This is the magnitude of money plus the rental cars, food, chartered plans and spending money is out of the world from a third world county’s presidents useless personal trip to indorse his family ethnic Mafia.

Now he is planning to go to Russia. This moron, senseless, moral less, criminally and mentally insane person, Asif Ali Madari has traveled like a rock star all around the world during his presidency and wasting poor peoples money and collecting very expensive gifts and trying to show his demonic offspring as the next prince and princes of thee Pakistan all around the world. He is giving them some sort of international political science training on the expense of the Pakistani poor.

We must impeach this criminal ASAP, or have him house arrested for mental breakdown. He has to be stopped along with his international crime syndicate. He is acting like the Nero of Roam of Pakistan, “Nero’s was playing his lyre and singing while the city burned” he is dancing on the dead and dying Pakistanis and on their graves as a “Mad Man” bent over to take some sort of revenge on the people of Pakistan . Stop this loon, please do something to stop this “Mad Man”.

• Tweets that mention Pakistan Flood Disaster | Pakistan Politics -- Topsy.com said:

[...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Asim Aleem, Ahmad Faiz. Ahmad Faiz said: Please read this list and HELP the Pakistan Flood Disaster Victims. Pakistan Flood Disaster | Pakistan Politics http://goo.gl/L9cp [...]

• farooqsandhu said:

imran khan pahly cancer hospital kay fund ka hisab toe dy.chaloo kuch aur nahi toe jamima khan hi funding kar dy.imran khan bi dosray sayasat dano ke tarha hi hay bas farak siraf itna hay bakiyoo ko muka mila hay ess ko abi tak nahi mila jab es ko muka milay gy tab ya bi kam nahi karay gaa.ALLAH hamay imran khan sy bechayy ameen.

• RhyMe said:

A live telethon was arranged on AAJ tv last night which just ended mins ago where both the journalists annouced their joined account in MCB Bank along with their personal cell numbers where ppl can send their donations…

Starting from them,both of them donated 13 Lack rupees plus Talat has also donated his plot for Flood affectees…so far around 1 crore nd 55 lack rupees were collected in this telethon…

Ppl were generously donating as if everyone was looking for someone on whom they can put their blind trust…

Details of contact numbers/account is given below…

Account Details for Flood Relief

Title of Account: Syed Talat Hussain/ Kashif Abbasi
    Account No: 0516616341000689
    Bank: Muslim Commercial Bank
    Branch: Stock Exchange Branch, Blue Area, Islamabad
    Branch Code: 1390
    Swift Code: MUCBPKKAA

For further details:

Tel: +92-51-111010010
    SMS: +92-347-5023842, +92-301–5473521

or u can just visit their website for more info…

http://www.aaj.tv/donations/

Me nd my Family have just donated to Talat nd Kashif….Please Donate generously as every peny means alot for our brothers and sisters in pain….Thanks…

“The best charity is that given in Ramadhan.” [At-Tirmithi]

• Mujtaba said:

@ RhyMe
    jazakaALLAH

great

• KAWA said:

This is natures way of cleansing itself from the dirt that covers the land. The land of the impure where people re-elect the likes of Jamshaid Dasti, need to be perished for good. I don’t care if the damn drone gets them or the flood water, the inevitable should happen.

• planet372 said:

Kala Bagh Dam is the Solution.

These dumb politicians only care about themselves.

Zardari wants to complete his 5 years
    Nawaz Sharif is waiting for his turn that is why he is sleeping
    ANP playing politics over the Dam
    Altaf Bhai enjoying in London

They are not concerned who is dying of these flood.

• Adonis said:

It is great to see the people in Pakistan donating generously for their brethren just like they did during the earthquake of 2005.

On the other hand, some nitpickers living outside Pakistan are acting as usual as armchair critics busy in their favorite pastime of politician bashing !!!

Good thing that those actually living in Pakistan are more sensible.

• memnun said:

سارے مولوی جو آ ئی ایس آ ئی اور عرب ملکوں کے پیسوں سے بڑے بڑے مدرسے بنا کر بیٹھے ہیں ان کو اپنے مدرسے متاثرین کے لئے کھول دینے چا ہئے ہیں اور اپنا پیسا سیلاب فنڈ میں دینا چاہیے .جماعت اسلامی کا منصورہ کمپاونڈ اور جماعت دوہ کا مرید کے میں مدرسہ ہزاروں لوگوں کو رکھ سکتا ہے .ذرا کوئی جماعت اسلامی کے منصورہ میں جا کر دیکھے کتنی آرامدہ زندگی جماعتی گزر رہے ہیں .

• hsaqib17 said:

Pakistan has turned 63. Its major problems is its wrong criteria to chose its leaders. People use pedigree, or nasal in Urdu, to chose horses and dogs but we use this criteria to chose leaders. When will we start choosing leaders on the basis of leadership qualities. Read more at: http://fmeducation.blogspot.com/2010/08/if-leaders-were-chosen-on-basis-of.html

• RhyMe said:

We criticise our leaders the whole year,highlight their flaws and faults,curse them,call them names etc etc which is our right and noone can steal this basic right from us but keeping in mind the present deadliest natural disaster in Pakistan,i think we pakistanies should atleast for a month or for some time focus more on how to get our ppl outta these sufferings,how to raise maximum funds/donations for them,how many times remember them in our prayers…

Rather just critisizing,its time to be practical now!…who knows tomorrow it could be Me,You or He/She the victim of such CaLaMity?…just place yourself for a while in their position!….there is a hidden message in this disaster from God for each and every soul nd not just the flood affectees!

• javedsheikh said:

The savings for Hajj and Qurbani should also be donated to the Flood Relief Fund, this year.
    This might amount over two billion rupees.

• dhamial said:

I understand the resentment among the donors but affected people are in desperate need of help. I have verified the relief set-up of a small group of people located in the affected area and rendering welfare services on small scale. I have sent some money yesterday on behalf of some concerned Muslims from Holland via this web link:
    http://www.al-ehsaan.net/cms.php?id=135
    I had personal contact with the coordinator and he assured me that the funds will be sent immediately to the support teams. Even small donations could matter a lot under revealing conditions.

• Mirza Ghalib said:

I definitely second Javedsheik’s sensible comment above. Let us sacrifice our Hajj duty this year and give our savings to the flood victims. The same thing goes for the Eid celebrations and the Qurbani. Let me quote a verse from the Holy Quran, one among many of a similar nature:

“O believers, never shall you attain to true piety unless you spend on others out of what you cherish yourselves, and whatever you spend, verily, God has full knowledge thereof.”
    3:92.

• Shakeel Bajwa said:

For we Pakistani’s Zardari is more important. Floods are least important.

Listen Guys, the formula is very simple……CONSTRUCT KALA BAGH DAM…..at least half of this water which is causing havoc in Sind for the last 10 days could have been stored in Kala Bagh Dam resevoir. But Zardari does not want to lose the support of ANP.
    And my friends in Sindh have always accused that Kala Bagh Dam will benefit Punjab and Pundjab will take all the water of River Indus.
    And now my question to Sindhi’s is……..have you got enough water now….or do you want more.
    I bet you all, if the elections are held tomorrow, this stupid, junglee and jahil Awam will still vote for Zardari.
    And Asif Zardari and Bilawal Zardari if you are reading these lines then spent 10 days in Russia, then go to Switzerland for few days, then go to London and watch the Cricket Test Match of Pakistan-England in Oval. Zardari’s you are safe, you will get 100% votes, forget the Floods…..go on and enjoy yourselves. Only we are stupid, jahil and junglee.

And I will make sure that my 10 size ‘joota’ does not miss you this time

• Public said:

I agree with Shakeel Bajwa,

We only have storage capacity of 12 million akr feet. While 300 million akr feet surplus water is wasted. This huge amount of uncontrolled water causes flood destructions and later we are suffering from water shortage.

Now provinces (KP, Sindh and Punjab) are saying that they are gone backward by 15 years (approx) due to flood destructions.

Pakistan is at #136 in this list of 156 Dam making countries.

World Bank President, Robert Zoellick:
    Floods likely to have destroyed crops worth $1 billion.The floods, triggered by torrential monsoon downpours, have swamped Pakistan’s Indus river basin, killing more than 1,600 people, forcing two million from their homes and disrupting the lives of about 14 million people.

Prime Minister Gillani “Kalabagh Dam hota too ye na hota”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Here are few nice and comprehensive discussions about effectiveness of KalaBagh Dam:
    - Kalabagh Dam Blessing For Pakistan (Royal TV) – 1:40
    - Iqbal Latif (Chairman Gulf Fund & Senior Economist) – 10:35
    - Javed Chaudhry (Express Tv) – 3:38

• Pak Sar Zameen » Independence day of a Sinking Country. said:

[...] You all can also work for flood relief efforts on your own. Here are some important links and information for that http://pkpolitics.com/2010/08/12/pakistan-flood-disaster/ [...]

• Ghost of TK said:

International Committee of the RedCross (make sure you select Pakistan)

http://www.icrc.org/web/eng/siteeng0.nsf/iwpList2/Help_the_ICRC?OpenDocument

• Ghost of TK said:

Pakistani NGO’s doing Flood relief work (via Ayesha Ahsan’s Blog)

1. Khwendo Kor (KK)

http://www.khwendokor.org.pk/

Donation in Pakistan:

Bank: HABIB BANK LIMITED
    Account Title: Khwendo Kor

Account Number: 1697-00056724-01

Branch Code: 1697

Swift Code: HABBPKKA007

Branch Address University Town, Peshawar

Contact Info:

Head Office
    House # 130, Street # 4, Sector K-3, Phase-3,
    Hayatabad, Peshawar,
    Khyber Pukhtoonkhwa, Pakistan
    Tel: +92-91-5822255, 5818589
    Fax: +92-91-5829026
    E-mail: info@khwendokor.org.pk

2. Voice of the Civil Society (VOTCS)

http://www.voiceofthecivilsociety.com/Home-.html

Donation in Pakistan:

Account name: Volunteers, Voice of the Civil Society
    Account no: 1549-79001393-03
    SWIFT CODE: HABBPKKAA007
    Branch Code: 1549
    Habib Bank Limited
    Gulshan-e-Iqbal, Block 5,
    Karachi.

Donation in U.S.:

SunTrust Bank
    Lincoln Road Miami Beach Branch
    ABA Routing #063102152
    Account #1000096055453
    Account: Volunteers Voice of the Civil Society AKA VOTCS

Contact Info:

VOTCS – Pakistan, House no 7/2, Zulfiqar Street 4,
    Phase 8, D.H.A., Karachi, Pakistan.

Tel: +92.21.5464446

Email: info@votcs.com, samina@votcs.com, irum@votcs.com

Contact Person in U.S.: Samina Ghafoor Punjwani: spunjwani@aol.com

VOTCS, North America, Inc.

690 NE 50th Terrace,
    Miami, FL 33137 USA

Tel: 1-786-367-6559

3. Concerned Citizens Society of Pakistan (CCP)

http://www.ccp.org.pk/

Donation in Pakistan:

Bank Al-Habib

A/c No.0065-0081-001555-01-6

Title: Concerned Citizens Society of Pakistan (CCP)

Please Note: while remitting any fund please make sure to write PURPOSE OF REMITTANCE and sender complete name and address (not P.O. Box in address)

The deposit can be made in any branch of Bank Al-Habib anywhere in the country.

Donation in U.S. DOLLARS:
    Nostro Account Title: HABIB AMERICAN BANK

NEW YORK, NY 10016
    UNITED STATES
    SWIFT ID: HANYUS33XXX
    FED ABA NO: 026007362
    OUR BANK NAME: BANK AL HABIB LIMITED, KARACHI, PAKISTAN
    OUR SWIFT ID: BAHLPKKAXXX
    OUR NOSTRO ACCOUNT NO: 20729933
    ULTIMATE CREDIT TO: M/S.CONCERNED CITIZENS SOCIETY OF PAKISTAN
    ACCOUNT NO: 0065-0081-001555-01-6

Donation in POUND STERLING GBP:
    NOSTRO ACCOUNT TITLE: HABIBSONS BANK LIMITED, LONDON, U.K.
    SWIFT ID: HSBLGB2LXXX
    SORT CODE: 40-50-83
    OUR NOSTRO ACCOUNT NO: 21003565

Donations in EURO:
    NOSTRO ACCOUNT TITLE: COMMERZBANKA.G. FRANKFURT, GERMANY
    SWIFT ID: COBADEFFXXX
    IBAN CODE: DE82500400000880712501
    OUR NOSTRO ACCOUNT NO: 400880712501

Contact Info:

Mobile: +92-3084318767

Email: concernedpakistan@gmail.com

Email: info@ccp.org.pk

4. Omar Asghar Khan Development Foundation (OAKDF)
    http://www.oakdf.org.pk/

Donation Info:

Account Title: Omar Asghar Khan Development Foundation
    Current Account #: 0030445261000455
    Bank: MCB Bank (1028), Super Market, Islamabad-Pakistan
    SWIFT Code: MUCBPKKAMCC

All cash contributions are tax exempt
    Tax exemption #6043/RTO/ATD/2008-09 dated 12 May.2009

Contact Info:
    2-B, Parbat Road F-7/3,
    Islamabad-PAKISTAN
    Telephone: ++92 51 2611092/4
    Fax: ++92 51 2611090
    Email: info@oakdf.org.pk

• wbuttar said:

@ConcernedAmericanPak

100 Agreed. Very well said sir.

However I want share details of PTI Task force is as under;

PTI CENTRAL FLOOD RELIEF TASK FORCE

Central Flood Relief Task Force of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has been constituted under the Chairmanship of Col Yunus Ali Raza, which shall coordinate the entire relief work being undertaken by the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf.

The Task Force shall be responsible for collection and distribution of all goods and funds received by the PTI. The implementation of the relief work shall be through Provincial bodies and their teams in the affected districts and the Provincial Presidents shall also be de-facto members. Full transparency and record shall be maintained and the accounts shall be submitted to the Secretary General for public posting at regular intervals.

A very important responsibility of the Task Force shall be to disseminate real time information for the public so that the people should be aware of the work being done by the party.

CENTRAL RELIEF TASK FORCE

Chief Coordinator Disaster Cell Col. Yunus Ali Raza 0300 852 5673
    Financial Management Sardar Azhar Tariq 0333 516 2213
    Information Dissemination Omar Cheema 0300 844 5545
    Team Member Atif Khan 0300 500 6789
    Team Member Mrs. Nasreen Tariq 0334 530 8766
    Team Member Ziad Abbasi 0300 854 2551
    Team Member Dr. Humayun 0300 856 5300
    Team Member Mazahar Ali Shah 0342 551 0227
    Office Coordination Numan Afzal 0345 756 2490
    Financial Coordination Muhammad Arshad 0333 511 4390

REGIONAL EXECUTION TEAMS

Kyber Pakhtoonkhwa Relief Coordinator Waqar Shah 0333 920 6960
    Kyber Pakhtoonkhwa Medical Cell Dr. Ali Haider 0323 951 6158

Swat Dr. Amjad Yusufzai 0300 907 5155
    Malakand – PF 99 Naik Muhammad Khan 0300 573 4785

Nowshera Riasat Sarhadi 0346 564 0486
    Charsadda Mian Manzoor Bacha 0333 923 1545
    Mardan Omer Farooq 0333 573 5700
    Peshawar Zafar Khattak 0333 911 6526
    D.I. Khan Khalid Awan 0966 713 071

Northern Punjab Relief Coordinator Sadaqat Abbasi 0300 850 1900

Mianwali Saleem Gul Khan 0300 609 9090
    Bhakkar Hashmat Khan 0346 759 9318

Southern Punjab Relief Coordinator Ejaz Ahmad Ch. 0300 842 9367

Multan Ejaz Hussain Janjua 0302 873 9080
    D G Khan Muhammad Irfan Ch 0314 661 8590
    Rajanpur Amjad Johar Malik 0333 645 3042
    Muzzafargarh Mirza Imtiaz Aleem Baig 0302 375 7451
    Layyah Rana Usman 0331 681 3041

Sindh Relief Coordinator Samar Ali Khan 0300 822 3223

Balochistan Relief Coordinator Qasim Khan 0300 838 1010

Jaferabad Shabhir Khan Kakar 0321 846 9538
    Naseerabad Waris Bunglzai 0300 376 7866
    Subatpur Rahim-Ullah Khan

PTI MIDDLE EAST

The first relief tent kitchen of sponsored by PTI Middle East and its sub chapters (Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Bahrain and UAE) is on its way from Sialkot to Muzaffargarh.
    The relief kitchen first of its kind is carrying food for 15,000 families (approximately 60,000 peoples ) to be served for the whole month of Ramadan. PTI Middle East Coordinator is leading the caravan personally and will be on site for 2 days till everything gets functional.

• Ghost of TK said:

Guys/Girls plz Can we not use this thread for political discussions? Please post related information.

And for the love of GAWD! We need to organize rallies in front of EVERY MAJOR TV STATION in Europe and North America Australia. Even 2-5 People with flood pictures is enough! Put twitter tags #pkflood #pakistan on your placards!

Stop bitching and get the fuck out and do something! We need to mobilize! NOW!

Also, get on twitter and retweet #Pakistan #pkfloods to raise awareness. STFU and get working!

Here are some more help info: (via # Syed Ali Raza Abidi @abidifactor)
    RT @UNAUK: UNA-UK urges people to donate to the DEC and UN Pakistan flood appeals. Visit http://www.una.org.uk for info

IRC Donation Phone #: 1-877-REFUGEE Website: http://www.theIRC.org #Donate #SOS #flood #Pakistan #Not4Taliban half a minute ago via TweetDeck

MERLIN Donation Phone #: 202-449-6399 Website: http://twurl.nl/0vx8xf #Flood #Pakistan #SOS #Donate #Not4Taliban 2 minutes ago via TweetDeck

SAVE THE CHILDREN Donation Phone #: 1-800-728-3843Website: http://twurl.nl/ixy81f #Flood #Pakistan #SOS #Donate

• Ghost of TK said:

I used the F word sorry. Please delete and let the rest of the post go through.

reposting other part:

We need to organize rallies in front of EVERY MAJOR TV STATION in Europe and North America Australia. Even 2-5 People with flood pictures is enough! Put twitter tags #pkflood #pakistan on your placards!

Stop b*tching and get out there and do something! We need to mobilize! NOW!

Also, get on twitter and retweet #Pakistan #pkfloods to raise awareness. STOP TALKING and get working!

Flood Relief Ralllies in EVERY MAJOR WESTERN CAPITAL On AUGUST 21st 2010 .

• Ghost of TK said:

Flood Relief Ralllies in EVERY MAJOR WESTERN CAPITAL On AUGUST 21st 2010 .

Start Organizing NOW!

• hsaqib17 said:

Some say it (devastation) is Almighty’s wrath, others say it was so sudden it took us unprepared. If indeed it was almighty’s wrath on us for choosing wrong horses, it was not so sudden. It was already in the air. Read more at: http://fmeducation.wordpress.com/2010/08/16/%E2%80%9Calmighty%E2%80%99s-wrath%E2%80%9D-was-not-a-sudden-phenomenon-it-was-already-in-the-air%E2%80%A6/

• Public said:

@hsaqib17

Yes it was already in the air. We need to plan seriously and scientifically in-order to save our future. I pray our nation will never suffer this kind of disaster again.

Successful preventive examples are available in our neighborhood and in all around the world. Like this:

~ Three Gorges Dam is now in Full Operation (1:55)
    ~ The Three Gorges Dam in 3D (2:20)
    Prime Minister Gillani “Kalabagh Dam hota too ye na hota”
    - Kalabagh Dam Blessing For Pakistan (Royal TV) – 1:40

• Public said:

Punjab govt bans Iftar, Eid parties in Punjab
    This was announced by Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif at a press briefing after a provincial cabinet meeting here at Chief Minister House on Monday.

• Ghost of TK said:

@Admin: can you guys please delete all irrelevant chit-chat or move it to another thread. I think we need to use this thread to organize relief efforts or awareness efforts.

I’m just saying.

• Ghost of TK said:

To all the journalists covering the disaster in Pakistan:

Pakistan Flood Incident Reporting
    SMS your observations on flood with location. Write FL ”space” your message and send it to 3441.

http://pakrelief.crowdmap.com/

• dildar said:

Are you hosting this website?

• Ghost of TK said:

Interactive Map by The Guardian, of the flooded areas in Pakistan:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/interactive/2010/jul/30/pakistan-floods-interactive-map?CMP=twt_gu

@dildar: nope, this is a link I got off twiter.

• Revolutionانقلاب said:

الله ہم سب کو دوسروں کی مدد کرنے کی توفیق دے . آمین

Donate Now to the Pakistan Floods Appeal

http://www.dec.org.uk/donate_now/

The Disaster Emergency Committee is made up of 13 aid agencies that unite and combine their efforts to provide much needed aid in times of disaster.

• gv said:

check out the NRSP website

http://nrsp.org.pk/index.htm

They claim to be able to get 90% of funds donated across to the flood victims

• savage said:

PIA is also accepting goods at most of the its stations, people overseas could use this opportunity to donate needed commodities. Water, medicines, canned food, tents, clothing items are highly recommended.

http://www.piac.com.pk/Flood_Relief/index.htm

Help Desks and Collection Centers.
    http://www.piac.com.pk/Flood_Relief/ERP.htm

PIA recommended family pack.
    http://www.piac.com.pk/Flood_Relief/contents.htm
    CONTENTS

* 2 x Bottles water (1.5 Litres)
    * 2 x Six pack of juices (250 ml)
    * 3 x High energy packets biscuits.
    * 1 x Milk Pack (1 Litre)
    * 1 x Packet of dates
    * 2 x Anti Septic Soap Bars
    * 1 x Bottle of mosquito repellent
    * 1 x Pack of paper cups
    * 6 x Sachets of ORS (Oral Rehydration Salts)
    * 1 x Box of chocolates.

I must give Imran Khan the highest regards for him coming up on TV and openly offering people his personal guarantee for the donations will be spent on the right people and he can be accountable. He also showed his humility and said that he alone or his party PTI can not make a dent in the situation, so he joined in with one of the largest NGO’s, Mir Khali-ur-rhamn foundation.What a class act by the man.

On the other hand , Nawaz Sharif came up with a group of trustworthy and honest people and Prime “Mistress” agreed with him, none of those people belonged to either ethnic and family Mafia political gangs of PPPP or PML-N. He openly admitted that people of Pakistan do not trust them.

• wbuttar said:

@ConcernedAmericanPak

well said. But It will quite upheavel task to gather support from middle class (who was on the forefront in 2005 earthquake) but thanks to government policies and inflation this class is fighting hard to earn bread and butter. But still I think people trust IK.

Our best wishes are with IK and MKRF. God bless them.

• hsaqib17 said:

Please DO NOT treat these floods as mere natural security disaster. These have assumed dangerous proportions and have become a serious threat to National Security. Read more at: http://fmeducation.blogspot.com/2010/08/floods-are-in-effect-serious-threat-to.html

• Zaheer said:

Corruption free use of the aid and its distribution among real needy people is probably the biggest challenge after rescue efforts for the victims.
    So far government has miserably failed in helping the victims. Although crisis is quite big but efforts made by the government and its officials are very little and never enough. Army has been very active, sincere and vigilant in helping the flood victims. This crisis has once more exposed the weakness of government that is being run by incompetent and corrupt people.
    We should take as much aid as we really need and not more and it must be made sure it reaches the needy people! It is also requested to national and international donors that kindly make sure that aid is not eaten up by the corrupt rulers/officials, don’t be relaxed after hading over the aid rather monitor its distribution too as much as possible. Try to use the safest possible channels to provide and distribute help.

• Zaheer said:

Everything happens with a reason and in this crisis and our current situation are many lessons to be learned …

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4v6LbyddeVo

A good read…..

Russia, Pakistan show need for climate action
    Sunday, August 15, 2010
    By Simon Butler

http://www.greenleft.org.au/node/45144

These devastating fires and floods are a taste of our future climate — unless we can force a political breakthrough on climate change and cut greenhouse gas emissions sharply.

The disasters of the past few weeks sound an unmistakable warning: we’ve emitted so many greenhouse gases already that we are losing a safe climate.

Russia has not gone through a comparable heatwave in the past 1000 years, said the Russian Meteorological Centre on August 9.

The centre’s Alexander Frolov told newsagency RIA Novosti: “We have an ‘archive’ of abnormal weather situations stretching over a thousand years. It is possible to say there was nothing similar to this on the territory of Russia during the last one thousand years in regard to the heat.”

Moscow’s previous record high temperature was set in 1920. By August 6, the record had been broken five times in 11 days. By August 10, Muscovites had been through 28 consecutive days of higher than 30°C temperatures, said meteorologist Jeff Masters on the Weather Underground blog.

At least 50 people have died directly from more than 500 fires consuming vast tracts of forest and numerous peat bogs. But thousands more in major cities are dying due to intense heat and suffocating smog.

On August 10, Moscow health chief Andrei Seltsovky said deaths in the city had doubled to an average of 700 a day. The city’s morgues were close to overflowing, AP said.

The August 9 New York Times quoted Russian health officials who said “the effect of the fine particles and carbon monoxide in Moscow’s smoky atmosphere was comparable to smoking a pack of cigarettes a day”.

Some economists have estimated Russia’s economic losses from the heatwave could reach US$15 billion, said AFP on August 11. This will deal a further blow to an economy that was already reeling from the global economic crisis. Last year, Russia’s economy shrunk by 7.9%.

Hardest hit is agriculture. Drought and fire damage will cut Russia’s grain harvest by up to a third, AFP said.
    The drop in Russia’s grain harvest is also likely to push up food prices worldwide — disastrous news for the world’s estimated 1 billion malnourished people.

Earth Policy Institute president Lester Brown said on August 10 that the Russian experience shows how global warming will worsen global food shortages.

“The global balance between grain supply and demand is fragile and depends largely on climate”, he said. “If we continue with business as usual on the climate front, it is only a matter of time before what we are seeing in Russia becomes commonplace.”

Meanwhile, floods in Pakistan have affected about 20 million people. The disaster has already been called “Pakistan’s Katrina”.

The August 9 London Telegraph called the floods “the greatest humanitarian crisis in recent history”.

United Nations spokesperson Maurizio Giuliano told the paper: “This disaster is worse than the tsunami, the 2005 Pakistan earthquake and the Haiti earthquake.”

The Pakistan Labour Relief Campaign summed up some of the devastation on August 7: “More than 650,000 houses have collapsed, mainly in villages. Thousands of hectares of crops have been destroyed due to flood water. Livestock, household goods, clothes, shoes and other items have been destroyed. Residents of villages are without drinkable water, food, shelter and in need of clothes.

“In particular, the situation is dire for children and women in desperate need of food and clothing. Disease is spreading fast due to the lack of drinkable water. Flu, fever, diarrhea and cholera have been noted and are spreading.”

The abnormal monsoon rains have also hit India and China hard. Xinhua reported on August 10 that the death toll from rain-induced landslides in the north-west province of Gansu has reached 702. A further 1042 people were still missing.

This follows huge floods in southern China in June that killed more than 130 people and displaced 800,000.
    Extreme weather events have also plagued other continents in recent months. Drought has hit western Africa, leaving 10 million people in the Eastern Sahel region hungry, the June 3 British Guardian said. North-east Brazil was hit by massive floods in the same month. More than 1000 people are unaccounted for, presumed dead.

The eastern European country of Belarus recorded a new extreme temperature record on August 6 with a high of 38.7°C. It was the 17th nation to break high temperature records in 2010 — more than any other year.

On August 7, Masters said these 17 nations make up 19% of the Earth’s land surface. “This is the largest area of Earth’s surface to experience all-time record high temperatures in any single year in the historical record”, he said.

“Looking back at the past decade, which was the hottest decade in the historical record, 75 countries set extreme hottest temperature records (33% of all countries.) For comparison, 15 countries set extreme coldest temperature records over the past 10 years (6% of all countries)…

“Earth has now seen four consecutive months with its warmest temperature on record, and the first half of 2010 was the warmest such six-month period in the planet’s history.

“It is not a surprise that many all-time extreme heat records are being shattered when the planet as a whole is so warm. Global warming ‘loads the dice’ to favor extreme heat events unprecedented in recorded history.”

All these unprecedented weather events are occurring now, when average global warming is still less than 1°C. The British Met Office predicts the Earth will be 4°C warmer by the end of the century if greenhouse gas emissions continue to rise — meaning the cases of dangerous weather events will be greatly multiplied.

But if the reality of climate change is frightening, then the do-nothing response of the world’s richest and most powerful governments is scandalous.

As Russia burned and while Pakistan was submerged, a new round of international climate talks took place in Bonn, Germany. But once again, rich countries stalled on an agreement to cut emissions.

Bolivia’s permanent representative to the UN, Pablo Solon, told Democracy Now on August 10 that he “heard speeches in Bonn relating the situation in Pakistan, but the concrete pledges to reduce greenhouse gas emissions are the same [as] one year ago”.

“It’s unbelievable”, he said. “And still, developed countries have put on the table targets to reduce greenhouse gas emissions that will increase the temperature dramatically during the coming years and during this century.”

Loopholes in the Bonn negotiating text would mean that if countries adopted the proposed agreement, emissions could still rise by 4% to 8% on 1990 levels, the June 9 Guardian revealed.
    Solon said so little progress had been made in Bonn because “corporate interests, economy, profits have more weight in the negotiation than … to preserve life and biodiversity and Mother Earth”.

As the next round of negotiations in Cancun, Mexico, approaches in November, Solon called for “a lot of pressure around the whole world if we want really to have a greenhouse gas emission reduction that saves life”.

• hsaqib17 said:

As furious floods tear through Pakistan’s breadbasket, militants take the opportunity as gift from the Heavens. Read more at: http://fmeducation.blogspot.com/2010/08/as-furious-floods-tear-through.html

• RhyMe said:

Besides helping generously the flood victims,”Collective Repentance” is what is urgently needed in this time of DistreSS and PaiN….

• hsaqib17 said:

It is much more than death and destruction. Let the waters recede and you will not be able to believe your eyes. Read more at: http://fmeducation.wordpress.com/2010/08/22/it-is-much-more-than-death-and-destruction/

• block said:

Blood sucking vultures whose parents have not done a good job raising them or may be they are born as a result of jews and Indian consipiracy

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/columns/2010/08/100821_qureshi_usa.shtml

• hsaqib17 said:

The Americans think that their aid will change Pakistanis’ hearts and mind, will improve their approval ratings and Pakistanis will fall in love with them. Can someone tell them that humanitarian aid is not Valentine gift. Read more at: http://fmeducation.blogspot.com/2010/08/humanitarian-aid-is-not-valentine-gift.html

• block said:

@hsaqib17

Hardly time for such comments.Our country can’t even walk on knee without american aid let alone standing on our feet.

• Zaheer said:

@block

“Hardly time for such comments.Our country can’t even walk on knee without american aid let alone standing on our feet.”

I think it is opposite to what you have mentioned. Rarely in our history we were given benefit by America, most of the time they intentionally or unintentionally damaged us. We are so badly trapped in loans and IMF etc that it is hard for us to stand on our feet. In addition to that they almost always supported the corrupt and inept rulers inside Pakistan. In recent flood too if they are helping they would not do it for our benefit rather would keep their own stake higher! They did not allow to use two Pakistani airbases for flood relief and there are even more suspicions in this regard. Why are they having Pakistani airbases? They must go home and work for their own people!

Why should we be dependent upon aid of USA etc? It is helping them because they know in this way Pakistan can’t be self dependent, they want to keep us dependent and pressed. We must get rid of these loans, banks and begging habits and for that corrupt and slave rulers must also be punished!

• Revolutionانقلاب said:

PTI UK ONLYAccount GBP
    Paypal 21,682
    LTSB Account 26,504
    Total 48,187

• Public said:

Chairman Fauji Fertilizer Company “The country not only faced worst ever floods but also failed to store water worth Rs240 billion”.
    Pakistan lost water worth Rs240 billion due to lack of dams and water reservoirs in the country.Chairman Fauji Fertilizer Company said.

Very important discussion with Dr. Ashraf Sahibzada(renowned Pakistani scientist):
    ~ Part_1 (10:05)
    ~ Part_2 (9:35)

• Public said:

Sindh suffers Rs550bn losses: advisor

Sindh has suffered an estimated loss of Rs 550 billion on account of colossal damage to houses, standing crops, infrastructure and irrigation system. This was stated by the Advisor to Sindh Chief Minister for Planning and Development Dr Kaiser Bengali while addressing a press conference here on Thursday.

• Public said:

Now the figure is fixed.

Floods affected 1.7 mln people: NDMA

National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) Friday put the death toll from the countrywide rains and deluge at 1600 and the total number of affectees at 17 million.

The toll is feared to mount further as the water level recedes in flooded areas.

Updated at: 2021 PST, Friday, August 27, 2010

• Public said:

Floods affected 17 mln people: NDMA

National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) Friday put the death toll from the countrywide rains and deluge at 1600 and the total number of affectees at 17 million.

The toll is feared to mount further as the water level recedes in flooded areas.

Updated at: 2021 PST, Friday, August 27, 2010

• KAWA said:

Quran states:

“When we wish to destroy nations, we appoint stooges and jokers as it’s leaders”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sUVpRLP5S4
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xU9Damy4cEk&p=AD88CE5A1E940ED0&playnext=1&index=26
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xoctNSw44E
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YUYqi6shWyM

Pakistan Flood Disaster. What did you all expect???????????

• bublibangash said:

this is the toughest moment of pakistan history……….
    one third of pakistan is sub merged under water with effecting every fourth pakistani……
    teh scale of devastation if compared relatively with the natural disadters since last millinium is found matchless……..

this is teh time, when our country and country fellow need our help the most……
    make sure taht instead of spending on luxuriuous Iftar Parties and Eid Shopping , we shud rather go for helping these foodless and homeless people in this holy month of ramadan…. Inshallah……

• Public said:

Floods cause losses of Rs. 249 billion to agriculture
    The devastating floods have inflicted losses of Rs.249 billion to agriculture sector, according to the initial estimates.

Federal Minister for Agriculture,
    Nazar Muhammad Gondal

• KAWA said:

Noah’s Ark (Arabic: سفينة نوح‎ Safina Nuh) is the vessel which, according to the Quran (surah hud), was built by Noah at God’s command to save himself, his family, and the world’s animals from a worldwide deluge.

God, seeing the wickedness of man, is grieved by his Creation and resolves to send a great flood to destroy the earth. He sees that Noah is a man “righteous in his generation,” and gives him detailed instructions for the Ark. When the animals are safe on board God sends the Flood, which rises until all the mountains are covered and all life that lived on dry land and breathed through its nostrils[1] is destroyed. At the height of the flood the Ark rests on the mountains, the waters abate, and dry land reappears.

THE FLOODS IN OUR COUNTRY SURE LOOK LIKE THE WRATH OF ALMIGHTY ON US FOR WE ARE ALL EVIL PEOPLE.

• KAWA said:

To all Pakistanis who care – please take 2 minutes out of your time and sign this petition against the use of Rs.1 billion of state funds for the building of a monument to Benazir – demand that funds be used for helping 21.6 million countrymen who are suffering the worst conditions. We need that money to help build Pakistan, and we need signatures – please circulate to all Pakistanis that you know!

Click this link: http://www.PetitionOnline.com/flood786/petition.html