l No Thanks – Sir Altaf Hussain | Pakistan Politics
{ 96 comments... read them below or add one }

• SS said:

I am puking at the word “Sir” before the b@$t@rds name

• freedom said:

Altaf Hussain is the biggest under-world Don.

• rasheed said:

The principal of my school has failed to manage discipline and produce good results. Therefore I want the security guard of my school to kill my principal, kick out all teachers and take over school affairs immediately – Altaf Bhai in School

Everyone looking for shortcuts and getting rid of current government should consider post Kiyani scenario.

Even if somehow Kiyani takes over after abolishing judiciary, parliament, media and other pillars, Kiyani will become weak in less than half the time of Musharraf and will look for a “safe exit” in few years.

The NRO version 2 will mean that Altaf Hussain Hijra will be our President and Maulana Falz-ur-Rehman will be Prime Minister based on his “asooli moaqqaf”.

• rasheed said:

… and don’t forget:

Zardari became President with MQM’s vote
    Gillani became Prime Minister with MQM’s vote.

The Federal government will collapse today if MQM decides to leave coalition, but these MQM haraamis won’t do that based on their entire history politics of blackmailing.

Military intervention will again make PPP as victim and they will again get sympathy vote after martial law version 5. We need to let fresh political parties come and old ones to be replaced naturally. The nation is still haunted by unnatural and illegal demise of ZAB.

The possible way out I see is to let MQM and JUI leave the coalition. PMLN demand exit of Zardari tola (Babar, Khota, RM, Salman Farooqui etc) and support remaining PPP MNA’s. Replace the PM with someone more powerful and authoritative, unlike Jamali, Shujaat, Shaukat and Gillani after consultation.

Mid-term election could be another way out, but then there would be another elections in just 2 years, which will would ruin any on going development projects and economy with so many changes in government and its policies.

• ghalib said:

Unlike the previous 2 comments, this one will have reasoning. I will be arguing with you on a number of points, so bear with me and brace yourself.

“Just to recall Altaf Bhai, the present lot ruling the country had made its way into the corridors of power because of the NRO, which was promulgated and negotiated by the Generals. Therefore, Altaf Bhai, please let the cleansing be done by the system instead of the Generals, who have failed every time they ruled the country”.

NRO was brought in to fill the leadership void, bring about some political harmony within the country and put an end to the political targeting of activists/MNAs/MPAs which was a democratic norm prior to the Musharraf years. Without NRO, there was no way a dictator could have made an exit. Now that we have had full 3 years of democracy, lets make an objective assessment of NRO. Leadership void continues to be there. There was some political harmony between PPP and MQM and between PPP and ANP but none between PPP and other major parties of Punjab. There aren’t any fresh instances of cases being registered against MNAs and MPAs. So to sum it up, the NRO hasn’t accomplished much at all. Now here is where I disagree. Democracy and democratic institutions were given a fair chance to prove themselves worthy of the job. They gladly took and miserably failed to deliver which was expected if only one read the writings on the wall.

Coming to the last part of the paragraph, would you please let me know how Musharraf failed? You have already admitted that the “present regime is thoroughly corrupt and the worst example of bad governance”. Compare the present regime, or for that matter any previous democratic regime with 9 years Musharraf was in power and I am sure you would take your words back.

“Targeting democracy would mean bowing down to whims and wishes of one man, moving against our own rights, abrogating Constitution and weakening institutions including independent judiciary and free media”.

If that “one man” alone happens to be smarter and more educated than our national assembly, I have no issues bowing to his whims and wishes. And you know that he was more educated than this fake-degree lot that is now running the country.

Screw the constitution. We don’t need one. It never got us anywhere. Its surprising to see the whole country talking about constitution which no one ever bothered reading. But how could they anyway? They never went to school.

We all know this well that media owes its freedom to one man alone and not to a democratic institution.

Now to discuss MQM’s stance on the issue. We became part of the ruling coalition because we wanted to smooth democratic transition, political stability and racial and ethnic harmony within the country. Having worked with this government and putting up with the worst forms of governance, we have now realized that democracy is overrated. Democracy has invariably lead to incompetent and illiterate assess being elected as the defenders of constitution.

• ConcernedAmericanPak said:

@rasheed

We had a consultant who was very honest and straight forward. Whenever we wanted to deal with a client with unrealistic expectations we will send him and his famous reply was, that “green monkeys will fly of my ass before this can be done“. So incase of you, there is a better possibility of green monkeys flying of your ass before “Altaf Hussain the serial killer will be our President and Maulana Falz-ur-Rehman will be Prime Minister based on his “asooli moaqqaf”.

• rasheed said:

@ghalib,

NRO was brought in to fill the leadership void, bring about some political harmony within the country ….

NRO was not brought to fill leadership gap. Mushrraf wanted a safe exit from his crimes against country and constitution and his deal with PPP leadership was nothing more than “we both scratch each other backs”. MQM fully supported NRO and used it not to fill leadership gap, but to whitewash their murders and bloody crimes which are million times worse than financial corruption.

and put an end to the political targeting of activists/MNAs/MPAs which was a democratic norm prior to the Musharraf years.

This shows your “reasoning”. After 12th October, entire parliament and senate was wrapped up and thrown in jail and you are saying targeting was in pre-Mushrraf era????

Mr. Joker, the political victimization was worst during Musharraf era. Not only victimization, but senior and honest politicians like Javed Hashmi were physically and shamelessly tortured by military for years.

On 3rd November 2007 alone, there were more than 10,000 arrests of politicians and lawyers and we have seen the police brutality in Musharraf era when heads of journalists and lawyers used to be treated with sticks.

The chief justice of the country along with entire superior judiciary was thrown out of supreme court, which must be a symbol of victory or achievement for jokers like you.

• rasheed said:

So to sum it up, the NRO hasn’t accomplished much at all. Now here is where I disagree. Democracy and democratic institutions were given a fair chance to prove themselves worthy of the job. They gladly took and miserably failed to deliver which was expected if only one read the writings on the wall.

WTF ???? Fair chance??? When?

Half of the time of this government was wasted by Musharraf Kutta since he had locked away the judiciary and raped the constitution twice.

Several parties boycotted elections due to non-existence of judiciary that you call it fair chance? PMLN leadership was allowed to come back to Pakistan less than few hours of closing and could not even scrutinize their own candidates in the elections and you call it fair chance?

• rasheed said:

Now to discuss MQM’s stance on the issue. We became part of the ruling coalition because we wanted to smooth democratic transition, political stability and racial and ethnic harmony within the country. Having worked with this government and putting up with the worst forms of governance, we have now realized that democracy is overrated. Democracy has invariably lead to incompetent and illiterate assess being elected as the defenders of constitution.

What a shameless joke.

1- You become part of coalition for lust of power and for same reason for which you have always been in every single government for last 30 years. Unlike other parties who would accept the mandate of people and sit in opposition, MQM would never do that.

2- So why don’t you ****** decide first. Is democracy more important or supporting corrupt and landlords?

If you really wanted good democracy, you could have done without voting for Zardari, but someone more honest like Saeed-uz-Zaman Siddiqui. And despite the outcome of Presidential election, the democracy would still have existed but MQM could have proved their principle stance of supporting non-corrupt people. But NO, you wanted power and few ministries for which you could sell anything.

3- Before you take oath with name of “Allah” on constitution of Pakistan, you should read it. If you can’t honor name of Allah and your commitment to constitution of Pakistan, which represents will of people of Pakistan, then you can’t be trusted to have faith in anything, including your commitment with Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

• ammarisb said:

It is positive to see the unity in condemning any supposed adventure at derailing democracy, only through democratic governance we can fight militancy and face the natural disaster. No one should be allowed to suppress the voice of the masses!

• rasheed said:

@ConcernedAmericanPak,

When General Musharraf took over in 1999 and wowed to teach everyone a lessen with stick, no one could ever think that same Army Chief would be sitting in Dubai negotiating with Benazir whom he called security risk, and no one thought that ISI Chief General Kiyani would be sitting in London negotiating with PPP guys like Rehman Malik.

If just 3-4 years ago someone had said that Zardari will be next President, the nation would have laughed on him. But now he is President of Pakistan.

I don’t want to take chances for any new joker to be our President in illegal way and would take my chances with Zardari, who is constitutionally going in few years.

• khurram545 said:

we have 0% tolerance and patience in all matters of life. Sometime I doubt we are Muslims lets do some RND may be we belong to Bani-Isareal, who always de-tracked and lost hopes quickly. Like them we are Na-Shukray or fed up from each thing very soon.

Since extension of Gen. Kiyani , democracy + country is in danger for next 3 years. because once someone get out of turn benefits , he becomes adventures e.g. Musharraf.

Regarding Altaf’ statement , there could be two reasons

Reason 1 – he spoke someone other’s wordings an it was a test case. whole exercisedone to test will awam support new dictators or not.. i think message has passed to them that No thanks , we are happy that you are fighting on fronts (willingly or unwillingly) , you are providing logistic support in relief , but that’s what for you are being hired and supposed to do , not more than that.

Reason 2 – Mr. Altaf & Gang dying to establish their vote bank outside urban areas of sindh , they are exploiting the flood crisis and trying to prove yes we are true faithful to people of sindh & specially south punjab , so they are in chance to expend their gang’s ruling area and they did not miss this chance even when we need to be more united for the sake of poor people.

Now, Regarding some anchors + journalists … Beware of these two

1 – Hassan Nisar
    2 – Nazeer Najji

I am observing them since 2007, and both have same aim. that’s spreading panic & desperation in society *deliberately*

I hope , chapter of unconstitutional steps have been closed. if there are some leaks then please make stronger bond by supporting democracy & keep the system moving forward.

• terminator said:

The last paragraph of Ghalib tells the whole story;

“Now to discuss MQM’s stance on the issue. We became part of the ruling coalition because we wanted to smooth democratic transition, political stability and racial and ethnic harmony within the country. Having worked with this government and putting up with the worst forms of governance, we have now realized that democracy is overrated. Democracy has invariably lead to incompetent and illiterate assess being elected as the defenders of constitution.”

What was so bad in Nawaz Shareef’s government? was it not the elected one (and by the way I was NOT his voter)…what authority idiot Musharraf got to overthrow a government elected by the people of Pakistan? wasn’t that the insult of the people of Pakistan? , And NOW you say ” We became part of the ruling coalition because we wanted to smooth democratic transition, political stability and racial and ethnic harmony within the country” .. No, You (MQM) wanted to continue mass murders, as you guys are doing in Karachi…shame on you.. Pakistan is devastated by floods and you are killing people ruthlessly on the streets of my city, even in the Holy month of Ramazan.. are you human?

MQM has has trillion faces….it took them 3 years to REALISE the gravity of things… How innocenet !!

• ghalib said:

Seems like this is going to be a lengthy name calling session since decency is not what we normally bargain for. But this joker will continue to engage you anyways.

“MQM fully supported NRO and used it not to fill leadership gap, but to whitewash their murders and bloody crimes which are million times worse than financial corruption.”

Wrong. We have stated this time and again that we will not take the protection of NRO. Our workers are fighting their cases. So get your facts right.

“Mr. Joker, the political victimization was worst during Musharraf era. Not only victimization, but senior and honest politicians like Javed Hashmi were physically and shamelessly tortured by military for years.”

We can go on for days debating this issue. You might want to hear Zardari and his goons talk about the way Nawaz Sharif tortured them. Not that Zardari didn’t deserve that. It simply goes on to show that democracy is not turning out to be better than dictatorship.

“On 3rd November 2007 alone, there were more than 10,000 arrests of politicians and lawyers and we have seen the police brutality in Musharraf era when heads of journalists and lawyers used to be treated with sticks.”

That is still happening and I remember how Nawaz Sharif unleashed his vendetta on Jang Group during his last term as the Prime Minister. Having livied in Karachi through the 90′s I can tell you what it feels like loosing friends and nighbors to state sponsored terrorrism perpetrated by both PPP and PML. Now it was’t a military dictator responsible for that.

“The chief justice of the country along with entire superior judiciary was thrown out of supreme court, which must be a symbol of victory or achievement for jokers like you.”

Is this something really that surprising? Judiciary has been humiliated before too.

“You become part of coalition for lust of power and for same reason for which you have always been in every single government for last 30 years. Unlike other parties who would accept the mandate of people and sit in opposition, MQM would never do that.”

Unlike other parties, we believe in racial and ethnic harmony. We don’t have anything against democracy and we never did. But if we do see things headed towards destruction we have to rethink our strategy. Its the country and the people we are concerned about. Not parties, democracy or leadership. And to be honest, this speech should be an eye opener for the democratic institutions.

“Is democracy more important or supporting corrupt and landlords?”

I think I have answered this question above.

“Before you take oath with name of “Allah” on constitution of Pakistan, you should read it. If you can’t honor name of Allah and your commitment to constitution of Pakistan, which represents will of people of Pakistan, then you can’t be trusted to have faith in anything, including your commitment with Islamic Republic of Pakistan.”

I am not a lawyer or a member of the parliament. So I need not read it. But the ones who should have not because they simply can’t. As far as the commitment to the constitution
    of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan is concerned, here are some points that you need to ponder upon;
    Islamic Republic? Really? Where does the Presidential immunity come from. Thats not Islamic.
    “It represents the will of the people of Pakistan.” I dont think so. A sizable part of the population lives below the poverty line who wants to make it through the day without starving to death. They need income and employment which both democracy and constitution failed to provide.

• ConcernedAmericanPak said:

@rasheed,

If you could read or when you will read my comments at 24 August 2010 at 6:45 am & 24 August 2010 at 7:03 am, you will better understand my position. I agree with the theses of your argument but do not agree with your approach or comprehension or lack of.

• ghalib said:

@ Rasheed:

When I started writing my first comment there were only two comments i.e. the first 2. Yours weren’t there. So my apologies. When I said

“Unlike the previous 2 comments, this one will have reasoning.”

I meant the first 2 comments. As you would see there was barely any reasoning involved.

My apologies once again.

• observers said:

@ghalib , rasheed
    everyone knows that MQM never tolerate anyone in Karachi accept them, then from where today lecture of harmoney came from? the only sect which proud to be armed in Karachi and rpoudly gunned down opponents in Karachi like Sunni Tehreek, ANP or etc today here talking about harmony….. a kind of blind joke
    equation is simple

Are you talking about Leadership gap? 1st you may ask you Altaf Bhai, he never called these Fudals and corrupt politicnas a leader, then why u r calling them leader ?

Musharraf introduced NRO on a blackday of Pakistan to get some support of thesecorrupt politician to long last his rule. In the result of that, this present curse of shiiit came in to power
    MQM -the B team of Musharraf, benefitted from NRO and fully supported this corrupt, in-competent regime, not only in lust of power but to clean-up Karachi from MQM opponents.
    Now by just supporting corrupt Zardari/Awan,Kaira network, MQM is enjoying a free hand in Karachi to kill any of its opponent under the ill-defined phenomenon of Target Killing. Who doesn’t know in Police, in federal or Sind govt that MQM is ethnically cleansing the Karachi criminally and brutally, but on other side need its support in ISL, so no probem bhai logs, keep killing Karachi people, police will never arrest any of your target killer until you are supporting Sindh and Federal Govt.

Then why MQM called for ML now? very logical and very true said by Khurram545, that ham bolein kisi aur i zubnaan !!!. someone else is testing and evaluating the Pakistani people whether we can accept any new dictator or a former dictator in a new wolf’s dress to fulfil an agenda external power or not !!!.
    this kind of lot of Political / Economic Hit Mans are being trained, offerred nationalities in other countries and being funded, sponsored by other countries to hit small nations when they need.

• khurram545 said:

@ghalib , your comments are mostly based on different acts of politicians in past. like what NS did or has judicery not being humliated in past….

that can not justify acts of musharf or will not allow others to do so.

regarding immunity of president , we have constitution , the way how state will work.. it gives this immunity regardless face of person sitting in presidency.
    If you say In Islamic Republic.. that should not be happened then do Compiegne in next election and if so any wins election with this in its manifesto then ok… will remove it (that would be constitutional way) I will have no objection.
    btw, when word “Islamaic Republic of Pakistan” introduced? , was there anything like this in 1947? did Quid-e-Azam forget?

• rasheed said:

Wrong. We have stated this time and again that we will not take the protection of NRO. Our workers are fighting their cases. So get your facts right.

MQM Benefited Most from NRO

Top MQM Leaders Beneficiary of NRO

We can go on for days debating this issue. You might want to hear Zardari and his goons talk about the way Nawaz Sharif tortured them. Not that Zardari didn’t deserve that. It simply goes on to show that democracy is not turning out to be better than dictatorship.

You liar. You said that political victimization was prior to Musharraf era. I proved that it was much worse during Mushrraf era and now you are doing aaen baain shain.

That is still happening and I remember how Nawaz Sharif unleashed his vendetta on Jang Group during his last term as the Prime Minister. Having livied in Karachi through the 90’s I can tell you what it feels like loosing friends and nighbors to state sponsored terrorrism perpetrated by both PPP and PML. Now it was’t a military dictator responsible for that.

So things are better now. 10,000 political activists and lawyers are not sitting in jail and black laws of PEMRA are gone. We are progressing in democracy.

Rest of you answer is typical cry baby crap that you bring in every unrelated discussion. We all know what you are capable of as we witnessed 12th May.

Unlike other parties, we believe in racial and ethnic harmony. We don’t have anything against democracy and we never did. But if we do see things headed towards destruction we have to rethink our strategy. Its the country and the people we are concerned about. Not parties, democracy or leadership. And to be honest, this speech should be an eye opener for the democratic institutions.

Wow. So supporting military dictators, who will jail, torture, hang or exile politicians of all parties except MQM is called HARMONY. Very sweet.

I am not a lawyer or a member of the parliament. So I need not read it. But the ones who should have not because they simply can’t. As far as the commitment to the constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan is concerned, here are some points that you need to ponder upon;

Islamic Republic? Really? Where does the Presidential immunity come from. Thats not Islamic.

MQM has been fully involved and voted for all major constitutional amendments. Why did they get involved when you don’t even believe in constitution?

If you hate constitution, then why you say name of Allah and take oath to obey and protect it?

This means that MQM has no regard of their promise with the state or the laws of state. If someone cannot regard with promise with Allah, then he can’t be trusted for anything else.

• rasheed said:

Oath of MNA or Senator:

In the name of Allah, the most Beneficent, the most Merciful.

I,___________, do solemnly swear that I will bear true faith and allegiance to Pakistan :

That, as a member of the National Assembly (or Senate), I will perform my functions honestly, to the best of my ability, faithfully, in accordance with the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, and the law, and the rules of the Assembly (or Senate), and always in the interest of the sovereignty, integrity, solidarity, well-being and prosperity of Pakistan:

That I will strive to preserve the Islamic Ideology which is the basis for the creation of Pakistan.

And that I will preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

May Allah Almighty help and guide me (A’meen).

• ghalib said:

@ Khurram,

I am not trying to justify what Musharraf/NS/Altaf Hussain did. Two wrongs do not make a right. However, the point of this discussion being a comparison of democracy and dictatorship, I cannot avoid bringing up events from the past.

Now here is my problem with the constitution. Maybe it is a code within which an Islamic State is suppose to work. An Islamic State is not suppose to have presidential immunity within its constitution. If it does than neither the constitution nor the state remins Islamic. So I refuse to have any respect for a code that

a) has diabolical pursuits
    b) is against the teachings of Quran and Sunnah.

• makkiajmipakistani said:

EVERY ONE KNOWS THE PAST OF THESE SO CALLED MIDDLE CLASS LEADERSHIP,IMRAN KHAN IS REPEATNG THE SAME ,WHICH HE DID DURING MUSHARAF NOTORIOUS REFERUNDUM,AFTER THAT U APPOLOGISE TO NATION,AGAINDOING SAME,(WHO IS BEHIND THE SCREEN)NOW HE IS PUTTING HAND INHAND WITH THOSE ,TO WHOME HE WAS CRICIZED TOOMUCH,ESP ON THE INCIDENCE OF KARACHI,THIRD ONE IS NOM NEHAD PIR,WHO IS ALWAYS SAYING,MAN OF GHQ,HASSAN NISAR,MOBASHER LOOKMAN.KAMRAN KHAN ARE FULFILLING AGENDA OF WHOME.ESP HASSAN NISAR CRITICIZE LATE GEN.ZIA TOOMUCH,AGAIN HE WANTS SIMILER GENERAL.

• Revolutionانقلاب said:

ایم کیو ایم کے ہوتے طالبان کی ضرورت نہیں، فضل الرحمان
    اسلام آباد: جے یو آئی کے سربراہ مولانا فضل الرحمان نے کہا ہے کہ الطاف حسین نے مارشل لاء کی بات کر کے مشکلات پیدا کر دی ہیں، ایم کیو ایم کی موجودگی میں طالبان کی ضرورت نہیں، پشتون اور مہاجرین کی لاشوں پر سیاست کر کے قوم پر مہربانی کی جا رہی ہے۔ اسلام آباد میں میڈیا سے بات چیت کرتے ہوئے مولانا فضل الرحمان نے کہا کہ الطاف حسین کے بیان سے آرمی چیف جنرل اشفاق پرویز کیانی کی پیشہ ورانہ شخصیت کو مشکوک بنانے کی کوشش کی گئی ہے۔ سیاسی نظام میں فوج کو اہمیت حاصل ہے لیکن فوج کو بلانے کا مقصد قوم کو مایوس کرنا ہے۔ الطاف حسین اپنے بیان کی وضاحت کریں۔

جمعیت علمائے اسلام کے سربراہ کا کہنا تھا کہ لڑائی صرف کراچی میں نہیں بلکہ پورے ملک میں ہو رہی ہے۔ ایم کیو ایم کی موجودگی میں طالبان کی ضرورت نہیں، قوم تعصب کی بنیاد پر ہونے والی سیاست کو مسترد کر دیں۔ مولانا فضل الرحمان نے کہا کہ امریکا دہشت گرد ہے اس سے انکار نہیں کیا جا سکتا ہے، لیکن طالبان کا ردعمل بھی ٹھیک نہیں ہے۔

http://www.aaj.tv/urdu/national/2010/08/24/90504_2_story.html

• Revolutionانقلاب said:

فضل الرحمان کرپٹ سیاستدان ہیں، وسیم اختر
    کراچی: متحدہ قومی موومنٹ کے رہنما وسیم اختر کا کہنا ہے کہ مولانا فضل الرحمان کرپٹ سیاستدان ہیں، پورا پاکستان جانتا ہے کہ مولانا فضل الرحمان کی کیا شہرت ہے۔ آج نیوز سے خصوصی بات چیت کے دوران وسیم اختر نے کہا کہ ایم کیو ایم کے خلاف دیئے گئے مولانا فضل الرحمان کے بیان کو مسترد کرتا ہوں، مولانا فضل الرحمان کرپٹ سیاست دان ہیں۔ انہوں نے کہا کہ عوام سے ہمدردی ہوتی تو الطاف حسین کو سنجیدگی سے لیتے۔

وسیم اختر نے کہا کہ الطاف حسین کا بیان کرپٹ سیاست دانوں کے خلاف ہے، الطاف حسین عوام کو پاور دینا چاہتے ہیں۔ ان کا کہنا تھا کہ چوہدری نثار رات کے اندھیرے میں جرنیلوں سے ملاقاتیں کرتے ہیں۔ ایک سوال کے جواب میں انہوں نے کہا کہ حکومت کے اندر رہ کر بھی غلط کو غلط اور صحیح کو صحیح کہہ رہے ہیں۔
    http://www.aaj.tv/urdu/national/2010/08/24/90503_2_story.html

اب تو فوج کے مزے لینے والے ہی آپس میں دست و گریبان ہیں

• Masood Ahmad said:

This is utter non-sense, we have seen enough of Milatary rule over the 6 decades.

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH

If the things don’t improve then there should be a civil society movement to force the government either to improve it’s governance OR call an early election.

Nothing otherwise is a solution, it’s just a desaster.

MQM is and always been used by establishment for dirty tricks.

But the bigger problem is Mr 10%, who has hijacked a political party.

• Adonis said:

Altaf issued this statement soon after his meeting with the US envoy. Given that MQM is a creation of agencies and has always been extremely close to the GHQ, this statement has an added significance.

Seems like PPP will have to pay for its folly of giving extension to Gen Kayani. Unfortunately, the whole nation may have to pay for the follies of PPP.

• ET said:

There is no political party in Pakistan MQM can get along as they have stunk every community living in Karachi.

Now only way out for them is Martial Law, a General who can give them a free hand in Karachi to continue their Fascism.

They see all opponents getting together and that is troubling them as if they did not sustain their number of seats, they will fall under the heavy weight of their propoganda of growth.

Ideally Nawaz Sharif should come out and declare that he will support Govt from outside but then by doing this he will lose his own credibility whatever left and it will only strengthen PPP.

Zardari may not comment or do anything about this statement buy he is not going to forget it, MQM bad move, Dhabi Ka Kutta Ka Ghar Ka Na Ghat Ka.

• Ch said:

he is son of “f__king gun”.

What amazes me is how the disciples of MQM change they tune from supporting Democracy to supporting Military intervention.

If Tafu want’s to sell the idea of Military intervention to us then he should at the very least leave this government as a coalition partner and then disband MQM as a political party.

If the media is relatively independent, then it should show the beginning of all Military Dictators and then show the demise and what kind of state they leave us in and this should be repeated every day, just to remind this fickle nation what kind of **** the corrupt Military bring.

When they ar$es get whooped one way or they other they then make a dash for the same corrupt politicians to save the day for them and this time would be no different.

The main problem with this country is the politicians because they never provide the governance that is required BUT how could they when they time is split over fiddling the system and power politics.

Our saviour can only be the continuity in the system not short cuts, i learned my lesson from 1999 when i supported Mush and he left us with Zardari, Fool me once……..

• Pakistani said:

Jab Zial-ul-Haq siasatdanoon key paneery laga rahey they to aik gamley main Mian Nawaz Sharif tha to doosrey main Pir Altaf ka pooda lagya gia keh zara sindhion ka makhoo tappha jayee. Nawaz Sharif ka pooda hakoomat kerney key laye tha aur Altaf ka badmashi key lai.

Pir sahib fooj aur establishment key hathoon kheeltey rahey aur pher paka hoya phal bari taqtoon nain uchak lia. British Govt. aik aam Pakistani ko to visa be nahin deeti aik killer ko panah aur citizenship be dee takeh new world order main Pakistan ko control kia ja sakey. Abb sara kheel bari taqteen iss Pir Altaf Kalye key zarai kheelti hain.
    Baqi Zardari, Sharif aur doosrey siasatdanoon per tabsra kerna be mani hey sabhi in key karttot jantey hain. Bascically ham khud aik do number koom hain Balkeh Wali Khan nain sahih kaha tha keh Pakistani aik hajoom ka naam hey. Ham hajoom sey aik qoom nahin ban sakey pher hajoom ko to badmashi sey he control kia jata hey cahey woh military rule ho cahey mojodah so called jamhori.
    Abb British future pir Bilawal ko hamery lai tayyar ker rahi hey.
    Iss baat per koi doosri rai nahin keh Pakistan ko change cahye mager woh foji nahin honey cahey.

• muhammad adnan said:

Say what ever u want non karachites… we the ppl of karachi vote and support MQM and karachi flourished when power was given to the true represenation of karachi… We the ppl of karachi wil always support MQM no matter what non karachites say…

• SAZA said:

THIS IDIOT IS A PATIENT OF MENTAL DISORDER. SOME TIMES HE GETS HYPER TENSE AND STARTS BARKING HAYWIRE. CALL GENERALS TO FURTHER BREAK PAKISTAN.

• observers said:

Agreed with Adonis, that Altaf boley America ki zubaan… US is checking/ testing whether Paki people can tolerate a new dictator adventure or not? so they used the most puppet creation on earth: the Bhatta Khor Terrorist Altaf, to throw this question to Pakistan about new ML or new Army dictator.
    Now US is evaluating Pakistnai public’s opinion to shape its ongoing strategy for Pakistan.
    What a single dictator can do for USA, no government of hundreds of politicians can do. Same like in Haiti, Egypt, Pakistan and whereever USA supports dictators.

• wasimwasim said:

Listen you ALL,

I have gone through with most of the aurguments made above. Just one question to all anti MQM ppl, why dont they respect the mendate of the ppl of Karachi, who’s been electing MQM despite what ever comments or logics you guyz made above.

I think most of you guyz are not from Karachi, and dont know the ground realities. As Karachi person, you will never listen that they have problem if the Lahories are electing PMLn.

Just Listen Altaf Hussains’s first speech what he delivered in Lahore in CPO Jalsal, then you will know that why this much propeganda has been strated against Altaf since he began.

Tension increases between PPP and MQM

Reports put by federal agencies to the government shows that individuals involved in recent target killings in Karachi are directly or indirectly connected to the MQM.

Main government sources told DawnNews that MQM contacted many times for the release of its arrested persons and the government declined to do so upon the advice of agencies.

MQM leader Dr Farooq Sattar told DawnNews that there has been no contact between MQM and government in the past 48 hours. However, he said that the PML-N reaction is harsh upon Altaf Hussain’s statement.

High level persons of PPP took serious notice of Altaf Hussain’s statement but ministers were also advised not to react to the MQM chief’s remarks.

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/metropolitan/06-tension-increases-between-ppp-and-mqm-rs-03

• xentric2005 said:

I don’t understand why so many of you are trying to reason with this ‘Ghalib’ guy. The moment he said ‘Screw constitution’, he didn’t leave any reason to discuss any issue with him in a civilized manner.
    I think it is very clear, and it always has been that MQM is a pro dictatorship party. They should be banned from participating in all future elections.
    I also believe rather than being part time politicians, MQM should focus full time on their core area of strength, that is managing the gang of thugs in their ranks.

• secularists said:

MQM is just a bunch of scavengers, they can’t work in a democracy because a continuous process of elections is only going to expose them big time. The way government is doing, it would have been ideal to demand mid term elections but no, why take chances, take the easy way out and ensure that your reign of terror continues.

• rashidsaleem said:

I believe the title of the post says everything. I would just add thank you everyone who suggests that we shouldn’t be a democratic state but we want to be one and we will not deviate away from our path.

• Bawa said:

زرداری نے اقتدار کی جو ہڈی الطاف کالیۓ کے منہ میں دے رکھی ہے وہ اسے بھی چھوڑنے کو تیار نہیں اور فوج سے بڑی ہڈی کے حصول کے لئے بھی کوشاں ہے. اسے لوگ منہ والی ہڈی بھی گنوا بیٹھتے ہیں اور بڑی ہڈی بھی انکے نصیب میں نہیں ہوتی. پھر انکا کام صرف ہر وقت ہر کسی پر بھونکتے رہنا ہی رہ جاتا ہے

• mir munsif said:

If any one follows Altaf’s statments,he can find easily the essence of is words.To me,the some simple points can be understood.

1- Current statment is nothing but a black mailing tactics against PPP in order to gain more mileage because rising target killing in Khi turn fingers back to MQM and after Flood,when thousands of flood victims go to Karachi,MQM fascist want to stop their entry in Karachi in order to secure their ethnic mafist control over karachi.
    2-Secondly MQM was born in the lap of Dictator Zia and get young in the lap of MUSH and they enjoyed power in every Govt and seeing PPP’s governance failure,they want to get grace marks from Military establishment.Because through democracy and free n fair elections,they see their ultimate end in future and that’s why elections and democratic system WILL NEVER suit them.Moreover,their rhetoric cant find any appeal any where in Pakistan and they cant see any hope in democratic system.Therefore,they feel that through dictatorship,they can get lion share in system and new life.

• GHQ said:

Ground reality is people op pakistan wants change!!!!!
    But not as Altaf hussain wants!!!
    No Zardari No marshal law.
    Imran khan away hi away.

• twin_cities said:

MQM’s role in destabilizing the country is as clear as daylight. A gang which flourishes on Bhatta, introduced human drilling and Bori Band corpses in politics, whose chief has a foreign nationality and openly denounces the very creation of the country cannot be termed a political party. This is a terrorist organization which gets funding from RAW and other enemies of the nation.

• Ghost of TK said:

If you look at the history of pakistan, and I’m sorry to say this, it is exactly the same group of people who have been A## R4Ping Pakistan since inception. First they did it as the only bureaucracy and the religious zealots and later they focused on jamaat and when that didn’t work they openly came out in the name of an ethnicity which is make believe.

All through this exploitation and foisting of their language and culture on Pakistan and their filthy allliance with Military and the Feudals, they have used the code word “Pakistan’s Interest” to mean THEIR interest.

Even now they talk about ‘saving Pakistan’ but what they mean is protecting their own selfish interests by cynically inviting the Army yet again so they can be the tool of Pakistan’s repression one more time.

I say this, because I don’t see the “new generation” of these so called “Muhajirs” who are still muhajir after 63 years btw, charting a new course or breaking away from the fascist party of MQM. They are fine with the fascism as long as it protects their interests and they call it “pragmatism and realism”

Well, today we know who people like Altaf Hussain, Shahid “Dunggar Dawkturr” Massod, Kamran Khan and Ansar Abbasi stand with.

They do not stand with Pakistan, and we should not be fooled by their fake “patriotism” when they call for jurnails to Rape Pakistan one more time.

Military rule IS NEVER GOOD! EVER! And to argue that “in certain circumstances” it is permissible is equivalent to saying “in certain circumstances raping your mother is fine.”

Altaf Hussain has committed treason, and so has Shahid Massood. I would use vulgarity, but that would distract from this serious issue. But just imagine me flying off the handle on these buggers. They deserve a giant F. U. for their cynical and shamelessly open support of Martial Law.

We all know who the enemy is.

• Ghost of TK said:

And I’m not broadbrushing all Muhajir’s however, the majority supports MQM and maybe there are a sizable number who struggle under the yoke of MQM’s fascism, but there is definitely an ethnic and racist element to MQM’s politics. Something which needs to looked at in the historical perspective and compared with the “real” muhajirs who came to punjab and have mainly assimilated.

The “late comers” however are the ones jo ungli kataa kay shaheed banay huay hain and keep giving us guilt trips about their qurbaniyan, like we fvcking didn’t sacrifice a goddamned thing for this country when it was created. And the real massacres happened to the punjabi muhajir’s anyway.

@ Ghost Of TK

Am i missing something about Ansar Abbasi or do you know something that we don’t?

• mir munsif said:

These guyz a analyzing statement of Altaf hussain…

o bhai ..us nay aawain he bongi maree usay kay pata tha kay us ke aik baat kay itnay matlab nikaltay hain lolxxx

• mir munsif said:

@Ghost of TK

Excellent analysis,right on the spot.I want to add it here that the only way this Mafia Fascist see their life and presence is through dictatorship and terrorism.Because In democratic systems,they are not only minor partner but if democratic process continues,through free n fair elections and mafia fear free campaign in Khi,they will end up one day.So they fear democratic system and favor dictatorship for their own personal survival.

Secondly,during MUSH era,they got lions share in government and now its hard for them to live as junior partner and thats why they miss those golden days and hope that in the shape of some new dictatorship,they can get back to same golden age.

• RhyMe said:

If hes so displeased with the present ruling lot then why this Drama Queen aka Altaf Hussain nd his party leave the Coalition Goverment straight away?…who they are trying to fool here?….

O Mr Extremely Boring Person…PleaSe SpaRe Us YouR OveR DramaTic WayS!!!

• Pakistani said:

Sach kaha Zardari sahib. Aap is maay per pora uter rahey hain.
    http://www.dailypak.com/index.php?pag=detail&id=9475

• sfqureshi said:

At least present army chief will not dare to bring martlaw in the country, because he already got his share from this govt,3 years extension. As regards Moulana Fazal ur rehman & Asfand wali yar & Altaf Hussain, they are all useless, worthless and have no Zameer, they got the share from Zardari and made his corrupt govt. They have realised after two years but it’s too late, this present govt with his coalition partners have already destroyed this country, even GOD dislike them and this flood is a curse on this nation, but still the rulers are not getting any lesson.

• Parvez said:

There are constitutional and democratic ways to change the situation. MQM is part of corrupt set up and as a first step they should resign from provincial and central govt. They wont do it because they are not sincere.
    Article six does not apply to Altaf because he is a British citizen.

• twin_cities said:

Altaf is asking PATRIOTIC Generals to come forward and save the country. If there is any PATRIOTIC General present then the very first action he will take will be against the BHATTA KHORE MQM. They killed more then 100 innocent people, most of them poor daily wages Pathans, as revenge when one of their Gangster MPA died.

If Army is very Patriotic then they must act and bring back Altaf, he is involved in killings of thousands of Mohajirs, his bickerings against Pakistan is well known and videos are available for that. The very first CORRUPT persons who need to be hanged in open is no other then Altaf Kalia.

• pakwatan12 said:

It is a useless discussion. Army does not need anyone`s suggestion. Dont they see what is happening in Pakistan for the last two years.

• KAWA said:

Musrt Read

By Ansar Abbasi (The News)
    MQM must push for a change within the system; Altaf Bhai should leave coalition first; force mid-term polls, not invite a dictator
    Tuesday, August 24, 2010
    By Ansar Abbasi
    ISLAMABAD: No Mr Altaf Hussain, you are wrong. Your recipe to cleanse the Augean stables is flawed, unconstitutional and simply shocking. Your outburst negates the established principles of rule of law that is mandatory for justice and fair play in any society and for which we have been struggling since March 9, 2007. You have not only unmistakably invited ML but proposed dictatorial rule of one man that would be disastrous for my Pakistan.
    One’s despondency and disappointment from the Zardari-Gilani government to which Altaf Bhai’s MQM is an integral part is perhaps far more grave than what the MQM chief apparently claims. Undoubtedly the present regime is thoroughly corrupt and the worst example of bad governance. Time has also proved that Prime Minister Gilani is also helpless, hopeless, incompetent and lacks courage and is a mere burden on the system for his inaction and incapability to steer the country away from the challenges facing the nation. This is known to all that democracy is being used by the present rulers to give cover to their corruption, misrule and bad governance.

Everyone knows that Zardari and the bunch of corrupt coterie surrounding him are on a suicide mission and have emerged as the greatest threat to democracy. The question that arises here is if, because of corruption, bad-governance and misrule of the rulers and regime, we should condemn democracy and let another dictator come, it would ruin everything. Targeting democracy would mean bowing down to whims and wishes of one man, moving against our own rights, abrogating Constitution and weakening institutions including independent judiciary and free media.

It sounds strange that no-confidence against the system is coming from Altaf Hussain whose party is vital part of the corrupt federal as well as Sindh government. Being part of it, the MQM is bound to share the burden of all the wrongs being done by the Zardari-Gilani duo.
    Instead of targeting democracy, why don’t Altaf Bhai and his party hit the corrupt government and the corrupt rulers? The MQM, which has served as B-Team of General Musharraf during his nine-year dictatorial rule, should now serve democracy and as a first step get out of the coalition. The party can also exert pressure on the regime to behave by setting the conditions of good governance, across the board accountability and corruption free government if the PPP wants the MQM to stay in the coalition.

Following democratic norms, the MQM has the option of leaving the federal government. It would mean the immediate collapse of the Gilani regime. The PPP, which has just 126 members in the National Assembly and has made the government with the support of MQM, ANP, JUI(F), independents and others, can’t survive if it loses the support of 25 MQM MNAs. The collapse of the government could pave the way for re-adjustments of political divide within the National Assembly. It would mean forming a new government. Otherwise, we have mid-term elections. These are all democratic means to handle the kind of situation we are confronting today.

Hatred against Zardari should not be allowed to turn into hatred against democracy. Just to recall Altaf Bhai, the present lot ruling the country had made its way into the corridors of power because of the NRO, which was promulgated and negotiated by the Generals. Therefore, Altaf Bhai, please let the cleansing be done by the system instead of the Generals, who have failed every time they ruled the country. Let’s start differentiating between democracy and government. We have the kind of rulers who have given us the sham democracy. Instead of reverting to the military rule we all should struggle for genuine democracy, genuine people who should serve people instead of serving the rulers.

• KAWA said:

This is what I feel, “Why Altaf Hussain” will not do what Ansar Abbasi is suggesting;

I think this outburst is a well thought out plan of Musharraf and Altaf. I feel that Musharraf knows well that his only way to enter Pakistan back is if Kiyani takes over and faujis sabotage the independent judiciary. Once that’s done, then the sly commando General sneaks in, rounds up the loosers from PML Q, dissidents, etc, waderas, chaudry’s etc by sending in feelers that Fauj command is with him…get’s a quiet nod from Don of London of full support and thus gets back on the saddle.

Also, MQM/it’s followers and Musharraf himself would rather see the devil take over Pakistan than the Shareef brothers because then it’s over if PML-N and the first act of PML would be to file treason charges on Mush. So while Musharraf/Altaf supporters hate Sindhis from their gut but are stuck because the alternate is PML-N and that is unacceptable at any cost. That is why Ansar Abbasi’s suggestion about bringing in a democratic change will never be acceptable because that obviously puts PML-N in power.

• Aneeza said:

Extremely happy to see most of the comments supporting democracy. No matter how corrupt the politcians, no matter how feudal the system, no matter how uneducated the masses, this is the only way a lasting change can be brought in the system. All interventions have brought us today where we are. It may take decades but that is the ONLY thing that will work.

Regarding MQM, I have always struggled to find one positive point in the party. Yes, they are generally educated people, yes they are elected by Karachi masses but they have a real fascist element to their politics. True that other political parties are no angels, they have their own agendas but no other party has the capability of paralyzing the biggest city of the country and using it as a blackmailing card to get their way. This is deplorable.

• khurram545 said:

@galib,

I cant understand why we drag religion in each matter.

no doubt, Pakistan was being asked for sake of Muslims (not the Islam) , Quaid never mentioned it will be a Islamic Republic Of Pakistan. these words introduced in 1973 , please try to find out Quaid’s speech delivered on 11 Aug, 1947.

If politicians made some wrong in past , it does not mean they are still wrong. Lets say if you are failed in class 1 exams, it does not mean you would fail in all upcoming classes so your parent should decide stop to waste money by investing on you and your education, it is their responsibility to provide you favorable circumstances to overcome your failure , same its our responsibility to provide favorable conditions to democracy.

Again… if you don’t like constitution, try to change it by legal ways not by force (dictators and some kind of movement) , Compiegne against it … and go for votes and if win modify/replace it. but till that time you & me will have to live with this (with its respect)

• khurram545 said:

@pakwatan12

what happened in last two years, please help me to understand if happened other than followings…

Our children can go to schools with less fear, two years ago , Pakistani were being targeting by so-called Taliban, our children were not able to go to schools. after swat, So called taliban we trying to reach Islamabad and now who is surviving

we got independent judiciary , yes 2 years ago we did not have any authority on which we could trust for justice.

we have cool down temperature in one province , ye 2 years ago we had blood shed and separation movement in that movement

Gen. always need support from awam and judiciary for unconstitutional steps, without them they are unable to do so , and now no one will support them!

@All Army supporters – anti democracy

why we forget , army is to protect outer front not the inner one and to do some on-demand social jobs , they are not being HIRED to rule us.
    why you all anti democracy don’t you take a good decision , go outside of your home and ask your street guard “you are doing very good job , you served me many times , you saved me from thieves and robbers now I think you more brave and capable than me and you should take over my home , order to my children how to study , order my ladies what to cook and order me how to do my job…”

Visualize it , and then feel how the idea looks to you. if you like it go ahead and do , and if you dont like then please stop thinking same for country.

• Ghost of TK said:

We feed the army with our blood, sweat and tears. WE give a lion’s share of our hard earned money so they can have the best possible. These jurnails live like princes, in palaces, in cordoned off areas. Military is not doing anyone any favors. This is what they OWE to the nation and the civilian government. Obviously, assclowns like Zardari and the rest of the cynical political class has not done anything to further the cause of democracy or strengthen the democratic institutions, so the gap still remains and jackals like Altaf get a chance to criticize, and spout venom against a democratic Pakistan.

However their criticism is duplicitous, disingenuous and munafiqana, because they have all the democratic avenues available to them to bring down this set up and create a new one and what do they do? they go running to their “maai baaps” (Waseem Akhtar’s words not mine) the Army and America.

I used to think that MQM could be reformed, however, it is now my belief that until this fascist group at the head of the party has it’s violent stranglehold and until the fabled “middil kilaas” keeps cynically quiet just because their selfish, narrow interests are being served, no change can come to Pakistan and or Karachi.

The shameless support Altaf is getting from his choocha’s is just mind boggling. These people don’t give a flying F about the the “pakistan” they talk about. “Pakistan” is just code for protecting the interests of an ethnic minority which has controlled and oppressed pakistan from inception.

• twin_cities said:

MUST HISTORY ALWAYS REPEAT ITSELF?

In 1992 Altaf Hussain was threatened by his own party gangsters when they were not getting DUE SHARE from bhatta and looted money. He himself has provided them with latest weapons and he knew that his life is in danger. In frustration he called army and wrote letter to General Asif Nawaz Juanjua that the operation which was being conducted in interior Sindh against Dacoits be expanded to Karachi. He also provided a list of his own party workers to be eliminated. When the real operation started it revealed all the wrongdoings of Altaf and he fled the country, never ever to return back.

Now he wants another Army operation, if it starts from Karachi then 90% of his party leadership will be arrested since all of them are killers. Let the operation start from Karachi so the actual horrible face of this Declared Terrorist Group be shown to the people.

• c hussain said:

I think we should not be carried away by Altaf Hussain’s statement. This is nothing but noora kushti – actually Altaf Zardari and Nawaz are one and this statement was given deliberately so pre-empt Army from even thinking about any form of intervention. The politicians knew they are doing very bad and their credibility is at the lowest and rock bottom and army is doing very good in managing the floods and they have been able to rehabilitate their image to a great extent and have gained trust of the people – and politicians dont like that – so they asked Altaf to give this statement to put the army on the backfoot and raise the alarm and to stir up the public setiments again and then bring all the politicians against army intervention and hence ensure Zardari and Nawaz continuity in the government and hence the corruption and bad governance.

You all might recall that it was Altaf who had suggested the name of Zardari as President and now he is asking for removal of government. They are all one and are just trying to make a fool out of people. Moreover they might have seen the writing on the wall and know that the whole country is descending in choas so they are trying to counter any move from the army. Remember Altaf is not with army but is with Zardari.

• Malik Zafar said:

Well done Altaf Hussain.
    You can say whatever you like, you can do whatever you like.
    Zardari badly needs your support, and don’t forget Zardari officially introduced you to Bilawal when he visited London to attend the Graduation ceremony of Bilawal.
    Zardari can’t survive without your support.
    And Altaf Hussain, I have said earlier and I am saying this again that keep milking the cow, and Peoples Party is like a cash machine for you, so just keep putting in the Card and keep taking cash out.
    And as far as Nawaz Sharif is concerned he is only providing a friendly opposition.
    We are really and truly a stupid, jahil and junglee nation.

Once again Altaf Hussain, because one Karachi Bhayia is more clever than 100 Sindhi manuus so keep fooling Zardari.

• Adonis said:

It is quite funny to see the futile attempts of MQM representatives on media to defend the indefensible statement by their leader “Kalu current”.

Obviously they have no defense so they just try to shout their way out of the mess that their don has created for them.

• maxpk said:

freedom said:

Altaf Hussain is the biggest under-world Don.

:roll: ? زرداری اور زلفقار مرزا سے بھی بڑا

• pakistanee said:

@ghalib
    Ghalid Sahb, I have a simple question for you . Lets say Kyani takes over and appoints someone from JI or PMLN or a party other than MQM as Nazim/Mayor or Administrator of Karachi. Would you accept that? Or there you would need General to follow democratic rules? Thanks.

• hsaqib17 said:

Let’s forget what was said by whom. Let’s concentrate on the biggest crisis of Pakistan’s history. Can anyone request the Prime Minister to donate at least half of his Cabinet to Flood Fund. http://fmeducation.wordpress.com/2010/08/26/mr-prime-minister-please-donate-half-of-your-cabinet/
    Can we also request him and his colleagues to begin the charity at home by tightening own belt: http://fmeducation.blogspot.com/2010/08/why-not-begin-by-tightening-your-own.html

• khurram545 said:

@GHQ,

Theerk-e-Insaf supported that *BS* idea. too abh bhi kahan gai woh apas ki larai?

@Others,

please note ex-dictator Mush suddenly activated and established flood fund and called Sialot victim family…

Shayed meri haqoomat ka khyal dil mein aya hey!
    Isiliyah Bhiyha ney meray, Gernalon ko bulaya hey!

*Bhiya = IH

• ukpaki1 said:

salam
    only a patriotic general can dare to get altaf back in pak, no civilian govt. has the courage to do so. altaf hussain can only bark through phone n can fool ppl. MQM and ANP both parites r traitors, they both consider karachi as their property. only a patriotic general can ask supreme for trial against traitors (altaf hussain and ANP’S leaders).
    in minutes mqm ruin law n order in khi. party with a notorious leader.
    May ALLAH bless Pakistan n Pakistanis

• KAWA said:

Ghost of TK & Malik Zafar

“This Manhoos Black Boar, Altaf Hussain” is the biggest threat to Pakistan. I would accept 100 Zardaris when compared to this mad-man. I’m glad that there are others who so clearly understand this mad-man’s motives. As for Karachites, they are in shackles by their own choice.. Each and every Urdu speaking man in Karachi has become a badmash as each has connections to this fascist party in some way or the other. They love it and the power that comes with it and they know they have this power till they support MQM and MQM exists.

I know a gentleman from Karachi who is 75 years old. A very decent man highly educated and retired as a Chief Executive from a multinational corp. During my current trip to that city, I was shocked that a man with legs in grave was talking about getting so and so picked up, getting so and so trashed, and I can go on and on… I was shocked?

Later I asked my friend who I accompanied as to what the heck was that? He replied that the old man found his true self in the last 10 years of Musharraf and MQM rule. If 75 year old men with this background can change, talk about an 18 year Bhiya!!!!!! That’s why they love MQM.

• d0ct0r said:

Reasons for Altaf’s change of heart is quite obvious,MQM isn’t happy about sindhi flood victims comming into karachi, they already have been killing dozens of pathans every week ever since swat IDPs started coming into karachi,so now they’re contemplating their options,if they start killing sindhis then they really can’t survive here in Karachi,so this is the next best option,stab ppp and go to bed with who ever comes to power in next setup.

As for target killings, MQM is the instigator it self so it isn’t really concerned if the death toll is rising or not,in fact just to deflect and divert the attention of every one towards its atrocities it has used this tactic so that media instead of discussing MQM sponsored killing in karachi should stay occupied in discussing Altaf’s suggestion of going to bed with a dictator once again.

Lastly local bodies issue is definitely a thorny issue between PPP and MQM altaf,its apparent the MQM is getting desperate and recent events suggest that ppp isn’t interested in reviving local bodies system at all in sindh.

“LG election in Sindh put off(indefinitely) for fifth time

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/local/lg-election-in-sindh-put-off-for-fifth-time-480

Its ironic that MQM went to bed with ex dictator for almost a decade and still it didn’t “got rid of the feudal system and cleanse the society of corruption” like its claiming to get rid of with the help of yet another “Patriotic” general.

Most ironic and hilarious thing about Altaf’s demand is that he is calling every one in current system corrupt and complete disappointment & failure, this MQM’s hypocrite absconding criminal keeps on forgetting that he is major coilation partner in current setup both in center and Sindh so if he calling current setup a complete failure and disappointment then it means MQM to is responsible for current mess, if MQM altaf have little bit of moral courage & self respect left then he should quit the government right away..

Personally i feel that this govt has to go,thats the writing on the wall,but i wouldn’t like to see massive changes taking place just at a time when whole country(not a single province spared) is facing its worst disaster of its history,army is already quite stretched,so dragging them into another mess isn’t very prudent,for time being it should be left doing the job its currently doing i.e. helping the flood victims and six-eight months down the road they could try what ever change plan they have in mind..

Currently using Altaf, ‘power that be’ is trying to get a feeler out there to gauge public’s perception. Obviously it won’t be a conventional martial law as according to constitutional changes both the judge and general will be partner in crime if they abrogate constitution or take any unconstitutional measure, so the option they would be using is supreme court. I am not aware about status of several very important cases being heard in SC but i feel those cases would be used as basis for removing the current regime,army would be merely asked for assisting the court and ideally would be asked to hold new elections in 90 days under its supervision .. everything would be legal and done by the book so that no fingers could be raised

• anna said:

@ khurram545 said:

Shayed meri haqoomat ka khyal dil mein aya hey!
    Isiliyah Bhiyha ney meray, Gernalon ko bulaya hey!

*Bhiya = IH

LOL !! Khurram545

• anna said:

WHATEVER Politicians are doing today At least they are RESIDING here & facing GALIYYAN , LANATAIN , JAILAIN , ILZAMAT & whatnot !

DOOR bethay BEEN bajatay Rehtay hain woh bhi FONE per ! Who bhi HUMARAY KHRCHAY per ! aur Uss Fuj ko Bulatay hain jiss nay Pehlay USA ko humaray SER per Bethaya then sold out our RIVERS then SURRENDER shamelessly in front of INDIA ,killed thousand of BANGALIS ,BALOCHS ,SINDHI , PAKHTOONS then PLAGUED PAKISTAN with KK,TT, MOUSER ,HEROINE , AFGHAN MUHAJIRS , MQM , PPI , SIPAH SAHABA , LASHKARE JAHNGVI ,Nifaz Fiqha Jaferia , then sold out Pakistanis for $$ 5000 each ( Shameless Musharraf) & last but not the least these Army rulers KILLED almost all the Politicians who were PILLARS of Stability for PAKISTAN in any way !!

• KAWA said:

anna; you are so right! Shame on this man for calling in Faujis to take over. Each and every individual should speak up against this mad-man.

• marta paki said:

IS THERE ANY BODY ELSE IN THIS COUNTRY WHO CAN PUNISH THESE CORRUPT LANDLORDS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I DO NOT SUPPORT ALTAF ON MANY ISSUES BUT ON THIS ISSUE I GO WITH YOU MR ALTAF
    IF YOU DO NOT AGREE WITH HIM, JUST TELL US WHO IS GOING TO CONTROL THESE CORRUPTS, OR YOU WILL WAIT TO SEE FURTHER PARTITION OF PAKISTAN

• KAWA said:

Who dismembered Pakistan is the first place? Yahya Khan.
    Who created ethnic hate in Muhajirs? Ayub Khan
    Who has brought Baluchistan to the verge of separation? Musharraf
    MQM is one of the most corrupt 9Billions of bhatta, development funds have flowed to London to support this mans wicked schemes and living) and have blood on their hands. Would you trust the leader of this party to call the shots in Pakistan? Have you forgotten what these scumbags did on May 12th? The road leading from Jinnah terminal was flowing with blood while their killers hid on roof tops and fired on innocent men-women & children?

Marta Paki, you need to check your facts before supporting a fascist.

• wbuttar said:

I think it is only a feeler and may be Zardari & Co is fully involved to divert masses attention from incompetency of government machinery to tackle the flood victims issue. Times and again they has the history of diverting attentions. But this time they may not be able to because…..

• Revivalist said:

Let’s not fool ourselves, Democracy and dictatorship are two sides of the same coin and we all know that since Pakistan’s inception. Therefore, neither Elitocracy nor dictatorship can solve our problems and take us out from this severe political, economic and social decay. We need a radical Islamic change and the ruling system of Islam ‘KHILAFAH’ that presents a comprehensive alternative to the secular democracy/capitalism.

• anna said:

@ marta PAKI !
    I think you were SLEEPING for the last 30 or so years when this same MQM ruling so shamlessly with all KINDS of Landlords, Dictators , Sermayadar ,Jagirdar & whatnot !!!

@ KAWA 100% right & i want to add that if CJ ( who we Supported & restored with all our efforts )has taken 12th May Karachi Carnage as a serious thing, immediately after his restoration ,we might have not Witnessed the SIALKOT Brutality & this “NAMAQOOL BAYAAN ” from that “British citizen ” Altaf Hussain

• anna said:

@ revivalist
    If we take you seriously , we have to have ONE Khalifa for all Muslim Ummah & who will be that Khalifa ? …A shia Khalifa from Iran ,the Wahabi Khalifa from Saudia or the Beralivi Khalifa from Pakistan …
    I know one who belongs to none of the above …

• gogajee said:

After skimming through these posts and watching other current affair talk shows.

In my humble opinion this is what it boils down too.

1. USA wants Pakistani Government to kill/dismantle all/any kind of Jihadi/Taliban groups.
    2. This government is democratic ( although most corrupt in Pakistan’s history) and has been unable, so far, to do what USA wants them to do exactly as they want 100% ( whatever pak government has done is inexcusable by any means ).
    3. USA has always use military to do their dirty work since politicians cannot do it as efficiently as military can (and that is the history of Pakistan).
    4. So USA solution to this, is to do the something similar to what Bangladesh recently tried and failed (using judiciary with army support).
    5. The first one and easiest sell out politician was MQM leader, who after meeting with US govt. personals made the recent statement where he asked military to topple over the current govt.
    6. Current PPP and its allies (MQM, JUI and so on) do not want midterm elections because they will lose and will not be able to get majority to be in the govt.
    7. what we the people need to do is to ask military to stay out of this political situation and have mid-term election under independent election commission. Of course midterm elections will only be possible to conduct after we are done with flood situation.

• KAWA said:

anna; I agree that CJ should have taken action for May 12th. I am disappointed. However, if CJ had taken action, people would have said that he is taking it personal reasons. Better still, if the government had filed a petition for a judicial inquiry, then something could have happened.

Problem with that is that MQM has 25 national seats and if PPP had gone for May 12th inquiry, there would be no PPP government left as MQM would withdraw it’s support. For the last 20 years we have seen that MQM 25 seats become the fulcrum required for PPP or PML to form a government. Thus they blackmail both parties. The only way out is for PPP-PML to have an understanding that neither would accept this fascist party as members of a coalition. Originally, I thought that was part of charter of democracy with BB, till AZ over-rode it and is now paying for it.

• sfqureshi said:

After watching all TV debates and reading all news papers about the comments of Altaf Hussain, I have come to this conclusion that his words have been twisted by every one. Apparently his intentions are right that the present corrupt rulers have destroyed the country and there is no implementation of SC verdicts, under these circumstances Army must play his part and take serious action against all such politicians,Jagirdars,Beurocrates,Vaderaas, Chaudhrys and all such culprits who have ruined the country. Army action must be taken against such culprits, present rulers are not capable to run this country in democratic way.Even in this disaster the selfish culprits sitting on govt benches have showed their greedyness by diverting the flood on poor people’s land & properties and they saved their assests.

• Danish said:

Gen Musharraf is certainly being missed. Atleast the level of trust for Pakistani govt in his entire duration of ruling time, was very very high.

The successor govt humiliate their own country’s past govt for getting political advantages. But the fact remains, this is the most corrupt govt in the history of Pakistan and the whole world knows our president with the name of Mr. 10%. How shameful for us!!

So whoever in the world want to throw their money in the pockets of Mr. Zardari. And they are right as they should be very careful in every spending of their money collected from the taxes of their population. No one should have any complain.

• anna said:

@ DANISH

you know what “BUD SAY BUDNAAM BURA”
    zerdari is more budnaam than the BUD MUSHARRAF …
    we still not having any news that Zerdari has SOLD Afia Siddique to USA for 5000$$$ or Sold Aimel Kansi to USA & grabbed the BOUNTIES !
    Though I have NO trust on this Zerdari man !( he sounds like a suicidal Bomber of PPP.. & I think at the end of his mission he blows him up & burnt PPP into small pieces) yet ..I never ever try to compare Mr.10 % to COMMANDO KILLER !!
    If someone ask me “MONEY or YOUR LIFE ” …I will surly throw Money on him& SAFE my life … Baqqi App Khud SAMAJHDAR hain !!

• Tanzeel Zehra said:

Altaf Hussain’s statement is highly deplorable and irresponsible. He appealed for a ‘martial law-like’ intervention by ‘patriotic generals’ against ‘corrupt feudals and landlord politicians’.
    This is tantamount to inviting the generals to stage a coup d’état. We have seen that in the past such calls from dissident politicians have paved the way for military takeovers. This time it is the voice of the leader of a political party that is a coalition partner of the government in the Center and Sindh.The truth is that the cure for bad democracy is more democracy. A political system can mature and fine-tune itself only when it is given a chance to work. For generals to be protectors and guarantors of democracy is ludicrous. Pakistan was created as a result of a constitutional struggle led by Mohammad Ali Jinnah. In his scheme there was no room for the military. If the Bonapartists had been true to Quaid’s ideals and abided by the oaths they had taken to uphold the constitution of the country, things would not have come to such a sorry pass.

• KAWA said:

anna; could not agree more with your comments below. I have many friends who I know for sure are corrupt or rashi and I am still friends with them. However, I can guarantee you, I know no one who is a murderer and if I did, he would not be my friend. … but again what do you say to those hypocrites on this forum, who constantly write against Zardari but forget to look into the deeds of their own party MQM.? See, you can never shame a shameless….

anna said:

If someone ask me “MONEY or YOUR LIFE ” …I will surly throw Money on him& SAFE my life … Baqqi App Khud SAMAJHDAR hain !!

• KAWA said:

THE NEXT DAY AUGUST 23RD, “THE DON OF LONDON” DEMANDED MARTIAL LAW TO BE IMPOSED IN PAKISTAN. WHAT A JACKASS….

————————————————————————————————
    US diplomat meets MQM chief
    Published: August 22, 2010

KARACHI – The US diplomat Bryan D Hunt met MQM leader Altaf Hussain at the International Secretariat of the Party’s office in London and discussed issues of mutual interest in detail.

• KAWA said:

REASONS FOR ALTAF HUSSAINS CALL FOR MARTIAL-LAW;

Many, but not all, Urdu-Speaking Migrants to Pakistan between 1948-1952 came to Pakistan for economic opportunity and as they witnessed that Pakistan’s Civil Services were dominated by the “Muhajir’s” with Urdu speaking background, they simply assumed it is their right to replace the British Masters in the nascent state of Pakistan. The concept of intellectual and linguistic superiority comes from one that Pakistan adapted their mother tongue Urdu as the official language and 2ndly, no doubt, they were the only educated class on the west side of Pakistan in late forty’s and until late fifty’s. Punjabis, Sindhis, Balochis, Pathans accepted Urdu as the official language because their own languages were not that developed and their own language would not have been a common unifying language anyway. Bengalis, on the Eastern Side of Pakistan had a fully developed and literally rich language in Bengali and they never accepted this linguistic, economic superiority and the cultural onslaught and thus in my view the “seeds of secession” were sowed. Many other factors and primarily the mismanagement and oppression by Punjabi dominated Military eventually led to the eventual separation of East Pakistan, however the seeds were planted with the clash of cultural values and a sense of loss of sovereignty amongst the Bengalis in 1948.

Mohajir community’s misplaced concept of superiority somewhat waned between 1958 and 1977, but it remerged under the patronage of Pakistan Military and creation of an ethnic party known as (Muhajjir Qaumi Movement) MQM. It reached new heights during the 9-years of Musarraf’s dictatorship. Musharraf and Shauket Aziz openly patronized MQM and its violent politics. For example, It became difficult in Pakistan to obtain license for a Joint Venture with Foreign Direct Investment, unless a MQM supported businessperson sponsored it with a partnership. During the last 9-years MQM supporters (Urdu Speaking Muhajir Community) was promoted as a social, economic and cultural “Super Class”. The model adapted is similar to what Jews practiced in the period between first and second world wars in the Rhine valley and i.e control Economics, Culture, and the rest of things would fall in place. MQM, added one more dimension to it and that is use of extreme violence to deal with opponents and dissidents. Even the people from Mohajjir Community opposed to neo-fascist tactics of MQM were liquidated, in fact, the entire families were killed. The police officials who registered cases against MQM leadership for murder and violence were brutally tortured and assassinated to send a strong message to anti-MQM people.

Today, MQM has full support of the international community principally USA and the strong global Jewish lobby. You will never hear from the MQM supermo in exile, about the rights of Palestinian People, under the rather shallow argument that it is not a “Pakistan Issue”. MQM has financial, political and media support from the powerful Jewish lobby that has tremendous influence over USA and European policies. MQM and its leadership mostly in London, enjoy special privileges and immunity from persecution for their crimes in Pakistan.

Asif Zardari’s politics reflects global realities. He realized that he could ditch Nawaz Sharif and side with MQM and in return obtain political and financial benefits from the Western & Jewish connections. Unfortunately, Pakistan is no longer a sovereign country and has little control over its own policies. Enlightened Moderation, Cultural lewdness, nudity, profanity, and surrender of sovereignty are some of the important achievements of Musharraf’s 9-year dictatorial rule. The impact of these achievements would be felt for many decades, if Pakistan survives.

• bublibangash said:

MQM has the history of always behaving like an opportunist party. Being a part of government, enjoying the power corridors, sitting inside the provincial and national assemblies then bullying the federal government to take their elected members to participate in the central cabinet posts, but still calling for the martial law? That doesn’t sound logical at all, first of all MQM’s parliamentarians should have to resign to make their way out of the legislative structures if they really are sick of the corrupt politicians who they sit side by side with them under a single roof in both houses, then it would look better for them to complain, otherwise this looks like two faced slicker’s game.
    One thing which does not make sense is why don’t they raise such issues on the platform of assemblies instead of asking army? Is it democratic way to resolve political problems or this is just like calling a bully to influence their agenda?
    Beside all of the above this really sounds ridiculous that Altaf Hussain a mastermind of MQM who is sitting abroad far away from home and driving his mafia to create a havoc in democratic path, I think Altaf Hussain is a drama king of our political scene:::::::

• abdul hafeez ahmed said:

I ve gone through the discussions and logics presented by different people and have due respect for. However, I found one thing missing i.e. conclusion. Mostly, it seems blame game ping-pong on behalf of political parties, as no one is ready to share responsibility of grass level incompetence of rulers even being part of it. It also gave an impression that it will be either ML or Democracy in this poor country (a comparison sort of thing bt ML and Democracy).

Theoretically, ML is not regular sort of government system, its always a temporary arrangement, however, always survived in our country due selfishness and personal gain greed of our politicians ( Now or never type).opportunists. We can create a list of KHUSHAMADI TOLA who learns how to solute, how to say YES Sir and how to persuade generals by praising them and approving their wisdom a dire need of the nation. The word temporary by itself tells us, its not a permanent solution, it is a repair work and repairs do not build any thing new. So there is no comparison, perhaps we are mistakenly comparing wrong things.

Democracy is a good system; however, we need to know that every system has some pre-requisites for its effective results. I would request my friends; let us make a check up list for Pre-requisites of Democracy and than compare it with ground realities to conclude its suitability for our beloved country. It is always man behind the gun who matters. We cannot afford “learning by mistake” as a national policy to gain mandatory experience and competence for good governance, can we? Just to make it very simple, why democracy was unable to avoid re-election of Jamshaid Dasti? Does mid-term election will certainly bring good people in ruling seats? It is hard to say, yes! Because; our realities do not support this answer. Will democracy bring loyalty, nationalism, honesty, positive personal traits among the politicians? Does democracy allow political parties to have arm wings, promote sectarian thoughts etc? All that we need to have a proper ground for democracy. People at mass level are educated through media to build confidence based society, capable of deciding in best interest of nation and society. How it can be achieved, again requires mind storming of well educated senior citizens of the country.

In my point of view, a third option “national government” having technocrats (well proved Pakistanis not imported one like Moin Qureshi and Shoukat Aziz) under continuous watch of Supreme Court for its being legal in managing country affairs and Army being readily available for implementation of SC decisions. The set up may continue for good twenty years to curb present bad trends of society and promote peace, brotherhood honesty in society, equality among all Pakistanis besides proving transparency in rule of law. Afterward, democracy may flourished.

• KAWA said:

abdul Hafeez ahmed; you make a good point but everything tells me that a “national government” would never work in Pakistan. It will again be a form of a dictatorship established without the “free will” of the people of Pakistan. The power of the vote will vaporize.

I think the solution is for establishing the rule of law through the power of Supreme Court and the threat of whatever article under which the army would ensure implementation of SC orders. Further, elections every two years if corruption continues faced with rigorous imprisonments for the corrupt. As hateful as this government is and many a times I find myself praying that a suicide bomber gets the President/PrimeMinister/Babar Awam/Rehman malik instead of innocent civilians, but sadly we have to find our path the right way.

Les wait and see how the SC verdicts come down in the next one month… Things are boiling to the point where it’ll be hard for SC to sit idle any longer.

• KAWA said:

Good editorial in The Nation

A call to vigilantism?

Published: August 30, 2010

MQM Chief Altaf Hussain, in a television interview, showed he had no intention of retracting his earlier statement which effectively called for a military takeover in Pakistan. Instead, he insisted that while he wanted Martial Law-like measures, he did not support Martial Law. He also again referred to “patriotic generals and soldiers” to intervene in the political process and suggested that people should seize the land of those feudals who had diverted flood waters to save their own lands, and hang them. Clearly, the MQM Chief was playing on the prevailing sentiments of the mass of the Pakistani public against the corruption within the leadership and the feudal machinations that aggravated the flood misery of the people.
    However, there is a more dangerous overtone to his calls because while he may deny his support for a military takeover, he is certainly calling for a derailment of the present democratic political process. It is still a mystery as to who will assess which general and soldier is “patriotic” since one assumes the military like all other state institutions is “patriotic” to begin with! Effectively, Mr Altaf Hussain is also advocating that citizens, be they civilians, or military personnel, take the law into their own hands – a vigilante-type “justice”. In a country where there is already so much violence that has become endemic over the years in society as it has become militarised, such a call for vigilantism is highly dangerous and incendiary. Instead, what the MQM Chief should have demanded was for a legal recourse against those who have diverted flood waters and so on. After all, if he has also expressed support for the judiciary then he should use legal means to deal with injustices prevalent in society – not simply push people into taking the law into their own hands. Already we are seeing the results of this in the target killings in Karachi.

It is also a pity that Mr Hussain has not only taken up British nationality but also continues to reside in London and issue edicts for his workers from the safe confines of his foreign base. Instead, as the leader of one of the mainstream political parties, he should be in Pakistan and leading his call for reform and revolution from the front. While all Pakistanis also agree with his condemnation of our ruling elite who maintain palaces and expensive properties abroad, one has to wonder how the MQM Chief manages to finance his residency in the UK.
    While all concerned Pakistanis share his sentiments about the corrupt political elite, his party has been part of that elite for some time now. Why have his party’s elected representatives gone with the tide of corruption rather than seeking to change the system from within given how they have held power and been in government? One cannot help but be suspicious not only as to the timing, but also the intent of the MQM Chief’s statement, which will further weaken an already weak and corrupt political facade of democracy in Pakistan.

• sana79 said:

زرداری نے اقتدار کی جو ہڈی الطاف کالیۓ کے منہ میں دے رکھی ہے وہ اسے بھی چھوڑنے کو تیار نہیں اور فوج سے بڑی ہڈی کے حصول کے لئے بھی کوشاں ہے. اسے لوگ منہ والی ہڈی بھی گنوا بیٹھتے ہیں اور بڑی ہڈی بھی انکے نصیب میں نہیں ہوتی. پھر انکا کام صرف ہر وقت ہر کسی پر بھونکتے رہنا ہی رہ جاتا ہے