لاہور کا تاریخی بازار حسن

(35 posts)
  1. toamin

میں یہ سمجھنے سے قاصر ہوں کہ آخر بی بی سی اردو سروس کے اڈیٹر نے اس کو اتنی بڑی سرخی کے طور پر کیوں چھاپہ ہے؟

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/2011/02/110210_bazar_e_husn_special_zs.shtml

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 6:53 #
  2. سلام بھائی

آپ بھی بھولے بادشاہ ہیں

کنجروں کو ہی کنجروں کا دکھ اور تکلیف ہوتی ہے ، اب بی بی سی کو کنجروں کا دکھ نہیں ہوگا تو اور کیسے ہو گا

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 7:11 #
  3. ajhons

Well said FJ bhai
    One more thing is that he tried to show this Bazar as a cultural centre while I think its famous as a brothal also.
    May be I wronge but this is what most of the people think of it.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 7:27 #
  4. پاکستان کے شہر لاہور میں واقع تاریخی بازار حسن وہ بازار ہے جہاں پچاس کی دہائی میں قانونی طور پر ناچ گانے کی اجازت دی گئی تھی۔ لیکن ملک میں دہشت گردی کی لہر سے یہ ثقافتی مظہر بھی ویران ہوگیا

Chalo! Is ka bhi blame "dahshat gurdi" per. Asal wajah hay key saray dallay aur kunjrian parliament/senate/presidency/PM house chalay gai haiN...

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 7:42 #
  5. ajhons

Nota Bhai
    بلکل سہی کہا آپ نے

Thankx to salam bhai Now "I can write urdu"
    آپ کا بہت بہت شکریہ سلام بھائی

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 8:05 #
  6. BTW: Is this going to be the new (old?) slogan of the seclibs:
    "We must win the war on terror so we can have our hira mundi back"????

Remember the "success" in Swat was defined/celebrated as:
    Pakistan's Dancing Girls Return After Taliban Defeated In Swat Valley

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 8:24 #
  7. toamin

بچہ بچہ جانتا ہے کا یہ زنا کاری کے اڈے ہیں، لیکن یہ دیکھیں کس خوبصورتی سے بی بی سی اس کس رنگ میں پیش کرتے ہیں

کوئی چار پانچ فیچر بڑی محنت سے تیار کے گئے

فارغ جذباتی بھائی

درست فرمایا آپ نے، کنجروں کو اپنی پڑ گئی ہے

اجھونس

اردو میں جو محبت، شائستگی اور بیان ہے وہ انگریزی جیسی زبان میں کہاں

تھوڑی پرکٹس کریں بہت جلدی فٹ ہو جائیں گے، انشاءللہ

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 9:49 #
  8. Truthlover

@ nota,

Bilkul theek kaha leikin un ke rishtadar to wahein hein.
    Asal wajah yeh he ke sari doulat bhi woh mulk se bahir le gaiey hein, ab becharay log peise kahan say laein daloon aur kanjrion ke liey?

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 10:24 #
  9. ajhons

سلام بھائی I learn to write my name correctly اے جونز LoL:))

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 10:45 #
  10. More on historical and literature perspective:

Lahore Heera Mandi (literally translated into Diamond Market) flourished during several decades of Mughal Emperor Akbar rule. Akbar had to quasi permanently move his capital from Delhi to Lahore to suppress an uprising lead by Abdullah Bhatti (also known as Dulla Bhatti). Very close to the royal places, this “bazar-e-husn” used to be a popular place for Akbar’s army and his bureaucrats. Despite lack of historical evidences, folklore of a love of a “diamond” named Anarkali with prince Saleem was a very popular among Lahoris. (Do not try to make a linguistic link between words La-wH0re and Lahore).

A 1922 master piece creation “Anarkali” by Syed Imtiaz Ali Taj was a result of these folklore and Imitiaz Ali’s well verse knowledge of this very Bazar-e-Husan. All three movies, including Mughal-e-Azam, on the topic of Anarkali were based on Imtiaz Ali’s drama and were not taken from any history book.

Even though no particular ethnicity has a monopoly on such “meat–malls” or entertainment houses and the sex-trade do not have any religion, the majority socialites of pre-partition Lahore were Hindus. During the last 50 years, the real diamond market has moved eastward to Defense Housing via Gulberg. Read Agha Shorash Kaashmiri’s book (and its rebuttal) “Us Bazaar Mein” vs., “Iss Bazaar Mein”. Honorable member Nota can shed some light on the Defense part.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 12:36 #
  11. @Azizi
    I hope you are talking about the one that includes the Bazaris like Latif Khosa (1/2 a block away), Gilani (2 blocks), Zulfiqar Khosa (about 1/2 a mile away) and Hamza Sharif (about a mile down east). Of course MNAs and MPAs homes are littered around here too. I write about them often. The small-time bazaris I have not come across (though I have heard in passing) but doubt they have anything over stories you hear about 'ordinary' folks around here -- shocking to say the least.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 13:01 #
  12. I though exactly the samething as soon as I read that. BBc wallay bhi had kertay hain? Kunjar taal ko saqafat ka hissa bana diya??

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 15:38 #
  13. BTW: Is this going to be the new (old?) slogan of the seclibs:
    "We must win the war on terror so we can have our hira mundi back"????
    ----

That's uncalled for. Anyways, now all this "gund" has spread all over the city, before they were confined to on corner.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 15:39 #
  14. toamin

اتنی بڑی بڑی خبریں بریک ہوئیں پر بی بی سی نے کنجر خانے کو ہی ماتھے پر سجائے رکھا، بڑے بڑے دھماکے ہوے پر پھر بھی بی بی سی نے بازار حسن کو ہی شہ سرخی میں رکھا

یہی تو اصل ماجرا ہے کہ یہ صرف و صرف خبر رساں ادارے نہیں ہوتے بلکہ ان کی آستینوں میں اور بھی بہت کچھ چھپا ہوتا ہے

برطانیہ ویسے ہی لاکھوں پونڈ دنیا کی خدمات کے لئے تھوڑی وقف کرتا ہے

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 15:46 #
  15. Truthlover

Don't you realize that Western civilisation is committed to make the whole world as a brothel, nations prostitutes and take the role of a pimp. If you have difficulty believing my words just look at what they have made of whole Far East.
    The West is very unhappy with Muslims and wonder what's wrong with these crazy heads, why can't they become like their leaders and just sell their bodies and souls?

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 18:40 #
  16. Well, if they have such a pain for this Bazar, they need to take some solid step to keep it alive. Send their women there and be their touts....

All is gonna be well ;)

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 19:31 #
  17. بد نصیب (حضرت علامہ) اقبال( رحمتہ اللہ علیہ) کو اگر اس بات کا علم ہوتا کے ایک دن انکے خوابوں کے ملک میں وہ بازار حسن بھی بند ہو جائے گا جس کی یاد انھیں جرمنی میں بھی ستا تی تھی ، تو شاید وہ ایسا بھیانک خواب دیکھتے ہی نا- بچارے اقبال کو کیا معلوم تھا کے ایک وہ دیں بھی اے گا جب اسکے شہر لاہور میں نا تو بسنت ہو گی نا ہی بازار حسن . صرف بادشاہی مسجد ہو گی اور منصورہ. اللہ رحم کرے اب تو مجھے داتا دربار کے دن بھی کم ہی نظر آ رہے ہیں. کیا کسی نے تصّور کیا تھا کے ایک دن شریف بدھا کا بت گرا دیا جائے گا.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 19:43 #
  18. chech chech.......

Never knew that Allama Iqbal was also a tamashbeen...

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 19:45 #
  19. Sometime back I wrote on pkpolitics
    داتا دربار سے قوالی سن کر ، شاہی محلہ سے رات گئے ایک دلربا طوائف سے میر کی غزل سن کر گھر واپس جاتے ہوے بادشاہی مسجد میں چار رکعت فجر ادا کر کے ، گلی کے نکڑ پر جان کے میخانے سے ولایتی شراب کی بوتل لے کر گھر آنے والے اقبال کو آج کل کی نوجوان نسل کے لئے سمجھنا بہت مشکل ہے. مغرب میں رہنے والی ایک ایسی نسل جو توماٹو کیچپ کے اجزاے ترکیبی کو بھی غور سے پڑھتی ہے کے کہیں اس میں بھی کچھ حرام نہ ہو. انکی سمجھ میں یہ آنا بہت مشکل ہے کے تاریخ میں بہت سے اچھے “مسلمان” یہ کیوں نہیں جانتے تھے کے شراب صرف زانی اور بدمعاش لوگ پیتے ہیں .
    اوریا مقبول اور اس جیسے خبیث نسل کے وہ لوگ جنھوں نے پاکستان< کی ایک پوری نسل کو شدّت پسندی اور نفرت کے دریا میں ڈبو دیا آج بھی اسی غلط فہمی میں مبتلا ہیں کے وہ تاریخ کو مسخ کر سکتے ہیں

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 19:53 #
  20. spruce

hummm very intresting topic and i am surprised of that forget bbc they are promoting **** culture in pakistan but i am shocked about mullas movement that they are not hesitate to talk against enemies of islam and word jihaad why they are silent about these dirty things happening in pakistan ,they should stop such sex center by forcing govet despite forcing govt on non issues. as the nation so the kings..

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Feb 2011 20:04 #
  21. @dell
    "That's uncalled for. Anyways, now all this "gund" has spread all over the city, before they were confined to on corner."
    Sorry couldn't resist! But doesn't the second part sort of wish it? :-P

If I remember it correctly, the "gund" spread LONG time ago under Zia-ul-Haq's crackdown on the place in the 70's (that should answer @Irshad's ranting but he probably won't accept it.) Over the years, with guest houses and hotels propping up everywhere as alternatives, there is little need for it anymore. And today thanks to cellphones, most business is done on-demand, and with "home delivery."

BTW: I am still laughing at bbc's claim of "dehshat-gardi behind the fall of bazar-e-husn". They must be talking chief p!mp Rehman Malik too seriously.

@dildar
    "Never knew that Allama Iqbal was also a tamashbeen..."
    That he was and more, as mentioned above! I am surprised no one mentioned he once murdered a prostitute in Hira Mandi.

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Feb 2011 3:20 #
  22. LOL, Nota be careful, "Iqbal kay shaheen" from this forum might attack you like vultures dive on dead meat. To be honest, I am surprised Allama had this side to him, I like him now!!!!1

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Feb 2011 3:35 #
  23. AHAAHHAHAAHAH

Shair e Mashreq killed a hooker, LOL. These are our ideals today LOL.

Reminds me of that masterpiece of poetry

***** tou *** , ***** bhi na chori hum nay
    Us ki **** mein ghussa diyay **** hum nay

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Feb 2011 3:38 #
  24. shirazi

@pejamistri

So Iqbal was also half muslim like Ghalib, used to drink but no pork. Perhaps he wasn't close enough to Jinnah :)

His grand son Yousaf Salaudin is the biggest cultural ambassador of Lahore. He lives in same neighborhood. The colorful Lahore is being hijacked by JI and Mansoora trained Sharif brothers. May be MQM is needed in Lahore to kick IJT out of PU and close this new art center Mansoora but the problem with MQM is:

Jeetin gey to rum chale ga, warna goli bum chale ga

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Feb 2011 3:40 #
  25. shirazi

@dell

Both Iqbal and Jinnah were elevated to sainthood by objective resolution party years after their death. If I am not mistaken Iqbal accidentally murdered prostitue when he was a student in GC, his Principal or Provost saved him by saying in court that Iqbal was in hostel at the time of incident.

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Feb 2011 3:45 #
  26. @shirazi
    "If I am not mistaken Iqbal accidentally murdered prostitue"
    How do you "accidentally" murder a prostitute? Good one, shirazi!
    P.S. Some say he had "diplomatic immunity" of sorts and the so the Brits let it pass. Seriously!!
    BTW: I heard it another way -- He skipped class, killed the woman, came back to class and later claimed I was in class at the time. So very well-planned and premeditated to say the least.

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Feb 2011 3:52 #
  27. Nota

Just like David Carridine killed himself but in this case Iqbal had opposite fantasies if ya know what I mean, he just tightened the belt a bit too much ;) lol

Oh man, imagine the look on Hamid Gul's face when someone tells him this story of Iqbal?!!

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Feb 2011 3:54 #
  28. @dell
    ;-)
    (But in this case I think he shot or stabbed her so that excuse won't work....)

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Feb 2011 3:57 #
  29. Shot her AHAHAHAHAH

Hamaray Iqbal tou bohat hi bray chuppay rustam niklay... aaway ka aawa hi bigra hua hai yahan tou LOL

Did we ever have a (morally)decent leader in Pakistan?? Except Imran offcourse??

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Feb 2011 4:01 #
  30. @dell
    You are forgetting Imran is great friends with Iqbal's grand son Yousaf Salaudin aka Mian Sulli (?), the biggest p!mp of lahore and used to party at his haveli along with Salman Taseer....

:-P

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Feb 2011 4:05 #
  31. That's a lie, Imran has higher standards and you know it ;)

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Feb 2011 4:06 #
  32. shirazi

Of course he had immunity even if it wasn't diplomatic.

@dell

Jemima Khan on Lahore's culture and her friendship with Yousaf Salaudin

http://goatmilkblog.com/2009/06/09/pakistan-jemima-khans-broken-country/

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Feb 2011 4:54 #
  33. toamin

ایک تو پتا نہیں لوگوں کو کیا مرض ہے کا جو چیز مسلہ ہی نہیں اس کو مسلہ بنا دیتے ہیں

اقبال و جناح مرد مجاہد تھے یا شرابی کبابی یہ اس وقت لوگوں کا مسلہ ہی نہیں، اس بحث سے کیا ملے گا، ہم کونسا ان دونوں کے اعمال کو بنیاد بنا کر زندگی گزارتے ہیں، جو دین پر چلنے کی کوشش کرتے ہیں وہ قرآن و سنت کو بنیاد بناتے ہیں اور جو لادینی کی زندگی گزارنا پسند کرتے ہیں وہ اپنی خوہشات و ہوس کے غلام ہوتے ہیں

ٹھیک ہے، ہم نے ضیاء الحق کے زمانے میں تیار کیا ہوا مطالعہ پاکستان پڑھا اور شاید یہ انکشافات نئے ہیں، پر کیا فرق پڑتا ہے

شربی تھے یا پاکباز دونوں صورتوں میں وہ معیار عمل نہیں

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Feb 2011 6:26 #
  34. shriq

Nota,
    "saray dallay aur kunjrian parliament/senate/presidency/PM house chalay gai haiN..."

Ghussaaaaaa! But again, how true.

Salam sahib, URDU is one of the most beautiful languages of the world. Love it! A few things can be explained in Urdu only :o)

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Feb 2011 12:25 #
  35. toamin

بھائی راوی آپ سے بس یہی گلہ ہے کہ ادھر آنا کچھ کم کر دیا ہے آپ نے

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Feb 2011 12:17 #