18th Ammendment passed - Concurrent List abolished

(38 posts)
  1. tamaazkhan

Finally unecessary federal interference in provincial matters have come to an end, as the concurrent list has been abolished.

Below is the list of the items on the conucrrent list, pointless for these factors to be discussed in the Federal Assembly.
    http://www.pakistani.org/pakistan/constitution/schedules/schedule4.html#conleglist

I also support Mr. Sharif's call (FINALLY!!) to devolve more power to the tehsil and local level, so that we can get on with developing our communities and our progess can stop being hampered by federal politiking.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 20:54 #
  2. LalBichoo

After NFC Award and Balochistan Package, constitutional reform package is another good thing done by democratic government !
    Abolishment of concurrent list was the demand of three smaller provinces and this step will certainly strenghten Pakistani federation !

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 5:36 #
  3. tamaazkhan

Hopefully these structural changes will improve governance and reduce opportunities for corruption!

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 5:40 #
  4. shriq

LB,

Agreed! They should be appreciated for this!

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 8:27 #
  5. khalidhumayun

Blinded by mere excitement! Federal Concurrent list of Article 70 Fourth Schedule Part II:

"2. Mineral oil, Natural Gas, liquids and substances declared by Federal law to be dangerously inflammable"

This means Sui Gas fields and Thur Coal will remain minting money for Islamabad and the provinces at source will only get peanut royalty as is being done previously.

This was not the demand of smaller provinces, I wonder how they agreed to this. There is no explanation in the Concurrent List about the share of distribution of money evaluated out of exploration of mineral oil, gas and coal between the Province at source and the Federal government.

However, I have not studied the full text of 18th Amendment, may be somewhere in between there might be mention of the distribution which is missing in this Schedule. If there is none, my apprehension is right.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 8:41 #
  6. Mubarak ho subko.
    magar yeh ghee itni seedhi ungliyon se nikal kasie aaya ?

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 9:53 #
  7. naseemkhanan

Ghee nikalney sey pehley key amriki dourey ko mut bhoolain.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 10:21 #
  8. ohhh ,good point Naseem bhai .
    GHee Uncle Sam kay danday se nikala gaya hay.
    abb samjh aya ...:):):)

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 10:24 #
  9. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

DO we have details on what is contained in 18th Amendment ?

Although Ameer-JI thinks positively about it, I need to see details, before I can share that happiness.

P.S. Islam does lay down guidelines, rules, laws, principles on who is owner of natural resources contained in land.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 12:07 #
  10. خود بدلتے نہیں ہیں قرآن کو بدل دیتے ہیں

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 12:15 #
  11. HK back and in top form. Natural resources belong to the people of any given Muslim country. Nay, it goes even further: Natural resources in a any given country belong to the entire Muslim Ummah, i.e. global Islam.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 12:16 #
  12. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Psycho: Come again, please ?

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 12:19 #
  13. LalBichoo

Mirza Ghalib,

"""Natural resources in a any given country belong to the entire Muslim Ummah, i.e. global Islam. """

lolzzzz

What Pakistan needs to do is to capture Saudi Arab as their oil is after all for all Muslim Ummah, isn't it ???

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 12:23 #
  14. خود بدلتے نہیں ہیں قرآن کو بدل دیتے ہیں
    ھوے کس درجہ بے توفیق فیقہان انحرام

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 12:25 #
  15. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Psycho: Again, what do you mean ?

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 12:26 #
  16. brother Haris Khan

what does it mean, what do u think

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 12:32 #
  17. I think Psycho means Politicians are not changing themselves but they are changing constitution. Am I right?

But dear don't be so pessimist try to look at the positive side of the picture.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 12:39 #
  18. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Psycho: I'm not interested in guessing games on this subject.

We need to be constructive, not speculative.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 13:22 #
  19. Red, above, don't be silly. The resurgence of the Ummah, if and when it comes about, will not be through the force of arms.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 13:35 #
  20. LalBichoo

Mirza Ghalib,

Dil kay Behlanay ko Ghalib yeh Khayal acha hay !!!

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 13:37 #
  21. True, Red, true. How beautifully our golden poet said that. Nonetheless, I believe in the return of a strong and just Ummah with every fibre in body, every throb in my conscience. You don't have to follow me down that path. Hope the way you choose to go leads you to fulfilment as well.

Lazim hai ke hum bhi dehkenge
    Hum dehkenge

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 14:08 #
  22. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Mirza Ghalib: Brother, you don't need to appease those who talk against the interest of people of this nation.

Let him pout :D

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 14:23 #
  23. LalBichoo

Mirza Ghalib,

"""Lazim hai ke hum bhi dehkenge
    Hum dehkenge """

I'm sure for Umees like yourself Faiz Sb was a drunkard communist Kafirs, wasn't he ? :)))

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 14:25 #
  24. Look, Red, to pout is no word of insult. Really not. As for the stunning poet Faiz, he was also a Hafiz-e-Quran, wasn't he?

When need arises, one picks a fruit, eats it and draws strength from the flesh and juice of that fruit. One cannot reject any fruit because it hangs from a bush full of thorns. Similarly, one doesn't refuse to go to see a doctor when it's a question of life and death simpöy because he holds views one doesn't happen to share

HK - Sorry. We agree on much. But I don't think aggressiveness is the right way to go to solve differences in opinion. After all, what crime has Red committed, what crime have we? We simply think differently about matters political and, eventually, religious. No hanging matter, in my eyes.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 14:48 #
  25. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Mirza Ghalib: There's a big difference in him and us. He;

(1) supports crimes
    (2) supports criminals
    (3) supports wrong-doing
    (4) supports bypassing, sidelining, abandoning laws, rules, principles
    (5) proposes that which is against common sense
    (6) proposes that which is against the interest of millions of people of this nation
    (7) doesn't adhere to any code of conduct
    (8) doesn't adhere to any laws
    (9) etc etc

We do not.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 14:52 #
  26. @lalBichoo
    I agree here with Mirza Ghalib. 18th Ammendment passed is the issue you should focus on.

@Hariskhan
    Tackle an issue with words without being aggressive to others.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 15:00 #
  27. LalBichoo

semirza,

"""@lalBichoo
    I agree here with Mirza Ghalib. 18th Ammendment passed is the issue you should focus on."""

I'm sure you know what are you doing !
    Keep doing this good work, but you need to think sometimes if this is how a forum should be moderated ??

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 15:05 #
  28. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Have the details on 18th Amendment been published in public domain, yet ?

If yes, does someone have a link to it ?

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 15:10 #
  29. @HK

it's simple, but u can't understand this, i wonder

خدا نے آج تک اس قوم کی حالت نہ بدلی
    نہ ہو جس کو اپ اپنی حالت کا بدلنے کا

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 17:23 #
  30. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Psycho: I am here. You are here. Others are here.

We! want to change our predicament. Don't you ?

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 17:57 #
  31. @HK

کبھي دريا سے مثل موج ابھر کر

کبھي دريا کے سينے ميں اتر کر

کبھي دريا کے ساحل سے گزر کر
    مقام اپني خودي کا فاش تر کر

No one brother we are warrior of discussion, not warriors of character. Still some time left to change ourselves

گفتار کا غازی تو بن گیا کردار کا غازی بن نہ سکا
    من اپنا پرانا پاپی ہے برسوں میں نمازی بن نہ سکا

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 18:30 #
  32. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

JI News: A meaningful change can’t be struck without eliminating the fountain heads of oppression

02-April-2010
    Detail: LAHORE, Apr. 2: JI chief said that the 18th constitutional amendment would be of no use if the problems of the masses were not solved.

The country remained under the grip of the IMF and the US continued to dictate the rulers. “If the people in the President house and the Governor and Chief Minister Houses keep on extracting money from the pockets of the common man through novel means, the rights of the youth are denied and their future is put at stake, extremism is bound to increase”, he said, while addressing the Friday congregation at Mansoora mosque.

A meaningful change can’t be struck without eliminating the fountain heads of oppression, he added.

Munawar Hasan noted that it was during the PPP government that the 1973 constitution was passed unanimously. However, soon afterwards, emergency was enforced and the constitution was suspended. Subsequently, various amendments were adopted by the government unilaterally that were never endorsed by the political circles or the masses.

He said the real test of the ruling party lay in implementation of the amendment package. He said true democracy calls for elimination of the role of the armed forces and the agencies in politics.

The military high ups should be asked not to meet the Americans, and the Americans also be told to settle issues with the political government instead of running to the armed forces.

The JI chief stressed that all the institutions should function within the constitution and the law. If the Supreme Court 17- member judgment delivered in December last year was not implemented even in April, 2010, it would amount to negation of democracy and law, he said. He said as long as corruption and falsehood prevail, justice could not be enforced. He deplored that the Law Minister was proving a hurdle in the enforcement of the law and the revival of Swiss cases. Referring to the JI’s move for Reverting to Allah, he said, this move was aimed at bringing the masses back on the path of Allah and shaking the hold of the elements which openly revolt against the divine guidance.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------

This is what Munawwar Hassan said in his Khutba-e-Juma dated Friday, 02-April-2010.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 19:51 #
  33. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

JI News (Urdu version):

Detail of this news at: http://www.jamaat.org/new/urdu/news_detail/799

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 19:54 #
  34. Nothing to be faulted in this JI head speech. On the contrary, it can be regarded as a perfect summing up of where things stand politically today. Words galore and little or no implementation.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 20:36 #
  35. skunkk

Who cares what the Terrorist Munawar Hasan thinks about it?

Anyway I think its good that if things are passed as proposed, Punjab would finally be relieved off the constant blame and the onus of the welfare of people would be transferred from Center to Provinces.

@ khalid: you asked about mineral wealth, any proceeds will be distributed 50:50 between the province and center, the resources and resources would be under provinces or council of common interest

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 20:53 #
  36. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

What we need is to choose good people, honest people, just people, brave people, people who believe in self reliance, in unity, in unity of Muslim UMMAH, to govern over us.

As soon as this happens, ALL injustice and ALL wrong-doing, all of this going around the law of the land will INSHALLAH cease to exist. We shall have then have justice, peace. We shall then be able to move towards prosperity (INSHALLAH).

We cannot afford;

(1) sidelining our constitution i.e., loyalty to ALLAH ALMIGHTY, Islam
    (2) sidelining Islami Nizam
    (3) abandoning law of the land
    (4) sidelining/abandoning rule of law

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 21:03 #
  37. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

An important program to see with respect to 18th Amendment -> Mere Mutabiq dated 03-April-2010.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 21:36 #
  38. achtung

jee haan, dianatdar logo ki tamam siyasi partion mei shadeed kami hy laikin baqi tamam cheezain pakistan kay dastoor mei ya to mojood hein ya lai ja rahi hei.

jab awam dianatdar logo ko muntakhib karma shuru kar dein gey to tamam masai hal ho jaeen gey. magar iss kay liye waqt darker hy.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 21:50 #