2009 NOBEL peace prize

(37 posts)
  1. and the winner this year is.......

BARACK OBAMA!!

WHAT?!?!?!??!?

Perhaps he is noble, but he has yet to achieve anything concrete.......... also, what about Afghanistan/Iraq? Are these wars not in existence still?!?!?

Ummm, the mind bogels.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 10:18 #
  2. NNL

bloody hell i thought this was for Zardari damn he lost the bid didnt he.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 10:24 #
  3. msohail83

hmmmm

Too early 4 that..

If he decides to pull out of Afghanistan like Iraq then he's a worthy candidate but that's unlikely to happen

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 13:11 #
  4. shahzad1924

Iraq's pullout is just an eyewash. American troops are still there in the name of trainers for the Iraq security forces, ready to be deployed back on a single command. and anyway, the government in Iraq is American.

the nobel peace prize is just a drama!

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 13:15 #
  5. msohail83

O paee jan govt to hamari bhi amreekan hai. aur embassy bhi Iraq ke barabar honay wali hai.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 13:18 #
  6. Red-Scorpion

I think Mullah Omar and Osama deserve this prize more than anyone else :)))

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 13:47 #
  7. zjshami

I agree to Oreil, that it is too early for Barack Obama to qualify for such Award.
    No doubt, there are lot of positive expectation attached to his vision and personality and he is doing much better than the predecessors but this decision looks premature.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 14:05 #
  8. gv

this is a joke - typical of modern society... prizes for looking good and achieving b****er all

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 14:27 #
  9. shriq

A persian saying,
    Man tura haji bagoyam to mera haji bago.

Anyhow, president of America is a very important post to hold with too much powers in the hands. I heard from my Pakistan Studies professor in college that whatever American president says become the order to be followed. (Correct me or rather that professor if he is wrong). If his policies indicate that he is taking initiative to reduced the neuclear arsenal then HE DESERVES IT. I dont love America. But this is true my dears that the person at this post (USA president) can make BIG differences with his policies.

BUT, only in coming years we would be able to know if USA president in 2009 really tried to/succeeded in reducing the neuclear arms in the world.

My opinion, you have the right to disagree.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 15:35 #
  10. shriq

Or in the same period he developed something more lethal more devastating for the world.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 15:43 #
  11. amin1924

He got nobel prize due to his display of extra ordinary patience during Gaza massacre -he passed the test and received the prize!

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 15:45 #
  12. Merged from:
    http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/obama-get-noble-prize-on-peace

mnoman
    Dosto! ye dekho dunya mai kya **** raha hai, jo aadmi dunya ke sab se badmash mulk ka president hai us ko noble prize diya ja raha hai aur wo bhi peace ka.
    Wo aadmi jo Pakistan par aaye din dronz ke zariye hamle karwata hai us ko noble prize.

Ahmad
    AAj ka Mahawara.
    "100 piaz bhee khao aur 100 jutay bhee khao".

Any remarkable achivment of this dogalay amreeki ki?

expakistani
    he himself in shocked.... first time any got noble prize for showing dream and achieving little

Dont take me wrong but mostly librals and dems have same opinion about Nobel prize

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Oct 2009 15:41 #
  13. Migel9

It was a slap on MULLAH BUSH AND GANG OF ZIONIST DEPUTIES for eight years of crimes against humanity. By the committee.Him being a first **** president in american history, plus the europeans are telling to stop him
    Christian crusades to steal muslim resources.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Oct 2009 18:29 #
  14. Revivalist

If a mass murderer "Ariel Sharon" could win it why not Barak Obama, as he is following his footsteps, isn’t he???

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 9:16 #
  15. sasherwani

Obama winning the Nobel Peace Prize sounds like a hasty decision. US is still engaged in two illegal wars plus numerous illegal occupations. 8 months into the job, Obama getting the prize sounds like a joke.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 9:28 #
  16. zia m

Obama's popularity in Israel is around 4%.He must be doing something right.
    It is ironic the guy is most hated by Zionists Christians,orthodox Jews and radical Muslims.
    This award is not based on achievement but on inspirational message.It is a call for action.
    I don't see anything outrageous about it.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 11:01 #
  17. Revivalist

zi m,

"inspirational message"??? "He must be doing something right" you yourself are not aware what exactly he has been doing????

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 11:53 #
  18. zia m

Obama is much better than any other President of USA.
    I'm well aware of his inspirational message.
    Give the guy a chance or must we condemn because he is American.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 12:04 #
  19. call to action‏
    Sent: Fri 10/09/09 9:39 PM
    To: Javed Sheikh@hotmail.com)

Javed Sheikh--

This morning, Michelle and I awoke to some surprising and humbling news. At 6 a.m., we received word that I'd been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for 2009.

To be honest, I do not feel that I deserve to be in the company of so many of the transformative figures who've been honored by this prize -- men and women who've inspired me and inspired the entire world through their courageous pursuit of peace.

But I also know that throughout history the Nobel Peace Prize has not just been used to honor specific achievement; it's also been used as a means to give momentum to a set of causes.

That is why I've said that I will accept this award as a call to action, a call for all nations and all peoples to confront the common challenges of the 21st century. These challenges won't all be met during my presidency, or even my lifetime. But I know these challenges can be met so long as it's recognized that they will not be met by one person or one nation alone.

This award -- and the call to action that comes with it -- does not belong simply to me or my administration; it belongs to all people around the world who have fought for justice and for peace. And most of all, it belongs to you, the men and women of America, who have dared to hope and have worked so hard to make our world a little better.

So today we humbly recommit to the important work that we've begun together. I'm grateful that you've stood with me thus far, and I'm honored to continue our vital work in the years to come.

Thank you,

President Barack Obama

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 12:04 #
  20. amin1924

lolzz..

What is the authenticity of above claim?

Or it is one of those e-mails that he sends to the list gathered during election campaign?

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 12:11 #
  21. NNL

Man you beat me to it

I had got the same message and the earlier one too where he was contemplating on whether he wants to accept it or not but i guess Rahm got the better of him.

i thought this was a personal nature of conversation therefore didnt feel the need to impress upon everyone.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 12:13 #
  22. amin1924

NNL,

You are right, this is an e-mail sent to campaign mail-list, also posted on obama's website.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 12:26 #
  23. After reading a few of the reactions:
    1. I understand this thread is to discuss an issue related to Award of Nobel Peace Prize.
    2. This letter reflects something about what and how Mr. Obama reacted and felt about this prize.
    3. It is totally irrelevant to whom this letter has been addressed, (might be to the millions of American Citizens) but what Mr. Obama has written, matters.
    4. Better the members should examine the text and spirit of the letter and not Javed Sheikh, who is nothing but a 72 years old retired ordinary citizen.
    5. This letter was posted to present Mr. Obama's point of view.
    6. Please rest assure, I appear at the forum to share and exchange my experiences and not for the purpose of promotion.
    7. But I wish good luck for the progress of fresh talent to learn from each other under the capable guidance of good and balanced Moderators.
    I wish the members keep a positive attitude, what Pakistan needs most.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 12:48 #
  24. amin1924

There is something about moderator that keeps on coming from you guys, each of 'you' has same idea and tries for same thing -either act as one or asks one to act per your idea.

You don't have to be a moderator to express your ideas and don't have to paste e-mail header to tell what obama is saying. You could have explained your above message in your e-mail before getting exposed.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 12:56 #
  25. Revivalist

I wonder what are the parameters of selecting a person for this, I hope its not 'killing innocent human beings' as both Ariel Sharon and now Barak Obama are famous for!!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 13:58 #
  26. shriq

Yesterday an old beaurocrat was saying on MERE MUTABIQ that it is to put pressure on Obama to continue some of his policies as neuclear arms reduction so that he should not abort it without its logical end.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 14:48 #
  27. NNL

Something is fishy cos one doth protest much.

Hmmmm.. ...

I wonder what that might be .......

Anyways Obama is the brand and is being marketed.

So far Domestically he has been scoring zero and in terms of War Policies i doubt he will stop them shift the name and call it something else.

If you all havent noticed they are still in Germany, Japan, Korea, Vietnam. Kuwait KSA they dont tend to leave places once they enter for good.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 15:22 #
  28. I am not sure how to react! Nobel Peace prize for Obama ? Isn't he the President/commander in chief of US Army who is STILL fighting war in Iraq and Afghanistan? Or is he going to be under pressure finally to take an active part in Middle Eastern whacky peace treaty policies? Nevertheless I am sure he is as surprised as the rest of us :-)

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 16:00 #
  29. NNL

Khan Sahib.

Dada app kidhar hotay hain

Yaar Forum per app hi ki kami mehsoos hoti hai.

yaar regular raha karain.

Please

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 16:03 #
  30. I will try bhai sahib, but just been busy these days..but i do read the threads almost on a regular basis.. Will try Inshallah!

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 16:10 #
  31. expakistani

@Khan Sahib
    welcome back bahai...

btw Obama himself was not sure how to react on this news....

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 16:41 #
  32. shriq

War in Afganistan is a war against terrorism that this peace loving nation America is fighting. The dont have other designs.

Do they have???

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 16:59 #
  33. Shukreeya jannab...
    Gud to see some old friends ...
    I hope it was obama not osama! LOL

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 16:59 #
  34. Anwer Kamal

welcome back Khan Sahib.
    Find Mulla also

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Oct 2009 2:19 #
  35. Thanks Anwer..
    I have no idea about Mulla's whereabouts.. I hope he is well and return soon. I am Pleased to see JS and Shikra etc..

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Oct 2009 20:46 #
  36. Revivalist

Obama took office just two week before the 1 February deadline for nomination, which remains a mystery and seems that the decision was already made to award his this prize!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Oct 2009 6:19 #
  37. Nobel peace prize to Obama ...
    just need one correction in the spelling ...
    its Nobel PIECE prize .
    on successfully piecing the peace of the world by following Bush administration foot prints .

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Oct 2009 10:53 #