410 Million living below poverty line

(18 posts)
  1. 410 Million Indians living below poverty line
    Monday, 19 Apr, 2010

NEW DELHI, April 18: India now has 100 million more people living below the poverty line than in 2004, according to official estimates released on Sunday.

The poverty rate has risen to 37.2 per cent of the population from 27.5 per cent in 2004, a change that will require the Congress-ruled government to spend more money on the poor.

The new estimate comes weeks after Sonia Gandhi, head of the Congress party, asked the government to revise a Food Security Bill to include more women, children and destitutes.

“The Planning Commission has accepted the report on poverty figures,” Abhijit Sen, a member of the Planning Commission said, referring to the new poverty estimate report submitted by a government panel last December.

India now has 410 million people living below the UN estimated poverty line of $1.25 a day, 100 million more than was estimated earlier, officials said.

India calculates how much of its population is living below the poverty line by checking whether families can afford one square meal a day that meets minimum nutrition needs.

A third of the world’s poor are believed to be in India, living on less than $2 per day, worse than in many parts of sub-Saharan Africa, experts say.

The Indian government spends only 1 per cent of its Gross Domestic Product (GDP) on healthcare facilities, forcing millions to struggle to get medicines, Oxfam and 62 other agencies said in a report called: “Your Money or Your Life” last year.

While India’s economy is slowly recovering from a global recession with a GDP growth of 7.2 per cent, millions of poor in rural India are finding it difficult to cope with around 17 per cent food price inflation.—

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/international/410-million-indians-living-below-poverty-line-940

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Apr 2010 6:16 #
  2. Hussain Farooqui

They Indians are spending their resources on the development projects, therefore, their public lives in poverty. Their spending on development projects is based on such great wisdom that now India stands as the 12th biggest economy of the world, whereas we stand as the 48th one. Despite being such a large country, their spending on the educational system has enabled them to achieve 65% literacy rate. Our rate of literacy is hardly 25%.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Apr 2010 6:31 #
  3. singh isking

Right To Education
    On 1st April 2010, India joined a group of few countries in the world, with a historic law making education a fundamental right of every child coming into force. Making elementary education an entitlement for children in the 6-14 age group, the Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education Act, 2009 will directly benefit children who do not go to school at present.

In an unprecedented move, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh announced the operationalisation of the Act. For the first time, education will become a constitutional right. It is a tryst with destiny in the area of education. Children, who had either dropped out of schools or never been to any educational institution, will get elementary education as it will be binding on the part of the local and State governments to ensure that all children in the 6-14 age group get schooling. As per the Act, private educational institutions should reserve 25 per cent seats for children from the weaker sections of society. The Centre and the States have agreed to share the financial burden in the ratio of 55:45, while the Finance Commission has given Rs. 25,000 crore to the States for implementing the Act. The Centre has approved an outlay of Rs.15,000 crore for 2010-2011.

The school management committee or the local authority will identify the drop-outs or out-of-school children aged above six and admit them in classes appropriate to their age after giving special training.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Apr 2010 6:47 #
  4. singh isking

ghalib sahib
    despite the darkness and cloudeness of poverty,we indians as a society and country see light at the end of tunnel

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Apr 2010 6:55 #
  5. Hussain Farooqui

The Indians had wise and sincere rulers like Nehru and Indira; who ruled India for more than 30 years collectively. The results of their good governence are evident. The performance of the India has been very good. However, the peformance of the Chinese has been better even than that of India. The Chinese leadership sacrificed a lot for the nation. Today, China stands as the 4th largest economy of the world.

Our country lacks only a good leadership, otherwise we have a great potential to grow up as a developed nation.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Apr 2010 7:07 #
  6. singh isking - And do you think, we in Pakistan don't, see the light at the end of the tunnel, I mean? We see it so brightly, it is almost blinding. But, in spite of our many huge mistakes, India's mistakes are no less egregious, and many times worse because so many more people are involved than ever in our smaller country.

HF sahib, when it's not the West we are worshipping, then we are plunged into India worship. What is wrong with us Pakistanis, I wonder. Why must the grass always be greener on the other side? We see glaring injustice on the part of our neighbour and promptly jump to her defence. The Nehru- Ghandi ruling family were no better than any of ours. They did a lot for the middle-classes, but then so did Pakistan. the poorest of the poor were always left to fend for themselves, whether here or in the other two parts of the Subcontinent beside ourselves. Also, forgive me, but the figures you state are wrong. China is the world's number one power on all fronts. It has no in-built system of negligence or even hatred of the lowest of the low.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Apr 2010 7:31 #
  7. LalBichoo

MG Bhai,

Workers of the world unite !!!

Surkh hay Surkh hay
    Asia Surkh hay !!!

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Apr 2010 8:01 #
  8. Yup, Scorpio, that's also so. But what you and others don't seem to have realised yet is the reddest of religions is Islam. Also God is definitely red. But you'll get there yet. Have a good day. See you later.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Apr 2010 8:09 #
  9. achtung

hamein iss baat ka pata aur fikir honi chahiye keh Pakistan mein kitney million aur kion ‘below the poverty line’ zindagi guzar rahey hein aur unnka mustaqbil kiya hy. doosroon kee poverty aur kamzorian aashkara karney sey hamarey haalat behtar nahee ho jaeen gay.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Apr 2010 8:48 #
  10. Hussain Farooqui

Mirza Ghalib,
    True that we need not be dejected depite all what happened in the past 63 years. What is anticipated is that all the politicians will be thrown into hell fire by the public masses and then a drastic revolution will follow the event. The general public is now at the verge of losing patience. Now a little time is left for politicians to reform their conduct and actions. Pakistan Zindabad!

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Apr 2010 10:02 #
  11. Right achtung, no comparison was meant. Simply a timely reminder. Things can't go on like this forever. HF gives us the second part of the answer.

Yes, HF, the anticipation you mention is no doubt the correct one. But let us arm ourselves with a bit of patience. I doubt the masses will move before the departure of the West from our lands. It's probably unnecessary to say this, but, well, the masses are very much more concerned about our country than we are ourselves and they have a better instinct about when to act. And we, I hope, act with them when the time comes. Indeed, Pakistan Zindabad!

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Apr 2010 10:50 #
  12. shriq

Indians would come out of this once as their economy is growing.

"now India stands as the 12th biggest economy of the world, whereas we stand as the 48th one"

Hassan bhai!!! Reference Please!!! There are more than 200 countries in the world! We are at 48!!!! Not bad at all!! Itni loot khasoot ke baad bhi??

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Apr 2010 15:13 #
  13. LiberalKarachi

@shriq,

"Hassan bhai!!! Reference Please!!! There are more than 200 countries in the world! We are at 48!!!! Not bad at all!! Itni loot khasoot ke baad bhi??"

he is quoting the GDP of India and Pakistan, if we go by that then yes India is at number 11 and Pak is at 45. But GDP calculation is proportional to the population of a country. India is the second largest country in the world and we are 6th. If we calculate the GDP per capita (GDP calculation not taking population into account), it comes to around $1000 - both India's and Pakistan's, which ranks very low in the world ranking. An example is: GDP of India, and therefore "largeness of the India's economy", is higher than Singapore, Hong Kong, Norway etc. but GDP per capita, and therefore "richness" of the people of those countries, is much higher. hope it made sense.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Apr 2010 21:51 #
  14. no worries .
    our leaders are the richest amongts the rcihset of the world ...

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 6:22 #
  15. Hussain Farooqui

LibralKarachi Sb.

Presentation of facts and figures by you is correct indeed. There are many small states like Qatar,Kuwait,Brunei, etc. which have very high per capita income, but their economies are just like peanuts in comparison to India. The standard of living is still poor in India because of their spendings on development projects. Their forthcoming generation will enjoy high standards of living.

Our country is a very potential country, but its potential has crippled by heavy corruption of politicians and army generals.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 6:50 #
  16. HF, just a small matter of perspective. India is so blind that to earn a few rupees more they are promoting that horror of a thing called genetically modified (GM) seeds on the largest of scales, just to remain on cosy terms with their USan cronies.

Are your really sure there will be any forthcoming generation of Indians to enjoy the high standard of living which you see in their future? I fear I see no future for India down the GM path. I can only hope and pray Pakistan will not follow suit here.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 8:37 #
  17. Hussain Farooqui

MG SB.
    True that despite its tremendous progress in different fields, India is not any role model. The countries that can be considred as role models are China and Malaysia.

The first thing Tinku Abdur Rehman (National Hero of Malaysia) did was to change the British colonial system of civil service and police. His great planning in most of the affairs of the country made Malaysia a role model for other Muslim countries.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 8:52 #
  18. HF - Bang, we're of one mind wholly. China and Malaysia, the latter one of our own even, showing us it can be done. But they were lucky. They had two heroic persons, Tinku Abdur Rehman and then Dr Mahatir Mohammad, a man of vision and sincerity. We lost ours shortly after this nation came into being. But I still remember our civil service then was made up of people of probity. Today, alas... But never mind. Awareness is the first step, change, the next and transformation, the final, God being with us every step of the way.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 9:35 #