PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

660 Chinese workers embrace Islam in KSA

(64 posts)
  1. msohail83

MAKKAH: Six hundred and sixty Chinese nationals working on the Haramain train construction project have embraced Islam in a ceremony in Makkah.

Abdul Aziz Al-Khudhairi, Makkah Governorate Undersecretary, who witnessed the declaration of the shahada described the event as a “direct response to critics of the government for contracting Chinese company.”

“We received hundreds of letters opposing the signing of a contract with the Chinese company and demanding that Muslims be contracted,” Al-Khudhairi said. “Six hundred and sixty of them have now embraced Islam.

Now those who were calling for them to be dismissed are happy at their embracing Islam.

The numbers will also go up, as this is only the beginning, and represents around ten percent of the 5,000 working on the Haramain train.”

Al-Khudhairi demanded that “our conduct reflect the teachings of our religion and our words should match our deeds to have an effect on people”. “We must also respect human rights,” he added.

Meanwhile, as many as 2,722 people have embraced Islam at the Cooperative Office for Call, Guidance and Awareness of Communities in Al-Taif Governorate.

The Office’s Director General Sheikh Mohammed Bin Ibrahim Al-Sawat pointed out that the office has also distributed during that period 1,247,694 copies of the Holy Qur’an, religious books and pamphlets as well as 225, 901 religious cassettes.

http://geo.tv/9-10-2009/48999.htm

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 18:33 #
  2. rafi

Good news, now please investigate what financial incentive (direct or indirect) they got from embracing Islam.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 18:44 #
  3. they probably realized that the way the sheiks live is the way to live ......:)

or maybe they realized that the contract is connected with the religion ?

or maybe they were crypto-muslims and living as Buddhists under Chinese rule and re-verted to islam...

and most probable is that Allah gave them hidayat!

wallahu Alam!

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 19:02 #
  4. And what if it is really the other way around! God knows better is what I will add, but overall it is good news.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 19:21 #
  5. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

MASHALLAH. ALLAH ALMIGHTY has removed 660 people from the list of OUR!!! 'irresponsibility' on day of Judgment.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 19:23 #
  6. zjshami

Jazak Allah. Very encouraging news.
    Would they be blessed with the Citizenship of Saudi Arabia?
    How about their families, wives and children?

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 19:25 #
  7. Possible. They happen to be in Saudi Arabia so it will be a goodwill gesture same like the benefits offered in Christian dominated countries. Whats the harm in it?

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 19:27 #
  8. shriq

the list of OUR!!! 'irresponsibility'

What a concept! I liked that!

Regarding the current topic on hand, the statement of Mr. Al-Khudairi is indicating something (not-so-right) was done to silence the critics of this contract! When I was in Saudia, I heard about this contract and was surprised as only Muslims are supposed to enter Haramain Shrifain (Sacred cities of Makkah and Madinah). So Allah knows what the authority who awarded this contract was thinking! Now it seems that it is some financial incentive which has caused this mass acceptance of Islam.

On the other hand, if it is really the brilliant Islamic teachings and way of life that has attracted them, then it is a great news.

But lets not doubt it. Let us take as it seems to be on surface and be happy. May Allah give these Chinese friends, real "HIDAYA".

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 19:46 #
  9. netengr

We sszhould not doubt about others intentions but This is the fact that chines company was having problem with their project inside the Makkah area because of insufficient Muslim workers ,only Muslim can enter in Hudood-e-haram (Makkah ) .

Allah karay saray chiniyon nay dil say islam qubol kiya ho .

Allah un sab ko naik amaal kernay ki toufeeq day

Ameen

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 19:55 #
  10. i hope these chinese read our history and then take over mecca! and medina!

when they will match the history with the current life style of the arabs, the chinese will be upset! and this will make them react ....

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 19:56 #
  11. zjshami

I wish whole of China embraces Islam and take over the leadership (Khilafat).
    Muslims economically and industrially would dominate and lead the World.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 20:05 #
  12. lets see what these 660 Chinese do first...then we can hope for the rest to wake up!

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 20:09 #
  13. Quote" and most probable is that Allah gave them hidayat"

Mulla........... Bohoat dinoo baad koyee sahee baat kee hay tum nay! Lagta hay aaj kul bhabhi nay Baddam khilanna bund kur deya hay!

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 20:15 #
  14. Quote by zjshami

Jazak Allah. Very encouraging news.
    Would they be blessed with the Citizenship of Saudi Arabia?
    How about their families, wives and children?

I failed to see the link of embraceing Islam and citizenship????? Will USA/UK give citizenship to all the converts to Christianity????

Some time people forget to talk sense in their hatred towards certain things, like people, religion or culture.

Hope you have the courage to Scrutinize your thoughts!

Have a nice eve...

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 20:23 #
  15. expakistani

Mashallah good news,

Jab summer main rozey rakhney pareen gey to lag pata jaey ga.....

Assan nhi hey moslman hona !!!!

wesey en ko bata do ke chohey ( Rat ) or Kutey ( dog) haram hain hamarey han.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 21:34 #
  16. zjshami

Conversion to Christianity is not a news.
    Coming to Islam is a very big event and should be celebrated with some gift and prize to encourage more non-Muslims to join Islam.
    (I am glad you picked up the point.)

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 21:54 #
  17. No wonder that Islam as a deen is the world's fastest growing. Converts to Islam do not change faith for gifts and rewards but on the contrary, as I have myself witnessed such simple ceremonies while living in this part of the world. This is not just one but many of the similar events that happen in Saudi Arabia alone. I prey to Allah (ST) to keep them safe and away from the 'sher' of hypocrates (munafiqeen) that happen to creep around ready to pounce at them with intent to lure them away from their newly acquired faith by creating doubts in their beliefs. Truly such enemies of Muslims have been mentioned and exposed in ‘Surat Annas’.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 22:25 #
  18. Aqlib

This boosts my ego by (0.66*20)=13.2%. We have 660 more members in our muslim organization. Thanks for sharing the news of new members.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 22:45 #
  19. I feel pity on you level of knowledge about Islam by calling it a 'muslim organization'. Hate reeks from your comment and calculation.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Sep 2009 23:27 #
  20. expakistani

@Aqlib
    Good one dude, I see a Khalifa in you....

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Sep 2009 1:30 #
  21. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Looks like my earlier statement/comment on this thread for deleted or hidden.

For reasons I can't fathom?

It was a harmless message, that shouldn't have violated any rules. Where did it go?

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Sep 2009 2:08 #
  22. Shirq
    '
    Regarding the current topic on hand, the statement of Mr. Al-Khudairi is indicating something (not-so-right) was done to silence the critics of this contract! When I was in Saudia, I heard about this contract and was surprised as only Muslims are supposed to enter Haramain Shrifain (Sacred cities of Makkah and Madinah). So Allah knows what the authority who awarded this contract was thinking! Now it seems that it is some financial incentive which has caused
    '

I don't think this an issue. Even previously , contracts have been awarded to other comapanies in harmeen sharifeen and they have hired muslim labour to execute these contracts.
    If i remember correctly , the architech of Saudi Expansion of Musjaid ul Haram was a non-muslim and he monitored and participated in the construction/execution of project thrgouh closed circut cameras.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Sep 2009 3:09 #
  23. rafi

Friends
    We have to read and understand every news impartially. Therefore, I would rephrase this news as follows:

660 Chinese National embraced Wahabi doctrine of Islam.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Sep 2009 3:25 #
  24. @Rafi
    This is the actual news:
    MAKKAH: Six hundred and sixty Chinese nationals working on the Haramain train construction project have embraced Islam in a ceremony in Makkah.
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    This is how you have twisted it:

660 Chinese National embraced Wahabi doctrine of Islam.

Are you trying to INCITE HATE against the wahabi sect. If it is so than be warned. The subject of 'hate' in any sense faces ZERO TOLLERANCE here.

Keep the code of conduct in mind before embarking on such 'repharasing' rhetorics.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Sep 2009 15:35 #
  25. rafi

Mr Mirza
    I did not mention anything about hate, I think this is your own assumption. Saudis follow Wahabi dctrine of Islam, nothing wrong with that it is their choice. Now, what do you call a Wahabi, off course I have to call a Wahabi by his identity i.e. Wahabi. There is nothing wrong to identify Barelvis, Daobani, Shia etc by their specific doctrine of Islam.
    The real problem is denial, Islam has been inteprested differently by different Fiqah. And this the reality, so it is your own choice to accept it or pretend that it doesn't exist. Is does exist my friend and I would encourage you to understand history of 14 centuries which is full of struggle inside Islam between different doctrines to gain prominance. I am not going into which doctrine is superior or inferior, the point is very simple i.e. these doctrines are reality.
    So in my opinion these chinese national who embraced islam were obviously got preached under the influence of Wahabi doctrine. And after reciting Shahada their tilt will be towards that particular thought process. So where did I preadhed hate in that post?

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Sep 2009 16:01 #
  26. msohail83

Rafi,

Discussion was about the coversion from one religion to another. I repeat RELIGION!!!!!!

Why did you feel the need to bring up what 'school of thought' they 'may' be following?? Was it necessary??

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Sep 2009 16:22 #
  27. shriq

I think all these (wahabis, brailvis, deobandis, shias) should be called Muslims.

Calling them such names, indicates inward hatred.Kindly avoid it.

This should not be practice qa least at a forum supposed to be of educated Muslims.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Sep 2009 16:29 #
  28. rafi

Ok guys, thank for valuable advices. I am going to hide my head in the sand (like shutarmug) and pretend that everything is hunky dory.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Sep 2009 16:42 #
  29. msohail83

shutarmurgh ka nahi pata magar abhi aap loomri zaroor ban rahay thay?

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Sep 2009 16:43 #
  30. rafi

I can't comment or judge your level of thinking unfortunately.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Sep 2009 16:46 #
  31. msohail83

'Level of thinking' is there for ALL to see!

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Sep 2009 16:46 #
  32. @all
    Do I have to remind you time and again that getting personal during discussion is uncalled for.
    @Rafi
    Read my message again in case you have missed it all together. No hate mongering and no name calling. Should be clear now.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Sep 2009 16:55 #
  33. rafi

Mriza Saheb
    No disrespect but please be fair enough. I think you should read post carefully, please go back and carefully read who used the name.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Sep 2009 17:02 #
  34. raheb

WHY we (you) want that everyone should be muslim? We have lot of difficulties to take care of hundreds of millions muslims already.

raheb

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Sep 2009 20:54 #
  35. shriq

It is our religious duty to give "dawa" to all. Ideally, I would love if every body in the world becomes Muslim.

It is Allah who is taking care of Muslims (or for that matter all human race and other creatures). And he does not have difficulty in taking care of all of his creatures.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Sep 2009 21:04 #
  36. rafi

1940 or 50s an Egyption scholar went to France. On his return he was asked, how do found them. His reply was.
    Though they won't calling themselve a Muslim but they had all the qualities of being Muslim.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Sep 2009 22:49 #
  37. sasherwani

Probably because they had some projects in Makkah and to enter Makkah they were asked to become Muslim for the project tenure.
    I'm not saying this because I consider Islam uninspiring, I am saying this because it is "impossible" to be inspired by muslims and their lifestyles in Saudi Arabia.

Please do some research and find out why they all converted :)

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Sep 2009 7:10 #
  38. Aqlib

sasherwani,

all I care is it makes me feel really good

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Sep 2009 7:31 #
  39. sasherwani

Ignorance is a bliss for some, but not for everyone..

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Sep 2009 8:01 #
  40. zingaro

sasherwani .. i tell you some thing .. When i was in UAE, i heard in my own company about conversion of a Hindu towards Islam. He was a laborer who just got inspired by the other colleagues' routine at meal time. I said routine at meal time and i did not say translation of Quran or any thing. He said that i used to see these muslim fellows fighting with each other, etc, but when it comes to meal they all sit together, they share their food, they can drink in each other's tumbler and thought what thing makes them so unite that they forget all their conflicts. This just ignited an urge in him to learn more about it and he discovered that it is Islam that creates brortherhood amongst them. He learned more about Islam and converted.

My dear it is everyone's own thinking approach and in fact Hidayat from Allah that if someone embraces Islam. We should not try to create points and objections as why they became Muslim but should take a lesson that someone studied about our religion and we don't.

@ Rafi .. you have really tried to create hate in the forum by saying conversion to Wahabi doctrine. It means if someone recites shahada with some deobandi, brailvi, preacher then it should be said that a non muslim became Deobandi, brailvi or wahabi.
    Secondly, what i have studied is that Saudis don't follow Wahabi school of thought. They are followers of Imam Ahmed bin Hanbal (RA). If you want we can have a separate thread for discussions on Fiqah.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Sep 2009 11:25 #
  41. amin1924

zingaro

well said, thanks.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Sep 2009 11:39 #
  42. sasherwani

@ Zingaro,

1 hindu laborer embracing Islam vs. 660 Chinese becoming Mulsims.. a bit too far fetched to be used as an example.. I dont think such a coincidence is possible that too at a place like Saudi Arabia...a place which rarely inspires anyone (baring Makkah Madinah).. You should know that KSA is nothing like the UAE..

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Sep 2009 14:18 #
  43. Aqlib

zingaro, I personally would be discouraged by that routine. I like to eat from my own plate

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Sep 2009 14:20 #
  44. zjshami

A few days back I was reading a book about the "Fall and Rise of Islam" by an American Professor. ( I missed his name).
    The book concludes that most of the social, economic and political concepts and theories very rarely make a come back.
    Theories like Italian Fascism, Germany's Nazism, Monarchy, Russian Communism, once rejected and failed have very week chances to re-emerge, with the exception of two,
    Democracy and
    Islam.
    Democracy failed during the Greek Period but re-emerged and has become the most wanted form of Government.
    Same is true about Islam, which is still alive and attractive and has potentials to re-emerge.
    I take Islam as a Super Complex where most of the human beings want to own a shop.
    Is that not possible to accept and own Sunnis, Shias, Wahabis, Devbandis, Brelvis, Ahmadis, Qadyanis, Chakralwis, Talibanis, Liberals as shareholders at the Complex?
    Is that not possible to let all of them run their business within the same Compound?
    Is that possible, to let the customers shop at the store of their choice?
    Is that not enough to celebrate and get contended that lot of customers are heading towards Islamic Plaza?
    Is that wise to force a customer to shop at the First Floor only where the Complex is Multi floored?

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Sep 2009 14:21 #
  45. Aqlib

zjshami, are you sure dude? As far as I know, Islam is one of the youngest religions. Also who was the your american professor? How can both democracy and Islam both make a come back. The khilafat people are against democracy and vice versa. How many ideologies did he say he studied and where did he draw lines between different ideologies?

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Sep 2009 14:42 #
  46. Aqlib

also communism is well and prospering in china and cuba and is making strong inroads in latin america.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Sep 2009 14:47 #
  47. rafi

zjshami
    A pragmatic and relistic point. When people say Islam is democratic, they are right in their sentence but they don't know how. And your example of super complex explained it, recognising some group by realtive different fiqah or doctrine is not hate but a sign of tolerance. Though broad based principle is same but practice is slightly different. Condition of 1.5 billion muslim will continue to decline if they refuse to accept and recognise the nature of multi ethnic and multi fiqah segmentation. Refusing to accept this reality is a state of denial, once we accept this reality then we will also learn to co-exist and respect each other. That point will be the beginning of democratic islam and progress of 1.5 billion people.
    Untill then my good friends in this forum will continue with the illusion that Islam has one interpretation and different schools of thought doesn't exist.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Sep 2009 14:55 #
  48. amin1924

zjshami/rafi

You see the idea behind your thinking is that it should be free will of the people that would decide what to do and what not to do.

But in Islam people are bound by ahkam -e- sharia that they believe in as Muslims and give up their whims & desires in favor of guidance given by Allah swt. So here is a fine line that needs to be understood that Muslims are slaves of Allah swt and spend their lives as worshiping in every matter!!

That is where value systems from both view point clash! One brings in materialist view point and other brings spiritual so is the body superior to soul?

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Sep 2009 15:03 #
  49. raheb

AGREED with Rafi sb. It is declared "non-muslims" of europe and US seems much nearar to islam and why not they are potentially good muslims, BUT "declared" muslims, around the world are Cheaters.

Shriq! there is NO such duty of our's to do more than to make ownself GOOD Muslims, and we are far away from this duty.

raheb

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Sep 2009 15:29 #
  50. Anonymous

You are Very Right, Raheb

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Sep 2009 16:03 #