8.9 Earthquake and Tsunami Has Hit Japan

(101 posts)
  1. A large earthquake hit northeastern Japan on March 11, 2011. The Japan earthquake measured 8.9 on the Richter scale and set off a tsunami. Witnesses stated that the Japan earthquake lasted several minutes.

The Japan earthquake hit 125 kilometres off the eastern coast and has set off a tsunami. Officials state that waves as high as 20 feet could hit the coast.

There are reports of tsunami waves hitting the Miyagi prefecture in Sendai area. Japan public broadcaster NHK Public aired Japan tsunami video that showed cars, houses and buildings being swept away by water.

The earthquake caused buildings in the Japanese capital of Tokyo to shake. Several fires have been reported in Tokyo and other parts of the country including a large oil refinery fire in Chiba Prefecture.

Continue reading at NowPublic.com: Japan Tsunami: Video, Photos of 8.9 Earthquake, March 11, 2011 | NowPublic News Coverage http://www.nowpublic.com/world/japan-tsunami-video-photos-8-9-earthquake-march-11-2011-2765769.html#ixzz1GHzb4zLY

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2011 11:24 #
  2. Guys and gals

Is this the signs of the coming great upheavels which has been predicted by many, just wondering

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2011 11:29 #
  3. Watch live BBC Video News on Japan Tsunami..

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/world/2011/03/110310_quake_live_rza.shtml

Sendai has a population of one million. Tsunami has hit the heavily populated area.
    http://www.maplandia.com/japan/tohoku/miyagi/sendai/

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2011 11:33 #

4. Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2011 14:58 #
  5. Last one looks like an airport that has been washed off!

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2011 14:59 #
  6. shriq

May Allah help us all human beings.

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2011 16:15 #
  7. bsobaid

God have mercy on Japense and other humans. Ameen

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2011 16:28 #
  8. Must watch this video seems like it is end of the world.

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2011 17:21 #
  9. bsobaid

Terrifying.

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2011 17:28 #
  10. d0ct0r

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2011 18:42 #
  11. SufiSoul

Ya ALLAH THOO MUSALAMANON K DUSHMAN AUR US K ALLIES KO APNI GHAIBI NIZAAM SE TABAH-O-BARBAD KER K RAKH DY.....AUR MUSALMANON KI MADAD APNY GHAIBI ANGEL'S FORCE SE IS TARAH KER, JIS TARAH THOO NY IBRAHIM ALAIHESSALAM KI AAG ME MADAD KI THI........
    AAMIN SUMMA AAMIN.

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2011 19:10 #
  12. d0ct0r

@Sufi

Some hawk in west must have been praying in similar tone when earth quake had struck us in Kashmir in 2005.

You think there were no musalman in Japan?Does natural calamity discriminate between muslims and non muslims?

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2011 19:53 #
  13. 2012 mein sirf aik saal baki hay.
    Na rahy ga bans na bajay gi bansuri. :)

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2011 19:56 #
  14. SufiSoul

doctor,

Tho kia aap Pakistaniyon ko musalamano k dushman ka ally nahi samjhthy.???????
    Agar nahi tho abhi se Pakistanoyon ko bhi islam k dushmanon me shumaar kerna shoroo ker do......manzar saaf ho jaye ga aap k zehan me....
    Every nation around muslims struggling for opression is on the way to destruction,in one type of destruction or another.....
    may be you argue that Pakistani individuals are innocent and not the decision makers...Let me tell you that SILENCE is the crime committed by the common people and as a result nature destroy them......

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Mar 2011 20:09 #
  15. SufiSoul

and may be you heard of a famous ZAHID who were not preventing people committing serious crimes and ALLAH SWT ordered his angels force to destroy that nation.one angel came back and ask ALLAH SwT that their is a pious person among them who is always in SAJDA..ALLAH SWT said that start destruction from the home of that pious person who is silent against what is going around......

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 1:52 #
  16. SufiSoul

Does natural calamity discriminate between muslims and non muslims?
    /////////////////////////////

this economic crises,katrina,pakistani flood,earthquicks,austrilian floods destructions etc..
    plz do your calculations from history the frequency of calamaties which all thes evil forces have faced since AFGHAN WAR and in previous history..
    if you dont have that NAZAR than you should calculate the numbers may be you find the correct approach and the hidden divine actions against opressors.....
    These evil forces are under attack from earth,sea and from sky.
    muslims no matter have that much power to fight.But if we think abt ALLAH SWT the same than this is great disaster for us muslims not to think in the way,nature is acting and we can never find the right way.and will just discuss it and look through it as natural calamaty only.....

NATURAL CALAMATY IS THE WEAPON USED BY ALLAH SWT AND IS NEVER MISTARGETED AND WITHOUT ANY REASON......

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 2:04 #
  17. liv_2_die

my heart goes out for all the people who suffered from this calamity .. May Allah have mercy on their souls and on all of us Ameen

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 2:36 #
  18. What if it's HAARP??

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 2:37 #
  19. zenith

@ dell

Yes if it is hurricane Katrina, it is azaab and when it is floods in Pakistan or where ever our dear mullahs want to divinely proclaim - it is HAARP.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 2:47 #
  20. osakaboy

AOA. This is my first comment here. I was a ghost in this forum but today Sufi sahib forced me to write something.
    I am Faheem from Lahore, reside in Osaka city since last 14 years.

Dear Sufi sb, is it necessary that we see things with the same eyes all the time? Do you think this way all the time? If yes, then what about the earthquakes in Pakistan? "Were those victims also Pakistan ke dushman?"

If you can't share their sorrow then why make it worse. Japan is my 2nd home now & i know peoples here. You can't find such honest, hardworking, loving & quality peoples on earth, Not in Pakistan or any other Muslim country (don't bring religion in this) or even in the world. Please be positive & realistic. Always pray for all. Plz don't get mad at me & bring fatwa coz i can't afford that. Thank you

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 3:03 #
  21. @Osakaboy

Don't worry about Sufi, he is hands down the most despicable member of this forum!!!

Stay safe and May Allah SWT have mercy on those who have suffered through this tragedy!!!

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 3:08 #
  22. @An advice to SufiSoul

Don't go to Japan ever or in areas which are earthquake prone. May God give you hidayat; no one needs hidayat more than you on this forum. Lota is after you who needs hidayat as well.

After San Francisco earhtquake probably in 1989, one of my Jamati cousins living in LA then was blaming on citizens of San Francisco for the earthquake especially to a tiny minority of Gays and lesbians living in the city.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 3:56 #
  23. shirazi

@ osakaboy

App ne bila wajah chup ka roza tora, sufi soul is just a character. He talks like this to get some attention and today he succeeded by forcing you to create an account and write words of wisdom for him. Trust me he is very smart, finished B COM from Punjab College of Commerce. He often shares the 'gayan' he got from college :)

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 4:34 #
  24. bsobaid

Osaka boy i hope you and your family are safe and i pray for japanese people in these difficult times.

Did anyone watch the skyscrapers swaying. It was amazing and unbelievable.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 4:52 #
  25. @osakaboy

Welcome to this forum!

This forum is full of weird people like SufiSoul and some others too who post moronic comments day in day out.

I wish safety to you and your family in this time of natural calamity and safety for all your fellow countrymen as well. My heart is sad and sympathy goes to the families of those who have lost their loved ones in this earthquake.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 5:06 #
  26. زمین کو جب بھی چاند کا قرب نصیب ہوا تو بڑی تباہی ہوئی۔ انیس مارچ کو چاند زمین کے قریب آجائے گا جسے سائنسدان'' سپرمون '' کہتے ہیں
    http://www.dailypak.com/index.php?pag=detail&id=22070
    Japanese nuclear reactor meltdown & super moon

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 5:46 #
  27. The biggest of disasters is on the way, The japanese authorities have declared a state of emergency after the employees of a nuclear power plant were having trouble maintaining the temperature of the reactor-core. It is now confirmed that the radioactive cesium has leaked and a meltdown may happen any minute resulting in a nuclear explosion.

This is very serious!!!

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 6:33 #
  28. @"This is very serious!!! "

Radioactive leakage will affect the whole world, especially America.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 6:51 #
  29. Huge blast at Japan nuclear power plant
    A massive explosion has struck a Japanese nuclear power plant after Friday's devastating earthquake.
    bbc video
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-pacific-12720219

BBc live coverage of Japan disaster
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-12307698

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 10:19 #
  30. Things are not looking good; any explosion inside the nuclear plant could cause havoc in the area.
    Keep fingers crossed!!

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 10:35 #
  31. shirazi

This is very bad. Yesterday they were struggling with cooling system after nuclear plant was shut down but this explosion may have made things far worse. Few in Japan are still coping with aftereffects of Hiroshima and Nagasaki attacks during 2nd world war even after 65 years and now another radio activity. Despite all technology it will be very difficult to limit the radio active damage. Side effect of nuclear energy.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 10:50 #
  32. Powers of Mother Nature shows simply how vulnerable we are before her.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 10:53 #
  33. shirazi

I just listened two videos posted above. The explosion means the worst case scenario that they were hoping not to happen has already happened.

Other comparable disasters ...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chernobyl_disaster

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Three_Mile_Island_accident

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 11:13 #
  34. shirazi

Initial reports, the radioactive core itself seems to be intact and explosion is in steam used by cooling system, even though steam has radioactive contamination but it's fas less damaging than the core itself. It's good news, let's hope news is true.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 11:17 #
  35. Keep fingers crossed and hope for better!!

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 11:35 #
  36. SufiSoul

my dear westren hidayat yafta bhayio,
    i dont know how to get hidayat like you which is only limited to just some words of sorrow and ha hoo.
    proving yourself champions of the whole world community is an old fashion among westerenised ones.But you cannot see japan as a pitto of opressors and huge fundings are comming from Japan and used against the people struggle of muslims.
    if you people think that every happenings with US and west economically and natural disastor related is by chance than i will call you to turn your eyes towards russian girls selling themselves around the world.
    i can see this repeating with the US and euorope's girls also.
    This is divine punishment beyond imagination...

@shirazi.
    pls update your record that i have a professional degree i-e ACCA as well.....

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 14:35 #
  37. You can't escape the water.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 17:33 #
  38. liv_2_die

its horribleeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 17:43 #
  39. d0ct0r

Japan's record in dealing with quakes and post quake relief effort is really good but their nuclear safety record is a mixed bag.. may Allah help them deal with this mess

A disconnect between statement and actions at Japanese nuclear plant - March 12, 2011

At the end of a long day in Japan, there is a striking disconnect between the official statements (at least in the English media) concerning the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear plant and the actions being taken by authorities and the plant's owners.

Chief Cabinet secretary Yukio Edano has been reported as saying that an explosion earlier today at the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear plant did not occur at the site of Unit 1, despite pretty compelling footage of something that looks like a reactor building exploding. Japan's nuclear safety authority is reported as saying that the reactor itself remains in tact. "There is no possibility that radioactive substances will have leaked," Edano added in a televised statement.

The Tokyo Electric Power Company (TEPCO), in a statement, reported "a big sound around the Unit 1 and white smoke" shortly after another quake shook the area. But the company would not confirm whether the reactor itself was involved, saying only that four workers have been taken to hospital.

Those sorts of low-key statements do not match with the actions of the government or the power company. Late this afternoon local time, authorities announced that they were enlarging the evacuation zone surrounding the plant to 20 kilometers in radius. The International Atomic Energy Agency also reports that the Japanese are readying iodine tablets for distribution to the public.

Radioactive iodine is one of the largest health threats from any nuclear accident. The iodine can easily escape in gases vented from the reactor and is readily absorbed by the human body, where it becomes concentrated in the thyroid. Iodine tablets flood the thyroid, effectively lessening the uptake of any radioactive isotopes floating around. In a separate statement, TEPCO reports increased levels of radioactive iodine at the Fukushima site.

Meanwhile, the explosion has apparently prompted TEPCO to try flooding Fukushima Unit 1 with seawater. Such a decision reinforces the urgency of the situation. Nuclear plants are normally cooled with ultra-pure water, as any contamination can become radioactive (as well as interfere with the reactor's processes). Flooding the reactor with ocean water will almost certainly ruin the unit permanently. As Walt Patterson, an independent nuclear consultant, put it to BBC News: "This reactor will now be a write-off."

There has also been speculation on BBC this afternoon that the explosion was triggered by hydrogen gas from the reactor core. The gas would be created as water decomposes in the intense heat of the core, and, if that is what triggered the blast, it implies that temperatures are far higher than authorities have let on. There is a possibility that a partial meltdown has already taken place.

I still have not seen any update on Fukushima Daiichi unit number 2 or the two units experiencing difficulties at Fukushima Daini.

Of course, downplaying nuclear emergencies is nothing new, and the authorities do have an incentive to try and minimize panic as they increase the exclusion zone around the reactor. Yet from the evidence we have at the moment, the situation, to me at least, looks far more serious than official statements might lead one to believe.

http://blogs.nature.com/news/thegreatbeyond/2011/03/a_disconnect_between_statement.html

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 18:39 #
  40. "Japan's record in dealing with quakes and post quake relief effort is really good but their nuclear safety record is a mixed bag.. may Allah help them deal with this mess"

@ doctor
    Most amazing thing is that 8.9 earthquake has hit the Japan and not even single building collapse means japan building code is the best in the world, But they were not prepared for the tsunami.

"Initial reports, the radioactive core itself seems to be intact and explosion is in steam used by cooling system."

@shirazi
    whole cooling system was not failed actually only pump stop working. i wonder why it is so difficult to change the pump. and why they didn't fix an extra pump with the cooling system. in case of failure of one pump they can open new pump valves. we are talking about JAPANESE not Ugandan or Indians.

Japan fears second reactor blast
    here is a risk of a second explosion at the quake-hit Fukushima power station, Japanese officials have said.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-pacific-12724953

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2011 9:58 #
  41. @iamsowise
    Brother, your quest for scientific knowledge has compelled me to say this. I highly appreciate your love for science.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2011 10:02 #
  42. And i forgot to say that if Japanese need S.E Mirza sb can help them. :)

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2011 10:14 #
  43. Brother, what about iamsowise and semirza if they both team up!... :)

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2011 10:19 #
  44. Yes why not if they could afford us . )

two more reactor are in very serious situation
    watch live
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-12307698

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2011 10:29 #
  45. Brother, what about millions of barrels taken out of the earth's belly replaced by water to fill in the gaps...that later seeps into 'hot slots' creating steam ending up in devastation of this earth (even thousands of kilometers apart).

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2011 10:32 #
  46. Mirza sb i'm totaly agree with you, and Oil also work as a hydrolic break against moving earth plates. water cannot resist against giant rocks.

bad news.. people in Sendai are already contiminated with radioactive. A lesson for other countries.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2011 12:40 #
  47. I there is any nation who can fight this sort of a tragedy, it's Japanese people!!!

They have achieved some mind boggling feats of engineering.

Amazing footage of swinging high rises:

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2011 14:06 #
  48. d0ct0r

In Japan, damaged nuclear plants create fears of radioactive threat

TOKYO - Over the past 30 years, Bernd Domres has rushed to earthquakes from Armenia to Algeria to Haiti. The German doctor has struggled with horrendous roads, filthy hospitals and other familiar challenges of the developing world.

He'd take them all over hyper-modern Japan. "I'd rather be working with a pocketknife in Haiti than worrying about the danger of a radioactive cloud," the 72-year-old surgeon said.

After an overnight flight from Munich, Domres and five other members of his German medical team arrived in Tokyo just as news broke of an explosion at a nuclear power plant in Fukushima, about 150 miles north of the capital and south of the quake-stricken city of Sendai.

Japan, bereft of oil and gas reserves, has developed an extensive nuclear power industry. The blast at the Fukushima Daiichi plant could signify the gravest nuclear power crisis since the 1986 Chernobyl disaster, which contributed to the collapse of the Soviet Union, although early fears of a meltdown appeared unfounded, at least for now.

Domres and his team, from the medical charity Humedica, had planned to leave Narita International Airport, east of Tokyo, immediately and drive due north to the areas hardest hit by Friday's 8.9-magnitude quake, Japan's worst on record. They had barely cleared the arrivals hall when they saw Japanese passengers and airport staff members gaping in dismay at a big television screen showing pictures of the smoking nuclear plant.

Yoshi Sato, whose family lives near the plant, said he was very worried. "Who knows what will happen now?" he said.

How much radioactive material may have leaked remained unclear late Saturday. Japanese authorities said the explosion had not ruptured the core nuclear container and intimated that a widespread leak could be avoided.

Still, fear rippled through Japan, a country with peerless know-how in dealing with quakes but a mixed record of nuclear safety, as it confronted a threat it couldn't see.

Any risk to major population centers will rise or fall depending on the the weather. If winds blow from north to south, any radioactive cloud could end up in Tokyo.

Domres said that he, like nearly everyone here, was in the dark about exactly what had happened and that he wouldn't be driving too far north until he finds out. "It is certainly not advisable right now," he said.
    If winds shift and serious leakage has occurred, he warned, "a cloud will approach this area loaded with radioactive material." On Saturday, Japanese police sealed off major roads leading north, and trains were not running to the area.

Darren Livengood, an American who has been working in Tokyo for a decade, said he has experienced many tremors before but nothing like Friday's. At work at the time in a Tokyo office building, he and his co-workers ran outside after a "couple of very violent shakes" made "very clear that this was far worse than usual."

Fear of radiation added another layer of alarm Saturday as aftershocks continued. "It's freaky," he said. "Japan is extremely safety-conscious and would have cleared us out" if the risk of contamination were serious.

"Unless it is too late," he added wryly.

Domres, the surgeon, said he had traveled to Haiti twice after the earthquake there in January 2010.

"That was not easy," he said, because of robbers and appalling sanitary conditions. Japan, he said, is nothing like that: "It is very, very developed."

Still, the doctor said, "I'd prefer to be in Haiti. There were no worries about radiation. You could get to the area."

Early Sunday, the German medical team announced that it was aborting its plan to go to the quake zone and would leave Japan. Domres cited the restrictions Japanese authorities had imposed on travel to the area and fears that radiation levels are higher than the government has said.

"It is worse than we are being told," he said.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2011/03/12/AR2011031201879_2.html?sid=ST2011031100651

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2011 14:24 #
  49. SufiSoul

Let me say it that how perfect their building code is.But nature find their way from the sea to punish this FINANCIAL SUPPORTER OF THE EVIL EVERY WHERE.
    IT MEANS THAT THE WAY TO PROTECT YOUR FACE IS NEEDED TO MATCH THE WAY DIVINE FORCES WANT TO MOVE THINGSON..

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2011 14:26 #
  50. d0ct0r

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Mar 2011 14:38 #