A good man who did something

(27 posts)
  1. yahya

Salman Taseer’s death provides a parable of why his country, which promised so much, has slipped so far

IN HIS first speech to Pakistan’s constituent assembly, on August 11th 1947, the country’s president, Muhammad Ali Jinnah, made clear his belief that religious toleration should prevail in the country he had brought into being. “You are free; you are free to go to your temples, you are free to go to your mosques or to any other place of worship in this state of Pakistan.” It is a dreadful measure of how far Pakistan has sunk since then that Salman Taseer, governor of Punjab, was murdered on January 4th because of his outspoken support for that principle.

Mr Taseer, a member of the Pakistan People’s Party and a close ally of the president, Asif Ali Zardari, had been campaigning on behalf of Asia Bibi, an illiterate Christian farm worker who in the course of a row with neighbours over drinking water was accused of blasphemy, convicted and sentenced to death. He had called for her to be pardoned, and also for the law, under which death for blasphemy against the prophet is mandatory, to be changed. His murderer, one of his bodyguards, said this was why the governor was killed.

http://www.economist.com/node/17851369

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 2:04 #
  2. SufiSoul

“You are free; you are free to go to your temples, you are free to go to your mosques or to any other place of worship in this state of Pakistan.....

It doesnot mean to ABuse the core of the faith of the majority of Pakistanis.But promoting tolerance is to observe one another likes and dislikes.
    Only 2% of people are talking abt Promoting Abuse against Majority of Faith.
    We all should be clear abt whatother is dying for???This would be the best way to save your neck and keep the things calm..
    Majority of Pakistanis could not be proved to be abuse towards chuches,Bhagwans,Maseeh AS,Budha,OR any other gods or pious people of any religion.Why some one would like to be abusive or trying to break the curtain around honour of our core of faith????
    If some one is not ready to accept than he should bear the consequences no one would come to rescue him..
    If minorities feel that they should have more rights they should adopt some other way around and movement.Abusiving will never help but will resulted them to be cornered BRUTALLY.....

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 2:21 #
  3. Anwer Kamal

Salman Taseer was a better man than many others found here .
    He was brave ,brilliant and learned man, he fought for human rights and was shaheed accordingly.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 2:46 #
  4. SufiSoul

He was brave ,brilliant and learned man.....

With all these qualities one should have a sense of sorroundings.
    Who are living around,what likes and dislikes they possess,what make them feel happy,what pushed them towards a sea of greaf and sorrows.what can turn voilant against you????
    Above all one should promote tolerance among the sects of a society and donot follow slogans blindly without proper analysis.
    He was brainwashed and consistantly encouraged by the seculars from inside and abroad so he felt a champion of human rights and crossed the boundaries from where rights of majority of people starts.
    He ignored all this and proved himself IGNORANT abt the society in which he was living.....

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 2:53 #
  5. yahya

Salmaan Taseer obituary
    Governor of Punjab, he fought bigotry and intolerance

Salmaan Taseer was an exceptional figure in Pakistani politics, a flamboyant and bold leader who never shirked from speaking his mind. He left poverty behind to make a fortune in business, and survived imprisonment to become governor of Punjab. He has died aged 66, after one of his bodyguards shot him 27 times in an Islamabad car park.

Last November Taseer applied his singlemindedness to the cause of Aasia Bibi, a Christian woman sentenced to death under Pakistan's blasphemy laws. A visit to her jail cell caused consternation among conservative clerics, who burned his effigy at the gates of the governor's residence in Lahore.

His eventual killing has prompted anguished talk about the death knell of Pakistani liberalism. But Taseer, an ambitious and gloriously profane man, never held himself out as the patron saint of anything. He invested personally and financially in his own country, and felt its people should pull themselves up by their bootstraps, as he had done.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/jan/12/salmaan-taseer-obituary

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 4:58 #
  6. toamin

no, salman taseer didn't do good, he was a bad guy... here is a BRAVE man doing something good :)

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 5:50 #
  7. quaidkamazaar

lol wow dude. what a way to advertise Islam :) ^

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 6:53 #
  8. Hussain Farooqui

Intolerance can be provoked in the man of the most moderate follower of any religion by hurling insults over his religious values. Salam Taseer had no right to called the blasphemy law as a 'Kala Qanoon'. If he thought that Asia Bibi was innocent, then he had to prove that the woman did not commit any blasphemy.

His unnecessary remarks provoked the sentiments of millions of tolerant and moderate Muslims.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 6:56 #
  9. quaidkamazaar

sirjee,

he explained himself many times after that saying that this law is misused and there people are convicted without even any evidence. that was the whole spirit of his arguement. yes he may have gone overboard with his wording.

But if this law, manmade or not manmade is serving to abuse minorities in an Islamic State, then Im not too sure its that black and white of a story. Its totally going against the spirit of Islam, completely. I just watched a lecture "Prophet Muhammad SAW, messenger of mercy" by Dr. TahirUlQadri, pretty mindblowing stuff.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 7:03 #
  10. toamin

thousands of people are in jail due to fake/false cases under "narcotics" penal codes, which are also abused like any other provision, so why not lobby for something that addresses larger domain?

why he chose to lobby for this case and not other cases which affect larger audience? why this is 'kala qanoon' due to misapplication while others are not?

because he is representing western propaganda on presenting islam as "kala qanoon".. anything linked with islam is "abuse" and "inhuman"... there is bigger ideology behind that whole media campaign sponsored by foreign financed NGOs..

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 7:07 #
  11. D@mn, I thought this post was about QADRI :-P

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 7:08 #
  12. Hussain Farooqui

Prophet of Islam Hazrat Muhammad SAW is the great of all the prophets. Muslims can't tolerate blasphemy against even Hazrat Essa, Hazrat Moosa, Hazrat Ebrahim or any other prophet. They all are the beloved ones of Allah Almighty.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 7:12 #
  13. yahya

@Hussain Farooqui:

His unnecessary remarks provoked the sentiments of millions of tolerant and moderate Muslims.

Actually no. It wasn't until Mullahs incited Qadri to do the deed that Qadri was convinced into doing it.

The killer also revealed that he was persuaded to carry out the murder after listening to the ‘rousing sermons’ delivered by Maulvi Hanif Qureshi and Ishtiaq Shah at a religious gathering, on December 31 near his residence in Rawalpindi. He said in his statement: “These sermons not only moved me to act against the man who spoke against the sanctity of the Holy Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) but compelled me to stand up against those who were demanding changes in the blasphemy laws.”

http://tribune.com.pk/story/102290/why-did-qadri-kill-governor-taseer/

Also watch this programme;

http://pkpolitics.com/2011/01/14/policy-matters-14-january-2011/

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 7:22 #
  14. yahya

no, salman taseer didn't do good, he was a bad guy... here is a BRAVE man doing something good :)

barve? in kuffar land there is full freedom of religion..what is bravery here?

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 7:25 #
  15. quaidkamazaar

@Salam

he chose to lobby for this case because he wanted minorities to feel more secure in Pakistan I believe. he may have this case close to his heart who knows. making minorities feel secure in Pakistan is not completely a Western Propganda issue, it will be better for Pakistan as a country... the idea itself does not have to be for appeasement of others.

this guy's real problem was probably not his lobbying for this issue, but his wording. he clarified himself later and mullah braadri should have pardoned him.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 7:28 #
  16. toamin

lolzz@ freedom of religion... Ha Ha Ha..
    try doing it yourself in public and then let me know ;)

@QKM

this is old story, giving it any "good" spin will not work, the guy was a bad guy -period.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 7:45 #
  17. asif65

I must say, You are realy funny!!!!

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 11:49 #
  18. Yahya, Ay Khokhar and all qadianis etc

Guys no matter how much you try to spin, twist, mislead and misrepresent the facts, the fact of the matter is there will be NO CHANGE WHATSOEVER in the blasphemy law. I know you guys have a vested interest for abolishing this law but it will be a cold night in hell before this is changed or repealed.

I know your cries and shouting are just like a panjabi proverb " Rondi yaaran nu le le naam praawan da". and putting it in a classic panjabi tone, "Tusi paawen B**d tak zoor laa lo ay qanoon naen jay badalna"

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 12:11 #
  19. Definitely no one trusts the justice system in Pakistan (police system too). It is quite easy to register an FIR. The national mentality is when there is FIR, one think about conviction and not acquittal. Other laws are being misused too. But blasphemy is a good way to churn up the debate. It is more focused, has bearing on a certain faction (religious minority) and is applied to Muslims in a clearly abusive way. It is not only the law in question but the whole process, the witnesses, the way police registers the case and finally the court proceedings. My opinion is fixing the law would be a beginning of taking a deep look at the full process.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 12:41 #
  20. naseemkhanan

Taseer has been portrayed as a liberal and moderate Pakistani. Yet, his non-Muslim son born out of wedlock wrote the following about his father:

“I had begun my journey asking why my father was Muslim, and this was why: none of Islam’s once powerful moral imperatives existed within him, but he was Muslim because he doubted the Holocaust, hated America and Israel, thought Hindus were weak and cowardly, and because the glories of the Islamic past excited him…. The faith decayed within him…, became nothing but a deep, unreachable historical and political identity…. It was significant because in the end this was the moderate Muslim, and it was too little moderation and in the wrong areas…. ” Aatish Taseer, STRANGER TO HISTORY: A SON`S JOURNEY THROUGH ISLAMIC LANDS

http://lalqila.wordpress.com/2011/01/13/pakistani-lawyers-moderate-muslim-group-fete-governors-assassin-by-bill-roggio-to-understand-just-how-bad-things-are-in-pakistan-read-about-the-amazing-treatment-of-the-assassin-who-brutally/

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 17:00 #
  21. yahya

@Qalma'go:

Here is what they say about his killer "Ghazi" Qadri, the darling of religious right;

گورنر سلمان تاثیر کے قتل کی تفتیشی ٹیم کے سربراہ ڈی آئی جی سپیشل آپریشنز اسلام آباد بنیامین نے کچھ اور بتایا۔ ’یہ کہناغلط ہے کہ وہ مکمل طور پر مذہبی تھا۔ اس کے پروفائل سے پتہ چلتا ہے کہ وہ دنیا دار تھا، کبھی داڑھی منڈوا لیتا تھا تو کبھی بال لمبے رکھتا اور اس کے عشق بھی چلتے رہے ہیں‘۔

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/2011/01/110113_qadri_profile_rza.shtml

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 22:11 #
  22. jaypk

@hussainfaroqui...Muslims can't tolerate blasphemy ..

absolutely right...this is the only and sole thing which we cant tolerate...apart frm tht..we are a suppressed murdah parast nation..!

i bet 99% of ppl supportin the law here dnt follow or atleast try to follow the teachings of PBUH..in its essence..we..muslims..would love to talk sectarianism...and only declare ourselves as muslims but the rest ...nothing..!

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Jan 2011 22:39 #
  23. I think Qalma'go has a point. His son speaks 'highly' of him and this might be the truth; the faith decayed within him...became nothing but a deep, unreachable historical and political identity tells a lot.
    Qadri was wrong to take law in his own hands but Tasir wasn't a saint either.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Jan 2011 3:43 #
  24. ajhons

@ S E Mirza
    "Qadri was wrong to take law in his own hands but Tasir wasn't a saint either"

Mirza Sab there should either be a white area or black area, there shouldn't be a gray area"
    Your quote somehow means
    "Sheikh bhi khush Shaytan bhi naraz nahi"

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jan 2011 8:07 #
  25. mujahy semirza ki baat achai lagi .
    sach hi tou kaha unhoon ne....

mein bhi kehta hoon kay Qadri katil hay magar ST bhi kuch kaam buray aadmi na thay.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jan 2011 8:56 #
  26. ajhons

Choosy Bhai
    What u are saying is that Qadri is a murderer but he did the right thing as ST was a bad man.Combining these two issues or talking both in same wavelenght is what I feel pretty agitating.

BTW I agree with Mirza sab but I cannot give due credit to STs bad deeds as a reason for his murder.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jan 2011 9:25 #
  27. sub ki tarhah aap bhi ghalat samjhay ho bhai .
    ufffffffffffffffff.
    bhai mein keh rahah hoon kay qatal howa bura howa .
    nahi hona chaye tha .
    magar iss waqat mulk mein ho raha hay sirf aur sirf wohhi jo nahi hona chahiye tha.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jan 2011 9:35 #