A Message to all those who believe that Islam is outdated

(18 posts)
  1. NNL

Despite all your misgivings regarding Islam
    Yet Dave Chappelle reverted back to Islam

You keep saying that Islam is backward outdated and whatever you wish but still people still converting back to it.

Lol

Ironic innit.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 2:14 #
  2. expakistani

Islam is not but Muslims and (mostly who are born muslims) are out dated,

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 2:32 #
  3. Sahnaz

Im not outdated....i do want to go with the world...well on other hand i bcm secular fr most of people and boot licker of west..it is one of the biggest problem..coz we cant decide wat we actually wanna do..as in case of mine...i do want to keep ma root but oppose outdated law(Shariya)...

well many of us will start to cry..let them cry..they r crying fr last 1000 years and they will...thnx many of us didnt listen them thts why we hv areoplanes to commute, internet to communicate, medical facilities and so on..

if we hv listened them we would still in dark age waiting fr light(tht a farishta will cm and heal all over problems)..guyz if u wanna live in a illusion u can live but dont impose ur laws on others who wanna live their life in a better way...
    well wat u guyz hv given us...suicide bomb,talibans and drone attack on innocent people...
    well nobody condemnd Genocide of Muslims by Muslims(124700 in bangladesh), Saddam Hussein ( 50,000 shiyas n kurds), and now wat talbans wr doinn when they wr in power in afg n swat.BCZ ITS OK...if muslims kill muslims..just shut ur eyes than or start to say they r not muslims coz muslims cant kill or do such evil things(pity on all of u who support suicide bomb)
    just one plain questions to u if we cant live with a harmony how can be condemned others for our own faults..thnx

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 3:01 #
  4. chechen

Sharia Laws outdated? Ask any Wall Street investor, they have best performance in this volatile markets. They are also thinking and discreetly talking about Sharia law due to rising brutal crimes in West. It is the best deterrent.
    Sharia laws are mostly same as Biblical and Mosaic laws. The West ignored their own laws and adopted secular laws that have failed miserably. There are about 3 million prsisoners in America alone. The criminal justice system has almost collapsed.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/story/RTGAM.20070925.wcomment0926/BNStory/National/home

Let's not write off sharia banking
    REGINALD STACKHOUSE

Special to Globe and Mail Update

When we learn that Muslim Canadians want to start a sharia bank (a financial institution governed by Islamic religious law), our immediate reaction does not have to be that it's one more assault on the Canadian way of life. Nor must we write it off as unpractical because Islam's social ethic forbids charging interest on loans.

Let's remember that chartered banks are already not the only options we have for financing ourselves. There can be room for one more. As well, let's note that a ban on interest was imposed for centuries in Europe by both church and state. That ban is even as old as the Old Testament, which forbids Israelites from charging other Israelites interest.

So, this alternative way of financing one another has a long and diverse pedigree.

Subtle philosophical arguments against interest were advanced long ago by some of the West's most respected thinkers, such as Aristotle and St. Thomas Aquinas. Medieval popes and church councils inveighed against it for more than 1,000 years. Penalties were often imposed against usurers, as all financiers were labelled if they charged interest. The idea may come as a shock to us in an age when paying interest is as much part of everyday life as borrowing money is. But if it's new to most of us, it's not new to history.

History not only shows that this option has been around a long time but also that a lending institution can actually stay in business without levying interest. One way is by allowing loans when the lender and the borrower share both reward and risk. If you borrow $100,000 to buy a truck and set yourself up in the transport business, for example, this kind of bank can take a slice off the gain you accrue by buying the truck. And it will also share the loss if your business tanks.

Sound convincing? Maybe not, and it's not the whole story — not in the West, anyway. In the medieval centuries, charging interest was preferred so much by financiers that they used ingenious ways to evade the law. Loans were made, for example, with a built-in return to the lender without actually levying an interest charge. To make a loan, let's say, of $100, the lender might give you only $90 but you would sign a commitment for $100. Or, as well as advancing the loan, he might sell you a piece of furniture for more than its market price and take his profit that way. To move goods around Europe, a merchant might also commit himself to paying the receiver more than they were worth.

Then, as now, any ban invites the ingenious to devise a way of getting around it. Yet, it can also work and make financing available without gouging the person who needs it. Muslim experience can show us that, too. Should Canada allow it to happen?

An economy's dynamism depends on giving people access to credit whether it's to finance a corporate takeover in the billions or just to buy a car. As we've seen in the past few weeks, closing credit opportunities at top or bottom can put our economy so close to the brink that the world's central banks have to rush in.

So Canadian officials are right to take a look at this sharia option. Providing an alternative to the chartered banks and insurance companies has been a recognized need for a long time. That's why credit unions and housing societies emerged in so many Western countries. It's why the women of so many Third World villages came up with ways of making loans at small interest rates to other villagers. It's why home-owning became a possibility for ordinary Canadians when National Housing Act financing appeared on the scene.

Does that mean putting out the welcome mat for a sharia bank? Not necessarily. It means taking an informed look at what it can do for people who need financing. It means the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions taking a "let's get the facts" look at the idea.

It just might be a good one. If it isn't, OSFI has enough number crunchers to warn the country off. Prejudging something just because it's new and different is never good business. If it were, we might not have the wheel.

Reginald Stackhouse is principal emeritus and research professor at the University of Toronto's Wycliffe College.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 4:09 #
  5. Sahnaz

Chechen

Thnx for ur cut paste...well dear in west people hv those laws which can be changed when they feel its not gud enough..but people like u who still living in a illusion medival world even cant think abt tht.

thnx

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 5:12 #
  6. ucsher

NNL

Did any one tell this Mike tyson that once he or some one from his family try to go back to their christian roots then how quickly the sweet songs playing in the back ground would be replaced by loud fatwas??

My Bad!!!

who tells the potential hostage that he/she is entering in a building that has no "Exit" as the first thing, right?

So how come he was able to abandon Christianity just like that??,
    I guess they are not as sensitive about their "numbers" as we are?, right?

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 6:24 #
  7. larki

i do not care if it is out dated or not. i want to live my life in peace.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 6:33 #
  8. i am confident.........
    my religion and my beliefs just cant be out dated ever.

its our INTERPRETERS who has been out dated.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 6:36 #
  9. ucsher

je mera bacha tu aisa hu hi nahi sakta, zaror aap ka bacha usay yay batain sikhata huga!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 6:40 #
  10. skyfacts

ALLAH has committment to safegurd islam till qiyama,and islam is interpreted wrongly ,than it means that islam is not in actual shape,

Now can we call you wrong on this bases???

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 6:41 #
  11. ucsher

jahan hay, jaisa hay ki bunyaad pe manna hay tu manu ...ye "interpretation" wala excuse purana ho gaya hay!

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 6:46 #
  12. @skyfacts ,
    i am talking about the so called mullas who interpret islam as a rigid religion.
    i am a strong believer that the original Arabic text of Holy Quran can never be changed but i am talking about translations ,interpretations ,tafseers etc.

@Ucsher,
    come up with your new argument .
    i strongly think that interpretations has been done the way it should not be ....

if u go to mosque and listen what KHATEEB is telling you is all about horrifying you with Azab ...and u came out with an impression of cruel God in your mind...
    on contraray
    ALLAH is RAHMAN AND RAHEEM.
    and his sifaat has been included in Bismillah.
    we are suppose to start everything including namaz ,reciting of Holy Quran ,taking food with this KALMA TASMIAH .
    that means we are suppose to say and remember more about his Rehman and Rahim qulaities in a day .

yes...he is JALAL and QAHHHAR too .
    but his Rahman and Rahim qualities has been repeated in quran more number of times than his JALALI qualities .

he loves you 70 times more than your Mom do.
    no Khateeb or Moulvi bother to tell you.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 7:17 #
  13. shamwariz

Thanks Beenai.....You are catching up....slowly though....

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 8:06 #
  14. IJay

beenia

did you meet some tableghi guy? :O)

whenever they come to i tell them bhai jee jab non muslim
    ke pass jatey ho tu islam ko mohabat ka mazhab paesh kartay ho
    magar jum muj sai miltay ho jahanum ki agg dozakh ka azab qabar ke azab se laikar mout ki sakhti muker naker sab yad ajata hai bhai ALLAH ye kub kaha ye azab hur kisi ko donga
    wo tu kehta akhri waqt toba darwaza khula hai sirf shirk ki maafi nahi aur huddod ALLAH ki maafi mugur wo duniya ki sazain hain mugur es duniya bad kia hoga kisi kiya pata holy prophet(pbuh) ne azab sai daraya hai magar toba ka darwaza bhi dekhaya yahan tuk hum ko talqeen ki hai ka apnay bad tareen gunnha bhe kisi par zahir na kaho aur mafi mango

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 8:06 #
  15. @Shamwariz,
    thanks for appreciating at least one of my post .

@Ijay ,
    i am not Beenia i am Beenai.(Ankhon ki Beenai)
    as you have once corrected me that u r not Ajay but Ijay.

anyways
    as long as Tablighi guy is concerned.
    i have seen many ...specially in my University .
    Jamiati boys and girls use to be in full form of tabligh as they find the huge audience there .

their probelm was that
    they use to think that we are all Kaffar or close to be.
    and only they know about everything in islam .
    i use to argue with them a lot .
    as u know
    i love to argue...in order to get convinced.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 8:21 #
  16. shamwariz

@ Beenai ...

I would have lots of appreciations for you if you become issue focused not personality focused.
    I am strong believer of present Democratic System if it is made to work independently... automatically the persons not performing would be washed away. But this Sytem gives 5years not just one year..
    By the way please browse through the back issues of all news papers and read 8th August 2008. When Zardari announced impeachment of Mush..

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 8:56 #
  17. lolz @ zardari announced impeachment (again you wanted to eat the KHEER cooked by someone else)

BTW guys what is the exact definition of outdated? so we could put things on that definition to see what is outdated and what is not. help me in this.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 9:16 #
  18. nagatorpun

When it comes to ****, big-time, major league ****, you have to stand in awe of the all-time champion of false promises and exaggerated claims, religion. No contest. No contest. Religion. Religion easily has the greatest **** story ever told. Think about it. Religion has actually convinced people that there's an invisible man living in the sky who watches everything you do, every minute of every day. And the invisible man has a special list of ten things he does not want you to do. And if you do any of these ten things, he has a special place, full of fire and smoke and burning and torture and anguish, where he will send you to live and suffer and burn and choke and scream and cry forever and ever 'til the end of time!

But He loves you. He loves you, and He needs money! He always needs money! He's all-powerful, all-perfect, all-knowing, and all-wise, somehow just can't handle money! Religion takes in billions of dollars, they pay no taxes, and they always need a little more. Now, you talk about a good **** story. Holy ****!

Posted 2 years ago on 29 May 2009 9:19 #